(2007) Brides of year 2007

bluberi

elchwong, i understand how u feel.. glad to hear dat ur grandma is feeling better

shirley, u r welcome!

drea, tink it's for immediate parents den it's 100days or 3yrs.. but my aunt said no need to really wait for 3yrs, otherwise tis yr i also no need to haf my AD liao coz it's oni my dad's 2nd anniversay tis yr. for grandparents no need ba.. coz my hubby's grandma passed away last mth, my MIL also nv said my be within 100days or 3yrs later.

suika

Hi Kyra & Moon,

Actually We've already moved into the new hse staying there almost 2yrs...bed? sleep till rotten liao ley...bed is custom made fixed on 1...even if wana change whole thing hv to tear down u know...I heard can just change new mattress will do

I can't married off from my parents hse ley...coz got some family issues la that's y looking for another location

So was thinking if possible can do it at my own new hse even better...
1) can save money in getting another location
2) new hse is juz blks away from PIL's hse, no nid the long drive

if not might nid to go all the way to Sengkang(auntie's hse)...it's so far u noe

krystal80

eh yeah hor, now tt u all mention to me, i just realised that Mark's mom passed away about 1.5 yrs ago, my dad passed away more than 3 yrs liao though. Hmm..guess our parents also not that traditional

yuene

happylife, why not? I'm picking up my gown on the 2nd of July, if you can hold yours for a while then we can have a mass-bride outing!

BTW girls, the mass-briding is still on! We're just waiting for more details before we organise. So if you're interested, please find out and post up when you will be collecting your gown, and when are your free days!

smilez

Mei, dun be angry with ur MIL. Keep ur cool.. she realli something man. For me I will tell her tat last nite barley is so sweet n lomantic. Confirmed make her jump up-n-down.

Kaye dun be angry too. hee, at least still got cordeceps. For me.. oni got soya bean drink
Ok.. anyway u gg to set up ur own family soon. Don't bother abt her. I m sure ur piglet will turn out to be better looking and smarter dan ur SIL

So fast can take bird nest already?

Jazol, ur SIL also always give pattern.. sighz.

law_len

Hi kyra,
I have already bought my shoes long ago coz i tot may need it for my gowns measurement in order to knw the length....but was wrong. So my shoes still sitting there. I bought from OG, URS shoes. Leapin' Lizard is quite gd but ex if you request for detailed design or something.

Hi suika,
How about married off from your hotel bridal suite? I heard of some who did that. You can also ask your jie meis to accompany you for the nite. Just a suggestion.

meie

smilez.. I was so angry I poured the poisonous drink into the toilet bowl & flush it down.. after that my anger also flush down liao, then I'm ok already... wahaha.

alya

thanks ladies. my BS just has a very good photographer. most of the brides in my BS have very good photos.

37 more days. freaking out !! need to lose like 6 more kgs. my god

kayemoss

Hallo ladies!

Not that i dun want to join in the gathering, just that i cant lug 2 wedding albums to Piglet's place lah. Paiseh that i go see all ur albums w/o mine coz i dun want my hubby to tag along mah! :p My email is [email protected]

Smilez, i m not angry lah... Just buey song only.. Coz that time my MIL gave me the cordeceps, gave me the impression that once finished will buy some more for me... Now like dun hv liao....Still can tell my hubby that she bought us 1 liang how come so fast finished that kind of crap lor. Yup, preggies can take bird nest in the 5th mth, which is ard 20 weeks.

Mei, heheh! The Barley Water is innocent! :p Yup, u just feel better coz its like full of venom in the barley water!

Jazol, our mothers are still the best no matter what! Ignore ur SIL lah, the way she behaves only made her looked uncultured, no manners!

smilez

Kaye, I also not gg to bring album. Too heavy. This time round will be a all ladies session where hubbies are not allowed. haha.. Come lah..

Cordeceps are ex lei.. i still tinking whether to buy. The person in the medical hall told us that ginseng is better :|

I guess it's all how the elders take in the traditions. I know of some will follow the 100 days or 3 years time frame with the death of grandparents.

but hubby's bro's wife family very unique, theirs juz can 'celebrate' after 100 days, that's why they postpone wedding from mid year to year end. But the within 100 days if not 3 years is the common one i heard of.

meie

kaye, come lah... think most of us not going to bring album as our 'bag carriers (aka husbands)' are not coming.. we add you in to our discussion ok.

Jazol. learn to have the bo chup attitude & you'll be fine.. I train for nearly 4 months liao.. nearly succeed..

qiqi09

kaye join us.. think most of the gals will only be bringing the express... not so heavy... guess u all can only see my album.. coz it will be at my house.. hee...

Mei!!! Wowweee... i think that will be the way to flush away ur anger... haha....

smilez, buy some cordeceps lah... if u know someone going korea, u go get them to buy ginseng.. i heard it is really good... must take some tonic..

smilez

Cordeceps? Everyday eat? hmm.. how to prepare?

I read somewhere ginseng no good cos got a ingredient tat is not suitable for every1. Plus its very heaty. Cos some say good.. some say no good. Confused~

tryphena

smilez, cordyceps jus boil wif sm lean meat and abit of salt is enuff... tink jus eat once in a while not everyday... smtimes at hawker centre eat the Imperial Chicken (chicken with herbal soup).

yes mei, i am trying to learn to bo chap and let my hubby handle all his family members.... *evil laughs*

skinnybeany

elch>> I can understand how you are feeling. I also dread receiving phonecalls this few days after the scare on Mon.

I hope your grandma-in-law will also get better. I think to us, we only hope that they'll not be in so much pain.

kyra

Suika - maybe shd change new mattress then? my case also divan & headboard already in, mattress coming soon but MIL said as long as dont touch the new mattress will do.

I think no matter what, your hubby must drive around. Cos my cousin married her childhood friend, they staying next block to each other. The husband still have to drive 1 small round around the neighbourhood to go her house and vice versa.

Perhaps you can consider the aunt's place?

My friend was fetched from her grandparents' house cos her parents are divorced. Though she is closer to mother, the mother remarried and thus she has been staying with father, together with her brother. But she isnt on good term with father. And mother prob couldnt go back and help her while facing the father under same roof for long. Thus all go to grandparents' place. The parents met but remained cordial cos the old folks and relatives all around.

kyra

Law & Len

My sister is going to sponsor me the shoes *keke*
She said my legs get tired very easily (i often walk VERY slowly when we go shopping) and then once I tired, my face turns BLACK *LOL*

Will need to check both places out...no idea what to do yet. Shd I got for 1st fitting first then decide on shoe design?

jenopc

Hi Sept Brides

Im glad there's this thread so we can all check on the 'to-dos' time line.

Ani one of u started doing the list for wedding banquet alrdy? My FIL and I were wondering the other day, if we sud start planning the banquet seatings alrdy.

There's one ting to take note, coz we hv to avoid giving out the invitation cards during the '7th lunar mth'. so if we give after tat, its too near our wedding mth. so high chance we'll hv to giv out before the '7th mth'.

jaspire

happyface, ya... oni 1 pix.

cpigl, i oso dunno wat gift to get for jiemei. My jiemei personalities all different, wat 1 like the others doesnt. So think i will just give them the ang pow for them to get wat they like themselves.

elchwong

wp...ya lor...so relieved!

drea...shirley n agnes have already replied...

junie...I can understand hw u r feeling too...really hope ur grandma's better each day...hw old's she? My grandma-in-law's already 93 so to us it's really jus a matter of time...we've been 'preparing' ourselves since a fall she had last yr but yet it's nt easy to 'let go' when 'it' actually happens...wat u say's true...we jus dun want our loved ones to be in so much pain b4 they leave...it's really unbearable to c...

lovely_samsoon

hi kenshare,

we dun intend to drive for our NZ holiday coz we will definitely quarrel in the car over driving :p will u be gng to both north n south island? i dunno much abt NZ n dunno how to start planning oso. maybe i will 'steal' some ideas from those planned itinerary by tour agents ;)

hi jane - i think taiwan is nice for HM. got a good mix of city shopping n country scenery. saw my fren's pics when she went w her bf. the country sauna looks nice n shiok! i've only been TW for work. dropped by 'wu fen pu' for a 2 hr mad rush shopping bef i headed back to s'pore. veri fun n nice to shop!

cherimoya

I'm not sure if I can hold the gown. Haven't have a chance to ask my BS. Hmm..

lys, I'm also trying to lose weight and tone up. What is your height and weight? 6kg is alot of weight to lose in a month. I need to lose 4kg and tone up. Thinking of going to a ladies' gym.

skinnybeany

elch>> my grandma is 90 years old liao...

i agree with you....it's not easy to let go...and as what i had written in my multiply blog, if i can escape from the reality of death, then good.

ya, guess so. Must drink lotsa of water.

danadele

cpigl, i be treating my jiemei fer dinner.. .. to thanx them fer helping etc... on top of tat on my AD will be giving them ang pao

lovely_samsoon

for the GDL stuff, my sis jus told me to shop as per normal jus dun wear the new clothes first :p i guess the meaning for GDL last time is for the brides to bring new sets of everything over to the groom's house to stay. but gals like us nowadays always got chance to shop n buy stuff (even during lunch breaks!) so we jus see see look look now. surely will have more then enuff new stuff to bring over in sept. kekeke... my mum jus said we will go down to this shop in chinatown closer to date and tell them we are cantonese. the shop sales will def know wat to pick out for us.

the exciting thing for me now is dowry. got pple give me $$$ to buy jewellery eh? ;)

update on the stuff:
- started house renov this wk, will be completed by end june. *mymelody* have u finished urs? happie with Alan?
- bought my king sized bed. yay! was considering bet simmons n serta and bought serta in e end.
- shopping for furniture now
- got no more $$ to buy electronics :'(
in a dilemma coz thinking abt buying now to beat GST but got cashflow issues

- PS in early jun. bought shoes oredi
need to go shopping for his shoes w hub too. accessories BS will provide right?
- finalising itinerary for the day. i.e. to move from house to house n serve tea n still must end up in church by 2pm for holy matrimony *phew*
- attempting to start doing guest list. (big mammoth task)
- i will only select invitation cards in july n food tasting in aug. is that too slow?

diva79

hi gals..i think i missed out a lot today..busy even until now..

junie>> yup drink more H20

wp >> on our AD, my grandpa passed away 3 yrs liao..humm for me I chose to wait until 3 yrs but ppl in my co kept on asking why i wait so long. becoz they said now modern liao no one will wait like i did.

so when i was sick of them keep on asking i say dun wait for 3 yrs then they turn the tables around n say wah so hurry to get married not xiao shun etc etc.

in short. just be happy with whatever u have decided. cannot please anyone one. the mouths are theirs...so bound have this kind of ppl say this and that...

cpigl

jaspire and strawberries, thanks.

actually, i have made a simple thank you card for them on top of the angpao on ad. just thinking if i should get another small gift for them together with the thank you card.

kayemoss

Okie, no problem... Will come along to the gathering... Just add me into the discussion then!

Smilez, dun blur... Let me advise u.. *Ahems*

Cordyceps, if u can afford hor, take it everyday! Like what Jazol says double boiled it with lean meat and a bit of salt for at least 4 hours. U can boil it with chicken, it will be even more bu.. But, if u re like me, cannot take too much of a good thing... Just do it with lean meat!

As for Korean ginseng, its heaty by nature. If your body can take it. U can brew it as a soup or as normal drinking water. My gynae also advise to take dang gu. Also, if possible brew red date tea, this will aids in blood circulation and to prevent us preggies from hving black outs and giddyness.... But its heaty again!

curad

can i ask u all something?when we go n tok wif the hotel wedding consultant,wat can we ask 4?i asked 4 more complimentary lots but they can't give mi etra stay...mine is at meritus mandarin at orchard,mandarin court..pls send mi the details pls?thanks///and for ps outdr.do we have to wear wedding gown from the shop 2 the carpark or wat..pls guide mi..thanks

law_len

Hi kyra,
I thnk its better to go for your 1st fitting 1st before you buy your shoes. At least you can know what design u will choose and what colour of EG u be taking. My shoes actually match both my WG and EG so i dun have to spend too much on shoes..If wear Kua, most prob will buy those cheap ones at Chinatown to match.

kyra

lovely samsoon - I reckon that F&P should mean Fisher & Paykel.

Kenshare - Not to splash cold water. While I was shopping for a fridge, we met this chatty Indian man in Audio House (Liang Court). Hb and I were wasting a lazy Sunday away by opening almost every fridge's doors =P

The Indian started talking to us and told us that he was also looking for a new fridge due to his mum's constant nagging about the F&P one at home. Then we started commenting about each of the brand. According to him, F&P fridge isnt suitable for local climate and thus it gets too cold easily. His was leaking and sometimes due to condensation, the vegetables turned yellow easily. He took a Panasonic Folio. We only hear hear his grumbles then parted ways. Din get our fridge on that day.

Then upon reaching home, we mentioned about the incident and hb's sister said - HUH? You both dont know my house also all F&P stuff in the beginning meh? [we seriously didnt know, cos no one will take notice of such things until the time when we are planning for our own] She also shared that the fridge isnt good...but the washing machine is very very good. According to her, the washing machine from F&P somehow wont cause so much wrinkles.

Just heard all these comments and thought of sharing. No offence to anyone. Cheers!

nic1975

elch: do take care ...glad to hear yr grandma is better...

junie: drink herbal tea? maybe due to the condition of yr grandma...more stress ...hence heaty too?

i am finally able to read today's posts...at least not so plentiful...

meie

Yay... kaye joining us!

Girls.. today GG5 & Ness sale start leh.. later after work going to chiong down liao!

piggydon

I agree with Lys.. after seeing your beautiful photos.. realise the work difference among the BS. Think my photos so-so nia as in terms of the shoots and design layout..
MAh chiam pay them to cut and paste to form the layout..

while u ladies are busy losing weight and I am having a hard time gaining weight.. :s

jeraldin

hey babes... need a little help here..

my friends are planning a chill out session for me and my hubby on our ROM nite.. and they are asking me for suggestion... which i totally have no idea..

any suggestions ??? will prefer some place where there is live band and can drink... =) hopefully they wouldn't "whack" me too much with the drink though..

Many thanks in advance.. =)

kyra

Kenshare - Since you are int in the Friven sale, here's more info on the mailer:

Early Bird Specials - Castrong Pillow Now $5 each (UP$10.90 each). Limited to 3 pcs per customer. While stock last!

FREE Neck-Care pillow (worth $12.90) when you spend $50 and above in a single receipt.

Listen out for extra savings during our hourly specials.

Friven bedding/bedlinen from $3 - $39 (UP$16 - $202) *i am so tempted by this!!!!*

Branded bedlinen/towels up to 80% less *tempted again*

Home & Decor accessories all under $20 *I wanna buy vases and toiletries sets and and and*

Friven Heading (Actigard) Visco-elastic range from $2 - $10 (UP$49-$119) Selected items only.

Perrin de Rossi cotten pillow at $13.

DISCLAIMER: I am in no way associated to the business of Friven & Co. Just sharing the info on the mailer which my colleague emailed to me. I was telling her to stop loading me with such info, she should just go out and BUY for me. Kekekekekek!

The saddest thing is...Hb said CANNOT go. Cos Sunday housewarming...Sat must go buy alot of things and also go to new place to tidy up =( And he said if we go TUAS from Hougang, 80% savings become only 50%. *But it's still savings what!!!!!*

kenshare

dun worry, kyra. I wont be offended. You are just sharing, and its good to share; thats what a forum is for!

My sister had the opposite problem with your HB sister. Her fridge is good but the washer and dryer have broken down. Barely 5 years.

Folio, do u mean Mitsubishi? Cos the other one i was looking at is the Mitsubishi Baby Folio.
I have constraints to work with due to the limited space in the kitchen..everything have to be compact..

These are the only 2 fridge that I can buy, the rest are too big or too wide. U have any recommendations?

nic1975

jeraldin: brewerks?

or robertson quay...

if u like crowd ..clark quay seems cool!

curad: with regards to yr hotel freebies, every hotel provides diff services and diff freebies..and most of the time, if you forgo sth ..they may consider topping up for sth else...

as for outdoor PS: u can ask yr PS photographer for details...they are in the best position to advise u