(2006) Brides of year 2006

mcfluffy

Hey lipstar,

hmm.. now I'm worried too. Did the dark clouds affect your PS?
Think Nov also not much of a difference right?
Anyway, care to share your PS photos?

kitty_li

Yaris, yes...that's exactly what he's thinking of. He wants to do it totally "ang mo"
style (and he's not even ang mo!! hahaha).

Pat, FH feels that can take outdoor shots on AD itself, so why need to spend extra $$ to take pre-wedding ones, just so that we can show the whole world on AD, and then leave the album on the shelves for the next X years...but for me, I want to experience the pre-wedding shoot, plus the BS package includes one PS make-up...

silentelf, no lah...dun need to apologise...
I'm trying to psycho him, but I gotta book one soon, so that the designer can get started one the EG and complete by August. If not, she will only complete in Sept, and it's kinda rushed to do a PS...

Sweets, yap, you have a point there. Thanks for sharing.
Actually, we have gone for a make-over portfolio thingy already. Will be displaying that during our AD...just that it is all casual wear. No bridal wear... Thanks for your hugs! *hugz*

Linda, Have fun during your PS!

tiglet, that's great news! so gotta start on reno soon huh?

chillipadi25

hey vanessa, u are a teacher hur....last 4 months ago when i was considering to change career line ever contemplate to be one...hahaha even signed up with MOE to become a temporary relief teacher. Ever called up once to Greendale Sec to become English relief for a week but got no mood to take it up as they called me as early as 5am to discuss about it!!! hehehee

Have u ever heard of red box, they are the row of old shophouses near golden mile...they do good flowers too (they had done mine during my ROM)

angeldust

hi jingles,

Red Box florist was the florist for my ROM as well. They are the official florist for Amanda Lee. ke ke ke ke.. I know one of the lady boss. She is my ex colleague's wife. :p Nice pple but I wasnt really satisfied with my bouquet cos last min they tell me to change to cream roses because they dun have what i want. ke ke ke ke..

angeldust

Yuki - oh no restriction that is good. hmm.. What style do u have in mind for ur album theme? more of nature or more of buildings, more of action? depends on u and ur FH's personality, u can decide the location along that line. If both like nature, I feel Botanic Gardens is a nice place, Mandai Orchid Gardens, all alternatives to lallang locations.. hee hee hee..

babygera

hmmm gals everyone is busy??? recently not much posts in here leh...

jasmine, hows ure preparations?? have u gotten ppl to help u?

icebubbles, relax relax dun get so nervous leh if not u will lose sleep the nite before ure AD

pinkbunny

mine was in jan - it rained up to the time we were doing our studio shots, then stopped, and only started again as we were packing up from outdoor shooting

lipstar

muffin: Hmm... the dark clouds didn't look too nice in the pictures. But I don't mind because the subjects look good can already.

*ducks Apr 06 brides' rotten tomatoes *
378315.gif

I'm not sure of the weather in Nov, may be slightly better than Dec?

sandsand

waxing? eeee..... can imagine the pain....

red box flowers are good, but had a bad experince with them once... i know flowers are subjected to availability, but they couldnt get the colours that my friend wanted and just replaced it with the usual pink/ champagne.... didnt even call to inform.. my friend only noticed when she walked down the aisle...

xiaobai1

Hi Vvn

Thanks for ur link, I will check it out! Hopefully have some special ideas to inform our photographer on that day. Hee Hee

Wow your hubby is so sweet, still writes letters to u. My hubby hates writing and reading. He also known me thru the internet. The communication that we use are phonecalls (every night till now 4 years liao still counting ), email and sms only. Guess we are the new generation couple. Ha Ha

By the way, I am still having a headache what songs to choose on actual day, the songs that I choose hubby thinks that it is too sad, so now letting him write down the list of songs that he wants, and I will select the song from that list. No Choice. The songs that I choose he all don't like.
So sad.

As for the guest list, we have finalised already. So guess that is nothing much to do. By the way, did I miss out anything to prepare??? Really scared ler. Do anyone has a list for me to refer or what??? Hee Hee . Can anyone lend it to me?
I am always so blur.

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

vaax

Morning!!

Oh jingles, teaching is a fantastic career but teaching with MOE is not
coz u teach 10% and do crappy admin work 90% of the time. I'm leaving next year after my bond! Cannot wait, but I'm leaving not because I don't like MOE lah, I'm leaving to study at YWAM(Youth with a mission)
Ehhh.... i think I'll just wax the visible to public eye areas, I'm sure my HTB would love some hair! Hahaha... so prob just armpits, legs, arms the usual, def not going for the brazilian man. Besides my honeymoon is not beach resort and we'll be in winter clothes so no point

Hey to get electronics, my HTB found this really cheap place Ah Goh Bee.. can ask him for the contact, we got our fridge, washer,dryer and oven from there.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">sorry ladies, i must share my bewilderment here.. no offence intended.. met a close gf who chided me previously for going to "designer boutique" and professional PG for pre-wedding shoot.. say i waste money, etc.. guess wat? yesterday she told me that she is not happy with her BS.. her initial package is $3388 and after the PS, she topped up another S$3k for additional pics.. the BS still dun allow her to get all negatives back.. they told her if she wants the negatives back, they are prepared to sell to her at S$10 per pic/negative after discounts...

then after topping up, her PS album ballooned to 50 pages.. i tot it will be too bulky and heavy to manage so i suggested to have 2 albums instead.. her hubby and her agreed and called the BS on the spot.. BS told her she gotta pay S$200 more for the album.. rationale is that the designer must incur extra time to do 2 albums.. i tot that was not fair... can someone tell me if this is the norm?

sorry to rattle on.. but i heart-ache for her..
my total costs is nearly S$1k lower but at the end of the day, i get all pics, my teadress, EG and suit back... </font>

angeldust

hi ribbons,

agrees with u. thereafter my best friend also used red box, encounter same problem with the roses as well. hers end up also cream roses with green leaves. she asked for english pink roses and yam roses. ke ke ke ke

angeldust

hi panda

sorrie to hear abt ur fren's case. rather typical actually. HA HA HA HA.. cos the album cost is different. The BS or PSPGs outsources the album making to external vendors lor. So if ask for 2 albums sure will hav eto pay. But actually ur fren kanna ketok liao.. cos pay SO MUCH for negatives yet they dun give album FOC.. is really way TOO MUCH.. ha ha ha ha ha

lilic

<font color="0077aa">angel, i tot she kena ketok too.. i was trying so hard to dissuade her to pay the S$10 per pic/negative for the remaining unselected pics.. can you imagine if she did, the price would have paid for an overseas shoot!
okok, enough of my complaints..

jingles, i not sure abt red box.. but so far all i heard was the not so good comments.. like wat ribbons and angel pointed out.. a fren is using redbox for her upcoming PS.. i shall see how redbox fare then.</font>

gera,
now still rushing lor.. but i tink shld be ok ba.. i hope.. i've asked frens to help in tagging the favors.. my additional montage almost done.. left with like another 10-20 photos to add in. then music wise, my fren burn a cd for me yday.. if not time to do selection, then will juz make do with the songs.. march in songs will decide today.. then my animation montage done already.. my dad already did the seating arrangement for my side for me already.. so we juz need to do for our frens but already done like 80% of the arrangement liao.. so now left with the alpha order guest list and the table arangement.. seems like alot right?? ha.. but i tink still can make it.. will stay at home to complete tml cos on leave liao..

how abt u??

xiaobai1

Hi Diana

I understand now,do keep me update about the wine response.

If the response is not good, I will call ridhuan to check directly. No problem with me. Scared that u are very busy. Hee Hee

Anyway, I also hope to get a cheaper rate for wines to help my hubby save some money. Me such a good wife, where to find in Singapore. Ha Ha Ha

By the way, my mil yesteray suddenly come to my new house to see my furniture and lcd tv and dvd player. And suddenly she touched my kitchen cabinets. And said it is oily, why I didn't wipe after cooking? I told her actually, I wipe the bottom cabinets with gif. But the top part of the cabinets, that was no time to wipe that day. As hubby is coming home for dinner. So I just use plain wet cloth to wipe the top kitchen cabinets. And my kitchen cabinets are so difficult to wipe. Cause it is white and blue in colour and it is so long. Cause my house is a 3 room flat, so kitchen bigger and longer than new flat design. Guess I need two days to wipe finish all the kitchen cabinets.That day, I do not have enough time to wipe finish.

After hearing me say that, she said next time don't use gif, use the magicclean kitchen cabinet cleaner. Got such thing meh. I don't even know.
My silly hubby makes white color, now really wipe the white cabinets and the glass dining table and coffee table. Can wipe until i become mad. Hee Hee

But really scarey hor, my mil really use her finger to touch our kitchen cabinet. My mum never like that when she goes to other ppl house, she just see and keeps quiet. My mil comes, everything she will also comments. So siah. But no choice, she is my hubby's mum, so me only can keep quiet and listen. Luckily, that day I got wipe half of the cabinet, so not so bad.

She only say, never scold me. I so worried, that she will scold me on the spot.

Guess I better be more hardworking to wipe finish all my kitchen cabinets on saturday, before going out with hubby. Scared she will do another spot check soon. Hee Hee

Just find my mil is very funny, so share it with u all. What about ur mil, are they ok with everything that u and ur hubby do (do they have comments like my mil or no comments)? just wondering.... Hee Hee

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

wallflower

vannessa ~ hihi, i resigned from MOE 2 yrs back, after my bond too... now so much happier

panda ~ ur fren's story made me panick abit... coz i oso heard sum unfavourable feedback abt my BS liao, but so far they r still ok to me and FH. keeping fingers crossed

gals ~ anyone bought a resale flat? me searching now...

chillipadi25

Angeldust - eh...pai seh hur..cos i abit MT...who is amanda lee?? someone related to our country leader?? hehehee...dunno leh so far my hubby had been ordering flowers from them to do our important events etc Vday and ROM seems like he got wat he wants and the result quite ok for me.....

Vanessa - hur...u are serving the bond...must be counting the days right? i understand the days of serving a bond...like prisoner kekeke. The other time also went to a teacher's seminar, then when they mentioned about a bond i was hesitant. dont wanna tie myself again...By way u teaching pri/sec kids? Actually i will love to teach young kids, sometimes their naive-ness is sooo sweet

Panda - ermm...i think most BS dont return negatives to couples. Even they return, either they will charge a hefty cost, or they will state conditions such as only be able to obtain back after period of time as items are property of BS. Actually, if couple has chosen so many pics and request for another album, confirm BS will take this opportunity to make profit from couple..the other time my aunty also kanna same thing but lucky she asked in advance - as in wat if too many pics and spread over 2 albums got charge additional $$? when she knew that need extra, she limit herself with the pics lor..just my 2 cents worth of experience

chillipadi25

OL - dont worry lar...even if u receive negative remarks on ur BS, may not applies to u. Sometimes it depends on the circumstances as well as individual character/attitude. May never know wat history the rest of the couples had between their BS coordinators.. So if it happens to someone, doesnt mean it will happen to you too. Rest assured

babygera

jasmine, wah u so good tmr on leave...i still gotta sloug till fri then sat off lolx but i took leave on coming mon and tues to settle those left overs like returning of gowns and slight packing at HB house and SLEEP !!!! :p tmr after work we still need to go down to BS to collect our gowns and suit and album etc etc...hope i remember to buy my party poppers tmr nite....

anyway can check with u gals...did you all buy cakes for ure colleagues to share in the office??? i was thinking of to buy or not leh....

maez

<font color="119911">hi all.

yuki, the difference between the 2 is how they look and some of the features. i cant rem exactly wat now.. but the cheaper model has been ard for sometime. so we will be taking R71. both are 32inches LCD. yuki, ur double up is the one at imm? that day i saw a wedding couple taking photos in the small field behind imm... got quite a shock :p u can go discuss w ur PG in advance?

princess thanks! got it..
well.. im also teacher.. so i cant wait till october to think abt the invitations leh..
november most colleagues will be gone for O level invigilations so have to give out invites (for colleagues) by 27oct. so i reckon will have to start sourcing n printing earlier so i have enuf time to write n give out at least juz for my colleagues. then the rest can be abit later..</font>

kar

Hi Diana, have you managed to confirm the price of the wine? Able to waive off GST? Btw, does he have a shop or how does he get his wines? Would prefer to taste before buying lei. I checked that cold storage is sellin at $18.25, so still cheaper to get frm yr contact. i'll let u knw if i'll be ordering within the next few days.

iceglacier, we share the same wedding date, wana ask if u hav any idea about how to decorate yr ballroom or other interesting ideas besides deco? Its mid-atumn festival rite? thought of making it oriental, but duno how. hee.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">jingles, some of us looking at florists coz of church and some bcoz our BS tied up with a couple of florists for us to select.. while the flowers are included in our BS package, we can choose which florists we want to use.. =)

i am just appalled lar.. coz professional PG like CL, Montage, Tucky will return to us all images/negatives if we take their upper tier package which is prob around S$2.5k or S$3k.. so i really dun see how can BS ketok pple like that lor.. anyway, i heard from experienced couples that it is tormenting to select the PS pics.. BS expects you to sit there and choose.. and so most of the time, pple choose more than wat they actually intended..

OL, i agree with jingles.. you dun worry too much.. can take the negative experiences by other couples as a learning point too..

hey maez, i need to do my printing earlier too.. let's exchange notes abt printers when we have them.. hows that?</font>

happy_bug

HI Linda,
Enjoy ur PS on Monday!!

Hi Silentelf,
oh ya..i kiasu..wanna settle everything early cos this yr got 2mths of 7th mth leh..tat means cannot do anything including preparing for AD, so do everything early liao wun panic for last min..

i got 2 timing to choose too..1 b4 daybreak at 5am or another at 1pm..there will be a lot of praying to be done so we choose the 1pm slot..tat means time will be tight for all of us to rush back to the htl so i need to plan my itinery early and inform all my jie-meis wat time to be ready mar..also, those aunties n uncles need to drink tea wan, all need to inform in adv..:p

as for wine and printers suppliers, i scared later GST up in jul/aug (nt sure to 6 or 7%) so think if can cfm early, we do tat too bah..

hi CSI fan,
sigh..i koe..women cares abt such things more than men..
all the best in psychoing him yah.. :p

wallflower

oh, maez oso a tcher... hehe, my initial guess was correct. dec BTBs do have more tchers, same goes for june BTBs

angel ~ u bought ur flat thru agent? how many room is ur flat? is the condition of ur resale flat very bad at the beginning? worried abt the amt of $ need to spend on hacking...

jmonster

Jas/Gera,
I hv not packed things and move to my PIL's house too.. jialat, i hv not done everything, then tmr will be going back to JB. no time to pack.

my GDL was done yerterday..phew, one more thing off. my hubby, his bro and aunt took few hours to travel frm Spore to JB. very tired for them but it was fun..

at first i thought the whole process wld be very simple, but then my mum asked my relatives (almost the whole village) to come to my house :p

now waiting for my jb dinner on 17 June. hopefully, it will run smoothly. then hv book a room at Pan Pac (JB) to rest after the dinner so I could recover the energy for 24 June.. hee..

Gera,
I didnt buy cake for my colleagues leh cos i'm inviting them liao

yalor.. me on marriage leave from 16th till 20th..me juz went for final fitting yday..everything ok.. will be gg to collect the gowns and suits on sat.. me got 1 WG, 2EG, 1 Kua..then hubby got 3 suits all in all.. so many things to collect.. somemore still have 2 big albums and 2 small ones.. hubby says duno want to see me the day b4 wedding.. so he'll go collect the things with his frens and send it over to my place..

tml, i need to finish up the montage, and seating arrangement and do some packing and cleaning up..

put a reminder in ur hp so that u'll rem lor..

i did bring cakes for my coll after my GDL last month..so i wont be buying again lor..

lilic

<font color="0077aa">OL, me too.. wahhaha.. i need to talk to voice my displeasure else i will explode.. wahhaha.. but so far i am getting the top-of-the-world service from my designer.. so much so that i am kinda paiseh to keep bothering her.. wahhaha.. thank God she is so patient with me.. kekeke.. think i am just a fussy lass. wahahhaha..

anyway, forums are meant for us to share info mah.. =P</font>

angeldust

hi maez - my sister went to t-dragon to print her wedding inserts. she thinks t-dragon is not bad. I have start to scout the printers but if u have info, do share share k?

OL - yes, thru my hubby's friend. I bought a 5I Tampines unit, the place i chose is 2 bustops away from MRT so not that crowded and the flat is about 7 years old when I purchased it. It was owned by a young malay couple so the condition was ok except for the toilets which we overhauled &amp; the walls were in dark lilac so my hubby repainted the entire unit himself, so proud of him actually. My unit is 122sqm comes with 2 balconies (service &amp; living room balcony), N-S facing, rooms are away from living/dining area. So it was a relatively good buy.

Hmmm.. hacking wise, its a lump sum included in the reno, so if u wanna hack many places, then good to hack lor.. ha ha ha ha but do note that hacking is cheap but reconstructing a wall is expensive.

jmon,
seems like u worse than me.. at least i already packed all my stuff over to hubby's place liao.. but that one no worries la.. u can always do it after the wedding.. most impt is things to be done on the wedding muz be settled.. tonight i'll be gg to the restaurant to test out the sound system and play to montage and everything.. do a mini rehearsal ist..

vvn

xiaobai,

we were poor students then mah(i wasn't even allowed to have a pager!) so can only write letters to each other during lectures and break time. actually quite silly also, coz i remember we wrote letters during a boring maths lecture (we sit with our own classes in case anyone wondering y we never sit together) and we just exchanged letters right after that! hee!

anyway, i think you MIL quite funny. at least i think she cares abt u two, and be your consultant in housework. My grandma used to do that every time she comes to our house also, just touch touch, smell smell... then say "aiyah so oily here, and there still have the lemon smell"

my mom got quite fed up so she decided NOT to clean the house anymore before my grandma comes. i also feel no point cleaning coz my grandma just want to be inspector and find fault with my mother.

Ha... hope my FMIL won't be like this. But then again, she will most prob visit us twice a year the most!

maez

<font color="119911">angel, of cos will share lah.. but i think i will juz go to the ones that RTP ties up with? (t-dragon sounds familiar, dunno if its one of them) dun intend to spend more one invites.. i've been looking at the invites i've gotten.. most have been dumped anw.. so i think, same will go to ours.. i will start prob late july or aug. now last few weeks of being busy with reno
once im done w that then will start on invites.. then will start on florists for the banquet..

OL, haha.. so obvious meh.. :p anw this holidays went by in a blur. 1st week was all workshops and wat nots. 2nd week i spent buying quite some stuff. this is half my 3rd week gone being sick *sulk* and next week whole week of workshops again plus PS also.. *boohoo..* </font>

wallflower

angel ~ i need to get a flat near my mum's place, but most r cut-throat ex!! and old some more... mine is a more complicated case, coz my mum's flat is en bloc. she will be staying with us but she insists on getting a resale flat back nearby. hacking is cheap? tot it needs at least a few grands. hope will c a flat we like, but will need to quick quick ROM if tats really the case

angeldust

hi maez, agrees abt the invites lah.. my colleagues most also throw away. ha ha ha ha ha.. maybe for close friends I do special design for them. As for colleagues shall give them the cream ones from Conrad and the relatives, will give them the red ones. Cost saving.. thsi money I can save up put elsewhere.. HA HA HA HA HA like more pictures lor..

OL - forget to add, if u din hack kitchen wall, toilets and living dining floor, u can save a bit. If u do hack, choose ceramic for kitchen and homo for toilets can save u a bit but flooring of living dining, u can use laminate to cover over existing flooring so u dun need to pay extra for hacking living/dining. my friend din like the flooring provided by HDB so she used laminate for living, dining and rooms. she saved that amt and put in to revamp her kitchen and bedroom WIW. hope this helps. Only thing is some people say laminate flooring lasts only 5 years. So far my laminate flooring in bedroom is ok cos my PT cleaning lady sweep and super dry mop of wipe for me. *winks*.

maez

<font color="119911">OL, no hurry one... abt the ROM.. i got my flat in december last year.. still hvn ROM yet :p hahaha.. enbloc have priority to choose a new flat right? still get another?? hmm... like that will be mafan liao.. but angel is quite right, hacking not v ex..</font>

flipfreak

hi ppl. i met my photographer yesterday to discuss the shoot. we have problems coming up with a cool location for the 2nd shoot. do u think its worthwhile to pay for a location if its really nice?

btw he ask whether we got any props for tat day. we got no pets except a guinea pig leh. haha. wad props have u tried?

xiaobai1

Hi vvn

u both are so cute, hee hee i really miss the schooling time.

Yeap she cares about us that is why she gives me advice and I also learn something new. So it is ok lor. good points listen, bad point listen and forget, fellow my hubby method. Then I won't always be unhappy about those little things. Hee Hee
Smile!

Anyway, vvn can u give me ur contact number so that we can meet to chat or sms also can? Hee Hee. You can send ur contact number to my email account. [email protected] .

Thank U So Much.

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

marnie

Lipstar, thick skinned!!
But okay lah....you guys do look good lah....

Me no have rotten tomatoes....*contemplating to throw rotten eggs*

Muffin, sorry I am no help in this cos' we had our photoshoot in January (I think) - the weather then is good for us.

angeldust

hi OL - maez is right abt the ROM, my fren stayin in her tiong bahru flat she got from ballot last year.. also haven ROM.. ha ha ha ha ha... ya shld have piority to choose new flat. ur mum and my mum same mentality because they feel resale unit is bigger so better. bigger also means more cleaning.. more maintenance.. HA HA HA HA HA HA HA...

Yes hacking is only one lump sum. they just get 2 bangladshi come with a hedge hammer and whack.. the expensive part is the retiling work because u have to do cement screeding then after that lay the tiles one by one...for toilets the cost comes in cos if u hack, the waterproofing need to be redone and then also relay the water copper pipes cos u hack the walls, they will remove the existing piping.

If u get an old unit say 20 or more years and u wanna save on electrical, then get the electrician to use a test pen to test the points first and check the wires to see if wires are in good condition. I din do any rewiring except add more points cos rewiring wasnt needed.

wallflower

angel ~ wah, thanks for the advice... digesting them now *gulp* :p my FH oso tot of overlaying the original flooring with cement, not laminate. we like the cement look with abit of sheen ;)

maez ~ ours is resale, so according to agent, we need to ROM before we go to our first appt at HDB, unlike new flats hmm... yup, we have priority to select new flats, but gotta wait 4 yrs and the new location not gd lor. very loogi, our current flat much better. we can ballot for the flats next to kallang mrt soon but high floors all taken, even the chance of getting a low floor unit is not tat high. imagine, 1600 households balloting for less than 600 units...

phy_o

Ask you what does the groom do with the oranges that he recerives from the door opener when he reaches the bride's place?

Any idea?