(2004) Brides of year 2004

jan

Hey Jul 04, haven't heard from u... hope u're well and fine now!

haha.. just feel very restless in the office today!
Anyway, enjoy the weekend gals!

summer

ok... gals... it's friday today and I am going back soon.... will be on leave on Monday. But will try to log in at home...

If not, will c u on Tues.... pppppplllllsss don't flood the msg boards.... if not I sure drown on Tues....

Enjoy ur gatherings tonite and the coming weekend.....

sagi

dropping by to post a msg before going for my seminar.....kekeke...

binbin
that person is me!!!! but i not meeting u all tonite.....nvr mind lor, no hurry.....cos i everything also not done yet....now still considering whether to have dinner or just lunch buffet..... but of course welcome the quotations....alikato

coven, summer, ivory
i also nothing to contribute for facials.... *sit one side with u all to watch the rest*

summer,
i drown dun know how many times liao...esp on the wkend when sat i m not working....mon log on sure faint....

enjoy the wkend!
but...........i working tomorrow.....sian....

ivory

enjoy urself too nite
dun stuff too much food until u gals come back on Mon n say need to jian fei hor...

hi sagi,

me oso working tmr
extremely sianzzzz......

c ya!!

binbin

hi sagi, oorrrr....so it's you huh? hehhehe...okie pass them to you next time we have gathering lah!
enjoy ur weekend kae?

silver

Gd evening ladies...

Ever,
Ya I think the guy who called me fm Silverling is Jit. Yes sound very friendly....

Jan,
When I first heard of GHA - the name itself gave me a very cheena feeling but a few friends online who bk theirs there have very gd comments and said it's not cheena at all. You may want to drop by and take a look urself.

Hey anything interesting in the new Her World Bride? Heard not worth buying?

Jul 04,
MIA? Hope you are feeling better.

Sagi,
So when you planning ur wedding to be?

Hey share with you gals my experience with Yvonne Creative. I tried quite a no of their gowns - quite like a few of them. Persoanlly prefer YC gowns than Flamingo. Looked at their photo too. Dun find it cheena, in fact quite please with it. The boss Yvonne also very friendly and patience and agreed to throw in additional tea dress, father suit and increase 15R photos to 18pcs. Still find rather little but that's the best she offered. Overall my bf and I quite pleased and happy with the photos/gowns/service. Even my sis who previously had bad impression on them also changed her view so most likely will stick to them.

After trying a few WG, I ve a slight ideas of what I want. Yvonne encourages me to look at more mag to get more ideas but for EG I am completely lost

ever

Hi silver,

glad to know that you had a good experience with YC.... ya, since you already paid a deposit, then more worthwhile to stick with them... if you switch bridal shop, gotta forfeit the deposit leh.... so, yr package include MTM WG & EG?? me thinking of changing to MTM EG too.... but will decide when choosing gowns in Jan/Feb...

silver

Hi ever,

Ya save $$$ and at the same time dun ve to going round soucing again. Can spend the time on the designs of gowns but I really ve no ideas of how/what kind of EG leh. Any tips gals? Yes mine is MTM WG & EG. Well, I guess you dun ve to decide now, MTM only when you can't find the one you like OTR lor. But meanwhile look out for the kind of design you like so that in case you can't find what you like OTR you can MTM.

YC said if I dun want to do it last min, I can start meeting her for design this Oct/Nov and have my PS end feb or beginning mar 04. My sis advised me to do it earlier - in case I dun like anything still ve enought time to change or alter.

seagal

I have been getting great tips from this forum
and this is my 1st posting.

Have been trying to find out how to add a new
topic but to no avail. Me wear 4 eyes also cannot
find ! ;d

Anyway, I wanted to ask if anyone can recommend a
good therapist at Insitut Clarins Wheelock.
I signed up for a facial package about 2 months
back. Angie did it for me the 1st time but wasn't
able to give much advice.

Went for my 2nd appt just now and asked for
another therapist, Celine. She seems better at
product knowledge and massaging techniques.

Anyone else I can try ?

pebbles

Hi girls...
it was nice meeting up with u,soupie/forest/ino/angelbb and cin p..

Soupie/Forest/Ino,
sorry ah, today too tired to repeat the proposal story so i manage to find it in the achieve so here it is:
-------------------------------------------------
got good news to share with all, my bf finally proposed yesterday...and with the help of my family..
Nothing much compared to some brides but im just happy with all the efforts he puts in.. It was our anniversary yesterday and he told me he will be going for meeting the whole of yesterday. He covered all areas, told me if i need to find him, call him on his hp cos he won't be in his office then on monday nite when i was toking to him on the phone, he wanted to sleep early cos he claims he's got alot of work to do. He even called me up in my office yesterday and ask if i was going home for lunch then chit chat for a while and went on telling me how busy he was and he's only coming out for a short break...then came 5, he called me up in my office and told me:" i postpone my personal training till 8 but i won't have time to go back to my office for my gym stuff so can u please walk home and get the other set of gym stuff which i left in your house for me" i got so angry and scolded him cos my Personal training was at 7 and i dun have time to rush back.
He told me:'sorry lah but i didn't expect the meeting to drag on the whole day'. I called my sister cos wanted her to bring his stuff for me but there wasn't anyone at home(cos he got all areas covered, he knew i would call up my sis) so no choice got to walk home and grab his stuff and was so damn angry with him for being so inconsiderate...he called me up again to check if im on my way home and said he will meet me in the gym..then when i open my house door, i saw my sister's two dogs with little ribbons round their neck and rose petals of different colours all over the floor leading up the stairs all the way to my room, i walk up to my room and it was filled with the lovely smell of roses and lilies.He gave me a stalk of red rose,showed me the proposal ring and played Shinai Twain "You'll are still the one" then he went on his knees and proposed with his ring. I was so shocked, all i could say was, thought we r going to the gym, are we still going or not, and it seems like he has cancelled both our gym session. I was so touched nearly cried but was so shocked too. He had a vase with 3 stalks of lilies and 11 red roses and with the one he gave me 12 roses place on a table with candle and dinner for two. He has taken the whole day off and started shopping for stuff since 10, got roses for me and roses for the petals on the floor from tanjong pager then move on to suntec for scented incense and candles followed by for food and of course when he ask my sisters for help, they were more than willing to help, so my mom and sisters left the house and left the house for the two of us. He did up all the cooking and set up and my poor mom and sisters dare not come home till they had no where else to go..ahhaha... then they only came back after my FH told them he has proposed and we are having our dinner...then my mom so cute, u two still eating ah then we come back too early so we become the lamppost already..eheeh..
opps...think i wrote too much ah, that's the details to share with u girls..
-------------------------------------------------
Angelbb,
didn't get to tok to u much, hope will get to yak with u in our next outing..

hope u girls had fun...today's gathering was short compared to the previous ones lah cos got to rush home...
next time will yeak more..) so did u girls burn a big hole in your pocket after dinner...ahahah

ok then....got to go!!!

silver

Hi pebbles,
Yr bf so sweetttttt... you must b very touched rite! Anyway, hope to join you gals the next time round.

pebbles

hi girls....
so sorry MIA for so long and this thread is so quiet ah, what happen to everyone ah...

happy02,
thanks, me just romed 2 weeks again, also in the month of may..
i got my rom dress from them and very happy with how dress and not to mention so far still very happy with their service..
of course Linda have being such a great help..
very thoughtful too..
I think i booked my package with them late last year but can't remember when ah...and future love nest will be in punggol, how about yours???

hi poox,
thanks!!! for your best wishes...!!! so what have u being up to lately??? any lastest updates on yr side??? where's your house going to be ah???

Keann,
welcome!!! yipeee another may bride..
so u r not in spore now ah, where are u currently at??? outstation for work ah..??? u got lobang for cheap gowns ah...can share share..
so when is your big day and when will u be back...???

jan

hello ladies!!

Attended the Wedding at Oriental just now....
Well, think the overall ambience is so-so only, the recep area is good, very spacious and exclusive, but ballroom decor is ok only, didnt like the red table cloth for the VIP tables, find that cheena... Food wise, is not too bad, portion just nice...

Hi silver, yeah, think may wanna just stick to YC since they offered u somemore things and u're happy with them
Yes, i think it's good if we cld get the photo shoot done early if not may be kinda rush, at least if we do it early, we still got some time to play around...

cyn

pebbles, cc2, bubbles, binbin, angle, ino, forest & soupie...
nice meeting you gals..

pebbles, ur hubby very romantic leh.. think he really put in alot of effort.
woman, how to burn a big hole when we din get anything...

ivory

hi Coven!

Good morning! wah.. sounds like the gals had great fun huh... too bad i can't go *sob sob*

Pebbles,

ur hubby very romantic lah... compared ur roses to my 2 baby tortoises.. hai.. *grin*

soupie

cin_p, last nite didn't get to talk to u at all! hehe hopefully next time

i guess it was the same with other gals at the other end of the table hehehe guess we'll just have to catch up the next time.. but it was fun
glad i turned up for the gathering

pebbles, ur hubby soooo sweet and cute leh.. hehehe

sagi

morning coven
morning ivory
morning soupie

pebbles
wahhhhhhh......ur fh very romantic and put in quite an effort wor...... u must be soooo happy and touched hor.....

hai......such a waste, nvr get to meet up with u all..... hope to next time!

silver

Gd morning gals,

Sound like you gals ve so much fun ya. I happened to be at suntec last nite. When I passed by ur rest, I was trying to see if I could recognise anyone. Saw a group of gals but not sure if you gals are the one

Ivory,
Cannot compare lah. I think ur hubby put in effort too. Urs also unique mah.

silver

Gd morning ladies...

Hi Jan,
I did visit Oriental b4 decided RSYC. Ya agreed with you that their grandball is soso only. Personally find the hotel abit old.

Don't think will change liao lah. My bf quite happy with YC and after seeing a few BS he still prefers YC photos. As for the gowns, to him all look the same -fainted- Lucky my sis joined me yest, at least someone to give me comments.

My gf and I will still do bridal shopping but more like getting more ideas for WG & EG. Actually my gf already bk hers n gowns already done up but she just enjoy doing bridal shopping

Jan, so when you intend to start looking ard for bridal?

angelbb

Hi Gals! Good morning!
Pebbles & soupie... yah, next time round we mustyak more liao... didn;t get to chat with you all much. Wah, last nite Metro Marina really open until 11pm leh, and got 20% storewide discount... Heehee... and there were shoppers there until that time too! But good lah, cos not as crowded as daytime....

Luckily cindy aka cin_p told us about this. If you're around that area, can go there look see look see lor...
Happy Shopping!

jan

hello silver!

Think will start looking for bridal ard Aug/Sep... Dun think i'll go to many, just pick 2 and then choose from them.. haha... too many my hubby sure make noise, anyway to guys, everywhere's the same!! haha...

smurfy

I am interested in the gown worn by one of the actress (Kudson) during the oscar awards ceremony. Anyone seen it before? Not sure if I am able to post the pix here.

22991.jpg

silver

Hi Jan,

Ya to guys all bridal are the same
maybe you can shop ard first and bring your bf to the 2 you shortlisted. Aug/sept would be fine. Just dun too late lor. Learn this fm a gf who's wedding this nov and ps next mth but becos she started late, her WG not ready yet. Not even first fitting... I think I prefer to do things slowly, dun like last min

ivory

morning sagi..

silver,

ya... imagine i was in singlet n shorts n slippers wan he pull that proposal on me
so much for the efforts huh??

jul_04

Thanks for all your concern. I'm ok now
Just MIA coz busy with other stuff.

Say, the GSS has started, hasn't it? Paiseh I'm the type of gal who doesn't go shopping at all! Maybe can buy some new clothes. Badly need some *hehe*

So anyone got the new Her World Brides? Anything gd inside?

Jan - Thanks for compiling our 'mysterious' details. I'll check my email later.

silver - Don't think you shd take PS in Feb, coz it's still the raining season. My bridal told me to take in early-Mar instead. Will have probs if we run into rainy weather for the outdoor.

ever - So you signed up with J&M. Good choice. They may not be branded/designer but they are value for money. In bad times like these, gotta save money!

sagi - HAha! Your wild guess turns out correct. It's true that I like to be mysterious, it's almost compulsive sometimes

ocean

Wow, that's a nice gown!!
22995.gif
Yes!!
Somemore very lacy!!

Smurfy, u r goin to ur bridal next week? tat is to look for your wedding gown, right? Actually, weekday is okay lah, but as it is usu after work, might not have enough time to try all of the gown leh.... Me still prefer weekend, unless really no choice lor.....

happy02

pebbles
ohh okiee.Mine is at woodland... So still sourcing for your ID. Me, juz bak fr 2 id. 1 from New Plan Interior, another from Image Creative. Have you heard of ?? I prefer I.C, cos 2 colleague of mine also hired them, find them quite good. So any comment abt them??, juz feel that before i sign, gather more info first.

Keann,
Hallo, welcome to our May 2004 thread. I been to Amara b4, veri cosy and nice...

Enjoy your weekends....

silver

Hihi ladies...

So quiet today huh? How's ur wkend so far? I been eating whole day - hi tea at carlton (gathering) n following by makan at Lavendar Food Centre with my family. Actually dun want to take dinner but can resist the tempation of the wantan mee there
Feeling so fat now
Ve to start controlling my diet liao. My sis said if want to lost weight for wedding, make sure do it b4 we take measurement for MTM gowns, otherwise too many alters will spoilt the gown design.

Hey I went RSYC this evening. The wkend crowd was ok and in fact there was a birthday celebration at the place I am holding my dinner but they did not build the tentage lah. As for BBQ the gal mentioned, actually its by the cafe - which mean the cafe serving BBQ food over the weekend. Thank god it's not bbq by the members -heng-
My bf and I are ok with it so more or less can say will go ahead to ve our wedding there

Jul 04,
Thanks for ur advise. Will take note of that.

jan

Hello ladies!

Weekend's good for me, just feeling tired all the time!! haha..

hey silver, that's good news for the RSYC, so no more worries eh...

hi Jul04, nice to hear from u... hehe.. Oh the Her World brides is ok if u wanna get some gowns designs, they have quite a number of WG and EG ideas...

Btw, do u gals have tea dress in ur package? Is it MTM or OTR?
Well, i think i wld wanna have MTM tea dress next time, if it's not in package, think i'll then buy one.. am already thinking of designs for it already, want it knee length... and also thinking of my EG design too, i think i may want a 2 piece, instead of a long gown...

Realised that I'm the only one who hasnt signed up for the bridal yet... Just found out that my hubby's friend is taking silverlining package and wedding is in Sep, so my hubby was saying wait to see how's the gowns and everything on that day, but was thinking, so long.. gotta wait till Sep then decide??!!!

smurfy

Ocean,

You think its nice too
. Ya, very lacy.. don't used to like lacy gowns before, but after looking at many lacy gowns, find them very elegant and nice...

Going to attach another one here.
23007.jpg

Yup, I am going for selection of gown. Bridal shop will close at 8pm, so need to reach there at about 6pm. My FH sure cannot make it... If weekend, may be interrupted by walks-in customers.. actually I very shy, if got pple around, I don't dare to come out of the fitting room for my FH to see... :p

keann

Hi pebbles and happy02,
Singapore Brides forum is indeed fun. I have been going around all the threads for a couple of days now...and lots of good information can be found here. I was happy to hear from you all..cos i thought this is a dead thread since i haven't hear any replies.hehehe...

Yes i am not in singapore..i am currently in Australia. I just got my gown recently...a bit kiasu lah...still got 1 year to wedding..olediz book reception venue and bought white gown.I didn't get it from the bridal shops here..it is not that cheap here either..and the designs are not as nice as singapore. BUT BUT BUT, i got my wedding gown from ebay. I was quite skeptical initially...but i got a really pretty gown for about SG$800..and i mean really gorgeous onez...i actually went to a bridal shop here to try for the design and then decide what size suits me and then bought it online. They even gave me a underneath hoop for free....you know, those hoop to make the gown "pong pong". The shop has an online store on ebay.

If you want good deals, i will recommend ebay.Surf around for ebay deals..there are plenty! I bought a tiara for US$10 as well.

So where are you all holding your wedding reception ? have you bought your gowns yet? i am looking for tailors...as i need to alter my gown in singapore...australia is too expensive in alterations! If you know of any good ones...please let me know...thanks!

Hope to hear from you all again!

ever

Hi gals!!

silver, good that the BBQ thingy wouldnt affect yr wedding area....

Jan, me not getting tea dress... wearing my own kua as tea dress...
think they'll usually give OTR tea dress... but, if i didnt remember wrongly, silverlining did hav a MTM tea dress included in the package... hahahha.... all guys are like that lah.... think you can start sourcing earlier... then can hav more choices.... actually, you should go silverlining personally to understand the package and try some of his gowns.... cos the gown that yr hubby's fren (or wife) designed may not be the kind that you like... once you go to a few shops, you will hav a better idea of which types of bridal shops you want... those that tie up with photographers or those with in-house photographers..... wah, you can wear 2-piece EG ah?!?! cool!!! *envy**envy* me need to lose some weight before i consider 2-piece!!

cyn

yeah soupie, catch up next gathering k...

ai yah, silver, you shd have drop by mah... at least we get to see each other mah...

ivory, dun sob... there's always next gathering...

jan

No lah ever,
errrr, wont show too much flesh lah... haha... coz dont have a well toned body!!
Well, just dun feel like wearing a one-piece EG lah..

Now i'm actually surfing the net and flipping thru mags for more WG ideas...

poox

hiee i'm back!!

sorry to have missed your posting keann. Welcome to the club

My friend's mum does bridal gowns for one of the local bridal shop. I'm sure she's able to alter your dress. If you're keen let me know, i can check the rates with her. I'm probably gonna get my tea dress probably a cheong sum from her.

didn't know ebay offer some many things....gotta check it out. Are u currently studying or working in Australia??

I'm going to Amara for a wedding tomorrow....

hi pebbles and happy02
busy with your house reno huh? me not experience in that so can't help....sorry.
my place would be ready only end of next year...it'll be in sengkang.

updates from me:
done nothing much, except probably gonna confirm my banquet next week....if i can fix a time with our coordinator...can't seem to fit each other's schedule :p

alright....take care gals!

peace

m prob getting married in June 04, hv not decided on the exact date..
oredi ROM and book my bridal studio.
now researching for hotels..
m in a fix, deciding between amara, oriental, grand parkroyal...

anyone out there who will be June brides too? do join in

silver

Gd afternoon ladies...

Hi Jan & Ever,
Ya ya at least dun ve to worry now

Jan,
Yes most package comes with (if not you can get them to throw in) tea dress but usually OTR unless you prepared to pay abit more for MTM (some allow you to keep too). I am thinking of wearing kua too as tea dress. Wow you even know your design for EG? I still headache for the design leh. Hey wat are the websites you surfing that has nice WG/EG?

Yes I agreed with ever that you may want to shop shop a few bridals yourself cos everyone's taste n preference is diff. Take example Flamingo - alot of gals find that their gowns very nice but just not my cup of tea

Ever,

You own kua? You already ve kua or ???

silver

Hi cin,
I didn't bring along any of u gals no, scare scali I call the wrong group paiseh hehe Moreover, I was with my bf n sis so nv lor

ever

Hi gals!!

silver, yap... me bought my own kua when i went HK last yr... went to those shops that rent kua (& related accessories) to HK brides.... managed to get the boss to sell me a 2nd hand kua at a low price.... heehehheeeheee... mine is a kua with beadings & silver threads... actually my mum prefers another one with only silver threads... she thinks that looks more elegant, but me refused to buy that cos its $100 more expensive!!

keann

hi Poox.
thanks for welcoming me into this thread. It has been quite fun going around looking for information here. So where are you going to hold your wedding??

As for the tailor, i would love to get her contacts. I need to get my evening gown done as well...i will be back for holidays in late june for a month...so it will be good if you can get me the contacts and rates by then. THANKS THANKS!

So you are going for a wedding in Amara...updates updates okie....am excited to hear info abt Amara..been following the Amara hotel thread as well. I also got Daniel (free emcee) from one of the threads to host my wedding..have any of you heard of him before? apparently, he's very popular! But will meet me when i am back this trip as well.

So all of you are renovating house?? any probs with contractors? i am staying in Choa Chu Kang...got a flat last year from the walk-in-selection..my contractor has good ppl doing the carpenty work and flooring is very very good...but the contractor is so-so only..i had to push push him a lot!!

I am currently studying here in Melbourne. but not young anymore lah...got back to school after some years of work.

Ebay is definately a good place to check your stuff out..i can give you the link to the ebay store that i bought my gown from...you can take a look then...i can send you the pictures of the gown i bought too....

Okies...hope to hear from all of you soon!

poox

hello keann

i'll go find out from my friend when i meet up with her tomorrow. Just to confirm you're keen to alter your WG and may wanna do EG as well right?

The last i spoke with her, she told me her mum don't do embriodery and beadings so may need to get those nicely embrioderied cloth from Arab St. Guess she don't really do designing so I propose you surf around for designs you like then check if she could do it. Alteration shouldn't be a problem.

Let me know.

mee mee

Its been a few days since I've come into the forum. How is everyone doing?

Smurfy, hey I know how u feel. Because am like u... kinda shy. For me, I think its really becoz I am a little on the ba-ba side, so afraid of looking yucky in gowns made for slim brides. But notwithstanding that, it's still fun! enjoy!

mee mee