(2004) Brides of year 2004

tigerlily

Hey Doll,

I lurve the Ritz! But mebbe mine cannot cos they have some other booking that date.

You should try and get your date early early, 'cos they onee haf one ballroom.... ask to speak to the co-ordinator Lillian, she's nice!

poox

hi wendy

as far as i know, churches only hold weddings for their church members. however, u can try chjmes.

a&w

Well I am a member at the True Grace Presbytarian Church...was baptised there so I can definitely marry there. As for the legal stuff, I'll go check out the ROM website and all.

Well since my GW will be made by my aunt, I'll have to look for a photographer, make-up person all on my own lor. Don't know if the photographers charge more when I don't go with any bridal package. But I'd really like to keep my gown thats why I didn't refuse my aunt's offer. I told Amos that I'd wear my WG to sleep if I could! Hahahahah...

Ivory, like I mentioned previously, all of you are very slim lah..hahaha..I'm bigger than that. Over here I wear a size 10. I'm about 1.67cm. So I'm just worried that I can't fit it any gowns in S'pore, then I can't see what style I really like. Guess I'll just continue shopping over here. Heheh..over here the bridal stores order bigger sizes for ppl to try. So good for me. But no matter what, I guess I'll just wait till I get back and see what happens. Would really like to go shopping for gowns with my mom. A mother and daughter thing.

The gowns I find here in North America are very different compared to S'pore. Not sure if you guys have made any comparison. I've found quite a few that I like and gowns here so SO MUCH CHEAPER! You can basically buy a brand new gown at about $1200Canadian. Its YOURS to keep!But so far, I haven't found one that says "This is the one" to me yet. So I'll keep searching.

Oh my..I love the Ritz too! Its a pity we don't have that many people to invite otherwise we'll definitely want the dinner at the Ritz. For those lucky gals who get to have their reception there, do enjoy the beautiful suite and bathroom ;)

Anyway, Amos and I have decided to book Conrad. 100% sure. We've already asked his dad to go down and meet with the coordinator. Kiasu lah, can't help it, we really want it on the 30th! So his dad will probably go negotiate with Jennifer today.

ivory

Hi Wendy

hmm... if u decide u wan to engage photgraphers n make-up artist, do lemme noe, i'll give u my frens contact and u can chk with them... initially i wanted to DIY too... my bf worry too busy and we dun have time to do all the coordination..

how much does ur aunt charge if i were to ask her to help tailor mine? got any samples to see.. if she's in tailoring biz..

oh geezz... my size u say i slim... anybody out there wan to make me more happy?

poox

Hi Wendy

In that case shouldn't be a problem
Guess just need to inform your church.

u're so lucky to have your gown aunt tailor-made by your aunt. i'm sure she'll do a good job.

tigerlily

Hey Doll,

Am going to see SIL next wk with my FH - to show him the gown I like - and also he can see if he's ok with the quote...heh heh...

Am also quite into the idea of wearing a Kwa - but got no time to wear it actually! Unless I can have the tea ceremony a different day, or else cannot keep change change gown, rite?
House of Ettiquette ex or not ha?

besse

Hi Wendy..

wah so good, you can 100% confirm on your banquet venue.. i wish i can mk that kinda decision..

no lar, you nt big, cos you tall tall smore.. hm.. wish i am tall tall.. i not slim slim oso.. bf call me pudgy.. hehe.. but lucky he growing in prop to me.. ;)

If you wan makeup artist's contact, i hv a fren who can do that.. she is in the bridal / mkup industry in HK, but after marrying to Sg, and after giving birth, no time to work Fulltime again..

Doll, Ivory,

me now oso same headache as you gals.. from 40 tables.. now balloon up to 55.. v sian.. i actually wanted Conrad too. but unfortunately, I have exceeded the max no. of tables.. sigh.. But just now i call my dear dear, and he tentatively agreed to "snatch" fullerton ;) tonite gonna work on spreadsheet... happy..

Ivory, 50 tables a lot leh.. i did my sums, and think that most relatives will nt give us as much to cover the cost. so budgeted big loss

besse

Tigerlily..

me going down Sil on Saturday.. cos bf's fren and his bride to be is haing their 2nd fitting.. so he drag me along to Kaypo and look see..

Did that with Irene creation. din like the boutique at all.. dunno why, but no feel, and find them quite taiwanese.. the photographer recommended digital style picts and quoted $6300 *faint... even the compass photographers oso not so ex!!

a&w

Hello gals

Yah lah, you are all very slim. Everytime I go back to S'pore, I feel like a giant you know. So don't worry, you all don't have to go on any diet and will still look good I'm very sure!

Anyway, yeah if anyone has any information and contact of make-up artist, do let me know. That way at least I have options when I get back.

Ivory
You are also designing your own accessories right? Where do you get it done? My aunt lives in Jakarta, my wedding gown will probably be her 2nd attempt (first one was her own daughter's). She normally does evening gowns, and clothes. I can ask her for you ,think she is semi-retired liao, but you'll have to fly to Jakarta if you don't mind. I'll call my mom tonight and ask her to ask my aunt ok.

Besse
actually you don't really have to be so worried cos there are many hotels with ballrooms that can accomodate the size you need. Or do you have your mind set only on Fullerton? Shangri-la, The Regent, Inter-continental?? These are all very nice too. AND OF COURSE...THE RITZ!!! You can make it with the number of ppl you have!!

Right now we've made a tentative booking with Conrad, and we haven't even come up with a guest list yet! HEeheh..hero hor. But well we are just going to work within the limit, shouldn't have more than 300 ppl to invite.

Anybody going to design their own shoes?My friend custom made her strappy heels for her wedding at this place called the Leapin Lizard. Cost her $60. Not bad...think maybe I also want to design my own cos I need a pretty flat shoe if I don't want to be taller than Amos

Poox
I e-mailed the ROM and apparently I just have to give them my pastor's full name and stuff to see if she's licensed. Keeping my fingers crossed x now.

Have a question to ask you gals. What do ladies wear for the ROM? When I browsed thru some bridal sites, they have packages just for ROM gown. Do we need to dress up for ROM? I was thinking if I really have to go thru ROM, Amos and I will probably just go in shorts and t-shirts. AHhaha.

Heheh...think Amos give up posting liao. We are getting a little too technical for him.Hahahha..but he still read thru the postings.

Have a great day you guys!

ivory

Tigerlily

when are u going down to SIL? can i tag along? my bf very busy so i think i go and see see look look myself 1st lor...

Besse

u going cos u haven't decide on any shop yet? wat time u going? if in the afternoon can i tag along too? since u goin there to kaypo, can i join in the kaypo?

50 tables im very concern too... abt wat the guest will gif... my fren ever receive $10 from each guest for almost a table.. nearly fainted man... but we cannot say anyhow eliminate anybody from the list though i like to, my bf say not nice

Wendy

oh.. im doing them myself
sometimes i do make for frens for their wedding or dinner

wah... Jakarta a bit far leh... dun think i can fly down to mit up with ur aunt
thanx anyway...

For ROM, its up to individual lah... i think try not to wear shorts lah, jeans n t-shirt shd b fine unless they have dress code.. me shd b buying a plain dress for the day, or if i manage to take any bridal package before the day, will try to ask the shop to throw in 1 ROM dress as well lor

haha... ur poor Amos.. think he shd b happy that everyone is helping everyone here

cyn

besse & doll
it's always easier to add no. of tables then reducing. stil 1 more yr to go.. who know maybe within this period, you might know more ppl then your guest list might expand again.

besse
mine is on 7th jan... banquet & bridal all booked liao lor... planning to mauritius or maldives if i've the Vitamin M lor... wat abt you? haven finalise your date yet?

wow A&W, so happy for you.. so many ppl are helping you. envy man. wendy, i'm also think i need a flat shoe. my FH not tat tall lah, wont want to be the taller one in all photos. =P

happy weekend besse

Hi Hi Ivory

i will be at sil at abt 11am, cos my fren doing her 2nd fitting. you can pop down if you are free.. me didn't book anything yet.. but most likely going for bridal veil, cos i like the simple but elegant cut and i find the package v value for $$.. BV will be closed till 15th Feb.. I will be going down 2nd time after they open to try on the gowns before i sign.. meantime, will also meet up with some photogrphers to decide on those that i want.

Cyn
Hello.. Happy CNY.. howdy?? yeah, I think I will commit to min no. of tables 1st.. and use the max as the cap to my no. of guests.

My dates will be between 3 jan and 18 jan.. most places fully booked on 3 Jan.. so most likely going for 18 Jan. will be finalising these two weeks... so, where did u book your banquet and Bridal??

wah. mauritius or maldives.. yummy, nice.. but hor.. i don think i will go there.. cos i go to these exotic island, bf will surely abandon me on shore and go his diving.. hehe.. so muz bar him.. I thinking of touring France- F&E.. or maybe Turkey.. see how..

lin

do you know any new hdb rule came out? i thought that if we live near parents, we get subsidised. But then, when we sell the flat next time, we have to pay the $40 000 grant to the govt. But i heard from someone, that now we don't need to pay back if we sell. Sure a not?

have you girls tried continental delight catering? i was thinking of having it after my religious solemnization.

besides, Prima Deli and Angie the Choice, know any places where they can make a real wedding cake with exotic decorations like the cake decorated with real flowers?

If i wear a kua with my WG veil for my religious solemnization, do you think its weird? coz, i tot it's like out of the blue coordination. hahaha. i need to be cover up for my religious solemnization. can't show off too much skin... hehhe. Any ideas girls?
err...binbin, where r u? you very good with ideas
hehhehe....

A&W,
don't wear t-shirt and shorts to ROM lah... alamak... Because, the bride & groom dress nicely there
The bride at least wear tea dress and the groom in long-sleeves shirt and pants.

pebbles

Have not being making postings cos no time to log in from work now....but so happy to see more 04 brides coming to this thread..

Welcome to all the new brides..

Ivory, saw your postings regarding the bridal packages, like binbin advise, the ones u r looking at are the high end ones...such as SIL, Ted Wu and their package range around 3.5 above without any photographry package while as if u go for the lower end ones like Whitelink, Bridal Zone and Milan, their package is also around 3.5k to 5k but their packages includes photographery and lots more things like rom dresses, tea dress etc, both myself and Leafy is with bridal zone and i think im quite pleased with their service..
hope it hopes..!!!

Doll,
hey how's your hotel searchng coming along ah?? me also still stuck with the hotel research, can't decide which hotel i want ah cos like Besse if i take a higher end hotel will have to be prepared for bigger losses and am asking myself if it's worth suffering such large loses....*sigh*

BinBin,
how are u??? found your rom shoes???so i guess u should be more or less done with your rom prep already rite....??? me start counting down for u lah , another half more month to go hor...excited??? going to be promoted to MRS liao...

oh to all the new brides, please send me yr details at [email protected]

lin

hi pebbles,
hmm...maybe can give you a suggestion. Because this is what i did. i had 2 separate wedding cards. Those guests that i think give me big angpow and close friends or relatives, i invite them to both lunch reception and dinner banquet. So, they will have 2 wedding cards. But those guests that i think give me small angpow and not close relatives or friends, i only invite them to lunch reception.

doremon

I am back again. Sorry for MIA for so long. Too busy with work and studies. Ooops...before i forget.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">GONG XI FA CAI! GONG XI FA CAI!</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Welcome to all new comers</FONT>

Hmm...seem like the discussion have been mainly on wedding dinner and bridal package.

Ivory, I agreed with what Pebbles mentioned. Tew Wud, SIL are high end boutiques so get prepared to fork out more $$$. As for white link etc, their packages are in the mid range, and services not bad. Can consider too. Make appt and go down to try their gowns. Another not bad boutique is Doreen Chee Le Galleria at Tanjong Pagar. Price start from $4k onwards. Happy bridal shopping!

Hi Lin, u may want to try this caterer: Four seasons. My company once used them for our departmental outing and all of us commented the food is good. Another is Jack's Place caterer. Comments from friends also good. Check it out!

Let me do a quick update on my side first. I am now sourcing for caterers for my house warming on the 22nd Feb. So anyone any recommendations other than the ones i mentioned to Lin?

ivory

Lin

how about a custom made headdress or shawl or veil to drap over instead? like a beautiul arabian princess? can cover up ur face below the nose if u wanna more mysterious feeling
but u wear kua will show a lot of skin meh... *blur*

hi hi pebbles n doremon

yeap, i noe SIL, Ted Wu quite high end, but i would just like to go n have a look at all.. see watz the difference
so far oni been to Bridal Zone and my bf keep telling me all the shops are the same, he oni will let those good service oriented shop do.. but i told him, ya gd service but the final pdts are oni so so (the gowns n photography) so y spend this type of $$ on things we know wun b nice just bcos the ppl are nice?

so now tentatively we tinking of going to have a look at SanMike Bridal, Dang Bridal and Popular Honeymoon... dunno where else to go.. mayb try Milan too

pebbles

wat details u need? i haven't set any dates for ROM n customary, venue not set.. my email [email protected]

lin

hi doremon,
ok. thanx. me will check it out. i actually never heard of those caterers you mentioned. will check out the price

hi ivory,
no, i'm wearing kua so won't show off too much skin
but i don't know what veil to match with the kua. wouldn't want those red veil, you know like those traditional chinese brides.

a&w

Been reading all your postings and I'm really wondering what a kua is?? What is it? A type of outfit or something?

Ivory,
You said you make the accesories yourself. Cool! What type of materials do you use and what have you been made before?

So ladies, will everyone of you be going off for a romantic honeymoon right after the wedding? Amos and I would really like to but guess its too soon to plan for that.

binbin

hi everyone!!!

ivory, i think lin meant that she need to cover up that's why she is looking for something else to wear on top of the kua.....
as for the shops above, yah no harm giving a try loh coz though they are quite ex they have nice designs ....
well, since u are at it, you can also try Divine Couture, at Mandarin Hotel shopping arcade. they have nice gowns.....me waiting until CNY over will be signing up with them....
their prices start i think from $4588 with photography.

A&amp;W (wendy),
kua is a traditional chinese piece of costume for weddings, it's red in colour and consists of a long sleeve blouse and long skirt. the entire piece is beautifully embroidered, most of the times with dragons and phoenixes, which are meant to symbolise the couple in properity and happiness etc...nowadays some of us chinese will wear it either during tea ceremony, or as a 2nd/3rd march in costume.....or both...
hope it helps....hehhehee.....

hey, forgot to welcome you as a fellow conrad bride-to-be...
i have signed up with conrad....think we have the same feelings abt the place...
we have a mailing list in which the new brides feedback to each other abt comments we heard, through email. wanna join us? can gimme email addy.....hehheee......

oh btw, abt ur question on whether u can sign all papers in church, not sure if anyone had answered u me beri blur....hehhehe.....
well, yes you can sign all your papers in church loh, and not need to go to the registry except to collect the cert for signing in church. so how's the query on whether your pastor is certified? dun worry lah, most likely can one.......keep us updated.

well, for makeup artists, u can try Sandy (HP 90055210) or Daniel Than (HP96865343). and yes photographers usually have different for walk in customers compared to if you sign up with the bridal shop they work with. not that they jack up the price, but just that their packages for the bridal shops will be specially tailored, and will usually not be similar to those offered to walk in customers.....but sometime u may find that you may prefer the walk in package coz u may get more things though u pay more...

we know abt leapin lizard, it's a shop in tanjaong pagar international plaza. actually wanted to go there try, until my friend told me their materials are not beri good and "disintegrate" after a few uses.....dunno how true leh....hehhehe.......

hehhehee abt the ROM dress code, it is stated in the registry website that sandals and shorts/bermudas are not allowed lah...hehhehe.....but u are going to church right? so u shld be asking ur church for any dress codes? for me, the church said anything, as long as not revealing.......but can u imagine walking down the aisle in bermudas? hehhehee....so cute.....

Doll, pebbles,
yah my prep mostly done lah.....just one major thing is i have not tried my aunt's suggestion on how to remove the static on my skirt....told u girls abt it right? qute worried loh coz the skirt sticks to thighs. my aunt has suggested using "SoftLan" fabric softener, she says it works....have not tried that yet.........cross my fingers.......:p
i bought my ROM shoes from URS $43.90....hehehheee......

Wah doll, ur FH beri sweet huh? so u taking ritz ah? heard it's beri beri ex......if it's ur dream venue then very happy for you.....
all the best in sourcing.....

leafy

<FONT COLOR="red"><FONT SIZE="+2">HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!!! </FONT></FONT>

*not too late bah?*

Have not been logging in...
MIA so long...can hardly catch up with the conversation...what's the topic now?

<FONT COLOR="purple">hi icecoco,</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="blue"><FONT SIZE="-2">do you know any new hdb rule came out? i thought that if we live near parents, we get subsidised. But then, when we sell the flat next time, we have to pay the $40 000 grant to the govt. But i heard from someone, that now we don't need to pay back if we sell. Sure a not? </FONT></FONT>

Current rule: no need to pay back, but if u take the grant, must stay a longer period before u can sell the flat. However, grant can only be enjoyed once.

<FONT COLOR="blue"><FONT SIZE="-2">no, i'm wearing kua so won't show off too much skin but i don't know what veil to match with the kua. wouldn't want those red veil, you know like those traditional chinese brides. </FONT></FONT>

If i were u, I'll stick to red color, but design n fabric to follow the norm of those white veil for WG.

binbin

wah so many mesgs have to split into 2 postings hehhehee.....

Besse...honeymoon destination ah....hmmm....we were thinking of switz leh......see how first.... u leh?

Lin, hehehhhe why u say i got good ideas...tell u not true liao lah, it's an illusion....:p anyway, what Ivory suggested abt the arabian princess is good leh, it will sure catch attention and u will look beautiful....
i was actually thinking of asking u to wear ur own traditional muslim costume for solemnization. i suppose that is quite conservative right? or u are set on wearing kua coz u wish to please ur IL's huh? that very sweet of you...
anyway, with kua, really can't think of anything to match as head dress except the traditional one..... wearing a white veil will be quite funnie loh....quite mismatch leh.....will oni go nice with a wedding gown.... why not u post in the Doreen Chee's thread and ask for her opinion? she is beri nice and talented..........sollie can't really help you here....:p

me not sure of the $40K thing. btw the rebate is only application to resale flats......new flats no such rebate even if u stay near parents.... for balloting flats, you get to pay 10% instead of 20% if u choose near parents.... but me neber heard of needing to pay back $40K to government. All i know is that, Whenever you sell a flat and buy ANOTHER HDB flat, you need to pay a percentage of you selling price to government as taxes...perhaps they are referring to that?

CDC catering is quite good..
we use them most of the time for company functions....their food quite yummy. another yummy food caterer is Select Catering and Elsie's Kitchen......
slurp slurp.....

doremon, how abt these two caterers i just mentioned? maybe u can try and ask comments from ur friends see they got try them b4?

Lin, as for ur questions abt real wedding cakes, remembered that i saw some contacts in a bridal mag recently.....go home check oredi then tell u......:eek: but why u want real wedding cakes huh? actually cannot see the difference from the guests tables one leh......though i must admit they look real good up close....hhehehheee.....very sugary, sweet and delicious.......but think will be quite ex....anyway, will get u the shops u can go check....

pebbles, you say my ROM 1/2 mth away ah? where got??? *scratch head*..... it's more than a month away leh.......
sigh.....really getting nervous....me beri silly, actually asked my FH whether can postponed our ROM to next yr....hhehehhee......super worried leh....

ivory

hi Wendy

hee... i used Swarovski crystals n pearls do all my stuff.. bracelets, necklaces, earrings.. some quite simple stuff lor, dun have any photos so can't show u
as i do chinese cultural dance, i sometimes help the dancers to make head dress too

hi binbin

wah... u really answered everyone's posting, huh? guess i will try and pop by Divine as well

hi Lin,

mayb u go and search for designs? if not too complicated i do for u??

icechocolate

hi binbin,
don't worrylah. you've been a great help!
okie..me wait for your cake contacts. Oh, i'm having a real wedding cake because that will be part as my gifts during Guo Da li. Moreover, coz, my wedding falls on my birthday so, it's a wedding cake cum birthday cake
Just thinking, should i cut the cake during lunch reception after religious solemnization or during dinner banquet? *faint..... This is what happens when you have 2 different wedding invitation cards....

you haven't book bridal studio yet har? i give you some suggestion. Plan first what you want to wear on your day so it'll be easier... unlike me, my FH just go book the package because he thinks it's comprehensive and now i have to suit whatever i have accordingly. if i haven't book the bridal package, i might go with you to divine couture.
But i already signed up with GHA last year.

Actually, we don't have a costume for muslim solemnization. Can wear anything as long as not revealing. But most muslims here in singapore &amp; malaysia, they wear their traditional race costumes. Those muslims in america &amp; europe continent, they wear the normal white WG which is not revealing.

I have 1 MTM WG, 1 MTM EG, 1 kua. My WG design confirm oredi, it's actually off-shoulder transparent long sleeves. A bit sexy. heheh
I thought of wearing that during Tea ceremony. So, i thought i shall make use of the kua for the solemnization instead when my daddy marry me off. hmm...the arabian headdress, i don't know how to match it with the kua. hehehh
muslim solemnization not necessary to cover face or hair totally. But i want to cover hair and face. so after FH slip ring onto my finger, he lift up the veil and can kiss me
heheh
I thought of wearing WG, but mom said too westernized. she said i not living in europe. she suggested wearing kua to keep the asian culture for religious solemnization. hmm... yah, me posted at doreen's thread for some advise regarding headdress.

now, i'm thinking, after my FH Tea ceremony, when i go home to my place, what shall i wear?

okie.. thanx for the info on the flat.
me still thinking whether to get resale or buy new flats.

good...so you've tried CDC.
okie. now, i think i shall just compare prices btwn the prices of CDC, Four seasons and select catering.

binbin...don't postpone. normallah, to be nervous. who is your JP? Did you get that guy, who was interviewed in the Straits Times?

hi leafy,
you mean the kua fabric use those soft fabric like WG?

hi Ivory,
heheh..thanx!i will keep you as an option. when i decide what to wear and at least i've some idea.... i'll keep you updated.

pp

hi everybody...
very very new here.....
my wedding will be on the 3rd jan 04
only scoutting for a hotel banquet now!! :p
desperately need guidance on where and how to start!!! thinking of hyatt..but heard that the food there is not so good!?? issit har!?!?

besse

Wah.. after so weekend not logging in.. so many postings! Happy that this thread so alive..

I come in to complain.. so much has changed just over the weekend. *sulk.. FMIL changed dates again.. this time moving to end of this year.. *grumble.. now gotta go through contacting the hotels again... and wonder if you gals will kick me out of this thread since me not a 2004 bride oledy ..*sulk

Ivory

I went SIL on Sat morning as mentioned.. met with Miah, and tried on few gowns.. now i have a good feel of what my dream gown will be like... will be duchess satin, crystals/ glass beadings sparingly... Ball gown cut with sweet heart neckline - either Bustier or thin spags.. or maybe with detachable straps.. will have a medium train.. so can make a grand sweeping entrance into Fullerton ball room.. kekeke... I will visit BV next week to try on their gowns , then will make a decision...

Binbin

Switz is a nice place.. me just went there summer this yr for 5 days, enroute to Germany.. do let me know if you need any help in your planning... be glad to share with ya!

Me prob wanna go france or turkey. Me and bf used to self drive hols.. so will not be taking any tour packages.

Btw, anyone knows where is a good place to help MIL and my mum to design and tailor nice EG for our wedding? My FMIL v excited and wanted a gown to wear.. and i also will need to look for a makeup artiste for her and my mom and any excited aunties.. *faint

binbin

hi everyone....

Lin, u mentioned when to cut cake ah? dunno but me was thinking that since u invite the not so close one to lunch reception, u prob be cutting the cake with the closers ones during dinner....more meaningful mah. well, but some ppl feel cutting cake is waste of time, it's up to you. if u decide to cut cake after lunch recep, means u have to think of what to do in the spare time during dinner.

yes me have not booked bridal, but my heart is set on Divine couture liao.
initially me didn't know what i want to look like, really cannot imagine...went with my FH to close to 10 bridal shops. finally went to divine. when i tried on the gowns, my heart sorta melted, coz really love the look on me....they also seem to be shouting "take me take me!"......
so not looking any further liao lah.....thanks anyway...

ur gowns sounds sexy leh, and very sweet too....imagine that u'll look very nice in it...

as for wearing what after tea ceremony, my friend change to her kua, then went back to her home. as for u, coz u wearing kua for soleminzation, perhaps u wanna wear something else? for me, intend to wear Nonya Kerbaya, coz his grandmother is baba.....
can consider...hehhehe but that means u need to buy a lot leh, WG, Kua, Nonya Kerbaya.....

my JP is the one from ROM.....
coz me having my solemniation at ROM mah, then go church.....

PP, welcome!!!
17314.gif

hyatt food okie lah, FH's eldest bro had his there. u start planning now is not too early....hyatt will have better chance coz they have more than 1 ballroom....more chances will got available...

well, first, shortlist some hotels u like (abt 10), call them up, ask for Catering Services. When speaking to their catering manager or so, ask for quotation to be email or fax to you. b4 u do that, ask them whether ur preferred date still available or not. look thru the quotes, and filter out those who's prices dun fit ur budget. The remaining, call them up again (usually their direct no. is stated in the quotes liao) and ask to meet up on a day where there's a wedding going on. see if you like the ballroom and feel and service...
better work fast...ehhehehe.....

Besse, ur gown sounds good too....
think u will look quite classic in it.

EG i would recommend Doreen Chee from Le Galleria. Fantastic service.....but prices not beri low lah but u should go there and feel it.
as for makeup, u can ask ur bridal's make up artists whether she can do for them at an extra charge. most of the time they will, and will charge you $80 to $120 per person perhaps.....

binbin

Dear ladies, need your urgent help! :p we have a change of plans....know it's a bit last min. i dun intend to have the church service on the same day as ROM liao. We are gonna have it on the same day as customary next yr.

As for ROM, we are intending to do it somewhere else besides Registry....Can someone advise whether its too late to get a JP? my preferred date is either 20, 21 or 22 March now.... and besides places like Fort Canning, Museum, own place, ShangRila, Ritz and Fullerton, anywhere else got solemnisation package huh?

How can i go about getting a JP? i think pebbles will know?

sorrie for the trouble, will explain more to your girls next time........hehhehe sorta long story lah......

Thanks so much in advance...pls advise....

icechocolate

hi pp,
welcome! don't worry. hyatt quite alright.

hi besse,
i don't know where to get nice &amp; tailor made EG. But i know there is a boutique called Daniel Yam that sells nice EG. My FMIL bought her EG there for my FBIL wedding. And i intend to buy my bridesmaid gown there too. The price quite reasonable too. Around $99-$120 per gown. Makeup artist...hmm..me still searching too. But i've a few in mind, Jeannie Yong, Leon Lim. Probably i'm using the same make-up artist to make-up for my mom &amp; bridesmaid too.

icechocolate

hi binbin,
You can just call ROM and ask for a particular JP that you like. And see whether you can get that JP. If possible, get those recommended JP. Though they're quite popular, but if you can book now, better. Better start booking now.. I think those popular ones would have already been booked but you can try your luck.

Wah...all those solemnization package, you mentioned is also what i know.
Another one you would like to try, Chijmes. I heard now chijmes is no longer a church but it's structure is still church like. Hope this helps...

heheh..binbin, you also want to wear nyonya kebaya?
i was thinking of that too leh!
my heritage is peranakan
maybe i will wear that after tea ceremony. still undecided. i thought of wearing that during tea ceremony but i think my in laws won't appreciate it, so that's why i thought use WG. yah..maybe will wear that after tea ceremony when i go back to my place. Coz, if not...i really don't have anything to wear. I was thinking of calling my aunt because she always go back malacca and probably she can recommend me some kebaya shops there. hmm...if i get any info on these, i can share wif you since you're also wearing it

yah, the cake thing can also cut during dinner. then, now i have to think what to do during lunch reception... *faint.

blurydoey

gong xi fa chai!!!
Have been MIA for quite some time, been on long holidays for cny kekeke...tomolo holiday again so good. How u gals gonna celebrate valentines day?
A&amp;W,
thats sweet of your aunt, can make wg n eg must a professional in tailoring.
Binbin,
dun worry, sure things will turn out fine.
Besse,
dun get too stressed out on the preparation, must be mei mei bride.
PP,
welcome, hyatt shld be rather fine, I eaten their western food two years ago, loved it.
Doll,
your hubby so sweet so supportive..

a&w

Hi gals..

Welcome PP..! Hyatt looks like a pretty nice hotel but I don't know anything about their wedding services.

Bin Bin..
Sure I'd love to get/give any feedbacks about Conrad. You can e-mail me at [email protected] SoI guess I can find out even more stuff. As for JP, I'm really not sure if it's too late. Think you should be fine cos its about a year away. Well the Alkaff Mansion looks like a very nice place especially if you like an outdoor solemnization. If not, you can always book another function room with the hotel and they can set up the chairs and the table etc. My brother had his solemnization at Four Seasons and they didn't charge him extra for the room. So since you are having the dinner at Conrad, why not consider having the solemnization there too.

Thanks for the contacts...I'll definitely call those make-up artists for a trial run. They will go to the bride's home on the day right?

Ivory,
You sound really professional. Yeah, I think i'll most probably use Swarovski crystals too. Very elegant looking and simple.

Lin,
So you want a real wedding cake too huh. Same here! I've always wanted to choose my own cake and let all the guests enjoy a slice. When I go back, I'm going to try and see if I can squeeze a real 3-5tier cake out of Conrad cos I heard they make good cakes. If I can't, then I'll try getting it elsewhere. Do you know any good place that I can get nice, elegant looking WC? If you do, please let me know.

Ladies, I'll most probably (more like 100% sure) be wearing a strapless WG and having a church ceremony. That's not too revealing right? Really don't feeling like carrying another shawl..very leh ceh. Probably just get a veil that can cover a bit more. Thinking of getting those floor length veil that I'll be dragging around..hHhaha

As for photographers, Amos and I are very interested in Chris Ling's work. Both our brothers had Andrew Choi as their photographers but I'm not sure if AC does journalistic photos. We only want pictures taken on the actual day...so don't mind spending more on a good photographer. Any recommendation?

a&w

Oh so Leapin Lizard isn't that great huh?!! Well..so anyone else know where I can get shoes custom made?

ivory

hi PP,

welcome! dun wori, me oso maybe having my customary latest by March 04.. but haven't set date yet.. i oso have not select any bridal shops nor hotels

hi Besse,

i think i will go to BV to have a look tmr (if they are open?) actually wanted to go Dang Bridal but they told me they are closed.. strange.. i tot most shops would not close on public holidays cos most ppl will be free to drop by mah..

hi Lin,

no problem, as long as within my ability, i make sure i make pretty pretty for u?

hi Wendy,

no lar.. im not professional lah... just like to make pretty things.. guess im vain lor

icechocolate

hi A&amp;W,
i had Angie's The choice for my engagement cake. Their cake not bad and they can do real wedding cakes. Another place is Prima Deli. But i'm waiting for binbin to give me other contacts which she saw in the magazine. For me, i want to find a cake which can do exotic decor like real flowers on the cake

Those compass photographers, like Andrew Choi, Chris Ling, Eng Howe are the best
So, you're not taking any studio or outdoor photos?

antares

hi IceChocolate, thanks for your welcome greeting..
I haven't set my wedding date yet..but most prob will be in Feb or March 2004 lor..
u leh? When is yours?

ivory

hi antares
welcome to our big family
mine oso latest by Mar 04...

tmr will be going down to SanMike Bridal for a look

besse

Hi Antares..

welc!! have you found bridal and dinner venue?? me will most likely get married in end of 2003 now... really dont believ it... dates constantly changing to suit banquet venue availability.. and banquet venue changing to suit increasing table requirements.. but finalising details these 2 weeks lor..

Ivory

BV will only be opened on the 16th Feb i think.. they are closed for 15 days after CNY.. so lucky hor??? biz muz be really good... but anyway, i will be popping down next week to try on the gowns and hopefully can meet with Michelle... cos afterall, i do have some kinda gown i wan in mind liaoz.. and it's quite in line with Michelle's style...

Wendy aka A&amp;W, i think Andrew Choi does actual day photo journalism... can check out his website..

antares

hi Icechocolate, Ivory and Besse!!!

I haven't booked restaurant/hotel yet... any recommendation?...I actually like Riltz Carlton and Fullerton but they are too ex..me couldn't afford..

As for bridal, I have placed a deposit at "Wedding Photo" ,located at century square... I think I am too rush on that..din really check out other studio... It was a hasty decision. I am kind of regret but since booked already so got to hope for the best. Any of you had any idea with this shop? I dun think it is a well-known shop, right?

So have you all book hotel/restaurant and photo studio yet?

ivory

Hi Besse

so u will sign on with BV when u next go down? i dunno when can i go down next week leh... shd i go by myself cos my bf so busy...

hi antares

me looking at Hyatt (if we can come up with the money) or Furama... seems dat the new ballroom is very nice

y did u sign up with them at such a rush? still have time to look around mah...

icechocolate

hi antares,
i didn't know century square got bridal studio
which floor? Is it a new shop? I remember, century square used to have a few bridal promotions
I book with GHA which is also at Tampines

hmm... depends what kind of wedding you would like and the number of tables you have. Why not pick a few hotels you like that is according to your budget. In that way, you can straight away zoom into the ones you like and suit you.

i've only listed 3 which i like. Alkaff mansion, Hyatt and Hilton. Maybe you like to try these too
i also haven't book my dinner banquet yet. probably later on when i come back

soupie

hi icechoco, Awfully chocolate at joo chiat (beside joo chiat CC) does hot fudge chocolate cake with real flowers decorations, saw some pics there when i went to get a cake..maybe u'll like to drop by there to take a look

antares

hi Ivory, I also dun know why I was so impulsive that time.. *wondering*

since booked liao...no choice lor...hope that it is not that bad after all...

hi IceChocolate, the bridal studio is called "Wedding Photo", located on the top floor of century square.
I dun think it is a new shop lah... Think it shld be around for quite some times liao. Maybe next time when u go Century Square can drop by and take a look...
Is GHA a very popular bridal studio too?

a&w

Hello ladies! Amos (part of A&amp;W) here! Sorry i haven't been around. I was struck with the flu and had to go for a chest x-ray and stuff like that. Much better now.
Wendy's been around regardless! She was down with respiratory tract infection! Crazy woman. HAHAHAHA!

antares

hi icechoco, so paiseh. I just realised that you are referring to Golden Horse Awards. :p Cuz when u mentioned GHA, I din know you are referring to it. I am not too used to abbreviation. Heeheee. :p

icechocolate

hi soupie,
oh okie! thanx for the info! sounds yummy too! yes, would definitely drop by that shop when i come back!
since they have real flower decor!

hi antares,
oh..heheh
lazy to type long long..so use abbreviation. hmm... i used to go round and round Tampines mall(favourite hangout). Never notice they have photo studio in century square. will definitely take a look when i come back!