(2006) Brides of year 2006

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hi hi, dearie angel, you take care.. i saw liao.. email you tomolo..

princess, you sounded like me.. i dunno how to do housework too.. wahhaha.. but then bf and i agree liao.. i will look after my kidz during the initial 3 years.. but with a part time maid for housework.. think i cannot tahan staying at home all the time.. =p

jacquise, i agree with ribbon.. if your new mgr is nice, i think telling her early is better.. sure she will appreciate your honesty.. i told my superior during the interview and reminded her on the first day.. they now already blocked my probable leave period.. and colleagues are happy for me and willing to cover me then.. =)</font>

kaye

Lipstar,
think I had moved many many times....
each time is at least 1 big backpack &amp; trolley bag, plus bags...
think total I had moved at least 60boxes of things.....
There's few times that I had moved 2 trolley bags, 1 tarago box, 2backpack, few plastic bags...
All thrown into the taxi...including the passenger seat.
Another time, is that his bro driving...move 2~3 trips of abt 4~7boxes each time.
So, I guessed its min 60boxes lor..
I started moving since Jan.
many times is I jux carried 3 bags..cos taking bus...no ability to carry so much.

btw, how much U pay for storeroom rack?
N wat's the dimension..
sorry ah....I know U ve mentioned b4...

piglet23

cindee,
thanks.. so i can call June at 91381141 also, right? Thanks..

Does your album has any digital effect? I only top up $260, but no digital effect..

Geraldine,
Lucky, my mum is very good.. she helped me to tie abt 80-90% of the ribbons..

I agreed with u tat table arrangement is a headache..

phy,
My album will only be ready by end May.. So how's your albim? Must be very nice, right?

Jasmine,
Must be firm. Try not to top up too much.. Usually, the BS will say tat all pics r nice. Actually, they just wanna us to top up more pics only..

I bought my bedsheets from Metro. They had a 20% sales a few weeks ago, but I am not sure if the sales is still on.. The quilt cost $1 if a set of bedsheet is bought and metro card is produced.. so I borrowed the metro card from my aunt..

lipstar

storeroom rack: I have told her via messenger, but I'll post it here in case anyone else is interested. L shaped, length 60" and 58", width 20", height forgot oredi. Receipt didn't put.
$180 inclu delivery and installation. Metal racks with 4 wooden shelves.
Metal racks come in 3 colours - white, grey and brown.

Hazel: Wah! So many bags ah! Then I am not so bad oredi. hehe...

Where have Idyll and jean gone to?

Jean: busy packing for this Sunday's trip ah?

babygera

piglet ya lor my MIL also helped us to tie the ribbons lolx....finally finished all the ribbons liaoz waiting for weekend then write the cards
the quilt so cheap ar $1 wow....

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-wah your england so powderful leh...hehehe...i normally use only whole bunch. hehehe

pandalic-tats gd. u gt nice colis to work with. 1 of the impt thing in work.

Actually for me 3 things and in order of importance to enjoy working are->
1) nature of work
2) colis
3) salary.

u can have all the money in the world and yet 1) and 2) sucks like hell. dun tink u be enjoying it. heehe.

popie

sogo. nobel house is going to waive my corkage chg for wine. lucky me. =P
u can store ur photos on snapfish, yahoo photos, kodak gallery, etc... there is jus so many. oooh. so exciting. we go photos to see liao.

jojo. xiong di jie mei supposed to give ang pao also leh. n according to my mum, its the mum who give jie mei, cos jie mei come n help her send her daughter off. unless u guys giving ur xiong di jie mei presents.

sleepysleep

ladies,

*paniced* ahaaha.. my wedding is within this 4 wks but seems like i have alot stuff to settle omg.. i need help in GDL and An Chuan..

for the GDL, i went to the GDL thread but i read until v.confused :S Is there anyone who has the same dialats as me[teochew] n fh[hokkien] who can in giving advices to what to buy and what to do?

As for An Chuan totally clueless on that =(

sandsand

haha.. DAMan... u are hilarious lah...

when i went for my fitting, i tried on the gowns for about 2 and half hours.. then after i elected mine, i told the lady that we can now decide on my FH's suits... then they all say, "oh, nvmlah. on the day itself when u are dressed and styled, then our stylist will decide the look for him based on my style.." wah lau win lor..

pandalic and Princess: i with u guys on the housework thingy.. I can do the housework, but just that i never had to do it b4.. so now sort of kena forced to do the work, a bit funny... =)
one thing i need to really learn is how to wash clothes.. as in, different materials, different types and length of washing... cooking i can lah, that one no problem..

xiaobai1

Hi Sweet Kar

You same as me on budget, so can't join them for the 12th may gathering.So concidence. We both same same. Hee Hee ;) And hubby always want me to accompany him during the weekend and said last time i work in retail always work on weekends and public holidays, he feel so bored. So now try to accompany him since I am free now.

ok me too no problem on 27th for the time being. If anything crops up, I will come back to this thread to inform u all again. What time and where do we meet? Just wondering...

Hi Wendy

Thanks for givng me the list of the songs, that u played during ur wedding banquet. It really is a good reference for me. Hug Hug for wendy
Do u have a copy of all the songs currently? Can u email the songs to me if u still have it? As most of the songs u used, I have not heard it before.
Jazz music is out, as we both prefer pop music and moderate tempo music. Not too fast but also not too slow until people fall asleep. Ha Ha Ha...

To: all ladies

By the way, what do u all think the music played should have the singer singing out the lyrics or only the music playing in the background? I still headache about the music. My hubby still asking me to decide for the music to be played during the wedding banquet. As for my video presentation, I have changed the song to truly,madly deeply by savage garden. As we both like that song very much.

For my outdoor shooting, I go to fort canning hill as rom didn't go cause was raining on that day. We also went to Sentosa Orchid Garden and Sentosa Palawan Beach. I was also thinking of bringing my softoy dog xiaobai with me to take indoor shots.But my hubby said the photographer will laugh at me and said why I am so childish.So I didn't bring in the end. But I really love my softoy dog xiaobai very much. Everynight he must sleep with me and if there is a fire break out, I think I will save him first. After that then I will take my important documents and atm card. Ha Ha Ha... I wish to own a real dog in future but mother in law and mum both don't allowed. So Sad

Take Care Gals

Xiaobai1

lilic

<font color="0077aa">daman, i dun ever think i enjoy working leh.. wahahha.. but just that doing nothing is worse.. kekekek..

ribbons, how come your BS so wierd one? decide for your hubby on the day itself? your AD? even if its OTR, dun they need to alter the jacket to fit him nicely??? you should insist on that.. if they dun do that, perhaps you should tailor one for your hubby.. i seen some grooms with unfitting jackets from BS.. its ugly and unbefitting the occasion.. think the hotel captain looks better..

not sure if you are aware, the length, shoulder width and sleeves of the jacket got "std" to follow one.. eg, the sleeves should end at the bottom of the thumb, etc.. deviation will make the wearer looks wierd..

then for housework, other than laundry, i think i will leave the rest to part-time maid.. weekend is to rest and not to do housework!!! i also can cook.. but oh pls, theres only 2 of us.. no pt expending so much effort on cooking leh.. wahahahah.. think i am a super lazy wife to be.. </font>

piglet23, u're here too..june bride also huh? when's ur AD huh? how long did J&amp;M took to do the album from photo selection till the actual album huh? me only gg for photo selection today then my wedding in june..duno if they can rush it out for my wedding ant leh..

jmonster

morning gals!

hi sleepy,

u can ask both sides of parents what they want for GDL. I did that. both me and my HB asked our parents then exchange the info. eg i told his mum wat my mum wants for GDL &amp; vice versa.

as for An Chuan, u gotta ask someone (e.g his parents or your parents or yours/his relatives) whom has a blissful marriage
(both the couple must still 'alive' i.e. cannot one of them has passed away) to put on the bedsheet, shift the bed frame a bit,
put the Lian Zhi/Red Dates etc on the bed, etc for you.

My in-laws will help me do that cos i will be staying with them.

smurfying

Stepford, I think it's up to individuals to hav a wedding cake or not. As it's provided by the hotel for most weddings, i jus take it since it's foc. Otherwise, i think i wun bother to purposely go get a 3 tier cake for cake cutting. I oso dunno the significance of cake cutting hahahahaha.

Xiaobai, i think it's oso up to individuals as to play songs with singer singing or jus the instrumental melody. If u can't decide, perhaps can hav a mixture of both?

jiamin_loh

Elven_princess - Nowadays, most of the jobs are really very stressful and the pay is so little...
Its good that you quit and find a relax job when you are pregnant, not worth the risk of continuing with the high-stressed job...Since my hubby ask me to tag along with him to BKK, I also take this opportunity to quit my job...

Pandalic - Agreed with you that doing nothing is worse but provided the environment and the scope of work you are under is of minimal stress...I had rather pay cut a few hundred bucks and opt for those easy job bcos if you fall sick/ill, the medical bills can really kill you - not worth it lor...

september

tansy, the cake provided by hotel are fake cake nia...if u wan real cake then u may hv to buy....

significant mah...mayb it symbol the new start of the couple spending their life 2gether from tat day onwards ba....so macham 'birthday' lor...hee hee

shimei, wat type of music and songs to play are beri personal and individual like wat tansy say...but as long as u dun play sad love song can liao....for me, it will be either jazz or bossa nova music for me lor....

wtan

<font color="0000ff">Hi hi everyone..
I guess there’s 2 sets of gathering going on here (just in case some maybe confused): -

A) Gathering for Oct 06 brides-to-be on 12-May (Vesak Day)
B) Shopping spree for the costume jewellery for Oct 06 brides-to-be on 27th May (Sat)</font>

september

thks wendy...i guess on the 12th, we will see the regulars group again ba...since there is nt much response from the rest....

ah tingz..ware r u....MIA again...

voting this sat....my 1st time voting in my life for the 31 yrs hahaha....excited...coz finally...i can hv my say....to cast my sheng shen de yi piao wahaha

smurfying

Diana, top tier is real cake rite? Hahaha, i think quite wasteful to hav 3 tiers or even 5 tiers of real cakes leh.

Eh u're rite for selection of music. Aiyo, i recently went for a fren's ROM, then the hotel staff go play Titanic's My heart will go on. We tot eh, it's so inauspicious song to play lo.

Mayb can consider some theme songs? Like all english retro love songs fr Bee Gees, Firehouse etc etc? Else classic chinese love song melodies? Jazz n bossa nova are cool choices!! New age songs? Waltz Disney cartoon love songs?? Ahahaha...spoilt for choices now.

wtan

hi hi stepford..
there are couples' weddings that i have attded that they did w/o the cake cutting as well as the champagne toasting..but i guess it's very individual..if possible, will suggest u go with it..

hi hi tansy..
usually the 1st-tier will be real cake provided by the hotel..i got a veyr sweet fruit cake with rum &amp; rasins for our wedding from RTP..but it's so sweet that we have decided to share it with all the guests at the lounge area so that we can finish it...haha..

hi hi shimei...
as for the list of songs played..i have all copied them into a CDs format so i dun think i can attached them &amp; email it to u..i guess u might 1 2 discuss it out with ur hubby to see what type of songs u will like to play during ur wedding to best match the moods that u wish to create for ur guests &amp; also for ur own hearing sensation..since u mentioned that u have not heard of those songs i have used for my wedding in 2Oct05, then u might not be able to create the kind of mood u wish to project out at ur wedding..c what ur hubby said lor..

babygera

sleepy, for An Chuang, you will have to get 8 of the old coins which got a hole in the center...wrap 2 of them in a red paper so u will have 4 sets of such....
you have to start from the top right hand corner of the bed (when you're facing the bed) and go in a clockwise direction for all the 4 corners of the bed....then the person who an chuang gotta say good words maybe like "an chuang an dao fu qi bai nian hao he" etc etc.....then gotta put those lian zhi, red dates with seed type and a few other stuffs on the bed...oh ya the packet of coins are to be put below the mattress at the 4 corners of your bed....

Hope this is detailed enuff cos i learnt this from the shifu when i got my an chuang date

september

er...for the cake tink all tier are fake...but hv to check wif ur hotel...coz some do hv a tier tat is real which they will sent to ur bridal suite later...

ya lor...tat wat my gf keep reminding me...coz she say...she attend her ex coglis wedding and guess wat....her coglis play 25 min...and reason is tat she like tat song and rhythm lor...wahaha...tat y i cant play my fav song - love me by collin raye (hope i get the singer name rite)...

guess, the background music or song still nt so difficult to chose....the most difficult is the 1st &amp; 2nd march in song + the 1st dish song lor...hee hee...

wtan

hi hi Diana..
can tell u r very excited lor..haha..me also 1st time voting..cool man..can feel the tension coming up..hehe..ya, looking forward to meet up with everyone on the 12th May for chit-chatting..so how ahh the venue to meet?

hi hi tansy..
since urs is a luncheon..u might want to consider some light music ba..check it out now, u will really be spoilt with choices..for me, i end up having 3 CDs to be played thruout the night..also gd lah, wont get repeated songs..haha..

wtan

hi hi Diana..
ya, u r right..love me is a nice song but dun think it's appropriate for a happy occasion ba..u have time to decide now..tell u lor..my 1st dish presentation song was also decided very last min, but that period last yr Yeah was very popular..so we decided to use it..haha..luckyily managed to get a copy of the song..hehe..together with the lighting effects, it was great lor! haha..

stepford

Thanks ladies! We'll go along with the toasting. As for the cake, I guess I'll have to think about it. My cake is not supplied by hotel since it's a semi-outdoor event so I will have to source for a wedding cake if we really want it.

BTW, with whom can I PM my mobile no to, regarding the 27th May outing for accessories shopping?

Diana, coincidentally, 'Love Me' is our song too! We are gg to get the band to sing it for us.

wtan

hi hi designfreak..
there's this couple i knew that actually got their friends to join in for ur PS..so it's pretty natural the whole PS &amp; some of their friends also take in some of their own shots in..if u managed to get a gd VG, can consider videoing some PS shots to be used for ur montage lor..it's like to show ur own preps for the wedding..can be quite fun also..

cindeekoh

hi gera

geesh...yr hb so nice...mine said precisely once in a lifetime so dun hv to spend so much cos we will only see once. hahaha...

piglet,

wat do u mean by digital effect? mine is the magazine effect...is it the same?? got faded and some highlighted...different kind

cindeekoh

things are getting ok for me...finished most of the details...all the wedding cards and church prog all tied and ready..house and stuff inside also all ready...photos taken...jobs delicated already...food tasting done...pretty nothing much till 2 days b4...now just focus on work...and confirming rsvp...looking forward to finishing all these man

smurfying

Hiaz...i dun get to vote. walk over lor! Grrr...i nvr vote before!!!

Eh why not the accessories shopping outing combine with the usual gathering? then we see new faces?? hehe...

wtan

hi hi ladies..

at the same time, here's to share my own contacts for my wedding in Raffles The Plaza on 2nd Oct 2005 on fengshui consultation, red wines, AD PG, rental of nice kua &amp; catering for home: -

selection of auspicious dates/fengshui consultation:
master JING ZI LONG (email: [email protected])- 67417377 (his office is nxt to Aljunied mrt)

red wine (somerton 2003 shiraz/cabernet/merlot):
ridhuan - 97684114 ($14/bott for more quantity) – NTUC is selling this wine for $17+

AD PG:
vincent - 97461332 ($500/1st 8 rolls of films)

Rental of Kua from House of Etiquette:
shirleen - 62268139 (I took kua#203)

stamford catering:
jowendy - 68523333 (for home catering)
iris - 91477770 (for church catering)

<font color="119911">can let them know that u r recommended by wendy-iss, the Mcdonald hello kitty's couple..i hv told these contacts that i will recommend u all to them so that u get to have the best offer like i do, if u need me to help to nego further..just let me know..cheers~</font>

wtan

hi hi tansy..
12th is a PH, dun think the shops open leh..

heyhey everyone..
come &amp; join us on the gathering this 12th May ba..will be nice to meet up with everyone to share abt ur wedding preps as well..i m sure there will be lotsa to share..

jeanng79

Lipstar,

Ya lor...packing for sunday and busy watching the video highlights everyday..hahah...Hubby say I siao, watch so many times.

Today, me going to collect photos from Kelvin. As for the video, will have to wait till I come back from japan.

Think we should have a gathering soon to share our photos and video..

xiaobai1

To: All Ladies in forum

wow ! A lot of us loves this song colin ray love me, my hubby also loves that song a lot, a pity that song tempo is a bit slow. That song lyrics is very meaningful.

By the way, do anyone knows which neighbourhood shop is selling cheap and delicious cakes? cause my hubby is sourcing for cakes to give to my parents. But his budget is limited, we wish to get the cake at $3 plus to $4 plus per box. We intend to get 40 boxes of cakes. Is there such a price range currently? Me is not very sure ler. Can anyone provide me with some advice? Hee Hee
Thank You So Much

Hi Tansy &amp; Diana

Thanks for both advices, I think I will use a mixture of both type of songs. Some with singer sings and some only got music only. Hee Hee. Think that idea is great. Yeap think it is more difficult to choose the songs for 1st march in, 2nd march in and the 1st dish.

yeap guess I have to discuss with hubby again what songs he like, but he always ask me to make my own decision on the wedding songs. Got to try to ask him nicely again to listen to the songs together and choose the song that we both like for the wedding banquet.

Hi Sweet Kar

Do u want to take down their contact no. or I take down their contact no.? As I know u are also very busy with ur wedding preparation and spending time with hubby. Hee Hee

Take Care

Xiaobai1

angeldust

gd mrg ladies &amp; "man",

OL - really so tough.. hmm.. next time i shld try maybe after wedding bah.. now not in the right frame to change job.

panda - yeps at home now still tomolo then go back work. 3 days MC but still feel throat machiam like sahara desert. and nose blocked, ears blocked and yesterday see coy doc again cos 1st time he din give antibiotics then 2nd time then give.. haiz.. these coy doctors.. @$#%^$&amp;*^..

Daman - not ang mo good lah.. drones of bees, schools of fish and flocks of birds mah.. these kids.. should be called groups of pests.. ha ha ha who ask them block my traffic when I swimming ah.. :p just joking.. ha ha ha ha ha

Housework - eh hubby &amp; I stayin together liao. initially we tried doing hsework on our own but realise that we burn all our weekends and some weekday nights doing housework end up we dun really spend quality time together or even time to sit down watching tv. so now i have a PT maid who comes once a week to clean the hse. So far, we only do the laundry and this certainly works cos now we have time to meet friends and do other stuff.

kaye

Jean,
I had been suggesting for next gathering...
but nobody respond...
*sob....

I dun ve video highlights...so nothing to share..only gt photos taken by frenz..

asura

Wah... all of you seems to have started going full fledge into the wedding planning. Think I am stuck... first i got sick... then my HB is sick now... haiz... My exam is on 18 May and because i was quite sick earlier.. studying was a little slow that I got to concentrate on studying for the time being.. haiz..
Going back to You Long Zi this sat to get my GDL date, time, An Chuang date, time and Wedding ceremony timing. Probably only start planning for the AD stuff after the timing is confirmed.

Getting very stressed with the wedding tables part as well. allowing my dad to invite his friends so that they can help fill up my 40 tables.. but up till now.. my dad is still taking his own sweet time preparing his guest list for me! Everything is really stressing me..

kar

Xiaobai1, same like u, me love dogs! So me and FH intending to get one once we move into our lovenest. Hee.

accessories shopping on 27th may! confirm la.. since most of us can make it... xiaobai1, i'm fine with collating phone nos. but u can help too, maybe we'll do so during tat week, seems abit early lei. hee. Meanwhile anyone who wans to go for accessories shoppin can jus add on to the list:
1.xiaobai1
2.stepford
3.honey
4.dwarfs
5.sweet kar

flipfreak

hi wendy. i am facing difficulties in taking pics n vid during the ps. the studio says i am not allowed to do so. but i think i will still bring the cam and tape it down for the montage. i am paying for the ps afterall. if they dun like it, then i go elsewhere ... :p

stepford

Designfreak, I'm surprised to learn that we are not allowed to take our own pics during PS time. Wonder why this is so since we are paying for everything!

flipfreak

hi all. i like to share with you my contact for wine, beer and hard liquor. i bought beer for my housewarming from him. he also supplies wine for wedding. i may get my wedding liquor from him as well if i get corkage waiver from the hotel.

if u go down to his showroom, u can even try some of the wine he is selling there. alcoholics shld avoid the place. very tempting.

GHH Marketing
7 Toh Guan Rd East #01-11 Alpha Ind Bldg
Tel : 6562 0798

asura

Hi Joyousonline,

We are probably getting 40. Cos we got 8 sword bearers, 2 jie mehs (also my Emcees), 4 "brothers", 4 recep, some other helpers... plus got to give MUA, nieces and newphews who are attending the tea ceremony + the coordinator/manager on dinner.

flipfreak

hi stepford. their reason is that the photo n vid taking will distract the photographer from doing his job. but then, i'm not going rite in his face to shoot the thing mah ... why cannot? sigh ...

i understand that most likely they are worried that u may get another photographer to take pics and use those pics without going through them. then they lose out in terms of $$$

asura

Just wanna check if any of you are going to use contraceptive pills as birth prevention after the wedding. Very lost over it... not sure how to go about it.. any advice?

stepford

designfreak, does GHH accept consignment orders? Cos I do not want to end up with too much unfinished wine.

Abt the phototaking, if we are taking our own shots, I think it shld be ok and yah, as long as we do not get in the way of the photographer himself. ;-)