(2006) Brides of year 2006

jklim4642

sam, tokyo is nice. with good food & weather. we even went over to yokohama... HM was nice.. since it has been paid by the guests.. hahaha... i mean, the APs collected, covered all over expenses, incl phototaking & HM.. still got excess somemore.. our guests have been very generous

fi_fi

hi huey, ya lor... hve being arguing wif my hb ever since move in. sigh.... so dif 2 live under d same roof..

dan mil hint abt having bb... sigh

prettibride

hi diana,your wedding is just one day after mine. do u have problems with guest turning up since its on christmas day? mine on xmas eve already had tons of problems cos most pple need to go church. dun really get wat u mean by SHE and HE part...are u dividing the slide show into two portions? depending on the theme, if its a slideshow of your childhood photos etc, perhaps something more light and fast pace. This song came into my mind just now ..."for the first time....when you walk into my life..." don't remember the title but this is the first phase from the chorus..think it sounds meaningful and will suit both he and she portion.

diamond, welcome back from HM. any pics to share with us?

samkoh1975

Diamond - Wow!!! so good leh... Hopefully mine can cover too. Den if got excess can go HM. HB oso want to go Tokyo for HM but no budget. Hopefully we can catch the sakura.....

Sigh... HB still haven't settle car issue. Sekali wedding day have to take cab. hahaha...

jklim4642

tingting, will share the pics once i settle down & hv the time.. hehe

sam, tokyo is nice.. we went on F&E. 7 days incl air ticket, food, transportation & gifts for the family, it cost us close to $6k. tokyo has the most impressive train network & is clean everywhere... not only that, every train station has food right to the railway tracks! even big cities such as London & Sydney cannot compete... Japan has the most complicated train network!

nami

Hmm, pretty quiet here. Maybe coz our weddings are all over?
Any pictures to share?
I havent upload mine yet. Will do it this weekend ;)

nami

Hmm, pretty quiet here. Maybe coz our weddings are all over?
Any pictures to share?
I havent upload mine yet. Will do it this weekend

xfiles_wolvie

wah now then gt time to come in to log my post. well, wat i learn for the wedding dinner is that, u will hve to RSVP even with your parents' friends and relatives and you will have to be prepared that someone might bring uninvited guests as in extra kid, extra brother, extra sister or so. it happen to mine and i was so pissed since i last min made some arrangements for the seatings till swee swee liao and out come a bunch of uninvited guests. FAINT. had to open another table and delayed my starting time. sigh.

but nevertheless, everything went smoothly after that. had stress pain on my spine between my shoulder blades after the dinner while staying in hotel. sigh now recovered liao.

other than that my AD and GDL not much issue for you all to tke note. so GD luck to all who have yet to hold dinner.

Oh ya, brief all ur helpers early. I din manage to do that and chaos man. Like i 1 man show. sigh.

september

Good morning gals....wat a nice weather to zzzz....but ku ming de wo hv to work....*crying*

fifi, ya ya...initially my hubby is dead against the idea of engaging p/t maid...but nw he changes his mind liao....hahaha...

vvn

whole weekend spent on doing housework like no life. =p
anyway went mango yesterday, but lucky i spent like only $40.

vvn

heh... but part time maids are not cheap right? like $200 for 1 month. and it's only like 4hrs a week.

hey ask u girls if u have reno experience. my contract gave me this quote... any comments? is he ripping me?? (he told me i have to buy my own accessories like basin and lights myself, don't they include?)

No. Description Cost
1. To print the whole house [ I.C.I or Nippon] $1200
2. To vanish 3 bedrooms, kitchen entrance door and frame
$360
3. To supply and install solid wood door and frame at bedroom
passage
way $580
4. To remove supply and install cornice 3 step holder for master
bedroom $350
5. To hack wash basin concrete support and patch up tiles work
for master
bed room toilet $380
6. To supply and install vanity top with lower cabinet for master
bedroom
toilet $1100
7. To supply and install inlet and outlet water pipe for master
bedroom
toilet wash basin $130
8. To remove and install w/c for master bedroom toilet [Labour
charge] $140
9. To remove supply and install wardrobe for master bedroom
$1550
10. To remove supply and install wardrobe for bedroom 2
$1550
11. To hack and construct washing machine base for service balcony
$280
12. To remove and install lighting for whole house [Labour
charge] $270
13. To hack supply and install wooden from with glass for kitchen
$480
14. To polish marble for living room $470
15. To grind 3 bedrooms parquet flooring $550
16. To supply and install 3 door with frame at master bedroom
window
below $320

prettibride

hi apple, we finished our final RSVP..at least for me and hubby's friends. for relatives, I asked hubby to get his parents to RSVP..but he insists that no need cos old folks normally keep to their promise. well, just have to see how it goes. I hope there won't be any cock ups.

da-man, i guess chaos is unavoidable for wedding day. just a matter of how big is the mess. we held a sisters/brothers meeting weeks before the wedding and tomorrow will be a reharsal. guess that should be enough to prepare the helpers right? Anything else that might go wrong and needs to be briefed?

For upcoming Dec brides...recently has been raining quite a lot..i really worry about the weather during my AD..let's all pray that it'll be a bright and sunny day for our wedding okie. Or at least God can hold the rain till we started our dinner or wat. Sighx.

An update for me...tomorrow will be our reharsal...thurs we're checking into the hotel for beauty sleep cum relaxation. Friday will collect our gowns, sat will be last min preps and manicure sessions with jiemeis for me...sunday is the BIG DAY! Hope the rain stops soon!

lim2006diana

Tingting ... i veri kiasu ... i send out my invites quite a while back n literally call them for rsvp. so far so gd, most of them can make it. I hv planned for a Santa Claus to appear tat evening, so it will be like hvg my celebration n a xmas party at the same time!

Wat ur FH say is quite true ... old folks say come will come wan ... dun worry!

My slide show is in 2 parts, or in fact 3 ... one solely abt my life, then one abt my FH n the last one when we r together. So far, I got the "She" of Fei Sian (not too sure of spelling), n 'Becos I love u' by Celine Dion for the together part. Only my FH part don't hv songs yet. Want to find a guy song ...

fi_fi

hi charly,

ya, reno contract does not include those accessories & lighting(lighting contractor oso). its usually exclude 2 d reno package.

Is urs resales flat? If so, will b more ex dan new flat lor... fm ur list, me can't tel ler.. cos mine actually in a whole package cost... din really brkdown so detail.

foreverhappy

Hi ting ting congrats.
DO enjoy ok.
I will be calling all those who say can come to confirmed their attendance. my side still ok its my FH side difficult to confirmed cos they need to work on weekends.

shanuren

I need your help!!!
My bro's getting married in January 07, next month, and NOTHING's done yet cos they just found out that gf is expecting. I'm trying to help them in the planning and everything, but with only 1 month to go and I have no experience, where to start?

Can someone share your experiences in preparation? Wedding banquet venue is not a problem cos we found a restaurant. We also found a JP for solemnisation on the AD. Now the headache is WG, etc. She don't want to have wedding photoshoot with her tummy showing, so we might not take BS packages. Personally I think wedding without any wedding photos of the couple seems weird. Any idea if BS or professional photographers can actually take a few studio pix and develop within 1 month? How about makeover companies like Beautybox?

Any idea what are the things to take note for 'ala carte'? What things to prepare? Any recommendations where to rent or tailor-make WG, EG? Florists for car decor n hand bouquet n corsages? MAke-up/ hairdo? AD photographer/ videographer? Any other things to settle?

Please offer your advices! Would appreciate if someone could send me a list of things to do, contacts, etc. Thanks a lot!

xfiles_wolvie

tingting - wat u mean by rehearsals? at the hotel rehearsals or at a meeting place? i had a briefing weeks b4 also. no use. cos gt changes and had to tell them abt who and who gt to change and where can change the seating arrangements mah. but no time to do so. then gt the programmes and everything as well. but nevertheless, my brothers and sisters manage to help in the end. but in the process of the things, the questions they ask me when they encounter can actually be avoided if a briefing is done by me b4 the dinner. but simply no time for me to do that. sigh. u better inform ur hubby to do it asap and get the helpers to come early asap. some of them wan to go to ur suite to change and bathe and makeup, but there is only 1 toilet lor. so still gt to q then eventually will delay some things.

september

good morning ladies...hope that the weather will be sunny today....

vvn, cant help u leh...coz my reno done my uncle so i did nt do my homework on contractor sourcing lor....

tingz

Good morning!!!

Need some help here, anyone got any recommendation for a romantic place for xmas dinner? Me n hb run out of idea already, now still haven't bk any place, think really need to eat at mac liow, kekeke....

iceglacier

Hi girls! i am back!!!

Charly, i don't have my contract with me at the moment but can remember some things only:
1. painting sounds ok
6. sounds abit ex cos the cabinet costs 1.1k and your master bedroom wadrobe is only another few hundred more??? unless your toilet is very big and your master cupboard is very small
9, 10. should be ok (but also depends on the length. mine was 1.7 for 9 ft)

vvn

morning!

ok thanks girls. i think i know how to bargain with him. =p

it's wed.... 2 more days to long weekend!

september

tingz, if u hv car, bottletree village in sembawang if i remember correctly is rather romantic since it is near the sea...but their food is like zhi char type lor and it is very far in...

then tat time the mediacorp program HDB tai tai did show some nice place for makan....some rather romantic too...tink got one is in a park...but which park i dun remember liao....

xiaobai1

Hi Everyone

Me long time never come in here.

Normally Saturday morning will do the moping only. Afternoon, I will go out shopping. Weekdays afternoon do only a bit of housework plus ironing. My hubby got a lot of working clothes forever can't iron finish. I hate ironing

As for my mil, she still occassionally pop by my house to complain this and that. But I ignore her as I have tried my best to clean the whole house. So I just listen one ear in one ear out lor. Hee Hee. Me is so bad.

Just realise my hubby also got a bit of cleaniness problem, he can't stand messy house. When I make the house messy never put the things in proper places. When he comes back home,he will nag at me. Yeap two person living under the same roof is difficult, really have to give in and communicate a lot.

By the way, christmas is coming. Have u all done ur christmas shopping? If anyone needs any accessories as christmas gift, do inform me in here or email to me. My accessories are having a christmas promotion now.

Thanks a lot!

Michelle

samkoh1975

Aurora - I am a DIY bride and my AD in on 30. Co-ordinated & source everything on my own. No helpers.

First of all, you must know what is your budget. If you are not taking any BS package, you can actualy save a lot $$. If $$ is not a matter of concern, get a wedding planner to do everything for you.

Wedding Gown - I bought my WG off the internet and altered to size.

EG - I took one of my old gown and updated it. Or rent. There is a shop in Delfi Orchard 2nd or 3rd floor. Nice EGs.

Suit - D'Zendiq - Far East Shopping Centre (next to Hilton Hotel) $300.00 for MTM suit includes 1 MTM shirt & 2 ties. Cheapest I found with not bad material. No point in renting. Rental is usually just the jacket. Those cheap tailors uses really poor quality material. Tailors in Peninsula - very EX but good material.

Makeup artiste - Sandy Ho 90055210. Very nice & experience lady. Do not overcharge. Contact her for rates.

Photography - I just took my studio & outdoor PS. Contact Andrew Tay 96867894.

Try to book as early as possible. Their schedule quite tight.

Flowers - Can go to any neighbourhood florist to order. Just DON'T tell them it's for wedding. Will be cheaper. Can tell them what you want, how you want it done.

Car - Just borrow from friend, relatives etc or look for car rental company.

Car Decor - Go to Arab Street and buy the mesh kind of fabric and tie. Ribbons, Kin Soon Company(wholesaler of ribbons) also on Arab St. If you want fake flowers, go to nearby Concourse.

For gidelines on traditional stuff, refer to http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/index.html

Hope the information & tips helps.

tingz

wah, thanks for all the suggestion :D

Cat, villa bali got nice food? thought they only sell snacks type of food?

Diana, thanks, went to the webbie. look nice leh. v cheap too, xmas $38++. kekeke

ffbear

hi, me back.. CSI fan, Jen T, Nami etc..
back fr HM on 10 Dec.. back to work on 19 Dec.. juz pop in here for awhile.. ll definitely write again very soon, on my AD & HM.. fantastic is the word.. hahhaha.. btw, Merry Christmas in advance..

shanuren

Hi Samantha,
Thanks so much for your advice n tips!

It's really no joke trying to settle everything within a month. Think my whole family more stressed n anxious than the couple. hahaa...

Thank you once again!

danlian

hullo morning

elsie reporting today...hee...raining again...weather so nice to sleep.

Yo Diana ...got ur stuff last night bo?