(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

moonlight00

mi fiance get the ice cream sticks from Artfren at Bras Basah...abt $4 for a pack of 150...cheap cheap rite..hees...gona keep our cost low...
yalor...mi fiance paranoid pple will throw invite away after us putting in the effort so he suggested putting the invitees' names down on the stick so dat it can be more personalised & pple wld throw it away..hopefully! haha...
actualli we initialli tot of writing messages & putting them in glass bottles...but glass bottles too ex...abt $3 each! *faintz*

So will u be printing ani cards? or still brain-storming? ^.^

moonlight00

hees rainne..yalor...mi fiance went 2 surf the net 2 search for supplier...we nearly bought from Artfren @ $1.30.
Where did u manage 2 find test tubes @ 70 cents? need some back-up plan in case the supplier fly us aeroplane..hehe...paranoid mi ;p

queenie30

At least I knw tt I dun have to go the conventional way.Thx moonlight!
Will think of s'thing,in the mean time,continue to crack me brains.

u search under market place in this forum, there is a girl name lamb selling her testubes...

september

moonlight,

tat is unique and creative. Dun tink we will be printing any invitation cards. Coz since we only invites relatives and close frenz, we will do it verbally. Thus no nid to crack our brain...hee hee

andrei_n_averyl

hey gals
for me, we have invitation cards included in our package with Raffles the Plaza..but that's the actual wedding dinner..not ROM..got 2 printers to choose from... Jasvy and Felice..haven't gone down to the printers yet..but gotta do so my this week...

gs1979

Hi gals, my last class finally ended. now count down to my exams.

shimano..i will chk wif my cousin on d disc n advise U asap. try to get sum pics for u gals too.

Thanks pierce, i wil go chk ard. Yah same as u, my wedding bands are engraved with names(but is in HANYU PINYI cos cant engraved chinese characters) n ROM date. Hey u can go get normal satin ribbons n sew @ the side to tie the rings. me oso went to surf thru the web for designs as my MIL is sewing the ring pillow for me.

Rainne, you can go buy the ring pillow fr precious moments..they got 2 shapes (Heart or square shaped). It cost onli $24.90. Or like me...go get the materials fr SPOTLIGHT lor...spend abt $20 for all. v cheap...

hi ginny, thanks for sharing, but hor, use the ring pillow once within that few mins then after that duno what to do with it liao leh. I think i shall leave that to the last minute. ; )

If no pillow, nvm lor, use the box will do.

dear99

hi ginny,

wat course r attending? still in U? ;)

Rainne,
i intend to buy my wedding pillow fr Precious Moments, find it veri nice and lovely.. moreover, u can pass on to someone who is getting marry soon (frz or relative)

gs1979

deardear, i'm working as an internal sales engineer. As i hv a dip in electronics fr NP therefore take up a part-time dip in sales & mkgt from MIS to upgrade myself.
wad abt u..still studying??

gs1979

Rainne, i bought a box fr precious moments to keep my rings. maybe i try to take a pic n show to u gals.

wah ginny, your pixture very big leh. *keke*

nah, can roughly understand what it is like. So you buying sponge to put inside the box is it?

september

hi rainne,

found another florist where they hv quoted $80 for hydrangea (1 stalk wif wild flowers) + delivery. Saw their purple hydrangea very bushy and nice. And they claim tat their flower is from holland so nicer and more colour choice. check it out gals.

Artisan Des Fleurs
5 Raffles Place
#B1-12 Raffles Place MRT Station
Singapore 048618
Tel : 64382029 Fax : 64382025

Those working in shenton way/raffles place shld noe lah hor...

wah, good deal leh. Do they have blue hydrangea? the $80 quoted what do you mean by 1 stalk? 1 stalk of hydrangea is it alot? with wild flowers? What are wild flower?

Any idea what time is their opening hour? You just dropped by and take a look is it? They showed u pix of bouquets or what?

That time you mention you went dwn to secretgardens, then what did you see? pictures as well?

dear99

my workplace at shenton way.. will go and tak a look during lunchtime ;)
Diana: is it inside e station whr e newly opened stores are?

catty79

hi everyone.. long time no come in already...

i m blur blur... but change my nick s i change my email address... wonder if u gals stll rem me?

september

rainne, nt sure in may wat colour do they hv. But they said we can gif them 3 prior of colour we want then they will try to order for us. The latest we need to order is 2 wks in advance. Ya, 1 stalk of hydrangea is quite a lot. mayb u will noe better if u go and hv a look. Both shop show me pics and the read hydrangea lor. mmm...tink they hv another shop (in another name) in orchard, but me did nt bring out the namecard today. Btw, which area r u working?

dear dear, yes it is inside the station. where the newly opened stores are. Near to Battery Road exit.

hi diana,

they have another shop in town? that would be much convenient for me. I'm working at alexandra road area. think must faster look for florist liao, so rush. no time no time.

september

rainne, if u wan to find out urgently, then u gif them a call at their raffles place branch first lor and sametime can ask from them the orchard branch no. mah.

btw, do u hv hotmail msn? If so, feel free to add me at [email protected]

pierced22

I already gong gon over all the msgs.

deardear, are u doing catering? coz maybe u can get the charis from ur caterer and bargain with them over the price. mine im getting from mi caterer but at no costs coz itz a frenz family biz.

moonlight, yup mine is oso collecting in the morn. i even worse muz take special leave coz cant juz leave mi class alone! havent talk to mi P yet regarding leave. mine oso already used up for Hdb appts. sigh...
yup yup i was thinking at least only 2 or 1 day bef or else mi nails gone on Sun!
mine not very ex coz itz juz a plain plat band so itz only ard 1k each. in fact i wanted LH at 1st which was 2 K plus.

mi like diana no print invites coz only close relatives attending so no pt having them. can save costs tiz way. hehe..

ginny, txs alot! now at least got altern to tie the rings on. hee...
i saw ur ring boxtoo in the shops, very sweet loking. i would have gotten it too if i hadnt bought mine in malaysia.

shimaro, i thk the TP shops are one of those mi colleague bought her bouquet from too. she was saying itz really cheap there. i dun mind gg down there at least coz nearer to home. thk i muz get the contacts liao.

oh ya...do u gals know if we are to collect the bouquet on the day itself or day bef???

dear99

hi pierced,

thks for ur reply.. i'm still tinking of asking e maid to cook or get catering, havn't decide yet. if get maid to cook can giv her a big ang bao for helping and at e same time e food will b better cos she's a great cook ;) but if too many guests then i tink itz better to get catering. i havn't get e attendance confirmation fr my guests yet.

can u email mi e contact of e catering? [email protected]

september

hi Rainne, the address / contact for the Orchard Branch is

Gloriana Floral House
437 Orchard Road #B1-19 Orchard MRT Station Singapore 238878
Tel : 6737 2826 Fax : 6737 2826

Shimaro, me wan the TPY florist detail too.

Pierced, wat flowers are u looking at? coz for hydrangea, the florist shop advise is for us to collect on the same day since this flower is nt beri lasting lor. Sent me ur caterer info too to [email protected] btw, wat is charis?

OH! you mean this is their orchard branch? This florist one of my gf also recommend to me. I know where is it, but looks very small leh.

blur, today I called up jess, she say I can still make my mtm rom dress, but need to go dwn asap. Ask you for the cloth, do you get to choose the type of cloth? Are there lots of different type?

yes lor, that's why now must faster pop by empire to see if there is anyting that I like not. Was really impressed with blur's rom dress, so now heart itchy liao, thinking if I can mtm lor...

But hor empire rom package $399 nett ah, comes with dress otr, shoes + bouquet leh. Duno worth or not. Coz if I take jess mtm, i still need to look for shoes...

shimaro

Hi rainne & diana,
if u looking for hydrangea, then this shop...it also have a bigger range.
FLOWER MOVEMENT
Blk 185 #01-324
Toa Payoh Central
Singapore 310185
Tel: 6352 1336/ 6355 0712/6258 6373

but I found that this shop below is more sincere compared with the above one but din saw any hydrangea pic bonquet.
ONE & ONE FLOWER SHOP
Address : Blk 185, Toa Payoh Centre #01-326, Singapore 310185
Tel : 6256 3533

morning shimaro,

thanks so much. took it down, will drop by to see the shop. funny though, i often go TPY but didnt; notice the flower shop leh. gee.

you asked for quotation already is it?

shimaro

pierce n diana,

to collect the day before or actual day it depend on
1)shop location away FH's hse
2)shop opening n closing hrs
3)wat time your ROM

shimaro

rainne,
at flower movement shop....it quite visible for the price. the photo there stated the price....
so no need to ask for quotation.
but i understand there is a delivery charge if u wish them to deliver....but I think I will get my FH to collect personally since he stayed at TPY. hee hee ;p I think I will confirm the bonquet and shoes by next wk...so that can off my mind and contentrate on renovation.

gs1979

rainne...pai seh, the pic was too small when i uploaded. duno y leh...heehee!! So u goin to take up d ROM package with Empire?? do let us c ur dress when u chosen it cos i heard they got nice ROM dress.

Pierce, i think its better to collect on the actual day itself as in case we arent those who are " good flower caretakers". i'm asking my FH to collect it as i b @ my BS doing the make up.

pierced22

Hi deardear and diana, i will email u the catering contact once i get it fr fh. but itz more of a chinese food catering and no frills so dun expect all the nice decor like kriston. but the food's def good!

txs shimaro for the contact. wait i free free go pop there to see.
Rainne, i still considering whether to take up empire's package.coz still waiting for mi BS's selection fo dress. but since mi colleague told mi only need 2 days to alter for empire's dresses, den i should still have enuf time for it. but i thk i might most likely take it up since i dun thk mi BS will have short dresses.
hey have any of u been to olive suite? they seem to have nice dresses like empire's. wonder howz the price?

yup ginny, i thk i better collect the day itself. dun want later i land up putting it inside the fridge. hehe...

hey pierced and ginny you went dwn to empire already not? 2 days to alter? so fast ah? But they charge $30 more to alter leh. are you intending to take up their package? The only attractive thing abt their package is I get to have the shoes and dress together lor. I abit dun feel like getting the bouquet leh, since I want hydrangea. Yet to find time to visit them, coz they close so early at 7pm! So how? Empire one nice ah? I see their website like not much selection leh.

Olive suite is very nice, but the price also very nice ah. One of my gf bought her rom dress there at $680. If you got $ to spare, then go see, but it's really nice.

gs1979

rainne..i din sign up wif empire cos my Bridal Package includes ROM dress & make up. I heard from other threads n magazines that empire has nice ROM dress.
So when u goin down?? think the website don't hv much info.

pierced22

rainne, mi not yet go down but that's the feedback from mi colleague who took empire for her Rom. she say they are also very detailed in their alterations. i thk prob only when we dun fit into the gown wel den need to alter.
the dresses i heard the designs are made in small quantity so depends on ur luck whether wad u like have the sizes. but seems that mi colleague said quite a lot of selection and in diff colours.

yup i tot the package quite ok coz u get to keep the dress and shoes.but now see how coz mi BS got free one so a bit waste $$. unless i really have no choice.

wow wow! the dress only 680!!! *eyes open wide*
i def wont be spending so much on it! can omit off mi list liao.

Hi Ginny and pierced,

finally managed to squeeze in time to drop by empire and my first impression was its so small? But I did manged to find a lovely halter BUT it's the last piece leh and I am thinking of doing another piece, but had to top up $80 on top of the $399 nett.

Am also surprised that I am able to fit into a size M, thinking that empire is mostly meant for petite size ladies. I asked to see the shoes, it's so lovely and nice, BUT problem is it is about 3.5" and I CANT WALK! Argh! Damn it.

So am now considering the following options
$279+$80make new pc+ $30 = $389 dress only OR
$399+$80make new pc+$30 =$509 dress/shoes/bouquet
OR I try to negotiate :
$399 + $80 = $479 dress/bouquet/add beads free, I forgo the shoes & also my hydrangea, coz they provide only roses leh.

Yeah lor, I wanted to see olive suite too one, then I asked her how much, she told me $680, I was like, OKAY, that's it. ahahha. I ask her got the dress pix not I show u yah? It's very simple, nice and somehow like empire style kind. But of course the quality of the dresses are much better, and from overseas one.

andrei_n_averyl

hey gals
hasn't been in here for a while..saw some discussions on hydrangea. just nice..today went down to the printers and florist attached to Raffles the Plaza... anyway... cos our theme is blue, they suggested hydrangea.dunno if you guys heard of this florist... Steffis... apparently,true..hydrangeas are ex... but nice..comes in violet and blue i think... hmm..
so how's everyone?!!

september

hi gals, me collect my wedding band liao. They did the engravement on the spot and heng all turn out fine. But it only a pity that only 17 letter including space can be engrave on my ring coz got diamond and furthermore, my finger so small (size 8) so the wordings me and FH chosen initially cant be engrave. So in the end, we only engraved Destiny (on my ring) and Eternity (on his ring) followed by our names lor. Hee coz me like the work destiny while he lile eternity mah.

o..rainne, me went down to the florist in toa payoh liao. Did nt get to see hydrangea there as they say they dun keep stock but only bring in if there is any order. basically, both are rather cheap.

1) Flower movement, say that 1 stalk of hydrangea mixed wif other flower will be ard $45 and delivery will be $15. But their service nt so good like beri dao.

2) One & One Flower shop, their service is better but find them too pushy coz keep pushing me to place order now. While other florist tell me tat the most advance notice to gif is 2 wks. They quote $85 for a few stalk of hydrangea (abt 2 or 3 stalk) and delivery $8.

now me still deciding, coz cheap muz also hv quality dun wan wait like my frenz got her hand bouquet cheap but it is nt exactly wat she want and told.

see tat u r deciding on ROM packages, hee hee...the $509 one seem attractive to me leh, but me already bought my dress and shoe liao so can only drop the idea before my FH nag...

Hi Diana,

Was at TPY, but then forgot where is the shop so didn't go and see. Flower movement seems cheap leh, but then service not so good as you mentioned, same as moonlight leh.. But cheap u know what I mean? Coz if I really can find a cheap bouquet outside, then I will only get the empire dress alone.

Har, then come another problem, the other shop pushy? Wah liao, dun like this kind one leh. $85 for few stalks of hydrangea only? No other flowers? How about the one at orchard mrt? anyone went to ask them already?

Diana, when you decide you share with me okay. What do you intend to mix hydrangea with? I'm still thinking leh.

So good, now I am still waiting for THE call to try my ring size...duno wait till when.

Hi Diana and moonlight, I went to flower movement, but didnt step into one & one flower shop leh.

Found that flower movement the lady was friendly enuff and she didn't recommend me to take calla lilies with hydrangea, coz she say calla lilies longer then might not turn out nice. She recommended hydrangea with freesia.($65)
calla lilies with roses ($60). she mentioned to give her 2 options if u take hydrangea, just in case the flowers dun have. 1 week in advance to tell her. I think 2 weeks to play safe. So how, are you gonna engage her? She say better to collect on the day itself if get hydrangea.

BTW catty,

I spotted u and ur hubby leh, but didnt walk up to say hi. Actually spotted ur hubby first, then I cant be sure, then see where he walk to and then saw you. *wink*

september

hi rainne,

oh, tink one & one did mention mixing it wif wild flowers too, but me cant recall the name liao. Good to noe that u found Flower movement friendly so perhap mayb it is really due to my timing lor...hee hee...coz tink they are busy doing flower arrangement wen me step in....o....tink both mixture will look nice, but tink me will chose freesia coz roses are beri common (me personally tink so).

me juz file the changes with ROM and juz book my solemnisation venue....feel so good wif all this done....

btw, me hv also ask the florist at Bishan Junction 8 this afternoon, they quoted $95 without delivery for hydrangea (mix with other flower)...but tink abit expensive lor. will tell u which one me chose once me make up my mind ok.

Good morning diana,

wah, think the tpy still cheaper hor for hydrangea. All thanks to shimaro providing the details to us. To think, I went pass the shops so many times and didn't even notice! haha. Blind bat.

I duno how nice it would turn out for freesia with hydrangea leh. Your ROM is earlier than mine right? Show show pix if you earlier can?