(2005) Brides of year 2005

caitlyn

morning gals!

winnie - glad to hear tt u're pleased with ur gowsn!! have u decided on ur PS places?? looking fwd to see pics of ur gowns!!must bring camera the next time!

daphne - have u managed to check out the prices at little bali?? all i noe is it costs $150 for 3 hrs to take fotos there if u're not holding ur wedding there!! too exp for me!1 hee

dolphin48

hmm....... i think they are shaking legs at home?

really? $150 for 3 hours? ok, then i can forget about PS there...... crazy.... but nvm, one of my friend is considering to hold his wedding there so i'll see if we can bargain for something....:p

vela

icy, yahoo email is [email protected] , waited for your call after our long chat over the phone on Sun, guessed you must be busy packing. Hv a good time

decimal, kekekeke, ya, cheong a lot of places. The way our itinerary contributed to our good impression of Amsterdam & Lucerne. A lot of sightseeing in Italy so when we reach Lucerne, we really appreciate the slower pace & 2 days there lor. After the charge up, we look forward for more activities & Amsterdam fulfill that..kekekekeke
ya, very happening at night, the whole group started laughing along the way when reminded of our tour guide joke that we will puke. Some really young, feel bad abt the laughter, shouldn't hv done it.

hahahaha, I also in this pharse liao, got to start arranging family and frens gathering to view my pix and video once they are ready. Just went to select my AD pix for my collages album, tough job, ended up got to Top up another 10 pages!!!

apostles

Hi miffy,

No worries lah... no paiseh. mine is a five room exec. Sure when your house is done, you post ur pictures up for us to see.

Hi maiden,
you are so on on exercising. very determined. (thumbs up) I am still on the limbo mood. done nothing to lose wt yet except to walk up stairs now and then when i feel like it. No regular exercise.

Your photoshoot at Bintan sounds fun. You stayed there for a night right.... How is your photoshoot on Sunday?

Thanks for ur compliments. my home cost me $26+k. You make me paiseh again. ehehhe....

Hi Afcai, for me, mum said one month before AD cannot go anyone's wedding. But for my other friends, they cannot go 4 mths before and after the AD. that means 8 mths in total. that is alot right.

panggou

hi caityln, yeap have very nice experience with the gown fitting and the designer is very very willing to suggest how to beef up the design. Cos i am taking duchess satin for both WG and EG,, intially ia m quite worried if it iwill seem boring :p but she says she will add up the details for me till i am satisfied.

i have booked the sentosa pass hehehe, and wondering if i should take near esplanade for ngiht shots, or at the Singapore asian museam. wat you think?

but i am worried, cos intially i told youladies the MTM jacket is $200, i forgot if it is for rent or keep leh, cham, i think better call and confirm later again.

chanol

Hi hi ladies,

Sorry..was unable to log in for the past few days. I had my gathering with my ex-classmates, one of them just came back from States for summer break, spent alot of time shopping. hee...Kena "scolded" by my hubby for spending too much when I was supposed to be unemployed!!

watashi, yeah...so shiok to be not working..but must try to wake up early to get used to the working hours otherwise I'll be in trouble when I start work. Should be starting work on 20th Jun.

Daphne, so r u still taking little bali as ur PS location?

Noticed that the thread is getting quiet these days....Must agree with caitlyn that it cannot just die off like tat... =P Gals...keep it on..

panggou

Daphne, I called the designer last night to confirm if S left cos of my complaint, turn out lots of couples experienced the same problem like me and lodge the complaint. he started smsing us to bororw money... and quite persistant, so i got worried and run away :p

so i think he was asked to leave. feel very guilty initially cos i dont want to cause him or his career any problem so i wanted to change quietly.

dolphin48

chanol, no lah if i got to pay $150 for 3 hours and then if rain, i'll be knocking my head against the wall man! guess i'll have go give that a miss but will see how when i go this thurs....

winnie, oh really? then i think he should leave cos he's not being professional and it does hurt the reputation of the bridal shop. don't feel guilty cos he didn't leave due to your complain but cos many complained about him rite?

eejean

Hi Stars,
hahaha..saw your living room--the 3 tiered side chair thingy we also have!
haahahaaa....sorry..minor thing right..
see ya at kickboxing today- but dunno what you look like though..;p

dolphin48

well well..... i think he is really putting his own reputation at risk then..... cos such words do spread around in the industry quite fast esp to other competitors.....

panggou

yeap but cannot think why he wants it this way since he must be earning alot. at the time when i signed the contract, he even told me one day he will strike out and start his own label, that is why, we dont want to kick up a big fuss, we just go quietly to the boss and ask for transfer.

Hi Seval

Tt's really alot of pix. Did u ask for them to be arranged in 2 albums? Some brides with many pix did tt...

Hi Jelly

Any probs with the flowerball ah? I saw the flower ball thing in Chatuchak too. They stall quite cautious, didn't allow takeing of pix. The roses were made of paper, like those u bought. Was trying to analyse if they glued them together or stuff into the styrofoam.. But they stopped me, for fearing of damaging.. *TskTsk*

Hi Starmoon

No wonder u haven't been ard.. So where're u at with ur preps?

I also haven't had my food tasting, cards & discussion of deco yet..

Hi MikMik

SAM & ACM are not tt near. SAM is near Bras Basah & the new SMU in town. There are 2 ACMs, one at Empress Place & the other near the old S-11 at National Lib. Mine was at Empress Place..

joteohl

hi tissuebox
i did it cos my PS fren did a good webpage for me so i featured it. esp there was a part in my webpages that takled about me marching-in. it is not a must. do what both of u wan.

ppp

Hi blursotong,

Can share with me your lovenest pics as well? my address: [email protected]

I m also Nov bride( 27th Nov) and also went JB for my PS. My album is ready now, if u wanna to take a look can give me your email address....

starmoon

hi anne
mine is also ivory cos bs says for asians better to take ivory than white...dunno lor....so dun worry too much lah...get the pics first and im sure it will turn out fine...think there r many others who got ivory as well...

hi mehmeh
haven been doing anything much...just collected my hb suit last sat. going for ps end of the month and then will arrange to discuss abt decor, invites, etc. we have not even come up with our guest list yet and wonder if itz okie. like both yours' and gin's photos....very relaxed and very nice. we hope our pics will turn out well cos we dun really like posing for pics...anyway, worry now oso no use so worry abt it after my ps lor. did u haf fun shopping in BKK? me missed the shopping even though i just went there last month...hehehe

lately, dunno y i have this feeling that i dun really like my gowns (both EG & WG) anymore and feel like getting another....it juz feels like itz not the perfect one....dunno how to explain oso...my hb also dun like his colour of suit after he went to collect it....wierd hor...to think that we chose it ourselves initially...hmm...

stars03

Hi Sweet,

I love the pics of yr home. They are so nice n modern but still look cosy..
They are the 1st 4 pics only rite? So how much did you spend for yr entire renovation? N wat the name of the ID? So have u both moved into yr new home already?

Hi renee, do keep me updated if u have new pics too..

Yups, our home is cosy n resort style and hence have alot of wood colour furnitures..hee hee..

Hi bubbles,

Yups..that is from ikea..Hee hee..u also have that same one? Me usually at the last few rows...i will be wearing my usual gear wich is navy blue track pants n black racer back top. Think i know who u r, i will go say hi to u later...hee hee

Hi Starmoon

It's pretty normal to tink tt other designs of the WG & EG are better after u've selected OTR or MTM. If u've got OTR, u shd still be able to make changes, but I guess not so with MTM. I too find my WG can look better? Thinking of changing the ribbon to another colour & make it detachable. Also hope tt I can get a long sash tt goes ard the waist, also detachable.

Ribbon maybe for morn & tea ceremony. Long sash for church & banquet march-in. In this case, I wld have greater variety? Hope my BS wldn't mind me doing so.. *Cross my fingers & toes!*

Hahha, my guest list is also not firmed up entirely. There is one in existence, but haven't reviewed it in awhile. FH going to change job, so prob shd have some changes in list too

BKK was hothothot! I was still ok with the weather, but FH couldn't tahan Chatuchak being so hot. We went last Dec, but I dun rem it being so hot then... Bought my Ang Pao Box & Xi candles (Upload the pix later). I bought also another pair of shoes, which I might use for AD.. Not to mention clothes & bags! Heehee

chanol

Daphne, dun knock against the wall lah..haahaa..but $150 for 3 hours indeed ex..for me. But hv to depend if the area is big enough for u to stay for 3hrs too..

Winnie, luckily u found out early otherwise it will be miserable to work with this kind of person...well, maybe as wat u say...he must be earning alot but he might be spending alot too...tats y he had to resort to this....

annesep

Hi Starmoon,

lucky me not the only one choosing ivory. =) Me share the same sentiment as you on the WG & EG. wanted to change too... but me waiting for my photos to be out first before making further decision.

Hi Mehmeh,

Any idea where to get long sash, like gold/copper/brown colour? mine EG is a "tube" top... then straight one.. a bit plain in overall... cannot change liao... sad.. dunno how to change the outlook of the gown. thinking of adding a bit of "train", but dunno how to go abt it.. any advise?

Hi Anne

My advice in this case is to rent fr other BSs? Not too sure if it's feasible, but no harm trying..

Alternatively, can ask a seamstress to make it?

Here are my buys fr BKK which I thought are great buys!

Another pair of wedding shoes at only SGD10
291062.jpg

Bought fr MBK..

Here's my Ang Pao box & Xi candles
291063.jpg

Going to jazz up the box with lace/ribbons & flowers. Actually was looking for a round box like the one featured in Green Point's website, but wasn't able to.

Do u think the box wld be big enough??

annesep

Hi Mehmeh,
Wow... your shoes are lovely... if only i could find those in Singapore.. i just bought a gold colour shoes last week. not as pretty as yours, mine is very simple.

Is APB a must for wedding dinner? i dunno abt that, i thought only christian has that... me a bit "san gui"... i learnt all thru this forum.

I love your "Xi" candles... so cute!

aloe79

Hi Jolene,

No yet.. Mine is nt yr Jan.. :) still sourcing for photography and videography.. How ur wedding? Have u download ur photos? Can share n take a look?

pinkberries

Hi Princess,

My details as attached =)

Dinner on 23th Dec at York Hotel
BS : Whitelink
PS : Whitelink
AD Photographer : Kelvin Eng
AD Videographer : Mark yang

starmoon

hi mehmeh,

love your shoes...very nice! indeed a good buy....btw, how much u bought the candles for? me managed to get it at 450BT for 2 at MBK...the lady refused to go any lower than that...did u also see another one with the xi wording shaped within a heart shape? we wanted to get that initially but thot will check out chatuchak market first and who knows chatuchak dun haf so when we went back on another day to MBK, the candle no more liao....oh when we went there, the first few days was quite cooling cos it rained but when we went to chatuchak on sunday, boy it was hot! no rain and it was bright and sunny....we perspired so much and become "liam ti ti"...eeks...we were there for 5 hours until both cannot tahan liao so went back....and we didnt even finished walking past each and every shop....datz how big the place is....kekeke

i think the box should be big enuff..how many tables will u be having? i'll be having only 20-25 so if u r having around the same amount, think it shld be alrite.

dun think i can change liao in that case...oso not sure if bs will find me too troublesome, afterall oredi went for 2 fittings liao...so if wanna change shld change earlier mah....juz think my WG abit too plain and does not really stand out in pics and also EG colour a bit too pale...but it was me who asked for pastel colours in the first place...irony rite...gals r juz so fickle-minded....haiz, now thinking of getting a brighter colour dress...but on the other hand, dun wanna waste money so in a dilemma...

mik

Hi MehMeh,
thanks for the clarification. me very blur on the different museums in SG.
wow! had such great stuff back from BKK. i didn't see XI candles there before! so cool! where did you get them from?
wow! lovely shoes also!!

Hi Anne,
no worries. i'm also having a off-white WG. michelle told me that i can take off-white better. stark white makes my skin tone look uneven.

hi Starmoon,
if it turns out that you're really uncomfy with your gowns, can try allure charix for gowns or you may want to rent OTR gowns from other BS.

just to share:
after having experienced the gown designing process, i've come to a conclusion that it is actually better to try on as many gowns as possible and the one gown that captures your heart, have it MTM in your size. that way, will be really happy with the final result. if i could rewind back time, i would definitely have chosen this method.

Hi Starmoon

My candles were priced at 160B each. Bargained to 300B for 2.. Not much discount, but better than none yah? Got them at Chatuchak.. 450B for 2 at MBK, is prob rite abt there.. Stuff more exp at MBK I guess

Chatuchak was scorching hot.. Went on Sat, 9 - 4 & Sun 10 - 2... FH looked absolutely miserable.

Eh, my guest tables can go up to 38.. But shd be enough, unless they put in wads of money..

Hmm, tell Shirley tt u want maybe more embellishments & details? Say tt the comments came fr parents etc.. Whine a little

Hi Anne

APB, is prob needed for Christians & non-Christians.. Banquet also got ang paos mah. U dun want ah? I volunteer to be ur receptionist & collect AP for u lah.. hahaha

I bought the candles only for deco, coz I dun want to buy those lamps.. Clash with my room's design. Just put there for fun & accessorise the room, not intending to light them up

Hi MikMik

Chatuchak's really hard to find stuff inspite having the map at hand.. Many nooks & corners & with the crowd, u wld get lost & hard to cover the whole market systematically. I more or less managed to, coz I went last Dec & this time I ticked-off on the map for every section I covered..

I agree, try on as many gowns as possible. Having done so much internet research, I still am able to find designs which are so gorgeous.. Which is why I want to make some changes. Oops! I think the only way to satisfy my immense gratification for WGs wld be to 1) be a model, 2) be a designer!!! 3)re-marry? hahahah

starmoon

hi mikmik

prob becos i didnt try as many gowns when i first went there...only tried a few...prob less than 10...oso the EG was something i saw in mag and i showed the designer and initially like it alot but dunno y only lately feel like having something else....perhaps just like mood swings bah....kekeke...to rent OTR - how much is it roughly? me dun think hb will let me spend more money leh...he will prob scold me for being so fickle minded....but if not exp, maybe can consider but then again, dunno whether my bs will be pissed anot cos she's the "bao ga liao" kind (designer & mua also she do)...so abit scared if i didnt use her gown ultimately, she might mess up my make up...wow, cant imagine leh...*sigh*

hi mehmeh

maybe i'll try talking to shirley to see if she can add more details bah...guess datz the only way out...lucky u, can find the candles in chatuchak....we check out many candles shop there but cant find at all....in the end, kanna chop at mbk...wah, u can really tahan the heat ah....stay there so long...thot we oredi stayed there quite long liao...and yr fh so good...even went there 2 days...mine sure will nag like hell if i asked him go 2 days....

kuchi

hi sherylannlee,
mine is the recent balloting exercise.......wld be collecting keys tom.......heehee
my blk is 4B, what abt urs??

hi adeline,
realised that ur lovenest is at tiong bahru too..... which blk??

mik

hi MehMeh,
oic. din managed to go to chatuchak previously...unable to extend stay due to lack of filghts. next trip i make there, will definitely try to cover as systematically as possible.

wow! your research is really very intense. *peifu peifu* the last time i put in so much effort was for ROM. now time for wedding, i've instead become "nua" hahaha. think running out of steam, that's why.
first and second options sounds really good. errrrrrrrrrr...3rd option? how about renewal of vows in 5 or 10 yrs' time?

mik

hi starmoon,
ohhh...can try at different BS when doing BS-shopping so you get a feel of the different types of gowns, etc.
rental of OTR roughly $600 onwards depending on which BS you approach. if so, you might wanna try allure charix since they're having sale right now. their gowns are from 15% to 50% off.
ohhh...abit headache then. can opt to change another MUA? -- is it possible?

annesep

Hi MikMik,

Agree with you. but same here. too late to rewind liao.. i tried a lot WG (at least 15-18 pcs) & EG (10-15pcs. still none really capture my heart. in the end chose the off-white one. like the back design cos nice embriodery with peach & pink floral pattern scattered from waist till the end of the skirting.

my EG (although imported gown) is also embriodery, but like Starmoon, her is too pale, mine is too dull due to copper gold colour, like blend with my skin colour. That why look for sash or some nice scarf?? to go with... *headache*

guess everyone wanted to look her best cos once in a lifetime..

starmoon

hi mikmik

actually i didnt really go BS-shopping...my sis used them before and recommended so i went, fell in love...now kinda regret dat i didnt try more gowns at that time...as for mua, no other option unless i use outside services lor...so perhaps i will take mehmeh's advice and check with her to see if i can add more details or play around with it more....as for EG, cannot change colour liao since oredi made. maybe i'll drop by to see their OTR to see if i can find anything i like...thanx gals for yr advice!

annesep

Hi MehMeh,

I din know APB is for everybody.. heheh... of cos wan the APs... hehhe...

Like tat i also need to hunt for one liao.. aiya..

mik

hi Anne,
yep, me also too late to rewind...
ohhh! sounds very pretty. can show pics when they're ready?
think maybe you wanna look for more drama accessories to ensure you can stand out better? sash sounds nice. scarf -- scared may look not "bride" enough...
yep, true true.

hi starmoon,
oic. yep, yep, check with her first b4 deciding on your next move. becos you may want to use outside service of MUA and bargain for nicer gown from your BS? hope your search will be succesful! you're most welcome!

i_bless_u

Huling

I have a photograhper to recommend u.
U interested? Every1 compliment that he is v good!

Ok..will send to u all my link too...cos i uploading my honeymoon pics now.

annesep

Hi MikMik,

will show you my pics when ready. me selecting my pics this thurs. so worried abt the outcome, cos me not those photogenic type.. my face rather chubby... although body slim.. you know those matchstick?
<- tat's me.

my biggest problem is dunno where to find drama accessories... any idea where to find nice nice one? but also think if buy, can only wear once... cannot wear those with normal working attire.. when i see WW, and the rest so keen on making own accessories, i am so envy... cos me no talent in such stuff...