(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

teacup

good for me.

weixiongy

harlow, how is everyone doing?

busy as hell for me ^^
last weekend my dad told me the washing machine is dead.........and asked me to get one. so i told him i will get and we split the cost lor hahahaha now got headache as to which one to get............ haizzzz

da jie, paiseh but 19 is my granma's bday so cannot go. confirm.....as recently my granma 2 daughters whom are my aunts dunno say what to her when they are at my uncle's place which caused her to cry everyday.........hear already also heartache......if my mum did not tell me i think i wont know.
sometimes i really wonder what is going on in the head of my 2aunts.........they can be quite weird haizzzzz (juz letting steam out)

how about a simple dinner on a weekday( wed or thur)???

man_tou_bear

Hello... we are still staggering along...

Tea, got a buyer for ur place yet?

Anise, started reno? 7th mth coming liao.. wanna start better start before 1st Aug.

Jannie, hope ur reno woes are bearable.. can't do anything but listen..
can move in before 7th mth?

Cherz, i saw ur wedding stuff.. come to think abt it, mine is so long ago.. enjoy urself ok? is ur preps going on schedule? need help in anything?

WX, i recommend front load.. i think both Dajie and Tea are using F&P. the prob with frontload is that it takes very long to wash and it is more ex. one thing for sure, dun get the Asian brands like Samsung, LG, Panasonic, etc.. they dun last as long and use a lot of water and electricity. U can try Brandt's new washer.. think it washes in 45 mins!!

A little abt myself, bb is doing fine.. shd know the gender by next mth..
currently mugging like mad for my qualifiers in less than a mth's time.. stress man...

Gathering wise, Wed nights are out for me. 19th ok for now..

teacup

bear / cherz: yup. found buyer for my place already. buyer will exercise OTP on this wed.
need to vacant my place by end sept.

I been very busy this week. suppose to open door of new pl yday but grandfather passed on last week, so got to postpone the door opening to nx sunday. Grandfather is cremated today.

WX: i like top load cos i like to be able to throw in stuff last min. Guess it has a lot to do with personal preference.

cherz

wx,

i am using F&P too. so far so good!!

Bear,

a little vex abt the preparations...mostly due to my mum, who has a lot of comments abt everything. just got my invites over the wkend.will be seeing my PS photos layout this wk.

jiayou for yr qualifiers.i'm sure our "Dr Mummy Bear" can do it!! =p

anise

bear.. my renov started today but when i went down just now, seems like nothing done.. anyway not going to rush them.. hope everythin going on smooth for me =p do keep us update on your baby gender ya.. so u start having morning sickness?

me oso planning to get front load.. looking at electrolux.. dunno if this brand is good.. really tired trying to figure up sooo many electrical appliances.. always got so many different advice from different salesperson..

cherz.. enjoy ur wedding preparation.. when is ur big day?

weixiongy

hehehehe glad to see all the replies ^^

bear bear, bb doing fine is great. got to relief the stress once in awhile leh hehehe too tensed up not gd wor.
im intending to get a front load as im used to using front load hehehe i checked out the brandt latest 8kg and specs are good esp the 45mins wash and also high rpm as well.......now looking at more feedback to finalise my decision hehehehe

anise, saw you at one of the forum toking about WM too hehehehe did not know there are WM experts in the forum...thank god!!!! haa haa haa
after reading so many threads i found out that electrolux and bosch and brandt actually can fight on par with each other.......but the best is miele bah. going on offer at 1788!!!!! exp!!!

cherz, F&P mostly top load leh....diff to find a front load and really no time to go and slowly look........haizzz though i like the performance of the brand bt strangely not alot of ppl toking about it ^^

judy, sorry about your grandfather. but so fast you are selling you place liao......it juz feel like yest when we went to your place and "tore it down" hehehehe so another house warming soon i presume ^^

anise

weixiong... actually i oso planning to get the brandt latest 8kg. But one bad thing, the door opening will bite my hand at time.. design abit lousy as compared to electrolux wor.. so in the end i going for electrolux latest 8kg model =p using the same motor as miele.. miele exterior casing is solid right.. but ex.. hehe

tea.. Do take care!

queenie_30

No reply fr DH so we postpone yet agn ok.

tea,
sorry to hear abt grandpa...

wx,
my fren works with miele.If it's on offer,i'll grab it man!Still get gd aft sales service.Usually it's $3k.Oh ya,she has everything fr miele for her kitchen.So cool!
My F&P is abt $2k liao.Like tea,i prefer top load so can toss in anytime bfe it spins.Mine usually gets done within 30mins.Thinks it's an aussie or NZ brand.

maruko

bear, reno almost done liao...will b shiftin in next wk...so excited...hehehe...so might not b as active in the posts here...but will com in when i can to update u guys...anyway loads of complaints here n there...if u guys wanna noe den wait till me got more time den post for u all... :p

man_tou_bear

Ah a breath of life in the forum...

Tea, sorry to hear abt ur Grandpa.. take care ok? so does that mean u have to get ur new place ready by then? that's quite a rush right, doing reno and all?

Anise, ya there are so many diff brands of electrical appliances.. not to mention so many diff models! slowly look lor.. try to get those energy efficient types. my col who lives in a 3 rm flat, her mthly bill is $100++ but mine only $60. she said she doesn't use the aircon some more.. but aft awhile she realised that her stuff all suck electricity one.. think she has an Ariston fridge. My washer is Electrolux.. have to say it takes damn long to finish washing! abt 1 hr 45 mins for the shortest cycle. but it uses 52L of water per wash!!

WX, ya also get one that u can time lor.. like u can time it to start washing at 4am so that when u wake up can hang ur laundry or time it to wash so that when u get home its ready liao.. i a bit regret not getting something with that function!

Jannie, at least u are excited still.. tot u will be so sian abt the whole thing.

Cherz, wat did ur mum do to u? its always the women.. i rem getting pissed off with both MIL and my own mum... why women so lor sor??!

weixiongy

morning peeps!!!!
bought the brandt 8kg one. no timer lah as we hardly use that function. my family used to washing clothes at night ^^ spend a total of 1.3k including the extended warranty. delivering on thursday, how do you guys "activate" your washing machine? run a full cycle without any clothes and detergent???

jannie, reno almost done liao......smell a house warming coming up haa haa haa amidst all the troubles and problems you face, you still can stand up strong which is a good thing hehehehe.

da jie, i told wifey about the miele and the price and she was shocked too haa haa haa but so many ppl recommending it i think i will get one for my home hehehehe. im already used to front load liao haa haa haa well train by my family ^^

teacup

Thank you for the condolences. In a way, quite glad grandfather is gone quick. as in no heavy medical bills for us to take care of. But still he left behind a load of bills for us to settle. haiz. Politics and funerals are correlated.

bear: yup, timing is a bit tight but should be ok. we are checking out a few contractors now. price are rather competitive so looking at their worksmanship. been so tired out the past week, I feel like a zombie now.

WX: i do like the timer option. so usually i timed in the way bear mentioned. the washing finishes in the morning. so I just have to hang them up.

cherz

I am using miele vacuum cleaner…bought at abt $300. haha must be one of its cheapest pdts.

Tea,

Sorry to hear abt yr grandpa. You must be drained out. Take care ya.

Anise,

My big day is on 31 Aug! Just saw my PS layout today. My PG did an album of us for display at my BS. Never seek our permission but he allows us to “borrow†the album for display during our banquet. =)

Bear,

I feel my mum wanted too many stuff, like tables, boxes of cakes etc. Its becoming like her wedding. She even has comments on the invitation card…like too plain. But that’s our style. As long as both hb and I are happy.

weixiongy

yeah its friday liao haa haa haa. juz discovered that my new washing machine got the timer option LOL yeah!!!! gonna try it out myself tonight^^ tons of clothes not wash yet ^^ my dad try it out yest and said its much faster then the old one!!!! hehehehe

cherz, your big day is the same date as my god sis^^ hee hee hee must be very alarming to see your pics on public display rite hehehe but that means that your pics are nice!!!! cant wait to see them hee hee hee
how is the miele vacuum cleaner??? saw them at HN yest and they look small but sturdy ^^
whatever your mum said are only suggestions mah so not neccessary to use it one.......not easy lah to go against them but the most important thing is don regret so stick to what you really want.

judy, weekend ard the corner so try to get some rest ok ^^ prob a short session of blading will help relax yourself ^^

teacup

Hi hi, hope everyone is well. some quick updates on my side.

I been pretty busy with 'home' stuff. sold my current place, got keys for the new place, looking for contractors to do the new place, shopping for appliances and trying to time everything so that I can shift to the new place by mid-sept. So far so good.

Work wise, pace is starting to pick up. Getting busy now. Distant to workplace.... hmmm.. I cant do much but can only say I am getting used to it.

Health wise, not that good. Apparently i have damaged lining on my knee from a fall a few years back. Going for MRI scan this sat... there goes $$$. Hope the damage is not too bad. I layoff cycling the past 2 weeks to rest my knee. The pain was so bad during my cycling trip 2 weeks ago that I had to take a cab home. haiz.

Pebbie has been a sweet gal, more confident and sociable with other dogs now. She is still as manja as ever. we are comtemplating adopting another dog after shifting to the new place.

ok. that's updates from my side for now.
Keep in touch and see you all soon.

kyra

Heya

I log in now and then still. There are really so many mummies these days (why is the govt still worried?). Not only are the ROM Sept 2005 ladies becoming mummies, many of the friends I made in Wedding Sept 2007 are already pregnant also. Congrats to the mummies and mummies-to-be in advance

Like Suelynn, I'm so not ready too, although I am not young anymore. I know eventually I would love to have a kid but I have zero maternal instinct as yet [and the thought of giving up my time, energy, money and (already lack of) figure for the baby now is soooo scary]. So the baby plan has been allocated a place on my year 2010-2011 agenda instead.

Bear - You are quite young right? 2nd person whom I know about working towards PhD and both are you are younger than me. I have been thinking about my Masters for awhile but never move my butt to get things sorted out.

Cherz - Congrats on your upcoming customary and just relax and enjoy your Big Day!

Tea - Get well soon!

My update:

Homefront - We have settled down in our own place, the major pieces are all done, left with 2 empty bedrooms, will have to slowly reno/decor the place. Finally went for an overdue honeymoon to the US in April. 4 dogs arent doing too good currently due to their age and low immunity though

Work - I tendered my resignation last month. Moving back to the civil service soon. Will miss current job for its managable jobscope, fantastic bonuses, short distance from home, cheap lunches and SOME nice bosses/colleagues. The new job will be in town (aka long distance, expensive lunches, crowded area, must wear nicer clothes). But for more pay and more opportunities, I am all ready to go
Now still serving my 2 months' notice period here.

Others -
1) Hb has also resigned. He's doing his own business now with 2 other partners (still in precision engineering industry).
2) We both have been piling on so much weight after the wedding.
3) I havent spoken to SIL since CNY and have only been to in-laws' place for dinner about 5 times so far =X

maruko

hi everyone...finally i hav shifted from woodlands to amk...loads of naggings being heard n cant say much abt it also...sigh...still got bits n pieces to settle over the reno...fri gotta change some of the floor tiles due to some "marks" left behind...

tea, gd dat pebbie is more confident & sociable now...sounds like ur knee is in a terrible shape...do take care of urself n rest while u can...

cherz, ur pics r all so well taken dat the BS is using ur album for other newly weds to c...so COOL...excited dat ur BIG day is finally comin? guess ur mum is very anxious abt ur wedding also...dats y will make comments on certain things but as long as both u n ur hb r happy can liao...

man_tou_bear

Ya back from lunch with Dajie.. was a gd pasta lunch.. heehee.. now damn full.

Tea, how's ur knee? did the MRI scan say anything? need surgery? dun over work it. somebody once said that knee prob is one of the most expensive medical conditions. cos the pain can be very delibilating.

Kyra, its very tiring working towards my PhD, plus work and the bb on the way.. nowadays super demoralised. hate gg to sch...

Jannie, there there.. at least u moved into ur new place liao... Dajie and I were just bitching abt our MILs during lunch.. always a gd conversational topic. :p

Update on my side, it abt 10 days to my qualifiers. still haven't finish studying. Booked a trip to Perth aft that.. my last trip before the bb comes.. haha.. and went for my detailed scan last wk.. i m expecting a boy.. MIL super happy lor.. means MORE nagging!

maruko

bear, u havin boy boy ah...b prepared for his hyperactive "kicks" in ur tummy...hehehe...dat time when me havin Travis can feel him so active inside...always seems to b havin somersaults... :p enjoy this experience...

mmm...talkin abt MILs...hows mine? hehehe...its ez to say me cant b bothered BUT so hard to do it...dat day was complainin to dajie abt her also...talkin abt lunch, when is our next gatherin comin har? cant wait to c our preggy bear...me got tink of holdin a small housewarmin at my place BUT got so many things not settled yet for the reno...very hard to plan...sigh...

anise

bear... congrats.. it's boy..ur in-law must be real excited. so when u going to perth.. they allowed u to go when u pregnant? hmm once baby out, will be hard to travel..

jannie... so u moved in liao huh.. dats good.. will be nice to be able to see ur new place =p

My hacking by HDB finally approved last friday.. today started the real job.. walls were being hack down.. really excited to see the end product =p

maruko

hi ppl...how com suddenly so quiet again? where's every1?

my place more or less settled except for a few stupid issues...dunno shld pay remainin amt to renovator or not...sianz...

as for our gatherin, me can onli put on sunday leh...coz dats when my mil not ard...haha...dun wan her 2 b ard naggin at how we dirty the place...hehehe... :p so which sunday u guys prefer?

annabelle

Hihi... very long time didnt check this forum already how's everyone?

Congrats to Bear and Sheryl may u both have a smooth pregnancy and delivery.

Jus back to work this week after maternity leave. Gave birth to baby Eudora on 23rd May.

maruko

tea, my mil kept complainin abt the floor tiles which most of us r quite ok wif it lor...not realli the contractor screw up lah...tink she also buay tahan my mil liao... :p

congrats anna...its been so long since we hear from u...so hows things now?

man_tou_bear

Hi guys! got back from Perth late last night.
was a gd trip but i kena cold rash everywhere. bleah.. My qualifiers went horrible.. study machiam dun need to study like that. cos nothing that was studied came out. Its a lot of those IQ qns type.. sigh.. think i m gonna flunk it.

Jannie, ur MIL so hard to live with.. really pity u.

Anna, glad to see u here! how's motherhood? fun? haha.. who is taking care of ur bb now?

Tea, ur reno started yet? managed to sell ur house off?

annabelle

i'm fine jus very tired... now dread going to e office everyday. every weekday morning bring daughter to mil place then fetch her back at after work.

bear, motherhood is tiring work u'll know it very soon
mil looking after for me while i'm at work... my baby doesnt like to sleep in e daytime onli take naps max 10-30mins leh like ppl to carry so quite xiong to look after her lor now my mil take over le she complaining no time to do things.

man_tou_bear

Anna, ever thought of quitting ur job to be a SAHM? heehee.. Ya i know motherhood will be tiring.. i also dunno how i am gonna cope when the time comes. i guess for now just take one step at a time.

MILs are forever complaining. Jannie's MIL, ur MIL and Sue's MIL (Sue will tell u her story one day). I dun get them. my MIL is the same. she kept asking us to have a bb and said she will take care. but when i really preg that time she started hedging, wondering if she can cope lor. then SIL warned me my MIL play her out a lot of times when my MIL was looking aft my nieces. MIL cough only will say she cannot take care of the gals. so my SIL says that it is better for us to get a nanny cos of that.

Hang in there Anna! in the meantime, rem to take tonics to boost ur own health!

maruko

anna, travis also take short naps during the day...lucky thing is we didnt let him get used to us carryin him all the time so its still quite ok...

bear, bo pian...juz get used to it lor...

tea, not abt uneven tiles but patches of blurred images on the tiles lor...we tried using different methods n still cant get rid of it...so she makin alot of noise...

aeris

reading thr the previous posts, I've been missing out on so much. Certain stuff he complain abt at here i din even noe... sigh... i realli wonders wat's going thr his head though.

man_tou_bear

Jannie, i have this thing for the blurred patches on tiles. its this acid thingy.. my homo tiles have this blurred patches becos they kept the tiles waxed to prevent scratches. dunno if it will work for u.

maruko

hi aeris, nice to hear from u again. dun take it to heart on wat he has complained abt...we r all here to complain abt this n dat...

bear, wats the thing called har?

man_tou_bear

Erm Jannie, can u sms me tonight to remind me to find the name for u? its not available at shops one. Something like the acid wash ur contractor does aft reno. my contractor gave me a bottle and it is damn effective lor. if soak too long ur tiles will become bleached.

man_tou_bear

Jannie, ya its pretty strong. may be u can ask ur contractor abt using acid wash on ur tiles again.

Anna, haha for me, i can never be a SAHM... :p nvm lah with dual income u can spend more on ur baby gal. Btw, u nv show us any photos ah! got photos to show?

maruko

bear, me 4get to sms u last nite...haha...will check wif my contractor abt the acid wash after i get the name from u :p hehe...