(2006) Brides of year 2006

prettibride

Shirley, nice corsages you have there. I diy chokers for my sisters instead of wrist corsage..cos I think wrist one is kinda common. So just used ribbons with mini roses to do a neck choker for them. Actually DIY is more fun..cos ur jiemeis can also keep it as a keepsake after the wedding.

kurera

eh.....I not here...sneezing..how come my name keep on repeating on each posting ar?

heh..i super hungry..it's lunch time!

i think it's 10 percent off total bill for UOB..tingz...it's in the website leh.

cecilialim

CAT wake up!!! *knock*

no wonder ppl mentioned you la! haha! yours is UOB promo... but here's is from the hotel promo... every mon for ladies 50% off....

nami

HI Jen T,
Mine is at Grand Coporthorne Waterfront. Yup, its 15 days more!!!
I am getting excited hee. Oh, so you will be taking leave from monday until when?

I agree that it's normal too. Hmm, I have some frens who cant make it and just told me this week. Hmm, I need to look for other frens but my limit was to stop inviting people 2 weeks before my wedding
Hmm Chibi, when is your AD? Do you still have time to invite others so that at least you can hit your minimum tables?

Linglun, dun panick. When is your AD? What other help do you need from us? March in songs or anything?

poopoo

i was thinking to DIY, but i dun know how to make the flower, n i went to Spotlight also can't find and ready made flower....

hi waiwai,i am also try to get my first dish song, 1st march in and 2nd march in song.

september

say long long time back liao...somemore keep repeating....nex time open ur eyes big big lah...and stay away from garfield, tink u getting his bad habit liao....

wahahhaa....

*taking my barang barang and run*

kurera

knn la..all i heard was on on..triple 3 most of the time le..

knn repeat to me again can die izit...never die b4 ah...trying to make me dirty my claws izit?

*claws shapening*

ffbear

Hi, Nami,
yes yes.. 15 more days.. 2 more weekends.. me sama sama as u.. emcee speech, thank you speech, montage, march in songs.. blah blah blah.. WOW pian.. reali alot leh..
& stil hv to juggle with work.. cos gg on long leave soon mah.. stupid colleagues, oso never bother to help help abit.. grr..

gentasg

My GDL is tmr, final fitting on sunday...
vns, those colleagues who told me cant make it, will give me angbows...
my hubby told me not to invite le... think we just squeeze here and there lor...
excited rite ... my leave starts today till 17 nov ....so i can rest more

jennifer_teoh

hi linglun..
oh.. wat happen to ur wedd planner? .. hw come so irresponsible? .. yar..if u need any help, let us noe k.. i wil send u the emcee speech tonite or 2ml..

hi nami.. ffbear..
yeah.. our wedd date is the same.. n ther a few others who r oso on the same date as us..
.. we can countdown together! .. hee.. o.. i wil onli b takin leave on monday.. cz i wil b takin long leave after wedd and a few days before.. so v to b in office.. to clear wrk.. i oso v frds backin out.. but i din invite any other ppl to replace these ppl liaoz.. cz anyway, i feel that its never ending.. sure got more ppl backin out ultimately.. n most of the ppl noe i m already inviting whom.. so if i go n invite additional ppl, those additional ppl wil prob noe that they r my last resort.. so... i tot better nt.. hehe..

linda.. so nice to v ur GDL on a wkend.. anyway, enjoy and hope all goes well for u too.. hope u v a memorable wedding too!!

monkeyjay

Thanks Jen T, Nami, Ivy for your advise on my shoes.

Agree that this is the time where we see human true colour. Some give me stupid excuses for not coming as well. Anyway i think we shd not invite other ppl sooner our date. I tried to invite some and got rejected. True that they will feel that they are under the backup list.

By the way, where did you gals go to colour your hair? my wedding in 2 weeks time. Thinking shd i go to those very popular = expensive hair salon like Le Salon to do my hair. You gals got any comment?

vonn

Can i know if there is a Mei Po to accompany yr hubby on the AD? For me i cant find 1 for my GDL and thought of skipping it too for AD.
I went to a shop tat sells traditional stuffs and ask the shop owner there, she told me nowadays ppl get good friend/brothers to follow groom can liao.
Wat u gals think?

linglun

hey ladies,

well, he's suppose to be my bestest buddy, however after leaving most of the planning to him, after meeting up i realised that he hasnt done anything @ all. So i gotta pick up the pieces!
And he still hasnt apologised!

So basically, planning my wedding in 2weeks! =((

Thanks Nami, i need march-in songs, emcee speech, programmes, arrrgh ... What else have i left out..

Thanks Blurblur, so good to have all you for support. Esp during this crucial time. So sorry to bother u guys..

nami

Hi Jay,
No problem. Hmm, I jus dye plus highlight my hair at Heatwave in Marina Square. My stylist was there and I always go to him. If you want, I can give you his contacts over email

Hi Vonn,
I dont have any Mei Po for GDL coz both mine and my hub's side feel its ok to do without it.
Hmm, my hub will have 2 brothers following him but mainly is to help him carry all those cakes and pork leg cans

Hi Linglun,
I can email you my programme tonight or tomorrow. My emcee speech still in the process haha. As for march in songs, I can tell you what I plan and if you are interested, I can send you the song later.
Its not bothering us, so dun worry. I can understand how you feel coz the AD is getting nearer. But dun panick, maybe you want to list down what are the outstanding items etc?

linglun

Nueyerdua - U'll be a very xinfu and happy bride tml i'm sure

Gals, admist all my hiccups, wanna let u know abt this nail salon i chanced upon. It was kinda introduced by my girlfriends. Hope this is helpful..

I was actually enquiring on a bridal shower for my jie meis to get their nails all done before my wedding.

Melissa (the owner) was very friendly and accomodating to my requests. I needed a place to fit 8 of us to get our nails done. So instead of jus quoting me the package prices, she included snacks and beverages FOC. And willing to close her shop to make sure we feel comfortable.

Comparing to other companies who also provide the same services, her prices are more resonable.
My gfs get to take up a package whereby for mani + pedi for abt $42, accompanied with snacks, beverages!!
However, dun jus take my word for it. Although i've yet to go down to chk out the place, i'm very impressed with her professionalism and sincerity in making this event a special one for me and my girlfriends

If u guys want her details, do let me know. Will be glad to share =)
I've already booked her on the 25th, heehee =D

Nami - Do share with me some songs u've shortlisted, i've found nothing yet =(

Blurblur - Thanks for the email, its a great relief!

Jen T - Thanks for helping, really appreciate it.

Gals!! Hope the above helps !! =D

samkoh1975

Shirley, 318bi - got the flowers from Arab Street. Very cheap. 5 flowers for $3.50.

My hb very bad one lor. He always neva discuss thing with me. Just yesterday, we went to JB with his godmum to look for curtain maker. He neva discuss with me he brought his parents along. If he ask me, I wud have not encourage it.

Firstly, his dad can't walk, walk a few step will pant like mad, den must sit and rest. Secondly, sourcing for things need to walk alot. Thirdly, pavements in JB not smooth & straight like in SGP.

In the end, his dad fell from chair. Literally "si jiao chao tian"(four legs to the sky). Then his godmum a bit not happy he bring parents. cos she love to shop & all these stopping & resting is slowing us down.

Not sure if you gals know, Holiday Plaza now got lotsa shop selling copy branded bags. Quite good quality & cheap. Some more can bargain.

Making curatins in JB really cheap leh. I ordered 1 set for my whole house cost less den SGD$500.00. Some more my windows all full length and very big. Will make another set later with nicer material. Will cost more but surely cheaper than in SGP lor.

hanabiwaiwai

apple... i was thinking of using "be our guest" too but my sis says it is a bit funny...

shirley, 318bi ... there is a shop at Arab Street called Kin Soon Company (near to Plaza Park Royal) sells ready made ribbon flowers... i got mine from there... Sam, u are talking abt this shop right?

Sam... wah the curtain there so cheap!! think u better talk to your hubby regarding discussing things with u beforehand...

gals... any other recommended first dish song? thanx..

blurberry

WaiWai/Sam~ I bought the ribbon flowers at Textile Centre cz I can't find the Kin Soon COmpany :p .. I was thinking for my bro using fresh flower.... not sure yet!

Sam~WHy not let your FIL rest at home, he fell down,so poor thing!

matsu

Any idea where to get cute wedding couple bear? Been looking for awhile, din c any ard dept store. Pls recommend, not too ex 1 :p

linglun

Thanks Nami, I also thought abt Korean Songs just very difficult to find their title! Heehee =D

Now slogging @ work, can't wait to get off and start preparing all my other stuff.

My printer had printered my invitations wrongly so delayed abit, now gotta rush them out. Everything is like outta place!
I think by tml i shld have handed the invitations personally to all.

poopoo

thanks sam, maybe i still needs some flowers to deco my flower girl's basket. Will go down to Arab Street and take a look.

Hi matsu, yesterday i went to Bugis 3rd floor, there is a shop 2 doors away from 'AnBC', (sorry bcoz i just throw away the receipt, so i am not able to let u know the shop name) and i got this wedding bear at only S$16.90.

But this is the only pair left over, but they do have other type, also around $19.00.

Note : that shop got two doors, go in from the door which they display lots of boxes. (those bear bear just somewhere near there waiting for u!)

425166.jpg

samkoh1975

Shirley - your bear bear so cute.... Kin Soon is at the end of Arab St near to the Beach Road side. Shop full of ribbons.

Wai wai - Yes. I went to Kin Soon. The curtains are value for money. They had a few sets done for customers and i find their workmanship ok. Price also depends on the material you choose. The one I picked is ard SGD$9/m. My house is 4 room HDB. so I think very cheap liao. Got another shop with nicer material. Those quite lush kind. But a bit ex lor. Quoted me ard SGD$1500. anyone want the address can PM me.

318bi - He's ok. Not serious. Just lost his balance.

Anyway, PS change date to Wednesday.

stefylim

Shirley...wow ur AP box is nice...thk i got to start working on mine liow....tsk tsk tsk...so nua these days nv do a lot....cham..

for JieMei corsage i thinking of doing a pearl braclet with ribbons n flowers....still scratching my head over how to stick the flowers on the ribbons?? use glue or sew...cant seems to get it right haiz......anyone can help....

jklim4642

sam, i did not go to any shop at all when i made my curtains. instead, the curtain guy came over with all the cloth samples for me to choose, & he took the measurements also. i have day & night curtains for my living room & masterbed room, where the day curtains are organz material. the other rooms, i used roman blinds, also done by him. if i did not remember wrongly, it did not cost me for than 1500. that included drilling the curtain bars onto the walls.. and delivering the curtains to my place & hanging them for me... oh ya, the material of my curtains need to be dry-cleaned... which i will do 2 times a yr

munmun

My food tasting finally over..no fighting but not as pleasant..cos FIL not feeling well..so didn;t eat at all.then MIL angry with FIL over his comment on her..so stop eating halfway:p so now very full:p

But wonder if FIL can stay throughout during the wedding dinner given his condition....

Btw was told that got 1 stretch of road along Ubi sells roast pig? anyone order from there?

Do we need to give the friend who help my hubby carry things over on GDL an angpao for helping out?

gentasg

Hi munmun,

for GDL, my MIL gave angbows when the helpers came to her hse. When the helpers reached my hse, my mum gave them angbows too...

lush_queen

so many nitty gritty things to handle. the guest list is the biggest headache.

do u gals intend to use any confetti for the march in?

samkoh1975

Stefy - The flowers shud sew on the ribbon. More secure. I'm afarid it may drop if you uses glue.

Diamond - Yours good deal too. My curtain rails already fixed. HB also know how to take accurate measurement so we did it ourselves. Going there also has plus points. More choices for fabric. Plus I can see their workmanship before placing order. Not a hassle for us too as we go JB quite often. The material I chose is machine washable. So another saving there. Next time I oso want to make another set using organza. Nicer. More romantic.

impulse41

hi nov brides,

long time never come in but i still visit the thread off and on. my wedding over so can render help to whoever need it....

hi linglun,

your friend is very irresponsible. but don't worry too much. try to get good friends to help u out with the planning, esp for ppl who married before. they will know what to do. for my case, no matter how well i plan. there is still a lot of hipcups on my AD. I'm have a great hubby who can handle crisis. a great team of friends helping me to solve a lot of problems. making sure that the problems don't come to me....

just drop me a line here if u need anything / help.

hi lushqueen,

i use poppers during my march in. regret a little cas i'm quite scared of popping sound. but if my guest enjoy it, it's fine for me. but i think confetti might not be a good idea, cas it's will stick to your face and body. imagine photos with tiny confetti on your face, not very nice....try to choose something bigger and can be remove easily, and assign a jie mei to make sure all confetti is remove....or flower petals...