(2007) Brides of year 2007

pink_piglet

Hi cutiepooh,
Can you post the link for website here again...
not familiar where to search for the link.

Wow you gals have already start searching for hotels? I haven't start yet

pink_piglet

Add mi too

Nick : Pink_Piglet
FH dialect: Hokkien
UR dialect: Hokkien
AD in 2007:14/07/2007
AD venue: TBC
Date of ROM : 07/07/2007
BS : TBC
PS photo :TBC
AD photo: TBC
AD video:TBC
Lovenest: Jurong West

whitepearl

Hi cutie,

icic, I'm going down next sat to finalize the small details. Most prob, booking with Novotel. Will be booking before CNY.

cutie, u have any hotel in mind?

whitepearl

Hi Pink_Piglet,

Mi started sourcing around since end of last yr....so been to quite a few hotels.

u have any idea which hotels u like?

peko_luv_e

Hi Lynn,

Care to share your conrad package with me @ [email protected]. Just wish to know how u manage to book urs as i have difficulty in getting 2007 package. Most of the hotel say not out yet.. Haiz.. But thanks in advance for your help.

cherinz

Hi Lynn,

Care to share your conrad package with me too? Just attended my friend's wedding in conrad and I like the place, now thinking of choosing conrad but they do not have the package for 2007 yet...wondering how's yours. Thanks.

pink_piglet

Hi all, just wondering how u all check the hotel packages? can just call them or need to go down personally to find the person in charge?

still a bit blur, paiseh

pink_piglet

Hi whitepearl,

wow you begin sourcing so early ah. mi still thinking when to start?
btw do you call the hotels for their package or go down personally?

you are booking with Novotel, where is it ah?

I shld be looking at Park Royal (beach road one) cos quite like the food there, or merchant court, their ballroom is quite big and no pillars...

zjun

Hi Lynn,

Care to share your conrad package with me? I cant seem to find the contact details on their website. Am sourcing for a wedding banquet venue. Thxs

whitepearl

Hi Pink_Piglet,

Actually we thinking of holding it at the end of this yr 2006 but all the dates we wanted, most of hotels are fully booked liao. Thus, taken this into consideration so we bring to 2007 instead + my hubby on full time course, no time to help me prepare

We called up most of the hotels and ask them to either fax or email me their 2006/2007 packages for comparsion. After that, we set on a budget on how much per table, wines and roughly how many tables we need and if we can meet their min requirement.
Then, I will make a appt and go down to take a look at the hotel with the wedding decor.

Novotel is at Clarke Quay, just behind Merchant Court hotel. Previously, it was called Hotel Otani. Change of management in 2005. Nice big ballroom with reasonable prices and most importantly, pillarless also, coordinator also very friendly and flexible in negotiating.

Heard that Park Royal's food is prepared by Si Chuan Dou Hua restaurant right? good choice

I like Merchant court's ballroom but the coordinator I met a bit inflexible thus give up tt hotel

Hehehe....paiseh....posting a bit long :p

schnauzie

wow saw alot of pple startin specific month threads for 2007! hee think most 07 brides are gettin down and busy with the bookin of key vendors!

jgal

hi.. just spoken to hilton. their wkdays package very attractive only 720 nett. they also going to have a new ballrm by end of June. They converting the chinese rest next to poolside to another function rm call inn of happiness.

Anyone considering there ?

gelaine

Hi there...
I'm new to this thread. Planning to have my AD banquet in 2007 October/November too. Having my ROM this coming March. Wondering when we should start sourcing for our banquet.... thinking of having it at Hyatt or Marriott.

glamourette

Hi everyone. Hope all brides-to-be are doing well.

I just went through my ROM on 31st December 05. And planning to have my customary in 2007. Still no fix date yet. Waiting to get an auspicious date.

My main photographer has passed me the ROM photos. The album looks good. I’ve uploaded the photos online, but because I’m reduced their file size, the images don’t look as good.

Here's the URL: http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/djoeii/detail?.dir=830d&.dnm=7cc6.jpg&.src=ph

Click on the “View Slideshowâ€. Faster that way.

If you have the time to view, that is. ;)

whitepearl

Hi Allie,

You look so sweet and pretty, the photos are beautifully taken!

I like the style too

Can let me know which photographer u chosen?

glamourette

Whitepearl,

Thanks for the compliments.

My main photographer is Kelvin Koh from www.lightedpixels.com

He's really good at capturing the candid shots but all so nice and natural. Frankly, I'm pleasantly surprised. He came highly recommended by a number of photographers I know.

I've got a 2nd photographer. His name is William. The photos can be found at http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/djoeii/detail?.dir=3510&.dnm=5ebe.jpg&.src=ph

William has a website at www.williamchua.com.

Both photographers have their own strengths. You may want to check out their different rates. I can pass you their contact numbers if you want. My email address is [email protected].

Plus, I've got a really good stylist. Very experienced stylist who does mainly international models and hong kong celebrities.

gelaine

Hi there Allie,

Can you pass me their contacts and quotations? For both the photographers and your stylist/MUA. Your pics are really very nice!

happyface

Hi Allie,

Your pics are really very beautiful!
Can you send me the contacts of your photographers and hairstylist.
Btw, why do u need to engage 2 photographers?
I like your dress too.. where is it from?
my email [email protected]
Thk!

glamourette

Thanks for all the compliments.

Gelaine, I'll be glad to pass you my contacts but you'll need to pass me your email address.

Lynn, believe it or not, I've got the dress from Daniel Yam. Cheap but yet expensive looking yah? I got that dress at less than $180. And got it altered to fit me ($45). And everyone complimented me in that dress. It looks so nice and they can't believe it's from DY.

I got 2 photographers because they have different styles. And I wanna ensure all moments are captured. My guests do not have to bring their own digital cameras. I got 2 professionals to do that. The 2nd photographer is also a friend. But never get friends to be the main photographer. They'll feel very pressured to take good photos. That may not be a good thing. So, I got him as a 2nd photographer (less shots) but equally good.

I'll send you the contacts shortly.

tarea

Hi <font color="blue">Allie</font>,

nice pic! I like the way the photographer for the first link.
As I'm in office now, will look at the 2nd link later. hee.

The photographer for the first link is from lightedpixel?

Can send me the contacts for both your photographers and the MUA?

Million thanks in advance!

We are planning our AD in nov 07, approached a few hotels and all said the bookings are not open yet so we can't do any booking.. sigh.. but anyway, we are still looking around for hotels and BS.
As a typical Singaporean, we are afraid that the dates and hotel we shortlisted are booked! haha! As we heard people booking like 2 yrs way in advance!

gelaine

Hi tarea...

We're also planning for AD in Oct/Nov 07... which hotels you looking at? Like you... we're also worried cannot get our hotels.Havent selected a actual date yet...
So when is your ROM?

schnauzie

Hi allie, ur pictures are so beautiful! everyone looked so happy! ;) Can share contact for ur stylist and price? how much did the photographer charge u?

wilest

congrats Allie &amp; hubby,

You and hubby look so gorgeous
fancy over ya DY gown, earrings, flower bouquet and captured atmospher photos hehe and juz kaypo how's ya heels look like..

glamourette

SunnyDay, I paid about $50.00+++ per adult,
$25.00+++ per child aged 3 – 11 years. My wines are all selected by myself and brought in (not Hotel's). Because I'm very particular on the type of wines I have (a wine drinker myself). You may want to check with Jeanie from GWP Hotel to see if they've changed the rates. I like it there because it's sheltered yet it's pretty much outdoor. I chose the International High Tea Buffet which is a little more expensive. And had 8 tables of 10 persons that day.

schnauzie, pass me your email addy. I'll pass you my contacts.

Like everyone else, I've not chosen a date. My hubbs kept telling me he'll look for the geomancer to select the date... but till now we're both very busy.

glamourette

Esther, thanks for all the wonderful comments. The earrings are made of swarovski crystals and pearls. It's from this shop called Jolie at Scotts Shopping Centre. Very pretty stuff there. My bestfriend bought this pair for me coz I liked it so much. It costs about $79 for a pair.

The shoes are strappies with small white sequins from this brand (I can't recall) bought in Tangs. It's a brand they carry. Can be found at this Tangs shoe shop at Ngee Ann City (near Takashimaya), too. I bought the pair for $99. If I can get a picture of the shoe, I'll post it up for ya!

wilest

hii thank Allie for sharing.. same taste heez got rom accessories from Jolie (jurong point outlet but shifted away le).. if u can get the pic do share here.. thank ya..

tarea

Hi <font color="blue">Gelaine</font>

We already ROM in Nov 2004. hee.

We are shortlisting Carlton, Crown, still looking around for some others with nett prices less than $800 for weekend so as to minimize any losses. hee.

We may hold it on a friday.. and nowadays most hotels consider Fridays as weekend.. sigh..

<font color="blue">Anyone have any idea if there's anymore hotel which consider Friday as weekday? </font>

I just got Rendevous's email, their friday is weekday, price is attractive @ $628nett, but afraid guests dunno where is the place or will think it's a 3star hotel and it's quite inaccessible for those friends/ relatives who don't drive.. and thus.. maybe people will give less angpow? haha..

sigh.. wedding is such a joyous occasion, but we still have to consider for other people..location la, price la, food la, décor la

What abt you? Have you shortlisted any hotels?

wilest

hii tarea..

got ROM in 2004 too.. we r sourcing for hotel ballroom with the same budget requirement earlier on .. Amara is one of them we've shortlisted.. overall we think carltlon looks grand hehee.. for the attractive pecks wise guess it's up to individual needs

gelaine

Hi tarea,

Wow... so you're actually a Mrs already. Hee... i'm getting ROM this coming March. Pretty excited about it actually. I know Furama Riverfront consider Fri as weekday too.
And my friend says the ballroom is WOW! She's having hers there in Feb 07.
Rendevous is a 4 star i think but heard the food is not very nice.
The same friend is having her ROM there this coming March too. As for inaccessibility, i think not so bad as Dhoby Ghaut MRT is just 5-10 mins walk.

As for me, my FH wants Hyatt or Marriott. It's his dream hotel. I was thinking about Hyatt or Amara myself. Love Hyatt for their service as well as the themes and food is not bad. But seems a bit ex. That's why we saving up. Planning for dinner only in 07 End
Amara has $790 nett for weekend packages in 2006. So i guess their '07 prices may be around there too.
So maybe you may want to consider. Good location as well. And their ballroom is so pretty.

Yeap... really alot of factors to consider.
But if you're holding at hotels, their decor should be all not too bad. Havent been to a hotel with REAL bad decor. Price, food, location wise can be quite a headache.

tarea

Hi Gelaine,

Mmmm.. Rendevous's food so so only.. think will give it a miss then.. sigh..

Tot of Amara too, HB not in favour sigh.... From their website, find that after their renovations, it looked pretty nice. Think will ask him again!! haha

Hyatt is x le, did you consider Hilton? it's nett price.

Wanted hotel Intercontinental actually when we first started looking for hotel, the decor is nice, setup is nice, long march in.. but too bad, the price is high!!

applerain

I would really not recommend rendevous or at least not the banquet guy Danny that i liased with.When i met him he was very bo chap as if u go to most hotels,they would at least bring a folder with the invitaion cards or wedding favours &amp; the photos of the ballrooms.This guy came empty-handed &amp; when showing me around he didnt even volunteer any info,i had to ask then he will answer.Goodness i was so fed up,after we were finishing i asked him for a sample invitaion cards,u know what was his reply " I left it in my ofc,very leh chay to walk up and down next time k " ??? Ay i was pissed man,anyway i thot fine give u one more chance,i told him when the ballroom is not occupied ( cause that day i went there was a function so could not explore the rm properly ) pls call me then me and my fh will go down again to look.That was on the 09jan till now he didnt call me &amp; i already signed up with another hotel liao.Anyway sorry for being naggy just wanted to share my experience.

gelaine

Hi tarea,

I considered Hilton too.. but FH dun like it. FH dun want Amara too though i think it's nice... Heh... My friend also commented her FH dun like Amara... wat's with hubby and Amara?

Hyatt is also nett price but close to 1k/table for 06/7 pricing up to Apr. So it's headache. Which hotel quotations have you gotten so far for end of 07? Most i enquired all tell me same thing that it's not out yet. Think i overly kan cheong.

Hotel Intercontinental pricing is like wat? I am also thinking of Beaufort. But seemed a little inconvenient. However my friend commented that the Harbourfront MRT make it pretty convenient these days. But FH is not keen on the idea still.

gelaine

Hi Rachael,

Which hotel did you sign up in the end? When is your AD? I'm hoping to get my venue soon too but apparently alot of pricing for 07 Oct/Nov is not out yet... so still waiting.

tarea

Hi Gelaine,

So far all the hotels' pricing we got is only up till end 06.. Crown and Carlton say will most prob revise the $$.. increase of $30 and above per table.. sob sob..

We are overly kan cheong too !! haha.. but it's good la, at least we have got more time to pick and choose.
And den decide on one or two and attend their wedding show, if they have. think at wedding shows, perks and discount will be better.

I can't remember HI's price offhand, it's not nett.. after the +++, will come up to like $900 plus minus a bit per table. and their min table for weekend is 32 or 35..

gelaine

Hey tarea,

YEah.. think we too kan cheong... or should say too kiasu lah. Haha... Hyatt having their wedding show this coming Sat. But their pricing/booking for end 07 not out yet...so will give it a pass.
How many tables u looking at? I was considering Crown as well... and was also told of the increment. Guess every yr will become more expensive one lor... no choice.

tarea

Hi Gelaine,

We looking around 25 to 30 tables.
Who's your coordinator for Crown? We talked to Lydia and think she's a bit new, ask her this and that, she say got to go and check...we met her last week and till now, she had not got back to us..

How you get to know abt Hyatt's wedding show? DUnno if HB is free to go or not.. wat's the timing?

tarea

Hi Gelaine,

We looking around 25 to 30 tables.
Who's your coordinator for Crown? We talked to Lydia and think she's a bit new, ask her this and that, she say got to go and check...we met her last week and till now, she had not got back to us..

How you get to know abt Hyatt's wedding show? DUnno if HB is free to go or not.. wat's the timing?

gelaine

tarea,

I didn't get a coordinator for Crown. Had a friend working there previously but just quit. So took the opportunity before he left to tour around the place.

Got to know Hyatt's show thru their coordinator. Had been liasing with them before as initially i planned my wedding for this yr end but after i got my flat... decided it's out of my budget. But they still kept me updated as Hyatt is definitely my TOP choice no doubt the price is WOW! But like i said, it's my FH's dream venue to hold our event, as it was one of my top list... so 95% we'll go for it but not going down for the showcase as the coordinator say for couples having their banquet 2007 end, they wun really have time to entertain us. We'll have to look ard ourselves. So will go down for their coming up shows with new pricing out i guess
Anyway, if you can make it... it's between 12pm-5pm.

Heard King Copthorne having their bridal show too. But dun remember when... and Traders having it on 22nd Feb.