(2006) Brides of year 2006

sandsand

hello.. i'm back from my JB trip.. Went to see the album layout yesterday, quite ok. but got to go up another time.. and checked out the printing services there. Share with you guys the details:

Printing of inserts:
T&T Printing (City Square, JB)
~1st 200 piece, RM$80. (Sing: 34.70)
~Add Graphics: no extra charge
Can add as many graphics as you want.
~Add Map $RM20 (one time off. Can be provided by you. if dont have, they will get from internet)
every 100 cards, add rm20.

T Dragon:
1st 200 inserts S$100
Add Graphics S$10 per icon (one time charge)
Map ($5 for about........ 40 or 50 pieces. not very sure.)

Printing of post cards (for couples who require maybe church invitations/ thank you cards:
T&T Printing:

Front colour (unlimited. means can print colour pic also), back- black only:
For 200 cards, it works out to about sing $0.20 to $0.30 per card, inclusive of envelope!! Not those cheapo plain white, thin envelope. Good quality. can find at poplular bookshop, those paper sold by weight kind.

Front and Back full colour (unlimited colours): 200 pieces, no more than $0.35 per piece inclusive of envelope.

T Dragon: THe amount was so high i didnt even bother to rememebr the amount..

T&T only needs one week to print the cards.

My recommendation after printers hunting, DEFINITELY T&T!!

Their contacts: Just in case anyone really wantes to make an effort to go there:
T&T Instant Printing services:
Lot J4.04 Johor Bahru City Square, Jalan wong Ah Fook. Tel: 07-222 8862 Fax: 07-223 8862 Email: [email protected]

DaMan: I never heard of such tradition.. but then again, i am not teochew, so...

but i think teochew brides have to set off early, cos they cannot see the sun when they set off.. but yet, some parents now go consult temple pple for auspicious timings, and these timings not nece b4 sunrise.

aiyah, alot of the traditions quite diluted now in this time and age and mixed... fiance and i not teochew not fiance, buti think i am gettign SDJ... give me, i dont question why.. haha

sandsand

diamond: as in non hotel cards huh? I think you can choose from their selection lor.. You can chose from their selection of plain paper (got textured, plain, shiny...) and print or you can see their cards lor. they dont have design ready cards like T Drgons where you just print the words on. good in a way also, you are more free to decide what you want to do.. you can print whatever you want..

sandsand

thats what i am planning to do.. my invites are printed straight onto the card lor... arent post cards suppose to be like that? What do you have in mind?

jklim4642

ribbons, on top of the church invite, u have a dinner card also isnt it? check with u, how am i going to put chinese words in the church postcard invite? some relatives cannot read english... also if the church invite is worded such that we are the host instead of our parents... when we invite uncles & aunties, dun we have to say things like "we would like to invite da4 bo2..." instead of "we would like to invite bao1 di4" if the invite were from my parents...

wtan

hi hi ladies & gentlemen..
how have u all been? it's been a while since i last drop by here..was very busy at work..also very stress up..i guess i got to learn how to relax myself more..hope time pass faster..hehe..how's everyone with the wedding preps..i m sure u all must be very excited now..since the day is getting nearer..hehe..

jklim4642

my relatives were non-catholic so going on the norms, they will not come for the church wedding. they will just go for the dinner.. but now, without the dinner, am not sure if they will come for the church wedding.. maybe not also..

so previously when we planned to hv a dinner, the church invite was to be in english as there is no need to invite my relatives.. now... no dinner, they may not come for the church wedding also.. but still, as a courtesy, i hv to invite them still.. so if i hv a postcard church invite, where got room for me to put the chinese version??

sigh...

hltays

hi all. how come here seem so quiet since yesterday..

Went down to T dragon, wasn't a fruitful trip.. they seem to be so busy (like rushing for time).. but manage to get the price list.. (on the phone with connie not so bad but went there the lady not as friendly like wat u guys say)
jus chop chop show me some sample and say that abt all
(less than 10mins) sigh...

now trying to look for other printer.. any one got any recommentation...
thks....

linglun

Hi Ling..

This is wat i've collated so far from the other threads. Have yet to go down to take a look, but perhaps its helps =)

Mary Huang
Tel : 62829269
605A Macpheson Rd
#05-01
** Good Service **

Mr Lee
Tel : 91442698
Paya Lebar
** Runs family business, good prices **

Card-Blanche
Tel : 62203044
51A Amoy St
** Check their website for more info **

=D

When i go down to visit perhaps we can exchange views too!

kurera

*faint*

xiaobai you just broke the SB record of having the longer post!!!

ha.......so farnie...kek kek kek

Hi Wenn...how's the baby! Getting ready to be a mother??

Hi Tingz..long time no see..so your BS not problem eh?
projector? how much you gers getting at?

Diana when MJ huh? kek kek kek..but dunwan play $ can..*stress*

vnn..not sure about wine..me just getting from hotel lor...

xfiles_wolvie

vanessa-okok...then tok in potato language. no horse run is direct tranaslation from hokkien aka similar to its the best, no one can beat u. so can also menas no horse can outrun u, like champion like tat.

yuki-eh not job hop lah..sounds bad to say job hop. look for better opportunities. hehhe. my eq really sucks big time. ok thanks for helping me check. no space lor. so wanted to throw bt scare ned in future. tink better throw lah. sg gt no space liao. donate all the paper to reclain land. muahahaha.

angeldust-sushi gt lard meh? hehehe so its towels. hmm. thanks.

kai-ur bf in IT line also? depends on what he wants to do lor. shift work in IT market alot but affect those who wan to settle dwn like me. so cham. thanks for ur advice, will try tat. i dun hve to do so in wee hours so far cos fmil nt yet go check with the person but we just follow hte hours stated in the normal chinese calendar, gt indicate wat hours good or bad. din check those 8characters kind of thing. hahaha im selling 2nd hand online my uni books also. so will dump them all. thanks. its quite a long period for HM. maybe hongkong?

pandalic-ok will do so . da wife areadi said to get my mum to go buy then pass her the receipt so she will reimbursed her. sigh. but i nvr hear such ting b4 and duno da wife lugi leh. bt at least by doing this, can mum my mum.

Yen-will turn out fine, dun worry, the BS ned it to earn money, def will turn out great.

ribbons-hahaha okok...of cos dun question..give then tke. hahaha. but is it gold or white gold? my mum insist on gold. old fashioned leh. sigh. i prefer white gold also.

xfiles_wolvie

samantha-the company that host ur wedding site, is it good? can give me the company name and i go check out their hosting plans? looking for 1 to do the site as well.

dwarfs

hi every one,
me just finish submitting the photos for montage...hope it turn out nice

Diana>
Mahjong i interested leh...
i just learn abt one year ago..
usaual to be not interested but after everytime c my hubbi play, i feel bored so decided to ask him to teach me...
now really addicted to mahjong...
but not expert cos sometime still kana say by my hubbi...
haha

Xiaobai>
I wan to go korea also but got no $$$$$
sian...
i saw the tour agency u had mention
is it good?
their official card is OCBC rite?
if u dun mind can email me ur details regarding the tour?
i still hope i can go, cos my hubbi say got c whether got money anot after the wedding...
Haha..
me so poor now, sob, sob
regards

darean

Hi precious moments, can you pls explain to me about the 5% thingy? I also bought my wine from Carrefour but I am unaware of it. Thks a lot!

vvn

hey DBS cards having travel offer again! not sure about their prices can beat the ones now though...

dwarfs, ha, if no money, u can still go honeymoon what. ha, there's a 2D1N for the batam package for DBS. $58 per person in some 'superior' room (villa is like $125 each i think) includes ferry + breakfast. that one u sure can go lah...

sorry i no spokesperson of DBS but happen to get their mailer today!

honeyc

hi steve,

sydney is jus like sin. Lotsa office building n biz city... guess u can visit the ever famous Sydney Opera House, climb the bridge (for an experience), viSIT the Rock, Blue Mountain... Personally, I prefer Melbourne to Sydney cos u can really feel the victorian style in melb as Melb is the only city in Australia dat has tram. All other Aussie cities don't have. Then, in Melb, there are many places to go too. U can drive along The Great Ocean Road - see the 12 Apostles, London Bridge, Visit Philip Island at nite and watch the penguins' parade, Victoria Market, etc..

It's more relaxing in Melb than Sydney.

Hi Charlyn,
I'm going comex tmr to see wat's there for offer...

Hi Wendy
Hope u r enjoying ur pregnancy.... and bb not disturbing u too much... a couple of mths more to delivery rite?

sandsand

diamond: me not that expert on wordings, especially chinese.. but my stand is, if you are the host, on the invite, write what you normally address them as lor. to me, my relatives all understand english, so i'll maybe write uncle and aunty? dunno man.. havent gotten to that.

how about instead of doing a post card, do a two fold card lor. I saw one, its half an A4, but holded into half. exterior of card is printed as the desig you want for post card, in side becos got two pages, one side print english, one side print chinese lor.

318bi: they dont prove wordings. you have to provide your own. I got the template from my hotel, so think i will let them use that. but going to let someone i trust proof read the chinese invites first..

DaMan: of course she would prefer yellow gold lah.. more da fang mah..

angeldust: take care...

yuki31

ribbons - tat wat my FMIL say too ...yellow gold more da fang n more value ...but i wanted white gold coz yellow gold dun think i will wear so FH talk to her n she gave in :p

Da Man - okok sorrie ...not job hop is to seek for better opportunities...keke :p me oso scare in future need those notes n stuff but if dun throw no storage space to put so now i slowly throw bit by bit ....haha u sell ur books online? where?

tingz

Hi charly, aye lor, think she gonna pass to them by hand instead of mailing it out...

Hi CAT, u disappear for a while rite :p. My bs ah, give up liow la, jus go with the flow now lor... projecter i have not call them yet so dunno how much they will quote me....how bout u? most things settle liow?

Wah so many ppl into MJ ah? my hb also MJ siao.... but I MJ idiot, hahaha....

stevy

Hi Honey,

Heard a lot abt Melb, but I dun have time to visit this city. Haven you been to Carins? Will be going there to dive. Now deciding which hotel/hostel to stay.

Hi Wendy,
Take care. Will your husband be with you during the delivery?

jklim4642

ribbon, T&T told me via email they do have wording template leh... i get your point of view. but my parents being traditional, i have to put them as host.. and the way of writing should be the traditional way.. ie. youngest son, or watever...

blurberry

Ribbon, ok, I will bring my own wording.
Diamond, the wording got new version or traditional way? I think just follow the hotel provide wan, the host will be parents,eventhrou we paid for all...

september

if me remember correctly, wendy's bb is due in Oct...tat is while each of us is busy getting married off one by one, the bb will be born.....

tingz, u can learn MJ lor...like cat....she also learning and in fact all of us learning

dwarf, u same as me...i used to hate it alot but nw i enjoy playing but for a while nia...if play too long i get bored....however, me nt addicted to it yet...

cat, see u dun wan to play $$ tansy dun wan to play wif us liao.....whahaha

honey, 3 more days to our bird day lor....hee hee

sandsand

diamond; their wordings are from previous couples lor... When i say they dont have wordings, as in not like T Dragon who has their own set of wordings.. I think T&T 's templates from other invitations that they've done.. but in anycase, still must proof read ok?

Correct me if i am wrong, originally, you were suppose to be host of church and parents host dinner.. but now only got church.. but it will be weird to state that you host church (English) and parents host Church (Chinese) right? Just stick to parents host lor. Chinese part, continue saying that parents host, but english part.... hmm... everytime i read invites hor, i dont know/ dont bother about who host leh. Still have to give ang bao what?

jklim4642

318, dont forget i dun longer has a hotel invite card. so i hv to get my own wordings template if i am going to the printer in city sq.

if parents are the host, then the card will be written in the traditional way... eg,wat is the way to write when the groom has 1 elder sister, shld the groom be known as the "only" son or ??? this is very impt to the elderly.. b'coz if write the wrong way, they will be upset... b'coz it may give people the impression that he or she has no siblings, or watever.. understand?

wtan

hi hi CAT..
thks..thks..althou time passed very fast..i dun feel the excitement yet leh..keke..like my wedding also till the day of customary then that morn i feel the excitement..haha..me so far trying to tell myself to relax more..gg for my gynae appt tomorrow..this time round inviting my in-laws along..i guess something diff for them ba..coz in their times..they dun go for scan..so hopefully they will get to enjoy it...will keep u all posted again next wk..projector can "rent" from company bo?

hi hi designfreak..
thks..my EDD (estimated due date) is on 8 oct..keke..intially was hoping for 2 oct (our 1st yr wedding anniversary)..but aft a 2nd thots..now keep telling my boy to come out on 25 sept...keke..how's ur wedding preps getting along?

hi hi huey..
thks..thks..have very bad water retention..also my constipation prob worsen..so got to watch my diet..also my body intake sugar very well so i got to be careful with the sugar intake & also reduce salt intake to control my water retention..been telling my boy to come out on 25 sept..so aft my deduction of annual leave..i think i can come back next yr..kekeke..

hi hi honey..
thks..thks..i m thankful that i have quite a smooth pregnancy..no morning sickness...no bad cravings..no terrible heartburn etc..rather thankful i shd say..i guess diff pple react differently towards pregnancy..also got to learn that if u r at the smaller built..the chances of u "bloating" up very fast during pregnancy is high..haha..i guess i will only think abt losing the extra pounds aft the delivery for now..keke..hope time pass faster..hehe..

hi hi steve..
thks..yap..hubby will be with me..he was telling me that he will be on stand-by mode only from mid of sept onwards..haha..now visits to gynae will be more frequent..for a start, we saw gynae every 3 wks once..now it's like every 2 wks..then aft the 36th wks, will be weekly basic..i think i will only start to feel the excitement when i see gynae every wk ba..hehe..now i m at my 34th wk ++ & growing..keke..

hi hi diana..
ya! u all are oct 06 brides & bridesgroom while my baby is oct baby..keke..i m sure it will be very memorable lor..will keep u all posted aft my gynae's visit tmrw night...keke..

jklim4642

ribbons, now my parents will be the host. both english & chinese words. so like wat i just said, i need to ensure the wordings are correct.. of course we dun bother too much abt invites when we read.. is the elderly that are very particular... sigh...

twinkle2610

morning peeps...
hi ribbon.. is just call up to chk for printer rates ytd too... AXXA and Hi-Tech like quite a gd rate leh...

AXXA..
printing on card direct (normal printing) - $100 for 300pcs

Hi-Tech..
printing on inserts - $100 for 300 pcs!!
the break down: $80 for 1st 200pcs + $0.20 per piece thereafter...

but i din enquire abt adding icons.. just asked general rates...

Da Man...
he not in IT line.. he in Bank CSO...24hrs hotline... so... be nice if ur do call k.. wakaka...HongKong ar.. i not too keen leh.. dun realli wan the whole trip to be shopping... wakaka... prefer sightseeing... im not a themepark person either... hehe... now my bf researching on a self drive trip in perth... wah... sounds exciting.. hehe... anyone here done it b4.... can advise on anything???

Yuki...
oh..i din know teochew wife & hubby got difference one.. hehe...

blurberry

Thanks Diamond,I really do not know such things,hehe!The most important thing is make sure the wording correct..yalor, elderly that are very particular for those things..

kurera

tINGZ..nope I disappeared but appeared again la..you never got updated with my other "speaker" ar?

kek kek kek

Most likely borrow lo..hotel charging 300 bucks...seow!!

Anyway..I have not start writting my invite yet..haaa..

Songs not done...er...church stuff not coordinated yet...seow soon..haaa

Wenn...keep us posted man! Oh..are you going to have a lap top when you deliver?? surf SB!! HAAAA

kar

hi all... haven pop in for a long time. hope everyone's on schedule for wedding preps.

wana ask if u guys hav idea if your fren is married, is it normal to invite the spouse as well, say we duno the spouse very well? or jus invite yr fren will do?

september

me frenz as me to invite her can liao....mayb u wan to check wif ur frenz? Another frenz, me told her tat me only invite her due to seat probs lor....so see how u wan to tell ur frenz...

small_one

nami

i suggest you get the housebreaking spray first.

it takes time for the puppy to identify a place as a toilet. Hence, whenever you let it out, first let it 'pee' or 'poo' first (depend on the command you teach it). When it does, praise it and / or give treats, then let it out.

When you let it out for 10-15 minutes, bring it back to the playpen for it to 'pee' and 'poo'. Puppies cannot hold the bladder for long, so better to check every 15 minutes. Do it consistently for a week (for both puppy and yourself to observe) then increase playtime by another 5 minutes for the next week.

small_one

Ling

i would recommend both Focal-Ad (Stephen) and AXXA (Mary Huang). I am using Focal-Ad for my banquet invites and AXXA for my church invite.