(2008) Brides of year 2008

princessnono

Hi gers.. I custom-made my own shoes.. I bought a plain white satin strappy heels fr Heatwave that cost S$30. then bought crystals fr Arab St cost abt $14. I design my own by sticking the crystals on my shoes.. =D cos i am also not so willing to spend so much on shoes that I will not wear often.. & all those sparkling shoes I like cost a bomb!! =P

stnov

woweee....can't keep up in tis thread oreadi....=)

would luv to join u gers for the dinner cum kopi session but have lesson on thur.....let mi check things out & mayb I can join then.....

toking abt shoes, uncertain if anybody have heard b4 dat wedding shoes must be covered and not open toes...if so I will have a big problem cos due to my broad feet....it will 'suffocate' under covered shoes...=( make full use of GSS to look around and try to 'hunt' for good buys....anyway it's onli worn twice at d most....

floating, last check sumtime ago indicate dat mage & myself have been around on earth longer than d rest of the gers....beta & nicer way of phrasing huh.....=)

muddpie

wah noreen,

u very creative ah..design ur own shoes...if u free ah..can design for me too =p i lousy at designs...*fail my art in skool*...kekeke...

oh dear...seem like 3 girls are not able to make it to the dinner...*sad*
shall we fix on another date? since 14th is tentative at the moment? hope to accomodate to all of u....what r ya thots?
let me know....

joycelsm

Im planing to have mine on the 1st Mar but not sure if that date is auspicious cos the tung Xu not out for next yr...

How all of you decide??

witch

I've never heard that wedding shoes must be covered. Mine is open-toed. My feet are too broad so cannot wear closed shoes. I think the most important is to wear comfy shoes on your AD cos you will be on your feet most of the time and need to wear the shoes for more than 10 hours.

Many of my friends also wore open-toed shoes on their AD.

princessnono

hey mudpie... hehehee... I not very creative lah.. Just wan to save $$.. =P If u dun mind "my creation" I am ok.. can shop with u on yr shoes..

Never heard tat wedding shoes must be closed toe leh.. I feel taht any shoes tat matches your gown & u are comforatable with it should be fine.. =D

Oh.. if really changing the date, pls do let be know.. Really keen to join in for the coffee session.. kekekee... but I really couldn't make it on 14th June.. =(

caramel980

Hi Joy,

Check out http://mindcity.sina.com/MC-lunar/index.cgi. 1 March is not on either the good or bad list, so I guess it's an ok date. Well, if anything 1 March 08 sounds good in cantonese (prosperous life ahead). :p

But if having an auspicious date is important to you, then you should probably consult a fengshui master with you and your fiance's details.

hatemenot

that's a long list we have for our kopi session!
really look forward in meeting you galz.

me in taiwan now, tomorrow having my PS.. just communicated with the photographer.. he's quite friendly but i doubt we are going to alot of places.. he's like not very keen to go to alot of places i suggested.. but anyway, i think ultimately sure got 50 pictures turn out nice de. really excited.. it's very hot though, pray i have good weather tmr! =D

about the shoes part, agree with floating and muddpie..mine is quite casual too, after the wedding, still can wear to work.

muddpie

wah...our dear tete ah...in taiwan oni 1 day missed us liao...kekeke...cun wait to come back & log in...mus log in in taiwan to c our post here...kekeke

ashley,

i oso plan to buy open toed 1...esp when u do pedicure...quite vain...kekeke...my hubby say alwas say i hv "barbie" my feet...kekeke....dun care...still happily doing it...

noreen...

i wld love to ask u along when i get my shoes...hehehe...then with ur creation & lovely ideas ah..i m sure i can find nice shoes...

abt the coffee session, if majorities agree on changing date...we will
keep ya posted...

blur_queenie

Hmm..i can make it only on weekday, Fri-Sun will be out for me..do keep me posted on the change.

Noreen, which part of Arab Street or do you have the exact address? I worked around the area, thus can pop by to take a look.

Just confirm my AD WG & EG (no pic taken),my first fittings will be on either next mth or early july depending how early i'll get my shoes as it's needed for alteration on the height of the WG.Finally one burden down, phew. Now is to shop for shoe which im not that particular about as long it's comfortable.

havensbreath

phew...sooooo much going on...havent got the time to come in for the past wk...

im interested in the kopi session too!!!

tete: i just realised that your ROM venue is at SAM...the place where my FH and i desperately want too!!! who did you liaise with? we contacted stephanie but she said the new schedule for 2008 isnt out yet...prob sep/oct 07...and the rates are adjusting...
do you know what are the new rates? are you booking the glass house or auditorium???

pls pls pls advise

Faint...so many stuff to read..haha...

Gals.. I think shoes for the WG is not a prob coz ultmiately, they will be covered by the gown. Doubt anyone can see our feet on that day. Hee.. but i agree with muddpie, should get something practical & comfortable. But are you all getting 1 or 2 pairs?

witch

I got 1 pair, and intend to keep it that way

I wore it for ROM and will wear it for my PS (will bring along my comfy Birkenstocks as well), AD and evening banquet. Hahahhaha...maximise the number of times of wearing to make it worthwhile.

sleepycat

I have ever heard from a fren that her mum insisted that she get a pair of covered shoes for her wedding, in particular for the WG. It has to do with some chinese custom or somthing??
Some friends also mentioned that covered shoes looks nicer with WG....

I am not particularly bothered tho. My strappies are likely to be covered under the WG. Been 'ordered' not to lift up the skirt of my WG when walking down the aisle so I guess no one will see my shoes at all...wahaha

blur_queenie

Ashley,

My coordinator told me to get the AD shoes so that they can alter the WG length for easy movements. Was told that once the WG got altered for the length, there will not be any changes as they will be trimming the organza according to my height + the shoe inches.

So grabbing a chance to get one pair during the GSS sale!Was recommended to get silver with those stick on crystal so that the organza train will not get hook by those non stick type.

princessnono

hi Jojo.. I can't remember which shop is it.. but there is 1 shop that display their crystals outside their shop.. they have a big range of coloured crystals.. sorrie.. =P

Hey mudpie.. so keep me posted on your shoes hunt! =D

tete... enjoy your PS.. must smile more & show us your beautiful pics when u r back..

Hmmm... I also onli have 1 pair for my AD.. dun think many ppl is going to notice my shoes.. unless for PS, if the photographer wants us to pose to show our shoes..

Looking forward to meet up with all of u soon.. =D

happylee

I'm also a Jun 08 BTB...my AD is on the 7 Jun 08.
So happy to see so many people having the same AD as me.

Btw 7 Jun 08 is a good day? Sorry that I dunno bcoz I din check the date with anyone. We picked this date purely bcoz me n HB ROM on 7 Jun 05.

qiqi81

muddpie> As long as it is weekdays, I should have no problem attending to the kopi session.

For shoes, I think most imptly is get a pair that fit well & feel comfortable since we'll be wearing for almost the whole day. I'll b getting silver open-toed shoes so that it can be matched with my WG & EG. In case, it can't match with my EG, then I'll get another pair.

Gals, so any recommendations on where to go for outdoor shoots? I'm still trying to find out where is the place that has straw-like shelter standing on water? I think i saw it in jess haute couture website.

strongyetweak

hi flora!

thanks! congrats to you too! where will your dinner be held?

hi blurz_ger!

i also considered intercon but can't meet their min. so got to drop them.

yah man, the black and red theme (scarlet, i think) quite unique, right? heh heh.. but i think most of the older generation will not like it...

hope there will be more new themes in 2008...

muddpie

morning ladies...

Ashley, if you like, u can bring your shoes along during ur fitting. generally at bs, they have 1-2pairs with high heels for brides to put on while they try their gowns...
i lke ur idea ah...maximise ur wearing on ur wedd shoes...kekeke

agree with u that..AD shoes...must definately get a comforty pair as u will be wearing for a long tim during the day.u dun wanna be tired out rite...but whether having it opened toes anot, it doesnt really matter to me too much...cos like wat cabbage & other ladies, ultimately our toes are covered by our gowns...so on AD nobody will notice our shoes...unless some1 choose to wear short gowns...

Jo,

silver with crystals very nice...i oso looking for these kinda shoe...but i prefer to open toe de...hehehe....my feet oso abit of prob de...broad toes...cun wear some shoes with slim head infront...i've tried some...cun fit in even its my size...sad....help me on lookout too ya...

Noreen,

Great!! will keep u posted...kekeke but now my most headache is to settle my AD gown & PS thinggy 1st...hai....

muddpie

Let's update our coffee session ....
tentative, we will fix on weekday, bearing in mind Jo can't make it on Fri.

so we will fix it on thur still...but date? 14th, we have some ladies not able to make it...any other date suggestion?

yenkinki

hi pris...
u got my sms yesterday?

u mean GSS is on liao?
think u can try most of e jewellary shop
cos i bought mine last yr at lee wah (during GSS)
org price was 1500+ n after discount we paid 800+
for e pair of wedding band..
if i not wrong most shops shd hv discount but some shops only for seleted items only..

prispris

sharon really!!!! aha aha

to night i must go vivo see liao...
sharon, my fren not working 2molo... but i try ask him sunday if he is working den i msg u again???

hey where the rest of the ladies???? don missing leh.... i miss all the talkings...

yenkinki

ya.. can go tk alook... c how much their discount is..
cos got discount den worth buying ma..haha..
sure no prob... tk ur time..jus tho u din receive my msg..hehe
now u saying.. i oso din c all e gals today leh... gone missing?

xinyi_reiko

hello everyone,

haiz.. very moody, weekends may even need to go back to office to work. Almost qurreal with my manager yesterday. Argh!

finalising banquet venue and prep for upcoming house warming does not really excite me at all. =(

yenkinki

hi xinyi...
oh wat happen?
y aren't u excited? too busy ar?
take it easy... think of happy things
mayb like dis den u wont feel so moody liao..
cheer up gal!

skywu

hi yaya

mine is on 27 Dec 08 at Orchard Parade Hotel. Have you chosen ur BS, mine is Sophia. So have u ROM?

I will be asking my frenz to help me do the montage... she alreadi help 2 of our frenz to do for their wedding liao

strongyetweak

hey sky!

still in the process of selecting BS. shortlisted My Bridal Room and Precious Moment.

ROM-ed dec 05. you?

if i can, i want to do the montage myself, but need photoshop ah? not sure if it's difficult to use. also not sure if it's expensive...

sleepycat

Fridays are usually out for me, fine for other days.

Other than Arab Street, you gals can try People's Park Centre in Chinatown for crystals. There are lots of shops selling crystals and beads there. For those planning to DIY, you can also find those jewellery glue in these shops.

Yeah, crystals that are stick on is better than those with the metal claws holding on to the crystals. I have heard stories where the hems of the gowns are damaged due to the metal parts...If you BS is sticky abt such things, then u may have a problem. Dun think we want to pay more money to repair any damage to the gowns.

necrosis

mindy!!! whappened dear...?
*sayang sayang*

xinyi also... *hugs*

take abreak fr all the wedding preps, then look w fresh eyes....so won't feel so xian ah...

korice
*smoocherooos*

everyone,
we are here.but just not posting...
*silently watching...*

xinyi_reiko

Thanks gals,

Main thing is my work ah.. like never ending... haiz.. my seniors have been staying back for the past 1 mth plus. haiz... very demoralize. Like seeing no ending to the project. Deadline is always pushing back. Plus a naggy manager (male one somemore) around. haiz...

my wedding preps so far no major hicupps. I don't really worry abt it.

prispris

xinyi * a big hug and kiss all over

its like that in the sales line... mine here the same... just leave to God and he will help u to go through every thing....

* winking @ korice and nec...

hey where u 2 been...

hapimint

I quite upset with my parents.... They were the one who encouraged me and my SO to solemnisation de... then dinner later when we get our flat...
Now, when we are preparing for it.... they complain that how come I don't hold it in church.... not that I do not want mar... my congregation no church building... wrong? then now want me to join another church, get baptised just to have a church building... I mean, that is wrong to me....
Then my parents told me that solemnisation dun invite relatives... cos she say wait like I marry two times...
But my SO inviting all his relatives and close friends too... because to us, that is the most important day of our lives, even more than the dinner..... because we have the blessings from the pastor mar....
My SO was kind of disappointed by their new reactions.... I am too....
Then I requested them to come back earlier, around Dec next year to help prepare for my solemnisation but my parents say that theirs are 6 months visa... so they go back in late Jul, then Jan, just a few days before my solemnisation then come back...
Visa more important?

prispris

mindy, u got try to talk to ur parents ma???
maybe just tell them its ur big day, and u hope them to respect ur ideas... further more u are their daughter... they will listen to you if u voice out every thing....

yenkinki

ya mindy
talk 2 ur parents abt it...
jus like pris say..
hope they will respect on wat u hv decide n ur ideas too..

xinyi...*hug hug*
work is nv ending one...

take it easy... my dear...