(2007/10) ROM in 2007 October

berry_egg

Dear gals,

sorry for the late reply.

Elaine: mine will be outside ROM, at peony jade. Almost prepared, left the heels, flower, collection of wedding band and FH's shirt. Hope that there won't be any pimples popping out that week.

Hi Happiness&Bliss,
congrats. wow 1st Oct.. which means u are left with a month. quick quick must go find the dress liao.

Hi Karen,
i have planned to send out the invitation card by mid of sept. Currently waiting for our caricature portraint to be ready. Wanted to use that as a cover.
I'm only inviting 2 tables so the card would be quite fast to prepare. hee
i also want cupcake leh. what sort of design u gals choose?
As for the songs, i'm really bad with songs choosing, more of a foodie person. Sorry, i couldn't come out with any.

erinkgt

For those unromantic HTB BTB, how did we manage to come to this end??? Mine also not romantic..He actually joke that i purpose to him or buy a ring to purpose him...Even now i still ask him abt it... Cos now when i try to recall, i totally have no idea how come i am now in the road of being BTB....

Also, for ROM flower. Is there any difference in the wrapping?? Cos i was thinking of saving $$$. Just buy some flower & ask them to wrap it nicely...Any suggestion of flower to be used???

My ROM is 29oct 3.45pm only.... So should i buy the flower one day before & put in the fridge??? Or should i ask my sis to collect them for me.

Hehe...I still not yet rec any flower from my HTB..His friends & sis-in-law are shocked to hear that i not yet rec flower..Anyway, i dont know care of flower,they look nice but handling them is troublesome.

Can someone advise on the storage of flower and types/meaning of the flower to be suitable used for ROM.

happinessbliss

Dear Berry Egg,

Thanks. Yup I only left a month to look for a dress. I've tried a few but can't make up my mind. HTB is exasperated. Cos I make him go shopping with me for the dress.

I choose the small little square ROM cakes from Cake avenue to give away to my frds and relatives. And also for my cols who can't attend. U can go to their website to take a look. Very pretty cakes and taste good too. Ordered birthday cake from them before and taste as good as it look.

http://www.cakeavenue.com/

poopa

Hihi.. thks ladies for the warm welcome..

Happiness: my ROM dress is included in my bridal package so will be getting one from BS... no worries on tat.. except... shoes now.. i nd to find a pair of 4 inch shoes for my WG and EG.. couldn't find one that i like... btw, u can try renting one from BS... some are quite nice..

Berry_egg: is peony jade ex? thinking of going there for dinner after my ROM cos mine is 4.25pm... keke

o.. an update on my prep.. now waiting for my PS in oct too (few days b4 ROM), and i'm stuck there.. dun noe wat to prepare.. any advise ladies.. btw, my AD is in jan 08..

littlepanda81

Hello berry egg, cupcakes sounds interesting. I was also thinking what to give out as a thank you note to the ppl attending my ROM.

Hi Happiness&Bliss, have you sign up a BS? If yes and you could not find a suitable one, u may rent from them... just a suggestion..
The other way is search online for designs and find a tailor to customize for u..

Hi Elaine, u should call peony jade to ask on the availability..i heard that it is popular place for BTB to go there after ROM.

Hi Lgt, maybe your hubby is preparing and joke with u le? Mine is in the midst of preparation..haha. I only got my proposal ring...
The sequence a bit funny.

As for the flowers, the standard is roses. U can put it in the fridge one day before..or ask your sis to take for u.
U just have to stress free on your big day! Why do you want to wrap it yrself.. i think u can to the florist.. some sell around 20-30 for one small bouquet..nicely wrap.

klping

Hi, I'm back! My HTB just proposed to me on Saturday on the Luge at Sentosa! Being a cautious man, he would never bring such an important thing up in the air (in case it drops) but he did! It's so sweet! SO unromantic man would still do something unexpected at times. =)

Yes, PP. I agree with you that the sequence seems a bit funny but better than nothing. Think we should not be shortchanged of that. Luckily, my HTB said this before I spoke my mind.

Hi Lqt
Don't worry. You are not alone. I have yet to receive flowers from my HTB since we dated last Jan. Probably he would give unexpectedly??

Hi Happiness & Bliss
My ROM is 3/10/07 and I have yet to find a dress, buy wedding bands, shoes, hand bouquet, sending invitation cards. Luckily, Mariott is preparing all the deco and items needed for the night, so I just have to bring myself there and enjoy the beautiful moments. =)

benbenfish

Hi Klping,
Wah, feel so happy for u, he proposed to u wor…haha..Good Good…

Hi everyone here,
Anyone here has confirmed with yr JP for a date to meet up and sign the form?

happinessbliss

Hi Klping,
U must be elated when he proposed right? hahaha...

I have finally got my dress and shoes already. Now will be looking for hand bouquet. I am having my ROM at the registry then following that a simple dinner. As we only invited close frds and immediate family. Have not decided on the dinner venue thou :eek:(
I am a lazy bride... hehehe

littlepanda81

Hi Klping, wah! Happy for u.. hehe..
So u must be very very touch...agree with u lah.. better than nothing.. hehe.. at least got the xin there.. my friend regret now huh. her hubby never propose to her.. ask her to apply HDB..that's it..haiz..

Oh, Are u having it at Marriot? Your AD also? I like the deco for Marriot leh.. nearly choosen it as my hotel..

Hi Fish, I am meeting Mr Chan, my jp next week.. who's yr jp?

benbenfish

Hi pp,
Mine also Mr Chan, same as urs. Last nite he juz called me to meet up with him on this coming Friday evening. but he mentioned the meeting place will at Border bookshop. but Border is so big, i dont really know the exact location. u know where is it?

Hi...everyone here who getting ROM on Oct 2007...
1 MONTH TO GO...LET'S COUNT DOWN FROM NOW....

berry_egg

hi there

my JP is also Mr Chan
when will he call? a month before?

yeah yeah.. let's all start to count down. who will be first?

klping

Hi PP

It's just a simple solemnisation by the poolside. AD will be next year. Both my HTB and I fell in love with the setting when we saw it. After visiting other places, we still like the place and decide to take up the package. The most important reason is I don't have to worry a single thing about the deco, ring pillow etc...I hardly have the tiem to do all these.

REally hope it turns out well and I look pretty that day. =)

littlepanda81

Hi Fish, there is a fountain outside border. Its at the back.. where the border cafe is..

Hi Berry Egg, u better give him a call.. for mine, he record down the wrong date when I call him 3 months ago.. luckily he is still available. was a bit shock when he told me that.. haha...

Hi Klping, yes, i love their poolside too.. very nice and cozy..nice set up too.. are you having your AD there? U will look very pretty one.. hehe.. u got see bride not pretty meh?!
U are right, everyting settle for u..just need to be happy and pretty.. haha.

For me, need to think of the deco, setup, blah blah..haha.. now still got a few things outstanding.. haha..just pray hard nothing goes wrong that day.

klping

yes, everything settled but have a price to pay too. =) It's rather costly per pax. We managed to get some discount though. We have not decided on the venue and date for AD yet. Think have to settle for a date before we can decide on the venue.

Thought of going Olive suite to take a look tonight.Let's see if I can see any dress that I fancy and yet affordable (think rather hard).

benbenfish

Hi klping,
Marriot is quite a nice place esp the swimming pool. But very expensive ya…if not wrong, it’s abt 50+++ per pax wor…

Hi PP,
Mr Chan seems very fierce during the conversation through phone wor. Then wat u all discuss during the meet up section? Or he will ask automatically? Since it’s at the café there, we need treat him for some drink as well?

dolphinger

Hi Karen,

You'hv mail. So sorry coz recently really too bz with my work so no time to log in here.

I have yet to call up my caterer.Hope that it will still in time.Sigh..so tired..

Anyway to all ladies out here, wish you all the best & warmest blessing to your upcoming new chapter of your life.

Happy preparation!

berry_egg

hi PP,

really arh.. mr chan can forget one??? geee...let's see if he call me this 2 weeks. if not i will call him up.

hi Klping,
wow..olive suite. heard that they specialized in ROM dresses. take photos and show us the dresses ya.

klping

Olive Suite is fully booked this evening so I am only going this Friday. Instead, I went to JHC. Not many choices though. Saw one dress that's not bad. It is a dress they made for a show in March and cost $180. Otherwise, MTM will be $300 - $350.

Hi Fish

Mariott actually charges us at $85++ per pax. However, our family members have few children who are attending so it'll be charged at a different price. The co-ordinator also gave us a better rate at $78++ per pax now. Whole package would depend on the final number of people attending our ROM.

littlepanda81

Hi Fish, Ya, agree with u that he sound not so friendly on the phone..haha. that's what a lot of brides said. I am not really sure what to discuss. He said sign the form and pass to him.. no need the both of us to go.. one of us will do.. sounds like a quick meeting..mmmm..let u know again once i meet him up next week.

Hi Shermie, long time no see in the forum. When is your ROM? Maybe u should start to look for one really soon...

Hi Berry egg, aiyoo.. he never forget, he wrote the date wrongly on his notebook.. scary.. so its good that you call him early to meet him.. one more month only.. can call already..

Hi Klping, ya, i knew about this price too. Why didn't u consider Marriott for your AD? Maybe can get cheaper price?

kylie_noel

Hi Everybody,

I was quite new here and yes i'm also "Roming" in October. I was thinking for very long what to wrote here to share and ask questions, but having seen all you guys posting here really make me excited.

Oh ya, my proposal is over and i'm now also looking for my wedding bands, shoes, dress and houses. Anybody ever try the shoes at Paradox!!??

My ROM would be at 1.25pm any good place to suggest for lunch of about 20 person (maybe cantonese food)?? Cuz my banquet will soon be follow up thats why we didnt plan for the solemnization to be outside.

And also hor.. anybody looking for any flats or houses now, any suggestion? Price are really soaring now! ~!~!~!

dolphinger

Hi PP,

Yup reali long time no log in here already. My Rom will be on 09 Oct 215pm. Today finally called up the Neo garden caterer to book for the buffet. Now only left with shoes..

Sigh, so hard to find the 1 which i like. Any recommendation??So hw yr preparation as well?Anxious liao mah coz time seems to be getting nearer & nearer..

Hope the dae will turns out to be wonderful & much more than i expected!keke...

benbenfish

Hi pp,

I'm meeting Mr Chan today after work. but I heard alot of ppl that meet up section is very short, then in that case, shall we buy some drink for him still?
then u all got discuss wat language you wanna him to use during the ROM? And place to meet up at the ROM place?

I'm still finding my shoes wor...any suggesting?

berry_egg

hi Fish

i'm also still hunting for the shoes. nothing at bugis nor at OG waterloo. i'm intending to visit tangs and far east.

Hi Elaine,
does anna ricci carry covered heels?

berry_egg

Hi Elaine,

So have u called up peony jade to check their availability for dinner after your ROM? cos if they have wedding banquet that night, it is impossible to get tables. unless the private room is not taken up.

i am so hoping that there won't be another couple sharing the stage on the same day as me.

benbenfish

Any idea wat kind of shoes suitable for ROM huh? those high heel (cover toes or no cover toes)? Muz have a 'string' behind or...?

berry_egg

hi Fish,

i guess it depends on your dress as well.
for me, i'm thinking of a full covered heel but open toes. so that i can pedicure. i wanted to look semi-formal. whether having string or not, it depends on the design of the heel liao.

today i gone thru raffles city. nothing leh....alot of strap shoes available.

klping

tried dresses at olive suite. they are really beautiful but pricely. it's the quality and workmanship that worth the money. Both my HTB and I were so tired that we actually forgot to take pictures of the dresses. tried dresses from JHC. limited pieces from OTR. only one piece that caught my eyes. have to work hard sourcing for dresses else no time!

littlepanda81

Hi Shermie, mine on the same day as u.. timing at 5pm.
I am going to my bridal shop this coming sat..so need to buy shoes after that.. I have a pair of new backup shoes that I bought from Charles & Keith.. depends on my ROM dress..see I can use it.. U can look around major shopping centers..like Metro, Tangs, Taka.. if really dun have, then go to International Plaza to custom made a pair.

Ya, me also very excited as it gets nearer.. wonder what it will like on that day..haha..must be real nervous... Take more pics ok.. and we can share to see the photos..

Hi Fish, I have not yet met Mr Chan.. This coming tuesday..
Guess u can meet him to treat him a drink if he is not in hurry.
Up to u lah.. hee.

For the language, should be chinese ba.. mmm.. since most of our relatives are chinese educated.
Hmmm.. must think about it again. When are u meeting him?

klping

For those brides having solemnisation outside ROM office, can I check when you do the e-filing, is the date stated in the notice of marriage copy the date we are supposed to go down to the office to collect the marriage cert???

benbenfish

Hi PP,
As you mentioned if reli cant find a pair then u will be going to International Plaza for custom made a pair, then in that case, u know roughly how much per pair for those custom made? It should be quite xpensive ba? As for Mr Chan, I have already met him last Friday. Haha…

Hi klping,
We have already do the e-filing in July (within 3mths to ur ROM). Then our ROM on 06th Oct 2007 and the date we have go to the Register of marriage office to collect our Marriage cert will be on 03rd Oct 2007.

dolphinger

Hi PP,

Wow,so "qiao" o
Oh, thought tat u already decided on yr bridal shop liao.All the best 4 u tis sat..May u find yr dream shop.

Yup ,i did saw 1 shoes which i love it but so sad, they dun hv my size..hope 2 find 1 soon.

I did go charles & keith shoes bt i dun reali like it. I tink tis few daes reali gt 2 run ard & see liao.

Dun wori, i believe tat all will turns out great than we expected.Okay, will take more pics & share with you all brides here
U dun 4 2..hee.. All the best!

berry_egg

hi Fish,

i popped by Leaping Lizard last sat...the price is really exorbitant. the one which i like (which is a popular pair cos most gals were holding it) cost $245!!!! it's just too expensive.

so hoping to try my luck at tangs, far east, city plaza and after Charles & Keith sale.

dkaren

hello ladies,

It seems that almost everyone are bz with their preparation wor...

As for myself, i'm now getting more bz with work le.haiz.

dkaren

hello ladies,

It seems that almost everyone are bz with their preparation wor...

As for myself, i'm now getting more bz with work le.haiz.

klping

so fish, it means 3rd Oct is the date indicated online given by the office, right? For instance, mt ROM is 3/10/07 and a date was given to me 28/9/07, 9.30am to 10.30am. This will be the date I should go down to the Registry office, right? Just want to make sure I get the right thing coz will be very busy with work and study that I might miss the date.

berry_egg

hi Karen,

bz with work is better leh.. before u know it, the rom date is just round the corner. are u all prepared already?

poopa

Hi berry_egg,

o.. we hv decided to go ahead w buffet instead.. and hv found the venue.. thks for asking... hehe..
as for the shoes.. can't recall whether i saw it.. or not... but u can go there and take a look... it's at far east.. think level 4.. wat colour u looking for..?

berry_egg

hi elaine,

my dress is white and knee length. so i'm hoping to look for a off white / silverish white covered heel with open toes. i'm not too keen with strappy heels for ROM which is much more easier to find.

littlepanda81

Hi Klping, yes, there will be a date for you to go down to file the documents. Check the email link.
Mine is on the 4 Oct morning.

Hi Fish, I am not sure about the pricing.. maybe depending on the shoes design. Easily over 100, i believe. If you are on budget, u still have time to look around..
Just like me and berry egg. BTW, I have met up with Mr Chan yesterday. Very friendly guy... telling us that we must stay together after marriage no matter what happens.. hee..

Hi Karen, me also busy at work too.. no choice. Got to handle one by one...

Hi shermie, I have signed up a wedding boutique already. Just that, I am going to fit my ROM dress this sat..

klping

thank you, Fish!
Which BS did you sign up with? There are so many choices and every shop seems good. Difficult to choose.

Style Weddings magazine is out and my ROM dress is featured in one of the pages. =) Now, have to look for open toe shoes to match.

I feel so excited! Another 20 more days to go before a new chapter of my life begins. Guess everyone is as excited as I am. Would like to say to all the brides-to-be : It is an affinty to know your husband-to-be. Why among millions of people and you have a connection with him? How did both of you become an item? What brings both of you to decide that he/she is the one for you for eternal life? Do cherish this extraordinary, beautiful and miraculous relationship with this special man of yours!

benbenfish

Hi Klping,

I sign up with Yvonne Creative at Tanjung Pagar there. Among all the BS shops, all are about the same except there is one shop called "Mr & Miss Wedding Club". This BS shop is terrible. (our own experience). the guy just drag us inside the shop and talk to us non-stop, pushing us to sign with them. Aiyo..nightmare...

Anyway, muz be happy...
I met my HTB is year 1999 and become couple in Jan 2004. 4 yrs down the road, we going to be husband and wife.. Wah... I cant imagine....I cant believe... hoo hoo...

littlepanda81

Hi Klping, welcome.
I signed up the Z wedding.. change of management recently.. so far, quite happy with the designer.. now hopefully can get Chris ling photographer...

Most impt is you need to go to each shop to try out their gowns, see their photo style.. every bride has different preference. Happy trying.
Try to get two of yr close friends to go with u.. hee.. I did that.. they give me valuable comments.. esp married friends.
They give me tips like the gown material, whether the photos nice a not, the services provided and of coz whether the gown u try got the "X" factor a not..haha. Dun rush into it.

I agree with Fish.. some really very pushy.. then u can eliminate those already.. haha.

Ya, I feel very excited also.haha.so many things to do. BTW, Klping, do you have multiply? Did I add u before?

Fish, ya, me also cant believe it too.. time flies. I been with my htb 8 years plus.. going 9 years.. finally tie the knot.
Going to change the title from Miss to Mrs.. hope I can xi guan that title.. haha (",)

littlepanda81

Oh Klping, forgot to ask u which page are u referring to in the style mag? hee.. I also bought a copy...

BTW, can we quickly summarize our dates:
PP - 9 Oct 07 at 5pm

berry_egg

oh hi elaine, read your post in Di gio

who's your coordinator there? mine is sandy.

wooohooo..i bought the white heel for ROM at Tangs.
hee.. only $29.90, a simple, white covered with open toes 2.5" heel