(2006) Brides of year 2006

lilic

<font color="0077aa">diamond, i dunno how much that will cost.. coz 0.7ct for each side is too big for my tiny earlope.. not nice..</font>

maez

woow!

ok, here's come comparison. i checked out leehwa n sookee and goldheart

half tennis
all abt 14-15diamonds..
0.8 carat F-G color abt 1k+ abit
1.12 carat F-G color and E color was abt 1700-2200 respectively after 50% discount.

then i saw 0.58ct F-G color solitaire earrings abt 1.7k also

im most likely getting bracelet n earrings.. then the rest see how, hvn confirm w my ILs yet

panda, thanks! i got ur email ;)
oh yes, with my tiny earlobes and skinny hands.. sigh.. enquired abt the full tennis but i'd CONFIRM need to remove quite a substantial number, the person told me can reset lah.. but i think half tennis can aredi. i tried on the earrings.. seems like 0.2 on each side is abt there aredi, else cant see my ears anymore wahahahahaha

lilic

<font color="0077aa">maez, maybe you can check out citigems. i realise some of their (GIA or AGA or IGI) studs are better priced than those you name.. unless you are taking the "branded range".. replied you

if you take out the stones and reset, you can actually save money on studs leh.. =P</font>

wtan

hi hi vvn..
oh, u meant the new blks opp the mrt station at kallang is gg to be open for balloting? i thot that's for the existing flat-owners as well..okok..ya, if too stingy, everything also want to "cut-cut-cut", the Chinese believe that it will rain on the day of the wedding day..if it rain on the female side when the groom come &amp; pick up the bride, then the bride is stingy..if it rains when the bride reach the groom's place, then the groom is stingy..so ahh..just moderate will do lor..

flipfreak

hi wendy. i'm actually not tat concerned abt it because i already shifted into the new place since last yr. i dun really see the pt of doing it now. haha.

jklim4642

maez, colour wise, i will suggest u do not take anything below G. And for clarity, is VS2 and above. B'coz, any grade below G &amp; vs2 for colour &amp; clarity respectively, u can see from the naked eyes the slight "yellowish" colour &amp; impurities under certain lighting. unless the stones are too small to see.

a full tennis bracelet of 6.7 pointer, will come up to a total of >3ct.

as for citigems stones, they are cheap for a certain reason. is not just the branding. u can just ask the citigem staff, they can tell u the colour &amp; clarity of their stones. Also, your eyes do not play trick.. u can see quite clearly the inferior quality under the lighting.

a 0.5 ct stone of reasonable colour &amp; clarity (ie, G &amp; VS1) easily cost $3k plus after 40% discount. and i am not even talking abt the elite range like brilliant rose range. usually, the prices jump very substaintially, once it hits the 0.5 ct, 0.7 ct, 1 ct and so on category.

anyhow, just for reference only.

jklim4642

Another thing to add, GIA cert. only certifies the proportions, details... it does not say the diamond is good. so, read before buying. A badly cut (proportions) diamond can still have a GIA cert. Generally, do not trust in-house jewellers grading, they only provide clarity, colour and carats with no info. on cut proportions.

jklim4642

ribbons, is not that i know alot on diamonds. i read &amp; do research so that i can form my own judgement on whether the price that is being quoted is reasonable.

we have to bear in mind that gold prices are ex now. so buying a tennis bracelet now means got to pay abt $200 more. i am not even talking abt white gold heavy jewellery like bangle &amp; ring.

also, i hv been told that gold prices may drop during the coming world cup &amp; after that will increase again till the end of this yr... so do watch out for the gold prices in a week's time &amp; do our judgement accordingly

maez

hi diamond, thanks for the tips. yep, i wun go for anything lower than G.

my solitaire is color E, internally flawless. so wun go below VVS either heh..

ah.. cos im getting fr my fren, she wun chrg me more for the gold tho the price is higher.

panda, thanks! got it!

maez

heehee.. OL, here's wat i found abt TENNIS bracelet..
<font color="0000ff">
Diamond Tennis Bracelet
The diamond tennis bracelet was made famous by tennis champion Chris Evert who was also known for her diamond line bracelets. She lost one during the 1987 U.S. Open, and the game had to be temporarily halted while she prowled the court for it. The "tennis bracelet" incident sparked a new name for the item, as well as a huge jewelry trend.</font>

bigbig

I do not know if anyone can recall abt this very long thread from Steve who has taken up Mr &amp; Miss Wedding Club package too...

I wanted to take a look...

Anyone can help help???

vvn

Hi Wendy,

Well, those new blocks were built for the en block upgraders, but i heard that the left over units will be open for balloting, but just dunno when!

Ha ha... i didn't know about this saying! but ok, we are not stingy, just have to work within a budget. our budget is quite modest but wouldn't say ourselves stingy! (just that we wun be having a real honeymoon =( )

jklim4642

maez, u bought your solitaire from your friend also? color E &amp; internally flaweless.. must be quite nice &amp; expensive meh...

angeldust

with regards to the above topic on diamonds, me aint any expert. my MIL will probably give me a gold set which I will just receive. And my mum &amp; dad has purchased for me a diamond set which I also graciously received the blessings as well. I do not really care whether the diamonds are what ct, cut, clarity etc its the thoughts that counts. These things arent exactly cheap and to have my parents dote on me for my big day, I can never ask for anything more than their love for me.

ilovesashimi

I am also a June bride. Actual day is 24th June.
Can I ask if Guo Da Li a must for Chinese? My guy side don't care about any and my mom also not very sure about the process.

How ar??

maez

diamond, its 0.4ct big enuf for me fingers. plus its not good to be flashy in my job.. as it is, aredi pple keep passing comments :p i prefer low-key at work. hahah.. but of cos, when go out gai-gai, sometimes prefer it bigger wahahaha..

but like angel says.. their love is ENUF! heehee.. sometimes i glance at my ring then suddenly think of my bf also heehee.. :p

end up will prob not spend so much i guess.. cos paiseh to make them spend so much.. so i shall be shoppping ard!!

jklim4642

maez, yes, people like to pass comments. be it diamonds or some other jewellery. i do not wear solitaire diamond to work, pp also pass comments.. anyhow, they just talk to pass time... hahaha

lilic

<font color="0077aa">yes angel, its the thoughts that matters..

heh diamond, agree that generally citigem carries a lower grade of diamonds.. but you may be in for a surprise.. once a while, they have good solitares for sale.. my mum and i were lucky to find a good pair.. even my gemologist in tiffany like this purchase.. kekeke.. supposedly, a similar tiff pair with plat setting tho obviously nicer will cost 10times more. =P

maez dear - am sure your fren can give you good advice.. coz i think if we share the same love for diamonds (our ER sounds similar), those bling bling that we want do cost.. =P </font>

babygera

Hi sashimi, welcome to the thread and congrats on your upcoming wedding
hmmm i think if both family think its fine to go without GDL i think shouldnt be a prob lar whats most important is both side must agree

anyway where is our table?? who is the 1st on the list ??? june is just 2 days away leh...

asura

Hi ilovesashimi,

Does your parents want Guo Da Li? Which dialect are you? Cos Guo Da Li is different for each dialect. There is a cake shop called PINES Garden in Ang Mo Kio, the staff there are well versed with what is required for Guo Da Li, just tell which dialect you are. Cant remember the address off hand, need to go home to find.

asura

Am trying to come up with the programme for my dinner right now. Any idea whether it is compulsory for the fathers to give a speech as the host of the dinner? If yes, where do we slot them into the programme?
Also, when does the groom and bride give their thank you speech?

Very fast hor... June is here already! All starting to become MRS liao...

honeyc

Hi Wendy,

my fotos are actually really for viewing n selection, jus one wk after the shoot. keeping my fingers crossed dat it'll turn out good... I don't mind getting ur contact for MUA for AD. Could u kindly PM me pls? thks alot...

Jus a qn: if were to arrange for parents to meet up during food tasting.. can we do it after ROM (mine ROM is 20Jun) but it'll kinda defeat the purpose rite cos they would have met during ROM? or shall we jus arrange it a few days b4 ROM so they can talk, talk, talk b4 the official ROM... not too sure how to do it leh...

lilyn22

hiya girls!
i'm BACK at home now..checked out of the hotel yesterday....back to reality...

the wedding day was FANTASTIC!!! all great, no hiccups at all......it DID rain on sunday despite my prayers, but i got some great photos as a result! very vogue, with the veil billowing in the wind and all that....we got into his parents' palce JUST before it started pouring so i didn't get wet or anything. the gatecrashing was very funny...his brothers just didn't help him out deliberately.all hid at the stairwell..hahaha....sabo him!!! but they got thru in the end..one of the tasks was to get him to cook breakfast for my mum and made him wear a red-checked apron with a "kiss the cook" sign on it...he passed the mother-n-law test with flying colours!!!! hehehe!!! AND THEN he came into the bedroom to take me with that apron on! VERY CUTE

lilyn22

we had some quiet time just the 2 of us in the hotel room before dinner..n guess what we did? we got room service and had a MASSIVE burger each!! yum yum! i give the conrad burger the thumbs up!
rite after we stuffed our faces, they called us saying they'd upgrade us to the presidential suite!! my jaw totally dropped when they took us up to the room...it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! pretty posh place i tell u... probably the size of 2 and 1/2 of my condo unit..i was trying to control myself when the bellboy was transfering our luggage..hehe!

lilyn22

when it came to the actual dinner, people all arrived early or on time..that in itself is a miracle i swear! Just before the march one of my little flower girls got a little nervous (stage fright i think!!) and didn't want to throw her little flower petals! p/s i had 3 kiddies, 2 flower girls and one pageboy, girls were supposed to throw petals, boy was supposed to blow bubbles...thank goodness i brought an additional bottle of bubbles just in case...so she was going in...blowing bubbles then..the 3 kiddies and us had some fun moments outside playing wih the bubbles waiting for the music to cue us in....then for the march in, the 3 kiddies did SO WELL! walked at a good pace and really had fun with it (so i've been told anyway...i was trying not to trip over my dress walking in!! ;p )

racherlle

hi lyn!

glad that every thing went smoothly for you!

do remember to share with us ur pics once u get them back..
haha i'm still in cloud 9 though my wedding was over abt 2 weeks back.. still in dreamland! can't move back to reality!

are u going on honeymoon straightaway?
hehee i can't wait for my honeymoon in july!!

lilyn22

i couldn't eat at all during the dinner..not sure if it was cuz of nerves or the super-sized burger i had....just as well, no need for me to touch up lipstick that way

i went up to change quickly and put on my RED lipstick..my makeup artist was such a sweetheart, he actually loaned me his lipstick brush for my red lipstick when he realised that i forgot to bring mine...SUCH a darling!

just before the 2nd march our catering manager popped in to see us! it was a sunday and she really didn't need to do that...she was lovely, getting down on her knees n adjusting my train and everything...

we took a peek at the wedding video they were showing b4 our 2nd march in..it looked fabulous! our videographer did such a fab job with it..can't wait till i see the full thing properly! the champagne pouring went well..no incident..as so scared we'd get a champagne fountain collapse (i've heard bad stories b4!!)

after tt, we stayed on stage n did our speeches..our parents (both sets) were really moved by what we said...i had ppl coming up to me at the end of the dinner telling me it was a wonderful speech too! ppl laughed and clapped at all the rite moments..it was SO good and made my 3 weeks of writing the speech completely worthwhile!

we then had our first dance..it was funny..we started out ok then the music suddenly stopped! we hd a bit of a laught cuz we thot that some of our friends had sabo-ed us (they r supposed to join in in the 2nd half of the song..they were VERY reluctant about this!) but it was just a technical glitch...and the music came on again after that....the first dance was beautiful...MY PARENTS joined in to dance too! they moved around the floor beautifully..much better than us! my hubby ended up humming that song for the next 2 days..hehehe...

lilyn22

we went round table to table photos then and my dad was in his element..i could see he was so proud and happy...thanking everyone for coming (ppl he didn't even know! all my hubby's famly's guests!haha!! )...

we got sabo-ed by his friends after the photo taking tho...they made hubby drink a beer with a raw egg in it.....made us stand up on two chairs and kiss non-stop whilst they called out yam seng for a REALLY LONG TIME..and then ppl at another table joined in to yell yam seng too to make us keep going when the 1st table ran out of breath...it was hilarious! another table made us drink wine with chilli and beer in it...gross, but in the spirit of the day i downed it like a tequila shot! haha..i felt pretty awful after that, esp since i hadn't eaten anything!

after tt it all went so quickly...the conrad ppl asked us to stand out by the door and wait to greet ppl as they were leaving...they were lovely, gave us hot tea and even gave hubby n me hot towels (they could see he was a little bit high i think!! hahaha!!!)

lilyn22

i got to hang around some of my friends after tt who hadn't left yet...all the ones who travelled from australia and fr KL...it was so nice just to take a moment with them..

at that point hubby's friends dragged him upstairs to the presidential suite and started some games! he was SO red and flushed at this point...drunk i think!!!! i think they were pretty sore he didn't do anything during his buck's nite so they were wanting to get him big time...stripped him and video-ed him! haha..i was downstairs saying my goodbyes at the time and then i went into the room seeing him like that...hahaha..

overall it was SUCH a good nite..better than i EVER expected, and everyone was SO lovely..the service at conrad was impeccable!!!! they made it such a smooth sailing event....and to be surrounded by friends and family and all that love coming fr everyone was just amazing...i can't wait till i see the AD photos n video!!!

angeldust

hi Maez - yupz when i think of my proposal ring and how it made hubby kind of POK GAI for a while.. heart pain for him but also bask myself in his sweetness... HA HA HA HA..

diamond - yes. They bought it without my knowledge.

Panda - yeps I din expect mum &amp; dad to buy also one. u know the story lah.. shant say more..

lilyn22

hiya racherlle! thanks so much! i feel like i'm still floating too!
and i've got another dinner to organise in KL for the end of june! ;p

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">Hi clouds, angel, pandalic, daman,
Finally got my hubby to look at my CPU &amp; apparantly 2 of the capacitors had blown or something. Hiaz, gonna send it back to Cybermind today, hopefully can get it back end of the end. *Prays Hard* Luckily my hard disk looks fine. Phew.

maez, pandalic, yuki, diamond,
Are we all on the topic of jewellery now? Hee. I just went to some midnight sale thingy last sat at Goldheart cos' they were having 50% storewide sale. Agree with Pandalic that i think some of the prices were marked up slightly becos i vaguely rem seeing a similar necklace before the sale at $300 cheaper. *scratches head* I dont mind citigems if they have good buys. =) I like a necklace from Aspial, but sort of feel they are overpriced.

maez

heehehe angel.. yep yep!

panda.. *nod* i'll prob revise the budget as it goes along.. all my reno and stuff.. and i prefer to spend on travelling so may have to compromise a little, but no prob anyways.. cos so big diamond also too kua zhang to wear on casual/daily basis hahaha

princess! u are back! yep, fingers crossed for u that everything's fine too..

wallflower

maez ~ tats interesting! so tennis jewellery do have sum "connection" with tennis hehe...

harpie ~ i passed by anna nucci last nite, managed to see some bLiNg
but FH's hungry so din stop to c c... wait till i get my hands on them tis sat...

marnie

Our dear bunnies are off on their boink boink horneymoon!

K Girls, on to serious stuff now. I need your heeelllpppp! I need some recommendations for a cheap and chearful ID/contractor. I have a phobia with them actually so anyone coming with recommendations is good just about now. Thanks!

wtan

hi hi designfreak..
actually even thou u shift in last yr or long time back..an-chuan is also require as it's custom belief for the couple getting married lor..i think up to individual lah..u check with both ur parents ba...

hi hi vnn..
oic..okok..wish u gd luck in the balloting at Kallang site..i guess moderate budget arrangement will be gd lor..coz sometimes gd &amp; cheap is really hard to find also..hehe..

hi hi Honey..
okok..hope u have a gd time selecting the photos..i can tell u, it makes more "cents" to top up ur photos in JB lor..okok, i will PM u my MUA contact..oh..if u want the parents to "officially" meet up b4 ur ROM, also can have ur food-tasting early lor..as long as u do it by 7th mth, then it's gd..can let them settle the stuff ur mum will be asking for guo-da-li &amp; also ur future in-laws can also know what to prepare lor..more time for both side lah..at least when they meet at ROM also not that "pie-say" coz 1st time meet ba..hehe..just my personal view lah..

jklim4642

panda &amp; maez, i guess women all like jewellery... and more so for diamonds.

tennis bracelet is nice &amp; classic and versatile also. if it is set in 4 claws, next time, can convert it to a half tennis necklace also.

phy_o

How's the preparations?
I'm sick again. Taking MC today. Can't bring myself to work after all the cleaning and not enough rest.