(2006) Brides of year 2006

compassrose

Hi cute koala,
ya, it's normal. how's your preparation? about 3 months plus to go... PS taken? Did you go for any facial or spa to prepared for your big day?

My AD will be next yr, waiting for tong shu to be out. Mine is going be a simple affair (just dinner) so i hope that I can enjoy the process.

Hi Min_Mic,

Maybe u can try NTUC website, since there is only 1 NTUC in serangoon north. From there, u can narrow down the actual location of the bakery. Hope it helps.

honeyc

Hi Diana,

You collected ur cards huh.. I haven't even calculated and confirm how many guests I'm inviting.. how to collect my cards?! anyway, my cards n printing are provided by my hotel and my co-ordinator asked us to go direct to T-Dragon to choose the card.

Gosh! Ur Bday is on the 1st sun of Sept??? Does that means your Bday is 3rd Sep?? If that is the date, den WE SHARE THE SAME BDAY!!! heehee... wat a pleasant surprise!

cheers..

phy_o

Hey jmonster,

Aiyo ... give and take la. Hope you guys will be all right soon!

I'm on for the outing. But not this weekend. Very hectic. Must visit relatives, count ang pow and bank in money. Keep accounts and catch up on my work.

Just keep me informed!

yuki31

Daman - haha me same case lor .....work work then by the time dinner can go as late as 9pm liao then rest a while go sleep .....best way to put on weight ...haha wow veg n no carbo i cant leh ... my FH will keep tempt me to eat oso ...haha recently ate durians for the past few days so i think very high calories ..haha sinful

princess, jingles - me too took econ for 'O' level during sec ........

jingles - me oso frm there then start to like cooking n got a huge recepie book for the lesson ...haha ...i like to deco for the presentation of the dishes ...haha only got 3 hours to get all the dishes up...hate the washing up part ...haha
my FH would love if i cook but sometime lazy leh .. n at MIL plc dun think will cook ... later she nag nag...

pandalic - hmm ... agreed that if a man will strays he will no matter wat ...most important is committment ...but food is a good way to win him over ...haha

pandalic,princess,clouds - u have any idea on how is divine ROM package like? is their ROM gown nice too?

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">Hihi Clouds!
Angeli not very peranakan but their spicy food is quite good so my dad loves it. hehe. YLS catering is also good, got yam paste for dessert. Very yummy. My sister had them for her wedding, so i thot maybe for mine i might go for Angeli's. =)

Panda,
Really? Overhaul of EG? U decided what u want already ah? =) Then how, this fri will still see u there anot? :p

Jingles/Yuki,
Yah, home econs is fun! I didnt take it for my O's leh, wasted. My colleague was telling me its a good subject to take. Love the first 2 years of sec sch where home econs was COMPULSORY. Rem i used to force my classmates to try my horrible fried (okie, its Chao Tar) rice i cooked &amp; horrible cakes i baked. Haha. Still, it was fun!

Yuki,
I dunno whether Divine has Rom packages leh, dun think so they have. =) I noe a MTM tea dress to keep will be from $600 onwards.

OL,
Dun be affected by others' comments. Am sure if u did communicate well with your designer, everything will be great. =)</font>

harpie17

Hihi...
Have not come in for a long time and the thread is moving very fast.
Hey.. need to ask u gals for opinion on manicure and pedicure. Da Man and me will be having our photoshoot next week. Thinking of going for Mani &amp; Pedi but not sure what colour to choose leh. Any suggestions? Do you gals think that French Manicure is alright to go with both WG &amp; EG? My EG is chilli red and black...
Hmm.....

vaax

I love peranakan food, but for my church wedding reception we're going for 'angmoh' cocktail. My HTB and myself decided that presentation is important too, so cocktails look nicer
Though it wouldn't be as filling but since the reception is at abt 4plus should be ok. We're going with Lavish Dine, I like their professionalism and they seem to do up more deco than other caterers.

vaax

Oh Da Wife!! Haha you and Da Man are so cute
Hmmm chilli red and black with French mani..the contrast is quite big. Why not just tell the nail person your constraint and see what colour they suggest? They're the experts so they should know
What colour is your WG?

sandsand

Da man: roti pratha is of indian origin.. it was called Paratha then, then as migrants migrated to SEA, they modified it a bit lor, but originator is india..

PAndalic: ur FMIL is so sweet to give you the brooches.. realy nice of her.. me peranakan, but cannot wear the hand me down kerbayas.. the ladies b4 me all too tiny.. my body shape dont follow the peranakan side, me follow my british heritage line side..

Jo: I can only answer the part about the wedding shoes.. mine dont know if considered new or not.. i wore it for my PS, and i dont intend to let it make its appearance until the AD..

Yuki &amp; DaMan: what i did b4 my PS was, i made it a conscious effort to take soupy stuff for my meals. and the week 4 PS, i took fruits for breakfast (in contrast to my usual asian breakfast of noodles), and much much more vege than meat, and only water. no carbonated drinks and stuff.. it really helped. I only did th fruits thing one week b4, cos i only decided to do it then. haha. it will be hard lah, slimming downs never easy.. and if it makes u look good for ur PS, why not? but i hit a plateau liao.. weight loss stoppped already even though i am coninuing with my diet..

september

vvn, i will check the date and time then i will post in this thread again to inform all....

honey, dui leh....mine is 3rd Sept lor....so we share the same bday...but i tink i am afew yrs ur senior lah...hahaha....

marnie

Ok ok Girls, confirm dinner is on Friday, 14th at Chijmes ah... I totally forgot I am going to the Coldplay concert on Monday, 10th. Bleh...

Work has been piling on me. I am trying to work around the clock keeping my trays empty in anticipation of my leave end next month...

So what's everyone up to these days?

lazybride

Hi Soudez,
I think it will b gd to color in light brown but I think the MUA will spray some colour for u if needed..so not necessary to colour

angeldust

Harpie!!!! welcome back!!!

Here is in my humble opinion:

1) Nail place: PINC (various branches) or Nail Expert@Suntec
2) French Mani for Hands and either French Mani for feet or dark marroon for feet since its red &amp; black.

And me strongly object to NAIL ART cos take picture not nice.

Diaclaimer: The above is only representative of my personal opinion and the suggestion can be taken into consideration but not necessarily implemented. HA HA HAHA HA HA...

Hi gals.. &amp; guy, Bonjour!!

xfiles_wolvie

jingles-hmmm...a man stomach..no wonder mine getting bigger..hehe..yeah they beri big...chin dua liap....

yuki-me eat durians last nite also leh..hehehe afew only lah...

ribbons-really huh? i duno leh..u go search for it? hehe..nvr really made an effort to decide wat meals to tke b4 the PS...seems like no effort from me to lose weight. kekeke. IPPT coming and still nvr train also. hahaha.

angeldust-hahahaha nice disclaimer....ehheheh

harpie17

Ni Vanessa,

2 of WG for the PS is white, the other one is off white. I think french manicure in nude colours is quite nice when it goes with white. But the prob is that my EG is red n black. that's the problem leh. Hmm mebbe u are rite.. i shld seek their opinions.... keke...

Hey Angel,

Thanks... but I have already made my appointment with Hollywood Secrets. Going there to do my eyebrows so decided to do my mani &amp; pedi there as well.

angeldust

hi Da man - ke ke ke ke ke.. its a "dig" back at u..:p me so nottie.. KA KA KA KA KA KA KA.... so now.. u not only CSK but also CDL. hee hee hee...

wallflower

tks all for the assurance! so far my BS is ok to me, but i guess i juz feel slightly angry for other brides. been chatting with them for quite some time, got too emotionally involved hehe... :p anyway, i tin the main prob with my BS is they cant churn out MTM gowns in time. im taking all OTR so no prob...

clouds ~ havent tried my trial makeup yet... intend to use my trial makeup b4 my AD, so no trial makeup for PS leh... unless i pay. how abt the rest of u? same same?

jmonster

hi gals.. Good morning...

FYI, me and hubby ok liao.. He's always behave like that, i admit sometimes it's my faults but then i got talk to him after i calm down

for him, it will take sometimes. but then what happened yesterday is just a small matter. what i cant stand is he throw tantrums to me... *faint* like small kid.. .anyway, we are fine now.

jan193

Ivy.. yup.. i tink it's best for nw.. dun b upset k.. juz look fwd to ur PS.. i'm lookin fwd to mine.. met up w my PG yesterday

clouds_54

Hi OL

Glad to hear that you are having good experience with your BS. My trial MU is before PS and AD. Hv a total of 4 MU sessions - Trial, PS, AD morning and evening. Think it's pretty standard for all BS.

Hey Da Wife

Agree with Angel that French Pedi and mani is a good choice. It shld match with all outfits I feel. Unless you wanna stand out even more, then can consider doing coloured nails.

Hey Panda/Princess

Wah... seems like angeli is good. Okok, will get quote from them and also YLS (strongly recommended by Princess
) too. Do you girls hv the contacts?

Hi Yuki

Not too sure abt their DC's ROM package. You hv frens who's interested? Hmm... will say their MTM knee-length dress is around $400 - 500 and above but it really depends on the design and workmenship involved. Intricate designs will definitely cost more. Princess and Panda can advise?

Hi Jo/Ribbons

Likely to wear my wedding shoes for indoor PS too.

angeldust

hey clouds,

ya.. my MUA strongly reocmmends only french mani &amp; pedi cos he said nail art take pic not nice. so i just follow his advice. anyway i like french mani pedi. even if i have to pay extra for it. ke ke ke ke

caterer: me considering cedele/delifrance for breakie items &amp; Angelis for lunch.

moninet

hi diana, u can make appt wif nigel from celliar rouge, he seems quite nice when he attended to me &amp; my fren &amp; let us try a very wide range of wines, they even have 1.5L one, if u or any other brides need to save on corkage!

elsie, have fun tdy ya!

honey, not sure if u printing on card or insert, but if u're doing insert like me, wat i did was i printed my inserts 1st &amp; will be collecting the cards fr hotel nearer to my sending date. in this way, i do not need to confirm the no. of guests so early &amp; risk taking more cards than necessary fr the hotel.. hope this helps!

chillipadi25

Clouds – yes I find that they are very professional. Remember one of my friends’ church recep they are very professional, they will not just place the food and disappear. The coordinator will still hang around and even offer help for the decoration.

Panda – I totally agree lar…if a man is going to stray, doubt whatever abalone or bird nest u served…he will still stray. Keke

Yuki – same here my book had piled up into a damn big stack liao!! Lots of recipes. Also agree last time when with my mum, also don’t like to cook in other ple kitchen cos they will confirm nag until non stop!! So I prefer to cook in my own kitchen, own house :p my most hectic part is to cook the dishes within the appointed time, my heart will thumping mad …..kekeke wonder how I survive that period

Daman – better not always eat ar…later tummy getting bigger and bigger wont look good on actual day!

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hey ladies, i am a firm supporter of french mani/pedicure for PS and AD.. its timeless and classy.. and it goes with all outfits.. NO nailart or other colors for me for wedding.. wahhaha.. of coz, this is my personal opinion..

anyway, both my nail technician and MUA also reco french mani/pedi for wedding..

angel, i am totally with you on french mani/pedi.. hi5 yeh? wahhaahaha
ribbons, my FMIL is a very nice lady who loves God too.. she is very nice to me.. coz i cannot fit into the hands-me-down.. she brought me to malacca and tailor make one kerbaya suit for me so that i can wear the kerosang..

da wife, i reco The Good Earth Nail Spa at Plaza Singapura for nails..

yuki, DC dun have ROM package.. only ala carte items.. the kneel length dress is 600 onwards i think

clouds, i dun have angeli's no with me.. you can check from the website.. but one thing, angeli is not halal certified coz they serve alcohol.. so not good if you got particular muslim frenz.. my muslim frenz dun mind coz angeli dun serve any pork dishes..</font>

angeldust

panda - ^5!! really i dislike nail art lah.. and solid colours.. aint sweet for me.. me am collecting all the pink OPIs liao.. ha haha ha call me a siao cha bor if u want.

wtan

hi hi ladies…
me very busy with work lately..mth-end closing..hope I didn’t missed out too much..hehe..so how’s our gathering coming along?all Oct 06 to be brides &amp; grooms…come &amp; join us leh..surely it will be very nice to be able to meet up diff ones of u preparing for ur weddings lor…hehe..

wtan

hi hi vvn..
surely u r most welcome to join in..this gathering isn’t just abt wine-tasting..it’s also a time to let everyone meet up to share abt the wedding preps..since u r a Cantonese, will u be wearing kua as well for ur tea ceremony?

hi hi dwarfs..
maybe u can consider saying ur vows upon ur bridel march-in at the banquet?can also customize ur wedding vows lor..as for the bridal car deco..u can actually get the BS to teach ur FH how to tie the bridal deco on the car lor..not very difficult lah..my hubby also learn from the BS..maybe can get one of the xiong-di to go &amp; learn as well..then can also help him out lor..

hi hi crystalz..
welcome to the thread..can I have ur details so that I can update into the chart?thks!do u want to come &amp; join us for the gathering as well?

hi hi soudez..
come &amp; join us for the gathering lah..it will be nice lor..to have brides-to-be meeting up for the same goal &amp; same topics..

hi hi Diana..
how’s ur MTM CS session getting along?u manage to find something for ur mum &amp; MIL?so nice to hear that u got ur Si Dian Zhuan..but usually Si Dian Zhuan is presented to the bride on the day of Guo-Da-Li..actually depending on individual…glad that u r enjoying urself over the stay at ur lovenest..i guess it’s gd also to spend time together lor..got privacy also..hehe..u shd put on the false eyelashes..it’s only for one day..worth one..ur eyes will look prettier lor on the photographs..

Hi hi CAT..
How’s ur PS getting along?tell us more leh..

Hi hi huey..
Very nice of u to share the doc on what to note for PS..

Hi hi cute_koala_123..
Okok..will update ur details in the chart..do u want to join us for the gathering as well?pls vote for the dates u r able to make it..cheers~

Hi hi steve..
Me also got Si Dian Jin instead of Si Dian Zhuan..heng ahh..that time when my mum &amp; MIL bought when the gold price is quite a low..now gold price increase till very sharp..i m hoping for it to drop also..but tell u hor..better get it soon..coz usually the lunar 8th mth..will increase alittle coz it’s the most popular mth to get Si Dian Jin for weddings lor..also seldom pple buy during 7th mth..if u r not patang..then can consider lor..u can consider getting it from Poh Heng lor..at least more reliable &amp; the designs are nicer..

Hi hi Beatrice..
I sms my friends to get their reply..more instant incase some dun get to chk their emails on time..

Hi hi xiaobai..
Dun think Ridhuan has a shop u can visit leh..u might want to chk with him lor..so far, I met up with him at my office then got the wines from him &amp; try during my food-tasting lor..coz I want to see if the wine taste well &amp; blend with my dishes lor..

Hi hi elsie..
Enjoy ur PS…hope u get gd weather today..cheers~

lilic

<font color="0077aa">vanessa, nope.. but i dun have the usual sign in book.. still thinking what i wanna do for sign in.. at a loss now.</font>

kar

soudez, i jus DIY to colour my hair brown, not a very obvious colour. 2 weeks is a good time to dye before PS, before the roots of the hair grows. hee.

Elsie, have fun posing, smiling and laughing today. The weather is great!

Gals, would like to join for the wine tastin with my FH, hope its alright to bring my FH along, so we can try the wine together la. hee.

Oct 06 brides-to-be gathering-cum-wine tasting in Jul 2006
jul 7 (fri): iceglacier, beatrice, Diana, Soudez
jul 14 (fri): wendy,iceglacier, beatrice,huey, Diana, sweet kar
jul 21 (fri): wendy, huey, soudez, sweet kar
jul 28 (fri): sweet kar

Xiaobai, rem to add in yr name for wine tasting too, me added liao . hee.

qingqing

Hi GIn,

for me is busy with work and hsework hahaha not easy to be staying alone har everything have to do on our own
what abt u ?

xiaobai1

Hi Moninet

How do I book appointment with nigel from celliar rouge? Just wondering.... Cause I am also worried that the wine may not taste good and end up a lot left. That is why I have not confirm my wine order till now. Is there a wine tasting session provided by nigel? Just wondering... It will be good if they provide this service. I will go down to take a look with my hubby if they provide the wine tasting service.

Hi Wendy

Thanks for the good idea, to taste the wine during the food tasting session. I will inform my hubby abt this idea. Thank You So Much. Hee Hee

Hi Sweet Kar

Wow you are free on three fridays. I am not sure yet ler which day am i free. Somemore yesterday, I told hubby abt this gathering to meet u and ur hubby. He wasn't very keen. He is a very shy guy.Ha Ha :p
Have to persuade him to go with me for this gathering. Will try my luck again tonight. Hee Hee

Take Care

Xiaobai1

sandsand

pandalic.. oh, ur FMIL is so sweet... you are very blessed to have her as a MIL..

I wanna do french mani/ pedi too.. and no nail art.

vanessa, we arent doing scrap booking for guest book but my PG is going to do a little PS for us, about singapore b4 the AD (my PS not in singapore mah) so i intend to do scrap booking for those shots.. i really like that scrap booking shop at PS, but their things look expensive..

soudezne

Hi Wendy
when you are updating the chart, do update the following for mi ya... thanks..
PG: Derrick Ong
VG: Moment of Us

Hi Xiaobai
mi oso shy shy... hb not keen too... but i'll try to drag him there.. =p alternatively, mayb i'll bring my sis along to taste the wine...=p

Hi Elsie,
Have fun!!

Hi Sweet Kar
i'm intending to clr my hair this weekend... but i'm left with 1.5 weeks grace... =p

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-CDL? chin du lan? ehhehe im cool with it..hehe..no prob..i only praising my own statements. hahahahahaa

ribbons-good for u...that it work for u. looks like gonna look fat all my life liao..hehehe..

jingles-ya trying to control...but to no avail. sigh..ehhehe

vanessa-duno yet leh..da wife and me nt yet discuss on the guest book., hehehe gt to check with her.

piglet23

Hi, gals,
got gathering ah? count me in, ok?
Btw, i am only able to access to internet when i came back my mum's place leh.. Anyway, my e-mail is [email protected]. Just drop me mails or watever, if I am able to make it, I will join u gals..
Take care..

vaax

Haha... yeah scrapbooking is a personal touch but also very expensive! My friend is helping me do the guest sign in book, the ang pow box and this glass box to put on an easel and later hang on a wall on my love nest, all using scrapbooking style and we spent $300!! We were at the PS shop loh, but there's the GSS so already got disc, imagine if dun have disc even more ex!
Hey ribbions, where did u do your PS? I'm not doing PS coz I dun allow my HTB to see the gown before our AD! Haahaa...

angeldust

Panda - u want? tell me then i spree under my account. Me buying again. email me what u want after u see look k?

Daman - piangz.. u worse than me.. not 6 pack will be a ITALY (yi da li). my hubby also almost there liao.. ha ha ha ha ha.. he realise being with me.. my weight decrease.. his weight increase.. cos i cant finish my food, he will help me finish..

lilic

<font color="0077aa">angel, will let you know.. i want to find this color which i used it previously for french base.. but a lot of places dun stock this anymore.. so thinking of buyin it for wedding.. whahahah.. need to go check first.. =)</font>