(2004) Brides of year 2004

taurus

hi mist,

care to share where you go for your outdoor PS? my PS is next wk!! getting very excited now! I actually wanted to go sentosa but my photographer said is too common liao. he recommended changi jetty. this place is quite new, i think only started last year. not sure if this place is nice or not. perhaps will go and check it out this wkend.

btw, any idea if we can bring in our own camera and take few studio pics? are you with WL?

Cheers...

piglets

Soupie

Saw yr pixs liao.... Love yr WG... Hope my AD WG and EG will turn out to be like that....but got to wait till Oct than can see the outcome.. Me too getting my PS ablum too...

taurus

hi loveyly,

care to share your pics? i will be having my PS next wk!!! now headache where to go for outdoor

my add is [email protected]

many thanks!!!

soupie

sgn, ehhh.. for my BS.. to have artwork or mag style album.. it will cost a lumpsum of 500. but u need to have abt 50 photos to be able to create artwork so min. if wanna do artwork i have to top up another 20 pics ($50/15R).. but we really love our photos very much...so ended up choosing another 32 instead of 20 only :p we would be able to get back the negatives of the selected pics tho..

baobao, thanks
i'll keep my fingers crossed for u.. actually it was quite stressful doing MTM that i had wished that i was taking OTR instead :p.. when would u be going for ur fitting?

smallonion, sent liao..

piglets

Soupie

My first fitting will be 26 Oct... Yr WG give me a Divine feeling... And me oso MTM someting like divine WG....

My PS i took all their OTR photoshoot.... And im anxious on my PS album and it will be out soon... So anxious.

adidas

taurus
dat's my thought too, bringing my own camera to take outdoor shoots but i dont think can take studio pixs as WL is quite strict, i'm also with WL, mine PS is 2 wks later!

onee

Hi Taurus,

Thanks for your compliments. I didn't go to Bridal Shop. My wedding prep was ala-carte, I source for everything myself.

Got my 3 gowns from Ted Collection, PS by Marcus Mok (Picturebox), make-up by David Lim and floral from Arcade Florist. Let me know if you are keen in any contacts. Had very pleasant experience with all providers

soupie

baobao, i was only anxious to see my PS proofs.. but dun feel anxious to see my album tho..maybe still long way before i'll get to see it.. hehe

my WG got divine feel? it was my designer's idea to do the back that way...

inox

Hi Lala,

read from another thread tt u have a church wedding. How's your prep going along ? I going mad soon from all the prep work ie choosing songs, getting musicians etc ...

anyone else having a church wedding ?

gintonic

Adeline,
Aiyo you dun have to bargain for the GDL stuffs at the shop, I think the difference may be few bucks different. The lamps I bought is actually battery operated. I am a hokkien and HB is Hainanese but me oso dun know what are the stuffs that Hainan need...

Ralphine
Ummm I think the su tou thing is that if your mum have su tou when she gets married, she will have to do it for you before the AD. For me dun have to cos mum did not do that when she got married and so does my HB oso need not have to.

Skylar,
Wow you bought silk bedsheets must be XXX hor...In total I think I spent about $150+ on bedsheets, quilt and pillow protectors...

soupie

dearie/joelle, i've sent the link..

dearie, yeah.. had my PS a couple months earlier.. end of the yr is very hectic for BS since there are lots of weddings.. so we didn't want them to rush our photos so we took our PS earlier.. by the time i get my album would be around sep/oct.. so i can put aside and concentrate on other preps

tealeaf

Hi Gintonic,
I am also a Hokkien and HB a Hainanese too. I also have no idea what to buy for GDL, maybe just the standard stuff.

Hi Jen Sia,
I will be holding the holy matrimony in the hotel's function room, slightly before dinner commences. Me still searching for church coordinator, etc. Most prob will get my cell group members to help. Are you holding in church or hotel?

peeper

ralphine: i told Lala b4... tat i noe my husband thru internet... not exactly the IRC... ehehe... my mum noes abt it... tink dad don't ... by now, tink they wun bother anymore.. haha... =P

got whole day training today.. sigh

octbride_78

hi onee,

My photographer is Marcus as well. He always fly ard, hard to get him actually.

By the way you look stunning
. Is your cheong sum from ted wu is MTM or off the rack?

dabee

hi no time:
your details: no-time - 18 Sept - Roxy - Thomson Wedding - 3 Jun - 5 Jun - Jalan Rumah Tinggi (behind Ikea). your wedding date is 18 sept?!!! aiya should have chose 25thsept then same weekend as me, we can share the marquee cost.
so ur BS is thomson weddin? how u end up with them? they no good meh? they looks ok from their shop. u stay near ikea there why chose roxy so far away from ur place? sorry so many qns i just wonder...... i going to collect my wedding cards these two days then send to print. then will hv food tasting n decision on the flower next mth. would u be showing slides during ur diner?
are u excited? i would hv 6 bridesmaid but i still duno how many bros my hubby getting. he said two which i think is too few. my parents said dun need GDL, going to tell my MIL n see what she says. no time i think u must tell MUA if u wan to use fresh flowers on ur hair n see if she can get for u if not then u go buy yourself. actually i told them i wan to use fresh flowers on my photoshoot but they forget to prepare for me.
my two dogs are maltese n eng cocker spaniel. they are my babies. i would love to see them in my photos. just that did not manage to take alots with them
. i think quite few leh. very difficult to make the two of them stay still.

gin tonic: can dun su tou, then i would skip that as well. maybe just ask my parents to hold my veil over my head to take pic.

anyone knows what are the lamps for? i might wan to skip that.

ade75

Hi Skylar,

Me opposite of you. Me teochew while HB is Hokkien.

Hi raphine,

My parents n PIL had met liao. Dad asked for 8 tables of ang bao $$ ... wa ... he think us damn rich ... so angry with him ......he told my PIL no need to buy tis n tat .... however when back home .... he said ALL must buy, including tam pui, toothbrush, pillows, bolster, toothbrush , bath tub etc etc etc ... wa liao....
Since me and HB is paying FULL for all wedding stuffs, can I just ignore and buy the standard stuffs??

So sad .... I've no si dian jing cos me and HB short of cash now ..... cos paying FULL and ALL for wedding stuffs.

U gals no such problems rite?

I asked PIL need to do 'ah chuang' ... but no one noe wat is tat and hence no need to ah chuang????
*sight*

I wanted the 'su tou' thing and had bought the stuffs liao ... but PIL and HB dun wan to do it leh .... ai ....

Same here ... my PIL do not have any altar at home ... duno where to put the candles????
In fact they said no need cnadles ... just gv ang bao????

Same as u and no time, me n HB knew each other fm IRC ... no one noes leh .... hahahahahaha

dabee

jen sia:
which printer at kallang pudding did ur MIL went? there is few leh. pls find the contacts. thanks. i thinking of going this cos is nearer to my place than T dragon. i not having church wedding though i would love to have one.

ralphine

Adeline:

For my case, before their meeting up, we kinda know what they are asking for. My parents are asking for 10 tables from my PIL (thats 12x10), and then the other 7 tables will be paid by my parents.. I think thats the more siong part!

lala: my hubby is a hainanese too! HAHA.. who else has a hainanese hubby???

hmm... my parents dun really know that we met thro irc.. they knew we met before i went to Perth for my studies.. haha.. but i guess its fine these days :p

tealeaf

Hi Adeline,
My mum requested for 11 tables, thus my HB will have to fork out the 11 tables ang bao loh. HB said this is a must since my parents are not taking "ping jing". No choice loh.

Regent hotel has tied in with only one printer. So we will be taking that. The charges are $100 for 200 pieces (the normal paper). I am not fussy about the invitation cards thus wanna the cheapest. Already spent too much on other stuff ... and since HB paid the bulk, don't wanna stress him .... broke liao ...

dabee

hi adeline:
dun be sad. actually my situation is the same as u leh. me n hubby would be paying for every single thing for our wedding. i do not wan to ask my parents for money. n he also do not wan to owe his parents money (though they might not have any money to help us. they are so old liao have already given all their savings to the rest of the eldest slidlings, none left for us. they cannot help us for our house renov too and my in laws are staying with us!!!) my situation is worse than you liao.
aiya but what to do....just too bad. me n hubby would rather owe the bank money than to owe his sis. though his only sis is richest n the nicest. she also help us to take care of our in laws whereas the rest (3 elder bros) only come and eat meals without giving my in laws any allowances. saying that they have no money not even $50. see.... there are many kinda of people ard. adeline: talk to your parents especailly ur dad. let him know that u both are short of cash liao, still hv the biggest bill (wedding diner) have not settle yet. i think those small small things he asked like towels, tam pui, toothbrushes, do for him loh they re not very ex. try to nego with him the 8 tables. my parents also ask for 8 tbles. so by tradition, my hubby should pay for these 8 tbls n my parents keep the hongbaos $ which are from their relatives. but i told my dad we have not enough $$, so he said ok loh he give us the hongbao $$ but dun guarantee that those hongbaos from relatives can cover the 8 tbls $$. i am grateful liao.

and we also do not know if my In laws will give us their hongbao $$ or not. my hubby does not wan to ask them. he said they so old liao, if they wan to keep the hongbao $$ let them be. he dun wan to be like his bros agrue with this with this parents. sigh. see.... i also sad.....
i already predicted all these. since now can change plan liao just go ahead loh. worst come to worst, owe bank $$. have baby later......
u talk to ur parents nicely. tell him how u feel. i dun think they would wan u to be in diff position. talk n be cool about what they request. who ask them to be our parents, right?

i would just skip the lamps.

dabee

hi ralphine n lala:
so both ur parents asking for 10 to 11 tbls. i do feel bad now.... lala's mom good idea. maybe i should just give my parents the 8 tbls' hongbaos since they did not ask for pian jin too.

ralphine

Dabee
yeah, my parents not asking for any pin jin from my in laws. So the 10 tables are so call the pin jin. As my parents have lots of relatives and friends, so they will top up another 7 tables that they wanted. But my dad said he will throw back the ang pao into the banquet. They said relatives don't usually give much, so they might have to top up more. I have 36 tables and i have headache on who to invite.

My scenario:
My parents 17 tables (10 given by my hubby)
My PILs, my hubby and myself share another 17 tables! then 2 VIP tables for close relatives.

Thank goodness my PILs do not have much to invite, coz my FIL is not in good terms with his elder sister's family, so i reckon i am not serving them tea during tea ceremony liao. Then some of the relatives in Hainan island.. My PILs in all only 3 tables compared to my parents! *FAINT*

My hubby and I have to share among the remaining.. and colleagues are the one that is the most headache! *sigh*

dabee

hi ralphine:
so ur dad will throw back the hongbaos for the 10 tbls ur hubby gives him? as well as the for 7 tbls. so ur hubby only top up for the 10tbls banquet $$. ur dad pays for his 7 tbls but give ur hubby the hongbao $$ collected from relatives?

ralphine

Dabee: thats what he said, but i'm not sure also. He said he will help. He said he will also spilt the wine cost too... but we do have other expenditure also.. *headache*

tealeaf

Ralphine and Dabee,
My mom also said if we really have no $$, can forget about giving her the ang bao $$. Just pay off the banquet as priority. However, HB said will def have to pay her, maybe broken down in 2 to 3 payments. HB & I have decided to take all ang baos and based on the amount per table, give the amount of 11 tables to my mum.

seabreeze

think if outdoor should be okie ... just tat in door cannot .... cos my fren did those wedding MTV .. only can film outdoor one

Hi Gin,
Yap, i spent about $140 for a set of silk bedsheet lor hehehee... together with all the protector, quilt etc.... damage done at Aussino was about $500!! Sigh....

Hi Adeline,
actually the Si Dian Jing is from your MIL one, u all dun have to buy urself lah, unless of coz ur MIL never give u lor... but watever Si Dian Jing that she gives u, when u wear it rite? People will see & thus the glamour aka "face" is given back to ur MIL ones, so like the more they give u, the more people will think waaahh... her MIL not bad ah, very generous... that kinda thing lor, & ur own parents will also give u Si Dian Jing one, that is out of their own token one....

like my mom just bought me last weekend to buy aLong Feng Zhuo, those thick & heavy necklace & a FLong Feng Pai leh.., damage was around $3K, feel so bad that my mom is sspending so much on me lor.....
112466.gif

so ur opposite of me ah? heheeh.... my MIL also like dunno much too, everything also say dun need lor, but my mom knows alot!!! So she is not gonna skip those necessity steps! heheehe.... thank god that I have my mom to help!

Wa... so many posting to read up man!!!
Halo all pretties!!!
112467.gif

As for all the queries here ah... bascially these are some things which i do know...

1. AN CHUANG - is for the couple's bed lor...
like for all auspicous things esp. future kids...

THINGS NEEDED
Small Double Xi Plate
2 Longans
2 Red Dates
Lotus Seeds
Bai3 He2
2 Red Packets (Any auspicious amt will do)
4 Yan2 Ji2 (to place each at 4 corners of bed under mattress)

WHAT TO DO:
1) If groom's parents an1, then couple give ang pow to each of them.
2) If couple an1, no need ang pow for anybody.
3) After an chuang, nobody supposed to enter the master bedroom from then onwards, only couple allowed. But no sleeping on the bed.
4) Xi plate with longans, etc leave on bed for 12 days.
5) Boil water with longans, etc and drink after 12 days. If fall short of 12 days, leave plate aside and boil with water once 12 days is up after customary.
6) 2 ang pows keep, don't use money inside.
7) Yan2 Ji2 don't throw, leave them there forever.

2. SU TONG - is to represent that the bride is old enough to cut away from her parents string & lead a life of her own as an adult... this is usually done by either ur mom or some elderly who knows of those auspicious verbs while combing ur hair, (just give ang pow to the person as a token)

as for the LONG FENG ZU, even if there is no altar at home, its ok one, coz that candles is to pray the "Tian Gong" aka Heaven/Sky, so just have a normal table laid out with simple offerings of tea & fruits & the candles will do, coz Tian Gong is the biggest of all gods, so no altars also nevermind as you are not praying to any particular god lor....

BEDSIDE LAMPS - actually this is a must leh! its to light up your lovers bed so that it will bring all things auspicious & nothing bad in the future to come, so lighting up the lights will bring out light in the future & not dark dark mah,... heheeh... actually the lamps also not very X lah, the lamps must light until it goes out by itself leh.....

thats is about all that i know, any more thing, I can go consult my mom for more accurate advice ya! hahahaa....
112468.gif

ade75

Ok gals ... now tat I know I'm not the only one short of cash $$$.
Last nite, my mum told me my dad now wants 10 ang bao table $$ ... if the tables excess 10, he will pay us back ang bao $$ for the 11 or 12th table.... if we wans the $$.
On top, he wans pin jing fm my HB, 2 ang baos for my mum for bringing me up ....

Skylar,

My parents and PIL is not forking out a single cent including ang bao for helpers and jewellry they gv when during AD. The $$ is more HB n me.

Think we will hv to fork out >$20k for wedding.

Veri dammn poor hor.

kokopooh

Hi adeline,

Don't be sad....me too oso in the same situation.. my parent is asking for 10 tables & ping jin..... we r oso paying everything ourself...worse still we just got our resale flat & now busy with the reno stuff coz we only have 1 mth for reno....now we r oso broke liao...

but i guess we guys shld learn to enjoy every process of the wedding prep & hve fun...

pls advise wat r the standard things to buy for GDL, I've no idea what to buy as my HB is guang xi & i myself is shanghainese...

cheers..

fleurg07

Yo Carole... thanks huh.... u have two very satisified customers...kekekek make me want to go do my nails now nownow.....but now i trying to let them breathe... a rare thing hahahahha

Hmmmm noticed alot of WL brides hor.... ask u all ah... issit the package gives alot of pics...or do u all have a minimum and pay alot for the rest.... saw my hubby;s cousin wedding..... i think she had about 40 pages of magazine styled pictures.... total about 80 pics?

tealeaf

I have tried food from a few caterers but find the one from Florence Catering rather good. However, still have not decided yet. If you people have more suggestions, please let me know. Thanks !!