(2006) Brides of year 2006

lipstar

Adeline: NOw as I look at your pink gown for the 56th time, I remember you are the one who asked us whether you should buy a Frederick Lee gown which costs a few thousand dollars right?

Cos I saw and liked this gown a lot myself too when hubby and I went to Orchard Parade Hotel. I stepped in to admire the gown but the staff ignored me. They so dao (haughty) so I went off.

feifei

SDL,
wow...i wish u all the best then ;p... Last time i also hope to get twins lor...hehe..but all the charges will be doubled lor.

jiamin_loh

OL - Great!!! I have taken the pics of my WG & EG but the file is too big...
will try to download in Jpeg file then...

lux

hi angel..

Ask you long feng zhou is MIL give to me during tea? or what huh? I understand is a cantonese thing ...

frais_bleu

Hey Babes!! Who wanna join me and chomecc for a drink tomoro nite?? we'll only be meeting after 10pm...those who have my mobile pls sms me ok....hope to see you!!

happy_bug

hi storm, Congrats on your love nest..sounds like a dream home to me..

hi tiglet, my EG is satin and the cutting too cannot put or lose too much weight cos cannot alter too much..nw scared i put on then lose..

found this in one of the 'Guo Da Li' thread.. hope it helps!

* any person who clash got to hide in the room when see couple arriving. Come out after some time.
* no brothers/ah yees supposed to clash with couple

1) Groom leaves from parents' place
2) Groom arrives at bride's place. Kid open car door. Groom give red packet to kid.
3) No blocking door ang pow (open door ang pow not for hainanese and hokkien)
4) Go to groom place. Serve tea. Buffet should be ready by then. Groom carry pig back to love nest.
5) Go to love nest. There MAY be a couple who wants to open door for couple. Couple MAY like to eat tang yuan at new home. Gu Gia arrives before/after couple arrival. Pass basket over. Couple give ang pow to kid.
6) Light the 2 lamps till battery flat
7) Change into tea dress and go to bride place. Serve tea. Pig now at bride parents' home. Bride's mum cut up pig, return head and back, together with groom's pants.
8) Couple return with pig head and back to groom parents' place. Quickly leave for hotel/love nest to rest.
9) If restaurant, bridal car to take couple to restaurant, then go to fetch bride's parents. Groom's parents go restaurant on their own.

kao_babydust.gif

lux

Oh.. really.. I actually read the custom thing off a website. My Bad.. So I can get something simpler if the dialect doesnt request any of this =)

so what stuff should cantonese get for gold huh? any idea?

magic_alz

wah so much $$$ involved!??!

my MIL brought me to shop for SDJ too...budget also 800...ok ley, i managed to chose all 4 items, earrings, bracelet, chain n pendant...n look very nice...
anyway gold is charged by weight, then those thick thick heavy ones are so ugly..young brides sure will choose those thin thin look classy ones..so wont be too ex 1....

lux

magical, which place you went to? Maybe I can go shop after work =)Maybe can even break the 800 into 4 items!!

Anyway qing.. long feng bangle is cantonese.. I rememebered my aunt in hong Kong give this uber chunky ala loan shark bangle to my cousin in law..

prettyangel

Hi Ling, So sorry, I am not very sure abt all these. I intend to buy Long Feng Zhuo becos my mum say I should get. Actually I still short of 1 item for SDJ. That time I only bought 3 items at Poh Heng-- Necklace, Bracelet & earrings. So wanted to get 1 more.

Hi Magical, pls give me your shop address too? Thanks..

greekgal

hi angel..
i bet u have a nice and generous MIL..so easy to get stuff from them..lucky u

hi ling,
not sure if $800 is enough of not,i think depend on the shop u go to. i went to poh heng and most of the SDJ (really nice ones with diamonds) costs at least 2K and above. i guess this is the in laws' gestures, very difficult for us, the brides to say wat we want. so hopefully they read our minds..hee

phy_o

Hi Annice,

I went last Sat

There's this shop at old People's park at Chinatown. Peng Hin #03-1136 (I think) that sells a lot of these things. But when I went there, it was closed. Sigh

phy_o

I went to buy my tea set last Sat. Quite cheap $14. But my mum said not so nice cos got dragon and pheonix. Hmmm ...

I also bought my bedside lamp, battery operated. So settled those.

phy_o

Starris,
Does ur MIL like cheong sum? Chinatown has a big shop for that. But not everyone likes that. My MIL is most prob not going for CS. But more western type.

qq77

sdl,

kekekekeke... i very good one, wont anyhow bully ppl one.

my HM photos uploaded leow, wanna see.
can give me your email.

feifei, give me yours too then i can send to you.

kaye

U wont believe it..
my colleague use my credit card to buy blouses fr G2000...
for our new uniform last week.
cos must make sure it fits all...then I told them I m not free last week as I GDL, carpentry issue, trial makeup, choose tea dress, bouquet & wine tasting...All 3 days occupied.
Then I tot its been settled...
Today raised up the issue then she said notfit...throw the receipt to me...
N the blouse
ask me to exchange it on my own...
reallly ...its !$#@%$%#%
today is the 7thday of the exchange date...N I got class today.
She jux said Wat U want me to do...It cant be wat...N I go off...
That's the longest sentence she had spoken to me for the past mths..
Now, she dunno which wire siao liao...dun talk to me...
if I intercom her, N ask her things..she will jux "err...or hmm" then slammed the phone.
She wont talk to me....jux write a note...
Or continuos shoot email to me
1 day of the same subject 3 times...if I dun reply...N write ...reply immediately.
if its really so urgent, tell me straight...
I had few hundreds email for me to clear...
Till now, I had not cleared my Mon email

jmonster

phy_o,

i heard pple said the battery-operated lamp can only last for 3hrs, and it's not auspicious to change battery.. some more the lamps need to be lighted for 3 days frm the AD...

not sure true or not

email4adel

lipstar, yes you got it right but not got from frederick lee.... got from Franc1S ChE0ng,, yah.. it was expensive, not in budget AT ALL... don see the need to have a gown... blar blar..

Girls.... if you need red wines, i got mine from a guy name Ridhuan from Giorgio Ferrari.. i got mine at $14.70 inclusive of GST... its good!! If you need the tel, tell me...

Hazel, you mean you let them take your credit card to go do purchases?!!!

lipstar

Adeline: Oh paiseh... got the name wrong.

Hazel: Ya lor! How come you let ur colleague use ur credit card? Secarly she go and buy lots of other things then run away how?

popie

chipdale,
teasing u lah. thats wat friends are for mah. hahaha.

anyuway... i not cfm yet. will go probably on sunday but with hubby leh. our planning v last min one. so u better make ur own arrangements.

phy_o

Huh? Really?

I will go and try la. Shouldn't be what. I need to use 4 AA battery. So I think it should last quite long. No time to change battery too. Not around to do that. I will go and try since I bought a spare one for fun. Shouldn't have a problem. It's just a small lamp.

omelette

Susanfoo: well since you only want digital and not conventional, then it should be easy, tons of AD PG out there, but better book fast, up to a month ago, all the good PGs were already booked up, also, consider conventional, the pics come out so much better, IMHO :p

Olivia: for photoshoot, thinking of doing overseas, somewhere in Australia, possibly Melbourne

Cat: have you found a H&MUA for your wedding? who did you shortlist?

thx

magic_alz

hi ling n angel!

i went to On Cheong at chinatown. its right beside the CK dept store near food street..i'm not sure of the add eh..this shop has been around for 70 years liao..

my mum also bought me a gold set plus a diamond set..diamond set got from goldheart, gold set got from poh heng at IMM...also 4 items at abt 900+ if i rem correctly...

actually gold price is the same everywhere la.. only designs differ. i got hose with some white gold, not all gold ..coz all gold very old-looking...those mixed with white n yellow one actually looks quite trendy if u pick the right designs.plus the white gold part actually look like glittering diamonds..heheh...

dont forget to bargain also! altho gold price is fixed, but they can give discount for 'designs'..
n usually the set ones look very auntie..so if possible can pick n choose individual items that match one another..

oh btw we not having driver..planning to use own car n drive ourselves...=)

meowysp

hello ladies,
long time no come in here. Have been busy with reno thgs which finally officially started this week.
Wah discussion has progressed so much from WGs to now AD schedule!!

Pet,
U wanted to view the cross stitch ring pillow i did for someone, right? I have posted it up on my webby. (http://myfairytales.multiply.com) In the process of making a second one for another BTB. Will be posting a pic of that up by mid may.

jennifer_teoh

hi tiglet.. yar mann.. i tink one step at a time.. slowly curb my eating appetite since its stil goin up. .. hehe.. ;p

storm.. yar.. my parents also took a couple of yrs to look for a home mann... i tink alot to consider hor.. mayb the direction of the sun.. the "number" of the hse.. and etc etc bah.. ur frd muz b lookin at these rite.. ;p

hey shermaine.. it wld b nice to mit up mann.. but tis mth i m kinda busy..

chipdale1910

popie,
Hahaha. I know tat u are teasing me. U shld noe by now, i am like tat one, dun take things to heart one. Big hearted! Hahaha. Thick skinned.

Ok, then u go Daiso liao, then tell me what u have bought.

Hi Faye,
I have done printing for 260pcs at $95. Done by my dad's friend. I use those pink colour papers & printed on them.
If u wan hotstamping, will be much more ex.
I did not use hotel recommended printing vendors.

Btw, how is ur preps?

gs1979

hey magical, great minds think alike. me too oso went to On Cheong. My MIL bought me a bracelet, necklace & a pair of earrings. She oso gave me a pendant. I thot On Cheong is those v old fashioned jewellery shop but it turned out that they actually has a great variety of jewellery as compared to Poh Heng. My granny n aunts oso bought me bracelets & necklace. My mum bought me a "long feng" bangle n dad bought a ring for hubby. All these will be given to us during d tea ceremony.

gs1979

gerberra, me wil give a small amt of AP to my driver cos i engaged a london cab as weddg car. Already cost me $380....so a small amt wil do lor. Like wad Ling has said, YI SI YI SI

kaye

tat time go G2000 buy uniform.
I mean use their clothes & print our logo on it.
So tat time we chose 2 pcs of blouses...
but she's not ard...
So we bought the biggest size there.
We tot my another colleague can wear...she also towards the plump side...N since this snr colleague always said she slims down & its slimmer than this jnr colleague..
So ok lor..
We bought it & pass it to her to try when back to office...She said she cant even wear it & surprise tht my jnr colleague can.
So we said U go G2000 to see what size or style U can xchg..N we jux need to follow the same style as her to buy the size we are wearing.
She said she dun want to go...& asked me to go & settled it since its my card...
really...!#%%$^@...its not me that cant wear..though I never try it at all.
Ask me to go & find...I already chose the biggest size.
Then today is the 7th day...
N this issue is raised up...
N said since it cant be uniform..so cant claim co.
Then, my fault lah...
There's some commotion...Saying its my card...so I shld settle on my own...watsoever...So I said ok lor, I take it...
Then they asked...U gt time to chg ah..tot U gt class today. Want me to help U chg to yr size.???
I said dun need...I will settle it on my own.
So today rush to G2000 to xchg for my size..
of cos I chg the design too...
though I dun buy G2000 clothes, at least I still ve to buy something thats still presentable.
The ones that they chose is not my style at all.

rainnqq

Hi sharon

is it written black and white that if no MTM then change to 2 photos? If no write then you can negotiate again. seriously 2 pics to exchange for 1 MTM gown is not exactly balanced. Possible to change MTM to your husband?

hanko

Hi Sh@ron,
After exchanging MTM for 2pcs of photos, I have 28pcs of photos now. I believe that during selecting of photos, sure to top up more, unless I am able to control myself... 28pcs seem not enough after dividing the no. of gown to the no. of photos per gown...

I agree with Magical. Mine also around that price, got a chain and pretty big 24k 'long feng' pendant. If you want 'face', get those thick chain which is hollow inside, as it doesn't weigh so much as a solid chain.

If $800 cannot get anything decent, you prob got chopped like carrot. :D No offence pls.

summerkitty

hihi storm, thanks for ur info. thk i have to rom by the second appt unless i can also get proof, but i dun have much at tis stage. tot i will just do a simple rom in jul.

yah, any takers for a drink tomorrow ? pls call jeanne... haha