Hi Mark

I just ordered mine last Sat

Gin Thye Cake Maker

423 Sembawang Road Singapore 758392
Tel : 62571566

Blk 152 Bukit Batok Street 11 #01-263 Singapore 650152
Tel : 68996929

jklim4642

well girls, i most likely have to do without the banquet now.. my FFIL passed away suddenly on Sunday morning in his sleep... well, he was well & healthy... all of us were shocked.... i know my FH's side being catholics they are not "pandang", but my mum said it is not right to celebrate... so, most likely just have a church wedding...... no chance to wear EG other than the PS now...

sandsand

hey Diamond.. so sorry to hear about that.. Maybe you can ask your FH to disuss with his family, if they are ok wih going ahead, then go ahead lor. I'm sure your FFIL would have wanted a banquet to celebrate this marriage too..

If really stil cannot have dinner, then maybe you can have a longer and grander reception (i.e: lunch or dinner) then change into your EG as you mingle with your guest lor..

g8009181

Hey doggiel...

Thanks... I c all your nice wedding pix liao... : )

I have send u mine oso... I oli uploaded some... hee hee... cos takes too long liao.. i lazy..

Have alook...

Do share your wedding picture with me... [email protected]

jklim4642

ribbons, FFIL side does not mean. but then, the mother is very weak & not well.. my mum said should not tire her down.. one of his elderly aunties asked him yesterday to hold the wedding within 100 days... when he said, will stick to the same day & maybe skip the dinner, the auntie was not very happy.. when all these are over, i will speak to the hotel to exchange the deposit paid for some other stuff like dinning vouchers, hotel stays, etc. think that wld not be a problem.

fyi, the father has been taking care of her, ferrying her to & from hospital & everything at home for years.. he is her pillar of support... she cannot walk without assistance, she needs help in showering, etc etc.. all these are done by the father.

we are really worried for her

ublur

me too.. i think i will leave for my HB house at about 8.30am. Not sure if that's a good timing or not, but since that day is consider a good day, then should be okay right? well, i guess i m not so particular. luckily my ils or my parents did not insist on the timing.
I am with lushqueen, 11am is quite late .. IMO

sandsand

Diamond: oh my.. ok lah, now that you share that, maybe it really isnt too good to tire the mum further, i am sure she's feeling tired enough as it is.. And since the aunties have said that already.. hmm... then maybe go ahead with your decision to forgo the dinner lor..

BUt can exchange the deposit meh? umm.. refundable meh? check with your hotel ASAP lor..

please watch over your FMIL well k.. she needs a lot of caring at this point in time..

jklim4642

thanks apple & angeldust

ribbons, the contact with the hotel said that in the event that the dinner is cancelled within 90 days of the dinner date, i hv to pay 50% of the total cost... that wld mean that i hv up to mid sept to hit that 90days threshold. have not spoken to FMIL on this... so, dun wan to call hotel yet.

a few of my friends said hotel will be understanding enough b'coz no one wans such things to happen. deposit is not refunable.. but can request to use it for other stuff..

nami

Hi ffbear,
I think you can ask your parents and in laws if they are particular about the timing then ask the shi fu to ccalculate for you. For me, my timing is to reach my in law's place at 830am. So, hmm still ok lah hee.....
Coz I have a fren who is not particular for both sides and they didnt even bother to count the timing.

apple68

Hey Diamond

i don't think the hotel would be so unsympathetic to this type of special cases.

I think probably hotel cannot refund you in cash, may be into vouchers. Probably, value wont be equivalent to your deposit too.

This is very trying period for you and your IL's family... do take care!

ffbear

hi, all,
thanks for the useful advices.. any more contributions? guess I m with blur blur & lushqueen.. cos parents & ILs ok with the timing.. & mum & I feel tat since we didnt get any shi fu to calculate the date, might as well not for the timing.. before 7am or after 11am is reali tough to work ard with..
hi, nami, ur 8.30am timing is calculated by shifu?

vaax

Hey diamond,

Sorry to hear about your FFIL *big hug* Hope you get the hotel issues sorted out
Which hotel are you with? Apparently, some hotels do catering too, so you might want to transfer the dinner to a catering at your church? I'm sure the hotel can spruce up the church reception for you and the EG just wear after the church ceremony lah, it's your wedding can be over the top in dressing :p Heehee... or alternatively, just do a simple dinner with close relatives at night and then you can wear the dress too.

vaax

Hey lilacraze,

I'm very happy with my ID, I have pics but too huge to load, so if you want to I can send to u via email

nami

Hi JenT,
I didnt try to change the gowns. Hmm, but for my BS, if you want to change after the gown was confirmed, you have to pay a few hundreds. Not sure of the amount. Why? are you changing your gown?

Hi ffbear,
My timing is sort of calculated by the shi fu. The person said the earlier the better as long as it is before 9am to reach my in law's place. So, we settle at 830am. Coz too early very tiring leh. Come to think of it, it is really 3 months left....wow...still have alot of thgs not done yet leh haha.

ublur

Jen T, you intend to change your gown??

Nami, yaya, if too early will be tiring.. not forgetting the extra charges we have to pay for MUA, PG and VG leh??

Anyone got breakdown or to-do list? It seems like I am not doing much preparation at all..

prinzess55

Diamond..sorry to hear that and do take care.. do take care of your FMIL.
Will Pray for you and your family.
everything will work out well.

jennifer_teoh

hi nami/blur..

yar.. i may wan to change my wedd gown.. cz i guess my parents and in laws tot that my WG is not those traditional kind n they prefer those kinds... and i guess not many ppl can accept my WG.. i m startin to b vex over it.. so tot of changin it.. sian..
but y do they charge xtra? anyway its otr gown mah.. and they din alter much oso... sigh..

nami

Hi blur blur,
I dun have a list of things to do leh. But major ones would be your wine, cards, namelist, meet up with the florists, your songs, sisters and bros duties, guo da li, photo montage and also ang pow box, guest book etc.

Hi Jen T,
Hmm, for my BS, after you have confirmed your gowns, they actually ask us to sign a acknowledgment form on the design etc and there is a clause saying how much you have to pay. Have you checked with your BS? Hmm, do you have pics of your WG? Sounds so interesting leh hee. I wanna have a look keke

ublur

Jen, u mean your ils prefer those traditional kind? hmmm.. how does your WG looks like, care to describe? it wasn't white? did your parents and Ils commented something about your WG? is your WG originally MTM or OTR? i guess if you get OTR then it will be easier to change right??

Ivy,thanks thanks, your file is quite helpful.. wah, you so "systematic" eh? list down all the stuff and got dateline one eh?? make me feel so slag leh.. hee hee

Nami, hmmm,wow, the major ones you mention, not a single item i have complicted.. better jia you..I don't even know what is guo da li.. can we do without it??

jennifer_teoh

hi nami... blur..
wil show u gurls the pic when i get my softcopy... its not white nor off white.. its ivory.. bustier.. the bustier area is abit of orangy color.. and the gown itself has designs which i oso duno hw to describe leh.. ;p .. need to discuss w my hubby and see whether he wants to change if the bs allows... as my coordinator is on leave.. another coordinator told me unlikely allow the change but she will let my coordinator noe when she comes bk..
duno abt the costs thou.. both my parents and ils felt that they prefer traditional kind lor.. my WG is otr.. thats wat i tot... otr shd b easier but according to the coordinator that i spoke to.. it doesnt seem the case.. sigh.. headache nw.. cant wait for my coordinator to come bk frm her leave..

yuki31

Diamond , sorry to hear abt ur FFIL...do take care ok? my condolences and sympathies to u, ur FH and ur families ...hope everything will go on well...

nueyerdua

My bridal studio allows change in WG or EG after photoshoot. My package is OTR and they said that can wait till closer to AD to see if got nicer gowns, then can change to those u like

nueyerdua

Is it stated in your contract that it cannot be changed? Mine's not in contract but they are rather flexible with OTR. Maybe can talk to them nicely and explain your situation, that parents and PILs wishes etc...

ffbear

hi, Ivy,
can share ur to-do-list? I tried to prepare one.. alamak, diaster.. **SOS** **help**help**...
another thg tat I sourcing @ tis moment is oso the catering for the AD.. u gals doing tat too?

summerbel

hi all now ntuc is having promo for the canned pig leg.. it very cheap... only selling at 1.85 each.. usual price is 2.15... can order n pay first when the stock is here they will call u for collection.. i jus order from them today.. but sorry to tell u that the promo will end tmr

kaye

Krabi
Seems so quiet..anyway, I will like to update my future HM status...
Sort of attracted to the resort.
Initially was debating if I shld save up for my Europe trip. Maybe spend ard $7K.
Or I shld go many nearby countries...finally decided to go nice nearby countries...
1 of them is Krabi resort...
Decided to go after my temp assignment ends.
At least a pl that I can afford..N looks so romantic...ahahaa

rainette

hi all dec brides/grooms to be..

I am oso a dec BTB. Just wondering whether anyone can offer me advice? I tried doing my own montage using Adobe Premiere. But somehow, the video looks blur. Wondering how are u gals coming out with the montage? Can anyone recommend me any company that can do the montage for a reasonable rate?

huan

hi ashlady,
coz my fren told me total expenditure can b less tan 2.5k if go aussie... i guess due to the fuel increment, everyting oso increased in price dat's y...
ya... initially wanna go F&E but after planning for the wedding stuff, i'm soo exhausted so opt for the easy way out!! my FIL and dad are oso tellin me to sign up package better...

honeyc

it'z very interestin to hear abt perfect marriage! actually when i was younger, i longed for a fairytale marriage... the one that says ONCE UPON A TIME...... LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER... but in this modern society wif so much side tracks, stress from work, etc.. itz not easy to have the most perfect marriage... I do actually agree wif designfreak on loving marriage.. I guess so long as WE DON'T TAKE EACH OTHER FOR GRANTED, always respect each other and treat each other as if we first knew and maintain the fire is a happy marriage. Many marriages broke down cos as time past, either party starts taking things for granted and as time passed, you won't realise and slowly start drifted apart and become like those auntie/uncles shouting at each other.

Me and my hubby has been pa-towing for 10yrs and in between broke up 3x cos of some differences and took each other for granted. but now dat we r back together n after many many more nites of better communication, we are betta n try not to take things for granted. so...

anyway, on the GDL subj, my mom insists dat I must have things like baby bathtub, thread/needle box, etc which i told her i don;t need but she insist must have so nx time will have betta marriage, kids, etc... I oso don;t understand all these customs n traditions... so san nau jing!

dangou

just got to know abt this thread. my AD is on 25nov. really stressed up preparing for so many things, especially my hse reno still not complete yet. *Faint* left only 3 more mths to go...
i'll need to reach hubby's hse after 9am before 11am... not everyone has the same timing though on same day right?

kitty_li

a thought just struck me...

if everyone has the same timing, on the same day, it would be quite a sight...to see many bridal cars out on the road at around the same period that day...hehs. afterall, 25 Nov is quite a popular day...

xynn

anyone having GDL on 3 Sep? Mine is on 3 Sep. Things more or less settled, but haven't order the cakes.
Left with arranging of guest lists, AD program, emcee speech and buying wine... and planning of my HM itineary.
Thinking of it, my AD is just 6 wks away..
I hope everyone here has a smooth preparations for their wedding!

ashlady

Hi Huan,
Oh..i see...but since you've already booked, it's at least a load off your mind! hee..ya, F&E takes planning..but it's kind of exciting. The only thing i'm concerned abt it's safety. The older ppl usually wld advise against F&E....but my frens have done F&E & it seems ok..heh.

nami

Hi ffbear,
There is this caterer Angelic Catering which I think is not bad. I had them for my housewarming and my frens commented that the food is good. You might wanna give it a try. I can give you the contacts if you want.

summerbel

hihi honey chia
i do agree with u.. but i feel that as long as u treat everyday as a new day or a last day then u will tresure each other more.. but to me i feel that should not keep things in ur heart.. wat ever not happy should speak it out when u r alone with ur hunny or wife... thats wat i do.. better then boil till it drys...

ya for the guo da li i am also having headach.. my mum wants this n that.. those things that my MIL didn't ask for she also buy... haiz she thinks i am very rich ar... really headach...

ublur

Ivy, at least u make an effor to write down the dateline.. only then you can execute mah.hahaha

Jen T, hmmm.. since it's OTR, I thnk it should be easy to change another gown right? unless your BS need to do alot of alterations to the gown which I don't think so... Talk to ur coordinator and hopefully she will understand your situation.