(2006) Brides of year 2006

kar

Elsie, how come you have another shoot? 2 days? so nice... mine's all in a day, and so many places that we wana go, also duno how to shortlist them to squeeze into a day. Haiz.

wtan

hi hi Diana..
cannot lah..no gd for brain development lor..u will understand when it's ur turn lah..haha..

hi hi Elsie..
so happy that u enjoyed PS..i m sure it must be very memorable lor..did ur PS PG include the shots with the students?surely will be nice lor..haha..ya, the gathering is also for us to meet up lor..if the rest want to try out the wine..then we can chit-chat as well..hehe..

hi hi vvn..
icic..wow..i think u might want to sort it out with ur mum on this..actually i m a teochew..but i find it rather unique to wear kua as EG..so my EG is kua lor..

hi hi CAT..
what candid shots? tell me leh..hehe..

wallflower

have a gd weekend everyone! off to view more flats later...

xfiles_wolvie

ribbons-alamak...eaten liao. hahahah okok..disappointed u ladies. hehe. its all abt determination. sigh...now dun hve cos low morale at work. sickening work...its cos there is no determination, there are all these salons and diets out there..if gt extreme makeover, i wan a smoother skin..bigger eyes..thats all the rest im quite ok with it. we are toking abt face only rite? not body? hehe..no lah..its some welfare committee who organised 1. so serveral months then get free breakfast. sometime gt buffet lunch lah..blahblah...i everything also dun wan. just wan them to increase my salary. actually these are all part of our salary. so rightfuly should eat more of it. tats y i gain so much weight in this job...somemore deskbound. sigh..i gain abt 8kg over 2yrs in here...sigh..when did u went for the lasik? my sis wanted to go also. but i worry for her leh. cos now gt new type of operation that have better results.

jingles-this is once in several months only...hahaa

Oh ya..if its any good news, Da MAN dun watch soccer...ahhahah or football....hahaha but i watch wrestling. hahahahaha okok u all can faint liao. heheh

danlian

CAT

u refering to the one u show me @ msn rite? those are candid shots meh?

Sweet kar

yah i am having 2 day shoot coz yesterday PS was won when i sign up for the Chris Ling contest after I signed up with them. The one i signed up should be next Fri 7 Jul. So when is ur PS? Actually me also got a hard time choosing locations. Actually is quite tiring to travel so many locations coz of the journey here and there. Next week i will just go Sentosa where PG can shoot everything there. hee

Wendy

yup think my PG took a pic of us when the teacher snap us..one ang mo tourist also took my pic..haha still tell my hubby my pic will be brought back to New Zealand. She & her hubby (the tourists) are suppose to attend a wedding dinner this Sat.

oh thats good..we can have our chit chat session again. The last round was in May rite, we went to play broadgame? is time to catch up liao..

wtan

hi hi elsie..
haha..i m sure it will be very memorable lor..my AD, i went to National Orchird Gardens..then also got a grp of Jap tourist took lotsa of photos with us..they must be thinking it's so rare to see a couple when they are traveling...so they took lotsa of photos with us..then at the same time..also 1 grp of students (i think it's their excursion), so my AD PG also got them to surround us & took photos with us..the students wore their colorful PE t-shirts..so made the photos very colorful lor..haha..very cute leh..ya..we can chat more lor..hehe..looking forward to catch up with u all..cheers~

hi hi designfreak..
how's ur PS?i m sure it must be very nice too..haha..can feel that ur big day is getting nearer lor..haha..hubby & me went for a big feast aft the PS..hoho..to reward ourselves aft the slimming period for our PS..hohoho..got smile till face cramped bo..haha..

chomecc

hie darlings..

sorry fo mia for sooo long.. miss you all to pieces..
.. hope u gers miss me too.. keke.. have been bzz with work recently.. and finally realist that i am only 5 mths away from the wedding.. so kan cheong now.. kekke.. everything all not prepared *sweat*

so how are everyone's preps? Dorami.. show me ur lovely picts picts ahh...have you taken your PS?

hey ivy.. saw your picturs.. think its very nice.. the WG looks good i thought?? i like the back .. very sexy... maybe you dun really like the front?? but i think like wat jac says.. it shows off your slender shoulders.. but do tell the designer if you are not comfortable ya..its once in a lifetime thinngie but i must say that u will look very different with the makeup and hairdo..

ohhhh i just saw my designs for the WG and EG.. and confirmed the designs.. but i am not exactly comforty with the EG.. kinda worryed too..

gs1979

hi qingqing & nancy, me staying wif in-laws now. MIL v nice and makes bfast everyday for me...but hor feels abit pai seh. heee...
just got my AD Video. V wonderful memories!!

flipfreak

hi wendy. it was a pretty warm day but at least it didnt rain. haha. we went to pig out as well. now waiting to see the photos after 2 weeks.

compassrose

Thought about it too. My guests can have their pictures taken during cocktail reception and paste their polaraids on the guest book together with their wishes.

lush_queen

hi ivy,

the beadings on your WG will shine under lighting. my ivory WG also has similar colour beadings. initially, i also thought the beadings that i had on my gown wasnt really great, especially since i have paid extra for the extra beadings. Boy, I was so wrong! I saw the beadings sparkle during my photoshoot at the studio.
agree with chomecc that you will definitely look different with makeup, hairdo and not forgetting accessories. don't worry too much.

I got my AD wedding photos back liao and wanted to show all of you but i got a problem uploading it to multiply leh....i got abt 100 photos and i can't possibly upload one by one into the multiply rite? Is there any short cut i can upload all at once?

apple68

Can someone tell me if I am being petty and unreasonable and ridiculous? Or what i am feeling is perfectly normal.

1. I met HB quite late at night for dinner. I reached his place just before 9pm. Then we dilly dally for a while before heading down to the kopitiam downstairs for dinner. When we reached back his place at 10.30pm, his mum asked where we went. (there was no on at home when we went for dinner). So i just replied "go for dinner" Wah... his mum like suay me said " you so late got eat dinner meh?" I just smiled and replied, "hungry then eat lor"

2. While brushing my teeth, she commented, "wah, brush so hard... next time no gum left" What lah... i brush my teeth the same way since I was young and no dentist ever told me i wasnt doing the right thing.

3.She announced she got her gown for the wedding. And the gown she bought is of a very strong colour. Hue Green. Slimmering.. tube dress.. Then she asked me what is my evening gown colour. I just coldly replied "Gold".. then she added on.. " oh dont know whether will snatch away the limelight from you"

For no. 1 incident, I just brushed it off. I told myself not to be prejudiced against her. For no. 2 incident, HB said his mum, everything also got comment. No need to be bothered by it. Just "orh orh orh" then walked away.
For no. 3 incident, I really feel very upset. Becos my mum is so thoughtful and considerate. She waited till I finalise my evening gown, showed her the photo of the evening gown, then she consider the colour and cut of the gown she is going to wear. My mum is playing down on her dressing so that I can shine at my own wedding. But MIL seemed so oblivious to my feeling. Why she wanna fight with me for the limelight. If I stand besides her hue green gown, I think i will be overshadowed by her. My Golden gown is not shimmering at all.

I just talked to my mum about all these and she said, i should put on my best behaviour. Since I have to stay with them for one year or so. I told my mum frankly, they ate and left the dishes in the sink for me to wash. No one boils water at home. Like my duty now.

I just feel like crying when i said all these to my mum. But now back in my room, I told myself that no matter what happens next in future, i cannot cry in front of MIL. Otherwise, the problem will get bigger. And HB will feel trapped between us.

Hais...

phy_o

Hi ting,

You can now upload all 100 photos easily. Just make sure you go to add photos and click on java apps. Then check all the photos you want to upload from the folder and click done.

jklim4642

apple68, well, staying with inlaws is never easy. if they are anything that you are displeased of, why not get your HB to talk to them. It is always easier for the son to talk to his parents than his wife.

okie, to the 3 cases u mentioned above, my comments are this:
(1) nothing wrong with her statement. unless, her tone was bad. anyhow, if i were u, i would have just told her that i work late & got back late, hence the late dinner.

(2) she sounded a bit insensitive in that statement. but your HB could be right. some elders just say things without giving much thought. like my own mum is a very good eg. she can rattle off & say some things which upset me... but i know she does not mean it. how do know for sure? her actions speak otherwise!

(3) i do not think she wants to out shine you. she saw a gown she likes & she just bought it. she shared her excitment with you by showing u what she has bought. only then she realised that she forgot to ask u the colour of your gown & worried that she may outshine u. i do not think is intentional on her part la.

bascially, u have to give her time to know u & adapt to your tempements. vice versa, u should give yourself time to know her more. she may say certain things that displeases u. but then action still speaks louder than words right? see for yourself. it is too early to pass judgement now.

nickyxuan

So paiseh been MIA for quite some time le....

So I supposed now majority of us are preparing for the coming PS yah!! Mine is coming soon too..2nd week of July.. Gosh still eating as per usual..!! Guess better cut down on carbs and exercise more le!

So anyone care to share tips for the PS like wat to do or bring or wat to take note etc.. ? ;)

Btw anyone did body scrub/massage a day b4 their PS?? Is it ok & recommendable? Cos I booked my session for body scrub/massage & mani/pedi a day b4 taking my PS lor... Hee... wanna feel pampered & relaxed and to look good oso lah...

Oso anyone wear J&J Acuvue DEFINE contact lens for their PS?? How was it?? Recommendable? Cos I find that wearing that lens really make our eyes look bigger & more beautiful/shiny leh.. Any comments to share?

Hahahha me really asked too many qns liao lah...

maez

apple,

i think u r feeling normal.. i would feel pissed too.. BUT.. i will try to tell myself that well, OLD pple have been like that for so long, if they ARE mean, then they cant change much..

try to complain over it, get it out of ur system, then look on the bright side.. U HAVE A WONDERFUL mom!! (i do too, but not every1 has)

anw..
1. i think 1030pm is SO early! this one probably she juz asking only.. (i dunno the tone lah, so difficult to comment)

2. probably like ur hubby said, some pple juz comment abt everything (my opinion, if u got nothing to good to say, shut up. no one will miss ur mean comments.) so, try to ignore her abt those silly comments..

3.DONCH worry girl!! we are the BRIDES, she wear rainbow color also wont outshine u! cos we will be beaming with BLISS!! ;) but seriously... ur MIL, she very pretty huh? i dun think a 50+ year-old will outshine us leh.. u see huh, most likely only her friends will notice her. but those who mean MOST to us, say, our frens n OUR family, they will only see us, resplendent in anything, be it WG or EG! so chill gal!

(oh, i was at a fren's wedding n her EG was pale purplish-blue.. while her sis' was like BLOOD-RED. well, i DID see her sis, but no, in my opinion, that was in no way outshine.. being noticed is not equal to being the belle of the ball)

practically.. wat ur mom said is correct.. u still living w her for awhile, better not to make relationship all sour..

i think with all the wedding prep n adjusting to live w ur ILs is gonna be taxing.. i got super stressed last week over reno(which had some problems), wedding(PS was postponed) and work(had this big thingy..) so do confide in us, ur frens, mom, hubby, ... rem, there are pple ard that are there for u! hang in there babe..
*hugx*

kar

Elsie, my PS is this coming sat, jus took a walk down changi beach today, most prob goin there for as one of the locations. So nice, u have two PS, sure have many nice pics taken... for our case, we have so many places to wana go, but seems no way to squeeze them within a day. Btw, u have any night shots? where did u go for night shots?

Designfreak, where did u go for PS? how was your experience with the places?

angeldust

Gd mrg all!!!

Apple, I do fully understand your feelings. Having to accept your hubby means also accepting their family members. So getting married is not a couple thing only. It involves two ENTIRE families. Chey!! sound like I some guru. HA HA HA HA HA HA..

I do agree with Maez, I think just do not sweat the small stuff. On the part abt she outshining u, for ur info, my MIL and mummy also asked me what colour am I wearing. I just tell them I haven selected and the safest colour they wanna wear would be black. HA HA HA HA HA :p me am so nottie. HA HA HA HA HA.. Well, actually after my first appt, I already knew the colour range that my designer has in mind for me so I told them anything strong colours goes like maroon, black, orange. ke ke ke ke..

Heng mummy aint pantang abt the black during dinner. she wore black during my sister's wedding dinner also. HA HA HA.. MIL.. i just leave it to her cos I dun wanna say anything wait later a lot of other issues will follow one.

Lastly, feel free to VENT all ur frustrations here in this little sanctuary. The girls + guy here will always provide a "listening" ear. I simply just "hear no evil, speak no evil and see no evil" when it comes to MIL. HA HA HA HA HA.. last last week.. something also happen when she came over.. and she talk and talk and talk.. i just ignore her.. and went abt doing my own thing.

sandsand

waiwai: i think its at marina square.. i just happen to glance at it, life section of newspaper.

Apples, agree with Maez.. no one can outshine you no matter what they wear or u wear.. You are the bride, the joy on your face will surpass any designer gowns, or bight colours!

well, i just had my encounter with MILs this weekend, being a DIL/ SIL aint easy man.. u do anything wrong u get penalized for life and pple sort of think your parents are to blame for everything you do wrongly. oh well, just guess i got to watch my butt from now on..

Apples, dont worry, i think you'll look gorgeous.. =)

apple68

Good morning all!

Thanks all for your "listening" ears here... very much appreciated. I feel a lot better now.

In any case, I think I find another opportunity to talk to MIL. See if there's anything that i have done to displease her. Lately, she always seems very moody. Not sure if it is about us or her work or whatever...

xiaobai1

Hi Everyone

Can check with u all? If I want to buy a pair of bears to tie on my bridal car and it is used for once . Height is 18 * 20 , the seller is asking for $25 a pair. Is it too ex?

Should I get a brand new pair of bears to tie on my bridal car? As my bridal shop only provides me with flowers and ribbons. I intend to get a pair on top of bears to tie on top of the flowers.

Do anyone knows where can get afforable brand new bears? I saw one shop at marina square level 2 has anyone went there before? I saw the shop last time has a 20% discount. Wondering is it still there???

Xiaobai1

flipfreak

hi sweet kar. i went to spottiswoode park (compulsory by the studio), robinson rd and portsdown rd. i think the ones taken at shenton may not turn out as well as we wanted because of the weather(really warm!) and we were rather self conscious. not tat ppl were looking but its shenton way afterall.

u must always be ready to smile at the drop of a hat at the camera. pose, smile, turn, smile, pose, smile again. haha.

flipfreak

hi xiaobai. why dun u try ig's heaven at marina sq? i saw a pair of wedding bears. dunno the price though. i am considering bears or my wife's hello kitty.

xfiles_wolvie

apple-well, from a guys point of view, if that was my mum, i cant stand it as well. not just you. but then as a DIL, you cant say much. you may seek assistance from ur HB. let him do the toking. I dun actually side anyone at this moment in time, i side who ever has the correct reason. whether is my mum or da wife, whose ever reason is correct then i will side who. i dun tke in to consideration for relationships. I go for reasons. Chinese saying "Pang Li Bu Pang Qin". It's never ez to live with someone else, aka ur HB...much less ur MIL. living as a couple also has to endure and understand ea other, with MIL, there will be another for you to understand and endure. all these endurance is not by DIL only, everyone has to play a part, ur MIL, ur hb, ur FIL, ur SIL/BIL also has to play a part. everyone. so cheer up, i tink u handle it quite well.

angeldust-up till now, i also duno wat my mum and MIL will wear. they have yet to decide.

Actually, whoever wear better than the bride, must be very thickskinned and buay hiao by. Sori if i have offeneded anyone but my personal view is that, come on lah...this is not ur day...why u wanna snatched the limelight for wat, pple will say "aiyo this person wear better than the bride...buay hiao by". Maybe tats my influences lah., Nt sure about others. Paiseh hor. If i offend anyone pls accept my apoplogies. Its just my personal opinion.

ribbons-Marina square? the big big atrium? maybe i go check out the website then update here if i find anything.

joyousonline

wow so fast u all can get back ur AD photos...mine dunno when can..haha

hey suddenly after the wedding..felt so bored..like suddenly so free...sigh

angeldust

hi daman - just so happen that i just tell my mum and MIL wear black.. safest. HA HA HA HA HA.. if they wanna look getai.. so be it.. ka ka ka ka ka..

agrees with u abt the part on pang li bu pang qin. every argument has to be logical. also.. i always believe in getting hubby to talk to MIL and me to talk to my mum. Its works everytime. This method has worked for us. MIL always try to "tao hua" from me abt my preparations... I just simply tell her.. ask her son cos he is the one who decides. HA HA HA HA HA.. this method is BEST. and she will always ask.. is it ok if i do like this.. will u be happy ah.. then i just reply.. u ask my hubby he shld provide u with an answer.. i like alone no count. HA HA HA HA HA.. :p

chillipadi25

apple - haiz poor thing leh.....actually i can understand lar. After a hard day's work, all you wanna have is peace and no one to say stupid or irritating remarks. Truly can empathize...but well living with ILs is never easy, so really admire those who are residing at ILs there. *salute*

daman - aiyah actually bua yao by-s got a lot!! think there are going to be many in my wedding.Cos i can sensed many peacocks are coming out on that day.... but as wat Maez say lor, i fully agree...the kind of bliss the bride will be glowing....no body can have except for the bride herself

jennifer_teoh

hi xuan...

i jz had my ps on sat.. really fun! .. so u muz enjoy urself durin ur ps next wk..

hmm.. i brought some personal items which i wanted to take in the pic.. but in the end, we din v enough time.. so cant take.. we oso din v enough time to take our jap outfit.. hehe.. but its ok w us.. cz we stil had a lot of fun w our photographer..! ..

actually for myself..i did nt bring any ting particular leh.. hehe.. when i went to the beach in sentosa.. i was barefooted.. as for my bf, he brought his shirts.. belt.. oso nothin in particular.. hehe..

i did mani/pedi before my ps... did not go for scrub/massage.. ;p .. as long as no chemical products applied on u.. i tink thats fine.. cz jz in case ur skin react to the chemical then not so nice liaoz...

gurls... have fun on ur ps day!! once in a lifetime memory....

hanabiwaiwai

daman, ribbons... thanx for the info..

apple... talk to your hubby... itz not easy to stay with ILs... dun worry abt the gown issue, no matter wat, u will outshine everyone on your big day!

xiaobai1

Hi Designfreak

The ig's heaven at marina square is it quite expensive? Just wondering... Cause now me got tight budget. MY budget is $10 plus to $20 plus a pair.

I also got hello kitty the korean pair my dad buy for me, but no ribbons attached how to tie it to a bridal car? me wondering???

Anyone can teach me???

Thank You So Much

Xiaobai1

kurera

Elsie showed u the link already what..yo...never mind..I tot u had a singnet acct..umm..

nevermind..anyway nothing much to see it was a candid shot of myslef doing some "jaw exercise" while having my PS.

VG : MY AH LAO!

HAAA...

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hellos..

daman, i understand your predicament as a husband.. but hee hee, sorry huh.. i dun agree with your "pang li bu pang qing" theory.. kekeke.. nothing personal but its something i tot worth sharing.. believe it or not, what i am going to share came from my FMIL.. and was reinforced in my PMC class..

anyway, after marriage, a husband must shield his wife at all costs in front of his family... rationale: he must defend the choice of his spouse!!! even though his wife may have done wrong, he cannot fault her in front of his family.. anything need to be settled, settle behind closed doors!!! so in DIL-MIL issue, the husband must shield his wife.. in fact from the biblical terms, once the man is married, he must "leave" his family and cleave unto his wife.. actually this is my favourite lesson form the PMC classe. =P

okok, actually a lot of times, woman seek security from her husband and it affects her emotionally and even physically if she doesnt sense it from her husband.. and then may affect the marriage.. thats why husband must always protect the wife.. apologies to all feminist, woman is not called the fairer sex for nothing!!! =P

my FMIL actually sat down with my fiance and me once..there, she shared her own woes with us.. she said, "son, after you are married, you shield your wife at all costs. make me proud of your strength and my upbringing. throughout my marriage, your dad left me to face your grandma alone. there is so much i have to bear with and so much that i can cry about. but your dad can only say, "she is old, give in to her." thank God I have Christ in me else i may have forsaken this family." (disclaimer: i dun recall word by word but close.. from my FMIL's mouth)</font>

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-hahaha..okok...at least ur mil still ask u will u be happy anot mah..heheeh not so bad lah..

jingles-wah peacocks...gd description. hehehe.

apple-ya..dun worry...the bride wil outshine..everyone come to dinner is to eat..1st thing..then 2nd thing see the bride then the groom. hahaha..

xfiles_wolvie

pandalic-wah...ok..tats a gd mil u gt there....GREAT. and understanding. gd for you. in a way u are correct. some parts of wat u say are correct. no prob abt sharing and disagreement. everyone can air their views. hehe..

tok abt pmc...mine still hanging in the air...nothign done...sigh...hehe

sandsand

Da Man: I agree with you about buay hiao by pple who try to dress to outshine the bride on her wedding day..

Jingles.. i like your description of such pple!! PEacocks!! Totally agree!! such an apt description for them.. hee..

Pandalic: my leaving and cleaving part of my PMC didnt cover that but its a good point to bring out.. thanks for sharing..

but i sometimes cant help but wonder if my FH can do that for me.. not that he's siding his side lah, but i am wondering if he will defend me if his family passes remarks to him about me behind my back.. my dear husband, if u are spying on this thread, please take note of what i say ok?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hee, da man - do make an effort to go to PMC.. i think its really worth the time and effort..

yah, my FMIL is very nice.. wahahha, i hope she practise what she preach lar.. =P

i guess everyone has a part to play.. i know my fiance will stand up for me no matter wat.. so i also be good to his family so that he wun be caught in a tight spot.. of coz, i knew some women who will take advantage of such "theory" too and create hell for their hubby and MIL - the evil DIL.. hee, i not referring to them lar.. kekekek..

to clarify further - "leave" doesnt mean abandon.. dun get me wrong hor.. just that the new focus should be on the new family unit.. =)

ribbons, actually i attended two sets of PMC from two churches coz we have not decided which church we will attend going forward.. both had shared with us abt the leaving and cleaving part.. my FPIL actually went with us for the first one. so guess it makes things easier for me..</font>

phy_o

Hi joyousonline,

Dun worry. I shall join you la.
My photos will come out one month later. We shall share photos again thne!

angeldust

daman - eh.. i dun like it if she ask me if i happy with it or not.. cos later she will say i agree one. cos her pattern.. she like pple agree with her... then later if someone criticise the method.. or thing etc.. she will quote and unquote me.. say i agree one. so i prefer to STAY neutral. HA HA HA HA HA simple as that.