(2007/10) ROM in 2007 October

dolphinger

Hi Dkaren,

Thanx so much for your info.. I will try to book appt withn JHC somewhere within this week. Their ROM dress so nice, do u have any idea hw much does it cost?

Dkaren, u r a great help to me & greatly appreciated for all your help! My warmest blessing to you!

dkaren

Shermie,

It's my pleasure to help you !

Remember there are so many gals out there to help you too!
HappY preparation Yah !

dolphinger

Hi Karen, today i went to Bridal Elegance to chk on their package. Well they do really cater my needs as they can consider to be a 1 stop shop whereby they provide : gown,MU,hairdo,hand bouquet & photography(digital). As for their package price wise, i think it is quite reasonable enough ba ($438).

The only sad thing is that they only have limited short dress. Do you think wearing a long dress is a bit too formal & will it feel awakard if we wear it to restaurant aft the ROM?

I also quite like their service but i have yet to cfm with them as i think maybe i shld chk out other shops as well.

dkaren

Hi Shermie,

Sorry for the late reply.just came back from Night Safari.Brought my UK gal fren there.

By the way, what is your height ?

I'm about 1.61m tall. Therefore my designer suggest that I should wear long dress.While I prefer the short dress.

Sometimes, what we like and doesn't mean it will suit us. Did allow u to try out their gowns ? Is there gown that catches your eyes be it long or short dresses?

I have Make To Measure Gown,it's mixture of Vera Wang Design for my ROM Cum Church wedding.Yesterday, I have tried and taken a picture of it.I like the design very much!

Do check it out on other shops first.

May i know where are u holding your ROM ceremony ?

benbenfish

Our ROM is on 06/10/2007. if my gown is in rice colour. what kind/colour of my hand bouquet should i choose?
FYI, if your partner is M'sian. he/she has to go Malaysia for updating his/her profile within 100days after the ROM.
Hope the info are useful..

benbenfish

Hi, Karen,

I will be only trying my gown on 10th Aug after work. My gown is from Yvonne Creative. Will try to post the photos once I have selected the gown.
Wah, just understand that ur ROM will be held on 27th Oct. That was our previous date which we wish to select. but Amara Hotel and Orchard hotel are book. only left with a small function room at Orchard hotel and also the pool side for Trader Hotel.
You may try to consider if you have not confirm a place for ROM.

klping

Hi Fish

I would like to take a look at the picture of your gown too. Care to share with me at [email protected]? I am still looking for ROM dresses either off-the-shelves or taking up the ROM package from bridal shop. Went Lavender yesterday but noting caught my eye. new stock will only come in late sept, which is too late for me then. Any other suggestions of bridal shop that cater nice ROM gowns?

dkaren

HI Fish,

Thanks for your recommendation.I have already fixed my venue at the Gallery Hotel.Care to give me your email address as i would like to send you the picture of my gown.

Hi Klping,
Are you just looking for ROM gown only ? and when's your AD ?

benbenfish

Hi, Karen,
ok..my email is [email protected], then have you select wat kind of hand bouquet to match ur gown? then how is ur hubby? which colour of shirt and tie to match? any suggestion?

Hi, Klping,
You may look at this two website, they have those gown that you can rent
http://linux5.newmediaexpress.com/~admin120/
http://justgowns.biz/index.html
this is intro by my colleague.
you may also go down to Yvonne Creative located at Tanjung Pagar, they have quite a no of new gown for ROM, you may look for 'xiao yvonne' she is a nice lady.
when i select my gown in Aug, i will show u the photos.

dolphinger

Hi Karen,

So sorry for the late reply also. hee...

I'm abt the ht of 1.63m. The designer also suggest that long dress will much suitable for me while i prefer short.

Yup, they did let me try their gown (Short & long). To my surprise, i really like myself in long dress instead of short dress.

Well, there is actually 1 gown which really caught my eye (It's a V-back white long dress , whereby at the bra length , it has a white ribbon which can tied a knot.Very sexy which i can said.)

My ROM venue will be in the basic room in ROM itself coz i find it more meaningful lor.HAHA..

Karen, care to share yr gown pic with me? My email add : [email protected]

Thanx

dolphinger

Hi Fish,

Congrats on your ROM on 6 Oct. Juz 3 more days will be mine

Thanx 4 yr great info 2 remind me that my bf need to update his profile in msia within 100 days. Does the 100 days start from the day we register or? Then chk wit u as well can my bf juz update his profile in Msia Embassy in s'pore?

Warmest blessing to you!

benbenfish

Hi Karen,

ur gown is in two colour de wor..so top and bottom are seperate or in one piece? i'm also 1.63m..haha..we two are having the same height wor... by e way, u mention there is a gown which is V-back white long dress with a white ribbon, but in the photos is a purple ribbon wor..or they are diff gowns? so which one is the gown u choose in the end?

benbenfish

Hi Dolphinger,

so far wat i understand is that 100 days effect from the date you getting ROM. ur ROM on 19th July 2007. so 100 days starts from tt day.
but i heard from my colleague who is M'sian also, she go back M'Sia where she did her IC, then change her profile from there wor...but think u can also check with Msia Embassy in s'pore, double confirm wif them 1st.

dkaren

Fish,

It's one piece gown with two colors (dark pink & white), wrapped round the waist with a darker purple ribbon.

Regarding about the gown,i guess u have read wrongly.it's Shermie's gown.

benbenfish

Actually we Have book with Mr Chan Kai Yau to be our solemnizer and he confirmed our invitation. but understand that we need to meet up with him to let him sign a form. You contact the solemizer to confirm a meeting date or the solmnizer will contact you? usually when is the time to sign the form?

dolphinger

Hi Fish,

Oops i think u gt mistaken. My ROM is juz 3 days aft yrs which is on e 9 Oct.

Yup as for the V-back white dress with ribbon behind is mine but i have yet to collect.

dolphinger

Hi Karen,

Saw yr pic. Very special which i can say coz it's 1pc dress c/w 2 col tones. Very unique wor..
Is yours a bare back 1 or juz tube back?

benbenfish

Ops...Aiyo...very very sorry to both of u wor... have been mistaken both of ur msg in same morning...haha...

Anyway back to our topic. have you ask ur solemnizer to sign ur form already? or have you fix a date to meet him wif him/her to sign to form?

klping

Hi Fish

Thanks for sharing the website. So you rent a dress in Yvonne Creative?

Hi Shermie

Thanks for sharing the website too. Yes, they have nice dresses.

Hi Karen
I am looking for ROM gown only. May I see a picture of your gown? Where did you get it?

dkaren

Shermie,
It's a tube back dress.

Fish, i have no idea how to answer your question because I'm gng thru a Church Wedding Service and my pastor will be the officiating Officer for our marriage. May be u call your JP to ask about it.

benbenfish

Hi klping,
yups, i renting the gown from Yvonne Creative. then they will edit to fit e body.

Dear Karen,

Ok, i see whether when i try to contact the solemnizer.

dolphinger

Hi Karen,

I have decided to engage Bridal Elegance for my ROM. Hope that it gng to turn out fine.

Btw, do u think is it necessary for groom 2 wear the coat? Coz my bf gets sweaty easily.

berry_egg

Hi Shermie,

My bf won't be wearing any coat.. cos ours is a luncheon ROM affair. and he also perspire easily. So i'm ok with him wearing a long sleeve shirt with a tie. For me smart casual is the dresscode.

Btw, does the groom has to pick up the bride before the ROM? who carries the wedding band?

dkaren

Hi Shermine,

It's all depend on the location or individual reference.

For my HTB,he'll be wearing coat bcos we are in air-con area. If it's an outdoor event, my HTB would prefer just long sleeve shirt with a tie just like what berry egg has shared.

Berry Egg,
There is no fixed setting for whom to carry the wedding band. Of course, it would be best for a person who can handle things well ( eg: not that forgetful, perfectionist... ha).

Before ROM whether the groom pick up the bride or not, it all depends individual.

If your Bf is driving and his car can accomdate everyone like his family members and your family or he stays somewhere near you and he doesnt mind to pick you up or he wants to pick up.

Mostly, you need to remember that you got your family members and they are going plus whether Ur HTB is staying near you or not. No point of him travel all the way from the east to the west to pick you up before you arrival at the ROM location.

dolphinger

Hi Berry Egg & Karen,

Thx for your fast reponse.

I believe that we will be taking photographs outdoor but will we match each other or not as i will be wearing a ROM gown & he juz a simple shirt & tie. Will it turn out nice?

Some of my frenz said wear coat & some said dun & my HTB said anything. OMG....

berry_egg

Hi Karen,

Thanks for the advice.

i guess i would like him to pick me up at my make up artist before the luncheon. As for the ring, he will carry them (cos i'm abit scatterbrain and easily stressed up

yippie!!! had efile today too, so now it's left with the dress followed by the flowers and heels.
any recommendations to find non-bustier short dress?

muimuizai

Hi Fish & Karen,

I am a suddenly turned Bride to Be..So still in a big daze. My ROM date has been decided to be in Oct 07, but I have no idea where/how to get the entire solemnisation done.

Where is the better suggestion for the ROM?
Can email me your gowns pics? [email protected]

Sorry to gatecrash..but was pleasantly surprised by all your sharing. Hope you all are fine with sharing.. Thanks!

benbenfish

Hi MuiMuiZai,

Now is Aug already, if you wish to decide to have your ROM in Oct, you have to be fast, coz u need to find a place as well as ur gowns which need take you quite sometime, JP also important if you wish to invite a good person to be your JP for your ROM.
As for ROM location, if you perfer outdoor / pool side, Amara hotel, trader hotel as well as Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel, but have to depend on what kind of enviromnent you wish to have. haha...

berry_egg

hi Fish,
Thanks for the link, i will check out the prices with them.

Hi MuiMuiZai,
Congrats. generally you are still in time for the ROM, and it depends largely on your budget- how you want your ROM to be like.

Now that you got your date, look for the venue first. then for the JP and to efile. (i have settled my venue and JP within one week) the rest will just fall in place, one by one.

dkaren

Hi Muimuizai,

sorry for the late reply.Berry & Fish are both right.
First, U need to settle your ROM date.
Set your budget and no of guest you are inviting.( budget varies depend on your nos of guest cum the style of ROM and attires for the groom & you)
Type of ROM ceremony - simple and cosy (eg. Do it at home ). Grand one (like hotels and clubs )Outdoor Version like Chalet, Gardens, Parks , Sentosa or Singapore Zoo etc.)
ROM attire depend on locations.
Location decorations / Invitation Cards / Choice of Food... everything will start to flow when u start to choose the date/nos of guest to be invited / Budget /Location.

Oh yah most important thing is your JP. Remember to search for one once u have chosen ur date.

Have a happy & enjoyable planning !

annlee

hi, mumuzai, berry and all brides-to-be,

want to share my rom experience wif u gals..i did my rom at swissotel the stamford, i just rented their suites for one night, after rom we invited all guests to the buffet restaurant in the same hotel. coz i didn't go for wedding pacakge, i spent actually around the same as those 4-5 star hotel pool side/function room. but env and meal both much better than those from packages.

as for rom/wedding gown, i bought my own from jennie, recommend by a friend, for 328 only. she has cheaper gowns too. and those not too heavy ones, so suitable for rom too. i checked the justgown website, i'd recommend jennie lah, since top up 100+ and can keep your own gown lor.

her only prob is u need to book wif her in advance. 1 month at least i think, not sure though. better check wif her. email [email protected], hp 94550375.

annlee

btw, i'd like to recommend my MUA too

Irene 90668963. think she's really nice and responsible. good technique too. very devoted.
she even helped me to iron my gown for free :p

dolphinger

Hi Karen,

How r u? Quite a long time no log in here liao. Quite tight up...so nervous. Juz wanna 2 ask you whether will it be a "cheapo" if will to hold the lunch buffet @ hm aft my ROM? Coz my bf & i prefer a simple 1.wat do u think?

littlepanda81

Dear all, I am new here. Shermie, my ROM is the same day as you. 9 Oct. So how was your preparation? Where is your ROM? My JP is Mr Chan.. hee.. Yrs?

dkaren

Hello Shermie,

Welcome back... it's not cheapO to hold it at your house. The most u can arrange more deluxe choices for your house buffet.As i did mentioned to u, My gfren actually hold it everything at home include the ROM ceremony and buffet.

The main purpose as they want to make it very homely feeling. They only invited all relative. One more thing, is there big spaces to place the buffet tables & trays ?

Let me know yah...

Welcome PP, Congrats to you...... How's your prep ? Care to share with us more ... Thanks ! hope to hear from you soon.

littlepanda81

Hi Karen, guess what.. haha. I have the same preparation as Shermie. Mine is at my HTB's condo.
Beside the poolside. Going to deco the surrounding a bit.. haha. Me also go for buffet.. Now preparing our ROM invitation card.

How are u? when is your ROM?

dolphinger

Hi PP,

Congrats to u. Very nice to see u here & maybe @ the ROM office.haha..

My preparation is almost done except for the buffet caterer & the rings.I did shortlisted a few caterer.So envy u, yr hse there still gt poolside, quite romantic leh. Mine is oni HDB.keke..

Thinking of arranging the buffet to be held at my hse void deck (like the malay style) or my hse corridor.(quite a big space)

dolphinger

Hi Karen,

Thanx
yup of coz 4 buffet wise, i will choose more deluxe choice since i will be holding it @ my hse.

Well, i oni stay @ HDB. My corridor have quite a big space as it is a old hse.I believe that there shld be enough space to put the tables & trays as my hse whenever gt event to celebate, my mum will always held buffet @ that big space area.

Karen, i have any idea to hold the buffet which is to hold it at my hse void deck like those malay's style.Decorating the void deck, arrange the tables so on. Wat do u think? It looks like quite tiring hor..keke.. I will not only invite my relatives but also my frenz too.

dkaren

HI PP,

Great to hear from you again.
I'm also busy preparing my ROM.My ROM is on the 27th October, Saturday.Done with my ROM attire and the venue, plus my invitation card. Just wait the hotel to give me the floor plan for the church wedding ceremony and plus the deco part and choice of flowers.

Shermie,
Actually u can do your ROM ceremony together at the void deck with the buffet together.Please please do not think it's cheapo to do the malay style. It's very special indeed yah.
WHere are you staying ? I was doing my church event try out at Toa Payoh Park opposite the interchange. There was a pavilion where a Malay Couple were doing their wedding over there. Simple and yet very elegant set up. So if u do stay near by area with pavilion , do make use of them. If there isn't any , do not worry ... just go with what you have , which are the void deck, just do everything together at the void deck and rather than moving here and there. (which doing it at the ROM office and then move back to your House void deck for buffet) It will make be grand under ONe Roof... just that u need to spend more times like getting frens or relatives to do the Emcees and getting some music to be play at the void deck. Maybe try approaching those Malay Cater to do the decor and provide music entertainment for u . I'm sorry that i do not have the lobang but this is what i can suggest for u .

Cheerios, Karen DeaNNe.