(2007) Brides of year 2007

jeraldin

hey junie.. you going to choose your photos next week rite???

you can ask sandra to show you my evening gown... she knows me by my multiply name... instead of jeraldin..

if not you can tell her the brides that love purple and flowers. hahah.. coz my wedding gown train will have flowers.. so she say i like planting roses hahahaha

danadele

hi babystarlet, how's ur wedding

suelynn, fer us we dun have time to brief our helpers as in wat to expect.. so there's quite a commotion of unable to find names ..

padi

Pris: Yea...I don't know what to update when most of the time I update my multiply, and some stuff are quite hard to share. Too fed up to write abt u u know what i mean? *sigh* But I enjoy your posts and ur pink craze. Hehehe

jaspire

wow... so i guess briefing helpers really impt ya. Me gonna do dat this sat... hopefully can make it easier on next sat's AD.

BTW, anyone has suggestion to track who give which AP? Cos some pple dun write their names and some pple, their handwriting is illegible... like doctor's writing leh... Any suggestion?

Qing, I think u came to wrong thread... we are June Brides. There is a Nov thread which maybe more helpful... or u just wan us to view your multiply?

padi

Sharon: I have one but I need to go back home to dig. Do you still need it?

It's vaguely like this:

8.15pm - 8.25pm: Welcome address by emcess, processional, move up to stage for cutting of cake
8.25pm - 8.30pm: 1st course
8.45pm - during 2nd/3rd course course, bride and groom to change
9.15pm - 9.45pm: about 4th dish't time, Bride and groom to return for a 2nd march in. March in to the champagne ceremony. Then bride and groom give speech.
9.45pm - 9.50pm: Emcees to end the programme and guests to continue with other dishes
9.50pm - 10.30pm: 5th/6th dish onwards to the end!

cactus_79

hi Law & Len, I also heard the same thing as kyra. When clash, those need to hide.

Hey Kyra, I think if clash Monkey, it's only a certain Monkey element. Cos every sign has an animal and element to it. 12 animals and 5 elements, therefore every 60 years, the sequence will be repeated. My AD date actually clashes with a Monkey, but it is a very very old Monkey. My grandma and cousin are monkeys but not that particular year's monkey cos my grandma and cousin can be present for the morning's tea ceremony....just sharing.

tryphena

morning gals!

jhoo, tink u might hv the same prob as me yesterday. I ate very little and yet vomitted after eating the curry puff tat my boss bought for us. haha, told my hubby tat I cnt eat the food tat my boss gives me tats why I vomit.

i also put on weight after wedding. sigh, need to lose sm weight.

kenshare

yah..i think i agree with Cactus.
My AD clash with Monkey, my MIL & Father Is monkey and my sister is also monkey.
Turn out that my sister will need to hide in the room when my FH fetches me.

But I didn't know we need to check MUA & VG &PG too..so many people...wah...i didnt check lei..

btw, ladies, anyone having solemisation outside ROM office on the AD? What are the procedures like to file? We called our JP and he told us we only need to file on 1st July. But my AD is on 29 Sep, not to late?

smilez

Morning ladies!!
ya,the hardest 'fat' to remove is at the waist n tummy n thigh areas..
Mei, I not exactly slim.. just tat my body is small.

Mabbe 2morrow i shall take half day to walk :p

Kaye, lucky u still got pple give up seats. Pple in front of me will snooze in 5 secs. ha!

Jhoo, honeymilktea very notti also huh.. hee~.. after wedding feel bliss so put on weight.
Mabbe ur body can't too greasy food in the morning

suika

I think I'm keeping mine simple & sweet so no ask so much on all these...

I hope I don't missed out any important stuffs...

Till now i've not got my 'an chuang' date & time...how har? is it still early for that?

skinnybeany

morning ladies...

On the wine topic, yeah...I know the more older the wine, the better. If not got the "siap siap" aftertaste which I hate. I'll let my HB settle that since he knows more abt wine than moi.

Jeraldin>> Eh, what's your Multiply nick? I'm choosing my photos this Sun! Wonder how long it'd take for us to decide, hehee.

qiqi09

jazol, i also put on weight after wedding.. need to lose some too... hoping that my exercise class will start soon so that i can hv the determination to start my work out

jhoo

jazol, u ok now? im much better but will ask doc next time why im always vomitting when having headache...

mi put on weight too and complain to my hubby that alot of clothes i cant wear and he brought me to marina sq after that sun dim sum... bt din manage to buy another pc

my appetite increase ever since the day we stepped into taipei for honeymoon. very terrible, every moment is eat eat eat.. but recently think my appetite decrease and hope i can loss my weight soon, hee

kayemoss

Morn ladies!

Mei, ur hubby so funny! Mabbe the couple dun want to embarass me but its funny coz i can hear their discussion on the train!

Jazol, wow... I think its food poisoning... Ok now?

jhoo, my maternity wear also a bit obiang but its comfry coz i dun like those tight tight ones and spaghetti strap type maternity wear. Those that my Mum sew for me all very comfry and nice.. Quite fortunate!

I managed to psycho my Mum to sew a blanket and my sis psycho my Mum to sew those wrap cloth for my piglet!

So, i think my piglet is a fortunate baby!

bel_vodka

jaspire.. hi! ur big day drawing..
rest well n stay cheerful wor.!!
my pc is down again. nw using pc at bf hse.
ltr gg to collect marriage certs

prayin ceremony for new hse aft which
n lastly-final fitting.

i still have a list of things nt done
such as schedule n song lists
even tables haven cfm with restuarant.
haha gg to die le

sea_blue

hi gals..

feeling really stressed out over the wedding preps.

long list of things not done....wonder if they even can be finished.
seating arrangement is always changing

hey emily...I'm going to collect certs tomorrow too!

kyra

Cactus & Kenshare!! I think I know why we clash Monkey liao...cos all of us AD on 29th *LOL*

My MIL very anal about such things leh...she only said strictly NO MONKEYS. Luckily for our immediate family members/grandmothers etc, no monkeys. Only my MUA is monkey, I shall not ask the rest liao = Bai Wu Jing Ji =

I think for my MIL, she wouldnt want any Monkey at morning ceremony. But from what I heard, most said as long as they dont witness the groom arriving & bringing bride out from bedroom can liao. So MUA/PG/VG/xiongdis/jiemeis are some people who may be around.....If your family would mind, then probably you may need to check around. To me...ignorance is BLISS! Our AD is only 3mths down the road, very difficult to make changes now liao...

kenshare - if my memory doesnt fail me (ROM 2 years ago in country club), solemnisation outside ROM registry you do not need to stick to the 3mths timeline. That is for those who need to block the slots at the registry. As long as your JP/Solemniser has agreed to the time/date/venue, you just need to do the filing and then go collect the cert before rom date will do.

suika - I have gotten my "an chuang" date & time and it's only few days before AD. My AD is 29th but An Chuang on 26th.

Btw, do you ladies intend to take leave prior to AD? Many of my friends took 3 days before. One took 1 week before but I have 2 very steady friends who took only the day before AD.

Also, for PS.....do we get to choose hand bouquets ah?

chinoiserie

kyra, i had my solemnisation in March this year. According to ROM procedures, you can only file 3 months in advance. Means that since your solemnisation in on 29 Sept, you can only file on 29 June, earliest. Don't have to worry about not getting the date cos you are not having the ceremony in the ROM office.

As for the clash of animals, I even had problem on my solemnisation. The first JP I asked coincidently was born under the animal sign that clash with our signs. So in the end, we changed to another one but dared not ask for her animal sign again.

So now, in order to avoid problems for my AD (29 Sept), I am not asking the animal signs of my MUA, PG, VG, etc.

I nearly had a heart attack during my trial make-up cos my MUA told me she is pregnant and said that some old folks are pantang about that. I told her that I don't mind but she asked me to check with my parents. Luckily my mum said that as long as she's gone before the groom come to pick me, it is ok. Also lucky that my hubby is an ang mo, so no issue on his side.

chinoiserie

kyra, whether you get to choose hand bouquets i think will depend on your BS. My PS is next Tuesday and will be meeting my florist this Thursday to discuss on the flowers and the design of my hand bouquet.

tryphena

ya better gals, prob will see a doc regarding my stomach cos it happens again.... esp nw is the 端åˆèŠ‚cnt eat so much ba zhang....

kaye, lucky u got ur mum to sew clothes for u.

tink we all put on weight after wedding cos no more stress n hv a blissful life too.

jeraldin

morning ladies...

junie... sandra knows me by my chinese name... Cailing..

bet you will take a while.. coz sure got alot of nice photos to choose mah... hahah

chrisop

Hi lavender_sky,

It would be much easier to travel by rail if you backpack. Most stations do not have escalators. It would be very troublesome and difficult to lug your luggage up and down the stairs. Japan is a very safe country so no problem on the safety issue.

I stayed in a business class hotel in Ikebukuro, Tokyo (Sunshine City Prince Hotel). Haha I adopted a different travelling method, no backpacking for me cos I don't travel light! I made Tokyo my start and end point, so by the end of each day, I will return to my hotel in Tokyo just to sleep. Eg. I would leave Tokyo on the very first bullet train to Kobe and then return to Tokyo by midnight. Very tiring cos I spend a longer time travelling to and fro. The train is like my second hotel. I don't advise you to do it like this if you are travelling light. :p

I think it would be quite easy to find a pretty cheap and good Ryokan (traditional Japanese inn). Can pose this question in the japan guide forum... very fast and reliable response.

Hi Kenshare,
I am also have my solemnisation outside of ROM on my AD (16 Sept). I have only just filed on 16 June. You need to go to the ROM website and provide the particulars of the groom, bride, and 2 witnesses and then they will give you a time to go down to ROM to take the oath and collect the wedding certificate for your solemnisation on AD. You, your FH and both witnesses need to be present at ROM on the day stated. You also have to provide the filing confirmation to your JP.

maochong

emily, you move into your new house already?

my renovation suppose to finish last friday but got some things cock up..so can only complete this wednesday...but last sat me & HB went to do some basic washing on the floor and move most of my things over last sunday liao..tmr the furniture coming in..

still got a lot of things not buy and done...so stress...cant believe my ad is next sat!

jaspire

ladies, dun stress... just list wat else nid to be done and which is more impt and do those first.

emily, me so excited for you... collecting yr cert tmr ah... I still got to wait till next wed. For me, all things done loh. Just nid rehearsal, setup bed, collect cert and gowns and drink more water and rest well...

maochong, dun worry so much... everyday do a little sure in time for next sat one...

kenshare

thanks gals, u all are stars!
I will do just that.

kyra, my anchuan is on Mooncake festival; just a day before yours.

i think i will just take 1 or 2 days before AD...otherwise no leave liao...

When should we be getting the wedding invites?
So stressful..i hope I dun turn to a Bridezilla!

crescent

belle_chan,
so long as your BS can have your wedding album done before your wedding can liao...

Jess,
my ID is my brother-in-law fren... but i still go and get another quote from another ID to compare on the items, like wat is missing, price..etc..

mu ID is goin to submit the reno permit application to hdb today and i'm goin the select the tiles tis sat... hopefully next wk can start the reno liao...

i think by the time my reno finish will be ard later aug to early sept... i guess just in time before my wedding...

jeraldin

yup yup .... =)

then you will be the first to see my eveing gown... haahaa...

finally got my keys yestersday!!! everything settled leh... the contractor came yestersday then he said my MBR toilet cannot fit in a vanity top!!! so sad... super upset!!! hiaz.. no choice... so now going to ask my hubby to get me a nice dressing table..

also... he contractor suggested us not to do L-box for the bedroom and the living room.. but instead opt for simple cornie... coz he says that the L-box for the living room is not bright enough... if wan bright bright then must put alot of lighting points... which = more money

then my bedrooms oso can't do coz my house got those beam on the top of the room (dun noe if you know.. so if do L-box then end up my air-con will be very low.... (so low tt i can touch leh).. so end up oso dun do for the room..
so hubby says we can invest in good lights since we save quite a bit on the L-box... coz cornies are cheaper mah...

so now waiting for the contractor to quote us a price.. if everything is ok.. hopefully we can start our renovation by this weekend or early next week... and our flooring will be done in 4 weeks time!!!! excited!!!

cactus_79

hi kyra,

I have applied for 1 day's leave before AD and 2 weeks after AD. But if work is not too busy, I will apply for 1 week. I applied for 1 weeks before and after my ROM last year..... saved up all my annual leave for the marriage last year. Hopefully can do that again for AD this year.

cactus_79

Hi kenshare,

The hotel's doing the invitations for me. We'll be confirming with the hotel the wordings by end of this month... I'm not sure when we will be getting the invites though.

jaspire

hee... my bf and i started preparing last yr April after he proposed to me. But then we relaxed and slackened after we firm up the Bridal studio and Dinner venue. We oso took our PS early in last yr Oct so to reduce last min prep rush and then this year than start to rev up our engines to prep for the last lap. Hahaha... sounds like preparing for a race lidat hor? LOL! But so far we enjoyed our wedding preps, no arguments, no unhappiness as we got loads of time and things all spaced out to do loh. Most importantly, the marriage is more impt than the wedding day. Just remember dat... if you get upset over little things over wedding day and quarrel wif yr hubby over a Day's event and spoilt yr relationship, its not worth it. Just give and take and be happy ok?

Let me know if you need help on the wedding preps, else reach out to the other gals who have already finished their wedding. Am sure they most willing to help...

bluberi

jeraldin, i wan to see ur gown leh...

for LBox, i got 10PLC lights for living room, 6PLC lights for dining and 2PLC lights for bedroom passageway. cost me $30 each, but i got those bright bright ones.

mi also nv do Lbox in the MBR coz oni 1 side of the room has no beam n wan to save $$. but nw my HB regretted coz he saw it in the showflat n found it nice *knock his head* investing in good lights is enough la..

hope to see ur reno pics soon.

kyra

chinoiserie: yup yup, the ROM info is for kenshare. Me "OLD" bride liao =P Yes, earliest one can e-file for ROM is 3mths beforehand, thus the 1st July date which her JP suggested is fine, esp when the solemnisation is outside the registry =)

Yah, I think for pregnant ones really alot of pantang. One of my jiemei pulled out due to her pregnancy. Can they still attend the dinner ah? I have preggie friends who said ok to attend, some not ok.....I shall let them decide. Sometimes I wonder why such traditions exist. Both are XI shi....should be double happiness what *pout*

Yup, thanks! I shall check with the BS on hand bouquet. Btw, do all your hbs or FHs get to try on the different types of suits ah?

Kenshare / Jane: I was thinking of taking 1 week. Hee! I still have about 20 days of AL as at now. An Chuang is 26th while GDL is 20th, thus thinking might as well clear 1 week beforehand and also try to shift into new place by then and settle the dogs down.....

But dunno leh, true that I shd save for honeymoon too, was initially thinking of that cos we may have to postpone the HM destination to March-May next year due to the season and only go for a short one after AD. Then again, I am so tempted to quit this job as well...so dunno what I should do.....

Kenshare: My hotel reminded me to go pick cards since early May. We just went last week. Haha! Today I confirmed the artwork liao, should be collecting the cards in 10 working days' time. You better hurry check with hotel, rem we need to post before 7th month?

Agree with jane/chinoiserie: After the hoo-haa about my MUA, I shall fake ignorance to all others. ä¸çŸ¥è€…无罪ï¼I will get heart attack if need to find replacements for PG/VG/xiongdis/jiemeis at this juncture.

Ladies -- Do your in laws request to meet your parents beforehand? What should we do at this meeting? My MIL said they want to pay my folks a visit soon to discuss about what they want (but I already told them my parents said just 12 tables & token pin jin, no need other things leh, what else to discuss ah?) And should we say give them a treat or something? Any "traditions" to follow at this part??

Is the meeting to discuss what to exchange during Guo Da Li? CHAM LAH...my MIL will def have some funny requests and my super modern mum will probably dunno how to react. Haha!

So the sequence as follow is it ok?
- Parents' Meeting
- Guo Da Li
- An Chuang
- AD

For the Pin Jin hor, my mum said she will just tell them "token". She gave example say if they give 1K, she will take say 100 or 200 and return the rest. Is that the right way? And when should we return the money assuming they give us on GDL day? Immediately open angbao and return???

My parents said they cannot remember a single thing about their wedding preps. Mum said they were from those carefree AH-GO-GO era, haha! She said everything was discussed between the folks then and she and dad only concentrated on trying gowns and buying shoes. HOW LUCKY!!!

gregina

heh....L-box not bright enuff?? hmmmmm....my living and MBR got L-box and downlights leh. heh.

Jeraldin, U re-doing the floors? wah...like that ur reno very high?

diva>> I dunno abt the weekday prices coz just basing on the weekend prices, my package is definitely more ex but of coz the dishes are better lar. Hmm...they changed management. Now under the Park hotel group, no longer under Plaza ParkRoyal group. Si Chuan Duo Hua is affiliated with Plaza ParkRoyal so...the new management doesn't wan to pay for the "rights" (whatever that means), so the restaurant changed. The spa should be the same issue lor.

diva79

Jeraldin >> wow so exciting..reminds me of our reno journey half a year back..

btw L-box also can put aircon..no need the aircon very low. what they did is that they will cut a box for the aircon..