(2006) Brides of year 2006

preci0usm0ments

AD coord usually the banquet managers will take care of it.. you jus need to appointment 1 of your fren to b the contact person when the managers have prob, they will consult to him...
no need to worry

lilic, you shortlisting SL? wan their package? i have it with me..

lilic

my AD coordination will be handled by frens... both my FH and my frens... different aspects..
we will be doing the planning together so that FH and i can leave all to them subsequently...

your FH frens lah? else, you gotta do the planning yourself and then pass it on to them like 1 week before AD... if your best frens, they should be willing to take leave for your sake one... =) frens mah...

else, you can hire a WP lah... will cost at most 1k for AD coordination...

preci0usm0ments

lilic, i find intercon's BR a bit worn out? maybe i dun like the peranakan style?
moreover, their suite quite far to the lift, and it's only at second floor
so you can see bugis junction directly

hunnie

Hi chomecc,
the dates are given by the feng shui shifu... think he did the analysis though the tong shu not out yet.

lilic

purplenic, thanks hor. email me lah..

but i think jes referring to the whole day event.. not just banquet.. actually for banquet, you also need someone to take care of that... instead of haressing you or FH, the banquet manager will go to your fren directly... this person will need to make decision on your behalf... so you all must trust him/her... i call such position - OICB... overall in charge for banquet... will be a OCIB in oct for my gf..

kaye

lipstar,
I had forgotten how much I paid, think its either $680 or $800. that time receipt also said inclu ROM...but they turn around saying I didnt use their wedding pkg...therefore cant use their ROM pkg....
then I said my deposit amt is almost the same as yr ROM pkg..so I can convert, rt? Answer is NO..NO NO!!!

yr BS also very funny...the MUA can see fr themselves whether U got eye circles or not...dun need to indicate

preci0usm0ments

hmm..guess i jus can't accept it loh.. but i know alot of brides like it
the reception area is nice

Jes, i think by then AD, more or less your program should b settled
no need so gan jiong.. i see alot of couples jus enjoying that day, so far, none of them really got time to bother abt the details
jus leave everything to frens to settle.. there's no fix number to assign who to help? maybe those helpers who start since morning will keep a look out thru out the day

lilic

yup yup... purplenic is right... hee, we give names to make everyone feel impt for fun only lah... like, hahaha..i also got cso... chief security officer... hahha, actually only usher i/c....

based on my fren's helper list, i think got the following:

customary
chief bride's maid (1) - keep all angpow for tea ceremony
bride's maids (5)
bestman/brothers cum racers(6)
top racer (bridal car driver) (1)

church
all above plus
chief operating officer - in charge of deco and reception and smooth running of program
greeting ladies (4)
chief security officer - in charge of usher
one flower girl and one page boy

banquet
OCIB (1)
greeting ladies (4)
money team (normally chief bride maid, 1 other bride's maid and 2 bestman) - they may also count angpow and key in details on laptop on couple's behalf...
2 mc
2 bouncers (for photography sessions)

i think more or less like that... some helpers will duplicate their tasks...

tanel

Yo Marnie; you know me best eh? I am skiving!!!
Wow this thread is moving faster and faster these days huh? Now i have take more time to read the new entries.

Hello Lipstar; welcome to the thread!!
We are of the same age!!
Are you working too? If so, it means u are skiving at work too?? WHAHAHAHA. Joking. Yah lor, you very brave lei; i can imagine your anxiety when you read the comments online. But take heart, i think those comments may just represent a handful, there may be many others who are happy with the service. But moving forward, your next few purchases; do homework first before forking out the $$. Can always seek advice here, we are quite good at giving that; right marnie *wink*

Hazel, it was the right decision to pull off from the BS. So lousy!! Thank God the deposit is just a few hundreds and not thousands.

Oh need to clarify- I have not gotten by house yet lah; i am bidding for it. hopefully i get it. And opps, i have not got my AD photographer, i typed wrongly, i meant my photoshoot muahahaa.

yay yay, tomolo a make up artist is coming over my place for trial. $80 for it man! WHOA! And the worst thing of all, no one would be home to see it-just me and the mua. My colleague thinks i should get at least one person to see it and give her opinions; but i cant change the appt last minute lei....

marnie

EL: Oh I see....then I pray that you get the house lor. "Shopping" for a flat is more tedious than go around shopping for our wedding, yeah?

So excited for you leh. Take pictures of your make-up. that way you can show people for opinion. Post here also lah...we can give you our honest opinions...
(I know me trying my luck to get you to post your beautiful picture here).

*wonders what happened to M&M, Janna, Jean*

preci0usm0ments

wow~ lilic, you've got a long list

i think my jiemei will also be the one at the reception.. as for the bros.. will also b the coord for the banquet

as simple as that kekeke

lilic

no lah... these are the positions.. the helpers may duplicate the roles.. .=)

this one not my list.. .a fren's... if all's ok, will then follow... hee, she is the guinea pig.. hahaha

lipstar

Hazel: Poor you, but treat it as a lesson. At least you managed to get a better BS for the actual day. I didn't put too much emphasis on my ROM. I did my own make-up, and my photographer were my friends and family. There were 5 cameras on that day, and you know what? None of them managed to take a picture of us kissing after the solemnizer said "You may kiss the bride." There were a few pictures of us leaning in, but none of the actual kiss. Alamak! Kaka!

EL: Hello! Yes, I am working. No... I wasn't skiving. (looks over shoulder to ensure boss is not behind) I was multi-tasking.
289789.gif
Hee...

Yes! Take pictures and post here!

kaye

EL- u r gettting a balloting flat? few hundred dollars already heart pain...but come to think of it...I chop it immediately cos dun want any mishaps to happen in between.
And gowns so awful...I cant find any gowns I like...I had even seen their "latest" design...

y U dun make it on a Sat for the trial makeup? then everyone can see

if not, post here lor....hehehehe

kaye

lipstar, I understand what U meant...
I got 2 cameras..one of them no battery..*sigh...
the other one got alot of my makeup photos....not the actual event......

greekgal

hi gals...
i am back..
would appreciate it if you gals could send me the price and work of the various photographers and videographers. my email is [email protected]

hi maggie
u so fast taking p.s liao ah? my bs told me mine will be in jan next year le..

hi magical
u also very fast to select ur gown hor..hee..

hi racheralle
nice to see u here..

eiggam

Hi greekgal!

Yah it's a little early but it's becos we're going tioman to take photos and the BS told us that if we wanna go tioman, we can only go during summer and other months cannot cos the waves will be too strong to go. Since my hubby is a teacher and only free during the hols, we have to go this june hols or else no other times to go liaoz. yah it's earlier than usual. i think normally, for may brides, PS will be in jan or feb next year so no worries, ur BS is right!

lipstar

Now my turn to share how I met my HB.

It was at a Christmas party in 1999 organised by my ex-colleagues. All of them were in pairs. I was the only one alone. So my ex-colleague got her boyfriend to bring a single guy along. (Must be I haven’t treated them well while working together, so they sarbo me. :p)

My first impression of him wasn’t good. I like neat guys. But he looked so scruffy. His jeans were so low at the hips (you wonder if they don't have belts :p), and had many holes (you wonder if there was not enough material
). It was drizzling that night, and his sneakers creaked with every step he took.

Don't know why but we exchanged numbers. It was over the telephone that I gradually came to notice that he is a very patient and understanding person. And the more we talked, the more we came to find out about our similar tastes in music (arcane Britpop bands like Suede, Blur and Pulp) Then slowly, I start to like him lor. The rest is history.

eiggam

Hi greekgal,

yah, will def. share my photos when they're ready.
i'm taking my pre-wedding photos with printemps in JB but my AD stuffs i'm DIY-ing. so i only signed with printemps for the photos.

jeso

Hi Asura,
Do not have any budget for videographer. Have been running around during the weekend to view the demos of videographers. However sadly many of them are already booked on 18 Sept 2005. Still searching for a good one, hopefully.

janna

welcome here Hazel and Lipstar! ;)

halo my dear ladies!! I'm back! My meeting with Fiona went on really well! She was indeed more friendly in real person and she was also accomodating. Had a really pleasant chat with her. So much so for my worries at then. *phew*

Hazel: Our dates may be the same. But I am not taking the Stamford ballroom which explains the reason why they did not call you up. =)

hunnie

So funny le... got racers and top racer...

Btw, i am still sourcing ard. It seemed that 9th Dec is really a super hot date... i just called Marina Mandarin and she told me that there are several calls enquring abt this day.

These are the following hotels in my list, those that can accomodate 60 tables and above...

Grand Copthrone Waterfront
Grand Hyatt
Marina Mandarin
Meritus Mandarin
Orchard Hotel
Raffles The Plaza
Shangri-la
The Pan Pacfic Hotel
The Ritz Carlton

What do you all think? Any suggestions or bad comments?

marnie

Lipstar, ah...so you are a britpop kinda gal eh?? Meraj is too. I'm so so lah...I listen to good music..nothing poppy please though....
But you see me hor, wouldn't think that I listen to those really loud music...
Looks can be deceiving, I say.

Janna: Good for you! Aiyah...you worry and sweat sweat for nothing girl. So all worked out liao?? And the favours, did you ask her about that too?

lilic

ger, eh, think pan and ritz taken for 9 dec liao...

also for ritz - you will have same costing problems with shang... and need to pay 80% of costs before the dinner leh.

heard from a fren marina mandarin that they quite keen to meet your needs... to get your biz

hyatt - i heard problem with services leh...

orchard hotel - heard BR is old and low ceiling

rtp - a lot of BR so will depend which one you get.

chobits_lek

Hi ladies...

Long time never come into the forum already.Finally going to confirm my AD venue soon. so happy... going to sign the contact next week. My actually day venue is Grand Copthorne Waterfront. The next thing will be the bridal boutique. Can anyone recommend me???

Hi Ooshie,
Can you update for me. Thank you.
Rom 30/06/2004
Lovesnest JW

tanel

I now offically declare that Apr 06 brides are professional skivers! Muahahahaha.

hazel: nope not balloting, i tried balloting redhill flats but did not get it. This bukit batok flat is a resale.

hello girls, are u all out of your minds??! post my pictures here??!!! NooooOOOooo waaay lah, i already let go my age, my name ...i am too exposed already! :p

preci0usm0ments

hahaha paiseh la.. i got come in read, but no input leh.. the hotels all high end one :p me no comments la.. i dun like PP's Ocean BR loh.. as for Hyatt and RTP, too many BR already.. guests might get confused..
the rest, not much comments, never been there

lilic, you also dun come in that frequent today leh..

hey i going CL this sat
go see some AD pics

marnie

EL: Aiyah...no need to be scared lah..Not that we are stalkers. Skivers already happy enough liao...
Er...what about you PMing to us your picture? Not that exposed right? (okaylah..me just teasing you....

But seriously, you should take a picture after the trial and get your friend to see the picture. At least got honest opinion from a 3rd party. What about your FH? Can't he stick around your house until it's over?

count

Just cfmed my AD - it will be on 11/11/06, so I'll have to change thread... =)

Jes, we're also considering Shang and will probably pay the deposit soon. Feeling a bit scared also cuz of the high cost per table at Shang but since there is some degree of parental sponsorship, we decided to go ahead. Honestly, I think the Silver menu is better. No point paying so much more for a better menu when most guests do not appreciate or discern the difference in food... In fact, the amt saved for 4 tables can give u an additional table. Just my 2 cents' though. Ur parents may have different ideas... =)

tanel

I AM OFF TOMOLO GEEERS WOOOOHOOO I AM GOING SHOOPPING!!!

aiyah, fh working. So after my make up i am going to dash to his office for him to take a look. WIll take pics too. I never tot about the third opinion sigh, oversight. never mind lah, most importantly i must feel comfy and like the make up.

pearlyshell

Bear,...

I think you have to make up your mind pretty fast as our dates falls on the 8th lunar mth thus it is an auspicious mth as many people are getting married as well. Especially, hotels banquets are pretty "hot" too...so better make up your choice soon. I have already settled my banquet with Marriott liao but have not select my BS yet!

Hmm..yah hor..yours is on the 15th, zhong qiu jie .. haha good for you, then you can give mooncakes as gifts to guest. haha *juz joking*

Is bridal zone the one at marina sq?

marnie

EL: Wah...you really good leh...can get off in the middle of the week. Tell us good lobang hor..especially jewellery if you are window shopping for it alone..

Have fun tomorrow EL!

kaye

EL, agree with Marnie..U shld ask yr frenz for opinions...
most importantly, U must feel confident of yrself...then the natural beauty will come out automatically...
Re-sale flat also needs bidding? tot the seller & the buyer agrees with the price, then its ok? U shld bargain & not bidding higher,rt?

ooshie

<table border=1><tr><td> Nick </TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Banquet Venue/ Theme</TD><TD>Bridal Boutique</TD><TD>Studio/Outdoor Photo</TD><TD>AD Photographer</TD><TD>Videographer</TD><TD>Lovenest </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindee Koh</TD><TD>3/6/2006</TD><TD>LCOR</TD><TD>3/6/2006</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Friends</TD><TD>Friends</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow</TD><TD>6/6/2003</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>BingBing</TD><TD>6/3/2005</TD><TD>Raffles Cclub</TD><TD>8/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Mr &amp; Miss Wedding Club</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>icebubbles</TD><TD>23/3/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>The Fullerton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Andrew Choi</TD><TD>Beetles (Chor Hui)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>keh huier</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Precious Moments</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>2/4/2005</TD><TD>Plaza Park Ryl</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>JC</TD><TD>18/9/2004</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>SK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jes</TD><TD>18/9/2005</TD><TD>Zoological Gardens</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>Conrad Centennial</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ooshie</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>Changi Musuem</TD><TD>22/6/2006</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>The Wedding Present</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>gini09</TD><TD>28/6/2005</TD><TD>Intercontinental</TD><TD>23/6/2006</TD><TD>Intercontinental</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Studio Emboss</TD><TD>Big Day Studio</TD><TD>Fabian Lim</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Asura79</TD><TD>3/12/2005</TD><TD>Christ The King</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Big Day Studio</TD><TD>Y*ppies Production</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Timminbuzz</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>GingerCat</TD><TD>24/9/2005</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Emotionpics</TD><TD>Emotionpics</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsSoh</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>eli</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>The Wedding Present</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Beetles (Chor Hui)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>chobits</TD><TD>30/6/2004</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>JW </TD></TR><TR><TD>phy_o</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>OLPS</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Marriot</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD>Foto-*.com</TD><TD>Foto-*.com</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>notti</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Au JarDin</TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD>Park lane Hotel (HK)</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Beetles (Bernard)</TD><TD>Bugs Media</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chaiyo</TD><TD>25/12/2005</TD><TD>Amara Hotel</TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>