(2006) Brides of year 2006

kanchi_maya

have been MIA for a long time..busy with work...... How's everyone?

wow.......seem like everyone is getting ready for the big day.......I haven't done anything except for the album is ready to collect....

Hi leafmemories,
think the pic with umbrella will be quite nice....my friend oso had to carry it......it looks quite nice...........smthing different...

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">Pandalic, clouds, angeldust, Yuki &amp; the rest
My computer crashed on sun night, so sad. Hiaz. I cant live w/out my com. *sobz* Post more later.</font>
kao_cry.gif

wallflower

morning everyone! body aching all over, resumed aerobics+yoga last nite. punishment for not exercising for at least 6 mths, ever since quitted boxercise hehe...

princess ~ no sob, it will be fine soon... btw, r u with ikoma now? tot i saw ur nick in another forum

xfiles_wolvie

maez-i just pm-ed u. hehe

angeldust-the pic i tink gt to wait abit hor. hehe. or if u eager to see then can go far east to see. hehe. i will try to get the pic out by this wkend. paiseh. will pm u the link.

clouds-oh yaya...nw i rem liao..hehee..

yuki-ok can...will send u the pic as well.

abt da wife shoes...yayaya...cos i like more bling bling. hahaha

count

Hi Tiglet,
Which florist are u using and how much are they quoting u?

U can PM me if u want the contact for Fostr*. So far they have been quite gd, perhaps cos the lady whom i'm liaising with has done a number of events for my company. But it is difficult to get hold of them sometimes, cos they're on at events and all

Blur,
I also haven't lost weight. Gaining weight in fact! Went for fittings and my gowns were tight ard the tummy area! Blergh!

clouds_54

<font color="0000ff">Morning all!

Hi Daman

Don't forget me too, me wanna see pics of bling bling shoes ;)

Harpie - yes! That's the shop at the escalator that I was telling you earlier. They hv a number of bling shoes. The last I saw, the height of the shoes are about 3 - 3.5 inches. Was looking for 4 inches then. Quick quick, show me the pic

Hi Panda

Yah, sort of decided what we wanted
Did you manage to go down to paradox? Heee.... my MIL seldom shops. Even if she shops, she goes with my FIL. So, hv not gone shopping with her yet, but will be bringing her to buy her clothes lar.

Hi Princess - Oh dear
. Getting a new pc in this case?</font>

yuki31

princess - wat happened? dun be too upset... will u be getting a new pc or ??

OL - where u went for aerobics+yoga?
wow u so hardworking ....keke :p me now taking lunchtime yoga ....haha

Da Man - thanks

wallflower

hi yuki, me taking aeroyoga (is there such a term??) at a CC. cheap &amp; gd. in fact for all my past exercise courses always at CC
me cant exercise during lunchtime coz not much time, and my office is surrounded by factories haha... where u taking yoga?

yummymilk

hi count, your pm is not activated. I settled on Rent*Deco. was deciding between this &amp; Country Florist as they gave me the best packages. They're pretty flexible &amp; willing to work within my budget. what's your budget?

can u pm me your contact?

maez

hi Daman thanks!

to all.. many jewellery shops 50% haha GSS is juz wonderful, wonderful!! hahaha..

oh, gold price now very high also, so its a good time to sell...

xiaobai1

Hi skk and vvn

what is the difference between jie mei and bridesmaid??? I am confused liao. I am refering to the one that comes to my house to tekan the bridegroom preventing him from coming into my house so easily, let him come in after some games and the bridegroom give them hongbao then can come in. So that person is called jie mei or bridesmaid???

Hi Designfreak

I am also doing the an chuan thingy, but it is done a few days before the customary wedding date. The procedure cannot be done so early. Once I get the an chuan procedure from my fengshui master, I will email to u all if anyone needs the an chuan instructions. Hee Hee

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

ashlady

Hi Huan,
heh..I've never heard of such a custom. The bedding stuffs are bought by my FH &amp; myself. But if they offer to buy, why not? Save money..haha..provided u get to choose what u want la.

xynn

Hi all brides! i have finished my indoor PS. The outdoor PS was postponed as it was raining heavily. Hence, have to pay the fees for MUA etc again. Things to bring for PS, from my personal experience: wedding heels, coloured shirts for groom, water, do research on the kind of hairstyles you like.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">princess - alamak.. no wonder din hear from you.. quoting from angel, are you going to send your pc for operation soon? or complete overhaul?

clouds - i go out with ILs kinda frequently.. coz they shop and eat alot.. kekeke.. we just settled her day dress on sunday.. left the evening one.. after hers, then settle my mum's.. then the fathers and brothers.. GSS now, good time to bring her to shop.. =)

maez - hey dear, dun get conned by the 50% off in jewellery shops.. while some are genuine, some actually raise the price before discounts.. esp for diamonds.. so sale or no sale, must make sure you arent paying more than necessary ok?</font>

maez

<font color="0077aa">panda hehe.. yeah yeah i got it! actually yesterday i went down to my fren's shop n told her abt the prices that i checked out. she also said that the prices dun sound like 50%.. </font>

flipfreak

hi xiaobai. the so call tekan of the groom will depend on ur dialect. not every dialect has such a custom. my wife is a teochew and my MIL says we are not going to do that on the day. YAY!

btw, the way the FS master an chuan will be very different from the usual way. they will see day, time, direction and so on. i am looking at the extremely simplified version.

yuki31

OL- i am not sure on aeroyoga
...i juz started taking yoga oso ... for mine , the yoga is conducted at our office compound so it is alright during lunchtime, we invited the instructor to teach us ...

pandalic - i went soo kee n brought some jewellery ,dunno got kana cheated or not leh ...haha my FH say the price reasonable so we juz buy .....

lilic

<font color="0077aa">yuki, guess if you think the prices are right then ok lar.. coz i had an experience where the particular jewellery pc i wanted cost the same before and during sale.. so i pretty skeptical abt jewellery sale..

but of coz, like wat i told maez, there are geniuine sales around.. =) yupz, gss is def a good time to shop..

wat did you get from soo kee? i like a tennis necklace from sookee brillant rose range.. kekek, but the price is exhorbitant.. 24k i think.. *faint*</font>

wtan

hi hi vnn..
but u will find very satisfied aft ur search for the best deal lor..haha..but hor..i believe one thing lah..cannot be too stingy lor..if not, wedding day will rain leh..so I very scare lor..i think give &amp; take lah..as long as u r pleased with ur search..i think it’s the most impt lor..i think up to individual lah..coz my parents, esp my granny is ard so they are more pa-tan lor..we just follow lor..but bcoz I started my research as &amp; when I think of anything…so I dun find it very stressful also..as long as u r in time for the wedding preps..then it’s ok..i think depending on each custom lor..coz diff custom got diff practice..some also requires flowergirl or pageboy..so u can double check with ur mum or MIL ba..

hi hi skk..
I understand how u feel lor..relax..u r in time for the preps b4 the 7th mth..seems like u got most of the things done..as for printing of invites..u can go over to the printer I recommended to the rest ba..hope it’s helpful..cheers~

Hi hi Honey..
I m sure ur photos must be very nicely taken lor..coz the scenery &amp; views in JB will be very diff from our PS locations here..hehe..when can u get ur photos ready?surely u must be very anxious to see them lor..hehe..MUA ahh..i can recommend to u my MUA, she’s from my BS..but very pro..i think u can call her to find out more abt the charges ba..if u r keen, I will drop u an email..cheers~

Hi hi xiaobai..
Oh, u started working ah?where are u working ahh?u r in time la..no worries..tea dress is usually selected nearer ur AD..not so fast one..i think u shd start working on ur wedding songs as well as ur table list ba..at least try to get the address of those friends u r inviting ready lor..hey, I hvnt recd ur email leh..also ur furniture photos..i want to see leh..hehe..cannot share with me ahh..hmm..

Hi hi huey..
Wow..long time didn’t hear from u leh..try to catch up ba, u r not too late lor..hehe..usually aft ur PS then u will feel the heat..hehe..

Hi hi designfreak..
I think it depends on ur belief la..tell u ahh..we didn’t get any one to jump also..i guess for my case, maybe pretty rush also to find kids to jump..haha..coz our An-Chuan is one day b4 the wedding..the date given by our fengshui master..so hubby got MIL to help An lor..u got to check this with ur fengshui master also..hehe..

yuki31

pandalic - Brillant rose too exp for me and the discount are not applicable to brilliant rose...
24k for a necklance is very exp leh...haha so i only got a pair of diamond earring from brilliant rose. i brought 2 necklaces , a bracklet n 2 earring...haha
some will be used as Si Dian Jin..haha

silentelf

Hi gals.. dropping by to say 'Hi!' to everyone... hoping everyone is enjoying your preparations..

Hey summer.. cool! excited to see your photos rite? hee.. my PS will be 2 weeks later. I have chosen my AD WG &amp; my MTM EG is ready too.. hoping it will not rain that day. Where did u go for your outdoor photoshoot? care to share? :D

maez

hi yuki, tennis means full round with diamonds in one row.. like this!
im thinking of getting half tennis bracelet only.. boh lui leh.. :p
374234.jpg

silentelf

Hi storm.. sorrie i forgot to reply your question, hope u dun mind.

I rented my Kua at $298 &amp; paid $100 as deposit.

For those who are interested, here's are some info I gathered:

- 1 design 1 size (if u like this design, doesnt mean it have your size)
- Traditional red kua cost $268-298 (not sure whether 298 is the max)
- Those exaggerating one cost $500+ (ppl choose the exaggerating kind is mainly for 'status', the more detailed, the more expensive.)
- The salesperson will take your measurement (mainly hip) then recommend you the design with your sizes.

As for the design wise, here's my findings lah (based on wat she recommended for my size):

- Pop up Dragon &amp; Phoenix (no sequins)
- 'Flat' Dragon &amp; Phoenix (no sequins)
- Flowers (no dragon &amp; Phoenix, no sequins)
- Flowers with sequins

Cuttings:
- Tapered
- Non Tapered (straight cut &amp; abit loose)
- Tapered &amp; more fitting to the body (a bit body hugging)

I tried about 4 pieces and I chose the 'flat' dragon &amp; phoenix. Cutting is the tapered &amp; a bit body hugging kind.

The pop up dragon &amp; phoenix make me look a bit 'fierce'. 'Flat' kind is quite soft so make me look more like a bride..hehe.. Flowers design are very sweet actually but becoz it is non tapered so its abit loose for me..

So i suggest, u gals go and try the cuttings..very fun!

wallflower

maez ~ y is it called tennis leh? any link with the sports? :p

yuki ~ ur company paid for the instructor? its my first attempt at yoga last nite, i felt like a piece of wood going to break anytime haha.

yuki31

maez - wow then it going to be exp rite? keke :p
ur MIL will be getting a set for u?

can i check if our mum will give us a set as drowy as well? my mum ask me to choose some but i not sure if i wan 2 set. My MIL told me that the Si Dian Jin cannot include earring ...i not sure y.

vvn

Xiaobai: those you are referring to are jie meis. according to my mom, bridesmaid is someone who's going to be 'taking care' of you for the whole day. like make sure your make-up don't smudge, your shoes are worn with the correct outfit, your train won't kena stepped by guests etc. we cantonese, so she says must have. i'm planning either get my best friend from hk or my 13yr old sis lor. not sure about other dialect groups?

Wendy: ha... is it? u mean if i stingy it will rain on my wedding? so far now we only settled Bridal studio and my banquet venue! haven't found my house yet, really hoping those blocks at kallang mrt are going to be opened for balloting soon! will try to settle as much as possible before the 7th months come then at least i won't be so stresed out in Oct!

yuki31

OL - my company pay $50 for us n we pay the rest but i feel tat it is not cheap leh ....haha... total cost for 12 lessons is $120. CC my friend told me $60 can already but since at office so nvr mind at least i dun need to travel ...haha

at the start a lot stretching ... next day my body ache ...haha now better a bit .. me at my 7th lessons.

jklim4642

Yuki &amp; Maez, from the picture, it seems that the tennis bracelet is a 4 claws design. Certain shops like Soo kee, only carries the 3 claws design. Each has its own merits.

At Soo Kee, a 6.7 pointer 3 claws tennis bracelet will cost about $2735 after 40% discount (not the brillant rose range though). A similar size one at GoldHeart will sell at $4100 after 40% + 10% (AMEX/VIP card) discount. The difference in prices is due to the clarity of the diamonds in the bracelet. The clarity for the former ranges from VS2 to SI1, while the latter one is of a better quality from VS1 to VS2. (under the right lighting, u can tell the difference!) Colour wise, they are in the G/H range for both shops &amp; they are all abt 56 facets.

Like wat pandalic has mentioned, brilliant rose range of tennis necklace is very ex because the clarity &amp; colour are much better &amp; the facets are more also. Give you another eg, Goldheart's Celestial range of tennis bracelet of 6.7 pointer will cost at least 10k after 10% discount!!

So, it really depends on the individual's budget and willingness to spend. Do not just look at the prices only, do enquire on the colour, clarity &amp; cut also. One shop is cheaper than another for a reason (if it is a genuine sale item). "Yi4 Fen1 Qian2 Yi4 Fen1 Huo4"

jklim4642

Yuki, some parents are supersitious &amp; are not willing to include earrings as Si Dian Jin. The reason being, earrings will "hook away all their money to your side"

yuki31

diamond - yap i believe that she think tat way so my mum say she can get for me 2 pair of earring ...haha 1 to match her set another to match my MIL set

lilic

<font color="0077aa">maez dear, thanks for replying.. i like your pic.. nice.. *bling bling* check your email.. =)

yuki, good for you.. can buy sdj without your IL around.. kekeke, whether your mum will buy for you it's up to her.. also, it need not be a set i guess... my FMIL and mum said i dun have to buy a set.. so prob i will just get one/two items from each of them.. kekek... then can buy bigger better stones.. =P

ger, alternatively, can ask your mummy to combine budget and buy you good solitare studs.. then can match anything..

yuki31

pandalic - i not sure if it is right to do it or not but my FH say is ok so we juz shop ard n get it
i got the solitare studs frm brilliant rose ...keke :p the rest too exp dare not think ....haha

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hee, no worries lar.. your FH rules mah.. =P BR solitaire studs aint cheap too.. kekeek.. i checked b4..

my mum bought me a pair early this year.. only GIA certified.. it was very very affordable.. only 1.4k.. almost 60% off.. total of 0.7ct, vs1, color g and cut was good.. now waiting for steal like this again.. =P</font>

jklim4642

pandalic, wow! the earrings are really a steal buy! that works out to be 0.35 ct per piece.

so, i bet if it is a piece only of total 0.7 ct, the price wld be dunno how many times more...