(2004) Brides of year 2004

coven

hi wendylee,

tat happened once to mi long time ago also ... it was at nite near dhoby ghaut area .. tin near PS. i was trying to cross a road then got this pathetic looking man approached mi. said tat he parked his car nearby but left his phone in the car. and dropped his car keys ... borrowed $10 also. asked for my name card and promised to return. then i naively took out $10 also... like u lor .. when i recalled bk, tin i kanna cheated also

ivory

wendylee / Coven

if got next time *touchwood* mayb offer to bring them to the nearest police station where our dearest jing3 cha2 shu1 shu4 will definitely help them without needing them to pay back

juz be glad its oni $10 they are taking from u.. treat it as u dropped the money then u wun feel dat bad

cyn

pebbles, ur honeymoon sound so shiok... i love spa.. how much did you pay for the 3hr pamper?

coven, though i dun many relatives, stil hope tat i dun have to serve tea... my legs weak lah... i sure fall on my butt.. maybe can try out the spa which pebbles had... i more greedy leh, i wan it b4 & after wedding.. haha..

wendylee, you're jus so kind... if someone approach me, i jus tell them i dun have $$$.. always feel tat these ppl are out to cheat our pity.

coven

ivory,
ya lor ... provided got those uniformed guys ard when needed. learnt my lesson then liao.

cin_p,
heheehe maybe can put a cushion on the knee *litebulb!*

wendylee

CIN_P/COVEN/IVORY: So sad... now feeling cheated! She really looked pitiful wor... but scared she's for real then I will be guilty then... koaz, cant stand the way she asked for another $10!

ivory

Coven / wendylee

no problem one, if they really for real, they wun be scared of policeman when u offer to call them on their behalf. even though no policeman on sight, u can always say dat u'll dial 999 for assistance. if they are fake, they sure run away. nowadays really a lot of pityful ppl, but they are used by other ppl to earn such money.. so its no surprised when u say they really look very pitiful

ino

Hi Wendylee,

I was in the same situation as u a few yrs ago ...but i did not give it to the person coz i genuinely got no $$$.

Well, though i'm really sceptical of such pple but i can't help feeling sorry for these pple coz i do not think they wld want to resort to this if they cld help it...there are so many pooorrr pple ard. U gotta be really thick-skinned in order to approach pple for help.

Anyway, i usu donate $$ to those handicap pple who perform at the MRT stns as well as those old man/lady who sells tissues...coz i really think they are making an effort to eke out a decent living despite their age/handicap.

;-)

Hi Pebbles,

Your mini getaway sounds wonderful!!! A pity...dun think my FH interested in such things leh...he thinks it's an absolute waste of money!!!!
BTW, how much does the spa treatment for couples cost?

summer

Coven,

how much to visit spas? very ex right?

hmmm... my hubby sure scream.. he don't believe in such things

But do u think it's appropriate to go just once before my big day? good excuse?

soupie

pebbles, wow!! sounds so relaxing! if i were u, i also dun want to go back home..hehehe.

i tried a 6 hr spa before, won it in a contest a few yrs back.. and at the end of it.. skin feels so soft and basically feel so relaxed that can 'nua' already hehehe
22685.gif
definitely wanna go again.. but hubby is a very ticklish person so he won't enjoy it lor.

btw, pebbles i'm in for this friday's gathering too

ino/summer, same here! hubby dun enjoy spa too.. just a little bit he feels ticklish :p

forest

pebbles,
hahah... ya lor.. me goin pampering... will b going to institute clarins @ wheelock plc to finish off my facial pkg.. plus had a body scrub FOC... n will add a body massage to complete the pampering session... been having aching shoulders.. so thot of giving myself a little treat lor...

good to hear tt u had a wonderful time at ritz!! wow.. ur spa treatment at fullerton sounds heavenly leh... how much ah??? me n hubby also like to go massage together... we did 1 in KL end of last yr.... mayb i can psycho him to go for this fullerton one!!

summer,
haha.. this fri's pampering session is not becos of wedding lah.. i hve regular facials.. n jus adding some back massage treatments to soothe tt aching back lor... i'm also thinking of changing my facials pkg to some other salons.. so, might as well finish clarins off in a big way lor!!

prices varies.. for clarins.. most cost abt 98 for each... therefore, for a facial cum massage cum scrub.. it wld cost 98x3.. but since mine is frm pkg.. n scrub was FOC.. i onli need to pay the massage lor...

frankly spkg, think its good to go once in a while.. to relax ur muscles.. enjoy the massage.. think it does a lot for the mind.. n it also benefits ur skin..
def no harm goin b4 or aft wedding...

wendylee,
i also had a similar experience.. somemore, its a teenager.. very fat boy.. try to act gong gong.. pulled me while i was queueing at the interchange for my bus... embarassed me purposely by shouting n crying tt he needs money.. but very not qiao is i dint hve any small change.. only had 50 bucks! i was a student working during hols then.. so, def wun part with the 50 bucks.. luckily, a neighbor was on the same queue.. n she helped me by giving him some small change!

i was quite angry cos' the boy was fat.. n not like he's handicapped or anything.. n was begging when he cld jolly well work for his own money.... i think some ppl def deserve our help.. but for this case tt i encountered.. i dun think he is deserving of my sympathy.... guess, we hve to determine on a case by case basis lor..... .

coven

ivory,
hee .. if next time i so suay to meet one, i know wat to do liao. *touch wood* so far after the last incident so many yrs ago, dont hv!!

summer,
spa ahh.. depends where on wat's in the package. tin the basic for couple will cost ard $230~280. hee .. once a while this kind of luxury as long as ur finances can handle it, ya .. shld go try once.

hehe .. my bf also very ticklish. sometimes when i massages him, esp to his sensitive areas, he will be squirmish liao.

forest

soupie,
got ur link!!
veri nice... think u can carry lilac color very well leh!

thanks again for sharing ur pix with me!!!

cyn

coven, idea leh.. maybe those knee guards which volleyball players wear..

wendylee... forget abt it.. dun let it spoilt ur day.

pebbles

forget to welcome the new girls in my earlier posting....now come in to make posting before i go home...ahaha...

coven/summer...hope i didn't miss out anyone ah...we have a contact list for the 04 thread, do send me your particulars and i will add u onto the list..my email is [email protected]

soupie/forest/ino and the rest
oh i didn't go for ritz spa cos it's damn ex and not worth , they also dun have couple package, check out the fullerton one...very good..they have couple package ranging from $300 if i remember correctly, i can go back and check the price list and send u girls the details tomolo..my hubby took up the $400 package, very value for money cos we have so many treatments then they had 30% for any second treatment that u take so we took up the mud mask for our foot...ehheeheh...i know lah, in total we spend around $500 for our spa, alot of money hor, my heart really ache ah but then hubby said, it's worth it, money well spend with 3hrs of soild pampering...

ok, attendance for this friday
CC2
blusher - not confirmed
bubbles
wendy26 - not confirmed
binbin
soupie
pebbles
forest
ino
cin p
annmelody
doremon
wendylee - not joining
did i miss out anyone ah????

ino

hi coven,

spa packages for couples cost ard $230-$280??
wow...where huh? thinking of splurging a tiny bit leh...

i went to check out fullerton...i think pebbles' package is about $400? They have one at $300 also.
Spa Botanica is also ard $400...

Any other recommendations that are slightly less ex???

Hi forest!
Long time no c u already!!!
U with Clarins for facial yeah...my colleague also recommended them to me ...she said they are real good! But then hor...i will consider it after my wedding...a bit ex to go on a package leh...

wendylee

FOREST: .... oh, thats remind me of got rememberance that met that kinda 'gong-gong' guy... duno isit in Singapore or Msia... I think Singapore la... then he like pull pull then ask for $ ya? I think he really gong lah... abit poor thing too... isit at AMK interchange?

SIGH, told my BF he says treat it like donation lor...

soupie

talking abt such encounters.. i had one at raffles city near the perlini shop. this guy with moustache and tattoo came up to me and ask me if i had $10.. wah liao! it was very crowded then and i act blur as if i didn't hear him and walk off.. luckily i didn't wait for him to speak further if not i'll be trapped... somemore he's so burly and have tattoos all over his body.. heng he also never come after me.. i think he's more mentally disturbed rather than really wanna ask for money.

actually i think those selling tissue or selling lottery tickets or doing some performance.. they are really trying to earn a decent living.. sometimes i walk pass centrepoint there's this old ah mah squatting there selling tissue.. usually i'll give her more than wat she's selling and take 1 or 2 packets from her.. or if i hear them performing.. i'll also try to donate all my coins.. some of the performers are really good okie!
can sing or play the instruments really well.. really enjoyed them and at the same time they really add some colour to our lives.. not so boring when we walk past.. but me and hubby have encountered this pair of kids.. boy and girl selling keropok/cuttlefish.. pity them but at the same time cannot sympathize with them cos it was their parents who made them solicit for biz using their young age.. and they sell at really exorbit prices..sigh..

keann

Do you all know of any good tailor who can alter a white wedding gown? I bought my gown overseas at a really good rate. If any of u are interested, i can provide you guys with details. They will ship it to your country.(i am not in singapore at the moment)
Anyways, back to tailor...i need a tailor to alter the gown that i bought and also need to make an evening gown.
Wat other prep is there?? I have also booked my wedding reception...i booked it at Amara hotel...really loved it! After the renovations, Amara looks so beautiful!
I checked out a few hotels...and i tik amara is still the best choice in terms of costs and offers.

jul_04

I'm on course again today & 2moro!

Gals, my hse-spying mission failed. Coz future FIL not free last min, so we decided not to go alone. I think it's easier for older folks to talk to older folks, coz my upstairs neighbour is older folk too!
Nvm try again next wk.

EVER :

Sorry I don't have the quotation for Sheraton on soft copy. But the px I got when I signed up is $830+++ for Jul 2004. It's table of 12 pax, so it'll be something like $806 nett per table of 10 pax. Is ur brother getting married before or after mid-2004? Because it's $800+++ for weddings held before mid-2004.

Yeah, it's very gd offer indeed for ur J&M package. Much better than mine too!

JAN :

You're not kan cheong. I'm very, very eager to get married too! In fact, I'll be happier if my wedding is in Jul 2003!
So even tho we don't have much money, I still 'die die' wanna get married next yr, coz I can't wait anymore. So no face hor?

SILVER :

My flat is in Sengkang, 5 rm, 110 sq.m, $232k. It's a premium so the flooring is done already.

You can always get a reno loan to cover the reno costs. If you don't spend too much, I think the interest isn't too bad. Also, with all the 0% interest credit card payments, sure got enough funds somehow. Just budget carefully, & dun be too extravagant.

I think it's mostly 2 waiters to 3 tables. It'll be hard to get 1:1 if the wedding isn't during sch hols.

silver

Gd evening ladies...

I just back home from office. So tired n weather so hot

Jul 04, Jan & ever,
For the time being will shelf housing aside. Shall wait for next balloting or WIS dan decide. Hey do let me know if you gals hear any news ya. Thanks for all your adivse.

RSYC is 1 waiter to 2 tables. Shall bargain for more hehe

Cannot tahan my bf - cos RSYC did not chase us to confirm our booking, he said dun ve to book so early. Well I agreed with him lah but again if bk liao can less worry one thing mah

Ever, most impt is you like the design. Keep the fingers cross for my meeting with YC this fri.

a&w

Hi Summer..
Is that true? Rain means good luck huh? Then ok lah..ehhehe...in anycase, it doesn't really matter lah. If its normal rain, its still fine...just don't give me typhoon, trees break, umbrellas fly away type of rain. Hheheheh..

AngelBB..
Aiyo..my wedding is end of next year Dec 30th. So still got a long way to go. But for you, can start planning already...11months come really fast.

Soupie..
I love those strapless, bustier gowns too. HEheh..actually don't think ballgowns will be that hard to walk in lah...should be about the same as A-line...heheh..So if you really like ballgown then you should get it. If other ppl trip..too bad lor..heheh so long as you don't trip, thats fine.

Well too many postings for now. Will come back and read all of them again later!

angelbb

Pebbles, Me too going for the gathering on Fri!
Eh... what time ah?

WendyLee, I think you sure very nice gal one... never mind about the $10 lah... At least you know you sincerely wanted to help them out. That's very kind-hearted of you liao.
I last time also kena cheated once... but that time very young, I think only Sec1. Kena cheated by a very cute looking boy some more
... sigh... gullible me... luckily only a few dollars. Heehee!

ever

Morning gals!!!

Jan, Jul 04, me also wished my wedding is earlier than july'04!! no need to wait so long, very excited hor.... cant wait to get into the REAL preparation!!! heeheehehehee...

silver, same same lah.... my bf also say no need to make booking with OCC, cos still early!! until i got angry and made him make tentative booking!! now, he say can relax liao.... wait for the person to chase us for the comfirmation and deposit!! imagine!!! the tentative booking is for a week only.... but i guess never mind lah, usually they'll call you if someone else wanted the same date, rite gals?? oh, and good luck for yr "negotiations" with YC on friday!!!
silver, the foreign "Brides" magazine that you bought was the summer 2003 issue?? that mag is $17 or $19 bucks!! not sure when this issue was published, cos i want to buy the latest one.... scared i buy liao, a new issue came out on the following week!!!! dont worry about housing lah.... do some simple reno and deco for yr bf's room loh.... can live more comfortably after the wedding and wouldnt keep thinking of buying house....

pebbles

ino,i see u have being doing your research for spa packages ah...

u can try the amara hotel one, i think it's also under asia spa ah....

ok,got to go....here's the attendance for this coming friday outing...
CC2
Bubbles
Pebbles
Doremon
annmeldoy
Soupie
binbin
angelbb
cin p
forest
ino
sagi
blurydory - not confirm
blusher - not confirm
wendylee - not joining
Leafy - joining us late

hope i didn't miss anybody out ah...

jan

Morning ladies!

Yeah... so excited abt the wedding preps.. Keep asking my hubby to make booking etc the other time too!! haha.. Now and then i also keep mentioning abt wedding stuff until he can't stand it!!
Well, initially we wanted the last of last yr, but he decided that shld hold it earlier to get it over with... hehehe.. that's good too, so that i dun have to wait so long!!

Yes ever, make the tentative booking with OCC, when i made my tentative booking with Mandarin, it was supposedly for 2 weeks, but we drag on for abt 1 mth b4 signing the contract... so ever, i guess it's ok, wait till they chase u for it lah.. hehe..

Wah... Jul 04, on course again ah!! haha..

silver

Gd morning gals....

Ever & Jan,
I guess all the guys are the same ya? Cannot tahan them
Cos my dinner is on promo price now so yest I puruposely told him if dun book earlier n if promo price no more, he has to go 'find n neg' himself than he like more kan cheong. Looks like sometimes ve to give them so 'push' factor

I just found out that there is bbq going on every weekend at RSYC. Not sure if the bbq is near the tentage where wedding is going to be. Planning to go down to take a look myself this weekend

Ever, the mag I bought supposed to be the latest one. I will check and let you know.

summer

good morning everyone....

A&W,

I think that's true... most of my friends' parents oso said rain means 'cai'...

Pebbles,

will be sending u my particulars soon.....

Coven,,

Yah... where hah? got so cheap spa....

jan

hello hello!

Yes, that's right, all guys are the same! Got to really push them!
silver, why dun u check with ur coordinator and ask him whether there's any function or weddings going on soon, so that u can take a look..

Hmm.. maybe go skim thru mags during lunch time..

wendylee

PEBBLES: WOW looks like Im gona missed alot from this outing...
Update me yah?

ANGELBB: No lah, just $10... but if you really need then okie lor... but kinda cheat me then I will be angry and dun feel good. *gesh*

forest

hi galz...

pebbles,
wah... 500 bucks!! that's really alot leh.. but then, looking at the list of things tt u did.. its also quite worth it also!! WOW... think its a little ex for me to psycho my hubby..

ino,
long time no c u also!! me was on MC mah.. so, dint login most of last wk... actually, clarins is not too bad.. only thing is they doesnt do extractions... i'm going to try sothys facial/products.. which is very highly recommended by some ppl..

for my clarins pkg.. i also signed up during promo.. so, there's some discount.. n got a free body scrub... which is y when i signed up, it was very worth it...
wat's gd abt clarins is tt u feel very pampered n a sense of luxury when u r there.. guess, its the atmosphere they create also... plus, i like the strength of their massages.. u can go do 1 facial jus to get a feel? tt's how i started going there... oh, n if i go to sothys, i will give u my feedback also..

wendylee,
ya lor.. jus treat it as a donation lor..

silver

Hi Jan,
There issit any outdoor wedding going on lately
but I still want to pop by lor cos the last few times I went there was weekday so not many ppl but like to take a look at their weekend crowded

ever

Sorry, silver..... but where's RSYC exactly? hahha... ya, jan.... me browsed thru some mags yday too.... FOC... the new Her World Brides really not much stuff inside..... but the foreign Bride's mag not bad, so need silver to help me check before i decide if i shld get a copy... actually, shld get in aug - oct... more updated for our wedding in 2004!!! hahahhaa....

really agree with you gals about guys!!!! they really need pushing.... now, i hav to persuade my bf to start on our ROM guest list.... before i start on deco & food.... *sigh*

oh, by the way, my bro's wedding is end 2004....

sagi

*faints* again......kekekeke...

wendylee,
ya dun feel too bad lor.... lesson learnt, then next time wont be so easily cheated.....sigh...they prey on pp's sympathy...
me also wld donate to those performing along the orchard road underpass one....think got one blind man....wld play the instrument and sing also... sometimes not too bad... then wld empty all my coins to give him....

coven,
me also nvr go spa before leh.... wonder where to go?? anyway, out of job soon....maybe no $$ to pamper myself liao....see next time how...

pebbles,
ur mini honeymoon sound soooooo nice..... actually quite nice to go stay in hotel hor....kekeke...
shiok shiok....
my bf and i wld go stay in hotel for a nite once in a while..... when got promotional rates..

sagi

been a while since i pop by.....

pai seh ahh....nothing much to contribute.....think all of u got ur bridal pkg and venue liao hor....me still nothing...

nvr mind.....wld start really i mean really looking in end jun.....after i out of job.....kekeke...

ever, silver
guys are all the same one... *rolls eyes*
seems like most things wld be done by us gals....like sourcing for bridal boutiques lar.... venues lar, also i go obtain quotes liao, then let him shortlist.... then list of guests also i think.....even wedding songs.....aahhahaa...

going for lunchie soon....

silver

Gd afternoon ladies...

Just came back from lunch. It's so hot! And imagine it's after rain (only rain awhile earlier on).

Ever,
RSYC is at west coast. Understand fm the sales mgr tat there will be some functions (but not weddings) going on this sat so will pop by. Was advised to go at 645pm cos can see the sunset hehe

My mag at my bf's plc. Will check out tonite n let u know. Remind me if I forgotten ya.

Sagi,
Hihi! Me been talking but ve not book also
Wow even wedding songs you also decided huh? Really fast hehe

ocean

At my new hse, need to pay PUB bills and also the something like Town Council fees for the management of the area. Think it is called er... <FONT COLOR="ff0000">conserverity</FONT> (wrong spelling) fees?? As this fee is deducted thru GIRO, forgot abt it till I update my bank book!!

Then renovation not paid finished yet... <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Blue Lake</FONT> so gd har, so long till not pay ur dad?? Naughty naughty..
Kekee...

Then, once the venue is confirmed, had to place deposit right?? Hmm..... now dun hv extra money to shop liao...

silver

Gd afternoon ladies....

Wow so many postings until I also blur

pebbles,
Thanks for organising but can't make it this time round. Enjoy ya!

A&amp;W &amp; summer,
I want 'cai' but dun wish to rain leh esp mine will be outdoor hehe Btw, I was told tat it will rain on ur wedding day if it rained on the day the bride &amp; groom were borned. Dunno how true.

Sorry if I missed out any questions ya...

jan

Feeling sleepy after lunch!
yawn.gif

Didn't see mags just now... Hmm, ya shall buy more mags during the Oct period! haha...

Oh ever, when's ur ROM?? sorry, have forgotten.. hehe...

Yes sagi, agree that wedding stuffs and preps are all done by us gals! haha... They just simply bochap!

Oh yeah silver, the sunset will be so romantic, maybe u can do ur photoshoot there next year.. that'll be very nice!!

silver

Any idea the start up cost as a wedding planner? What would be the requirement and duties huh?

If I tell my bf I interested to go into wedding planner he sure I xiao hehe but personally find it quite interesting lor

coven

hee ... hi ladies!

ino,summer, sagi,
if remember correctly, i saw tat couple package in Asian Spa @ Fullerton Hotel. i went for the thai massage so nt sure abt the couple package.

:p better to call and find out abt tat. kee ... i quite forgetful usually dont store things in mind for long one.

ever

Hi gals!!

Jan, my ROM in Nov this year.... to be held outside but no preparations done yet...

silver, thanks!! for checking the mags.... heehehe.... me also wanted to go into this line... interesting hor... but i think the market in Spore really small... nowadays, people still prefer to plan everything personally... unlike some countries where getting a wedding planner is the norm... me always wanted to open my own bridal shop!!! but too bad, no artistic talent... cant depend on salaried designer... they'll leave after a few yrs and yr shop will die!!! *sigh*... no choice, gotta to stick to desk-bound job...

blue lake

oh ya... conservancy charges and dun forgot your TV licence fee. haha... watch tv also must pay. have a few plants and flowers downstairs also must pay.

now u reminded me. the "botar" trees(without leaves, dead liao) and the drying flowers at my area cost me $80+ of conservancy chrg every mth. humph!

ya, once confirm the venue, must pay. i paid $3000. everything needs $$$$$$$. terrible!

jan

hey hey silver...

yeah... quiet huh! hehe..

U interested in doing wedding planner biz, interesting!
Think start up cost wont be much i guess.. Think it's more of a coordinating job which requires u to have some contacts maybe with florists, bridal studios etc? And perhaps need some manpower when u need to decor the venue for clients...

jan

hi ever, that means only 6 mths to go b4 ur ROM!! hehe.. at least something to look forward to first b4 the actual wedding!

Silver, actually agree with ever, think market here too small, quite hard to make it here as wedding planner, coz guess to hire one isnt cheap so couples wld rather do their own...

silver

Hihi...

Ever,
Hey another 6 mths to go leh. Any venue in mind?

Ever &amp; Jan,
Ya agreed that mkt very small. But I guess I just enjoying such work hehehe

ino

Wow....relatively fewer postings today compared to the past few days!!! ;-P
Miracle leh...where have all the gals gone??

Hi Pebbles/Coven,

I also raised white flag liao...tok until my mouth dry but cld not entice my FH to go for spa. He nearly fell off the chair when i told him the price...So unromantic!!! ;-P

Aiya...also agree that the economy is now quite bad...have to start saving $$$. Mabbe i go for spa during the honeymoon lor...will "force" my hubby to go then...

So Pebbles, do we meet at Suntec Sizzler directly? Do we all have to get a rose or something on our head or shirt?? ;-P
How do we identify ourselves?

Hi forest,
welcome back! hope u r ok by now? yupz...my colleague also told me that there is no extraction. But then, if there's no extraction, then how to get rid of the dirt on the face?