(2007) Brides of year 2007

jellyfield

hi jazlyn,

itz coz we are not rom-ing in the fort canning premise. hence we'll have to go to rom a few days b4 dat to collect the documents.

sylphide,

forget to ask u... do we haf to buy the cannister to hold the rom doc?

tryphena

thanks gals, for ur concern.

i m staying in office cos need to visit my MIL later in the afternoon after she comes out fm the op theatre and my office is near the hospital.

janetdanielle

My AD is also on the 30th June! Hahaha. Pray for me too? Sigh.. my guest list keep changing till this minute. Really worried about last minute changes.

janetdanielle

HI Claudia, think it's a common problem. I loose temper over the seat arrangment with my husband too. THanks goodness last min, he realises the importance of the tables. Sigh.. some of my colleagues also not too sure if they are turning up. I have half the mind not to place in the chair until my Jiemei saw the guests. *Sobs* Like most of you, my parents and parent in law's friends and distant relative also never RSVP. Very irritating. Was so stressed over the weekend to the extent I almost cried. And minor stuff like the Trinity candle and guest box. My husband dun see the point to decorate them but I tot they would look so plain. Hahaha. I think I get irritated very easily especially when he dun get my point. Sigh.. Am I over-reacting? I am so glad I am not the only one stressed up during the wedding preparations.

mesmeric_viper

This is a really happening thread! I had a hard time flipping to the end so that I can post my message!! Hehe... I have a question on GDL hopefully someone can help me... Where can I find those traditional baskets used for GDL? Preferrably can rent them.
Thanks alot sisters!

ernie_derek

You can get the basket from any traditional chinese customary wedding preparation shops. There is one located next to Outram MRT Station called, Tiao Xiang Department Store.

THere are 2 ladies mending the shop but they are not the most courteous ladies in the world.

I got most of my Guo Da Li's stuff from them. You can contact them @ 6222 2572 or 6224 8848.

Hope it helps. =)

kyra

suika - I have all along intended to visit Leaping Lizard and loeandbehold but kept sitting on it. Until PS is coming Sunday then I moved my butt to go shopping last weekend =P

Visited FEP (Anna Nucci and some other shops), Tanjong Pagar (Daniel Yam), Marina Square (I swear I went into all shops...Novo etc) in same day but couldnt find any suitable ones. Then decided to try Millenia Walk, initially I was hesitant cos most of the stuff there are rather expensive. Hb was very tired already so he said to try our luck cos really running out of time already. AND I managed to get 2 pairs in the same shop!!!! They are having 10-70% discount now.

The shop is D'Vianne. I bought a white pair for WG, 4 inches high. Original price $139.90 but it was 30% off. A gold pair for EG, 3 inches high. Original price $69.90 but it was going for 50% off! So total 2 pairs only around $132.

Most importantly, the sales assistant Daphne was very very very friendly and helpful. I think I tried more than 20 pairs of shoes there =P And while I was trying on the shoes, two aunties were browsing in the shop, 1 of them even gave me her comments (as I was deliberating between 2 pairs and didnt want to listen to hb's choice). Haha!

If you have time, try leaping lizard, loeandbehold or even essex walk as well, they have pretty shoes!!

jaspire

Hi Janetdanielle, lets keep one another in prayer. Are you having your church wedding in the morning? Dun worry too much... rope in yr frens to help if you feel you are too stressed or overloaded. Am sure they would be willing to help. As for Guest List and the rsvp, its a problem we all have to go thru. My list has been ever changing too... but our wedding will still go on regardless, just remember dat. So be happy, relax and commit it all to God. Have faith in him and knows that out here there are pple who prays for you too...

kayemoss

Jazol, ur MIL going for knee op? Who is going to take care of her once she is discharged?

Wow, Mei.. So unlucky... Gotta clean the toilet at that timing... That;s the best timing to sleep! I think last night rain is best... Makes it not so hot!

yuene

jellyfield: Okay la, not very crowded, though we had to take a queue number. The queue moved quite fast also, we waited about 15 minutes or so? You have to buy the cannister to hold the cert separately, all they did was ask for the relevant documents, tell us to ensure that the information on the certificates is in order, then make us take an oath. All the documents are packed into a 'On Government Service' envelope. Remember to bring all documents k?

Jazlyn: I'm collecting mine because my ceremony is held outside of ROM.

yuene

Bring the following:

-Both your ICs (actual copies) or passports
-a copy of both witnesses' ICs
-Copy of filing instructions
-Consent form signed by your Justice of Peace
-Copy of divorce certificate (if applicable)

If you haven't paid for something, they accept cashcard. And of course, both of you must be physically present at ROM itself.

imagesxela

eh...today her birthday ah.... hope i'm not too late.....

HAPPY BIRTHDAY AUNTY JUNIE!!!!!!!!!

May you stay young, pretty, gorgeous, charming, sexy, chio, happy, er.. cheerful, sweet always!!

(no wonder today no on MSN... lucky i saw the message...in time to wish u)

jellyfield

thks sylphide!
so that means we'll haf to bring the docs in the "On Govt Service" envelope on our ROM day?

yah.. gg home to dble check all the docs r in order.. dun wanna make a boo-boo 2mr. *choyz!*

stpeiyee

slyphide n jellyfield,

oh.. so those who ROM outside of ROM building itself needs to collect documents on separate day. now i understand. i no longer use my canister leh. anyone of u wan it? if u wan, i give u lor.. keep oso waste a storage space. let me know ya.

n yes, 777 is not good for those born in monkey year. dat's wat master told me lah. dat day 'clash' with monkey sign.

law_len

Wah! 2 pairs at $132 is really a good deal! I bought 1 pair at $90 wor....I am intending to buy one more pair which is higher than 3.5 inches, open toes and gold colour but hard to find leh...My current is 3.5 inches but still find it abit short coz my hubby is tall...Still considering if necessary to buy one more or not..

Essek Walk shoes are exp leh! Hehehe...but nice!

clueless_mei

pineapple, oh dear, do take care!! drinks lots of water and rest ok? =)

janetdanielle, think if possible, assign one brother or sister to be your main co-ordinator so that they can help u take care of things, be it wine, tables and time to start the dinner, brief them beforehand so that they can help u make decision and dun have to look for u and hubby all the time.. by the evening, u cannot be too involve cos u will be doing your make-up and greeting the guests and etc... no time to look at nitty gritty stuffs...

cherimoya

Hi all, sorry for not contributing. Have been very busy doing my wedding favours for my guests. It's a pretty last minute thing. Anyway, almost finishing soon.. So happy.. hehe..

only 5 more days. so fast! Hmm.. Still haven't managed to lose any weight. SAD.. Keke..

Anyway, we are going Taipei after that. Also a last min decision. hehe.. bought the air tickets and booked the hotel once we decided.

So how is everyone getting on?

Oh ya. 7th July 2007 is not good for Monkey. That's why hubby and I dropped the idea of doing our wedding on that day and chose 1st July 2007 instead.

benceline

I also realised it from my master that when I entered the house those born in the year of monkey shld not be in the house too, or at least not faCe to face........my godma is bringing me into church and is born in the year of monkey, dun is it counter hor.........

btw, beside monkey is not good, whatelse they say huh?

sylphide : what was your q no? Mine is 69? I wore very ugly, cos no mood, not feeling well.............

pastillies

hi Belle,
hee yup excited rite
me too! today my contractor finish polishing the floors le! yeah! just in time for my closets to come in on thurs & wallpaper on fri. will share pic of our lovenest soon
u too share ur pics ya!

actually if u order ur wedding bed now also can mah...so long u both dun sleep on it first...mmm rather than spend money to get a sofa bed, can also get mattress to jus sleep for the time being till after wedding / after an chuang then sleep on ur wedding bed. unless of cos, getting a sofa bed is part of ur hse deco ; ie leave it in guest room in future, etc.. i koe the building near IMM (think it's call AIKIRA bldg) level one (upstairs is Lorenzo / downstairs is AIKIRA & the sofa bed outlet) sells quite a bit of sofa bed...mmm dunno wat brand or name of the shop...but looks quite nice

hi bride,
haha ya lor wanted to do it either before or after 7th mth. Anyway my coordinator has been asking me to do it early too..
u when's ur food tasting?

hi Jess, dun worry u'll also enjoy ur planing & deco /reno for ur hse when it comes

meguriai

hi girls, i'm also september bride. just realised that i'm quite behind time in all my planning. *sigh*

kyra - i was talking to barwork at chinatown for wine supplies. think they are quite good and reasonably priced.otherwise you can check out winebos, opposite clark quay mrt.

i need to think abt the invite printing, finalise my wine supplier, finalise my guest list.. and importantly... confirm my xiongdi jiemeis which i still have not done!!!

oh dear....

cpigl

strawberries, thanks. i'm going back to see doc tomorrow. hopefully, everything its ok.

suelynn, i'm on mc for a week to stay at home and rest and do nothing. suppose to be bed rest but of course i didn't stay in bed all the time lah. heheh.... i'm a naughty patient.

verigracia

Happy birthday to Junie!

This tread is really very fast moving.Any one can share your photographer?i am still looking for it?
Any freelance?

denjan

hi all,something to share with u gals here....
FH and i almost did something very blur today that almost spoil our solemnisation plan!!!

we were doing e-filing at home this morning...and we understand the rules that this must be done at least 21days before the solemnisation..our wedding party will be held on 20th july so today is still eligible to e-file. BIG PROBLEM was we din realise that we have to be resided in singapore for at least 15days before e-filing!! we went to JB last sunday to view our ps layout...oh my god,meaning our last entered sg date was on 24th june.....this caused us not able to proceed to certain procedure during e-fliing....

we ended up rushing down to ROM straight away...and explained everything to the attendant and officer...to solve it we need to pay $200 to apply a SPECIAL MARRIDGE LICENSE in order to waive that 21days period..and of course we decided to pay for it since this is the only thing we can do in order to remain 20th july for solemnisation....kinda a po4 cai2 xiao1 zai1.....

jz before the minute we wanted to leave,the attendant got back to us that he told about our case to his superior that we din realise about that 15days of continuosly resident in sg requirement cos it isn't stated clear in the ROM homepage.....and since we r the 1st couple to feedback to them about this issue and they jz waive that 15days period for us...... SO LUCKY that we ended up don have to spent that $200.....sigh....

the moral of the story is: never do things at the very last minute and must read through every details for those very important procedure... and ROM is indeed the most important thing in life !! hee...

stpeiyee

yup, those born in monkey year r not supposed to see us face to face when we entered groom's house. they can choose to hide in the room, n come out only when the couple have offered their prayers to the ancestor.

mary n hui,

the master din just highlight the suitable dates to both of u? my master take all our zodiac sign (me, hb n both sides of parents), total 6 persons into his date calculation to ensure there's no clash on it.

janice...

u r a lucky gal
can save 200 dollars.

jhoo

heez, ya, mei.. that's a good timing to have a nice cosy sleep.

jazol, u better? what happen to ur MIL?

last sun was my mil birthday and i bot her a top. My hubby told me she's very happy coz the top fit her nicely and also the design suit her. haa

lyons

<font color="119911">hi pastilles, mine ar... it'll be after 7th mth, mid sept lor. My coordinator, on the other hand, told me not to food-taste too early. I think the chef scared he forget! :p Which hotel/restaurant are you with?</font>

kyra

Law &amp; Len - Where did you get your shoes from? I got 1 white and 1 gold now but thinking if I should get a silver one as well. Jialat =P

Jen - I just happened to surf the net and read about barwork yesterday too. Have you heard of Winebos? We made appt to meet them this Friday...And how about crystal wines? Anyone has recommendations?