(2004) Brides of year 2004

coolgirl76

Hi Lynn
I'm currently staying at EAST but my new home is at SK which mu hubby is staying..... Will move over after my customary ...

causeway pt too far liao
I done my mani and pedicure for my indoor PS at Raffles plc where I work. not very good lor...wont be doing pedi tis time cos cant even see my toe nails with the gowns....ke ke ke.... that time my photographer did take us nearby to take my causal wear and one EG pix.... Actually they told me all indoor but dun know why they change their mind....
Where u working?

sallen

hi amy,

your wrist flower nice lei...so u DIY yourself? u are so smart...

i intend to order 10pcs from purple romance..per pc cost me $4.50....i hav meet up wit them n tel them the colour and design i wan liao,so before i double comfirm order they promise to do one pc to show it to me first... once done i wil share wit u too...

sallen

hi amy,

weddin card hotel provide but weddin card insert need to print ourself..

i print at HI-tech near ang mo kio...normal printin,normal cream paper,i print 300pc cost me only $94.50..

they print veri fast...comfirm yesterday morin..tis moring 11.30am can collect liao...

pancake

hi unicorn,

The printing company agrees to print the cards during ghost month meh? I tot they also pantang one

hi spongme,

i haven't got the cards printed yet, but my FIL intend to finalize the wordings by this tues. They only need three days to print the cards. Probably can finish printing by 16/8/04

hi Mrs Leong,

May i ask why i can't have tea ceremony at my place first? is it because its not auspicious?

138264.gif

Santuarium, yup..we are from the same BS, PS taken and my photographer was Leon, he did a great job! How abt u? As for my reno, still long way to go, yet to plan..I'm actually getting a flat @ Pinnacle and will only be ready in 09..Btw, when's ur AD??

mrsleong

pancake: this is just some chinese custom. u have to serve tea to in laws first then to ur parents. but u can serve tea first at ur home to Ancestors or Deceased (like me.. i can serve my late fater tea first, then go my PIL's plc to serve them tea, then back to serve my mum tea). Before u head out for the house to go ur PIL's plc, ask ur parents to sit down, and pay respect (bow) then tell them u gng out. this process dun serve tea till u come back in ur tea dress/kua, which u will then serve tea to them and ur family members

beary4

I'm getting ROM in dec and tot of having a dinner buffet banquet the day after... but i've yet to confirmed anything cuz i'm still sourcing.... for caterer. Anyone can help?

piglets

Now we have so many newcomer. Like to check whether u all wanna join our outing..

Date: 20 August 2004
Time: 6.30pm
OR Cafe Cartel OR Pasta Mania

1)Jeslyn - [email protected]
2) Joelle - [email protected]
3) Brambles - [email protected]
4) Bao Bao - [email protected]
5) Shern - [email protected]
6) Ah Ger - [email protected]
7) Jean - [email protected]
8) MTDT - [email protected]
9) Ling - [email protected]
10) Bugz - [email protected]
11)Pleasance - [email protected]
12) Zann

shern

morning gals,

zann, i meant designing our own invitations, the hotel is providing 100% invitations so it's quite cheap even if with printing. kinda more meaningful....

jean, more comfortable hor with trackshoes...i'm
also worried that the weather will be too hot....plus the heavy gown....

hi grace, welcome....i've tried CJS a few times, very good food, not sure about their wedding package prices tho....

zann

Bao Bao,

that zann in number 12 is another friend you know si boh...i din put my name in b4...today got new "zann" liao...heehee

grace,

u thinking of bringing a whole group to a place for makan or u going to ask caterer go to a venue like maybe your house or someone's place and have buffet? and what yr budget

zann

shern,

good morning!!

100%! thats very good leh...but usually we don't need 100% hor...cos sometimes u give one card to a few people cos they belong same family..

so what u doing this wkend...u went to see fireworks boh? i going my gf's wedding later...

shern

hi hi zann, you can't make it for the outing huh...

yup,will not be needing so many invites, but having 100% is good if wanna exchange for other stuff heheheh....more value mah...

went to see the fireworks last week, was it yesterday...tot it's tdy...

need to alter a dress urgently for PS casual shots...know any really good ones cos material fragile....

ade75

Date : 20 August (Friday)
Time : "rubber" dunno yet
Venue : Bakers Inn @ Plaza Sin
Name :
1. Skylar
2. (The original) No-time
3. Adeline
4. Eternity
5. Autumn_ivy
6. Kokopooh
7. Gin
8. Lala
9. Annie
10. Pinkcoco

pancake

mrsleong, thanks for your advice.

i came across this website which tells us everything we need to know about the traditional wedding culture, including the guo da li gifts.
http://www.chinabridal.com/etiquette/grand.htm

an excerpt from the website....

" Pregnant women and people whose family member just passed away should not participate in the wedding ceremony, nor to touch the newlyweds' clothing or anything in the new home "

is it true?

138314.gif

littlegirl

Nt sure if anybody's ard...........

Just came back. Yest was cleaning my hse. Xiong man, so black leh........ bt nw all clean liao.

Think I can't stay @ new hse everytime. tat glutton hb of mine - 11+ @ night went to the kopitiam dwnstairs to buy some finger food to eat. Then me also greedy lah, eat w/ him.

If tis goes on, think my diet plan pao tang liao.

littlegirl

Jean

I stay in Blk 626, BaoBao 627. U in 630 or 631 right?

U dun hv my #? Tot Baobao sent us an email w/ all the necessary contacts?

Shern:
Ur hotel so gd - 100% cards? Mine - initially 70%, then I bargained for another 10% lor. better than nothing lah. Must standby incase some card printings spoilt then jia lat, no extra cards.

U need a gd seamstress? U wanna try mine? When is the latest u need? Tis lady is located @ Tg Pagar Complex, if it's near ur wkplace then lagi best. I did my ROM dress there, my mum did her evening wear & my sis did her CS there also. Reasonable price. If u still need the contact then let me know.

There's another one @ Funan area, I've nt done any alterations there b4, bt my ex-colls did. Think shld b nt 2 bad lah cos they always go to her too. When I was a bridesmaid for my ex-col early tis Feb, we also did it there.

littlegirl

So gals, we hv nt cfm the plc for our outing yet arh? Only either baker's Inn, Cafe Cartel or Pasta Mania?

Hmm........ tat day I watch the TV, u all saw tat wat Indonesian Restaurant @ Riverside @ Clarke Quay? It's $10++ for 6 dishes per preson leh. Dunno nice or nt leh. Bt tat time when I went to J&C w/ my gf, think I saw quite alot of ppl. nt sure if tats the one though.

hw abt - anybody wanna take Thai food? Then we can go to tis Yingthai Palace @ Purvis Street. Food is gd & reasonable price. We can order seral dishes & then share among everybody.

Hmm............ let me think of where else? Me nt a prof-eater leh.

Btw, hw many times hv u gals met up arh?

santuarium

Hi 1010,
really ur new nest is at there! did u take long to decide there? media create some attention to it so am curious.. is it abt same price range as 99 yr condo, 2rm?
u gotta wait for 4-5yrs for it to be ready.. then where wil u stay during tis period? rent or parents' pl?
my AD is 2310...
i havent seen my photos yet.. and vincent is my photographer.. he's okay.. we were fine w him, he made us laugh a lot dat day.

mrsleong

pancake: my AD is in oct. one of my Jiemeis happens to be pregnant n the other happens that her Grandparent in Law just passed away. to each its belief... u can have who u wan, as long as u are not supertitous or they are not supertitous too. but on the AD, the moment before u step into ur PIL's house, the pregnant woman/or CHONG HOROSCOPE, all have to excuse themselves into the room till u and ur FH finished praying the ancestor then they can come out when u are gng to have the PIL tea ceremony.

i hope u can understand wat i mean.

zann

shern,

u work raffles place or where? alteration oub centre Level 2 got one shop name "Alter Pro"

If you looking more for making dress kind of seamstress, know of one at people's park centre.

shern

hi hi, wah zann, you so early huh! this weekend quite wasted leh, keep waking up early...

ah ger, zann, would like to have the contacts for the seamstress....thanks...

anyway i took my dress to my BS for alteration cos when i asked her to recommend,she told me she can do it...so much easier cos her fitting room is big and can give better advise as i wasn't sure which dress to use for my PS....

ah ger, mine is Rasa, guess it's their way to entice couples to sign up with them lor...

think the restaurant at riverside is a good idea....good view leh...

polosportjg

Morning gals,

Amy, ur hand-made accessories very nice...quite like those I saw from shopping malls
138361.gif

Peg..it seems I am the only one who can't view ur PS photos...boo hoo...duno wats wrong

Seabreeze, so lucky u no kenan mosquite bit. me got some while during my outdoor shoot..

April, I just went to select my PS photos. I must say the photographer is very professional. He try his best to hide my 'extra' fats...
138362.gif

My BS say my album will only be ready 1 - 1.5 weeks before my AD....
138363.gif
is it the norm or ??

They also ask whether we mind to let them use our PS photos as 'model' samples for them to display at their BS? still considering leh...

Mayling, ur big album is ready for collection, after 1 mth of PS?

Sallen, u bring ur inserts from HI Tech, wat colour of inserts & words color u choose ?

jan81

Coco,,

K ,, no pro ,can view on 18/Aug..

Excite,,

yap, enjoy my PS on Fri.. is fun.

isv hot on fri,,so my Otdr start ard 5+..
it quite late, so we oni went to one location..
im v happy tat we can catch the sunset..

Luckily on my PS day, im alrite,, u noe on sat nite i gt sick n vomit,, so i went doctor ydae n i oso hv high fever at 38.7..

act im goin to gt my cards printed n cmf my table ydae, but too sick liao.. n will b goin down by 2day..

so u take care ,, dun be too stess..

Janjan

pancake

hi mrsleong,

Oh thanx for your advice. In that case, to ensure my future happiness, all the women who attend the tea ceremony must have their pregnancy test done first b4 they're allowed to walk into the house
board-post.cgi

Any of you going to Bali or Maldives for honeymoon. Heard from my friends that cheldi in Maldives is very romantic.... they have small little huts just right on top of the seafront. But my FH is worried about pirates

board-post.cgi

mrsleong

pancake: lol.... u so cute... kaoz.. ur FH worry abt pirates?? wahahah.. tell him lah.. before the pirates can rob him.. u already did... kekekekke

littlegirl

hi Shern

Morning to u & Jean as well. hw cme Zann wants the contacts u ask for her one leh?

Wait arh - I go & copy & paste frm another thread. I've placed it somewhere b4.

Jean I send to u ok? Baobao - u no need to send liao.

littlegirl

1) Chung Liu Trading, L2 @ Tg Pagar Plaza (Tel 62277866, Sharon). She did for my ROM dress - gd workmanship & best of all, VALUE FOR $$. Workmanship ranges frm $80 onwards. U hv to get the fabric urself, bt b4 u buy, best to show her the dress u would like so tat she can tell u exactly wat material; sometimes she may even hv sample of tat particular fabric, then she can cut abit & let u bring along to source for fabric.

Fabric is nt very expensive only, depending on wat kind. I got mine frm Arab Street, although u may alternatively search @ Chinatown also.

2) Mimsy Trading - 63398276, dunno her name though, only rem she's an old lady. It's @ City Hall, I can't rem the exact bldg name; only rem it's beside the back entrance of Funan Centre, facing the old fire station. Her pricing is also abt the same as the abv. Wkmanship also nt bad.

Tis shop is actually the tailor for Espirit, British India & Mango alteration. So you can trust her workmanship too.

littlegirl

Zann & Shern:
U 2 slept so late last night arh? I slept ard 3am also leh, came in bt nobody ard to hiew me, so I also closed off lor.

tealeaf

yest was my GDL. We got the GDL food stuff from Gin Thye. Cakes from Prima Deli (8 pieces in a box). Yest my place was like a market, so many relatives came, yak yak here & there. Me & HB went to collect all the stuff overselves. Then brought the washing basins, candles, etc back to HB's place. His place was super quiet. Only his parents & sister at home. A total contrast, thus HB suggested to go out for dinner in celebration. In the afternoon, we went for our wedding preps course too, did personality test & also talked about in-laws stuff, very informative.

Hi Skylar,
not that I don't want to meet u & Adeline lah, really tight on time, thus just fix with Cyndi directly (me & HB have not even selected our pictures

tealeaf

Hi Alexus,
saw your EG already. Very sexy leh; very high slit hor
I like the materials, is it thai silk or organza or ??

sallen

hi twinkle,

i use cream paper print wit golden wordin (not hot stampin)...$94.50(include GST) for 300pcs cheap lei,they also give me golden string for free....

a bit funny lei??ur PS on july,why your photo must wait til 1.1.5 wk before your AD then can collect???

they take 3 mth to touch up your photo,they goin to touch up wit (diamond)on your photo is it?..ha ha ha...they must be crazy liao....

if they really need to take 3mth to touch up photo,so my PS on 19 sep ,tat mean after my weddin liao,on DEC then can collect my photo la....

i think u better talk to them,everything they are damn slow,i told them before chinese "july"
i wan my WG n EG to be ready for 1st fittin,they say ok,sure no problem,so 6 more day to chinese "july" ,they stil not yet call me to go 1st fitti.... i cal them last thurs,chen tai not in,so i ask one of the lady are my WG ready,the answer is "not yet", but we wil cal u in tis 2day to arrange u for fittin...today the fourth day liao...stil not yet cal me ....

actually today are my PS day,because chen tai say they wan to rest for 1 day,ask me can postpone my PS day,i too good liao,let them rest lor...

alexus

hi lala,
hehe.. yup, it's organza

may i know how much is a box of cakes from prima deli? my mum wants to give cakes to relatives together with invitation cards... this is the same one that you will be distributing to relatives right? can buy the cakes from gin thye or not huh? what other foodstuff need to buy?

me juz finished my marriage prep course too.. yours still got how many sessions?

tealeaf

Hi Alexus,

I have 8 pieces of cakes in a box, a box is $7 (combination of cakes of pxs $0.80, $0.90 & $1). They give us 5% discount, so remember to ask them for it.

You can also buy cakes from Gin Thye but Prima Deli ones aare nicer and tastier lah
For what other stuff to get, u can ask the people in Gin Thye, they will tell u which dialects need what items.

I signed up with Touch Community Services, a total of 5 classes of about 2.5hrs per session.