(2005) Brides of year 2005

jnj

Jtan,

how big is the pack of pearls u bought??....

Kit,
how come change to june??
but never mind lah....u can still join us anyway all of us here r getting married this yr so it doesnt make much diff if wed in sept or june.
2 more months onli leh....hows ur preparation like now??

Tan,
sollie ah...me blur queen!...actually i receive ur mail but i didnt see the link...kekeke....

mehmeh,
i see urs n Tan one hor...so nice...then very tempted to try out too. tell my hubby last night n the reply is "do for what ah"....haiz.....guys ah!!!....i will try when i have the time....nowaday quite busy at work....sometime work till very fed up just like today.....haiz....

josl,
eeee.... i like escogots...but onli if its nicely n deliciously done.

Jtan,
sothys good??....i m using dermologica prod now....exp!!!....skII exp also hor.....
Zoe....u trying out the SKII mask??...can buy sample one ah?....facial at leonard drake also exp.....any facial at reasonable price?

Zoe,
ur gowns look nice also what!.....hmm.....think cannot compare one loh....cos if i put mine next to Tan one.....will also look so so only...its how u carry off the gown when u wear it right. dun worry lah......as long as u like it n look nice on u thats more impt!

Hi Jelly

PS locations ah? Refer to my posting for Wendy above (28 April 8.45pm) Haven't thought of any other locations tt are nice. I think it wld be unique & memorable to do it at the banquet venue? Some couples like the fence area near the airport runway & can catch planes landing & departing.. Haha, seems more suited for WW yah?

Otherwise browse thru the various S'pore PGs portfolios thru SB's main website (not forum) & gather ideas. I did tt & gathered what I liked.

Hi Jtan

Thanks for your comments.. Will keep in mind, coz I'm taking OTR.. Eh I like ur pearl necklace leh, I like it as a 3-strand choker with maybe a opal stone/pearl centre.. Saw one piece of costume jewellery at Chameleon, but dunno if it's worth the $$$.

Hi WW
If gd must praise mah? Of coz to affirm for the $$$ & effort u have put in too.. I wld really love to keep mine too, after spending long hours searching for THE gown. But really no cupboard space & no opp to wear again. Doubt my future daughter wld want to wear it either (all so materialistic these days to wear 2nd-hand)

Too bad you getting married so soon, if not I will be ur wedding planner. Hahah, it's okie, I can build up my portfolio thru my frens too! I think I'm one the earliest to get married for my age. Hiaks! But I think S'pore couples are still quite resistant in using planners, afterall very far & few ppl are willing to spend on pure services per se

Hi Wendy

You r welcomed!
kao_welcome.gif

Hi TinTin
Wow! Word spreads far huh? I like to see Ngiap Heng's work, it's always so new & each picture seems like magic when you look at it.
Will rem to check out the webby soon! How are ur wedding preps at the moment? I forgot if you wld be doing ur PS anot... Hmm *mehmeh's turn to scratch head*

josl

Hi janice,
yup yup if can eat everyday even better hor...:p

Hey jelly,
i think if go there u better book the 2nd level coz its not a very big place and always make dim dim the place.

Hi meh meh,
realised ur birthday juz over ar, and u are really very young, less then half way to the big 3!!

fifidoog

hey janice,
the pearls were either 10mm or 12mm in diameter. one pack of 20 costs $6.50. i bot 2 packs and used 34 pearls.
products - i'm not using sothys but the facial i go to uses sothys. quite nice. am using avene as recommended by my dermatologist cos it's PH neutral and non sensitive. and CHEAP!

hi mehmeh,
i think with your creativity you can certainly make your own accessories. check out the south bridge road stretch. they have the most exciting stuff. hee...

p2me1a

hahaha thanks thanks... I wish I did it myself... but no, got someone to do it for me - freelancer...
hehehe...

yeah a lot of people who haven't seen me for a long time all say I look very different... hahaha...
but maybe not THAT different in person lah... hehehe...

pst

p.s. still in office, just finished typing mass booklet, writing invite cards... now packing up to go home... FH sleeping on the chair liaoz... hahaha...

jellytots77

yo josl... so how u find the food there... kekeke... mine god bro is working there as a chef lah... so no problem with tat... juz give him a call will do... so u can join for the gathering... we can hv escogots... yum yum yum...

yap i know the place is small... thought if we are gog to be too noise maybe can book up the whole of downstairs mah... like example u all 1 2 do corasages... etc...

hmm... upstair nice and cosy lor... wait ppl go there romantic romantic... come a bunch of noise gals... spoil their day man... kekeke

yo meh... yap i saw... thought maybe u still got tons of ideas mah... kekeke

sk2

berry
for me, i have been going for classes since 2 years back.. so din join on purposes.. but keeping fit is gd.. guess u gal shd consider...

amylim
welcome... of coz u can.. =) when is ur ad?

winnie,
din fit how u knw wat suit u???

kit_kit

josl,
a lot of things not done yet. will help my hubby move in new flat in may05. so far, invitation card not print, hv not go for food tasting, guest list not confirm, hv not shop for wedding items, etc.. quite bad, isn't?? we will concentrate on our house 1st, the rest settle after he settle in.

kit_kit

tan,
i must say yr $$ quite well spent. TY gown indeed worth it. i like yr train.

janice,
escogots are my favourite too.. i like it baked with garlic.. hehehe.. dermologica prod?? u go where buy?? & how do u know which type suit u?? at first i also want to buy this brand (my friend using it now), but dun know which type suit me.

escapegal

think is always better to get everything booked 1st bah...mi last yr book de photographer liao...last mth den he told mi say he remembered my date wrongly n my date is already fully book! i tot i already inform him last YR n saw him taking note..now den say remember wrong...den i try to call up many photographers...all fully booked!! heng heng..finally got 1...so i'll always encourage ppl to book earlier if is super hot date!
paiseh...come here to nag =p

i_bless_u

noscon: My AD is 16 May!

Jolene: Yaya sometimes...hahhaha! I just went Insomia...got nice band! Wanna dance but i got shopping bags with me so didnt! hahahha

mei: U going collect ur cert on the 10 May?
Initally i want to take the cert and document on the 10 May but hubby kept going overseas business trip,and only coming back on the 10 May. So got to go collect on 11 May, lucky ROM gave us 2 dates! I warn him not to plan anymore trips we so busy now! He say after honeymoon come back will go another business trip!

Come ladies let gather and have a drink whenever all our hubby go overseas for business trips! Hahaha!

zoeanne27

Hi MehMeh
I am setting up the website.. so when ready, i show u the link .. Paiseh..
As for janice & other gals, I only show her a few pics thru MSN , just nice she is online with me..so no link la..

HI janice, Jtan
Thanks for your console. Indeed, i really envy nice gowns you gals have.. Dun really think i carry off my OTR gowns that perfect , though still ok.. I am looking forward my MTM CS, EG and choosing my AD WG....
wish me luck that i find a gown that i like... Yeah!!

Escogot?? I no eat b4 leh... nice anot... maybe i get pasta there... NO prob.. lets go jelly's god bro shop... Hey jelly, since your god bro is the chef, he can give us bigger portion hor ... ahahahhaah

HI Kit
Wish you all the luck in everything. I know its kind of busy for you nowadays... Take care.

Hi Jtan
Your pink pearl necklace looks simple and nice...
Is it short enough to be a choker? U use it to match your pink EG??

I used to go facial at Adonis..Kind of not so gd for me.. Everytime i go facial ( not just adonis) but other shops too, i sure have breakouts.. Until i stop... see a doc, then ok.. So now, i phobia of facial...

Hi janice
SaSa and Leewah shops do sell samples..
I thought if i can buy from them to try 1st instead of indulge in my savings into such ex products.. if really useful, i dun mind lor..
Maybe i shd try the SKII facial mask 1st..

Gonna sleep liao.... went KTV and sing until sore throat...hee hee..gd nite

cute

Akemi, your 5 tables is inclusive of your friends? Wow. That's really few.

escapegal, you are frightening me...

jazzee

Think everyone is worried about the invitation and guest list part which is probably the bIGGEST headache of the wedding. I am also having some dilemma with my invitations. I have actually already told my friends last Dec when I went back to Singapore but it is like 6 months away. I hope they wil remember. It is such a hassle for me to coordinate it from here. My hubby has casually mentioned to some of his closer friends and colleagues but not to others. Do you gals think that he should start telling them now, given that my wedding is on 25th June? My hubby keeps saying that it is too early. I dun think so right? But on the other hand, some colleagues or friends actually told commented that it is a tad too early to let them know and tell them nearer to the date! So annoying! I also need to plan right?

Ying11, I totally agree with you that June is quite a troublesome month to get married in. I purposely fix the wedding date on 25th June (the last Sat before school reopens) so that no one will give me the excuse that they are going travelling, and yet I have about 10 pple telling me that they cannot attend becoz they are away. Somemore, they are my closer relatives. Felt quite displeased actually! Sigh! I also have friends who cannot attend my wedding for some reason or another, telling me that ' they have to attend some wedding in May, cannot escape from it'. Quite insensitive to say that right?

Vivian, Heheehe, hope that my dinner will be goood! Becoz I upgraded the menu, the chef is doing a whole new menu he hasn't tried for a wedding at all... so scary right? Think if the dinner is not up to expectation, then will have to ask the hotel to refund me $88! Haha!

Sharlene,
One of my friends told me that it is also better to RSVP another time, 3 days prior to your wedding to play safe. Dunno if friends will be irritated if you keep asking them, but then again, what if some black sheep doesn't turn up? Sigh.....

little_a

cute,
what escapegal said is true.... when i book my videographer in july next year....he was already booked one year ago. gotta do your research fast...

deardear,
i am staying in tampines..quite near to bedok.

blessing

Hi Hi Yen,

Jordan says all 3 of us the EG are all so different except with the high slit, as u say for "that sexy look" hahaha I have decided to go for black EG as mum says jus go ahead.
My first fitting in Mid June. Still sourcing for AD photographer n they r helping me to find out and bargain for better rates.Told them I jus want a few shots of me in the gowns in studio n they helping me ask around if they can do it as I dun need many pics or outdoor shots.

Hi Esther,

u must be real excited abt your PS now. Enjoy yourself at the PS and tell us abt it when u r back! Remember to drink lots of water and bring lots of tissues when u go outdoors.
Have a good time!

Hi Renee,

Al says u have been very busy with your reno. I hope your dream home comes to pass very soon!!

mei79

i_bless_u,

my FH also telling me that his boss planning to send him to mexico after we come back from HM!! *faint*

my FH coming back on the 8th. I told him to take leave on 9th and 10th to settle the stuffs... so will be going to collect the cert and doc on the 10th. are u going to contact david loh before ur AD ah?

Hi Josl

Young ah?For awhile only, before I know it I wld hit the big 3! My FH hope tt 2 years after we wld have our Proj B oredi.. Tsktsk, young mother!!!

Hi Jelly

If u like the colonial look, try the Supreme Court, City Hall & Raffles hotel.
Was telling another YC bride tt an interesting place wld be the canopy walk in MacRitchie on the suspension bridge! Cool idea, but very hot in this weather man..
Or any nice restaurant/cafe wld be gd.. Can rest there & make use of the ambience & deco as backdrop. Is ur god brother's restaurant yummy in ambience? Can consider.. There was one Julia Weddning News bride who took hers in Black Angus (One Fullerton)

How abt any place tt is significant to you 2?

Hi JTan
I'm seriously considering picking up accessories making, but no idea how to complete the ends & hooks.. Was staring at them & conceptualising at Spotlight.. MyMy, the stuff at Spotlight are really ex! Golden Dragon's a better option & they also have your pearls, but I can't rem how much leh. Did you check them out before Arab Street?

Hi Zoeanne
U halfway thru? Is ur nick JoWinLee?

jnj

Zoe,
escogot...hmm.....can i say its a kind of snails??....eehehehe...i dun mind trying out the place jelly recommend...what u all thinks gals??

kit,
i went leonard drake at compass pt for facial...n they recommmend one....find that not bad my face not as oil as b4. but the thing is its quite exp loh.....most of the time i go JB buy....but i dun go often mah...like this time i use up my cleaner but didnt replenish the stock cos too exp n dunn if wanna change prod leh.....

josl,
eat escogot everyday??....wait high cholestrol...~tsk tsk tsk *

zoe,
cos i thinking if no samples right....then we can share the pack of SKII facial mask.....hehehe.....

Jtan,
u using the necklace for ur EG>?.....actually u can add other type of beads to it. it will look nice also!

mehmeh.....
i also saw some necklace at chamelon not bad also....also dunnno if worth the price......kekeke....so in the end no buy.....

mei79

To the first officially may brides, rina and yin,

Have a good night sleep tonight and be pretty pretty tomolo! Hope finally will run smoothly for you!

Congrats!!!!

lovely2005

Hi Ning,

Hehe... initial stage is bit anxious. Almost every night or afternoon I will pop up to chk out, make sure it ok anot.
When is ur reno commencing?
Heard from Al, u two going to view the pool table this wkend, right? Happy viewing...
Later gonna meet my carpenter, maybe go source for lightings if not going for Furama show.

Happy May Day to all....hv a great wkend ahead.

282119.gif

fifidoog

hey mehmeh,
orh actually the pple at the shop will be able to kinda point you in the right direction. unless you have one mega project in mind, then different story. but still quite fun

hey zoe, yah, good luck with your MTM stuff. and also with AD WG! you started the process already?

hey zoe & janice,
no, the necklace for WG. yeah i wanted just a simple classic strand, just like my WG also quite simple and plain.

am gonna make another one for EG. thinking of sequins or crystal beads for EG.

josl

Hi meh meh,
Younger than most of us lah, Proj B we thinking when we reach the big 3 then have, actually we also not the kiddy kind, looking at my niece n nephew is enuff to turn me off!!

Hi jelly,

hmm, then can pop over the bridal side and see my pixs on the computer hheehee, we can slso help u choose the gowns haha. Who else bridal shop at tanjong pagar?
Shld b able to make it unless less min got tings loh.
we go there ur god bro better give big big portions , gg to eat them dry keke. I usu eat there when i go bridal shop, not bad quite cosy place.

Hi kit,
woah, u still got lotsa things to do, think u better print the cards first as they may take sometime. When is ur AD in june?

Hi janice,
hee, then we go eat at jelly god bro place eat as much as we can...machiam buffet like that.

Hi WW

I went to re-visit ur multiply site & the more I look at ur WG shoes, I really like them! Although I dun need them leh, but coz of my great shoe fetish, seriously considering asking u to get them for me!

How much were they & what's the color? I can't really tell if they r silver anot.. Do they come in cream, light gold or black?

Any chance u wld be going back to HK to tt place u bought them fr?

Harlow Josl
Haha, younger than most of u ah.. So I'm the baby here! I'm having fears of having kids too soon, dun like them crying & being brats! It's always nice to play with other ppl's, coz no need to feed, bathe, look after etc..

Harlow Jtan
Point me in the right direction? Oh dea I think I am really lost.. U mean how to do up the ends?

Harlow Janice
Thot not to buy, coz it's my BS's duty to provide anyway. Unless MOE decides to give me an additional bonus come July like in '04 then I have more money to splurge on such accessories & even buy my WG! So far quite pleased with what they had provided during the PS, so shall ask them to provide the exact pieces I guess

kelvinrina

mei n jolene,

Thanks for the warm wishes.

May the 2 of u have a blissful marriage and everything will run smoothly for the 2 of u on ur wedding day.

-smile to all May beautiful brides_

amylim

Hi Daphne, Berry, Winnie & SK2

My AD is on New Year's Day - 1 Jan 2006. I've booked the venue, PG + VG and also purchased my WG OTR. Now sourcing for MUA and tailor to do the EG...

Read from the postings above that a few of you are thinking of signing up for the marriage preparation course with your FH. I attended one late last year with my hubby before we got ROM and found that it is really v beneficial..... learnt a lot of tips on how to build a long lasting marriage.....

cute

Akemi, i see i see. So include your friends and your relatives around 7-8 tables. Same same.

Yaya, on process of searching photographers and videographers liao. Freaking me out ler.

Haha.

iggy17

Rina & Kelvin
Congratulations on this special day! Wishing both of you many blissful years ahead

Yin,
Congratulations to you too!

merryberrys

wow..amy..seems like u have done quite alot of things..
the only thing i done is book venue..
i'm 1 week later than ur BS...think i have to buck up..

jnj

yeah mehmeh,
i also take r BS....they should be providing for us....considering the amt of $$ we have spent!!

huh...how come the topic change to having kids liao ah....hmm....me also no wanna so soon...prob after AD, settle my flat, after 2 more years financially more stable then have one lah...think that will be prob 27 or 28. just nice.

jtan,

EG from Kai is MTM to keep....price quoted inclusive liao.....no top up required. whew! if not hubby sure nag....coz that 1 I went ahead w/o consulting him....I originally bought an EG liao from Melbourne....then thot that 1 was too plain....so may just use for the PS....Wud love to have u along....save airfare, can go into my chked in luggage ????

wah....u thk that pink necklace u made would go very well with ur gown leh....very princess..
u so smart with ur hands leh....i wish got some creativity cells in me...but dun have leh...deicded that other than earrings, i too lazy to go source for necklace and so not planning to wear anything on my neck....

josl,

i just flooded my room with saliva from ur list of fois gras, lobsters......where this place ah?????? adrenaline rush......all my fav.....die lah....sure can't lose weight....but want to noe where leh?????

janice,

the website very easy to work on, just join as member, and u can start posting liao.....me having fun....planning to get hubby to put in some wine reviews when he has the time....

mehmeh,

times are changing....with more expectations and demands, and less time, pple are slowly moving towards the trend of getting planners, just that cost is always the factor.....but once u build up ur network, I thk u would fare very well with ur creative ideas and enthusiasm....
next time when u start, dun forget us k? can intro more biz to u mah...maybe we can then plan renewal of marriage vows and would need ur expertise.....dun chrg us too ex hor...

thx kit....I do kip my fingers x-ed that the end prdt of my gown wud be okay....
now got to lose some weight, coz very tight, can't breathe....u do go ez with ur prep ya.....dun stress urself k? slowly organise, it actually wun require alot of time.....pple like me just kiasu, so everything do early....but guess even if u start piecing things 2gether now still not late....i'm sure can be done in time....most impt is be happy and enjoy the process ya? once in a lifetime u noe?

zoeanne,

All the best with all ur gowns k? thk u have the x-factor to carry off alot of designs, so that shld be least of ur worries....I'm sure u would find the right WG u love for ur AD.....have confidence in urself!
u have more substance than u thk...see urself more up!!!! though me oni see abit of ur PS in Malacca, even back view oni u oredi look so good....and ur ROM pix,i thk the gown looks simple on its own, but on u, it looks very gao1 gui4....look like ming2 men2 gui1 xiu4 leh....

it's not the gown that matters, u have what it takes, bring out the best of the gown thru u, not the gown bring out the best in u....noe what i mean????

mehmeh,

the shoes silver, can't remember whether it comes in other colour though....they cost me abt $66 i thk....I would be gg to HK again ard 8-15th, in betw wud be in San Frans..let me noe if u want to buy....I wud try to find some space to carry back!

coyote

celt, how many months now? Heard many pregnent frds suffered alot from the morning sickness, aiyo so scary! U need more rest during 1st 3 mths, so rest rest rest. And dazed shall work work work :p Kekeke...

Wat taitai? I oso working leh. Maraquan is our REAL taitai ;)

woof

hi icy,
wow...u so cool huh.....abt a mth away liao n u still so steady....i m more worried than excited

hey sharlene,
i tink tat's a mini mistake....if u can overlook den the guests will too....oso they will b looking at the timing rather than the grammar mistake

hey jazzee n ying11,
dun blame urself lah.....itz part of it wat....tat's y i said tat the part tat i hate most is the guest list...anyway, if they tell u tat they cant make it...try to find "replacements".......be prepared to haf pple who agreed to attend but din turn up....so i m ready for this.......juz get over n done wif it..the most nx time if they invite u....u find excuse lor....hahaa

ccteott

Hi MehMeh,

I guess that's why there is the saying "A picture says a thousand words"

Most photographs in Singapore I find are very direct and "straight at your face" so it doesnt give you "space" to look at it and ponder over it. If you look at photographs taken by good European photographers, you keep wanting to look at their images coz each image seem to be saying something and you keep looking at it and trying to interprete what it is trying to say... I find this kind of photographs very rare in the Singapore photographic scene. Honestly The Pond has always tried to create images that have more depth and evokes more emotions but we are always learning from the masters and constantly striving to be better.

We just got back from a photographic course in Silicy taught by a National Geographic photographer and that really opened up my eyes. Its like you know you think you are not bad a photographer then you look at your teacher's work and your fellow classmate's work and then you think... "Man... there's so much more to photography that needs to be explored"

Oh well... we are back now and trying even harder to create more meaningful images for our clients!

Mehmeh, thanks for your support! *hugz* Wedding preps are going ok and nope not doing PS coz we feel that a sketchbook of the photographs we have taken over the years will be more meaningful than a day of PS coz we dont think our romance can be captured over one photographic session. (complex people very troublesome lar...) kekekeke...

fifidoog

hi mehmeh,
yeah i meant about making accessories yourself. my trip to arab st was very "eye-opening" there's about 3 shops there that sells very nice crystals. but i realised those are much harder to make than just stringing pearls. so i may have to concede that it's way too difficult for me. may check out golden dragon. do you know if they have classes there?

hey WW,
yeah, just joking that i'm small enough to squeeze into your luggage.
actually i'm only short, not that small width wise hehe...

escapegal

cute,

paiseh..dun mean to scare u but really leh...den for those who already booked long ago, remember to go cfm with them again...dun be like mi...

josl

Hi WW,
long time din go swimming now can go ur hse to do liao haha, the place is at tanjong pagar where all the bridal shops are.

jnj

Jtan,
golden dragon close tomor. so dun make a trip there just to see the crystals or beads. they will open on mon. golden dragon not much of crystals n r more exp than those at Arab str. as far as i have notice, golden dragon only have knitting classess.....jewellery making classes never see b4 leh.

fifidoog

hey janice ,
thanks! i was just about to go and see tomorrow. luckily saw your post b4 going to bed...
done with the dangling pearl earrings. if you wanna see it i'll post it up here sometime.

Harlow WW

Hmm, yah i do notice tt increasingly more ppl are engaging WPs to do the job. But as I'm planning mine, I realise it's great fun & wonderful learning experience. So wondering why ppl are missing out on such experiences tt mean a lot too.. Hmm, but if the market is going to grow, I might just go into it & event mgmt

Oh renewal of vows? You know Kim (my seamstress) had this lady who came back to her for almost 12 years to do up a WG for each year's renewal of vows?? Wow, and mymy tt couple apparently is really very loving. Unfortunately, this practise isn't very well taken up locally. But no harm rite!! Wld be fond memories when we grow old.

Forgot to ask, what's the heel height? I dun mind it being 3.5"-4", if lower also ok, coz I can still wear apart fr at the wedding too..

<font color="0000ff">TinTin</font>

Yesyes! I like pix with such depth &amp; you know when you do look at it 10-50 years down the road, it still means a huge deal to you &amp; fresh perspective still emerges.

I really look up to you &amp; NH for being so updated &amp; constantly upgrading your skills. I think it's great to do so &amp; tt really will convince your clients tt every cent is worth it

I do agree with you abt the PS part. During my preps I realised tt if I cld do it all over again, I wld engage my fav PG to do my AD instead of doing PS. Partly coz my FH is not very gd with posing &amp; stuff, I think an event &amp; the ppl ard us wld mean more to us anyhow. But it's still has been a great experience at my PS