(2006) Brides of year 2006

september

yes ice....coz after i vomitted during my wedding dinner, i got abit scared of liquor taste...wahahah.....till i recover from it then i start drinking again.....

o...btw....did u go see thomas juz nw....hee hee

blurberry

Ribbons~if bro didnt wear coat, still need cossage a? the cossage different with JieMei?

Jo~actually i more ks than you, i asked to reserve the date for me 'super super' early leh...hehe!But some of my frd ( not so close wan )will not attend oso lar !

I already sent out half of my invitation cards, when we had gathering last week, all past to them . my frds also help me to distribute to other frd they will meet up

vvn

Diana, i added u to my friendster liao.

stepford, as long as it's the banquet ppl who smashed the glasses, and not u, hubby or any guests, it's ok!

wah... tansy... did u at least bring the champange back SH?

ok, my wedding wasn't as smooth as i thought. major hiccup: after the slide show the guy emcee very happy say "now we shall invite the groom and the bride for the 2nd March-in..." but er, i was still changing so he kena from hubby. but he quite cute apologize on the spot, everyone just laughed. and guess what? all my mom's friends are very interested in introducing him to their daughters!

all our guests loved our small and cosy wedding! good thing it was a lunch too so we never kena drinks. went out for dinner ard 7plus and saw some of our guests who had been shopping after the wedding!

smurfying

wah merlioned!! i din drink anything on my AD. Cos hen's party kena tequila fr my sistas. Then food poisoning, perfect excuse to siam on drinks!!!

vvn, urs not really major hiccup ar...i shld say tis kind of hiccups made up all the farnie scenes.

vvn

diana,

got it! erm he not handsome, but quite cute lah... but no chance for u already! ok will post photos up once they are ready!

stepford

I din dare to drink on wedding night too because I flush easily. Last thing I want is to be lobster red in all my pics. Buay tahan already then signal to photographer to cut the pics taking so I can finally drink! By then, it was quite late, like 12mn.

kenjoc

Wah~ that's very fast wow..

I haven't confirm for my wedding card printing yet, haven't finalized my songs for the dinner.

Btw, would it be weird if the two Fathers nv wear coat during the dinner, jus shirt and tie?

vvn

stepford... ha so cute u! nmind lah, flushed also can what... rosy bride!

i couldn't drink at all because i took my allergy pill in the morning. somemore so big the words on the packaging "avoid alcohol". only managed to take a sip during the champange pouring and toasting.

so did anyone got really drunk that night?

jklim4642

318, i have also sent out all my invites on monday.. & yesterday, 3 friends sms me to said will attend...

Jo, 318 is saying the BRO is not wearing coat.. she did not say the 2 fathers are not

hanabiwaiwai

jo... hong lim complex one is at blk 531 level 2 if i not remember wrongly... blissful collection is at pagoda street, next to chinatown mrt exit..

aiya i never thought of the corsage for pple other than jie mei! who else will wear the corsage during the dinner? all family members?

hanabiwaiwai

diamond... u sent cards already? i still haven't printed the insert..

actually me also ks... early oct i already sent email to friends to notify... so more or less can know who will turn up... will confirm attendance 1 month b4 AD, after that then send card.. dun waste card and stamp on pple who cant commit to attend my wedding...

nfllkh

Stepford, i also tot its a guy leh...
so sorry... but u really got a big heart leh...
my knife for the cake not at the table i just give a last min speech and then i mention in the speech is last min coz no knife to cut the cake.... my ah lao on the stage face red before drinking start... after tat all smooth sailing...

but i feel you should still have ask for some thing make urself feel better... mah...

jklim4642

waiwai, i confirm their willingness to come before i book the wedding banquet previously.. that was something time in march this yr. if not, how i know how many will wan to come... of course, that is bearing unforseen circumstances such as business trips, etc.. i hv to be understanding on that

btw, the rule is once invite is out... irregardless they can come or cannot come, they must be an angbow as a token..

my colleague who is getting married this sat... she sent out her invite to alot of colleagues (as compared to me, only selectively).. those colleauges who are unable to attend her wedding lunch, all give her angbow of at least $50..

so dont talk abt wasting card & stamp la
that is marginal.. hehehe

vvn

hee... i had no cake to cut coz i refuse to have a dummy cake! but they did send us a real small 1kg cake up to our suite later that day... it was yummy!

so ng kar, how's married life? i think we are the last 2 singles to get married ha ha... i still not very adjusted to married life yet! just went to ntuc with my mom to do groceries and now just waiting for her to cook dinner!

hanabiwaiwai

diamond... i'm referring to pple whom keep telling us "see how"... just feel that no point sending card to those who dun at least show their interest to attend... of coz must be understanding to those who really have important thing on so tat cant attend lah..

blurberry

Diamond~ we also confirm with frd before we booking the banquet. but 'ren suan bu ru tian suan'. Suddenly my frd have wedding date same as me too! No choice, some frd closing with her will attend her wedding dinner, become JieMei and helper. My hb frds to to business trip and training...what can i do ? One question, they received our invitation card but didnt attend because some reason such as business trip, they also have give angpow as token? I give them a card mean I have invite them as courtesy and no intention to take their angpow. So peisheh leh..how?

iceglacier

Diana...

Yah.. i went to see thomas just now.. KPO also!

me too.. after i merlion i very scared of the alcohol taste.. so my hubby drink by himself during our honeymoon while i drink boring OJ

jklim4642

apple, ya my colleague has sent out the invite, not email.

waiwai, for those that say "see how" when asked over email, i will evaluate the character of these people based on how much i know them. if they really cannot confirm due to some reasons, i will still send out my invite & wait for RSVP. well, too bad if they hv to give an angbow now if subsequently they cannot attend.. i showed my sincerity to invite them, so i sent!

318, the general rule is once receive invitation card must give angbow even if cannot attend. so for guests where we plan to invite BUT we know they cannot come, we dont send them invite... no need them to waste money on APs

twinkle2610

hi diamond n gals..
i think this issue on invites n ang pow.. abit tricky n sensitive leh.. coz i've ever had encounter.. my fren's wedding, she sent invite to this guy, he RSVPed said will come, but end up NO-SHOW!!! Reason: He said he has been bz with work n stuff for quite awhile, so he wanted to spend time with his family!! Kaoz.. But he did not gave my fren an ang pow oso..
but based on character, he is not those *thumbs down* kinda person... in fact, he is quite a nice guy.. so we (we = me n some other gal frens of the bride.. as well as tt guy) believe tt he genuinely din know of such unspoken rule tt once rec invite, cannot come, still gotta give ang pow...

if like tt... how leh?? oso bo bian rite?? But for us.. we stood up for our poor fren (the bride) we told the guy off la.. say he shouldnt do tt..wasted our fren's seat for nothing... hehee...

just an incident to share with all of u here... i think sometimes we oso bo bian to "calculate" until sui sui, who cfm come / not... n we shouldnt be 'expecting' tt they nv turn up sld at least cover with an ang pow..

gd if they give la..hehehe... but if they dun... such thinking will make us feel upset n miserable leh... (I feel la... personal opinion... ;p)

samkoh1975

Hi all....

Seems like all of you into high gear. I just sent my artwork for printing. Hopefully can get by next week. Hv been telling PILs to start calling their invitees for address and proper name but they sitting on it. Later I sure chia lat. HB wont be writing the names as his chinese is the worst. Dun tink i got time to tie gold string liao. Have to use glue lor. Cant be help if not nice.

I got my WG & EG altered and now hanging in my closet. Getting very excited!!!!!

Saw some really noce shoes in 9west but cant bear to part with $200 for a pair of shoes that m gonna wear only once.

Have not go for wine yet. Next week.

Hearing(reading actually) all your challenges with the RSVP, i'm beginning to worry if I'm gonna face the same problem.

Wat i'm doing is, I booked 18 tables with 2 spares but i'm placing ppl in the spare too. This is in case really got ppl don't show, I don't have to pay mah. Restaurant only charge according to # of confirmed tables. They will only charge for the spare tables if used. I'm beginning to assign the sitting arrangement liao. Bit KS.

samkoh1975

Is the bedside lamp really neccessary? Can't find anything to go with my house decor leh. Must be the red red kind? Can get something pink?

gentasg

Sorrie another question:

Do you have another songs for champane pouring and cake cuting?

for eg, after my first march in, immediately will be the cake cutting... do i need to change to another song or just let the first march in song to run???

hanabiwaiwai

kai... i heard abt unpleasant stories abt flying aeroplane and not giving AP too... guess i'll be disappointed if friends whom i care and treasure do this to me... hope this will not happen to us

hi all... during wedding dinner must the parents wear the corsage huh??

hanabiwaiwai

think i'll sms the guests 1 month before AD, then those who say can come one then we'll send the invitation card... hope this will solve the problem hehehe...

jennifer_teoh

hi ffbear..
our timing is either before 7am reach his hse or after 11am then he can leave hse to pick me up..

hi linda..
i dun v another song for champagne and cake cutting.. cake cutting is part of ur 1st march in song rite? .. so i tink no need another song.. as for champagne pouring, its part of ur 2nd march in song rite? .. so shd b ok too. .hehe..

stepford

charly, yah, the only person who was really tipsy was my hubby! In the end, it was the photographer who sent us back to the hotel cos his friends were tidying up the function room at fort canning.

Ng Kar, we prob could have asked for something but we din want to spoil things for someone. Anyway, the manager called to offer a dinner of apology to our parents. I think that is a good compromise.

ublur

Jen T, you online?? i brought ur corsages from home to work place already. u can ask ur hb to collect from me anytime.. contact me ya?

Linda, I am not having another song for cake cutting and champange pouring.. think will continue to run the march in songs.. maybe soften the volume abit..

september

i also got a dinner from my co-ordinator...coz he forget to change the dessert which we have changed after our food tasting....yet to call him up.....

ublur

Jen T, I saw the link you posted up.. seem good deal leh... I have in fact booked for one.. but seems like the one ur posted like better leh..

vvn

ha ha... i guess oct is a busy period that all our coordinators abit the blur? my coordinator forgot to pass me the $50 chatterbox voucher so when we called the concerige to confirm she just told us to order and charge everything to her!

iceglacier, u cannot drink ah? nmind, vitamin c is good for your health!

vvn

ok not much of update but i realised my wedding ring has scratches... and i just got married on sun... sobz

poopoo

Hi all, my AD is on 9th Dec and wedding dinner on 11th Dec..

Any one can let me know where to get the string or ribbons to tie the card + insert?

Thanking in advance.

dougan

hi shirley, my first time in this tread and seeing u here oso. think u can find either gold or silver string in popular bookshop, usually where they display wrapping paper or those paper by weight and ribbons. As for ribbons, popular oso have those thin ones, abt 3-5 mm, silver/gold or coloured.
hope ur prep has been smooth, tks again for ur help previously

prettibride

I guess the RSVP issue is a big problem for Dec brides..cos many people going for holidays. For me, I already smsed my close frens & ex-colleague whether they can come before I send them the invites. Sent out an email to my current colleagues last week..i put a very sincere message in my mail..saying that I understand Dec is a month for people to spend with family or go overseas..so would appreciate if they could let me know their availability. Still, many of them never reply..guess too busy to read emails ba. But I'll check with them end of this month again.

My hubby got the same nasty problem with his colleagues, when he sent out the reserve this date email, some of them commented y send so early.

Kinda sad that wedding has become like this huh. In the past everyone is happy to attend a wedding dinner cos can share their happiness and got good food for a small token, but nowadays cos wedding dinners are becoming more and more expensive, people tend to shy away from these red bomb cos it causes them to lose $$...and we as wedding couple hv to worry about empty seats cos still need to pay if they dun turn up. Sighx..I really regretted din stood firm on wanting my buffet dinner from the start. At least I can cater less and won't heart pain if people dun show up.

Shirley: You can try Concourse..many shops there selling the gold/ silver strings for very cheap price.

hanabiwaiwai

hi shirley... my AD + wedding dinner is on 11 dec too... i got the silver string from arab street.. concourse level 3 also have...

hi sam... there is a shop at far east plaza level 3... they sell bedside lamps that are more modern... but run on electricity and cost abt $30+..

poopoo

Hi dougan, thank you very much.
As the AD nearer i am getting more 'kan cheong'.

agreed with Tingtlng, RSVP is really a issue to me as well, most of my friends also on overseas trip for holiday

BTW, do u all know the shop at concourse lvl 3 close at what time? Thanks ya!

dougan

hi all, i have a bigger headache than u gals. my Co has this big-time project that's gonna roll out on 1st Dec, the day b4 my AD and req xtra manpower over that wkend. now, manpower projection not finalise, roster not out. i dun even know how many of them can make it...
btw, can i ask u gals...what to expect from the BS as the date draw closer? cos mine is the bo-chap type once they collected ur $$$. till this day, i have yet to collect my ablum thou i had my PS in early july.