(2005) Brides of year 2005

zoeanne27

Hi janice

Why choose all Sat? Normally my Sats all burn n reserve for house renovation, preparation stuffs leh... Friday nite can anot?

I shd be available on friday nites.....

Hi Jo
Yeah, i went for PS liao.. but not yet selected and got back any photos from the BS

sharlene

Ying11,
I also will be arranging a makan session with the brothers and sisters for ice breaking as well as briefing for the AD. Thinking of either holding it in my new hse or at a restuarant. I had allocated 30 mins for the tekan session. My HB will hate it. He finds it not necessary and shld be a nice occasion, why must sabo then suffer? ehhe.

Pisduck,
Why do u say whether can u select 20 pics? I believe it will turn out well

my HB also not yet confirm his brother lists, u are not the only one. As for my jiemeis, I keep changing as some of them change job, can't be jiemei and some pregnant....

Cookie Gal,
I never thot of giving ang pow to the BS since we had paid good money for the package. Instead, thinking if I shld invite my designer to the banquet to show appreciation....

fifidoog

hey janice,
my pearl necklace very plain one leh. just one string of pearls. anyways i will try and take photo and post up here for you to see.

hi kit,
thanks for your compliments. my WG at the back got transparent netting, which will have the same type of embroidery on it. it's just not finished. and the rest of the gown where there's embroidery, will have beading up as well so it looks more glam.

caitlyn

highness - sorry to have bullied ur little sister.. haha.. u ppl cm to forum to ren qin qi.. so cute.. i also dunno how to d/load the pics.. sorry can't help.. SOMEONE help!! so we can see our highness' pics!!!

winnie - thx for the tips.. i also die liaoz.. cannot cook.. u sound really excited.. hv a good time and remember to show us ur pics!

sk2 - hee.. th course supposed to help u get ready for marriage and to understand ur other half better.. some after gg for course realized tt they not suited i gues.. hee.. but small minority..

berry - i think EB does hv quite nice WGs.. i was also EB bride.. but now TC bride.. same as SK2.. mine not becoz cannot find gown but very long story.. hee.. anyway, i liked the WGs at EB but their EGs very lousy selection

artemissoh

Hi furry,

Wah ha ha... I would have fainted if the guy followed me home. Anyway, I think his lady friend wouldn't have been very pleased with that.

Hi Yen,

My first fitting is on 9 May too... But not with TWP. :p

dey

Hi Icy,

Did u ask specially to try the wine? or did the hotel give as complimentary? There is a whole list of wine the hotel provides but i am not sure which taste the best.. mayb i should check with my coordinator if they provide any complimentary wine tasting.

Hi Cookie gal,

I will most prob be giving angbao to my MUA only.

joteohl

wow, mei, u did night duty...do try to have beauty sleep and put eye cream more often. i realise my eye bags are building up!

tou2

Hi Sharlene

I have checked with my family doctor. Seems that it is easier to delay menses then make it come earlier. She recommended a medicine (sounds like "Diane") which is actually to control acne. She says no side effect... and no acne hahah. You are suppposed to take it immediately after your last period for about 3 weeks daily. About $35. Think it is similar to the one Janey took

Oh, I went to Greenpoint to discuss my bouquet - she also says flurry stuff not compatible with lace gown
I will be getting pink cymbidium with yam roses and lace flowers. Think it would be simple and not too colourful. By the way, what colour deco would suit a maroon car? Are you gals getting real or fake flowers?

I think i will be getting the car deco from Greenpoint as well - more worth it than just the bouquet.

Sigh, I got 2 jie meis back out liao
One just started work with a new company and most prob cant take leave. Sad

ying11

Hi Pisduck,
Don't worry as your photos will turn out mei mei one. For me, I also sweat a lot and my forehead was quite oily but in the end, the photos turn out quite alright.

Hi Cookie,
I do not intend to give any angbao to my coordinator as well as my designer cos I do not actually like the way they handle my case. But if they were a little nicer and not so money-minded, I might have given them a little token. Maybe a hongbao of $38 each. Collecting my gown 3 days before the AD.

Hi Sharlene,
My husband hates it too but I will definately tekan him and not let him off that easily. So, he will remember it for life. Explain to your hubby lor that it is the fun part of marriage. Ask him not to take things too serious. But I told my hubby that I won't ask him to play all those embarassing thing like wearing red undies or dance around the pole. Will ask him to play those more intellectual ones which I have yet to think..

I have not even come out with my own jiemei list..guests list, schedule, etc. Jialut!

gohwf

hi dey

i've tot of making one myself but i'm nt beri gd at handicraft, furthermore can save time..hehehe...but i'll probably drop by spotlight n rackie rackie c any idea on how 2 do it...
so hve u bought yr materials? where u intend 2 go buy yr materials?
i noe yuki n ying had done the corsages themselves, beri nice ley...wish i could do as nice as them...if really can't DIY will buy instead...

Hi sharlene

hmm..quite agree tat ang pow more practical but then if i can't really find any suitable gifts for them, i'll give ang pow...
...however for MUA, photgrapher, videographer, i'll give ang pow...

Hi icy

i agree with ying tat difficult 2 gather all of the jie mei go medi/pedi, unless just give them cashy, then ask them 2 go, or buy voucher 4 them...

Hi ying

hmmm makan session...i think with jiemei can liao...cos tekan session is done to yr hubby n xiongdi, so xiongdi tag along 2 yr makan session, they will noe it n tip yr hubby liao..hehehe..how many jiemei u having?

might wanna consider this magic wok, thai food, nt too x...like zhi cha...

i've allocated abt 15-20 min for the tekan session, but hve no idea abt wat 2 tekan my hubby...i told my hubby tat i'm gonna tell my sisters wat he is scared of...hehehe..he warned me nt to go too far, wait he really dun married me..hehehe..i told him nt to b spoilsport mah..then i assure him tat we won't go overboard...hehehe

Hi cookie gal

oh give BS coordinator ang pow...hehehe...never heard b4, hve anybody done it? if really wan 2 give, izzit 2 give even 2 yr designer, photographer n those who r there? or oni coordinator...

Hi Pisduck

hve u collected yr shoes? wat kind of design u hve 4 yr shoe?

watashi

highness, u need camera cable to connect the camera to the computer. do u have tat ?
i think some camera need to load the software first then can read the pics leh.. urs need or not?

dey

Hi Vivian,

Will be buying the materials from spotlight soon. Anyway, I am not good at handicraft too..will try my best to make..hee

Hi Pisduck,
Dun worry. Photos will sure turn out well. I tot i will look ugly too in some postures but most of them turn out fine.. I ended up topping up for some photos too..

yen2

Hi Artemis,

wow, so coincidental huh... we will be trying on our gowns for the first time on the same day... so must share our experience then, ok? :)

blessing

Good leh Renee, u can save money
By June u can move in! So exciting hor?? or u moving in after Oct?

Furry,
Phew,not the only one choosing black hehe. its out of the norm but i think tat is why nice. i m thinking striking blue also nice. see how tomorrow! Dun know when is my fitting cause supposed to confirm colours tomorrow only.

purple_poppy

Hi Jtan, sierra, mehmeh & pigger,seen so many good comments of you gals' wedding gowns & pics,would like to have a peek too...... mind
sharing yr pics with me??

My AD is in Dec, will only have my PS in early Sep.

zoeanne27

Hi Janice n Sierra

Sept 2005 Brides Gathering
Date : 13 May '05 (Friday)
Venue : Plaza Singapore?????
Time : 7pm

Confirm Attendants :
1) Janice
2) sierra
3) Zoeanne

jellytots77

Hi gals... 13 i cant leh... meeting my friends liao... think witch also cant hor...

anyway... if i got go i recommend u gals a new place at Tanjong Pagar... nice resturant and cosy... food price reasonable... we can go there and yak and do corsages lor

yo gin... the little flowers at the side is paper one isit... quite nice... u also another creative gal hur....

yo wendy... oic... hmm... i 1 2 change job hor then i ask u to help hor...

jazzee

Dey,
Montage emailed me the other day to tell me that the album and my photo collage is ready already. Can collect anytime I return back to Singapore. Have you paid Ted already? After I paid up, I really felt a hole in my pocket *sigh* Haha! Am not taking wine from the hotel unless my husband forgets to settle the orders for the wine (so far, he is only in charged of his own guest list and wine) Think it can be quite expensive to get it from the hotel. When is your AD? Did Ted mention how many days in advance we can collect our gowns for AD?

Vivian,
Actually I didn't know that about the giving ang bao to chef part. I dun even know who suggested it during the wedding dinner. Now, come to think of it, I felt a little silly and maybe a little cheated for giving? Hahaha. I gave $88. Quite a lot right? GUess I was too jet lagged to think rationally! I do not have any pics of my PS yet, only some pictures my friends took during my first fitting tho!

Ying,
I will also be having a makan/get-to-gether/briefing for all my helpers (jiemehs n xiongdis included). I think it is a good opportunity for them to mingle around to get to know all your helpers so that they wunt feel so awkward during your AD. YOu can also take the opportunity to go thru your AD itinerary with them.

mei79

jolene,
no choice leh... once i started on the album, i dun wan to stop until i finished...
ya.. will try to sleep more & drink more water... i dun put eye cream one leh... useful ah?

pisduck

hi sharlene,
i thot i was the only one with a bo chap hubby.... i dun think he even have any idea who is he asking to be xiongdi yet. sigh.... add that to his "blur-ness" about who on his guest list can come for the wedding etc etc... makes me on the verge of freaking out big time.
i also having "jie mei" blues....one of them (after I already tailored dresses for them) told me she cannot make it cos she needs to help out at home for some festival thingy... wah... stressed ah....
pic-wise, i think i fat already loh... some more all closed-up shots... my expectation not high... just hope to choose enough pics to fill the 20 page album...

hi ying,
these few days super hot, man... i was down with flu (today still feeling not very well)... so nose red red yesterday.... think my pics will look like clown... really unlucky...

hi vivian,
i made and collected 2 pairs of white shoes (1 with crystal trim, another with organza flowers). i have another pink one which i have not collected. (think the design a bit like ballet shoes... dun know how to describe). all in all, i like their shoes.... quite suitable (i.e. does not cause blisters) for me.

hi dey,
thanks for the consolation... but think mine will not turn out well.... yesterday when we went out for outdoor shoots... sky was cloudy, a few drops of rain...plus i was sick so my nose was red.... even the make-up din help. sigh....
if can get 20 pics... i consider myself lucky liao...

artemissoh

Hi Yen,

Actually I not sure what to expect... I a bit scared and worried...
kao_scared.gif
Cause for the back of my gown, I chose something a bit unconventional. :p Well, I guess I have to keep my fingers crossed.

Will definitely share my experience here.

Just to check with you gals... Is it true must bring a pair of shoes that are the same height as what you intend to wear on your actual day to the first fitting? Or is it must bring the actual pair?
I can't remember which... I still can't find a pair of shoes that I really like...
And 9 May is only 2 Mondays from now... [take a deep breath] Sorry... panic attack...

zoeanne27

Ok.. lets poll...for the gathering date:
1) 6 May (fri) - Zoeanne
2) 13 May, (fri)- Zoeanne
3) 20 May(fri) - Zoeanne
4) 27 May ( fri)- Zoeanne
5) 14 May (Sat)- Sierra
6) 21 May ( Sat)
7) 28 May ( Sat)

Sept 2005 Brides Gathering
Date : ?? May '05 (Friday)
Venue : Plaza Singapore?????
Time : 7pm

wow.. the photo sharing actually spread out to Dec thread liao?? kekek....

ash_

caitlyn,
*slaps forehead* yah lor.. hahahha....

wah.. not bad i got a sister to watch over me!!
hey highness, ur face also chubby chubby one ah?? so sad rite.. i assume u everywhere else also ok only the face bak bak one?!? maybe we need to do more facial exercise alr.. hahahhaha...

pierced,
oh i see.. ya better try more so if cant find any u like then got time to mtm. enjoy ur holiday!!

berry,
errr... not sure also leh.. but fleshy shdnt think of covering up but of showing off!! hahahaha... it's an asset u know

joteohl

hi mei
dun drink water before u sleep, wil cause water retention and build up eye-bag. alternatively, jus rub small piece of ice around the eyes.

sk2

winnie
enjoy urself 2ml.. =)

watashi
tat's make me quite lazy to cook nowadays.. may nt be a gd thg...hahahah

berry
eb has quite a fair bit of wg but nt eg.. if ur fren has only one mtm...pls get her to mtm eg.. as for me, i think i m quite fussy... kind of dun like their workmanship... so i gave up after trying 30+pcs

caitlyn
ya... i think is better to knw now then to file divorce.. =) so are we all gg together?? it will be fun..

ladies,
anyone here like to go for "MilkRun 2005" is a charity prog for youth. held on 3 July. start pt from Zouk, end esplande.. let me knw if u need more details.

keiki

hey yuuri!! thanks for ur reply!
will check them out, but now tinking of going somewhere cheaper :p heard it's really really expensive in norway...

furry

Hi Yen,
Dun have the date with me cos left at home. Anyway, I know its gonna be next week. In fact, I am really scared tat the final product may not be wat I want. Sigh...Howz ur gown like? Btw,when is ur PS? Mine shd be either 30June or 1Jul.

Hi Ning,
Maybe u should try turqoise colour cos itz the hippest colour for this year. Last yr was pink. As for me, I will not carry it well. You can check with Pat or Jordan if u would like to try. kekeke...Whenz ur PS?

jessp

Hi Artemis

It's best to bring just any shoes of similar height that you will be wearing on AD to the bridal fitting etc (no need actual pair). They only need to know how to set the length of the gown..

For me, I bought a pair of casual platform shoes (similar height to AD pair), and bring for both fitting and my PS... ;p

You will definitely need this casual pair for PS, since it's too dangerous and uncomfortable to wear the actual pair outdoor for PS! ;p

merryberrys

caitlyn and sk2.. i will go eb and see this wkend then will decide...
how many bs u all visit b4 deciding?
ashie...dun wan flash lar... wait bao ba zhang...let me know how u all went for the prep course... mabbe i can consider too..

Hi Zoeanne

Hmm, no need $$$ at all (except for electricity bills lah). The multiply platform is sthg like a blog, but well organised with different categories. Agree that Geocities abit irritating with those adverts, but I think it's nice to create one anyway.

No need dreamweaver, it's very user friendly & just use all the functions w/o the need to download any additional programmes.

Yah, the red CS is pretty! Hahah, undecided on the EG as yet. Hmm, the red CS is by Yvonne Creative, the gold fusion CS is by Kim though

Hi Wendy

Eh, ur YC coordinator didn't tell u tt u can take pix ah? So wasted. Anyway do take a few informal pix after ur MU on ur PS day k? Want to see the gown & make-up... When's the PS & where u intend to go for outdoor?

yen2

Hi Artemis,

me oso a bit scared of how my gowns will be like... guess my WG should be quite safe but for EG, the back design is not my 1s choice actually.. most of my friends prefer the 2nd choice.. so i chose the 2nd choice eventually.. and hehe, i'm afraid my mum will "faint" at seeing the high slit ..though i like the slit.. hehehe...

Hi Furry,

yeah .. think yours is earlier than mine... will only be going for PS on 12 Jul... my WG is a bustier and my EG is one with a slit at the side...quite difficult to describe.. maybe we can take photos of our gowns when we go for our 1st fitting and share our designs? :) I think we should be in safe hands of patrick and the gang.. must have the confidence that our gowns will turn out as what we imagined them to be... must be +ve... ok?

fifidoog

hey janice,
after going back to sth bridge rd for the 3rd time, i finally found the shop you're talking about! i can't believe that's the one shop at the end (nearest to the bridge) which i missed! so i finally managed to get those pink pearl pins which i wanted.
thanks a lot and sorry for all the questions.

Hi Jelly,
No la...juz that its simple and that's one of the way to do it.

Now i intend to customize my wedding favours. :p

furry

Hi Artemis,

Guess u must be stressed over ur forthcoming 1st fitting. me too! Let's pray hard..

Hi Angela,
Really appreciate your great effort! For the next dining venue, maybe we can consider chinese restaurant with round table for a change? So far, we have been to pasta mania, japanese rest, fusion rest like Nooch. At least with round table, all of us can chat together and more cosy!

Hi babes,
Any recommendation so tat it will be easier for Angela?

sharlene

If my mum had gvn ang pow on AD to the MUA and photographer, will we still need to gv?

Jazzee,
U gotta pay cockage charge if u getting wine from outside, sometimes, it can be even more ex than getting wine from hotel.

ying11

Hi Vivian,
I am considering about 4-6 ah yees. But like june, a lot of ppl cant make it cos they are going on holidays.

Hi Tougei,
I also have some friends who cant be my jiemei as one of them is attending a ROM on that day. Another close friend is pregnant and i think my MIL can be very pantang, so, I can't have her be my jiemei too.

Hi Sharlene,
I think one AB to the MU and photographer will be enough. If your mum is giving, I dont think you need to give.

cookies_gal

Thanks for your responses. Thought of giving my coordinator ang pao coz my experience with my BS so far has been great. Since almost everyone there knows us, most probably will bring something down for everyone to makan to thank them when I collect my gowns. I will definitely be giving my MUA an ang pao coz my AD is her birthday!

BTW, went to my BS to select my bouquet, AD kua and car decor over the weekend. Now just waiting for final fitting 1 week before AD. Can fully concentrate on my banquet arrangements for now.

furry

Hi Yen,
Oh no! Hope our designs are more or less the same. I have a high slit as well but infrt of my front thigh. Urs too? kekeke...btw, wats ur name huh? i told Pat tat i have a fren with him too. he asked me who...kekeke...i said i duno! Wat a joke rite? He laughed at me!!!!

sharlene

Tou,
I think its Diane 35, there's a thread on this and reviews were very good leh. Will u consider taking? Do u visit the Family doctor just to enquire on this? Do they charge for answering these question?

As for car deco, its advisable to use silk flowers, if not the real flowers will all be wiltered by noon. The car engine very hot, no water plus hot sun, wilter very fast. Must be prepared if use real flowers.

My PS that time that flower also Yam roses. Cymbidium orchid put on hair very nice!

I also got total 3 jie mei opt out due to change job and pregnancy, 1 more not confirm as not sure can siam the company convention or not. Thus I had replaced them....

caitlyn

sk2 - i confirmed gg for the workshop conducted by Lakeside Family Centre.. on 2/07 and 9/07 from 2:30pm - 8:30pm.. u free to attend too? coz their next workshop is in nov..

berry - i think if u wanna attend prep course mus start looking ard now.. coz they do not necessarily hold it every month.. =)

ashie - how's ur thesis coming alng? finished yet?

ying11

Actually, the jiemei thing is quite troublesome. Even if they confirm now that they can help, i am also very scared last min they will pull out.