(2006) Brides of year 2006

stefylim

yuki...i take personal training at california bugis....nice guy....

me also eat little bit can put on a lot duno where the weight come from...haiz....need to cut n cut...ha ha ha...

silentelf

hi jac.. how far apart is your GDL to your AD? if 3 weeks apart, i think its fine. if less then i think its abit too tight. Probably u could confirm your guest attendence before sending your cards. At least you know these ppl has already agree to come.

heee.. ivy.. the way u described your mom occupying your room .. so funnie.. no worry lah.. if u start early to pack up your 'ex-room', think should not be a problem.. the most, hide everything inside the cupboard first.. remind everyone not to open it! hee...

jen.. my min no. of table is 30, max 50. I counted I have about 32 tables. and there are about 5-6 empty seats already.. so now i am starting to look at the 'reserved list' to fill up these spaces. Didnt want to invite these people at the very last min too, incase they think i am not sincere lor..

ffbear..ya mann.. mine like pig sty.. mom has been nagging me .. but i kept pushing it back too.. ;p wonder next time..how my MIL can tahan me..haha..

twinkle2610

hey samkoh.... i think i might face a similar issue... with regards to the DEM issue!!!!! THink might kenna on my AD.... i shall monitor next mth how... if realli close..prob take med from doc to delay lor... oso gotta depend on when im gg HM or not... see how 1st den arrange... too early to predict now~~

angeldust

Hi sam

to ans ur qn abt the monthly period. *apologise to daman*... u calculate the mth before and if AD hits the day ur period comes.. u can go get "delay" pills from the GP. But u gotta be very sure that the period will come on the day and start the pill 3 days or 1 week before AD. After AD is over, u can stop the pill and then let things back to normal. However, side effects is that u may feel a little bloated.

jklim4642

samkoh, i already called & asked. the lady said they do not have. even if i wan to custom made, she also said she does not do.....

your worry abt auntie visiting on AD, is not a problem at all. no need to monitor also. just go to see the doc before hand to get the medicine to delay it. 1 tablet is abt $1. 1-2 tablets a day. it will work. i always take the medicine when i am out of town & auntie comes... no side effects for me.

also, angeldust, no need to take 3 days or 1 week for AD to delay the period. can wait till u see spotting (ie, it is coming) before taking the medicine. it is very effective, with the medicine, the period will stop within 24hrs. and when u stop the medicine, the period will become within 3 days.

nitestar

Hi silentelf... my GDL is abt 2 weeks before oh... on the 10th... u are right... so i guess 4-6 weeks before the AD is pretty ok? i only worry that ppl agree to come, n back out last min.... Oh n i agree with you that we all better tidy up our pigstys... n better start early!... hehe... some brides that i helped out had really messy rooms..... hehe....

Hi CSI, I dun think u are being KS lor... its better to start early, rather than push everythin to the last min right? i had a gf who gave me her invite only the week b4 her AD....

angeldust

hi diamond,

it depends on which medicine the doctor is prescribing to u so to qualify my statement above, samkoh - just listen to doc's instructions.

sandsand

i got this site from a friend's site.. its suppose to help u calculate your fertile period.. once the results are out, it will give u a table of the other fertile periods.. so from the dates, you can estimate when your da yi mah will visit u liao..

http://www.babycenter.com/calculators/ovulation/

DaMan know all these details... he can help DaWife remember too what if she forgets what we said.. haha..

but we will never be sure if DEM will visit on time... stress can cause it to come earlier or later too..

yuki31

sam, if my DEM come on time these 2 mth then will hit AD ...me oso worry leh ....tot of goin doc to take the pills to delay it.

Is the pills given same across doc or have different type? i heard some say after taking the next few mth may go haywire.

Stefy, icic tat good ... i dun think i will get personal trainer ...now trying to look ard for course to take to slim dwn

Da Man - can they send the layout to u? i think it is quite big leh ...mine 1 photo abt 9 MB leh ...tat time i add up seem very big if they email me...but if they can deliver on time then ok ...i told BS i wan album by end Nov latest lor
ok thanks i juz draft the email invitation ...keke :p today will send out think will give them abt 2 weeks latest to RSVP.

Who had printed invitation already? Can advise where better? For printing of map, is it a seperate charge? do u print on insert or card for map?

jklim4642

angeldust, what u mentioned is wat most doctors will tell us before taking the medicine. but there was 1 time, i saw an old experienced doc, he shared me this additional info & most doc generally goes by wat the book says.... so i tried his instruction & he is right! the medicine prescribed are the same generally

another incident to share
my sis broke her arm few yrs back & was put on cast. 4 weeks later, she went to see the doc at the specialist centre, the x-ray's results showed that she has recovered. thus, the doc then removed the cast & instructed her to come again 2 weeks later for another follow-up. during these 2 weeks, my sister can move her arm, no pain, everything per normal. in the 2nd follow-up, my sis saw another doc at the specialist centre. this doc was so shocked that my sis was not wearing a cast & sent her off to put the cast back. my mum was so furious abt it & demanded an explaniation. the 2nd doc told my mum, the rule in the books is to wear the cast for 6 weeks! the 1st doc was called in & justified that yes, that was the rule. but my sis being young heals fast & it was shown on her x-ray results & thus, he removed her cast after 4 weeks!

then guess wat, during this process, my sis has already put back her cast - $80. in the end, the 2 docs, told my mum to make the decision - ie, to let her wear the cast again for 2 more weeks OR remove the cast (& wast the $80) since the 1st doc said x-ray results showed she healed!

jklim4642

ribbons, that chart is not accurate b'coz it assumes that women belongs to the 28 days cycle.

but not all of us are 28 days cycle. some are longer some are shorter.

they are other more accurate ways to determine when the menses will come & when a woman will be fertile. eg, using a basle themometer (can buy from pharmacy) & takes your temperature every morning when u wake up (but still in bed). chart the temperature everyday for a few mths u wld be able to see the pattern & your own cycle.

anyhow, u can read more from the medical website or books. good luck

jklim4642

yuki, the delaying period medicine will hv an effect on our hormones. so, different people react differently. well most doc will tell u, it will not disrupt the cycle. some girls will still experience that.

another good eg in our day to day life will be certain kind of food some girls cannot take... eg, i cannot take too much of tonic & heaty food.. if not, my period will not come..

small_one

silentelf

i cannot squeeze everything into the cupboard there.

1. there are simply too many things.
2. my sister infiltrated my my cupboard and left tons of things there as well. *argh*

ublur

good morning gals.. It's finally Thursday again and weekend is creeping near.. hee hee hee. This week I will be busy.. my simmons bed is arriving this weekend and I will hop down to my hotel to see wedding setup.

I have not finish RSVP my friends yet. There are some pple who has not revert back to me.. gosh..

silentelf, hee hee. i also thinking of hiding all my barangs in my cupboard. hopefully on my big day, my nephews and friends will not open the cupboard lah.. kekeke

ffbear, ya lo.. hopefully the food tasting session will turn out fine. Afraid later suddenly my parents or my in laws will have any funny request...

gals, just an question to ask. are you all paying the banquet using credit card or cash?? I am thinking which credit card is best to use to pay for the dinner

small_one

blur blur

you might want to check if the card has any 'promo' rates that allow you to earn more points, so that in future you can redeem the points for something else. afterall dinner not cheap leh...

blurberry

Stefy~refer to the maple syrup thing.

Diamond~will go down there to look the wedding stuffs too, thinking want to buy present to JieMeis, see have a nice things or not

I only start tie the string with the insert last night, can't tie the ribbon nicely, only tie 20 cards whole night, paisheh...really give up! should pass it to friend for help!
How about your? done it?

Yuki~ What slimming course you looking for?

sandsand

diamond... that link ah, allows u to choose the type of cycle a girl has... There is a drop down option to select number of days.. which is good lor.. i know what u mean by diff pple having diff cycles.. but this one can choose from 20 days to 45 days for a cycle.. so big a range, i think most pple can fall into this range lah.. =) but still its just a estimate.. be it a online or book knowledge.. still must take with a pinch of salt..

my friend cannot take prunes.. when other pple take prunes, they relieve constipation faster.. if my friend take prunes, her dym comes faster.. haah..

honeyc

Hi shan shan,

I jus got to know dat i need to buy new PJ to wear the nite b4 AD and my aunt insist on pink col. god knows why?! i'm intending to buy those soft silky ones which u can find from Bugis st which cost S$10/pc/dress lor. i tink any PJ will do lah, so long as it is new. N u r supposed to wear it with ur wedding shoes in the morning and eat some stuff like Hardboiled egg, drink longan soup, fish, etc etc... dis is the Teochew tradition which i know nuts till dat day my aunt mentioned and kindly agreed to prepare all those foodies for me, meaning she has to come early in the morning abt 6am or earlier... My parents know nuts too!

I'm so gan cheong now dat the AD is 5days from now! so worried abt the dnr seating arrangement cos afraid tables not enuf or ppl play u out! now got to ask Thee Kong to bo-bi liao...

Good luck everyone!

sandsand

oh... haha.. sorry, thread moving too fast. THe maple syrup thing? neh... my 'drunk' beauty salon sales girl told me everything about it and she say i can achieve the same results by simply drinking plain water.. she say if i scared plain can use honey too..

i saw the Expressions Maple syrup.. quite ex for syrup leh..

angeldust

diamonds - i prefer not to dwell on the medication subject. let the patient who is requesting delay pills to deal direct with their own family doctor. I aint an expert nor in the medical profession.
Every medicine has varying contents & the composition may also vary tho they may serve the same purpose it may not suit everyone in question. no further comments. Only offering suggestion to Samkoh. Back to what Daman said - can give suggestion but whether to implement depends on the person himself or herself.

jklim4642

ribbons & 318, more or less completed my card. have also written the invites for half of my guests. FH not started yet though... :p

invites finish
means got to do the wedding booklet printing & tying soon...

ublur

ivy, tt's what I think too.. but don't think my hotel will tie up with any banks to have discounts.. tt's y i m thinking if I can get any cash back or double points to redeem for NTUC or cold storage vouchers..
Time is running short.. so worried that I might forget any items

blurberry

Diamond~that's great! My guest list haven't complete yet, my FMIL still haven't give us 1 guest name.....
Also have to find one day go to taste the red wine & white wine and select it.
I even haven't meet up with my banquet co-ordinator....

Anyone have DIY wrist cossage for JieMei?Can share share?

shan_shan

hi sky n honey chia,

yah yah, tink muz wear dat when combing hair...;p....thanx for ur information..
..i boug mine yesterday at AMK central...
...cheap cheap ones..:p

har, muz b pink ah..i got a baby blue one...:p...yah, got so many traditions manz...headache...hehe

wow, honey chia, u muz b feeling so excited now...:p...good luck on ur wedding day...

stepford

Shan shan, you are all set to go! I have yet to gather my rsvp. Terrible me. Think can keep groom's speech simple. We are thinking of 5mins to thank everyone for coming and that they will enjoy the food.

jennifer_teoh

sandsand

318bi: how about milk or even soya bean milk? its fluid too.. but dont get high sugar or hi fat one lah..

Its quite to abstain from carbo eh.. hee.. very hard for me too but i try lor.. =)

diamond: thats good...

I havent finalized my guest list too. this saturday going to collect my save the date card, then i think maybe my guest list will be more 'solid' liao.. hee..

318bi: i going to DIY but havent sourced for my materials yet.. i am waiting for my jie mei to tell me what colours they wearing, then i will custom the colours of their corsage to match their baju..

harpie17

Hey gals....
Have not been here for a super long time. Was trying to get used my new work and can't really go online as my seat is quite open.

Hey, I am thinking of bringing my mom to buy a dress for the wedding dinner. She is thinking of tailoring her dress bt dunno if there is time to go and tailor now. less than 2 months.

Any good tailor to recommend? Or where is a good place to bring my mother to buy a dress? hmm ... snj leh.

samkoh1975

Hello...

Diamond-Sori... thot I saw the scroll there. Maybe somewhere else. They maybe you can try those shops where they frame pictures. Some ppl mount pics/paintings on scroll. Maybe they have.

Angel-Thanks for the suggestions with regards to the DEM issue. Dun really like to take that kind of pills scared that will have side effects. Neva try b4 so dun intend to try. My DEM quite accurate one so maybe wont kena lor. Some more want to try have BB liao. So dun play play.

The maple syrup oso got detox effect. So maybe will go toilet more often after drinking.

I handmade some earrings for JMs. So will give AP & small gift.

318bi-can try make corsage yourself if got time. Just buy ribbons and fabric flowers from Arab St and glue together can liao. I went to Kin Soon Company @ 36 Arab St Tel:62983391. The lady there very helpful and can give you suggestions.

Stefy- put in about 1-2 lime (the big ones not small ones for mee siam kind)for 1 bottle of water. This method can try just b4 yr AD to shed extra.

jklim4642

samkoh, i will check out Prints. I called them & was told they got nice Artwork pieces & the prices they quote me are quite reasonable.

jklim4642

ribbons... thanks for telling me. i already bought from concourse leow. but not gold strings. find it too common.. bought lace/ribbons instead

the people here very nice.. since am here on fri
they offered me food 3 times leow
today is dessert & goreng pisang.. yummy

sandsand

hee.... i think i got mention b4 also leh... hee.... nvm, if u need any other type of string, go to this place... they are wholesalers for ribbons. the cheapest around.

diamond: where are u now?

blurberry

Ribbons~you mean only soya bean milk at dinner? I don't know I can 'tahan' or not
We have to work hard on it since the AD quite near .
Ya hor, thanks for remind, I really forgot about this the wrist cossage have to match JieMei's baju ....

Sam~Thanks thanks!want to go down to sourch. Do you DIY ?

Diamond~wow, the shop lady offer the food to you a...so good!

sandsand

318bi: no no... not suggesting only soya bean milk for dinner only.. i'm saying maybe in place of just plain fluids maybe u can replace with flavoured yet relatively healthy options..

previously i always skip dinner.. but thing is my lunch time is at 1pm and cannot eat much cos i just had breakfast at about 8-9am..by the time its dinner, i actually quite hungry liao, bu i tahan dont eat, next meal is only next morning breakfast... i think all this tahaning led me to get quite bad gastric pains.. so i stopped skipping dinner.. so now i just take very light dinners..

angeldust

samkoh - u are welcome. no worries if u dun intend to pop pill. just a suggestion. so as long u can accurately predict and prevent shld be ok.

vvn

stepford, 5 min is a long long time. going by the 3 word per second rule, u guys have a 900 word speech?

ha... talking about thank you speeches. my colleague gave the shortest thank you speech. it was a drinks party at some pub in tanjong pagar ard 9pm. so the emcee said abit of things, ask the couple to thank ppl, bride said something, can't remember, and then the groom just said something like "ok, let's drink" and that was it!!!

blurberry

Ribbon~okok
I think skip dinner not a good way to lose weight for me, but now I try to have dinner early, take very very little rice with steam fish,vege and soup. Try not to have oily food at night.