(2004) Brides of year 2004

a&w

Alright, finally got Wendy into all the action over here at SB.COM! Ladies, meet my FW and love of my life: Wendy.

doll

Hi moon
A fren had her ROM lunch at Shang, the Waterfall terrace, really very romantic and cosy. You can contact their F&B Mgr and make an appt or checkout their website. They will forward the proposal to you. Of course, everything is neg...

Hi Lin
Just my opinion but I dun think it will be good to return it. Its like you dun appreciate it and prob will be a bad start for your r/s with her. Maybe wat u wanna do is repay her at other times, like Chinese New Year or her birthday.

And if you are thinking abt a western menu, prob you wanna consider if there's more old traditional folks or young people. Sometimes they may not appreciate the food and go away hungry and upset. Many people in fact don't realise the cost is the same or even higher.

Hi Wendy, nice to hear from you. Yes, all of us are getting really excited even tho' its a year away.
Well, both Conrad and Four Seasons are beautiful so really tough choice. Let's us know the final winner yah?

Well gals, any more updates on yoour wedding plans? Have not heard from quite a few "old Birdes" tho'. Wonder wat happen?

pebbles

Hello pple...

Lin,
dun be so sad girl..
U r very lucky already cos at least yr FH is willing to do most of the planning stuff with u..
but i understand how u feel, it's like missing out on something really fun....but im sure even u will still enjoy the whole planning process with your FH..

As for the jewellery thingy ah, i agree with Doll, it's not very nice to return your FMIL those stuff, my mom feels that it's not respectful in their eyes cos it is more like a custom thingy...rather then indebted to her..

As for western menu, it's a good idea and i like that idea too but however if there are more older folks then i dun think they will enjoy the food as much , maybe u can try doing up your guestlist first then decide from there lor

Hi Wendy,
welcome...finally we get to meet Amos FW..
u r such a lucky girl..
Regarding hotel, i think the two which u have shortlisted are equally good so tough choice...maybe now it all boils down to which hotel do u feel for most...

lin

hi A&W,
it's great to hear you joining us in this thread
we can share opinions and even lobangs..
very nice to hear guys excited about preparation on wedding. A&W thanks for your opinion.

hi doll,
yah, that's the thing i'm afraid about. based on the experience of my FSIL wedding, my FMIL never give things out of sincerity. so, learning from my FSIL experience, i'm trying to return with a good excuse. but this brain cannot think...
hehehehe. you got any plan for me not?

the menu thing, half of my guests are malays. the other half is chinese. my friend told me she attended such a wedding before and one side of the hall, all chinese, the other side of the hall, all malays and serving each ethnic food to satisfy the guests. how to break the ice man and make everyone feel comfortable?

binbin

Hi hi all.
not been posting much these few days hehhehe....not been at table for quite long...

Doll,
me here me here, me considered old bird or not? ;P

to all,
hehhehe me just bought some ROM accessories from Chryster. they used to be at orchard delfi but moved to Raffles Place recently. really like their service, a lady called Wan Yi served me. bought a crystal/pearl necklace and matching bracelet from her. as well as earrings....amounts to $77. went back 3 times to choose and choose b4 buying at the 3rd visit...hehhee....

just collected our wedding bands last night at Soo Kee bugis! very happy, engraved too....hhehehe.....

Cyn and leafy, i know what you mean when u say u feel so happy looking at the rings, or wanting to kiss him passionately when he put it on for you.
My heart sorta melted when i saw the wedding bands sitting snugly and happily in the box, like smiling at me! hehehhehe......feel so warm.

Moon,
I agree with cyn loh, bvlgari and tiffany is quite exp. tiffany's start from around $2000+ leh, for a pair without diamonds one. well, for Soo kee and lee hwa, wld be better to get during sales, but have to keep close watch when is sales coming. and some discounts dun extend to wedding bands....i bought mine from soo kee bugis and like it beri much.

for soo kee, dun go to the toa payoh branchs, very few choices. try going to town ones like bugis and wisma. ang mo kio also okie....
lee hwa, the biggest is the one at orchard emerald, double storey.....
good luck!
well, as for shopping around, we spend about few wks. went to 10 over shops to see b4 deciding.

as for hotels, pebbles oredi replied the part abt what to look out for.
same as what i wannna say. as for what to do, recommend u call up the hotel, ask for the direct line to Catering Services, and ask for a quotation to be sent to you. read thru the quotes, single out those with prices that you are comfortable with, and call the manager up (her no. is usually in the email or quotes they sent). try to arrange to meet on a day with wedding dinner at night.

Snow,
tongshu is out only 2nd half of next yr. as for geomancers i have a contact. here it is:
Tel No: 65381433. Better make appt before going becos he is alone therefore sometimes he might be out. U can visit his website @ http://www.trinityarts.com.sg
His name is Jason Chng. He charges $100 for wedding date.
20 Havelock Road
#01-13 Central Square

got my dates from him.

u can consider whether u wanna wait for tongshu or wanna get date now.....

Hi Besse,
dun sulk dun sulk. i know how you feel.
felt that way b4 when i realised FH tables for elder bro is so high....tot we will have to meet that too....
well, for problem No. 1, you can go for Fullerton then! isn't that one of your top choices too?

capacity up to 48-50 tables right?
If not, you can try Shangrila (NOT the sentosa one). it is the same class as fullerton/conrad etc. very beautiful place. capacity is beri high no worries.
problem no. 2, since now u got 2 dates liao, even better right???? faster faster call fullerton and shangrila and tentatively book the dates.....then u no worries.....

Lin,
yah loh not beri nice to return loh. it's a chinese tradition mah....ur MIL may be offended, may affect future relns.
like what cyn suggested, can buy back exp gifts for her during her birthday or christmas...etc....
or since after marriage u give ang baos to them right....u can give a bigger one loh....

as for western menu, wld be better if u can talk to ur FH and relatives first.....perhaps they are not comfortable with western food....have to seek their opinion better.....

as for dressing formal, it's best if you ask your FH to tell them himself. coz not beri appropriate for u to say....wait they offended. or u can specify in invitation card loh, that's provided ur tea ceremony oso got invitation card. u holding in hotel huh? coz if not, usually ppl dun send invite cards for tea ceremony right? if so, best if tell directly.

binbin

Lin, just saw ur latest posting....
hmmm...as for the food and seating....perhaps u cld arrange halal food for ur muslim guests, and chinese food for ur chinese guests? i tink it's okie if they sit separately.....shld be fine. or else, u may like to mix them up, that means... few tables of muslim and few of chinese at either side....and arrange for ur MC to entertain the guests with simple games like e.g. yam seng - see which side is the loudest etc..... then those on same side will feel a bit of team spirit...
just a tot....

lin

hi pebbles,
i got also think of serving international food. but i've heard of international buffet dinner, never heard of international sit-down dinner. hehehhehe :p Unless you've heard of it, can recommend melah.

that jewellery thingy, at first, she dun want to give me anything at all becoz after all, she dun want to be invovle in the wedding day and Guo da li thingy,then, all of a sudden, she want to give. becoz during engagement day when she came empty-handed, my guests went to ask her directly, then she felt embarrassed and apologize to my aunties and ask my aunties to tell my mom. after the engagement day, i make chocolate jam for her and she said how come i so good and that i wanted something out of her. so, i know what she meantlah. not easy to take care of her feelings
until now, my FSIL have been married for 1 year+ with a baby boy, when she unhappy with my FSIL, she talked about how much jewellery she gave my FSIL. how? you got any plan for me? return the jewellery to her + it still make me look good. the problem is i don't know what is really her true feelings and on her mind

doll

Hi Lin

Hmm.. international sit down..??
If I am correct, I think most hotels cater in the Muslim food for the muslim table. In this case, I believe its a little difficult to merge the 2 tables. Unless you are willing to settle for outside catering. Prob. can have it at Chijmes and get external caterers? Just a suggestion!

As for the jewellery, think quite difficult lor.. return like not filial, then later she go round and tell the relatives how you see her no up so return her the jewellery. Just curious, you FMIL how old huh? Can be menopause or not? So got funny moods one?

Lin, prob wanna just take things in your stride lor. Accept the gifts and during her birthday, buy sometime of equal or greater value back for her. Best is give when got plenty of people around..(ok, that's a bit too much, but can't help adding it lei
) If she going to talk abt how much jewellery she give u next time, just keep quiet lor, cos everyone will know u did give her a nice present too..

How?

pebbles

Hi BinBin,
wow woman, u really spend quite a far bit on your ROM ah...but it's so exciting rite, must show us your rom photos ah, have u being counting down ah...to BIG DAY ah...eheheh..
When yours is over then i will count down to mine..

Lin,
from what i see, your FMIL is not a easy person ah and i thought mine was bad...i think if u feel so strongly about her using the jewellery thingy against u when she's upset with u then maybe u r better off returning it to her but maybe in a nicer way lor...this one very tricky ah must think properly first...

anyway, HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!!!

leeann

Long time no see!! I have not been posting for quite some times bcos me same like annmelody, has been busy with study and work. Imagine Sat and Sun also has to return to work....sign again...

Hi Pebbles

Thanks for paying my drink on our last outing. will pay you back when I meet you again..... not forgetting the wedding handbook that you lend it to me, a lot of info inside thanks!
So how, you prepare for your ROM already or not??

Hi Binbin

wow, look like you are well prepared for your ROM already huh..... I rememeber I only got my choker few days before my ROM. hee hee
. My house reno almost done, nice nice... like my living area very much especially the wall paper, TV console and the feature wall... find it an excellent combination!! When are you starting your reno??

Hi Lin, Snow, Moon and A&W

Welcome Welcome, hope I have not missed out anybody...

lin

hi binbin,
eh, i really like your games idea leh!
i think i want to put that in! thanx for the suggestion!
give me back some joy now

hi doll,
i was actually aiming for Alkaff mansion. if cannot get in time, then, yah probably would go for what you suggested!
coz, i would like to have lots of scenery. Is there a place in the hotel where you can have an outdoor wedding but in the hotel vicinity itself?

doll, 5 years together with my FH never got a chance to give present in front of all relativesleh
but all these years, i got give her gifts lor like clinique makeup etc. i even got send mother's day card from australia. but doesn't seem to work.
oh..my FMIL 47 years old. she menopause already. hehe..but i like that idealeh, giving something in front of everyone. okie, you just give me an idea!
hehe..thanx!

lin

hi pebbles,
yes, this is very tricky. me thinking v.hard what to say. FH said better not accept anything becoz he said i will suffer in times to come. happy chinese new year to you too!

doll,
my FH got saylah that his mom don't trust her own immediate family because she hated her marriage life. her sons suffer, daughter-in-laws worse.

sometimes also don't know whether to pity her or hate her. taking care of this kind of FMIL feelings is v.hard. my FH said she just sticking to the family becoz she got nowhere to go and she can still get income from her husband and her sons.

binbin,
must share with us your ROM photos leh. sometimes i feel like hack care about whether i offend this culture or not. i just want to enjoy my wedding. if they want to give angpow, givelah, don't want also i don't mind. sigh. i think i just want to go ahead and enjoy my wedding day. if got any games idea, share with me leh
i like your ideas

hi leeann,
seldom see you here.. try to come in more often lah.

blurydoey

Really tired with the aerobics n covering my collegue work...sigh...I didnt managed to read all the postings..
welcome to the newbies!!!!
cyn,
must wait till rom lah, then got the special moments..kekeke
binbin, doremon,
wha must try your pineapple tarts. I made only the small bwa hu spring roll for the new year, spent whole day with gf only managed to make one bottle.
Doll,
Thanks, u manged to find other hotels bor?
besse,
dun worry everything will be fine, i also think 3 jan is a better date n got more ample time to prepare.
pebbles,
I also still at the same weight.
N been eating a bit of the new year goodies. But we must jia you!! And all the newbies n old birds who is still surving the diet...control....control...

Ok I think I stop here too long liao...
I try to come in as often as possible, next week straight after cny got to do closing again..sigh...

Happy Chinese New Year!!! May all our weddings preparations be smooth n Money all roll in for those buying 4d n toto...

May all our figures be ideal on our weddings!!!!
GONG XI FA CHAI

besse

Girls

Me back too.. sad to say, i oso like 3 Jan.. but my choice location - Fullerton has been taken.. now only left Mandarin that has that date avail.. rest of other hotels have peeps doing tentative bookings..

Next two weeks will chiong visit most of the hotels and reach a decision.. else will be late late late.. haiz... hate this kinda stress.. Singaporean lifestyle so stressful.. everything oso Kiasu.. even getting a venue for wedding.. Urrgghh.. tear hair..

Hmm.. abt the diet thingy, will only start dieting sometime in apr... else i will lose steam one.. hehe.. sekali put back on just before wedding.. den will be a plump bride..

I'm quite fleshy ard the arms and the tum.. any suggestions??

a&w

Got a good question for everyone. I need to shift my wedding date till after Christmas in 2004. Do you think people will attend if i had it either on the 30th or 31st of Dec?
I'm concerned about the holidays and all, and if people actually get New Year's Eve off? I haven't worked in Singapore during that period, so i need your advice.

Are people receptive to the idea of attending a wedding dinner on the 31st? Or would they rather party elsewhere?

moon

Hi Pebbles, Doll (kookie)

Thanks for your advice on the hotel package, think will send them an email b4 going down to take a look.

Doll, me interested in Shangri La, the Waterfall terrace that u mentioned....cus want something that is really romantic : )

Lin, me same with u like those kind of scenic atmosphere, actually I remember i saw a newspaper article abt a couple getting married in a park in Singapore, can't remember the details liao but the photo that is shown in the newspaper look like the feel that i want... u know natural surrounding, under the stars...look really cool : ) think they hired a wedding planner too... did any of u gals hired one?

A&W, actually i don't think it's a good idea to have your wedding on that day as most would have plan on that day and it seem imposing for the "Ah Yi" or "brothers" who need to help out during the actual day as they won't be able to go out the nite b4.... Furthermore, think it will also be more expensive for the wedding banquets....

lin

hi A&W,
depending your guests lists. if your friends wouldn't mind and party with you guys, i think it's alright. but the not so close friends and relatives, hmm..not sure about that. And oh, the charges in the hotels would also be more expensive due to holiday period.

hi moon,
i thought of hiring a wedding planner. still contemplating the idea. my FH prefers me to be the wedding planner. But the problem is i can't be there on the wedding day itself to make sure everything goes well. so, probably have to get an assistant. actually, most of the thing you can do yourself. Unless you have a particular theme, then the decor part, you might need someone to help you since you can't do that during the wedding day.

cyn

hi guys...

happy new year to everyone of you... enjoy but watch your waistline =)

lin
i've a suggestion regarding your FMIL. by dun you have a gift presentation to both side parents during the dinner.. it's a show of appreciation. then you can give your FMIL something in front of everybody. personally i think it's not a gd idea to return the jewellery. perhaps you can get her something of the same value.

grand hyatt does have a garden for function. capacity is abt 28 tables. they do provide a backup room jus in case of rain. but there's a rental incurred. or other venues will be botanic garden, fort canning...

a&w

Lin & Moon, thanks for the reply. Charges are not a concern, since our original plan was to have it on a weekend anyway. I believe the weekend rate is the same as the public holiday rate too.
Alternatively, we might just have it either on the 23rd or the 30th. Weekday rate too. SENG LUI! LOL!

lin

hi cyn,
thanx for the info on grand hyatt
i didn't know it has a garden for function. will consider that too.

hehe, hey, that was what i planned too! Doll said something about giving to her in front of everyone. i told her that 5 years together with FH never got opportunity, then, i thought har... suddenly got that idea to do that gift presentation during dinner.
cyn, i will never afford to get something of the same value that's why i'm returning it. i think it will take me 4 years to save that money religiously to get of the same value. i rather give her than take something from her. but you guys just gave me an idea about that presentation thing! thanx!

binbin

hey ppl! HAPPY CNY!!!!!!!
hehhee....getting back to work today yar? super tuesday blues........:p

pebbles,
hhehee no lah din spend beri much lah.....$77 for accessories okie right? actually me din buy glamour ones....i bought a pearl and cyrstal one that looks simple and sweet. haven't buy shoes yet....hehhehe......
counting down ah.......actuali now feb liao hor? thinking of that fact that next month i am rom-ing sent some nervousness into me.........hmmmm.....is this normal huh....the feeling is a bit scary one loh.....

leanna....
glad u are happy in the reno work...
me ah.....not starting so soon.....well.....got some reasons loh.....not convenient to say here.
but we shld be starting in may....
quite sad lah, coz we had wanted to have the house ready earlier so we can go there and "nua" when we dun feel like spending money on wkends....hhehehe......
wah u steady ah, buy choker so late ah? hehhehee.....

lin
u are beri welcome lah.....actuali me dun have a lot of good ideas lah, not true hhehee....glad u like it anyway....
will let u know if something comes up.

ur idea (and cyn) abt giving during dinner is beri good......hmmmm.....fresh and effective in this case....good luck in planning.

blurydoey
u mentioned aerobics....u got go ah??? which one u go? amore too?
u beri cute leh, the 4D and toto thingie hhehhehehhehe.......

besse, abt the fleshy arms and tummys....sigh....i think almost all of us suffers from that...:p well, heard that walking aorund after lunch will help the tummy.....me seldom do that usually ta bao then sit down at desk after lunch that's why quite bad...hehhehe...
as for arms, can try gym or Yoga.....heard yoga REALLY tones u up! me just signed up with an instructor who is coming to our office to conduct classes for 1 hr every thur. venue is just one flr above me office! hehhehehe.....very happy....
u can try california fitness or amore for outside classes.......

binbin

oh Lin, i forgot to mention....what abt rasa sentosa? they have a garden solemnization before dinner. but that's for solemnization oni lah....
actuali if you wld like Poolside dinners, most of the hotels provide....i know conrad does....u can try asking....i think fullerton oso have.......

marie

how is everyone's CNY??

Sob sob..its my last year collecting ang bao..next year must get use to giving them..=P

binbin

hi marie. no what! ur wedding in jan or march? if march, it's after cny mah.......and also, heard that for the first lunar yr of marraige, couples can choose not to give angbaos....hehhehe.....
so i got 2 more yrs.....hehhehe.....

marie

Hi Binbin

mine is in Jan...3 weeks b4 CNY...so this yr is my last year of collecting ang baos!!! *wail*

Oh...yah..hear abt the first year no need to give ang baos..but my family does not practice it...so have to give lor..but wont be much..coz i factor i would have a loss for wedding dinner...so need to tighten purse strings...esp when economy is so bad and there is no job security....sigh

binbin

hhehee think u better update pebbles on the contact list, coz it's written march 04 there.
that's y i blur.

aiyah, i was thinking i will oni give $4/$6 for the kids during the 1 yr....dun care....if ppl complain i will just treat them as greedy and unreasonable....coz they shld understand wedding couples have very tight financial burden, and after wedding is when we suffer from the bills.....

hehhehehhe

lin

hi binbin!
okie..will check out the other hotels.
me didn't noe about that. i tot only few hotels have.
you must be beri excited for your ROM
Are you having any lunch buffet after ROM?

marie, binbin,
don't worry about the angpowlah..
yah..binbin, just give what you can. if not, like my FSIL & FBIL, don't come for reunion dinner or go visting at grandparents place, so escape angpow giving. kekekeke...

tigerlily

Been reading this for a week or so, and have decided to pluck up my courage and join in! *grin*

Am so glad to know that there are all of you out there all in a flurry preparing, cos I thought I was being super control freak by stressing out about my wedding planned for Feb 2004!

But plans have hit a snag - the ballroom that my PIL and FH like has a whole day function there on the date we want. *Sob* Now a bit lost...need to fit at least 60 tables... so either have to get another venue or shift the date to Mar...and I thought I was starting early enough..

Am going to try and tie down my gown place too - any views on Sillhouette/Ted Wu/Francis (??)? And am at a loss as to what I would like my EG to look like - any magazines I should do research from? Help please...thanks thanks thanks!

lin

hi Tigerlily,
it's ok. we all super kiasu. kekekek. not really lah.. wedding is once in a lifetime and moreover knowing you're getting to spend that moment with someone you love, of course, we like to plan well

hmm, about banquet, i think based on experience here from ex-brides, that if your date is auspicious, i guess better book early.

about those bridal studios you mention, i've no idea at all. but i'm sure each bridal studio will assign you a designer. The designer can help you in designing your EG. sometimes, what you see in magazine may not suit your body type. That was what i was being told by my designerlah.. coz, at first i thought going with off shoulder short sleeves, but when i tried it on, it doesn't really look nice on me. Anyway, you can show your designer what kind of style you like by showing the magazines.
Just buy any bridal magazines will do, but preferably local
coz, you can get the most of it. Like you can get most of the recommended stuffs in the magazine here in singapore

besse

HAPPY GOAT YEAR TO ALL OF YOU!!! May this year brings lotsa wealth, good heath and happiness to all of US..

Hi Tiger Lily.. welc to the thread.. not too soon to prep lar.. nt at all KS.. me oso now confirming on no. of tables and date and it's like a moving target.. everytime increASE... and hv to find venue! *faint.. when's your wedding btw?

binbin.. yeah, gotta take up the California fitness gym pass soon... *haiz.. i really dread the dieting...

Hi Maria.. Your wedding's Jan when?? hehe.. mine's targetted to be in Jan, before CNY too.. and my plan is to go for super long honeymoon so no nid spend CNY in Sg.. kekeke.. not save angbao money, but is to use the PHs to stretch the honeymoon duration.. ;)

a&w

I think Wendy and I top it all for being Super Kiasu. Our wedding date is in Dec 2004, and we're planning now! LOL!

annmelody

Happy New Year for All!!!

hope al of you enjoy getting your red packets before we all start to give out :>

Btw anyone know where I can get traditional Kwa made?

binbin

hi annmelody, u can try the House of Etiquette in Tanjong Pagar road, they have a lot of kuas and u can custom made......not sure of the price though....

hi tigerlily! welcome!
17016.gif

well, not too soon to plan, mine wedding is in march leh...hehhehe....few wks after i tentatively bk my hotel, another couple asked for it liaoz.....hengz....hehhee....
well, not sure abt sil and francis, but Ted Wu specialises in embroidery and unqiue designs....understand tat it belongs to the slightly higher range......there's usually a thread on each of the bridal shops, u can go to the thread to read the comments posted on the service, handiwork and photography.
just click "keyword" on the left, and type in the bridal names and choose "subject". good luck!
btw which hotel were ur first choice? ur guests is 60 ah? that will mean places likw shang rila, grand corpthorne waterfront, merchant court,raffles the plaza(westin), marina mandarin, pan pacific etc etc....
hope it helps.....

besse

Ann Melody

Yeah.. house of etiquette like wat Bin2 has suggested.. saw couple of their Kwas on mags.. looks v nice and modern.. but maybe not v cheap.. another way is go HK and make. If you need the contact, i can ask for you.. cos i have a HK fren who was in the bridal industry there..

binbin

hi lin, forgot to answer ur qn.
yes me having buffet after ROM. coz after registry, we are proceeding to my FH's church for a blessing service. the buffet will be at the church...

marie

i think its okie to start planning early..least u get most of the things settled and u can "kiao ka" at home...and start dieting!! Hehehe

Me only left videographer not decided yet..any recommendations? Still considering shld i do any video/photo montage anot ler..coz Conrad needs 2 projectors..can die manz..imagine one is already abt 300-500 bucks for rental *faint*

My house would be TOPing in April..more work to be done....eeeeeeeeeeeeks!!!

HI Tigerlily,

me been to SIL and Ted Wu when doing bridal scouting but in the end i choose Tan Yoong....give u my 2 cents worth of opinions on some bridal shops me been to:

1)SIL
- 3 designers, Minda, Miah and Keith
- Was served by Minda
- Good service and she is able to provide useful feedback on which gowns i am suitable for
- Does not have a main selling point like Ted Wu's embridoery but are flexible in designs which are elegant and modern

2)Kai
- Didnt manage to see Kai
- Service wise okie
- Didnt leave a very deep impression on me
- Gowns make use of more laces and beadings/crytsals, not much of embriodery

3)Ted Wu
- I give it thumbs up for service!!!!!!!!!!!!
Went with my fren who had gone for her gown design session Ted. Real humble guy who pays his full attention to you that even when the phone rang he didnt pick it up. Even colour the designs to give you a better pic of the designs. Was real impressed. Gives you his feedback too.
- Reason for not signing up with Ted is becoz me not so into embridoery and becoz i think for his embroidery, it stands out nicer in duchess satin but i dun look good in lor

4)Tan Yoong
- TY functions really like a business man in the sense, most of the things require top ups and more top ups.
- Reason why i sign up with TY is becoz his gowns somehow have this "this is it!this is the gown!" effect on me. In fact i was deciding bwt SIL and TY but felt SIL gowns the "this is it" effect not as strong as TY and since, wedding is one in a lifetime, i decide to go off budget =P
- As for service, its consider okie, not the fantastic kind as compare to Ted's. Basically, TY is frenly and provide you with recommendations. He is not the stuck up kind which is difficult to work with and he listens to what u need.
- from my conversations with him, he takes pride in his designs, so no worries he if anyhow decide for u

5)The wedding Present
- The most cosy bridal studio, ,makes me dun wanna move.hehehe
- Good service too!
- Gowns i felt kinda shares similar traits to Kai's. More on crystals/beadings and some laces. Not much on embridoery.

6)Inspiration Collections
- Would never step into again
- Went for my appt, saw some gowns which fell onto the floor and no one bother to pick it up and hang properly
- Gowns are badly "treated" in the sense when trying for gowns, the designer just handle the gowns roughly and pass it to me. Other studios would have hang the gowns nicely for the customer to try.
- Designer dun look professional as in, her hair is in a real mess, fingernails are dirty aka black black....makes one wonder can entrust the designing task to her anot
- The assistant was rude to me and my frens by ordering us to move our bags which are on the seat to make way for the new customers (that is the exact words!)

*Disclaimer: The above are just my personal opinions after my visits.

Better state this ..scare wait genna bombard ..hehe

ivory

hi gals and guy,

me may b ROM this March and customary by next year March.. so i guess its time to join in and get some tips.

both my dates are not confirmed yet, still waiting for the geomancer to come back to us with the dates.. he too busy during the CNY period..

banquet venue oso not set yet.. dun have savings at all and dunno how much can we save when the date draws near... so far thinking of Hyatt (if got $$), Furama or Plaza Hotel... no time to go down and visit them too... bf very busy during CNY period

bridal package.. can help? so far me oni went to Bridal Zone.. but would like to see see look look a few 1st before deciding... can help to shortlist a few shops for me to go bridal shopping?

Xin Nian Kuai Le to everybody!!!

tigerlily

Thanks Marie!

I have gone down to SIL, and there was a "this is it" gown there - have to go again with FH who is busy busy...

..am scared of TY, cos he made my friend cry 2 times over her gown...and was quite rude to her ...and yes, top up for everything...

As for Ted Wu, I know a lot of brides who had their WG done there - but I sometimes think that the embroidery can only be appreciated up close, so no one really can see what its like on the actual day...and also don wan my WG to be similar to all the ones before! kekekekeke....

For dinner, am going to have to consider Shang/Westin/Pan Pac - any views on these places? Food is never great when you have many tables, I realise ... juz donch want pple to complain not enuff to eat....(got one wedding last year like that, auntie uncle STILL talking about it this CNY!)*sabo*

ivory

wah... Marie!

Thanks for ur feedback... do you have to make appt before u go down to this designer shops? me thinking of going down on Thur - Sun...

doll

Hi gals, Happy New Year!!! So busy that never got to chance to log in till now.. but guess everyone also busy cos not that much posting yet. So gals, plans for valentine day?

Hi annmelody

I actually went to Hong Kong top check out the Kua there. The one I like was HKD 20,000 = SGD 4,400. Din think it was worth it so din get it. But there is a simpler one which cost about HKD 8000 = SGD 1760. Was told if I want it specially tailored to wat I want, (wanted Chinese buttons istead of zipper, and I am pretty short so no need specially tailor) it will take approx 6 months. After tat. I have to go back for a fitting and return 1 month later before I can collect it.

I may still have the contact at home if you want. Let me know.

a&w

Hi gals..its Wendy reporting again. Happy New Year to all of you! Hi Tigerlily, well I don't know much about the bridal stores cos i haven't been to anyone of them. However, my sil went to Silhoutte and I find her gowns rather nice. Service wise...I'm not sure, but she didn't seem to complain about it so I guess it must have been a rather pleasant experience. I've been checking out the websites of the bridal boutiques in S'pore and I'm rather drawn to the Bridal Veil. Not sure if anyone has tried there but it seems like the designer looks rather experienced. And yes, you'll definitely have to try on any style you think you like first before making any decisions, eventhough the gown may be really beautiful, it may not necessarily suit you. Hope I helped.
Oh yes, I have a questions to ask you guys. When you go around shopping for gowns (those made-to-measure ones), do they let you try on the various styles first before you make a decision to go with them? Cos my aunt will be making my WG for me and I just want to try some out before I settle on the exact style and details that I want.

lin

hi binbin,
okie.. maybe can share your ROM photos

hi mariesoh,
you settled everything? wah...do you take any photographer for your actual day?

cyn

welcome tigerlily & ivory.. it's never early to be prepared.

hi gals, how's new yr? have everyone started work? my company has given 2 more days off.. so back to work tomolo... too bad, have been sick for the last 2 days. wasted my holidays..

marie & besse
my wedding is jan too.. this yr also my last yr of collecting ang baos. tot of planing a super long honeymoon to stretch over the new yr. but hopefully dun have to pay surcharge for the holiday period.

binbin

HI ivory!
welcome
17034.gif
my rom and customary in march too.
u have not fixed ROM date ah? but tongshu this yr out long ago mah......better get date fast or else rom registry fully bked liao. esp if urs is sat. unless u planning to have ur soleminsation outside...

well, as for bridal shops, marie's comments are good very informative...
but, if u are on a budget as u mentioned earlier, perhaps dun go and see the shops mentioned, or else u faint...hehhee....
these are the more exp ones. For more affordable yet complete package and good service u can try shops like White Link (MS), Bridal Zone (which u havw went..), Wedding News (Tanjong pagar), Universal (TPY) etc. better dun go Delfi orchard coz it houses more exp bridal shops....but then again, if u feel wedding is once in a lifetime, which most of us here feels, can go there try...

as to ur question to marie, better to make appointments if u are going down to the shops..... at least u ensure someone will take care of u loh.....good luck!!!

ivory

hi hi hi!!!

so happy to see so many ppl here

binbin

mmm... just decided to wan the ROM this March so got a fren to chk with her geomancer and now he still busy.. hopefully can get his advise by this week though
initially wanted solemnisation at Rasa Sentosa... after a few arguements and discussion, we finalise having ROM at the ministry 1st (for his sake cos he everyday hear his parents urging him to ROM, can't take it liao) and he promise the beautiful wedding he can to make up for the loss of my romantic beach solemnisation

how ex is those ex shops? prepare me for the shock leh... my bf say dun mind engaging their services if they really good... as long as im happy with the service and gowns, he will work hard to earn dat $$ to pay for the package

at least he got do his bit ah... he say die die dun wan to go those at IMM... and he guai guai surf net for info on venues... considering the fact dat he a bit PC idiot

tigerlily

Thanks for the welcome!

Ivory, I think that your FH will really try his best to make your dream wedding come true! I think those places Marie mentioned range from about $3500 upwards (WG, 1 EG, 1 Suit, bouquet, Hair/Make-up).Gals, do correct me if I'm mistaken...

There is this place called San Mike, that my friend has signed up with - that package really "bao ga liao" including photography and bridal car - about $4,000. The gowns are quite pretty!

http://www.sanmikebridal.com/

besse

Me back again.. hehe.. been quite busy with work 1st day back today *faint..

Ivory, welc welc! if you wanna get ROM this march.. betta start booking liao lor... As for gowns.. that one can slowly find, unless you wan your ROM gown inclusive in the package.. but quickly look ard for the banquet venues and have some tentative dates in mind.. heard from the catering managers that the "good" dates are taken up pretty fast.. me now in the stage to "snatch" dates from others.. kekeke.. you have to decide with your bf as to how many tables tentatively you all will have.. den shortlist the hotels in the right price range which you all meet the min/max no. of tables and start making appts to meet the banquet mgrs.. haha.. but don worry, your bf so nice, surely will wanna make your dream come true!!

Binbin.. wah.. so nice, you ROMing this march.. which day?? got your ROM dress oledy?? muz show photo k!!!

Cyn.. so you oso fix date in Jan?? banquet book buay??? which day ar?? err.. i think the surcharge won be so bad, unless you really near near to CNY.. i hope to get my wedding date early Jan, den zip off to long honeymoon... where you gals planning for honey moon??

Doll: Valentines' Day waste $$ ..hehehe.. now bf always insist on going foodcourt for dinner.. *faint.. coming from sm1 who spends lots, it sure is a surprise.. ;)

Wendy.. hi hi. how's CNY over in the west?? did ya celebrate?? for your questions on gown trying.. cos you can get to try.. but hor, don ever tell the shops that you no intention to get from them ;) err.. but if your auntie making the WG for you, wat abt your other stuff like Evening Gown.. mk up etc? you gotta do plenty coordination rt??

a&w

Hey there

Besse,
Well if my aunt is going to make my WG, she'll be making my evening gown too. My aunt is in Indonesia and I plan to get a lot of things done frome there. Planning to design my own choker/necklace to match the gowns. She made my cousin's wedding gown too and its very nice. Basically copy some designer..heheh. HAhah..i won't tell the bridal shops in S'pore that I have no intention of getting it from them.

One more thing, what are the sizes like for gowns huh? Cos most S'porean girls are ALL SO THIN! I'm pretty big size you see, don't know if I can fit into any gowns there...heheeh..that's my concern lor. ;)

Does anyone know if I can just sign all the marriage papers in church? Cos I must have a church wedding (it's my dream lah), so if we can get everything done there then I can save a trip to the ROM. Get everything done in 1 day.

doll

Hi Wendy

You can check out the website www.rom.gov.sg. You dun nec have to go to ROM to register it, just have to get a Justice of Peace or Grassroot leader to solemnize the wedding. So yes, you can sign the papers at the church but will have to still go to the registrar to register.

Oh and for bridal veil, check out the thread on this website. Some good and bad comments. Happy reading..

Hi Besse

How's the snatching date getting along? Got wat you want already? ;) Agree abt the waste of money for valentine day, but still bought a PS2 for FH so when I am not around, I know he's home playing games.. heeheehee

Hi Tigerlily,

So confirm at SIL already? Agree they got really nice gowns. Keep us updated on your final decision yah..

Hi Ivory

welcome. hmm.. go check around and see if you can find the wedding gown with the "That's It!" feel. Keep you mind open like Milan too have some pretty nice gowns. A friend got it from there, package was only 3K and quite comprehensive.

Binbin

Getting butterflies in stomach hor.. nearer and nearer to you date.. some more Feb got only 28 days, so how's the preparation? All done now?

Me still stuck at the ballroom selection, how come the tables numbers only goes up never come down har???

Was trying to keep to 50 now shoot to 60 over already.. this new year mum started telling everyone I getting married next year so guestlist got bigger.. sigh.. just talk to FH last nite and he say nevermind lor.. take Ritz .. so sweet .. me touch deep deep!!

ivory

Hi Tigerlily

Think my bf say $3-4k still alright for him, as long as its worth the $$. we will try to see if we can go to one of the shops this weekend to see see look look lah...

2nite he say wan to go to the one at Jurong East, to see look see look cos its open by his family fren...

Hi Besse

ya... waiting for the geomancer to get back to us... my fren is helping to chui1 chui1 him for the dates liao

as for the bridal package i think we'll take our time lor.. unless we really can get 1 before the ROM, if not i'll just buy a simple dress suggested by my bf (i dun wan to buy but he insist, say "spend a few hundred to buy a dress will die issit?"... wat to do, i dun go shopping cos dun like to spend $$ mah..). Then design and make a set of crystal & pearl accessories to go with it can liao

as for the venue, he say no worries, good dates are still available any where.. from reliable source.. anyway, its min 50 tables for us, so not much to choose from.. we not millionaires mah..

hi Wendy

wah.. so nice ur aunt can make ur gowns for u.. so wat type of package u will take with the bridal shop? Photography?

u oso design and make ur own accessories? same here... got kakis liao

as for the sizes, how big is ur big? me consider large from too.. 36-28-38, ht 165cm.. i oni went to Bridal Zone so far and tried on a few gowns, fit me quite nicely, so no worries
but i sure will try and slim down before photoshoot.. must look mei2 mei3 mah..

Hi Doll

never seen Milan's gown before but saw there photography cos my frens were their models for the current issue of HerWorld Brides.. quite like the feeling but my bf dun like.. mayb bcos its black n white lor...

hee... u not the oni one with table no. problem... me too
i nearly fainted when my bf say we need abt 50 tables and we haven't really sit down to discuss who else to invite.. can foresee nos. will increase lor.. *sigh* gotta come up with quite a huge sum leh...