(2006) Brides of year 2006

fi_fi

hi designfleak, dunno ler. mine e a package tour. not known staying which htl yet. wen u intend 2 go?

heez... me new hse at redhill
tdy go ter clean hse. wow, alot of pple. thk they went view sample showflat... any1 balloting ter?

nami

Just to share with you all, I have finally booked my HM with Chan Bros. It was a 2 to go seat in coach. Glad that finally another item has cleared.

Hi Blur blur,
Did you go down to the Chan Bros fair this weekend? Any updates?

vvn

wah... 4room in redhill is not cheap. but considering that the resale value might be higher next time? i just got my place at tampines... it's an old 4 room but much cheaper than $328k!

hmm... did i hear mj? anyone who wants to learn shld play the mahjong game 明星三缺一. u will play like a pro in no time!

nami

Hi Ivy,
I like your pics esp the ones with your dog hee...so nice and cute. And you took your outdoor with the DHL? Hmm, special and unique leh keke.

summerbel

hihi i am really a beginner lo.. i only play those no tai with my cousin so still learning.. haha hope u all give me sum more time to learn.. jio me ok...

summerbel

i am going crazy... cannot stand my mum anymore...
everything also want.. every thing hear from others no matter is wat she also want.. but when u ask her again she say dun need.. ask her next time wat she want she say she want this n that again.. my wedding is jus 49 days away m till today she still keep telling me "i tell u tmr" dunno how many times le.
best if she tells me wat she want on the day of my wedding... everything also dun neeed to give..
say want fresh pig leg on wedding day then on guo da li.. now on wedding day again.. say dun need le say ask us go ask the cake shop wat should we give.. confirm is ang bao lo.. jus tell me wat u want n not bringing me round the garden.. waste my time n effort n MIL already went to buy the big tray to put the fresh pig leg....
going crazy..
sorry for throwing out my anger n stress here as no one is there for me to talk...

linglun

i was initially thinking abt having it @changi fairy point, but as we can only confirm 2 mths in advance it seems too risky. So considering Chijmes for the romantic feel. W'dya think?

Sorry was busy over the weekend.. so happy for you he agreed to be ur jp =)
i'm still fretting abt it.

Cos i wanted a garden wedding, now @ chijmes, i'm running outta ideas!!

smurfying

Wah...my cab fare fr AMK back to my place at JW is $17 lor! Kns...wait till u all play money then i join in haha...must earn cab fare!

I'm still deciding between redhill n commonwealth ar CAT. And Redhill has got a big hawker that sells v nice curry rice. Locality, i would say it's slightly better than Commonwealth. But the no. of units so limited, so higher chances if we apply commonwealth lor.

xiaobai1

Hi Summer

If u don't mind, can u tell me what ur mum tells u the things to do. I can try my best to help u if u don't mind. Cause u can check with them my mum and mil both are very traditional woman, but my mil is even terrible than my mum. everything must do her own way. So me and hubby are stuck in between.

The best way is to listen half of the negative comments only, don't listen to all the negative comments into ur ear totally. Tell ur mum, even if fellow all the customs got no proof that the marriage will be good in future. Best thing is after marriage, hubby and wife must have open communication and always find ways to keep the loving flame alive. Always understand each other needs and wants. And each other bad mood actions and body language too. This is what I learn from my hubby after following him for 4 years. I am sure your mum will agree with what I said. And won't ask u to fellow so many customs thingy, just relax. Don't be too stress. ok?

As for the fresh pork leg, is actual day, the groom must carry 1 fresh pork leg for hokkien ( I don't know about other religion)to the bride's house, for gdl is pork leg cans depend on the qty that ur mum requested.

For my case, my mil is vegetarian, so she don't allow my hubby to carry the fresh pork leg to my mum's place. She discussed with my mum, and they both agreed that my hubby will bring a small ang bow and some oranges to my mum on that day instead. Sounds like chinese new year. Hee Hee :p

For the gdl, my mum is asking for 12 cans of pork rib cans instead, less oliy. But when mil went home a few months later, now she said must change back to 12 can of pork leg cans. Got meaning but cannot say what meaning is it. So now asked my mum whether she can take 12 can of pork leg cans on the gdl day. And my mum agree too.

For the fresh pork leg, my mum also like that. When my mil went back home, she become upset. Asked me why no fresh pork leg to pray to shen and for her and my dad to eat after that??? I told her just now she said ok to my mil. Now not ok, she better think properly, before I called my mil and asked for it. Then she called my grandma who is a vegetarian and buddhist, asked my mum don't be too fussy. And to get the ang bow and oranges from them is ok. Later my mum can use the money from the hong bow to buy on her own. Since my mil don't want my hubby to touch the fresh pork leg, my grandma asked us to listen to my mil lor.

Up till now, I also can't understand, why my hubby can't touch the fresh pork leg. We both are non vegetarians and the fresh pork leg is to carry to my mum's place not to my mil's place. But me and hubby both keep quiet.

Now we both fellow this method, things we can do. We do. Things we can't do, we will do our method. My mil nag at us or give us black face to see. We both also no response. End up, now she also gives up too . I think she also know it is our marriage , not her marriage after all. Ha Ha Ha.

If u don't understand anything, u can post ur qus in this thread to ask me or other brides in here also can, or send me an email to [email protected].

We will try our best to help u. Don't worry. And sorry, if I offended u when I ask u about the pork leg thingy. Hope u don't mind. I am not blaming u. Just type too fast. I am a very simple and easy going person. So never consider so much. Just type out how I feel only. Hope u don't blame me. Hee Hee :p

Hi Diana

You sure understand me, I always type very fast in the msn. Maybe i sound a bit rude about the pork leg cans thingy. So sorry if I offended Summer, I will try to rephrase my sentences in a nicer way. But to tell u the truth, my english is private limited. I just try my best . ok? Hee Hee

Yeap up till now, I am still very free, preparing my online website and preparing for my wedding at the same time too. So everyday u all can still see my long-winded post. Hee Hee :p But I treat u all as my good friends, so I tell u all all this.

If u all find me naggy, then I don't tell u all how I feel lor. I keep quiet. Shut up my big mouth. Hee Hee :p I am just joking. I am sure u all don't mind my long post.

We all learn and share with one another the funny things that happen during the wedding preparation. And we are also making new friends at the same time. This is how I feel in my heart. I feel the warmth and joy, whether I post my comments in this thread. This thread makes me so at home. Hee Hee :p

Take Care Ladies and Gentlemen

Xiaobai1

xiaobai1

Hi Designfreak

Me too. Me going for my honeymoon on Oct 11th 2006. Will be coming back on Oct 19th 2006. Hee Hee :p

Are you going to taiwan? Me is going to Korea. Hope it won't be too cold at there. Yesterday night, I start to take the lagguage case from my daddy. And he asked me why I so kan cheong. Still early, I tell him still got other things to do when it is nearer to moon cake festival, now not early. I one day pack a bit, when my customary day arrives. I will pack everything finish liao. Hee Hee :p

I don't like last minute packing. Hope u enjoy ur honeymoon trip too.

Take Care

Xiaobai1

yuki31

panda - welcome back
so u be travelling again soon?

angel - ur turn for travelling this week rite? have a safe trip n enjoy :p

elven - wow ...hw cm dun take an extra day to rest? i understand hw shack u r ....keke :p after my PS, the next day i slept till afternoon..keke :p wow u can go for 6 locations after indoor ...muz be very busy running ard n taking photo
can check r u taking Perfect Dream for the mattress? i saw NightStar yst ...seem ok ...now confuse which wan 1 wan

smurfying

Wah xiaobai1, u're really fast manz. I'm leaving singapore next wk and i've not yet pack a single thing. Hahahaha....i'm always the last min heck.

ashlady

Hi purple star,
U mean with SA tour or Singapore Airline? hee..I'm flying on 3 Oct with Fin Air
Flying to paris first, then go to London, Bath, Wales, Lake district & fly back from London. Hee...u lei? Are u doing F&E?

september

summer, cool down....

*on the aircon and fan to cool off summer*

sometime it is like tat...so the best at times is to let both the MIL and MUM mit up and 'negoitate' among themselves.....tat wat me doing coz their hearsay on tings to do driving me nuts liao....wahahha...

xiaobai, no prob....but u hv to learn to be more tactful in ur talking skill. Nt being fake but be frank in a tactful way....remember frank and blunt is different. People like frank people but nt blunt people. Coz bluntness word usually hurt. And also, i believe tat being tactful will enhance ur PR skills.

wow, so ex. tansy.....xia si ren....hmmm..seem tat next time we hv to find a more central place to play MJ liao...play real $$....hee hee....the fiery cat wont wan lor....wahahaha

ublur

ffbear, well, where is T dragon? I find jasvy very not accessible too leh.. if cheaper, i don't mind T dragon too.. me too, only got weekends to settle my wedding and house stuff.. damm stress.

I want to look for dress for my mum leh.. a bit on the big side, don't know where to find a suitable one for her.

Nami, I went down to Chan brothers.. wah.. damm crowded and chaotic.. both me and hb decided to go to NATAs fair to see got good deals.. aiya, we really headache on our HM leh.. wanted so much to go Hokkaido, but seems like many advised us not to go FnE cos of the snow.. but we both don't like tour package, so costly and schedule too packed.

Ivy, your photos so nice.. i love the short gown too.. very hip leh.. by the way, do you have to pay to get into the DHL balloon??

vvn

tansy,

wah! u still haven't packed? hm, why don't go there with nothing and shop for everything there? u won't be wearing summer clothes soon... (opps, ur hubby must hate me for suggesting this!)

angeldust

hi 318bi,

me not gg to any glamourous location for work. HA HA HA HA HA.. i am gg to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Thanks for the well wishes.

nami

Hi Blur Blur,
Hmm, personally I think it is ok to go Hokkaido on FNE if you guys prefer and dun mind the planning. Hmm, whether its snowing anot I dun see it as a hassle leh. But then, I think Hokkaido pple dun really know how to speak English leh, unlike people in Tokyo. So, unless you know Japanese, language might be a barrier.

Hmm, to ans your qn to ffbear, T Dragon is at Excelsior Plaza. It's near Funan IT mall so very accessible

smurfying

CAT has to pay some tuition fees then will learn the trick of it!!! Hhaha...

Vvn, my sentiments!!! hahaha but yesterday i went gaga shopping. Bot 2 jackets for new job! Total damage $150... GG<5 having sales, hard to resist.

dangou

wow!!! ivy, that's was really very well taken. and your ideas of photoshoot places is so interesting. The beach is at east coast? Never knew that s’pore beach is so beautiful….

ublur

Nami, i been to FnE to central japan and we got no problem though we can't speak jap.. central japan is pretty accessible. the only worry is that in hokkaido, the transport system may not be that accessible and travelling from one place to another might be a problem. we wanted to do self drive there, but worried that the snow level may be too high for us to handle..
Btw, do you know which unit is T dragon located?? I might wan to go down to have a look.
Anyone has T dragon quotation??

summerbel

ohh thank you so much xiao bai n diana!!!!
xiao bai the fresh pig leg meaning is "thank your mum for washing ur diapers n changing diapers for u n bringing u up to such a big gal" groom side is thanking her...
but my MIL say now adays pple use canned pig leg to change to fresh pig leg le.. why my mum still so old fasion.. haiz...
dun worry xiao bai all those words u type i really dun feel offendedn also glad that u actually are helping me lo...
thank you so much!!!!

himawari_val_17

Had Our ROM back in 10th June. Now preparing for churh wedding on the 7 october with the wedding dinner at night.

Going JApan for concerts and honeymoon.
Looking forward to it.
Great Pic by the way phy_*o* (phy_o) .

jklim4642

hi girls, i just spoke to the hotel. the banquet manager is very nice &amp; helpful. she said will take to her management &amp; refund in full the deposit that we have paid. i did not even have to ask or negogiate.

nami

Hi Blur blur,
Yah Hokkaido is not that accessible...so you might wanna try FNE. But you still have time to do some research before deciding

Hmm, i have the unit no. But it's at home. If you dun mind, tml then I share it with you? With regards to the quotation, is your hotel's printer T Dragons? Mine is and for hotstamping, it was $120 for the 1st 100 pcs and 40cents per pcs thereafter. For inserts, think it was $120 for 200 pcs and 20 cents per pcs. Hmm, but not that sure about the inserts coz mine was hotstamping
You can try calling them to ask for the quotation first

ffbear

hi, blurblur,
here goes the details of Tdragon
http://www.tdragoncards.com/
Showroom/Customer Service Centre
No. 5 Coleman Street, Excelsior Shopping Centre #03-13 Singapore 179805
(Near City Hall MRT, adjacent to Funan Centre IT Mall)
Tel: 6292 8338 Fax: 6333 9279
I oso took hotstamping.. so pricing is as per Nami..
toking abt weekends, yalor, can oni prep wedding stuff over weekends, &amp; dont weekends speed fast sooo easily.. haiz.. I was @ the various travel fairs over the weekend.. aiyo.. sooo chaotic.. me oso wait til Natas fair to decide.. last yr my frens went Hakkaido pkg tour, the thg is tat time snow til they cant even visit some of the places as planned.. so left to stay in hotel.. somethg for u to consider..

angeldust

318bi - ya..i go cambodia to help increase the mosquito population. HA HA HA HA they thrive on my blood man. BLOOD DONATION DRIVE. HA HA HA HA HA..i think most pple cant stand their bosses. HA HA HA HA HA..

diamond - glad to hear that. Take care and be strong.

jklim4642

angledust, thanks. the mths ahead will be tough for everyone... the mum needs contant care (24x7) and visits to the hospital... all these being taken care of by the father all these years...

just last week alone, she went for blood transfusion &amp; dialysis. tomorrow, she is going again... we are all burnt out &amp; very tired already... hope the dust will settle soon.. sigh...

blurberry

Diamond, at least the hotel refund the deposit, take care ya, the things will settle soon, don't think too much...

Angeldust, ya lor, what to do.. hahaha! Local hospital you din blood donate, go to cambodia to donate...hahaha!

ublur

Nami, ffbear, thanks so much for the info..

ffbear, yaya.. that's y i considering going early dec where the snow is not that heavy.. haizz.. headache lah, now don't know where to go for my HM.. so sad..

xiaobai1

Hi Summer

I see . Glad to hear that you are not offended.
Some of the traditions and customs, I am glad and find it interesting to fellow. But some of the customs my mum and my mil told me. I also never hear before. That is why both me and hubby are having a big headache now! Ha Ha Ha :p We are waiting for the honeymoon now. For everything to be over soon.

But from my mil character, think that some thing will crop up again when I give birth to my first son or first daughter. I will worry about that later. Now I just be a happy bride, just try my best to do the things that I can do now.Don't worry too much.

For my situation, my mum is asking for 12 cans of pork rib cans for gdl day and fresh pork leg for actual day.

But now it is change, cause my mil insist to give us 12 cans of pork leg cans for gdl day. So we just accept to save trouble. For actual day, it is change to small ang bow and some oranges. My hubby will give another ang bow to my mum that is my dowry on gdl day. However, I don't know how much is inside that hongbow.

Think my hubby is going to burn a big hole in his pocket, for giving so many hongbaos for our wedding.Hee Hee :p

Think I must treat him very good in future. Hee Hee :p

P/S: Summer, maybe u can check with the other brides. Regarding the basic items that are needed during the gdl and the actual day. Cause for my case, we are doing everything. We are fellowing the old customs closely, due to my mil and my mum. So we both are going mad soon. Just joking. We both just feel very tired, and wish to go to our honeymoon soon.

Another thing is have a good talk with your mum again, I am sure everything can be solved. Don't be angry with ur mum. She just want the best for u. And maybe she listen to too many comments, she also get confuse lor. Open communication is very important. Just talk to her again, and do whatever u can. Those u can't do or won't do just explain to her ur reason, I am sure she will understand you one day. Smile

Take Care

Xiaobai1

angeldust

318bi,

ya lor.. but anyway i underweight cannot donate blood in SG hospital.. maybe "CAMBODIA MOSQUITO HOSPITAL" accept underweight pple like me HA HA HA HA HA...

hltays

hi Ivy..
my e.mail is [email protected]
wow your pic is really nice..so envy...

sigh.. really very scare now.. cos i have not even choose my WG yet..
omg..
Hi All,is Tdragon really good.. cos i really dun hav time to go ard le.. think going down to check it out.. it jus two street away from my office..
anyone got lobang for actual day photograpy &amp; videograpy..help!!!

small_one

Thank you all for all the positive comments.

Think my PS PG , designer and MUA deserved the credit.

The pics were taken at DHL balloon at bugis (entry per pax is $23), then we moved on to Bugis village, but were chased out of the alley. kekeke...

Actually we wanted to go Orchard after Bugis, but my PG suggested going to Changi Reclaimed land for the sunset. We were there at about 6pm, but we were 'lost', so the shoot at Changi started only at about 6.30pm.

hahaha, my dog is really the 'star', cos he barked a lot, while we were having our indoor shoot. And it happened that there were other couples there, so staff and other couples took turns in playing with him lor...

small_one

ling

can I email you on this fri?

I am on MC until thursday due to motor accident, and the timeline list is on my work pc. Sorry about the wait.

stevy

Finally settled my photoshoot. Top up 2k for my photos...

May I know the cost of red wine? My budget is $15 bucks... Still deciding...

Seems like most of the oct brides and bridegrooms have decided on the HM. I will be going to Aust. Has anyone been to sydney before? Any tips? I am planning to stay in hostel (cheapo right) but bo bian. no money...