(2004) Brides of year 2004

calm

Cooldevil, Guo da li is for your hubby side to come to your house & give ur parents the piglegs.. cakes...gold.. pin li..whatever .. like asking for your hand like that.. me also dun know much.. my mom also blur blur.. base on her memory 30 years ago.. how to remember so much.. but i know china town, there're some shops selling the traditional wedding stuff.. u just need to approach them & tell them your dialiect, they will consolidate all the needy for the wedding & guide u the custom..

babysheep22

Hi bebe

Yup. I was thinking just confirm / book the minimum quantity of wine first, since we more or less know our guest list. I think the final amount will not differ by much.

So at least if the wine we want not in stock, give them some time to bring it in. My parents don't want us to do things during 7th month, so just oblige them lor.

I also used my PS photos to design the church card. Mu hubby has told the printing company the quantity already.

Yup kk is right. Normally hotel cards got standard format one, Most important is to get the parents to vet, Make sure they are comfy with the words all that, (esp the Chinese part).

I have just decided on my wedding favours. Made my own favour basket (to hold the favours) over the weekend.

Hi kk

I am solely responsible for the church songs, musicians etc, as my hubby has no interest in music (he cannot sing) while I have been a church musician since young. So i had to choose the songs, get the pp, and help coach the singers. My wedding choir (for church) already started practices 3 weeks back. They are meeting weekly as some of the songs I picked are quite challenging, with 4 voice parts.

bulletin is done, but still have minor changes to make. Waiting for the printer to show me the amended draft. I also had to do the bulletin all on my own... sigh.

The good thing is, my hubby's friends are helping with the food and other logistics.

Look forward to seeing u tomorrow!! Then we can chat more.

Hi panda77

Welcome to our thread, It's pretty quiet as you will see.... but dun worry, pop by anytime, say hi, and there's sure to be someone here.

eternity

hey Dabee,

my menu can choose between seabass and snapper and i chose the latter coz seabass is a freshwater fish which will have the soil taste lor... any chance of changing the fish???

mine was okie, but steamed a little too well, so a little tough...

zann

have you heard of couples who getting married within 3 months of each other's wedding cannot attend each other's wedding? is it necessary?
my best friend already rom but she might be having her customary within 3 months from mine leh...then she cannot attend my wedding...so sad

adidas

melbz
the pixs are well taken & very nice, u are pretty too!

carole
send to me too! thanks!

littlegirl

hi hi gals,

Sorry 2day no time to cme in & read all the posts.

GDL - is a traditional custom practice for the Groom's side to go to Bride's hse & ask for hand in marriage, & @ the same time to bring along some formalities as a gesture of sincerity.

SDJ - is something which b4 the GDL, MIL will bring the DIL out & choose. Pin Jing aka bride's price, is 1 of the many things Groom's side wil bring along during GDL.

All these used to b paid by Groom's parents, as a token of appreciation/ gratitude amt to the Bride's side, thanking the parents for bringing up the daughter & letting their son hv the fortune to marry her.

Parents will do a meet up session, usually during food tasting, they dun hv those like purposely get a day to go to the bride's hse 4 discussion. Anyway tat day during my food tasting when PILs ask my parents, my mum said she told my hb everything liao le, so no need to ask lor. Then MIL said if my mum needs anymore things just let hb & I know.

Zann:
Ans to ur query. It depends. Did u get ur AD based on ur own decision or u went to seek advice one? U can prob consult the same person.

Some say 3mths b4 & 3mths after; 4mths b4 & 4mths after. 1 of my gf's mum told her 6mths b4 & 6mths after. My geomancer told me 1mth b4 & 1mth after.

So depending on who u wanna believe lor.

hakida

Zann,

i think it depends on whether both ur parents,in-laws and ur best friend side is paticular about this or not lor.it's just an issue of PANGTANG,whether u believe it or not.Just don't upset anyone if anyone of them is paticular regarding this issue

littlegirl

Yeah I agree, if they can't attend ur wedd, then just let it b lor. For my case also like tat.

Though my geomancer said 1mth b4 & 1mth after, my buddy coll getting married on 1 Oct - a pure Teochew, said she can't attend, neither can I attend hers. My buddy gf since Pri sch, getting married in 10 Oct also like tat.

Tats y we got videog, then can shoot the AD event lor.

littlegirl

Huh? I add arh? I chat on forum already he scold & scold le, still say MSN?

He's ZZzz nw so I cme in, just nw k k chk travel things mah

littlegirl

Hakida

I m gng off liao le........... u take care, 2mr AM then I sneak in cos hb's wking in the morning.

Hee hee hee...........

Btw - u still nt decided if u r joining us on Fri or u cfm nt joining us?

zann

hi Hayashi & Ah ger,

i am back again!
thanks for your advice...my MIL mentioned is within 3 months' period...this gf of mine just rom...then she told me she having customary next year in fact she did thought of doing away with customary but her parents dun allow....but she just told me today that her mum wants to do the customary this year and if there is taboo on my side, she may not be able to help me. I know can't be help but just sad that best fren can't attend...we have been frens for abt 18 years...still thought of asking her to be my jie mei/bridesmaid leh...sob sob

zann

her mum wants her to do customary around oct/nov...which is within 3 months of my wedding date...she needs to confirm again though cos her mum need to check the availability of the restaurant...

seabreeze

wow so many posting ....

just had dinner at my parents place ... got them to list down who they are inviting to the dinner ... hotel just called to remind me to go choose the wedding card design n food tasting .... time flies ....

blurunicorn

Bebe:
Yah, agrees with Babysheep and KK ..
Look for those printing cos recommended by hotels ..
They are likely to have the standard template ..
Most likely going to collect the inserts on next fri or the following mon ..

Gals:
Looking fwd to the coming gathering ..
But where's the venue ??

polosportjg

Carole,
thks I have recived the sample cards. the photos u chose so cute esp the one when ur FH pulling ur pleats. he he did u chose the photo where u twist his ear one huh?
140029.gif

Seabreeze, so gd ur hotel called to remind you.
I just called them up to get samples of my wedding card. What wedding flavours are you having? Mine is wine chimes....hmm..think of changing

Had my food tasting in June. Chosen my dishes already. Guess thts the only thing which I settle the fastest.
140030.gif

Thts remind me, I better start asking my parents to list down who they inviting.

Michelle, so u hving ur PS on monday. excited right? try to rest as much as possible during the weekend. so look mei mei on Mon.
If you not superstitous is okie to hve PS on 7th mth.
140031.gif

jus me, hven't start printing my weddg cards yet. where u printing urs? hmm...diet me everyday lunch time , I will tell my colleagues, tomorrow then I start dieting.he he till they give up on me.Oops

Good night gals, have a nice weekend....
yawn.gif

coolgirl76

Thanks Jean & Bao bao
Will ask my mum tom......

One of buddies is getting married on Sept i'm going to attend her wedding will be her Jie mei too.....I think it's up to individual...as long as our parents and theirs not pang tang i will definately go lor no matter is friends, buddies or colleagues.....

Actually my in law say 3 month before and after our AD cannot "hong" or "Bai"...not good...intend to go secretly...ke ke ke

mrsleong

seabreeze: ya manz.. after my wedding will be all Nov's brides turn to get married.. wonder wil we meet here again.. after we gotten married?
hmmm.. things to think abt ....

mrsleong

twinkle: most of the pic chosen are in my album.. keke but for the samples, i took the jpeg images cos its smaller... kekeke...

hi all.. i started to go dieting.. starve hard during the morning n lunch.. and had little rice in evening. hmm hope it works manz.. jejeje..

seabreeze

twinkle .... now stress ar .. cos the place that we working at ... they thinking of postponing one event to mid-nov ... which means I can only take leave like 2 days before my AD ... sianzzzzz ....

yap my hotel quite nice ... sheratons ... but haven't cfm the wedding favour yet ler ....

lets all keep in touch after the wedding ar ... a special way to make frens =)

dabee

hi no time:
ha ha i cannot remember skylar face will go and see her photo again. i only remembered you the reat all i mixed up liao. cannot remember who is who. tonight u goin for food tasting right? let me know how is ur fish dish. thanks. u hv how many nights stay? i hv two nights but hubby wan to exchange the 2nd for disc on 2nd barrel of beer. if we did not open the 2nd barrel then we "lugi" the 2nd night stay. is a risk to take.

hi eternity:
hotel never offer me to exchange to another kind of fish. when i asked for red Gauropa is an additinal top up of $30+++ per tbl.

u gals still buying bedsheets????

aprlim

Hi Fleur,
Ya, we can hold hand and go home together. Yipee....

Heard that recently a neighbour was being followed by one unknown stranger(prob. alien) till her blk and 2nd level, she quickly changed her route. Clever. So, gals, go home late must be careful.

Hi Juz me, I'll be printing my card in October. They told us one week will be ready, so din arrange to print now. After "July" better.

Carole & all gals, dun starve too much. Not very good too. Later no energy to do anything. Best is go exercise.

Hi Twinkle, so fast had ur food tasting? Wow, I oso hope to eat soon. haha.... Juz for the sake of eating.

I oso agreed wif seabreeze, we shld stay in touch even after married. Maybe we can changed to another link. "Calling out to bride trying for bb". haha.... Might as well, try to conceive on the same day.....

Have a nice weekend.

littlegirl

Zann:
Our timing sala lah........ u cme in we all left liao.

Wa seh, wedding in Oct/Nov - abit late right? Later pppl think hw cme in such a hurry to get married

Cooldevil:
Red ones I dun mind gng, infact I've bn gng for wedds in Jun, Jul & Aug. So nw stop, wait till Oct then go 1 more then tats it. Tis gf says 1mth, mine also 1mth. Then tat day I told my mum abt tis Oct wedd, mum also nv say anything. Bt hb says - if u cna go to tis Oct wedd, then y can't we attend his cousin's wedd end Oct? I told him prob is bcos it's end Oct while my gf's in mid Oct, so gap is shorter, nt so advisable lor. Bt if he really wanna attend also can lah, since still 1mth away mah.

My buddy coll - a pure Teochew, she can't go to my wedd cos hers in Oct, so same case lor, I can't b @ her wedd also. Then my buddy gf - since Pri sch also, getting married in Oct, I can't attend cos hers says 3mths b4 & after.

bunnygirl

hi zann,

actually i oso dunno abt this thing until bao bao told me that i cld't attend hers n she too cn't attend mine den i know abt this kind of thing!! mine even more sad!! bao bao wedding on 24th dec, mine in 26th dec!! so the close!! and 1 of my jie mei suddenly told me that she's getting married in jan!! nw i lack of 1 jie mei!! haha..

bunnygirl

hi grace,

cn u company me to raffles pl next fri den we go n meet the rest? cz i need 2 collect my wedding shoe lace @ heatwave!! let me know okie? thanks..i'll b meeting u straight away cz i go there after work!!

dabee

oi
where is everyone?? go gai gai ???

whose wedding on the 19 sept har? which hotel? maybe the bride is my long distance cousin wife

seren_ade

140136.gif
Hi ladies, I c newcomers.. Hihi..Was in my "cave" for few days preparing for exams, 1 last paper to go
140137.gif

I have briefly gone thru the forum so i may missed out replying to UR questions, pls pardon me. I will just answered according to what I have remembered & was meant 4 me k..

adidas: yeah finally done with PS, Thank God, the weather was fine, I mean VERY FINE.. wasn't as kian cheong as before I went.. We had fun & almost "melted" not cuz of the sun but my hubby's look... hahaahhaaa... we had some closed shots so first time so closedup with my eyes opened.. almost made me melted, feel his very loving look @ me... hahahahaaa MELTED!!! my PS experience, sounded different thou..

errmmmm: can't recalled who else. Yes VERY lucky the boss drove us.. he was a 'joker'. I mean very comedian so we did not lack of laughters thou. Thou we need more smiles than laughter. Anyway it was fun. I had my Indr on sunday, was a long day thou, we secretly took some pics thou they said no photo taking.. cuz i need some pics for my buddy to do my slideshows..

Amy: ur ampoule was marvellous... I didnt have to worry about oiliness on my face when i was waiting for my MUA.. but i did not follow ur methods.. OOOPS!! but it still worked wonders. May wanna get more from u, if its convenient..
THANKS alot!!

Shall c u gals soon.. gtg carry on studying..

Girls Meetup for Nov Brides (Pls add your name for reservation of seats)
Date: 19 August,2004 Thursday
Time: 7pm

Central: Raffles Plc MRT - Coffee Club (above MRT beside Ocean Building)

NOV Brides: pls confirm if u are coming next to your nick
carole - CONFIRMED
serenity - CONFIRMED
adidas - CONFIRMED
Moonlight - CONFIRMED
Fleur- CONFIRMED
Apr - CONFIRMED
Gina - CONFIRMED
seabreeze - CONFIRMED
Twinkletwinkle - CONFIRMED
sallen - anyday ,after 5.30pm
mist - CONFIRMED
rainbowbunny - CONFIRMED
Nicole12 - anyday, after 6pm
Michelle - COMFIRMED
peg - CONFIRMED

vanocas

hi all, nice to c so many brides in oct tis yr! first time in tis thread. hope to mingle with all to xchange ideas, experience & anxieties... btw, any one here holding banquet at sheraton? any good & cheaper printer for wedg invites? thks

littlegirl

Nw must b very early to say gd evening, shld b gd morning. Jus nw acc hb go play MJ.......

Jeslyn:
Wat wedding shoe lace frm Heatwave? I also ordered my shoes frm Heatwave, done liao, bt I asked them to trsf to Lucky Plaza then easier 4 me to collect also.

Me gng to Zzzzzzzzzzzzz le.

Gd9!

bunnygirl

hi ah ger,

me too. i ordered my shoes frm heatwave. as mine is a buckle one, and when that time i collect my shoe, the lace was too short and i cld't buckle!!

mrsleong

serenity: for a moment i thought u MIA liaoz..... so worried manz.. glad that u are back at last....

Ladies... dun forget our Date on 19 August @ 7pm.. I will book the plc... so....
pls vote... Indoor Aircon or Outdoor Al Fresco?

littlegirl

Gd afternoon gals!

Anybody gng for the Travel Fair 2day?

My coll is there nw, she said has Chan Bros, SA, & Ananda is there again.

Btw, if any of u r drving dwn, there's no space to park @ Suntec, they drove ard for abt an hr, then went to Marina Sq & park.

i m wondering if I shld go leh. Very tempted to go. Decided to go Jpn if I m really gng, bt then again, dunno if I shld wait till Jan then the fare will b cheper though. Hw abt u gals?

littlegirl

Jeslyn:
Hmm, is there one design w/ laec? I dun rem leh. Bt nvm lah, maybe u take a pic then show me hw it looks like?

hw cme just collect the shoe lace? Nt pass them back the whole shoe meh?