(2007) Brides of year 2007

kenshare

Kyra and all brides,
when you move into your new hse, do you need to cook a meal at the new place? Who will eat at the new place? Is it just for the couple staying at the new place or... ...

max0924

u gals had your GDL already? i m clueless abt this. i also haven confirm my VG, but a fren recommend her fren to me and he is charging me like a nominal sum as he juz started on this, anyone keen can pm me, i shall share the contact. as it is fren, i better not show the contact here

kenshare

i meant the official day of the move in.
Do you cook only for yourselves to eat on that day?

Cos my FS shifu actually say we- the couple only (those staying in the house) will eat at the new place. But someone commented that I have to call my MIL along and my family along..to eat together? Dun noe for what. Also not a gathering.

kyra

I dismissed the 4 isnt a good number thingy...Haha. We will have 4 jiemei + 4 xiongdi.
On AD, 10 of us move as an entourage aka åå…¨å美ï¼

My AD programme is nowhere in sight! Faintz!
Meeting the helpers this Sunday and I havent written a single word about it =(

Today is a busy day at work, tonight attending cousin's party.
Tomorrow is another super busy long day (facial treatment, ring polishing, fren's kiddo bday party, view corsages, dinner event).
Dunno when I can sit down and rush it out =( =(

Kenshare - First meal should preferably be for your own family. Some chinese believe that food symbolises wealth and thus you should have enough for your family, prosperity is not shared with others etc.

When we did the customary shifting in, no cooking was done on that day cos we catered for buffet. But we did boil water over a charcoal stove. Then later in the day we use our own hod/hood to heat up curry chicken and boil water for coffee.

Actual cooking involving raw food, pots/pans, I think the very very FIRST meal we steamed meat for our dogs! Haha! Then followed by a Saturday dinner (1 soup, 4 dishes) just for both of us.

kyra

Kenshare - Why dont you cook a simple lunch for just you and hubby after the symbolic shift-in? Then maybe evening can ask the extended family over for dinner?

Mine abit different cos we make that day the Housewarming Party for relatives too. Rituals done in the morning then MIL packed lunch for us (hb, me + in-laws). Then buffet dinner for total 70 relatives on same day.

kenshare

huh...uh... I am kind of L.A.Z.Y to do the washing and cleaning. So that's why I wanted to keep it simple just for the 2 of us. Besides the day after I am going away on business, I don;t want to tire myself out. Sorry sounded a bit selfish here..but lately have been real tired.

gelaine

Hey BABY,

My MIL bought me si dian zhuan. My mum thinking of getting me a bracelet.

spiderbaby

hi cutie,
yea, not much of a choice coz my hubby to be is not supposed to see my wedding gown till the actual day ...his culture lor ...that's why we are taking the PS later..but luckily still before the chinese banquet thingy ...but still a bit rushy lor ...*pengz*

millh

wow spiderbaby

this is first time I heard this. But not to worry, even my hubby dun have that culture, I also have taken my album hehe

< a month will be my GDL. Haven't order the cakes yet

Stress...now super busy with reno

denjan

congratulation to happylife and CCK! that's really a happy news...

for me,not so soon leh.....maybe wait for another 2 year....wanna do my more advanced diploma in piano and going to quit from music school next year that i work part time with them to fully work for myself....have to do marketing for student source...hehe..

who else plan to be mummy soon??

pastillies

hi HL, me too! exactly 1 mth to my GDL &amp; an chuang, havent order yet too! my GDL &amp; an chuang is on the 7th oct. mother says order only after 7th mth...which is next tue..
Only just went down to see the printer shop &amp; just gave them the wordings..they say tom will show me 1st draft...then printin takes another 2-3 wks...stress again...oh well anyway also canot give out cards till after GDL...

i feel that still alot of things not prepared/settled yet...esp the wedding programm....haiz...

spiderbaby

hi HL,
yea lor...was my 1st time hearing it too when i first heard it...lol ...oh well, give &amp; take lor ..dont later he says he follows my culture, i no need to follow his ah?! so now, fair &amp; square ;-D ...

so, after u taken yr PS, must show, must show ya ;o)

teohouse

HI all:
Yeah lor, this late in the wedding preps I realised something, what I imagined the wedding will be at first will be different when turn out actual day. Parents have preferences as they also imagined my wedding my entire life. Same goes for his side. SOmetimes after planning, I have to change cos they tell me have to be done another way etc etc, 7th month, invitation cards, tea dress, hee. Well, in the process to ease the jitters, I have arguments with my BF, well, because I was kan chiong and he was not. SEOW CHA BO right? anyway, also, I realised, that there are lots of people who help. We ran by our program with a lot of people and they give a lot of feedback. This ensure we don't miss anything.
anyway, cheers and congrats, all the brides, this is indeed a NEW chapter of our lives!!

hi all, any idea $0.35 for 1 insert in hotstamping consider ex? on top of it, there's add. charge for mould @ $80. i was recommended by my hotel co-ordinator..but sounds ex, after seeing $80 for 400 pcs.

por

hi sher,
it have to depend the qty that you are going to print.. cos there is a $80 charge for the mould.. so u gotta est. how much cost of the mould is to be added to the base charge of $0.35 per insert printed.. for example, if you are going to print 200 pieces,
then the final cost per insert (including mould) = $0.35 + ($80/200) = $0.75 per insert
in this case i will not consider it as cheap but as normal only.. this is just my point of view..
but if you are printing more than the qty for my example, the cost per insert will go down alittle..

as for $80 for 400pcs, i believe it is just normal printing and able to choose the color (e,g, silver, gold, etc.). but gold/silver wordings are different from hotstamping.. correct me if i am wrong..

hope it helps...

Hi hedgehog, thks for your advice...me printing abt 200 pcs, guess its nt tat cheap..coz the printer told me i 've to take hotstamping coz of my inserts are cardboard type but i called another printer, he's able to do norm. printing on cardboard inserts and its cheaper, $100 nett or 1st 200 pcs, + $30 set up charge (due to thickness).

belleteo

Hi Sher, maybe u wanna call and check with Speed technology. They do hot stamp also. The number is on top, think u call and compare better.

barney

Panic... My AD is just another 1 1/2 weeks n i still do not have any ideas for the march in music... anyone can share with me??? pls pm me... thanks.......

thks belle, will call and check. hee act. nt necessary must be hotstamping, just that the printer "advised" me to take hotstamping due to the thickness of the inserts. =)
hw's yr preparation going on? nx week can cont' the planning liao..after 7th mth. going tp buy bedsheet, bedside lamp, red packets, "xi" stickers etc etc. wat else to do huh? like super many things nt done, getting stressed..

smilez

Piglet, do enjoy this very special day!! Happy Birthday

Kaye, how's ur sampling of mooncakes. Nice?

Mei, ur bbk trip is realli attractive!!

Jhoo, mummy advisors..hee~ dunno qualify anot =P

Von, enjoy ur trip!!

faithss

Hi gals...

was kinda busy for whole week..

Divasan, I've saw their web, if you have not let go the voucher, i m okie to buy from you. Afterall, I need this service.

Riko, agreed with you that changing outside is very troublesome. Hmm..I think i will ask for 1 change else all outdoor shot are featuring same gown different scene.

Ann, we are going to London and Italy. Yup, most of them closed on 24th, 25th, 26th, 31th Dec and 1st Jan. Hopefully the rest of the day, they are open even for short hours.. else would be a waste travelling so far with all shops CLOSED.
If you are going Europe as well next year, suggest you choose 2 or at most 3 city, maybe London, Paris and Italy for 3 week? cos' there are many sightseeings and shopping spree in Italy.. Try to go F&amp;E, else you rush your honeymoon like tour group itineary - touch and go style.

Miki, how's your finger? and How's your food tasting?

mrsgan

mei, thanks... i found it... took a cab there
but i didnt get much things there... i think my husband old alr... one day can only shop for limited hours.. now we are in hotel and he is sleeping.. haiz..

smilez, thanks... enjoying myself.. going for massage now... leaving my husband sleeping.

diva79

faiths >> sure. which voucher are u looking at and when can i pass it to you?

babymiki2003 >> oh dear what happened? how come such big cut?

kayemoss

Smilez, super disappointed with the Taka Mooncake fair... Those brands that I m looking out for are not in leh... Like Goodwood Park etcc....

Btw, i got the belly support belt! It seems that the salesgirl at Mothercare did demo the wrong way of wearing the belt to me.... Today, i went to Thyme MAternity and wore it the right way... Dun feel like a human roly poly liao!

Von, u so funny! Yup, must go for spa and massage... Feels very good one!

jueline

My wedding details

ROM + AD:27th Nov 07, Tuesday
Banquet:Furama Riverfront, Mercury ballroom
BS:Silverlining
PS: Utopia Photography
AD PG: Sam Wong
AD VG: NIL
New Home: Bukit Panjang
Email:[email protected]

cutienottikitty

hi spider... ur htb is westerner right?? cos from the show sex and the city....charlotte also dun allow her husband to see her in her wedding gown... that is quite nice..at least he wun know how beautiful u look until that day...

cutienottikitty

anyway girls... i think we can go full steam ahead after today!!! cos it's the last day of the 7th month.... the first thing to do on tuesday... find a post box and send out invites to those who stay overseas...hehe...so exciting..although ya..i also get into arguments... i think i am really too uptight... sighz... underwear too tight... =P

gayletan81

just checking if anyone has any slide-show programs to share. It seems all those online have to pay...:p paiseh

Wish everyone luck in their wedding prep! like cutie mentioned,its "FULL STEAM AHEAD LADIES!!" hahaha..like xiao char bo :p

dodob

Hi Cindy and faiths,

thanks for your suggestions
my bf has been to egypt so that's probably out... Italy is def on my radar cos i have a friend who spent 5 weeks there and she totally raved abt it. But F&amp;E may be out for me cos my bf doesn't like planning .. lazy man!

qiqi09

Monrning ladies,

thanks for the birthday wishes!! I didnt really enjoyed myself... coz i had stomache cramp.. so stayed home the whole day.. my hubby say he will bring me out next week.. hee..

Von, hee.. enjoy urself!!

kaye, glad that u got the belly support and dun feel like ba zhang.. haha..

today lunch i am going visit the taka mooncake fair.. hee.. kaye, goodwood park not there? i will help take a look...

millh

Got a question here.My hubby and I have a house. On actual day, do I still enter his parents house or my house?

tryphena

morning ladies!

piglet, happy belated birthday!

von, enjoy urself!

kaye, hope the belly support does help you.

mei, wow ur shopping spree are all planned properly.

just returned to work from my church conf at batam over the weekend. quite tired cos its an whole day event. now my shoulder and neck like very pain, feel like goin for massage.

jinglebel

My wedding is in 2 weeks' time. Have been cracking our heads to think of ideas to tekan the brothers. Anyone has interesting ideas?

babe_belle

Seems like we are all waiting for today to end...

I have selected my AD gowns so now sourcing around for my bridesmaid dresses. Any recommendations? I need 4 pieces of different sizes and they are all abroad, will only be back a week before my wedding.

Pls advice.

amidamaru

Hi carol.. Can i join too?

Nickname : amidamaru
AD Date : 27th October 2007
AD Day : Saturday
AD Venue : Grand Hyatt Hotel
BS : Z wedding
AD Photo : not sure
AD Video : Friends
MUA : Candy (Z wedding)
ROM Date : 23th Mar 2006
Love nest : Jurong

Thanks Lots

brocoli

Hi Gals...

I have just return from Bangkok,went for a break first before the busy preparation. Any one looking for flower gals dresses and suit? I found this wholesale shop at Platinum Fashion Mall selling beri nice dresses at 400baht (est S$18). Anyone interested can check it out at www.4angelisu.com

Guess I should call my BS to fix my first fitting and PS date le. My AD is on 24Dec but hv yet to do anything. Now, trying to loose some more weight and have a more radient skin for my AD. Anyone taking Fancl Collagen drink now? Is it really good for skin? I am thinking of taking it from now to prepare for a glowing look on my AD.