(2007/10) ROM in 2007 October

klping

Hi PP, I left the magazine at my HTB's house. Dun rem the page. It's a bustier A-line dress from Olive Suite. Though it's pricely, I get to wear it again at friends' wedding dinner (just have to play around with the colour and type of ribbon)

Berry egg, fish and PP, are your ROM as well as customary? Mine is on 3 Oct, Marriott 7pm. Guess I am the first to get ROM in Oct in this forum. =)

dkaren

HI Ladies,
Finally got chance to post something tonight.
My in-laws came over my place to Ti Qing on thursday. Not only that... all the San Ku, Liu Po came my place automatically. They are my aunties cum his aunties.

The moment when His aunt arrived, She addressed my mum as Qing-Gay. My mother was telling me that i need to start to address my in-law as Pa or Ma instead of Aunty & Uncle. Aiyoh... as the day getting near to be MRS TAN. I started to have tongue tight calling my in-laws as Pa & Ma. When do we have to start calling the in-laws as Pa & Ma ? Do we need to practice them calling asap as our day are getting nearer?

The other day ,My dad was saying that He still prefer My HTB to address him Uncle cos he'll not get use to it if he called him as Daddy. Immediately, i just burst into laughter...what a weird Dad i have ! I only thought the youngster will face this issue but not to our parents.

So ladies are you ready to call ur in-laws as Pa & Ma ? and ur parents, are they ready to have their daughter-in-law to address them as Daddy / Mummy / Pa / Ma etc ?

dkaren

Answering to Berry_Egg's QuestN:
More or less, i am done with my preparation.
I will be meeting my gfrens tomorrow to do some discussion about my church wedding service program.

I haven't attend a wedding service for a long time.I dun quite remember how does the service go.
I have no idea actually i need some entertainment program for my buffet lunch.

Actually i treat this ROM cum church wedding service very important for myself. Always wanna have a church wedding.Therefore it will be different from the rest. More details needed to be taken care for the church wedding service.
Like the Flower gal, Bridesmaid, Best-man, Ring-boy etc.(which my HTB prefer not to have it)

Before that i had a had time with the Church wedding coordinator and also with the church arrangement. It seems that everything are under their control. I do not have much choice of my own. Thank you Abba Daddy that HE sent someone to my rescue, which are my cell groups members if not I will be offending a lot of people around me , especially the church people.

benbenfish

Hi Klping,
Believe our customary should be in Sept 09 as now we are taking up a Bachelor course (Part-time) and there is no extra time for us to preparing our wedding nicely. So we plan to delay it till Sept 09. haha... then Is ur customary come together after ur ROM?

Hi Karen,
Is ur customary come together after ur ROM? my HTB's parent didnt come my house to 'ti qing' as we think it should do before the customary not ROM unless ur customary and ROM comes together in a very short of period. Anyway, we have not yet starts calling our in-laws as Pa and Ma. Think should be starts calling after our ROM day. But also feel it weird.. hoohoo...

dkaren

To PP,

You are Right ! one at a time. Too many things in my mind. I am so perfectionist that i wanna everything to be in my way and I wanna everything to be swee swee. Haiz... Big Headache.

Started to let things to go ....cos i started feeling uneasy and unhappy.After letting go, i just feel more peaceful and more time to do my stuff.

IT's not easy to walk this wedding preparation's journey alone. We always need frens to encourage and remind us that we are NOT ALONE! We should enjoy this process. I am grateful that All the Ladies in Singapore Brides out there are so understanding & helpful.

Thank you Ladies....

dkaren

Hi Fish,

My Customary is on the 28th June 2008.
The reason for so early Ti Qin bcos we are staying together after the ROM (Church Wedding). TO us, ROM is an official wedding. Customary is more for our parents.

benbenfish

Hi Karen,

So have you book ur hotel for customary already?
Usually how long in advance need to check for the hotel and price as well as the wedding photos?

klping

Hi Fish

I am taking a Bachelor degree too. It's stressful to study and work at the same time. We are holding our customary next year end (will be graduating Nov 08). Guess we have to choose a date next year. Do you think the feng shui master would be able to advise us on an auspicious date next year? Not sure if tong shu is out.

I would find it weird to call my father-in-law as pa too. It would be good to start calling after customary. =)

Karen, think you are not alone who is perferionist in the wedding preparation. It happens only once in a lifetime. Of course, we would want it to be etched as beautiful and memorable memories. That's nothing wrong with that. Whatever it is, if you have planned and prepared everything as scheduled, we can only wish for the best and enjoy the moments (be it good or little hipcupps here and there)on the big day. God will bless you. =)

dkaren

Hello_O Fish,
I have already booked Grand Shanghai Restaurant.
The price has already gone slightly before the implement of 7% GST. Alternatively you can also go to Wedding Banquet Tab to read up on the Ladies feedback on your listed hotel.I chose Grand Shanghai bcos I like to have LIVE music during dinner time. Plus my parents like SHANGHAI TAN sort of music.Overall, for banquet booking at least a yr advance in order to book the day that u want.
Pricing for Wedding Photos.... Hmmmm unless u are not taking the wedding package from the Bridal Shop, u need to read from the site first.To provide some details on Finished Goods of the wedding photos type. Like Magazine type, FineArt Photo Book etc. hahahaha.

klping

Hi all, I was just wondering if I were to choose to find my own photographer, gown, make-up artist etc respectively, would it cheaper or would it be better to take up the package? Sometimes, you may like the bridal gown from the BS but like a particular photographer elsewhere, so it is rather difficult to have the best of both.

littlepanda81

Hi Klping.. do u need to make appointment to go to oliver suite? Ya, I heard it is pricy also.. above 300 right? Haiz. I just went to my BS yesterday to choose my ROM dress. Sadly, none of them fits me well..and I dun really like the design. kinda old.. So now I have to search for my own ROM dress for back up.. in case after alternation, it still looks aweful.
Luckily still have time.. I believe. Any recommendation for ROM dress other than Daniel Yam, Oliver suite?

I believe it is more expensive to find separately.. coz normally makeup artise not cheap for good ones.. maybe you can ask around for the pricing first.

Hi Karen, Agree with you..everyone wants a perfect wedding..but well, we must always remind ourselves that we must enjoy the process.
Hee. I got a colleague's husband forgot to take her bouquet of flowers on the AD.. guess what, she never get angry and very relax and enjoy the whole day.. haha..

klping

Hi PP

It is indeed pricely. The cheapest is 400+. However, you can really find pretty and nice dresses there. In fact, I really like one very much. It made me look like princess but it's not worth to buy and wear it one time. It costs almost $700!

Yes, you have to make an appointment. I am going down this coming Saturday to try my dress. Wonder how it fits me as they made one that fits my size. Yendoo's service is good. She's patient with customers, especially when we want to try so many other dresses. No harm taking a look. =)

littlepanda81

Hi Klping, thanks ya. Wah. over my budget. I find some online design..maybe I might tailor made one.. Lets see how it goes. Yes, u are right, I should drop by to the shop to take a look at the designs.. I think the designs should look great.. hee..
U must be excited ya..

BTW, i forgot where u are holding your ROM? Mine is an outdoor area in the condo..so must find something more fun..

benbenfish

Hi Klping,

My HTB and myself will complete our part time bachelor in Nov 2008 also.. haha...Meanwhile, we are waiting good news from HDB for the flat we selecting. Then will have some simple renovation 1st till we complete the bachelor course, then start to renovate and preparing the necessary things for our customary, by then, we have reli focus on the customary by my HTB and myself. BTW, is the style wedding magazine with you? can scan to us to see ur ROM dress?

Hi pp,
Wat kind of ROM dress u perfer? simple white or something special? Coz for mine, it's a simple white, i dont like some which so colourful and alot of design.. haha..

Are you giving any doorgift to ur guests?

klping

Hi Fish

I do not want to rush through the wedding too but my HTB is in his late thirties so if I were to drag the wedding, he would be getting even older. HaHa... so I have to compromise by holding the customary next year end..as simple as possible.

Sigh. We balloted twice since beginning of the year but our queue numbers are always 8000+. Still thinking hard where we want to buy and what to buy. He needs a room for his work and one room will be for his father. Left with no room for children. I don't want to move far away from my mother as she can help me to look after our children but my area (west) is pricely and it looks small for a 5 room flat. Whatever it is, hope to hear good news from you about your house.

I am so sorry the magazine is at my HTB's house. Won't be able to scan the picture till he comes back from overseas on Friday night.

Hi PP

Mine is at Marriott poolside.

As for door gifts, it depends what Marriott can offer to me. I hardly have time to prepare door gifts. Was looking for matching shoes whole afternoon yesterday but can't anything suitable to match my off-white dress. Either the heels are too thick or it's too dull. Any other good recommendations?

littlepanda81

Hi Fish.. i would prefer simple design..I shall do my shopping again..hee...I am sure I can find one.. hehe..thanks ya.

Hi Klping, mm.. shoes is always an issue. where have u been shopping? Taka, Metro, Tangs, Daniel Yam, CharlesnKeith.. all been there? U have any budget?

klping

Yes, I have tried all except Daniel Yam. I have one Heatwave shoe but somehow, it doesn't really compliment the dress. If it comes to worst senario, I might have no choice but to make do with it.

I guess shoes of this type is noramlly between $100 to $150. Hope to find something that is below $120.

chemie

I got my rom gown from my bridal shop.. when i sign up i made them loan it to me free and convert my trial make up to rom makeup

aiwl24

Oh.. I read alot of very negative feedback about MR & MRs leh...gosh..they are really very hard selling man..no wonder my MUA refused to work with them.

littlepanda81

Hi klping, try searching around again lo.. go Daniel Yam and see if u can find one.
Ya, the shoes are around that range now. How about Aldo, Centerpoint Tangs Studio?

Hi Chemie, mine the same. ROM gown + make up + bouquet + guestbook throw in for me.. but now i got to search the ROM gown for backup.. very limited choice in the BS.. haiz.

chemie

Wah your BS good already throw in bouquet.. Have to buy flowers ourself... My ROM gown also quite plain.. limited selection (free, what to do). You want to try oliver suite, heard their rom gown quite nice.

littlepanda81

Hi Chemie, dun wish to buy oliver suite... i think its too pricy for me. Over my budget. About 400 onwards. I will just look around for it. I went Lavendar.. also about 300+ and since a lot of ppl are getting married in the next few months, sizes are ran out. A few I tried, no more sizes.. will continue searching. Thanks!

berry_egg

Hi PP,

i bought my ROM shoes at CK Tangs. There's nice satin looking heels (but hard to maintain) at CK Tangs Maybe u can try Vivo Tangs?

berry_egg

Hi Elaine,

i'm going down to Di Gio at my ROM date for their make up. had actually booked with Pretty Box but the timing was out. The MUA is only available from 9am to 10am, she has got another photoshoot to do. So in the end, i decided to use Di Gio Trial make-up, converted to ROM make up.

poopa

berry egg,
me also using the trial make up for my ROM make up... keke.. jus cfm it last nite.. hey, do u hv multiply.. can add me.. dopey130

berry_egg

Hi Elaine,

try adding you but it says "ID does not exist"
my multiply is singyee78.. so just add me

To all oct ROM brides, do add me in multiply and we can share photos there.

littlepanda81

Hi Berry egg, thanks.. i got my shoes too.. in charles and keith.. simple design.. of coz will drop by to take a look too..hee.

Mine is Ponnie Hsu.. going to pay her extra to come to the HTB place for makeup.. included in my bridal package...

I saw that one of the brides makeup is from Dio Gio, hairdo and makeup very nice..but dunno who is it....

berry_egg

Hi gals, just an update

Fish - 6 Oct 2pm-5pm, Orchard Hotel
PP - 9 Oct 07 at 5pm
Elaine - 10 Oct, 4.25pm
Berry_egg - 19th Oct at 12.45pm, peony jade

meowyt

Hihi everyone! Hope I'm not too late to join this link. My rom is in oct too.. Hv sign up a package with White Link.. Now still searching for my shoes..

benbenfish

Hi Chemie,

Yaya... you remind me of this... otherwise i gonna bring a 'cheap cheap' pen to there...haha..
Any good recommendation to find a pen to use during the solemnisation?

dkaren

hey hey hey Berry_egg,
HOw can u forget abt me ?!!!
Hahahaa..
I'm on the 27th Oct, 1pm , Gallery Hotel.

HI MeowyT,
Welcome here and Congrats to u. I'm also signed up with Whitelink so who's ur coordinator?
I took Sammi as my coordinator.When's ur big day and where are u holding ur ceremony ? Let us know so that Berry_Egg can include u in her updates.

dkaren

oh yAh Ladies,
Have you found ur LOVE Nestle ?
I'm still looking around.It seems that this season is not a gd time to find houses as the market is asking more than 40k in cash !!!.
That's unbelieveable!

meowyt

Hi Karen,
Thanks. Congrats to you too!
My coordinator is Shirlyn. Juz chosen my dress not too long ago. How abt you? Hv u decide on your dress already? I'm having my rom at Peony-Jade on 12 oct. Din invite alot of people. Juz a simple one with close family and friends.

benbenfish

Hi Karen,
We are selecting the 1st hand 5 room at Jurong west area, coz it's near my parent. By end of this mth we will receive letter from HDB for the Q no which allow us to select the unit.
Now the open market is asking a very high selling price. It's reli unbelieveable.
How abt the rest?

benbenfish

Hope not missing anyone... hoo hoo..

Happiness & Bliss - 1 Oct , Registry Office
Klping - 3 Oct, 7pm, Marriott
Fish - 6 Oct 2pm-5pm, Orchard Hotel
Ann - 6 Oct , Changi Village Hotel
PP - 9 Oct at 5pm
Shermie - 9 Oct
Elaine - 10 Oct, 4.25pm
MeowyT - 12 Oct, Peony-Jade
Berry_egg - 19th Oct at 12.45pm, peony jade
Keren - 27th Oct, 1pm , Gallery Hotel.
Esther Tan - 27 Oct
Ivy Sam - 27 Oct

littlepanda81

Hi Fish, thanks for compiling.
What sort of pen are you looking for? Those Feather type or the guest set? I think souvenir shops should have sell.. For ours, we just bought a pair of parker pens. My Htb wanted to keep it after that as memory.

For the hse, I am not looking for one as I have the current hse is under my name since my mum pass away, inherited from her. Yes, i heard about it from my friends.. very pricy.. maybe should wait for a while.. property prices might drop next year.

meowyt

Hello Fish,
Thanks for compiling the list too. ;)
I'm actually trying for flats in the northeast area thru wis but to no avail. So hv to keep trying..

berry_egg

Hi karen,

ops..... sorry for missing you out.

To Fish
Thanks for updating the rest of the gals rom info.

wow..it's just one week away for those early oct ROM. are u all getting excited? i'm trying to not think too much about the actual day event, eg will i trip with the heel.. will i look fat that day (the losing weight part is really really slow), what if i got pimples that day?, what if my voice croak like a frog when it's my turn to say the vows? what if i get too nervous and gets stomachache that morning? hahaha.. the list goes on.

as for the pens, i think i will just borrow my dad's mont blanc to sign the cert. Would love to get those feather type of ink pen.. hhahaha.. but not sure if they will cost. thought that PP's idea of getting a pair of parker pens for that day and keep it for work use is pretty good.

another issue... what would you called your in-laws after the ROM? can we stil use uncle and auntie?

klping

Hi Fish

Thanks for compiling the list and remembering me. =)

Hi PP

I have found my shoes at Anna Rucci (Hope I guessec correctly) at Far East Plaza.

Hi Berryegg

What worried me most was my menstruation might come early and fall on ROM day. I think I would be so conscious about it as I am wearing a tight-fitting off-white dress. There are certain things that are beyond our control. Let's just embrace it as it is. God bless.

benbenfish

Haha..it's ok. We should thanks berry egg as she was the 1st to update for the list...

Hi Berry egg,
i'm also starts nervous as there is onli 12 days more to my ROM...aiyo..i worry wat is my mind is 'empty' when it's our turn for the vows...haha...luckly my menstruation juz over and i can drop that worry...but it comes much earlier than i expected.. think is stress ba..haha..
Anyway, this week, we have to buy the guest book and look for the parker pen, my frenzs told me those parker pen is good enough for signing on the certs, so maybe i will consider that ba...haha...

bellebeins

Morning Girls,

I am new here.. I am getting ROM on the 27 Oct 2007 at the Furama Riverfront.

Need some of you girls advise.. If

I will be havine about 70-80 pax for my ROM luncheon.. You think i should get an ang bao for the luncheon? any advise

littlepanda81

Hi Berry egg, I think it should not cost that muc for the feather pen..
Hmm, for the in laws, actually should be father and mum already in case some of them are sensitive. ROM means legally married.
Wonder how we are gettin use to it. haha. mmm.... Let's share after our ROM.

Ya, excited also. But I have things crop up as well,the condo management giving us some probs. saying that we cant use the area for solemization. Haiz. So now we are going to talk further with them. Once this is ok, I be very happy..just waiting for the day. haha.

Hi Bellebeins, will there be a reception area? If there is, maybe you should get an ang bao box for it... for relatives. My two cents worth.

happinessbliss

Dear Fish,

Thank you for compiling. Seems that I'm the first on the go. Haha

Dear berry egg,
My ROM is next Monday and am excited. You know what, I dreamt that I sign my cert wrongly and was asking the JP what to do...boohohoo..lucky I woke up and was relieve it is all a dream...phew...

littlepanda81

Congrats, Happiness&Bliss..hee.. i think everybody is excited too.. so near to the dates liao.
We shall share our photos after the ROM.

chemie

Me also on 27 Oct 07. So many people ROM on that day. My JP is Mr Chan, how about the rest of you? Could not find feather pen, any know where?

berry_egg

Hi Klping,

just counted my menstrual cycle.. and it falls nicely on the ROM day and weekend. which means i will get those PMS especially being ultra moody and emotional prior ROM. *cross my fingers* that it will come early.

Hi Fish,
my brain will definitly go FREEZE and blank out for sure cos it happened everything i have a presentation at work. it will only take me a few hours later to think thru what had happened.
oh ya, i met up with JP Chan last week to sign my form. It was quite a rush while we wanted to chat with him longer, he kinda of send us away. Guess he was waiting for some other couples. Hope that he will be more jovial on the ROM.

hihi bellebeins,
congrats and welcome to the club... wah 60 to 70 pax luncheon....big party. you mean an ang bao box for the event? hmm.. i feel that it's more personal to collect the ang baos from your relatives. if they were to give, just accept graciously. otherwise i'm not expecting my guest to give me anything
reserve for the actual day banquet.

Hi PP,
hope things will turn out well with the condo management.

Hi Happiness & Bliss,
next monday huh.. so u are the first.. must share your photos with us ya? i also did dreamt of my ROM (1 month plus ago), it's more like wrong place, wrong time, setting, and the wrong ppl attending the luncheon!!!! it was a very very upsetting, stressed up dream.

hi Chemie,
there's one shop at bras baseh selling the feather pen, try the bridal accessories (selling ring pillows, ang baos, guest books etc) shops there

klping

Oh, berry egg, we are in the same predicament! Mine will fall on ROM that day too. Yours fall on 19th Oct so you still have the time to get some pills from the doctor to either make the menstruation come early or later. I only start thinking of this issue when it's near the date so I won't be in time for the pills. =( Hope everything goes well that day.

PP, hope things turn out well with the condo management too. Have faith.

I am almost done with everything except to try on my dress again, collect my rings, find songs, coloured pens, make gift tags for the wedding favors and collect my shoe. Of course not forgetting my pedi and mani and collect my hand bouquet on that day. =)

Before all these, I have to finish my work in advance and start reading through my assignments before the due date. This week is going to be a mad rush for me.