(2006) Brides of year 2006

qq77

morning eveyone,

berry,
send to you in awhile.
actually, i did my uploading in the office, that's y faster, otherwise i will be like you loh. hee..

SDL,
not that i din invite you all lah, that's bcos the gals here all live nearby each other, i.e either in sengkang or punggol. so just drop by to see look each other lovenest lah. if you dun mind, come with JC lah. you are most welcome.

sdblues

Linda,
Hee, okie.. so confirm March the 4th hor, luckily we will be back from bkk then ;) No worries, most of JC's friends always invite us to SK wan.. just a bus ride can reach liao

Newbbi!
U be going too righty? hee.. then we can chat more on our PG :D

lipstar

My job here

1) no increment, not even the annual paltry 3% adjustment for inflation.
2) no variable bonus
3) no fixed bonus
4) Cannot take MC
5) Bosses are insane

Are these reason enough to quit without a job, and make myself more employably attractive by being available immediately?

kaye

Lipstar...
I only slightly better than U...
got AWS.
the rest r the same...
on leave, mc still ve to work....

marnie

Lipstar, what have you decided on the job situation since we last had lunch?

I guess, compared to you guys, I really have nothing to complain about. Sucking up to partners on a daily basis is nothing compared to not being able to go on medical leave when ill. But then again, sucking up to the big bosses is not what I like to do and makes me sick to my stomach!

kaye

think I got an idea...
I collect my invitation cards on Thurs...N bring it to the new hse.
Then I can jux bring 1 sample of each card to show U gals on Fri...
So much lighter...
Yeah! N I wont be late for work on Fri...cos I would be taking cab to work...

racherlle

hi greekgal!

my food tasting will be in March..
as for my invites.. as my hotel does not provide.. so i'm meeting up with the printers to get them printed..
gals any gd recommendations for printers?

pinkbunny

lipstar
you very poor thing leh you
i had a job like that also. my big boss was so scary that people would try to take detours just so not to bump into him. he ever ask people to jump down the building before. and we constantly had conference calls at midnight. when i was on holiday and travelling, i still had emails saying 'hi, i know you're on holiday but this is urgent so can you please do it by today?'. wtf, right?

i'm glad that's over. you'll really feel relieved! plus you don't need additional stress with the wedding coming SO SOON!!!

EL
yup i intend to make big cookies hehe. but i already have the heart shaped cookie cutter so it should be relatively easy. thinking of bringing my small oven to my bridesmaid's house cos she's got a huge conventional oven, then we'll start the production line hehe. i was thinking it'd be more meaningful if it were me and bluebunny doing it but then again, it would prob be me baking and him killing skeletons on the computer. mr 'relak one corner' he is!

hey you also have out-of-town guests? me too! but thankfully only his mum and brother. phew. i'm putting his mum up at the aranda country club for at least the night before the wedding cos my parents stay in the east and the dinner is in the east so it'll be more convenient for her to also be in the east
as for the rest of the nights, i really dont know where to put her!!! oh yeah, hotel 81 is a good one! haha

marnie
yes ma'am! pleeeeeeeeenty of water and vitamin c! yes doctor marnie!

haha i have to have 2 gowns cos i have 3 occasions to wear them. 1. when he picks me up from mum's house 2. when i get off the yacht and walk down the aisle and 3. when going into the dinner place. getting off the yacht could be a hassle with gown with long train and the last thing i want is to fall in the sea!

updates!
- today i'll see samples from printer :D
- food tasting: 19 feb
- first fitting for tailored gown: 4 mar
- i signed up for EXOTIC DANCING at my CC! haha. eh... all in the name of adding flavour to our wedding night :D

happy happy joy joy....

question for all
anyone knows where to get embriodered lace? prob spotlight eh?

kaye

Marnie,
at least when yr stomatch is sick,
U still can take MC...
unlike us..dun feel like working...also cant take leave.
take leave also must work...

september

beatrice, my BS is whitelink also...

susan, how many table are u looking at? if u still looking for dinner, then u hv to check the exchange thread for wedding banquet as i do remember seeing someone selling off her dinner at amara on 7th Oct before lor....if for lunch, then u hv to quickly check if the hotel are willing to accept coz it might be too rush for them since they will be hving a dinner banquet after ur luncheon lor...hv to act fast liao...

qq77

SDL,

hahahahaha.... y you wanna tekan him huh!!!! kekekeke

see how lah, got to depend on my sis. if she is busy with her work, they might not be able to come in the afternoon. he is one of the "chang ke" in my hse anyway.

kaye

PinkBunny,
yrs still remember U r having holidays....mine completely forgotten..
Keeps sending me emails to reply on tat day...
Or just call me directly...
Complain 3 days 3 nights also not enough...

pebsb

my mom bought some basin etc for me. Am I to bring it to my new home on AD?

I find Aussino design nice, but their quality so-so only. When I ask them if their thread count is per sq inch, or per 10cm2, they dont know.

adel23

hello!! I havent been visiting this forum for ages... hope all you nov brides are doing well! oops... missed out on the outing.. hope you gals had fun!

pinkbunny

haha seems we're into complaining about jobs now? this is the ultimate i think: i got fired by sms! i had to report to 2 bosses, and one of them sent me an sms saying 'if you can't get the website up by monday (he sent it on friday), you don't need to come to work'.

so based on my contract, either party has to give 2 months notice in lieu or in cash. so of course it's impossible to get a website up over one weekend (and the business unit i was in was taking care of online learning). i walked into the office on monday morning anyway and gave my letter of acceptance of being fired to my other boss (who was more dua liap), and in it, i also wrote something to the effect of 'ok now please pay me my 2 months salary for having fired me'.

the money never came, even when i got a lawyer to send a letter. the company is full of crap la. they got into a lot of trouble last year. i so believe in retribution and i think they got what they deserved >:D

happening right?

kaye

pinkbunny,
regarding on yr lace thing, U better ask Jean or Marnie...
They r the DIY ppl...
Do U think buying a pkt of string tat cost $10 is expensive? cos needs to tie my invitation cards...

p3pp3r

Wa.. so many 7 Oct BTB.. Anyway I am not having dinner so no worries about venue.. but me and my hubby got a big problem which his parent wanted banquet and we are trying ways to convince them in not taking one.. Aiyo I am sure slow man after seeing all of your postings.. Haha.. Did nothing yet till now le but maybe just only my confirmation of church booking..

Got a bit "gan cheong" liao...

kaye

pinkbunny,
U really on...

I wanted to sue my ex-BS...or file CASE..
Till now, still haven done anything yet
They rcvd abt 1/3 of my pkg $$...then chg name...
Service & gowns super bad....
So, I want to chg it to al-carte...its like with the amt I paid, I can chg to a ROM pkg...
or rent a car or gown...something like tat..
N they refused saying they r jux doing a favour to help me with the wedding...
The co. tat I signed up with is no longer exists. They r jux taking over....So, I must be grateful to them.
In the end, after a few arguments, think its jux 1 or 2 wks b4 my ROM, I chopped them off.
N I took another ROM pkg fr Empire which I m happy with.
Tats not the end, I still called them up after my ROM asking for photography as I still ve outstanding payment with them. In the end, the boss kept shunning me & scold me...saying I must be grateful to them...if I want to ve the rom pkg or whatever..I must pay up the balance., the staffs there said they ve no rights at all.

I went to my ex-BS threads..N yet they ve praises on them...cos of the Tioman pkg...
I had seen their pic, its awful...N I know I m bad..
Jux tat I m already not gd in camera...N I had spoken with their PG b4 (cos he's in the shop), not someone I can work with...
like tat wont my pic be even more awful

merryberrys

hi linda...saw ur pics...very nice... i like the hairstyle for the day...looks sweet...
somehow u & JC hairstyle same hor?coz same BS huh? hee...
i would want to go ur hse too coz we all quite near to each other...sdl u also comin huh?

acy

Hi Jocester,

My VG costs me $899. but i think he's got a better deal if u take his PG and VG on your AD. What's your budget like? i only have hard copies of his packages. however, you can call Weimin at 9798 5511.

ur GDL is only 3 days before AD??? sounds pretty tight for me. i tot mine was rushed! (1 wk b4 AD). anyway, i have sent u my wedding pix (only uploaded the studio shots, raw pix)... not sure if u r interested to view it.

qq77

hi berry,
we are from the same BS and also we have the same MUA. so maybe somehow the style will be more or less the same bah. hee..
you are most welcome to my house.

sdblues

Hey Berry!
Yep, have known Linda since last yr but havent seen her & HB yet.. hee. Linda invited u liao.. join us hor ;)

Umm Linda,
We just wanna give Alex a shock! hee.. cuz we seldom see the quieter side of him.. :D You haven't inform him that we know each other right? haa..

marnie

Too many posts - can't read them all...but on gleaning through....

Pink Bunny, you can try to find at Spotlight though they dont' really have much lace. Go down to Arab Street for wholesale prices. What are you intending to use the lace for?

Hazel. How many invites are we talking about? Um, I saw some gold strings to tie at Fancy Paper and Arab Street (there goes the street again...
. Maybe it's cheaper there?

reismion

Hi Ivy,

Sorry for the late reply. I wont be able to make it on Wed. Got work scheduled that evening.

My sincere apologies.

To all:

've a great time on my behalf.

newbbi79

SDL,
ya lor..I can bring my album to show u also ;p. u bring yours also lah... me cfm going liao..already marked on my calender lor...hehe...now duno if my hb also going lor..will ask her to go..heehee

marnie

Hazel, what's the size of your invites? I can ask Fancy Paper and the shop at Arab Street for you......If it loose pre-cut strings or are you looking at getting the ones still wind up in balls?

pinkbunny

marnie

my 'get off the yacht' gown is supposed to have an attached lace 'sleeve' that's only on one side, from front to back. the tailor place says they can do it but will charge $150. i thought that's a bit pricey so i can bring my own lace, they're ok with it. better to show you pic or not? what's your email add? PM me?

hey seems like you're a big arab street fan huh? hehe. all hail queen of arab street! i've only been there once, and it was cos i chanced upon it while looking for costume shop. the next time you go, jio can? then we go jalan together :D

kaye

marnie,
jux a loose one...then we cut on our own to tie the cards...
think the card is less than 10 or 15cm...

pinkbunny

does anybody know what items the groom has to bring to the bride's house like a week before the wedding? even my parents don't know :S is this what they call guo da li? help!

sharkey

Hi Purpleblur,
I did look at the room, but find that the room doesn't suit the style of ROM ceremony we had in mind.But the high ceiling really made the room very grand though. I was considering using their venue beside the pool but Conrad would charge me $1,500 extra for the venue rental. Next choice we are considering is LOOF.

susanfoo

Diana, thanks for your help. But i don't intend to have a banquet. Actually looking for a venue for afternoon tea or lunch buffet for approx 100 pax.

marnie

Sorry Pink Bunny, can't help you there. I'm not Chinese....but the customs do intrigue me actually......

Um, you mean you would prefer a ball of string right Hazel? That way you can cut it into pieces the length you want....K, I go ask for you.

tanel

Marnie: think they jag up the prices quite considerably though i dont know what is the percentage. Apr is the peak for business conferences (i am in the industry so i know and that is also why i cannot go for my honeymoon after the wedding).

Pinkbunny: your FH from where? mine is from msia and i have 3 families coming over. that means 3 rooms for 2 nights. that is going to burn a hole in our pockets man. sigh. whoa, u are damn happening man- im referring to your episode with our previous (?) co. macham drama mama man

marnie

EL, what's your budget per room/night? I can perhaps get Meraj to help you get Associates rate at Marriott or even talk to Vincent to get you a good rate.

small_one

Hahaha, no one turned up for the outing last night... Think being the 2nd week of CNY, so many were still bogged down by work and other CNY celebrations...

Nevertheless, do enjoy the remaining week of the CNY celebrations.

qq77

SDL,
hee... actually i told ask him leow. he knew abt it leow.
he at my place also very hyper one. he is only quiet when things "crop up".

Berry, SDl & newbbi,

bring all your PS and AD photos lah, then we can share with each other. hee..

pinkbunny

marnie
the customs and traditions are really interesting, i find them so too. but many brides find it a big headache if they have to follow everything! luckily my parents are quite chinchye. when i finally confirm what i have to do, then will share with you ok?

so far, here's bluebunny's pantang stuff:
- he can't see my white gown
- we have to have our guests throw rice at us
- maybe 'something borrowed, something blue'...

that's all. i guess?

EL
i think your accomodation problem is not as financially challenging as mine. my MIL is coming for 2 weeks so we have to pay for her stay for FOURTEEN NIGHTS!!!! even the cheapest rates will burn a huge hole in our pockets
7th storey hotel maybe? hehe. but seriously, it's prob going to be aranda coutnry club. it's just a bit far but there are 2 rooms (in case his brother comes along too)