(2006) Brides of year 2006

maez

hi diamond, the GDL stuff tt my mom wants r rather simple..

2bottles of wine
18 oranges
pin jin
wedding cake..
(stick xi sticker on all the above)

think thats all.. so all these things will buy closer to the GDL day..

deb_pooh

hi blur, thanks for the photo. u look beautiful on e gown and e sceneries is very beautiful. u found a good photographer.

hi Jen & Nami, don't b upset, i believe ur frenz will reply soon. btw, can we send out e invitation card whenever someone reply esp for frens ? Colleagues easier to give out card but frenz need to send by post to them. take up more time in writing add.

i don't hve mei po and GDL stuff didn't buy anything. anything i miss out pls do highlight me. TQ.

angeldust

GD MRG!!

Sam - great idea on the mooncake BOX!!!!! hee hee hee.. if my decor is red roses and wedding held at club chinois or grand shanghai.. definitely will FIT IN!!! Oohh.. u went to bridalnet.. hee hee.. i went there before also. hee hee hee..
^5 me also doing away with the cake cutting and champagne popping. we will do a best man's speech followed by a simple toast on stage. the yam sengs can be done when going round the tables. so can mingle with friends and talk.

318 - me ah.. me gg for PS next week. so now a bit busy.. overall progress of wedding prep is ok. settled the car then also settling the cards this weekend. After PS will go settle jia zhuang stuff (tho i oredi kind of started during GSS) then Pin Li - oredi asked colleagues to help buy 2 martell back from duty free. the rest like wedding cakes and oranges will do so closer to GDL date cos they are perishables.

Save the date cards - oohh nice idea. hee hee me took the short cut and sent out "Save The Date" emails instead to my cousins and overseas friends, close friends & some colleagues. I did a mini clip of my ROM with a 1 min song. HA HA HA HA Practice session for doing my own montage. KA KA KA KA KA..no more $$ to get someone to do it. *bleah* budget constraint..

jennifer_teoh

hi debbie.. i tink wait til one month before wedd then give out the cards bah.. some ppl say that sometimes they may even forget abt ppl's wedd.. so when u give them the wedd cards, its sort of a reminder.. ;p

gentasg

Hey gers,

Talking abt 11 per table. i am thinking abt it too.

my coordinator told me to have 10C + 1 M OR 9C + 2 M coz need to pay extra for M mah...

As for purely C tables, I try to minimize the chance of 11 per table.

Ivy, u okie or not...talk clearly after that?

nami

hi debbie, for me, i will give around 1 mth before my AD....and for those in big groups, i am arranging to meet up with them...
it's time consuming though. it's good that you dun have GDL etc so nice...hee....hmm have you settled your wine, march in songs, montage? if yes, i think you are well prepared keke

nami

Hi Linda,
hee understand liao...but if you have a table of C and you want to add to 11...do you have to pay for 1 more pax?

ublur

morning gals..

debbie, thanks for ur kind words.

weekend coming soon again.. yippie... yippie this wkend will be very busy, send my invitation card to printer, go natas fair, attend my gf's bb shower, meet my jiemei to discuss abt their dress etc etc etc.. goshh... so busy

samkoh1975

Hey Hey!!

Hi Angel,
Not only am I gonna make my own ang pow box, can use same decor and colour for guest book too. I got an idea from another thread to DIY own guest book. Can start doing and keep liao if not later no time. Good luck with you GDL. Mine very simple. Dunno if my MIL will give pin jin or not. So only oranges lor. The rest can be replaced with ang pow. Yi si Yi si can liao.

foreverhappy

Hi Ribbon

I got to send to different pple vai different mode so got more to do it at different time.

This week & next week i will call, sms or email my friends. As for relatives I am not suire whether i is too early but no harm calling.

Then in mid oct then i will sent out inivtation cards to my colleague without asking them cos they are more senior and they may feel that by sending email is not sincere.

nami

hi linda,
i will call and ask my co ordinator later too hee.

Blur, weekend is finally approaching soon haha. This weekend I gotta go and take my air ticks and both sides meet to discc GDL. Cross my fingers and hope everything is ok hee....and as usual RSVP...haiyo haha.

angeldust

hi sam,

wow DIY.. hee hee. me not gd with arts and crafts so i got one jiemei to help me lah. me bad at cutting and pasting. that's why no doing DIY cards either.. ha ha ha ha ha... good luck with the DIY!!

blurberry

Maez~me still left quite a lot of things ...Where to buy the sticker 'XI'?
Angel~What you mean 'jia zhuang stuff'? I haven't check with banquet co-ordinator whether they provide the ang pow box or not?
Ribbons~ why GDL your mum will eat 'bak kwa' leh?

sandsand

maez: ping jin is dowry right? this is suppose to be from PIL or the groom?

whats wedding cake?

GDL items are requested by the girl's parents right? hmm.. think my mother will ask for a bottle of port and not wine, her new fav.. haha..

apple: ok.. but i think pple now a days are used to getting calls from the couple asking for pre invitation RSVP.. but i know what you mean about how they might feel about an email being insincere.. my bosses i will give hard copy invite..

small_one

hey linda

ok lar... just that when hb is stressed, he comes and stress me... then I am at the receiving end. It's frustrating cos I have no one else to transfer the stress to... so very easily irritated.

small_one

hey blur

you gowns are lovely.

I especially like your pink EG. The green cheongsumis a refreshing change... :p Love the pic where your boy was playing the guitar at this lake... where's it?

ublur

Nami, yaya.. my guest list har.. not everyone reply too leh.. funnie..

Ivy, thanks for your kind words.. that location is in Sentosa.. don't be stress.. relax a bit.. tolerate for another 2 more months and everything is over.. jia you

jklim4642

maez, still need to buy other stuff... eg, my mum said she will hv to buy me things like bb bath tub, dunno wat else.. she said the other side has to give nappier angbow to her, my grandma, & dunno wat else also

girls, NATAS fair starts tomorrow, 12pm. but, the natas rates are already out for booking. can just book with the agent directly at natas rates. then pick up the freebies tomorrow. no need to go squeeze with the crowds.

my agent said will do the reservation for me today. tomorrow then charge to the card for me to claim freebies. nice right?

deb_pooh

hi nami, wine juz settle. so today finish one task again. march in songs settle down with a few so need to confirm the songs hopefully by next wk. GDL items don't know wat to buy, my MIL also dun knw so mayb go to the specialise shop to get some stuff will do. mine don't hve food tasting cos its a high tea reception. wat other thing i left out, pls highlight me. wedding card n inserts corrected last wk so monday done half, tie ribbon for e card. so tis sun shd finish doin cos my sis will offer help. jie mei n xiong di only got 3 each.

hi blur, u r most welcome. i like e sceneries.

nami

I just checked with my co ordinator. The table can sit 11 persons. But would have to pay for the additional person's cost. So, I may consider putting groups in 11 if I have to coz anyway it adds up the same but frens will be able to sit together

sandsand

diamond: yeah, we're going for the natas travel fair too..

but i heard someone say b4, the tours offered are like the ones that cannot be filled up thus they offer at a cheaper rate? is that true? me dont know about such fairs.. only know price good and got lots of freebies..

angeldust

318 - jiazhuang is when u marry off u.. the items u need to prepare. for example some new clothes for urself and bedsheets for the new home etc. last time pple place them in a wooden box. modern times.. pple put inside suitcases.

Xi sticker u can get from chinatown.

diamond - yeps baby items are part of the jia xhuang which is for ur new baby to use in future. nappy ang pow - represents thanking ur mum for bringing u up. ang pow for granny/granpa - to wish them longetivity and for respect.

ribbons - part of the PIN LI. last time brides family will request XX DAN of Xi Bing (which can be teochew biscuits or hokkien tau sar pia) to give relatives. Now usually replaced by modern western cakes from confectionaries or bakeries or even cake cards for relatives to collect from the bakery themselves. ur mummy will request for PIN LI. the exchange of bridal gifts is called GUO DA LI.

blurberry

Angel~U mean I(or my mum) have to prepare jia Zhuang right? new clothes and bedsheets, any other have to prepare? My mum didnt mention leh ( I think she also dont know,haha! only heard from my grandma have to buy new bedsheet)
Ya, Angel,my mum also want to buy "tau sar pia" lor! PIN LI same as PIN JIN?

jklim4642

ribbons, cannot be filed up so cheaper rate? well, not true if u have talked to some of the well known tour agents.

anyhow, i did not book with any of the tour agent, i go through the agent of ANA & i am taking ANA runned package + extend on our own.

angeldust

hi ribbons - yeps u mum & u have to prepare the jia zhuang. the items in the jia zhuang varies from family to family. depending on how elaborate u wanna be. PIN JIN = dowry that ur hubby give. PIN JIN is part of PIN LI. PIN LI to include PIN JIN, AP for nappy, AP for granny, wedding cakes XI BING, 2 martell (in exchange ur mum give 2 bottle of miranda orange), oranges, long feng candles (different dialect uses different type) and BA BAO (lotus seeds, bai he, dired longan etc)

I have an excel sheet which i found from SBO. but in office so i cant upload. will upload when I am home k? then u can download for ref.

nfllkh

Hi Diana,

Wish you happy, healhty and blissfully married...

Hi Tansy,

Wish you happy, healhty and blissfully married...

And ALL the OCT brides as well..

maez

sam
haha.. my sis offered to do angpao box for me, as for guest book, my hotel giving me one, n my photographer also giving me one! :p so tt one no need..

i saw the sticker sold at chinatown.. but not buying cos a colleague bought too much n she gave me wat she had left..

WOW! angel gives very comprehensive explanation!!

yep diamond, as said by angel,
the bb tub and all that is for jia zhuang, which i told my mom 'no need lah!' cos i doubt will use the tub lor, according to this, still muz buy the tam pui.. this day n age, dun think i wanna have a tam pui sitting in my house.. hahaha..
but some other things such as sewing kit, useful, so i will get that..

oh, abt bedsheet.. my mom say she have to come n lay the bedsheet for me, then after laying it, no one can lie on the bed until the wedding day..

add to angel's point on xi bing, also have cantonese 'kah lui bang', which is wat my mom wants..
but will get some cakes also cos kah lui bang not halal..

oh yes, by RIGHT, the invitation cards can only be given out AFTER GDL, but i will give out mine before.. to my colleagues..
the cakes/xi bing actually supposed to be given WITH the invitation cards..
for me, will only give the xi bing to close relatives when we deliver the invitation cards personally.. some invitation cards will be by sent post.

ffbear

hi, Nami,
can sit 11 person a table.. hmm.. but I stil need to know the answer to my qn posted above.. tat is ll the hotel take note tat which table has 11 person& serve 11 person food? dont like my guests to starve.. hahahha..

nami

hi debbie, my AD is on 25 nov.
wat abt urs?

hi ffbear, hmm for my hotel,i will need to pay for the additional pax. So they will serve 11 pax food dun worry hee.

ffbear

hi, nami,
yah.. tats wat I wan to know.. cos I need them to ensure tat they ll serve the rite portion.. hahaa.. thanks, yah..

dwarfs

Helo, ladies, it been a long long time have not been this forum...
too busy wif work...
just knock off and yesterday worse loh, i knock off at around 11pm...
Now financial closing, so very busy, then after month end still a lot of reports to clear,
i hope to clear my reports asap, so tat i can prepare for my big day...
hehe

HI, Tingz,
My MIL say tat after my hubbi fetch me from my mama house, go to our new home 1st then go to my MIL plc then back to my mama plc again...
Then some more mine got timing, within 9am to 10am i need to step into my new home....

Diana,
Wish u blissfully married and pretty forever...

Take care

poohbear88

hi ribbons,

we going to print at focal or hi tech cos of the travelling time,my fmil dun 1 us to be jam at the checkpoint etc,so she said print in spore....
i thot i can go there and shop and play,there goes my idea...

marnie

Jean, Pink Bunny go Sweden (minus Blue Bunny) - for work. She'll be back next week, if I am not wrong.

K Girls, who else on? Next week, I'm very happening on. Tuesday?

angeldust

hi 318bi - u are most welcome.
This forum is for sharing knowledge anyway.

Maez - thanks for the compliments. hee. ya I also told my mummy i din want the potty and the red bathtub. but she insisted. so see how. oohh.. new lesson learnt!! kah lui bang.. look like what? issit yummy? *bleah* me so TAM JIAK. ha ha ha ha ha

An Chuang - usually held after GDL. both parents can an or couple can an themselves also. but if parents AN must give AP for heng heng. hee hee.. last time, they will hire a "fortunate lady" - ie a lady who has many children and grandchildren to An CHUANG for the couple which will supposedly help the couple to "zao sheng gui zi, zi sun man tang" Even for SHU TOU ceremony, they will also get a fortunate lady. Nowadays it is usually the parents of the bride and groom who will do the job.
I guess save money bah.. HA HA HA HA HA HA.. cos need to give AP to the "fortunate lady"

Cards - by right the invites are given out after GDL but because my GDL date and AD is TOO near. I will issue invite cards + cake cards to relatives and colleagues earlier.
As agreed with my mummy.

sandsand

wow... thanks angel for that very detailed explanation1 BUT I still clueless.. haha... hey is the bride suppose to be around during GDL?

happy: now we wish we did it in SG too.. becos they did the artwork on the spot, we had to stay in JB.. if its in SG, at least i can go some where else than come back... then sorry to say, but theya bit blur lor.. but the cost of printing there evens out everything lah... my budget is my priority... =)

sandsand

and the hours spent with my fh in the car, talking... while stuck in jams is very good bonding time.. seriously... we've gotten so much closer since these trips... so i'm ok lah.. =)

jennifer_teoh

hey gurls..
i jz checked w my mua.. and she told me that if i m havin more than 35 tables, its not advisable to do 2nd make up / 2nd hairdo.. cz not enough time.. unless its less than 35 tables..

oh.. seems like most of u here v to pay for the 11th person in that table.. i wil b checkin w my hotel to find out then..

tingz

diana, ya lor thats wat i told hubby, dun wana step on mil toes so better follow :p 2 more days for u, excited bo? must update us hor.

Anymore 1st oct bride around?.....

Drawf, will be using the same sequence as u, but will try to fit in a short photography session, cos hb like wat he saw my AD photographer take for another couple, so he wanted some too :p Your time quite tight hor, 1hr. got say by wat time need to return to ur parents place? for me, my shifu say that day timing v good, so as long as finish everything from 9 - 5pm ok leh ....heng...

vonn

Hi Nami and Jen,

Me also confirm ordering Miranda Somerton, my hubby prefer the higher grade wines, but too ex lar..btw, u gals calculate how many bottles per tables har?
I went to wine bos too, but the person that serve us had a 1 kind attitude and oni 2 wedding wines to try unlike the St*r cellar, they let us try a few wine and were friendly too.

chillipadi25

dear all - able to advise if there are any good photo montage around....hmmm for pic montage did u do urself or outsource to others to do? haiz just finish my photo shoot dunno if it is too late to get ready by 2 dec...

prettibride

Hi everyone...I am also getting married in Dec 06. Hehe..guess everyone here must be real busy with your wedding prep since Dec is just 2 more months away. As for me..most of the major stuff has been settled..like PS, Banquet, Jia-Zhuang etc. Now left with the guest list and the nitty gritty stuff...but those are enough to kill me...:p

My fiance is still busy with work so left me to coordinate all those things...do you guys have problems with guests not available since Dec is a popular holiday season? I just sent out a short sms to close friends asking them to save that day for my wedding and already I have 3 friends that is not able to turn up.

Just curious, what will you girls be doing the two weeks before your wedding? Will you still be busy with last min preps?