(2006) Brides of year 2006

panicmode

Hi 30sept brides.. when must we send out wedding cards? My mom says before 7th motnh - when is lunar 7th month?
I still haven't done any of those traditional stuff yet...

lilic

<font color="0077aa">princess, yupz.. i am waiting for the sale too.. wanted to get a coach bag.. do you think they will have sale too??? kekekek.. i going to taipei early june.. hopefully this time round, i got time to shop around... fiance likes shoes from kenneth cole.. so sad the shop in ngee ann city closed down.. so thinking of going taipei and find.. kekekek..

hey, let me know when you going to check out ribbon's contact.. can meet up.. wahhahah</font>

storm8345

hello everyone!! miss you girls so much. another 6mths+ to our wedding. heehee...

silentelf, how much did you rent for your kua? i'm thinking of wearing a tea dress or a kua but seems like kua is very ex. now no $$ to spend.

sweets, so good to go overseas. i'm dying to get out of singapore for a while. seems like going to have a died brain soon... ^_^

anyone has any good interior designer/contractor to recommend? going to sign 1st appoint for my flat on 30 may. so trying to get a contractor 1st so that by the time 2nd appt, reno can start immediately. how much do you think i shld put for 5-rm reno + furnitures?? now no mood to do anything liaoz... feeling the stress.

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">pandalic,
U are travelling again for work so soon?! U only just came back leh. Coach shld have sale soon, cos' the last time i saw their sale was like in Sept period last yr.
I really really hope i can make it for my Paris trip, cant wait to get my LV bag. hee. Gucci annual sale is in Dec, though. Now that u mentioned it, i realised Kenneth Cole in Ngee Ann City has been replaced by m)phosis, rite? Hubby has such big feet (size 10.5) &amp; he managed to find a nice pair at Aldo for our wedding. Very hard to find shoes for him. =) How long will u be gone this time?

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">daman,
i just happen to scroll up &amp; see you post. $150 KFC voucher for purchase of the TV ah? Wah, sure eat till siao man. haha. I prefer home threatre leh. :p</font>

lilic

<font color="0077aa">maez/princess, i replied your emails...

princess, i will be gone for abt 1 week i think.. yah.. infact i should be travelling twice a month.. just that i am new.. so currently gotta follow big boss' schedule.. i am hoping they put me in japan mkt too.. then i can go grab burberry blue label.. wahhahah

hey, gucci has sales either 2 or 3 times a year leh.. gucci distributor used to be my client.. wahahha.. the recent tote bag collections not bad too.. shucks, i like machiam want everything.. =(

when you going paris??? if you are, i will wait.. i want LV and prada okok??? =p i will go check out LV prices in taipei then let you know? prada is cheaper in taipei.. =)

no lar.. kenneth cole was opp m)phosis.. if you wanna get kenneth cole for your hubby, can let me know.. i can jio jio the sales pp there.. they should be quite friendly.. so if i buy and they dun fit well, i can bring back for exchange the next time.. for designs, can check www.kennethcole.com anything, email me lar.. </font>

email4adel

hi pinkbunny,

yes i am keepin my fingers crossed... i had a previous car accident too.. err.. on 2005 may.. i was driving alone my 3rd time in my life after gettin my license for 1 week.. knocked onto a motorist.. got so scared.. the TP only came back to me after a year... i was FINED for 12 points n $200...

Pregnancy - Let natural takes its place la.. NOT FOR ME LA.. hahaha... i will prevent it at all costs... cos cant imagine how much damages i wil cause when i have so much radiation on it....!!

HAPPY WESAK DAY!!!

meowysp

storm,
congrats on getting ur flat. Can understand your stress. My 5-rm is under renovation now. Very stressed man.

Actually budget is dependent on what kind of design u want for your flat and how much u are willing to spend to achieve that dream home. Some nice-to-haves but not-so-practical things can be forego at times lor.

For me n hubby, esply hubby, he likes to have a nice cosy home where he can plonk down n enjoy at the end of the day so we are spending abt $30k on reno plus another $20k on furnishing and appliances.

Maybe u want to do some research on this website: http://renotalk.com/forum/index.php
Some of the info there are quite useful. Another Nov bride reismione is oso there.
She is using the same nick while I m using another (chocolate).

Hope to see ya there.

babygera

phy, yeah they sell in sets of fork, spoon, knife all those very cheap onli i think less than $10 if i remember correctly and they sell cups and bowls all those for $1 each set... very nice ones

can go there see lor anyway today harvey norman sales start at expo also

marnie

What's this now? Getting preggers and all now? *shudders*

Okay. Not that I have anything against getting pregnant and having babies. I think no one can really be prepared for a baby despite all the mental, emotional and financial preps the couple have gone through. To create a life together is just a lifetime experience and commitment. I think I would make a great mom someday. I know Meraj and I would love to have kids (he's great with my sister's kids by the way!) but we want to be as ready as we can to provide for him. It's just a progression and we adopt the mantra, if it happens, it happens, if not, then it won't. Life always comes full circle, doesn't it? (Wahhh....I sound sooo cheeeem on a public holiday).

Anyways, I'm celebrating Mother's Day with my mom (for obvious reasons cos' MIL is in London already). She is undergoing radiotherapy so we're getting food (she's craving for veg pizza) so that's what we're having amongst others).

jklim4642

LV prices are cheaper in Paris. Such that students are paid to help to buy the LV bags by chinese and the latter will sell to make a profit. thus, the boutique in paris will always be on lookout of such students (who pays in lots of cash) and will warn to hand them over to the police.

so there are LV fans here too. me too. actuaLly, i only like LV.. it is one of those few brands where the Singapore boutique nv go on sale.. unlike gucci, salvatore ferragmo, coach, etc. (but i must admit i like ferragmo shoes also)

chomecc

hey blurblur.. sigh..i have put away my wedding preps for sometime.. then realise that now is MAY le and starting to freak out again once i realise that our wedding is soon!! but i haven gone to my first appointment at the BS yet.. so at least you are settled for your gowns..

so gers.. any advice for me when i go for my first appointment.. i duno what i want so i am afraid now my gown wil turn out to be a disaster..

hey vonn.. hugxxss.. how are you??? how was your selection?? did it go well??/

frais darling.. i know.. sigh... but never mind.. i think the replacement that he will get will surely be as good and will definitely make your wedding special and meaningful de..

hmm.. maybe you wan to give TWP a call?? but i dun think they have forgottten about you lah..

sweeetsssssss.... hugxxssss... muackkksss.. miss you sooo soooo much leh.. how are you?? envy you.. kekke. travelling all around the world and getting a ring in New York which you must definitley show it to us when you get it.. and we must catch up when you are back

ivy..... my Fh has been talking about going to a workshop but has been procasinating till now.. can you get me a form too?? thanks

chomecc

hey stormmmm darling..

how have you been?? so long never tok to u le.. how is ur tooth??

hey i wan to go and rent a kua too..

yongee86

Hi joyousonline, i think the address is blk 503 jurong west st 51. can't remember the unit no though. just walk down the stretch and you will see the shop.

aussino is having sale starting from 12 may as well. do check it out if anyone is keen.

phy_o

Hi Jasmine,

Your rejected photos look great!
Your PG really knows how to capture a lot of moments. No wonder you topped up to 5k.

Must be worth it! Which BS is yours again?

phy_o

Hi Ausra,

I went to choose iron yesterday - got a relative to buy for me. Haha ... I chose tefal a light weight iron. Think I'll get the ironing board from downstairs then carry upstairs. Carrefour was selling the iron board for $45, I wonder downstairs how much?

count

Ivy, Chomecc, Frais
Are u gals all going to sign up for the same marriage prep course in April? It will be so fun! More interesting when the pple in ur class are fun and u know them

Oh btw, if u all want to attend the August class or a particular instructor, u have to specify on the form at the top so they can process the form accordingly

Sweets
So lucky u get to be in NY! Did u go shopping at their premium outlet in Woodsbury? Lots of branded stuff at great prices

Chomecc
When will ur dresses be ready? I'm supposed to visit Kim early June. Feel like asking her to make more dresses for me... Cos cannot find nice dresses OTR or too ex. So tempted!

frais_bleu

hey count, thanks for your PM...it's a good idea that we all attend the same class...hahaha....it'll be fun!!

Hey gals...what do you say abt tht?? joining the wedding prep course together?? if anyone is interested to join me let me know, we can do the necessary arrangement together....well, at least we can attend the class together though not our wedding.

jiamin_loh

Just to keep you all updated...My last day will be next week liao...
Quite excited about going over to BKK soon by end of May'06...
Rite now started packing up my stuffs so that won't have to wait until last minute...

Take care

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">pandalic,
U got mail! Travelling twice a mth is tough! But hey, its good work exp, &amp; a good chance to go shopping overseas! haha. Gucci has sales afew times a year ah, wow, didnt know that. I thot its an annual thing, now i must keep my eyes peeled for the sale word. If my paris trip is confirmed, it shld be in Sept bah. Im most prob getting the ribera mongrammed bag, its cute! There's a 6-wk waiting list here, though. Will tok to u more abt shopping when i email u again later. hee. Njoy your weekend, dear! </font>

count

Me! Going to shop with Kim in June. My mum and sister are making dresses with her. What time is ur appt? Mine is at 2pm...

What are u making with Kim, Frais babe?

frais_bleu

wa count, you hv already booked a timing with her...me hv not leh...will call her this week n decide the time....summerkitty might join me for the trip. hey, i was wondering if 1 hour is enough for us to shop for the type of material we want leh....oh, me making my teadress with her, wht abt u? btw, which day of the june??

stefylim

hi sam...take care n do remember to drop in when u got the chance yeah...

hi panda/elven_princess...wah we toking abt buying LV/Gucci/Prada...hee hee hee...last yr when i go paris bought a LV n a Gucci but find LV much cheaper in Paris whereas for Gucci not really if SG got sale then its cheaper to get it here....
can i ask if Prada is cheaper in Italy...wan to go there for HM in dec n I love the new Prada range...hee hee hee...

polgara

Hi hi!!!

Wow, lyn, your help is sure good timing.

I'm trying to rush out a schedule for use and ta da!!! you put it on the web for all. beautiful!!!

Now only need to change the timing. hee hee.

Thanks again Lyn!!!

yongee86

hi gers,

i saw a very nice quilt cover at aussino. it is lavender color and has the embrodiery of "The Happy Couple". For those who don't need the traditional "Xi" type of bedsheet, can go for that. but it is not cheap, cost $79.90. i bought the set although it is so expensive. it looks really lovely.

orange2007

oh~ no... my FH and I just bought wedding bands with blue sapphire from S------ jewelry. the salesperson told us that the wedding bands in this collection are made of pure platinum.. but later i read in their online product catalog and found out that they are just 18k white gold. i almost faint. i paid 1,788 for mine and 1,688 for his...!!!!! god help me...

phy_o,
thanks!! my BS is J&amp;M design &amp; photography.. my PG is previously from sophia weddings.. many comment that he likes to take those journalistic photos.. capturing the various expressions..

ysilveer

Hi all, i'm new in this thread. Just firmed my AD to be 1st Nov.

Hi Bleu,

I'm interested in marriage preparation course. Can u fill me in with more details please.

joyousonline

hi jasmine,
seen ur pics. they are so nice..

hey all,
yesterday i went to see bedframe at nova and cellini..saw one at cellini which i like..so will go down and place order later..and then i went to taka to buy a 7 piece pots n pans WMF brand one for my new house..stainless steel type

gini09

Just like to share my unhappy experience with Melrose Bake house www.melrose.com.sg

First thing in the morning at around 8.30am, my husband received the cakes that we ordered from Melrose Bake House delivered to his place. To his astonishment, he checked that the 50 boxes of mini cake that we ordered turned out to be mini tarts instead. A totally wrong order!! He called the bake house to inform, but the delivery man keep insisting that we have ordered mini tarts instead of cakes without even checking. This was really uncalled for.

As our dowry day was on a public holiday (Vesak day), we were unable to get hold of the office staff to further clarify. What is worse is that my mum was rather unhappy about giving tarts instead of cakes. The delivery man offered to get back the 50 boxes of tarts and deliver the 50 boxes of cakes on Sunday which is mother’s day and my mum would not have the time to deliver the cakes to my relatives that day. In the end we have no choice but to accept the tarts as the factory is unable to bake 50 boxes of cakes.

However on the after our dowry day, we managed to get hold of an office staff and spoke to the so called operations manager, Ms Wanda, to our dismay, she is also rather unprofessional. In the first place, she ONLY offered to compensate 2 boxes of the assorted cream cake which she claimed is out of her own pocket. I was rather upset and told her this is unsatisfactory. A mistake made by them for the ordering of 50 boxes and all she can offer is less than 10% of the quantity. Thereby, I told her I will write to the press and the way she replied is to go ahead and asked me to think about the 2 boxes of compensation and to call her back. To my anger, I told her there is nothing to think about as I have already felt this is unsatisfactory and I wish to speak to her boss (whom she claimed is out of town). I asked for her boss’s full name and all she could tell me is Mr Ang. She claims that she is rather junior in this company (after further conversation I realized she have been with the company for 3 years) and all she knows is her boss’s surname Mr Ang which I feel is rather ironic. How can a staff not know their boss’s name at all? After which, she say she will check and call me back.

After about ten minutes, she called back to say that they can only compensate 7 boxes of the cream cake which they will deliver today. After checking with my in laws, we decided to ask for refund in cash instead which she claimed is not possible. All in all I feel the bake house is not professional in handling my complain, I’ve told her if she cannot handle me she can put me to her boss which she’s rather reluctant

I am not really that particular with the compensation. 7 boxes of cakes only cost around $50. However what I want is to seek justice. Our dowry day which was only once in a lifetime, was already upset by the bake house and instead of correcting the order immediately, they claimed it was our own mistake. After they admitted it was their fault on the next day, the way they handled my complaint was also unprofessional

xiaobai1

Hi Wendy

Are u sure the cakes must be sent by my hubby directly either he take a cab or use his relative car to send the cakes to my house? I have told him last night and he was unhappy. He told me why so ma fan. Since the cake shop already provide free delivery liao. I think I have to check with my parents regarding this matter. Anyway, thanks for ur advice.

For the cake issue, I have tried out the marble cake from bengalwan solo on vesak day (friday) and it really taste quite nice. Next week will try prima deli cake before we decide to get the cakes from which shop. I guess if both shop cakes taste quite similar, then the pricing will be the deciding factor liao.

I have the soft copy with me, but hubby don't allow me to distribute our photos on internet. So think it is better once I get the album in July, and show u all the actual album face to face. Think Wendy can organise another gathering to meet to see each other wedding album. Will be a fun and exciting event and at the same time, u all can also see the new faces too. Hee Hee ;)

Hi Sweet Kar and all other brides in this thread

Think I will get the contacts from those who are coming to join us next week lor. Don't need to be so kan cheong. Am I right? By the way, are there any more people coming to join us on 27th May 2006 at 1.30pm? We are going to the accessories shopping event. Anymore people coming??? Hee Hee

And sorry can't join u all yesterday, hope that u all enjoy urselves. And Really hope that I can meet u all at the next gathering. Praying Hard.

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

tissuebox1

today is another hot date for wedding.

i think this morning i have heard 4 car horning. 2 at abt 8plus, 2 at abt 10plus (dun know same car or not)

jenzhuzhu

hi panicmode

For me, i will be sending out my invitation card sumtime in begin July coz lunar 7th mth start frm 25 July, if i nvr rem wrongly n lunar 7th mth actually stretch all the way till mid Sept

As for my traditional stuff, i will be buying it in end Jun n only be doing the Guo Da Li 3 days b4 my AD coz its wat the temple had given me

summerkitty

hihi chomecc &amp; frais... found the form at ROM website. thanks.

my bf doesn't wanna attend leh ... how long is the course ? how many hrs in total ?

hm, must i call Kim myself or just tag along wif u ? will she be ok ?

phy_o

Hi antonia,

I bought that too!

Hi Geraldine,

I went down to Metro sale today. Bought the forks and spoon at 9.90. Saw the same thing at Tangs but I think it is a dollar cheaper. Bought 3 for $10 floor mats, 5 for $5.25 hand towels and kitchen towels - 10 for $5.25. Quite cheap. Or am I navie? Hehe ... quite happy with my purchases. Spent abt $80.

phy_o

Hi Asura,

Saw that rice container u talked abt. Bought it from downstairs provision shop today morning. Very crowde our market. Happening man. Bought it for $32. She said can put 10 kg of rice. Haha ...

frais_bleu

hey kitty, if u also wanna get ur material then it's better for you to give her a call n tell her to fix the hour either before or after my appt with her, in tht case we can go together then after urs or mine we still can meet up....count is also meeting her in june leh...her appt is at 2pm.

i'm not sure abt the duration of the course...

Hey Ivy, please fill us in with info on the marriage preparation course ok? Thanks...

Hi winnie, i'm not sure of the details myself...i'll need to check out n let you know....btw, wht info on tht do u want??

yongee86

phy &amp; gera, ahaha.. i'm glad I'm not the only one who spent so much on bedsheets.

wow, didn't know rice container so expensive. we bought one from a shop in jurong east that sells all sorts of kitchen stuff, like pots and pans, bowls, utensils, etc. I don't think we spent that much on the rice container though. mine is a red color plastic container with the 'man' outside. i'm quite skeptical about wood stuff especially yesterday news on some flats got invaded by termiates. better check your wooden rice container once in a while ya!

can I just check how many of you have inbuilt oven in your kitchen and what brand did you get? we 'inherit' an old oven from previous seller. It has power tripped. Now thinking if should buy new one or just get a serviceman to see it first.