(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

suetan

hi all,have been too busy to post and no chance cos my office sort of block it, sometimes when I m at hm, my hb is using the com.I m so tired...jus sleeping.

Was on long MC since last fri cos I went for a minor op. Was having very very bad menses cramp n weird period....went to a specialist n I have fibriods, thus the cramps, went for a scope n minor op to see if it cancerous. Dr din remove cos its at the lining, its no danger to remove it, but dunno if it will affect fertility etc.Jus tat it mite grow in a way that I mite nt have natural delivery if I have baby next time. Report was out ytd n its not cancerous, I jus have infection so all is well

My mil had been asking my mum to tell me to have a baby, my mum oso nagging since I gonna be reaching the age to change IC soon....Mil met my mum at the hospital after my op tat day and she ask my mum to ask me have a baby soon, pls lo, its nt only me,my hb oso nt ready...she added on by asking my mum to look after the bb! All these without me n my hb ard......

We have been talkin abt baby stuff etc too after my visits to the gynae cos of my fibriods etc.So I used the chance to tell hb that his mum dun wanna look after n my mum dunno hw to look after so hw? I quit my job? He was so surprised when I told him tat, he kept asking me hw I know, told him his mum told my mum when we nt ard......His family got no future plans etc. If I have a kid next time, I cant afford to wait till it happens then gets pushed ard...My mum dun mind looking after but then, my mil sure will be unhappy cos my hb she ald upset he is closer to my parents than her n fil... Well,endless story abt mils.....

aeris

Sue, my SIL onli found out she got fibriods after she got preggy. Then cnt remove leh. Doc says see baby stronger or e fibriod stronger loh. Cos might cause miscarriage or deform e baby... very scary... lucky u found out now n got it removed.

joyousonline

oh aeris,
but you are not staying with your mum right??? no choice.she is still ur mum.

oh sue,
think so tough to balance both sides...haaa the baby bonus scheme seems better as wat PM Lee says in the rally..

man_tou_bear

Sue, i hope u are feeling better. Luckily u found out early and seeked treatment! MILs are like that one lah.. they think they are the biggest. My MIL was shocked when i told her i wanna breastfeed. then keep discouraging me. I told her its my baby lor. she also hinting for us to give Cody away. Heng my hb loves Cody so much and side me when i said Cody is here first so why shd he leave? She got all the right to tell me to treat Cody and my boy the same but she has no right to tell me to abandon Cody.

Joy, gd to see u here. thanks for ur well wishes. ya of cos MIL is happy but it means a lot more nagging!!! How's ur sis? settling fine into NUS?

Jannie u nv SMS me ah!

maruko

bear, haha...oh ya hor...totalli 4got me supposed to sms u wif rgds to the name of the acid wash...hehe...me sms u now...in case i 4get again :p

welcom back Joy...its been so long since we hear from u...so hows everything 4 u?

sue, me dat time when preggy my gynae also detected fibriods in me but he said its not affectin the foetus so can rest my mind abt it...but its diff for my sis case. Her fibriods got bigger as the foetus grow...so doc say can onli operate on her to remove it after the delivery coz it will b risky to remove wif the foetus still inside her. Strange thing is after the delivery, the fibriods "disappeared". haha...so the op was not necessary liao.
Before my marriage, I also had terrible cramps during menses but the scan didnt detect anything...so also dunno wat caused it. BUT now after givin birth to Travis the cramps no longer persist.

seems like we hav endless "complaints" abt mils...hahaha...lucky for some of u dat r not stayin together wif them :p

maruko

bear, how com ur mil is discouragin u to BF? same case as mine? sigh...dun understand y r they so stubborn abt it...mine didnt say anything but not very encouragin as well...

cacphin

not only MILs are discouraging BF, even my mom also discourage.. so the only thing is dun say too much..
anyway, still feeling fine.. just that baby like to do rock-a-roll inside at least once a day.. just imagine taking a watermelon or coconut and
shake it... that type of trembling/vibration..

to be honest, it's easier to get preggie than
to take care of the child for long.. still have to think of the long term "investment" for the child etc..

by the way, how's everyone in your job and life?any juicy news in office to complain? Quite missed the "complaints" that we used to write abt colleagues.. hehehe

teacup

I suspect most MIL discourage BF cos it is quite troublesome. things like not enough milk lah, baby doesnt know how to latch, or baby can be weed off BF, plus if you are BF direct, diff for other pple to help you take care of the bb, you always have to be around.

one of my friend BF but she used pump all the while. so she basically pump everyday and freeze all the milk. this way, her MIL, maid can help her feed the bb when she goes back to work. I guess for her, this is a win win situation. She doesnt need to be around to do feeding all the time and the bb is still getting all nutrient from BF.

teacup

jannie: i have been told by doc that my cramp will go away after i give birth. he mentioned something about childbirth smoothening the womb.

cherz

hihi...i have been busy with the wedding preparations. going for final fitting later. =)

taking abt babies...4mths maternity leave is very attractive. but still i wont have one thats soon. =)

Aeris,

r u alrite?

man_tou_bear

Aiyah like wat Tea says lor. MILs think if feed by latching on, dunno how much bb is drinking etc.. esp since this is their precious grandchildren hence they want everything the best for them. Ya i will be pumping out so there is no reason nor excuse why she shd find it a hassle. Make milk needs the same amt of work wat.. she still dare to ask me when i go back to work, bf-ing will be a hassle when she isn't the one providing the milk lor.

May be those baby milk commercials ate into their brains!

Tea, Jannie, i also got super bad cramps. Doc says the only way to be sure it isn't endometrosis is to do a laproscopy.

Cherz! ur wedding is in 10 days! excited? how are things gg along? I m not entitled to the 4 mths maternity either.. starts in Jan 09.. oh well, i dun have a prob with that.. if have its a bonus but i dun feel that i shd have a bb only becos of all the bonuses. Bonuses are just a plus.

suetan

Tink my mum will encourage BF cos she wanted very much to do so for us but she cant cos she got clogged duct and I almost choked n died.....so she was very upset I "rejected" her milk.

The 4 mths maternity leave n bonus doesnt really make me change my plans lei cos ultimately its just help to lighten the load a lil, the journey of taking care and providing for the kid is still very very long. But it does encourage ppl who plans to have 4th kid to go ahead with their baby plans ba cos ML only applies to up to 3rd child.

I understand alot of ppl are petitionning against the implementation of the new scheme to start from 1st Jan 2009.

anise

hihi.. so long i never come into this thread..

bear.. hmmm ur MIL oso very funnie.. how come dun allow u to breastfeed? i thot normally they should be quite supportive.. i still rem lately my granny was telling mi that last time she breastfeed all her children and saved alot on milk.. i thot olderly should be supportive in that.. so weird..

aeris.. are u okay? u shifted back to ur mum place? wat's happening?

sue... are u feeling better now.. luckily u found out earlier... take good care and rest well..

cherz.. how is the miele vacuum cleaner? izzit good? me still looking ard for one.. bro wanna sponsor me =p.. so fast, ur AD coming.. excited? sleep early and be a mei mei bride ya =)

jannie.. so u already shifted into ur new home.. how come there is patchy stain on ur tiles? u should ask ur contractor to rectify the problem for u..

anna.. u r bad.. where is ur baby pic? post and let us see.. so how's life as a mummy? must be an enjoyable process seeing ur baby girl grow up.. for me, maybe another 2 more yrs bah.. hubby studying degree now, so dun wanna add stress to him.. so meanwhile just enjoy my freedom.. =p

tea..just got to know u injured ur knee if i din rem wrongly.. everything okay already? look forward seeing ur place and seeing u at our neighbourhood =p

anise

some update on my side...

My renovation progres..
everything going on pretty okay.. abit slow but overall the workmanship is good i can say.. there had been delay in my tiling work.. finally it's completed for my living, kitchen and masterbedroom toilet.. guess my bedroom flooring will be done up next soon... As wat my ID mentioned, reno expected completion will be on the 2nd week of sept.. i just hope i will be able to move out soon into MY home..

work wise... rumors flying ard saying there will be retrenchment...putting fingers cross that I will not be retrenched.. already got some pple affected.. as wat i know, they forced u to resign rather than paying u to leave... haiz... putting fingers cross.. hope singaporean will not be affected as there are too many ah tong ard in my co....

suetan

Thanks all for your concern n support, coming to the thread somehw is rather therupatic...u noe like sometimes I feel sad abt mil thinggy i called my mum to complaint or sometimes I argue with him n I need to tell someone. I feel so much better "talking" to you guys. I was kinda emotional before the op n after the op,very worried wat if something is wrong....I was jus paranoid,so glad its over, the wound is super sore.Cant imagine childbirth!Really appreciate my mum more.

anise,very soon u can move in but u must clean ur hse many many times b4 u can move in and when u move in u still have to clean many many times esp if u are the earlier ones who moved in. The most hsework I ever did in my entire life when we moved in. I n my hb went back to my mum's plc to stay during the initial stage cos I get really sick fr the dust etc of the neighbourhood.But nw ok le, enjoy ur new plc! Wah,y ur co liddat?

queenie_30

Hey all!
I see some live here,finally.
We're gonna be married for 3yrs very soon!Time flies...

So much has happened.Couldnt imagine back then tt we wld be talking abt babies & BF now.Now it seems our "probs" have "progressed".Of caz,mils is still our "fave" topic.

I think our leaders arent using last resorts to entice ppl to hv more kids.I'm sure many others wld think the same way.Surely we can have free childcare & paternity leave supported by the state like the swedes,french or americans.
And if we're not so busy competing in the rat race,many wld hv more time to socialize.

Anyway,bonus or no bonus,having or not having kids is a personal choice.Unlike a marriage,it's irreversible.

sue,
gd tt all is fine with u.Now u have a gd excuse to put ur feet up & not do any housework!Wanna heal the wound asap mah.

anise,
sounds like ur co doing restructuring.I guess times r getting bad,many ppl will be affected.

So who wanna loan their plc for our nx gathering???

aeris

Cherz & Anise, thanks for ur concern. I've moved back cos he & I are separated. Everyone here are celebrating their 3rd yr but he & I are gng thr e divorce papers.

Tink will not see he & I in future gatherings.

aeris

I oso wan to share the joy of having babies n talk abt BF. But everything is not possible now.

Maybe some of u might think that I disappeared for so long then cm back n say all these dunno for wat. I'm gng thr this emotional roller coaster I hav no mood to work. I juz browse thr all those stuff that used to connect to he & I. There's no longer a 'WE' and there's no 'my wifey' in his future posts (if he ever cm in here to post again). Then I started posting again.

I wan to be so happi preparing for e arrival for e bb or ur reno. Everything is gone.

teacup

anise: my knee is much better. I have started my cycling as well.

Yup, will see you around in the neighbourhood soon. You will prob see me walking my dog.

dajie: yup. so fast. been almost 3 years. amazing how long we know each other.

man_tou_bear

Hello! Aiyah i agree with Sue and Dajie, having a bb is a personal decision.. no matter how much money the govt offered if u are not ready for one, u are not ready for one lor.. a lot of mummies dun understand why i m so nonchalant abt the bb bonus thingy and the extra 4 mths maternity. i prob not taking the last mth although its my entitlement cos my research will stall!

Anise, cos those big bb milk powder co did a very gd job at brain washing my MIL's generation lor. its true! they say that the milk powder got add this add that.. make it sounds like milk powder is better than breast milk.. to us this might seem improbable but to them, when science wasn't that advance yet, they took it as the truth lor. they also wanna know how much the bb drinks. Moving into a new place is exciting!! hahaha i love it.. now decorating my bb's nursery also very very fun.. heh... but i hate to clean up lah.

Don't think too much abt retrenchment.. if things are meant to be, its meant to be.. rem u were complaining u got no house to stay in? now u got it liao! u nv know wat the future is gg to throw at u.

Sue, we will always be here for u. We have been through so much tog... we know each other so well (characters, habits and all)... some frens are meant to be kept!
Most imptly we are honest with each other abt everything.

I m sure u guys will be hear for me to knock my head or to cry with me in the future... erm at least i hope so.

teacup

anise: i know how it feels. i got retrenched less than 2 years back. been a tough period but ultimately, it was a blessing in disguise. somehow, things worked out. of cos at that time, i didnt think of it so positively. haha, it was like 'things cant get any worse than this' type of feeling...

bear: ya, having bb is really a personal choice. when you are ready, you will do it even without any bonuses.
enjoy your pregnancy and motherhood.

sue: recover soon. hmm... hsework.. it always start with 2x a week, then 1x a week to my current status, clean only when the floor feels sticky. lol. OMG, i am so lazy.

maruko

tea, so its time to give birth den ur pain will go away...hehehe... :p

anise, contractor oredi tried her best to rectify the prob but still cant. we oredi changed some of the tiles. too much to clean up after the change. so dun tink will wanna go thru the trouble again...

dajie, me can loan my place...but it will hav to b on a sunday lor...do let us noe which sun u can make it den we can make arrangements. pot luck again?

bear, me also agree wif u...havin baby is a very personal decision. alot of ppl hav been tellin me to hav a 2nd one now so dat the age gap for travis n his sibling wont b too big. BUT me also gotta consider a number of factors. the baby bonus doesnt realli help much actualli. the additional mth of maternity also not very attractive. me dat time onli had 2 mths of maternity n im back to work liao...
b sure i will not hesitate to knock ur head if i need to in future. hehehe... :p as for the cryin part, i will b worried dat once the tears com its hard to stop BUT i will b happy to share wif all of u. haha...

sue, we r all here to "listen".

cacphin

aeris> dun worry if we are not talking abt the same topic. Dun forget we get to know each other through this forum and no matter what's going on,
we are still friends. Do log in often and maybe can complain about ur work, colleagues etc.. I'm sure no one here will complain especially we are all here to de-stress.

as for the bb or preggie thingy, i think maybe a few of us "upgraded" and that type of motherhood
instinct came in..so we tend to talk more.. do pardon us, ok?

for those who are doing reno, dun forget to remind ur contractors to clear the rubbish properly else u kanna fine by the council or u have to do it urself. what me and my husband did was after the acid wash, we took a few buckets of water and splashed onto the floor to wash away the dirt..less hassle.. but dun pour too much at one go coz wait the water stain stays..

aeris

Thanks nihpcac, tat's very nice of u. How's ur bb? Now how many mths le? It muz be so exciting to exp e new life inside u. I so envy when my bro told me abt e joy when he heard his bb first heartbeat.

cacphin

my bb dun move a lot, always use buttock to shift
my tummy..currently 31 or 32 weeks..dunno.. hehehe.. me not a concerned MTB.. too many things
to settle b4 next week. got exam next week, haven't study and my assignment not done yet.. so getting "crazy" too..
as for the exciting part, maybe till now still dun understand how a tiny sperm and an egg can produce pp like us.. kekekeke..

queenie_30

jannie & sue,
thx for offering ur homes.
I think bear cant make it on sundays.Surely u all wanna see the mama bear right?

I realized tt some who got "upgraded" to mummys or daddys sort of like mia liao but of caz jannie is still here.

bear,u wont mia will u?

So any plans for 3rd anniversary?

tea,
yeah we've known each other over 3yrs loh,so fast!

maruko

dajie, didnt noe bear cant make it on sundays...c whose home u guys prefer to go lor...i can arrange for a sat if u guys dun mind my mil stickin ard for awhile.
Me the onli mummy here? not to worry...next time bear will join me...hehehe...
wow...time realli flies...we hav known each other for 3 yrs...dun tink hb remembers our 3rd anni

man_tou_bear

Was telling Dajie i will never volunteer my place! cos i will have double the cleaning to do! wahahaha... unless u all help me mop the floor before u go.. heh..

Jannie, i m ok with anytime.. my cleaner comes on Sun u see. the later the gathering the heavier i will be.. if potluck i prob cannot cook liao.

Oh ya i passed my PhD qualifiers.. super happy cos i was one of the top few.. didn't expect that.

suetan

I will be working a sat every mth so depending on the schedule,else sat or sun is fine with me. I can arrange to change my sats with my colleague. We can take turns so she whose hse 1st hee. I will be going taipei next sat for our anniversary.

Bear,congrats! Tink ur baby brought u luck, hee! Dun need to cook la, maybe u can buy instead of cook for the next gathering.

maruko

congratz bear bear...
no need to volunteer ur place lah...now got sue's n mine to use liao...hehehe...if by the time we "rotate" to ur place me can bring my maid along to help u clean up b4 we leave :p
tink to avoid "hazzle", we can suggest ordering or packin some food for the gatherin. like dat we wont encounter same food again

so whose hse 1st leh?

talkin abt BF, my mil keep grumblin when i BF travis. tink those who read my blog will noe my misery during BF. especially when travis cant latch on n keeps cryin...she will immediately ask if its due to "insufficient" milk -_-
kind of regret dat im unable to BF travis longer...if me gg to hav a 2nd one, will definitely BF for as long as i can...

bear, a note for u...in the beginnin it will realli b very tough to BF due to latchin, so muz b very very patient.
oh ya dun 4get to get a gel for ur nipple in case in bleeds...its realli painful :p

cacphin

is it possible to have the gathering during the one-week break (1st sep to 7 sep)so that i can join in? else..getting too clumsy to move ard.
sorrie that i won't be able to volunteer my house at this moment coz only my hubby will be cleaning up and dont think is fair for him clean up all by himself..

queenie_30

Hey y'all,
dont worry abt cleaning ur homes lah,having ppl over & cleaning up later shd be a "pleasure"(pressure) right?Hahahaha!!!!!!!
We'll help clean up ok.I'll help delegate,hehe!!!

For 3rd anniversary,we're gg to gd old Phuket agn.

maruko

Hi all...lets set a date instead of juz tinkin abt it...below r the details...do put ur names in for those comin over n wat u will b bringin...

Gathering
Date: 13th September (Saturday)
Venue: Maruko aka Jannie's place (AMK)
Time: To be confirmed

1. Jannie (Drinks)

Anyone got any preference wif drinks do let me noe...of coz will prepare hot drinks like milo for our bear bear... :p

cacphin

Jannie> UNFAIR!!! only for bear bear.. what abt me? kekekek...

Gathering
Date: 13th September (Saturday)
Venue: Maruko aka Jannie's place (AMK)
Time: To be confirmed

1. Jannie (Drinks)
2. cacphin & hb (tentatively)

maruko

dajie, gg phuket for ur 3rd anni ah? so nice...me no go b4 leh...hav been wantin to go for a long time but due to the tsunami yrs ago, not allowed by my mum to go...sigh...now tied down by travis even harder to go liao...dunno wat hb will plan for the anni though...or rather does he even remember?

annabelle

hi morning peeps...

sorry didnt check e thread for few days cause tied up with work once reach home no time to touch com gotta attend to my gal... ok attached is a pic of my darling...
750220.jpg

aeris

Dun tink I'll be gng for the gathering.

Anna, she's lovely. Big round eyes. Juz like a doll. She made me smile this wide :D

anise

Jannie..I can't make it either.. it's my godsis 21st bday.. Sept is a very busy month for me.. lotsa wedding dinner to attend.. gonna be damn broke liao..

anna... ur baby is sooo cute.. she looks like u.. the nose and eyes... =p

so fast our 3th yr anniversary comming.. so fast.. no special plan as usual...
So far no announcement of retrenchment yet... asked my boss, said not true.. but we never know.. juz put fingers cross.. if really so unlucky, den jus see how it goes when it really happen

cherz

i cant go for the gathering too. will be in US. very busy now...AD tis sun.

Anna,

yr baby is so cute!! bring her to our gathering next time!

maruko

wow...seems like most cant make it for the gatherin...guess we gotta postpone it to a date when most can make it...

anna, ur gal gal has got big eyes...so lovable...how many mths is she now?

suetan

gosh anna,ur gal looks like u?ur baby fotos issit liddat too! So wanna pinch her face (dun worry I wont do it, hate ppl who did tat to me last time)

annabelle

morning...

thanks thanks... yup think most of e ppl say my gal looks like me
my mum said she looks exactly like me when i'm a baby. she jus pass 3 mths...

teacup

Anna: you got a very pretty gal. nice big eyes.

we havent plan any trip for the 3rd anni. very busy with the new hse now. Will probably do a short get away in dec.

I will revert on the gathering. tentatively shifting on 14th sept, i can foresee myself very busy with packing.

nihpcac: i am sure jannie can make one big hot milo for you n bb too.

cacphin

anna: 3 months so big liao.. hmm.. now i scare the clothings i bought for my bb cannot fit in..

dun think me n hb celebrating 3rd anni. no where to go in spore.. also cannot go abroad.. if go out eat fabulous dinner, also sian.. any one got suggestions?