(2006) Brides of year 2006

honeyc

Hi Sweet Kar & Xiao Bai,

I don't mind joining for the accessories outing wif u gals.. I missed the last one cos wasn't in sin.. I jus bot a bottle of white and gold pearls each from paris. Was tinking of designing n putting it on my wedding shoes cos now my shoes are plain wif a strip of shiny satin material. I don't mind taking a look at wat the shops gotta offer n may consider doing something for my jiemeis...how abt 4th may? now v gan cheong cos not many things done up..

Hi Diana, the party organiser,
I don't mind party but must tink of our pregnant mgr, Wendy. prob la-kopi is more appropriate for her and us. if not, her bb come out as punk-rocker... heehee.....

I'm gonna get busier as the days approach esp in May cos gonna start my hse reno, select gowns, take pic and ROM in jun so gotta order buffet, send out invites, etc, etc, etc... gosh...

phy_o

Hi Everyone!

I'm back! Been very sick and busy!

Ausara,
It's not that they dun have, but that HDB is now giving a different colour. I'm one year late in my reno, so HDB says no more stock. Sigh ...

Sinkor,

Me jia let. Yesterday just finished the AD schedule. Realised a lot of infor missing. But more or less managed to complete it. Only the instructions not done, but at least I wrote it on paper. Will be getting my invites on 2nd May.

My house reno until I so stress. Everyday must go check for stuff. Major reno is done. Only retification left.

Something wrong with the multiply site la. Cannot access. Neither can I access my yahoo email. You guys got these problems?

magic_alz

hi tsukushi!

turns out we didnt do anything much when we opened the door yday..haha..
just lit some joss sticks when we left... not sure my MIL got throw rice n salt anot..

shinyhappybride

hihi..

something to share with u guys: i forgot i supposed to go for gown fitting today and have already arranged other appointments (been busy with work) and when i remembered its was too late. My bridal salon also never called me and remind me! When i called them, the girl that claimed to be my coordinator,J, doesnt even rem my appt! And when i told her my name and etc.. the first reaction is 'OOOhhh is u huh.. wassup?' wassup?!!! i told her i missed my gown fitting today.. and why u guys didnt bother to call me up 1 day before to remind me .. her reply: 'oh. we dont have such service!' am not pushing the blame at anyone.. i do admit its my mistake being such forgetful but not happy with their service loh. I am just so disppointed with their service. Its seems like i am paying money to service them! what kind of logic is that! And i remember she said she will call us 1 -2 days before to remind us the appointment.. i really don't trust their service especially their attitude is pretty rude.

jeanng79

Yo gals! I am now in my hotel! Everything is finlly over! Overall, I am so glad that things went smoothly except for relatives matters again..

My fake eyelashes fell off cos I cried when hubby come fetch me..So touched when he sing for me..

Dinner and services got good feedbacks, most of my guest love the wine and cannot believe that I got it at such a low price.

I got in room dining for before and after my banquet and also for the daily breakfast.. Staff are nice and banquet manager is excellent!

Hazel,

solly leh, the day before wedding, u msg me, I already sleep liao...Me fell asleep 10 minutes after pinkbunny msg asking me to go to bed! ahahha.

pinkbunny

yay welcome to the club, jean!!!! so funny about your fake eyelashes la! how was your chocolate cake? :D we decided not to hijack it and let you enjoy la

wonder how's hazel doing...

eh lipstar. this is the time to manja and ask mr lipstar to take care of you!

summerkitty

hihi ublur, me also a divine bride. u doing a topup for the cs from divine ? how much do u have to pay ? i thk i saw u yst in orchard taka, were u there ? :p

joyousonline

oh phy,
ya reno is very stress one...i reno my flat since dec'05..completed in feb..so not so bad..but it's great to see the flat finished..well u hv to bear with it..after reno, still hv to clean up and buy the decor stuff..do curtains..

hi for those guo da li stuff hor, wat does the gal side need to give to guy side???

pinkbunny

sigh today supposed to go camping. then i prepare all the food for bbq already (did you know cold storage sells small pre-packed bbq pit? very cool!) then the sky start to rumble. so don't care. no camping but still will bbq at our corridor! neighbours always bochup and cook their soups outside also. so i can also bochup! hehe.

btw was just having conversation with my friend about loansharks. don't know if you know but it's the first time i hear - they're becoming more and more high tech. instead of terrorising the people who owe them money, the also terrorise their neighbours, and send letters to their neighbours!!!! through post leh as in add a stamp and post it! wah....

lipstar

Yay Jean! Happy for you that things went well.

pinkbunny: Mr Lipstar asked me if I was merely putting on an act to get him to serve me.

Jean & Hazel: Come back and report more ok!

lipstar

Wah... Jean he is so sweet. How was the montage that he was supposed to do for your wddg dinner?

pinkbunny: I think I saw the same thing from New Paper headlines, that loansharks have deployed new tactics of terrorizing the neighbours.

phy_o

Just went to order my curtains. They will take measurements this tue and install on sat.

By the way, do we need to wash our curtains after we receive from the factory?

icyicy

hallo gals.... i m half dead now, work has been crazy and my stuff are all starting, my boss keep piling work on me i even have to come back when i'm on leave, so i hvnt got time to log in at all, the last time i read your posts was when ginger announced she's gonna b a mummy (congrats!), i guess lots have happened since then but i cant keep up, i m so drained out now... i m soooo haggard i dun look like a bride to be a tall, i feel like quitting my job :*(

i jus finished work n gg to catch some zz in my office before gg down to ID place to cfm all my cabinet colours n designs, they hope to start next tue or else would be far too late, so i din even think abt honeymoon in case they hvnt finish by my AD cos i want to settle the house b4 i go away...

food tasting on 2/5, PS was very slow, indoor on 27/3 cldn't finish, so on 23/4 we had to do 1 indoor gown then go outdoors, but it kept raining, so got to do 1 more outdoor on 4/5, n i hvnt printed my inserts n called my dinner guests to cfm attendance n found jiemeis n bros n fninshed my 2nd march in dance chereography n my dance gown n selecting aircon n cooker n so on n so on... oh i think i m in depression...

sorry gals, i jus need to talk abt it or else i will explode n die before my AD; but i'm definitely not trying to spread the stress n unhappiness to u so pls dun get me wrong. i'm sure most of u are oso stressed but happily preparing for d big day, n i fell happy for u
i oso feel happy once in a while when i prepare the stuff wif my husband, jus that work is killing away all the joy and soaking up all my energy *sigh* i think i will plan some strategies n take more leave soon, wish me luck!

sorry if i hvnt responded to ur posts, u can email me directly at [email protected] if necessary (i jus started checking my personal email today since 2 mths ago *sigh*) i need my life back!!

ok now i feel much better, i will buck up n press on, n i wish u all the best too!

tissuebox1

need some advise from you all..

1) is it nesssary to have thank you speech during dinner? i very stage fright lei
2) who will give the ap to 'sis' & 'bro'? parents or the couple?
3) do u give AP to the bro & sis at both the groom & bride place or just one place?
4) wats the AP rate?

my wedding is 7 may(next sunday)...so nervous...i am so scare it will rain...

lipstar
you hotel is so sweet..so good...

sinkor

Hi phy,

hmm...i think my AD schedule not as "siong" as yours as u having church wedding too, right? but i think more or less u have your things done.... thats good...

Aiyoyo BingBing,

U really sound so stress up leh.... are u ok? if u really need people to talk abt, u can email/PM us or even call us! :D

Today I just went to Malaysia for a walk and end up I bought the tea set and the lamps for wedding thingy.... initially I only just want to buy the tea set then lucky the lady told me that even i want to simplified my wedding, the lamps is a MUST!!!!

and wanna ask you all.... the lamps really need to light up for 3 day/night huh??? wat the reason for that?

ublur

Hi kitty,
Hmm.. you saw me in taka? or in DC studio? I was in DC at about 2.45pm. Saw a lady trying out her gown also. Was that you? I will be doing a CS but it's in my package, hence no need to top up at all. will be doing a mini CS and was glad that I finally confirm my colour and design

skk

Hi shinyhappybride,

They do that to u???? Mmmm that's bad, but think u r not the only one, quite a few BS I know also changed their attitude once the package was signed.... Haiz.....

stepford

skk.... I had this similar 'experience' too with the first BS I signed up with. Now that I have switched BS, I feel so much happier.

ja_ja

Tsukushi, stepping on each other's foot? Err... I would rather let him rule. I like a guy to be the Man of Household.

Magical, for our new place (rental), we didn't throw anything... just put on the red banner outside house (my choice, as I like the nostalgia feel) and mum asked me to get a rice bucket w/ 满word w/ a packet of rice。

Agree with all of you, it is only when we are asking for rsvp that we realised some friends are not really that friend after all... my sis got married 10years ago and she warned me then about her disappointment. I can't stand people telling me "See first, I tell you later" ???? On the other hand, I have this to share: at my current work place, a GM from another country that I worked with asked me 2 weeks ago if I am inviting him. I was surprised and told him I definitely would be honoured if he come, sent him the invite card and he sent me gifts and a HUGH money packet (enough to pay for more than a table!!!) though he can't make the trip - then he wanted to arrange another date in Singapore to meet up with me and hubby for a meal!!! I mean... his gestures are more than enough and I am really touched!

Let us focus on the happy stuff... blessings to all May BTBs... we have waited a long while and it is May alright!
Jam

cacphin

sinkor> the basic necessary stuff are the longfeng candles and lamps.
longfeng - something like togetherness and ask for blessing.
lamps - long martial life.. heard that the longer the light, the better.. however, heard that most of the time, not the batt die off but the bulb fused.
bingbing> really long time didnt heard from u..
don't forget we have quite a lot of simiarlity.. if needed, after work can go shop shop together for these stuff etc.. if i didnt remember wrongly that u are living in the city too..

lipstar

Hi tissuebox!

1) Not compulsory. Either you can just get your hubby to say, or get your emcee to thank your guests for their gracing of your dinner on your behalf.

2) The arrangement is up to u. For us, we don't hv jie mei, bro. The ap for all the helpers come out from Mr Lipstar's pocket, but his mum help us wrap.

3) At both places.

4) Up to u. Minimum $12. Can go up to $50 if your pocket allows.

sinkor

Hi nihpcac,

Thanks for clarifying.... but i didnt get the longfeng candles leh as last time my cousin's house almost catch fire bcos of these candles so my mum told me to skip these. As for the lamps, i have asked the salesperson whether it can last long and she said yes.... so dunno how true... :D

yuki31

elven_princess - Happy Belated Birthday
did you enjoy ur birthday yst?

Da MAN - wow 10 pack ah? so u aiming for tat as well :p ya lor ultra high metabolism ....so good. but i got low metabolism ...so sad

yst juz went Amore for 3 classes now whole body ache ...haha

skk

Hi stepford,
Yah true, B4 confirming current BS I almost signed with another BS, but changed my mind.I happened to walk pass the shop one day and saw the lady who served me shouting at a couple on photos issue. Also did some research on the BS and found a lot of complain so quickly U-turn.

prodigizz

Hi ppl.. my AD will be on 5th may, which is THIS friday!!!

I haven't type out the guest list, haven't buy confetti, loose flower petals and haven't make the flower girl baskets. This wedding is a last minute thingy.. Prepared everything (from gowns, photography,hotel banquet to solemnization) within a month.

phy_o

Hi I also bought my lamps already. Simple ones. No xi sticker. Must go and buy.

Haiz, a lot of things to do. Just collected my album. Tol collecting cards. So many things to get.

skk

I very lucky, I didn't sign the package so no deposit paid. Juz saw my friend's sms complaining about her BS 'stupid' attitude. It's that BS, I did warn her but she insisted since the package is cheaper. Feel sad for her but happy 4 myself. Hehe think I very bad leh.

stepford

Eh, you are lucky then! I signed up and paid the deposit. Luckily I managed to persuade the guy to allow me convert the deposit as payment for a MTM groom's suit else I will feel so guilty!

lilo

HI gals,
i finally can get some things off my list. Had my food tasting n the "ti qin" thingy on last fri. Finished typing out my AD itinerary. Bought the wedding bedsheet from Aussino yest..50% disc and it was the last set for queen size! Luckily i bought it in time. The Bliss collection wedding quilt cover set is very nice, got the cute couple cartoon on it but it cost $150 without the fitted bedsheet. Dun wanna spend so much money so settled on the Aussion set.
My guess list rsvp almost done too.

skk

That's good at least u need not ve to forfeit ur deposit.
Don't really want to spent $ and get suck up service. Wedding is suppose to be HAPPY not to get scolding 4 nothing. I rather spent more $ rather then have any bad memories..... :b Maybe customer service to me is impt lor.

lilyn22

Hi everyone..ITS MAY!! tick tock tick tock, countdown time!!
very exciting but stressful time for everyone..hoping none of us breakout and all have a fab time on our AD!!
best wishes,
Lyn

lilyn22

Hi prodigizz..u can buy loose flower petals from JiMei a wholesale florist at thomson rd, their cold room is really fantastic n they got cheap roses too..u can use it to decorate ur house on the AD and then give ur flower girls to throw after that
hope this helps!

stepford

Haha... same sentiments! That's why when they 'begged' me to give them another go at the gowns, I gave them a firm 'no', no matter how much the other brides have been raving about their gowns in the forum. It just did not work out for me.

childlike

hi all BTBs.
me also a june bride. Can I check with you all... buying of additional bottles of wine for the wedding dinner, whr u all buy huh? i think supermarket quite cheap but dunno what kinda red wine fr supermarket is gd for wedding dinner? any advice?
Do pple also usu bring in additional beer for the wedding dinner? in barrels or???

kaye

Now, it my turn to report...Jux give a summary report.
Wat I can say is ,,,the day is super messy...
Its fun in the morning...
till I went to his hse...things happen...
which inconv to post it here..
then at nite in the hotel, all my jiemeis too inexperience...kept calling us to ask things.
N now is my hubby..needs to go down to handle...
During reception, I was stuck there cos they dunno who is who...
tMy initial was to go abt & say to frenz & relatives...
in the end, I was there marking attendance.

For the 2 march in, its like I kept tripping, my hubby walks too fast.
although I kept asking him to slow down.
The bros were great....they helped us alot...
the photo taking with the tables were done within 30mins...
Therefore dinner ends quite early...I was surprised that super few ppl drink beer, think less than 5. I still left with 12bottles of wine.

We were sitting at the foyer lounge drinking wine...watching the people cleaning up the ballroom....till dunno wat time...
Then they helped us to carry the wine & liquor to the room...N some of them were sleeping on the sofa, some were chatting in the room.
Its the best time at that moment..
U feel that U were very close to them...

On Sun, my frenz came to the hotel in the morning to help us bring the things back to our new hse. Then I went to my AMK hse to get the father's jacket & return to BS.
N I met with frenz to chat....

As for today, sent my frenz at the coach area & the airport...
N return to his old hse to collect some of things & of cos laptop...to the new hse.
Wanted to go dinner with them, but its raining, so I rather stay here typing such a long exec summary report

jeanng79

Lipstar,

Th montage hubby did is Perfect! Alot of my frens thought we enage people to do it. Kelvin video montage also very nice, when I see myself cry in the morning, I wanna cry again..hahaha

See next time go whose house gathering, we all bring along and watch la!

Pinkbummy,

The cake is YUMMY!! haha ..lucky u all never come hijacked!!

Tissuebox,

1) HUbby come out with the speech on the spot in english, and I do a translation on the spot too lor..

2)For us, it's us who give the ang bao. Me to my jie mei and him to his "brothers"

3) Up to u, we give after the tea ceremony at my place

4)AP rate is 12 bucks minimum. But for brothers who are driving, its good to give more ma, cos petrol very ex now!! We give 40 to the brothers and 28 to the sisters, excluding the "gate-crashing".

jeanng79

Hazel,
Me is opposite, first march in, hubby complain I walk too fast! hahah....so second march in is perfect!

Why ur frens help you to send the bal. wine to ur room and not the hotel staff??

I briefed and pass handouts to my jiemeis and brothers, so I am lucky that they can do it without asking me questions.

The only thing, my sis say is :"oei! u very " cho lor " leh! First time see bride hold gown up and run here and there!" hahah

I got 2 barrels of beer and left 1/4. My wine consumption is 16.5 magnum. Brandy is 3 bottles.

My jie meis help me count money till 3am. My hubby already knocked out once his bros left around 1 am. He very "la sup" one, never bath, change and just lie flat on the bed!!! I have to remove his smelly socks for him too!

magic_alz

hi prodigizz!
congratulations! you really sound excited abt it! hope u have a successful n smooth sailing wedding day!

hi jam!
but now have nreno yet..can put the bucket in already ah? i have n even taken the masking tape off the toilet bowls leh..

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">pandalic,
Thank u dear! Okie, maturing with grace sounds alot better. hee

Yuki,
Thank u! Yup, enjoyed my bday. Hubby bought me Bakerzin cake, yummy. =)

Daman,
Bose home system is expensive right? Went to the showroom at Plaza Sing to check it out before, but very ex leh.</font>

sinkor

nihpac,

my lamps got the Xi wordings but just wonder y must have the XI huh??? any special purpose??

Ericia,

I got my red wines from Parker Wine.... 100% consignment..... the cheapest cost $13.65.... u may check it out if you interested....

skk

Finally got my -ve. Think should ve another section with BS to confirm the alterations they made. Then it will be like down 1 item and going to the next item in the list...... Wah think getting more and more busy as the days getting nearer.

jklim4642

elven_princess, am not too sure about the bose home theatre system pricing now.. 3 yrs ago, it cost me something like $3999. But, it is really cool isnt it?

september

hi shinyhappybride, which BS did u sign up wif....i thot they will call to confirm coz if nt they also waste their time leh...mine will alway call me up to remind me a day before lor...anyway....since they dun hv such service, then u better jot down all appt u fixed wif ur BS or key in ur hp wif reminder alarm ba...

stepford, interested to see my make over pix...haha...it is nthing fantastic lah...but u can go friendster to see....it is the same hotmail address i use in friendster....