(2007) Brides of year 2007

0212bride

morning ladies

hv been catching up with the threads for past few days... yesterday and today qt quiet.. guess many gals are on leave or co shutdown for CNY alrdy.. so envious...

i was also wondering if i'll get less rebate cos my new place is EA. but if its according to IC address then i'd still b considered a 5rm dweller w my parents..

btw since agnes mentioned paying more for banquet, anyone signed up for nett price banquet alrdy but the hotel still passing on the GST increase to u?

skinnybeany

aGnes>> how come your wedding banquet will have the increase of the 2% GST? Thought if you signed the pkg already, it should be fixed @ 5%.

Unless it's for new customers signing the package after July, then will be affected rite?

Think today will be more quiet cuz pple on leave, including our gila queen - drea.

kayemoss

Mei, that's right! First day at the in laws place... 2nd day full day at our parents place!

I try to go home as much as i could (at least twice a week). So that, my Mum can "complain" to me about my dad & siblings.

corsage

thanks girls. Yes I need to think of getting someone else. You know, I'm kinda disppointed that one or two friends just seem rather unhelpful, and this is despite me going out of my way to help them during their weddings
Sighs, anyway, I'm telling myself that I wanted to help them anyway and I shouldn't be expecting anything back. But I guess with the stress now that the wedding's so close, I wish I got more support from them. Thankfully there are a whole lot of others who have offered to help. Funnily some of these friends aren't even that close (or so I thought) but they seem more excited and helpful than those I thought should! life is funny.

qiqi09

Mei, i think it is quite reasonable.. for me first day we will both visit all the grandparents.. and second day we go meet with my cousins.. then we go his house...

gregina

Morning all

Happy CNY!!!!!! woooooooo....

huh, Jas...if cut-off date is 31 Dec, then I boh hua liao...sniff....mutters, should have just changed my IC address when I got the keys. sigh.

I still don't really see how the package will help us lor...besides the GST offset package (which isn't a lot, to be frank). There aren't much done for middle-class income earners like us. hmmm...

skinnybeany

PL>> ya true...but then better than nothing ler.

I think I'll only change my IC address after July then...hehee cuz now me staying with my mom in 3-rm flat.

bluberi

jas, izit??? i hope so leh.. den can get more $$ liao. my ic address is my sis's 4-rm. aiyo, shd haf put my mum's 3-rm but too bad we rented it out.

i better go n get my dining table, coffee table and other household appliances b4 the GST goes up in july.

junie, coz my banquet contract indicates that the price is subjected to prevailing GST. which means if GST increase, i also muz pay according to the GST rate at dat time.

meie

kaye.. I also go back.. to "complain" to my mum.

piglet... yeah.. I think it is fair & reasonable too.. just worried about MIL's reaction only.. I ask her son to tell her lah.

kayemoss

Mei, heheh i think most of us go back home to "complain" to our Mums!

Yup, its better for the son to tell our MILs about it... Even though our hubbys can tell us that its alright to tell our MILs about our decisions or whims etcc...

bluberi

hmm, those nett price place we shortlisted was at list $750/table. mine was abt $710 after GST 5%, after GST increase to 7% will be abt $725/table liao. so i'll be paying ard $450 more for the whole banquet.
i can pay for 3 standard rooms at the hotel for this price lor.

jaslyn_82

Pei Lin.. me also same as u.. sian lor..
I havent change my address...
the offset is just give u abit $$ let u abit happy nia..

agnes.. havent change also got..
last yr and this yr I think got 3mths rebate...
I also havent change my address..

gregina

sigh...Jas ah, I think only u and I will be sad that we din change address :p I must whine to Franz liao.

hmm, now priority for me is to get my reno started. Then can go shopping and make payment for furnitures before 7% kicks in.

jaslyn_82

ya lor.. poor us..
no $$ liao still take lesser $$..
its our parents home mah.. not under our name leh..

ya.. I also must buy my electricals b4 July..
ur reno starting after CNY??

bluberi

jas, thanks for the info... glad to hear dat finally govt gonna give rebates for EA owners. our S&C charges is $85/mth, so high..

skinnybeany

My HB & I already intend to buy furniture, etc during GSS so by then, our house reno shld be completed liao.

Just nice. We're intending to start reno work April! woohoo...hopefully all goes well to start in April, that is

jaslyn_82

Welcome agnes!!

ya lor.. high hor..
still must pay sembwaste every mth about $10 to clear the dustbin...
I never stay at my place.. never use electricity also must pay about $15 every mth..

bluberi

my reno starting either mid-mar or apr..

jas, can't imagine paying $85/mth for S&C when we oni gonna start staying there in Dec!! i wonder how much my power supply will be when reno starts. how com nv use still muz pay $15??

jhoo

hi all, no lar, i din do much. although i have the hp no. of the boss, but i purposely called the shop and get the staff to tell that boss to call me. i really shout at them despite im having bad sore throat. i told them im very unhappy with the way they do things and if they dont settle by today, i will bring the issue to CASE. so, that's how it ended they rubbish. the next day, i lost my voice. the sore throat has been there since i was at taiwan. Company doc sucks and i always has to use my own money to visit other doc and im so much better today after yest visit

lastly, wish all of you a happy chinese new year

0212bride

Hi junie

Which hotel are u holding ur banquet tt gives u nett price?

Cos i also had a nett price banquet but the hotel sent an email to say it will not absorb the GST increase. Which i feel is so unreasonable cos i hv signed the contract which is nett price at the prevailing taxes (5% GST then).

Has your hotel informed u that the nett price will not change with the GST increase?

skinnybeany

Mine is M Hotel.

Iced Latte, maybe you want to read the T&C of the contract you signed.

I think for M Hotel, they are absorbing cuz even for their 2007 package, now they have a promo that absorbs the 7% GST.

chere

hi pk, let me know your experience after that ya..
i always wanted to give it a try, but till now have not. haha..

Gong Xi Fai Cai !!

krystal80

hi ladies....what's up?
Happy CNY btw!

Pray pray that Mark can get his marriage leave settled fast so we can go on our mini honeymoon!

krystal80

hi junie...miss me? =P

yeah
went out earlier to get a massage (signed up with amore n had this voucher to use) and run some errands for mommy

yeah honeymoon after ROM. Going Phuket...=) Jmi reccomended this place to check out so we're going...provided his mgr gets back to him in time...

skinnybeany

drea>> ya lor!! hehee.

woah, massage ah...so good.

But from now till April still quite sometime what...the mgr need to take so long to revert?

gregina

wah...drea, so shiok!! I'm now slowly killing time. sniff, Franz already off work. Nobody to chit chat with me via email. sianz...

yeah Jas/Agnes, we should be confirming an ID soon after we see the 3D drawings from him lor. Hopefully beginning March start reno, then can buy all the stuff.

Jas ah...how come never use electricity still need to pay?? Electricity got minimum charges huh? Like that, might as well switch to City Gas?

Ice Latte, my hotel is nett priced. Before I signed the contract, already clarified with the co-ordinator. She say even with the GST hike, it will still remain as the price stated in the contract.

krystal80

junie, mark just worried later cannot get flight n whatnot mah =) He knows I've been dying to go on a trip with him so we're kinda desp to go =P

skinnybeany

drea>> april shld be able to get flights lah..cuz non-peak. Just maybe atad bit more costlier cuz bookings not made early.

PL>> u all shortlist ID liao ah? mine tell me which one?

gregina

Junie, haha, to be frank, all along we only shortlisted one. But we still went ahead to ask for more quotations in the hopes of finding IDs that adhered to our theme.

Don't mind telling lar. It's Max from Uberdesignhouse. A new startup lor (in fact, it's a one-man show...) which is why we are still hestitating to confirm him.

skinnybeany

PL>> same here! We only shortlisted one..and cuz the ID is the only one who reverted to us. haha.

But we compared his quote with some others we got from other pple as a reference and also checked it with one of my HB's buddy who is a main-con for house reno.

Though he may not be the cheapest, we felt the most comfy with him. Very patience & accommodating.