(2006) Brides of year 2006

kaye

oh gosh....
pls dun let vomit...after X days nvr see yr posting.

I ve no choice...I endure so many days without boiled water...then I really has a craving for cup noodles...So boiled water & made coffee too...
I wanted to use the rice cooker..but that will take a longer time too.

N lastly....U mean I always said wrong things???? how can U said I m right for once only.

Future Updates
I m thinking of doing a study room instead of buying a bookshelf.
Have U all seen a portable platform b4?

vvn

tansy,

ha ha. yes i had a big volvo last time during my uni days! wah 11am lunch so early! ur brunch issit? then later 3pm go for tea... heh heh

btw, any brides here having their banquet, luncheon etc at meritus mandarin? i am having mine at their ACT 1 ballroom. dunno how to decorate the place... sianz....

i think weekend mode, like no motivation to do anything leh...

tnselg

Hi, today really very quiet and sianzz hor..

I thought of a topic but dunno u all find interesting a not? Cos my frens and I were debating on the 4 items in si dian jin.. do u all know which 4??

Wow tansy, u shiok hor.. so early go for lunch liao...

small_one

Hi yap

Personally, I feel that it might become more confusing if you ask abt the timing on your own accord, and it might create tension between you and your in-laws, if you are not careful.

I feel that you may want to get your HTB to ask your MIL to check if there are other 'earlier' timings that you can work at. If you seek your own answers, and both (you and your ILs's) timings clash, how? By getting your HTB to ask, it would still make you look filial, as you are still seen as respecting them.

As for tea ceremony, you should also ask your HTB to ask your ILs. because by right, the tea ceremony for your family should be after your ILs, as in ancient China, the bride's parents and relatives were only served tea 3 days after the groom fetches her to his home.

You have also mentioned that both families are traditional in mindset. It is always better to take into consideration the respect and honor that is due to them as elders and parents.

vvn

joanne,

i dunno leh! coz i dun have si dian jin... but from my extensive knowledge of watching tv (especially the telemovie by Fann Wong eons ago called Si Dian Jin) it should be necklace (with pendant i think) earrings (a pair counted as 1) bangle (this one i dunno 1 or 2) and a ring

now waiting to go for lunch....

My AD is on the 14 Nov and the timing given to us is either 2 - 5am or after 11am. We have decided on after 11am as we only need to travel from bride's hse to groom's hse and back to bride's hse for the tea ceremony. Initially we wanted to be earlier too, but 2 - 5am is simply too early lor. Imagine all the extra charges we have to pay to PG, VG and MUA for the early timing. And not forgetting our helpers who have to wake up early for us (perhaps not sleeping at all). Since it is in the wee hours in the morning, so dont think we can loud and noisy. So finally decided on the after 11am timing.

I dont really think it will ends very late if we have donot have alot of places to travel but of coz we would wish that we can have a little time in the afternoon to rest lor. :p

tnselg

Thks charly.. ur combination is wat i thought too but some consider necklace and pendant as 2 items and do without the ring...

me too waiting for lunch...

frais_bleu

Hey i've got a question....does anyone of you here have a destinee diamond ring? Is it free of charge to send them in for cleaning before our wedding day?? and how long will it take?

small_one

frais

destinee is from Lee Hwa?

I understand that for Lee Hwa, cleaning of the solitaire is FOC, but polishing of the ring is chargeable.

I sent both my WBs and solitaire for polishing for less than $100 altogether before my PS. Now they are lying together in the ringbox waiting for my AD.

september

charly, tat rite for 4 dian jin....

ok topic huh...hmm...hao ba...since mark mention perfect marriage then let start a topic on perfect lor....let first define perfect....wat is perfect leh? Actually to me nthing is really perfect...and perfect is merely an individual perception nia. example, a perfect wedding....it is like things goes accordingly to wat u hv plan...all smooth no hiccups....BINGO rite....hee hee...but different people hv different level of tolerant...for example there are hiccups in the weddings...tings did nt goes as plan....same kind of hiccups, different kind of reaction from different people. people wif higher level of tolerant, to them the wedding is 90% perfect...but to the lower tolerance people, the wedding is no long perfect....

wahahaha.....hope this start ur mind tinking....kekekeke ;-p

vvn

diana,

exactly what i am thinking! i am a perfectionist so i have NO tolerance one! so i am not aiming for a perfect wedding.

it's ok if thing don't go the way as i have planned and it's ok if there are hiccups. i promised myself that i will just wait for things to happen on their own and i will NOT be the control freak that day.

if i wanted a perfect wedding, i scared that it'll be so hard to achieve with so many things beyond my control, and be disappointed and unhappy for the rest of the day.

what abt perfect marriage? i think this one abit the hard to define huh?

so obviously can tell i am waiting for lunch, right?

september

perfect marriage? the principle still the same....for example, if u find out that ur hubby/wife hv an affair....then after confronting him/her and resolving the issue and he/she choose to stay on wif the marriage wif u. The affair bring u two closer as both realise the mistake and bad point of ownself, which play a part in resulting the affair. Nw, he/she treat u even better than last time, the communication is better. So same, to the higher tolerance level people, the marriage is mayb still abt 80% perfect...but for the lower tolerance level, it is no longer perfect as there is a scar in it....

note : affair here dun only mean sexually involved affair but mayb one wif no sex involved...

wahahaha.....

september

ok...mayb shld define perfect marriage first...it shld be one tat hv no fighting, no quarrelling, min. or no arguement, common understand, good communication, plently of love, care & concern, staying wif each other thru thick and thin, sharing of household chores, ability and comfortable in confiding wif each other regardless of wat issue etc and no straying....

but hor, if we ourselves are nt the perfect woman or man then will we hv a perfect marriage? hmmmm....hee hee

smurfying

yeah, i'm back fr lunch n perspiring like a PIG!!! Ahhhh...now can only wait for lunch break at 6pm!!!!

Perfect? no one is perfect lar...jus do the best we can. Wedding u do until how grand n romantic oso no use...most importantly is the blissful marriage ahead!! Dun u agree?

vvn

heh... i think ur definition is good leh. perfect marriage i use to think it's like those tv couples, husband comes home 7pm sharp everyday, wife come back from work and miraculousy got all dishes prepared etc, then always go for yearly honeymoon. anniversary go celebrate, chores they share.. i think abit hard in real-life, esp the first 2 criteria! then like desperate housewives, that Mrs 'perfect' Bree and her seemingly perfect marriage... so much drama!

i think no quarrelling/ argument very hard leh... me and FH always bicker. think i cannot have perfect marriage, will aim for a BLISSFUL one!

and for the not perfect woman and not perfect man, of course can have perfect marriage. like if he is not the typical perfect man who buy presents to please wife and u also not the perfect woman who loved to be romanticised but very practical, then u two can still have a perfect marriage what.

remember our math? (-ve) X (- ve) = (+ve)

soudezne

whao.... i hadnt visited this tread for this couple of days and its gg so fast... =)

i will be getting the Begawan vouchers.. cos my mum think its more convenient... but we may be having a mixture of vouchers and cakes too as its look better during the "return" of the cakes during the GDL... hmm....

I have wanted a perfect wedding... but things arent gg perfect... hv work so hard trying to make it good... while the other party doesnt appreciate it or do much on it... sian... the wedding is not just mine... so i'm now gg to keep my hands, my ideas and my suggestions off...

btw, i'm finally gg to view the layout of my album tmr... hope its nicely done... =)

in addition, a fren of mine is currently looking for the GDL shop... anyone knows where is the temp market at chinatown located?

kurera

It's located OPPOSITE SGH CAMPUS (JUST NEXT TO OUTRAM MRT)

Think there are not that many stalls selling now at the new temp location (cos it's smaller space)..GDL stUff can be found at beauty world also....basement about 3-4 shops.

frais_bleu

Ivy, don't think i need to send my WB for polishing since it has never been worn from the day we bought it....or do we need to?? My wedding ring is not a solitaire but rather a one-row nine diamond destinee ring...so will it be FOC as well?? i thought as long as its a destinee diamond it'll be FOC be it a solitaire or not??

vvn

wah the GDL stuff like very ma fan hor? my mom going chinatown today to buy the xi stickers. she said GDL give her 2 ang bows can already, one to signify the ping jin and the other is "money for GDL", she like can't be bothered to ask for all the stuff. so at least one big load off my shoulders! whew!

me too have not buy any GDL staff...mum like dunno wat to buy leh.Everything hv to ask grandma.

wat's a perfect marriage to me?? hmmmmmm....
i dun ask 4 much, will be contend tat we live happily everyday , financially stable. Xin Fu xiao nu ren jiu hao le...

kurera

charly, it's depends on the shifu and also the HIS parents what things may be required for GDL..SOME just have ping jing ang bao for GDL it really depends...

I have heard some go the traditional way..with basin, tooth brush, and many others....gosh!

huey..Yes..it's all the older generation lor...we follow lar..

small_one

frais

hahaha, mine's solitaire, and my WB got no diamonds. I only know polishing of the rings (including cleaning of diamonds) will be chargeable. Cleaning of diamonds only is FOC.

You may want to check with the staff before sending your rings in. And do clarify the terms and lingos that they use.

Blur

my WB have no engravings, so unable to answer your qn. Sorry

vvn

CAT,

his parents:" GDL? what to give ah? we last dun have such things leh... ask ur mom to see what she needs us to buy..."

ok, i dunno if this is a blessing or not, but it seems his parents everything also 'ok' or 'follow your side can already'

nfllkh

who wants to look for the temp mkt to buy the GDL here is the address--> i got their name cards
Sundry Stall #01-132--> tel:62222572

another one at Sago lane(actually is opposite the old chinatown mkt) this one i will be going there to buy..
Mon-Sat 9am ~ 8pm
Sun 9am to 4pm
Blk4#01-127 Sago lane look for Frankie or Alex they are brothers... tell them your dialect they can advise u on the spot
if christian pls inform they will ask you to replace some stuff if you dun need them
and a pre packed GDL set for $60 ++

And they can speak english too
they also sell marjong set....

Strongly advise to bring your parents as well so that they will know what ur parents are thinking abt or else need to make 2 trips
as to buy some more stuff

tcs

There is no such thing as perfect lah, 2 persons can get together becos they owe ea. other in the previous life, this life is come back to collect debts from ea other :p

CAT HAN, its good to follow traditions ok, traditions exist becos of their history, must be some truth in it.. dun complain k.

kurera

Carly,

His parents side arranged GDL to send ping jing, cakes, oranges and my diamonds x4..My side as agreed on TEE QING DAY, will give HIS family 2 red lights plus 1 long fong tea set.

Formality HIS side still wants to give cakes and oranges eventhough my side only asked for ping jing.

It depends on what had been discussed with both side parents on tee qing day.

ping jing not suppose to say how much they want. Guy side will give substantial amt and lady side will return some amount. Same for oranges and cakes or any other stuff.

Requirement are all different...

If your mother side nothing else..good lar....good for you.

september

cat, i found a shop tat say can help string the pearl (the simple one we talking abt)...charges depending on the pearl size...the one i ask is size 8 and they quote $4 lor...u may wan to call and ask

NGEOK GHEOK
Costume Jewellery & Repair Service
#03-1072, People's Park, Singapore 050032
Tel : 6534 1478

Edward & Ann

nami

Hi Yap,
I agree with Ivy. Ask your FH to ask your MIl if there are alternative timings and try to explain nicely to her. If not, you may want to try to go to different places to get the timings.

Hi Frais,
The cleaning is free but polishing will be chargeable. Not sure of the charges. But like you, I will send the rings for polishing before the AD. Hee. Not sure abt the engraving part, but i think it shld still be there

kurera

So they string 1 strand at 4bucks izit? If I want 2 strands together like tansy's can they do that?

Mr Han, when did I COMPLAIN?

nfllkh

Diana, my thinking and yours is the same
Nothing is perfect...

Maybe, by being not perfect, we've memories... like going thru the photos then you will think abt the preparation process... then how many things learnt from the mishap that happens... of inperfection..... right??

september

wow...mr han, ur theory is the tradition chinese belief leh....heard before...and also it say tat children and born to tao zha (ask to repayment of thier debts) one....and it is also say tat two person hv the fate to be husband and wife for 3 life lor....

september

cat, tat i dun noe...coz i nv ask...u call up and check lah...

ng kar, good point....learn from the mishap tat happen due to inperfection.....hmm....

nfllkh

yup Diana,

By being perfect, it must be consistent and also no meaning in life liao.... then life become boring...
that's y being inperfect, we dun take things in life for granted.....
right...

frais_bleu

hmm...thanks gals....ok...think i'll send my wedding ring for a real good clean before my AD so that it can blind ppl's eye.....hahahaha (evil me)

kurera

haaaa...no lar...I won't use my claws on him but I have "OTHER" ways of torturing him...kek kek kek..

shopping! shopping! shopping! yapeeeeee..

We better dun disturb the thread lar..maybe other pple got other things to share and ask...

sandsand

i think pandalic said this b4..... this thread is always very quiet on fridays...
everyones in weekend mood lor... all thinking of where to go, dont wanna post here...

doggiel

hi chipdale,

i enjoyed my wedding very much too and still relieving the moments when i flip through the album.

Anyone has any AD pics to share? If u wish to see mine, u can PM me for the link

Hope to see ur pics too.

xiaobai1

Me too both side family follow a lot of customs too. By the way, my parents had no time to bring over the gdl items, those baby bathtub, string, towels etc to my new house on gdl day. So they bring it to me all those items during my open house ceremony.

Now my mil knows and she nagged at us non stop. She said it is not good but can't tell us the reason why it is not good. I got so fed up but to tell my hubby as long as the items are new, it is ok to us liao. Earlier give us or later give us still must give us meh. His mother is making it a big problem. Nagging at my hubby during his breakfast in the morning. Spolit his whole day mood. Hee Hee :p

Today he is working for half day, later we are going to the toy measum at seah street. We always go to explore new places or exhibitions in singapore during the weekend. So it won't be too boring for us. For sunday, normally we will do our housework for our house and watch tv at the same time.

As my new house still don't have pc, so it is quite rare to see my post during the weekends. Hee Hee :p

For my mil thingy, sometimes can endure. I will close one eye now, don't want to make things difficult for my hubby. But if my mil really want to make things difficult for me can't change her rules insist to do things using her method. I will feedback to my hubby how I feel, what I will do instead. I don't wish to hear from my hubby that I am bad, not working now and didn't help his mum with his house housechores.

I can do any housechores, just can't stand ironing. Hee Hee :p I also don't know why. Once I iron, I will become angry and shout at people. And if someone critise my ironing skill, it will be even worse. It will become a big fight. Luckily, now hubby knows how I feel. And he also don't wish me to be unhappy. He is bringing his working clothes to our house for me to practice my ironing clothes but only 1 set. Not 1 week working clothings (that will be 10 pieces. (Shirts + pants)

I will go mad ! Hee Hee :p

take care ladies and gentlemen

xiaobai1

flipfreak

hi xiaobai. ur mil is like mine. a lady who sticks to traditions very closely. do u know although we got married 4 yrs ago, i wasnt allowed to stay over with my wife at night till last yr when we moved into our own place? that is the extend of the conservationism and close mindedness i deal with daily.

i get scolded everytime i do not conform to her standard of courtesy and tradition. my wife has explained to her that ppl are brought up differently but she just wants me to follow her rules. as a guy, it is a lot more difficult simply because guys have a bigger ego.

yet i try my best to give into her because I LOVE MY WIFE. hahahahahaha.