(2004) Brides of year 2004

pebbles

HI EVERYONE!!!
16266.gif

Being busy at work and home comp is down so can't make any postings...

To all the new comers!!! WELCOME!!!
16267.gif

Please send me your particulars as im doing all the compliation for the 04 thread..
my email address is [email protected]
will be looking forward to your mails

Blurydorey/Doremon,
hope the two of u are feeling much better now and please take good care of yourself

Hi Doll,
no prob...me will update the list and send a copy to each of u..
so how's your hotel shopping coming along???

PEace,
hi hi, both leafy and myself are with BZ and so far im still very happy with their services..
so i dun think we need to worry about anything..
if u need any advise just feel free to check with any of us..

BinBin,
it was nice meeting up again hor, must meet up to yak again...heeheh...
so u done most of your wedding prep already rite...now can shake leg

Shimmeringdream,
Sorry to hear about the sad news, please take care and we can all still be frens...

Lin,
so have u decided on your hotel already, how's Perth??? and how's your summer course??? it's very hot in perth now rite??

leeann

I definitely lost track liao.. so many new comers
Anyway, To all the newcomers, welcome you to this thread. Pai sei, I didn't come in since the outing last Friday. I was really VERY VERY busy recently, all the work and study up to my neck liao...
Though I did not post any messages, but I still come in occasionally to look look see see lor...

Hi Blusher, CC2, wendy26 and Pebble and not forgetting BinBin (though we have met earlier)

Nice meeting you all that day!! sorry, I have to left early bcos I need to go back to office the next day. so how you all yak yak quite late huh? Hope I didn't miss out much after I have left.. hee hee
Well, hope to see you all again and perhaps maybe more 2004 brides-to-be can join us in the next outing... BTW, who pay for my drink huh??

lin

hi pebbles,
yah..very hot. things are ok here for me. dunnoleh..i still haven't choose which one to decide for banquet..*scratch head. never mindlah..still got lots of time. heheh
at least, i decided which bridal studio oredi
save one problem..
pebbles, what particulars you need?

marie

Wow!!

So many messages..me blurz liaoz
hehehehe

Anyone decided on their videographer liaoz??
Me lazy now..ever since confirm on bridal studio and photographers....nua-ing now..kekekeke

elixir

hi everyone.

Cyn and Doll : Thanks for the tips about wedding coordinators. know any good ones to recommend? however, i'm a little bit sceptical of their services.

for the moment, my mom is helping me out a little, and a friend who just had his dinner end of last year. My mom is also quite blur about all this - i mean, who has ever tried to organise a wedding before??? and she has no experience with all this, the poor thing.
i'm not coming back anytime soon. Probably will try to be back in summer, or maybe August, or September for about 2 weeks. By that time, the church and dinner should be booked already, and I'm only going back for food tasting

for the moment, I'm concerned about booking a place for the dinner, within a reasonable budget. things like a package or gowns are not so important, since i'll probably be getting my outfits from here. i'd just like to know what you ask the banquet managers when you go book a venue? or what kind of freebies you can request? i don't need the sort of things like a voucher to come back and celebrate your first anniversary, and all that. more interested in free flow of beer, no corkage charge and knowing a good agent to bring in wines. my husband and i would like to pick out our own wines and import them, but not sure about how to handle the paperwork with customs. any ideas?

binbin

wow wow.....super busy this thread is huh? ;)

first of all, WELCOME to Peace, West and Elixir!
16364.gif
...hope you have great fun here!

Peace, you signed up with BZ huh? hehhee u have some friends here same as you.
pebbles and leafy...who else huh? so who in BZ did u signed up with?

West, well....Raffles the Plaza food is not bad lah. i can't comment much coz the wedding dinner i had there was yrs ago.....But I have my Dinner and Dance there EVERY yr.......but dinner and dance food selection is diff mah coz the org committee is on budget and contract. but for deco wise, i would say it's quite nice....i saw the sawn too, ice carving, bery grand and sweet looking.... have u gone down to meet the coordinator yet? it's good to go down and get a feel of the ballroom and surroundings urself.

Lin, the particulars pebbles need from you are:
Name, Nick, DOB, Off No., Hp No., Pager.,future love nest location, Bridal, Hotel, Date of ROM, Date of Wedding......guess that shld be it....

Elixir, yes i agree wedding planner should be best if you are overseas....or else, if u have close siblings, can ask them to help...as for what to bargain for, i would think things like corkage waiver for hard liquor or wine, at least one free barrel of beer or free flow, food tasting, wedding themes selection(?), day use room for helpers etc ...... but u must go according to hotel, coz different hotels have diff policies one....

blusher, yah hor! i was wondering why pebbles neber took pics leh....so it's coz we too chatty huh? so all of us forgot! hehehhehe....so funnie....

blurydoey! Yucks!!! tissue and NIO (non-identifiable objects)!!!! gross.....get goose pimples jus thinking abt it....told me colleague and he said our water dispenser (though the transparant kind) also got some dirt around the rim of the opening sometimes....things like hair....yucks!!! u better bring ur own water yah? :eek:

Doll, sigh....ur mention of new yr cookies makes me sad leh....me last wkend tried to do some pineapple tarts....stir and cook the pineapple close to 3 hours!!! siong ah! then i send up doing the dough in the wrong proportions....too much flour to butter....end up pastry too hard!!! i am soo sad.....colleague gave me the wrong recipe proportion!! should have relied on the books kind instead of by mouth....sigh......end up wasted the whole afternoon, only feel like doing about 4 small containers...lucky my friend very supportive, keep on helping me eat and saying "it's okie what! " and even took one box for her mum....hhehehee.......

pebbles, yah my home computer oso spoilt... when i on the monitor, it gives off a "eeeeee.....piak!....eeeeee.....piak!" sound.......beri scary hehehhehhee........
me shake leg ah? no lah, now looking for photographer and videographer....
i need a photographer for my rom too.....was thkning i should coz have church service loh....
should be mtg alan soon.

I tot the one in Perth is shimmeringdream, not Lin?? *scratch head*....me blur liaoz.....

leeann! hi hi! really hope you had enjoyed the outing last friday....hope u feel comfortable with us!
pebbles paid for your portion, next time can give her bek lah dun worry she beri nice one....hehhehehe.......
keep us updated on your reno yar?

marie, yes me lookin for videographer too...any to recommend? me should be getting the one who filmed for my friend's wedding, think he's name is eric... i saw in the list that ur dinner is in march??? i tot urs was jan? which one is correct huh?

hehhehe me oso nua leh, quite nua now.....but i know i have to find photographer and confirm him bery soon leh......

doll

binbin,
Can make pineapple tarts not bad already, my FH rather not try my fry egg even cos the last time I wanted to make sandwich for him, he ended up with a crunchy egg and ham sandwich!!.. cos got egg shell..
So u going to make another batch? Keep for our next gathering.. then we can try .. heehee me greedy pig hor?

Elixir
Will check with my wedding coordinator (W.C) if she has done oversea kind like yours or not. So far she very good lor.. but I hardly started yet tho'

Hi Pebbles,
Seen GCW already. FH like the ballroom but not the food lei.. and he place big emphasis on the food.. be going to see Fullerton during the CNY. W.C warn me abt the having to walk down the stair and quite unglam to see the feet first during march in. What u think huh?

Blurdoey
TISSUES??!!! How did it end up inside??? Can one meh?? Wow, your office people really can man!

Peace
Wat abt the shifu thing cny was suggesting? My mum definitely a no-no. So still must wait for tong shu.

Besse
Ya lor.. why wanna celebrate ani every four years, then after 20 years only got 5 aniversary lei?? *Scratch Head*

Ann
can provide the vidoegrapher contact too? e-mail at [email protected]. Thanks!

Hey gals
You all new year must buy things (eg ba gua, abalone) for FIL or not?What u get huh? And when to give?

binbin

hi doll, me last yr make lanterns for PIL. this yr wanted to make pineapple tarts but it was not successful like i said.
hehhee.....so FH suggest I buy Li Zhi Yuan ba gua loh.....
hehhehe ur crunchy sandwich sounds beri cute!

well, abt fullerton, my designer from the bridal studio told me she has seen some ppl walk down the stairs, pulling up their skirts and peering at their feet loh. quite ungraceful.....:p was considering fullerton once so asked the fullerton thread for comments. some say should be okie, just try to look ahead and FEEL the steps with your feet, like what some models do........u can try practising....

cyn

binbin
actually you can get those ready made pineapple paste rite? stil ve to cook meh? i saw my mum bought packets of those. guess it'll be easier.

as for photographer, i would recommend andrew from the edge. saw him at my friend's wedding, he's good & friendly. most likely i'll engage him as my actual day photographer.

doll, i also feel tat walking down those stairs kind of unglam leh. unless you're really steady if not your eyes will be on the floor during the marh in.

blur besse

*bounce bounce*.. me back.. but with partial voice lost.. haha

Wow.. kinda lost track of wat i read 2 postings before every one i am reading.. muz be cos i getting old .. ekekeke

Lin, Exilir, welc welc.. so happy to see more happy peeps joining the thread to prep for all our big days. Lin, which bridal you made up your mind on liaoz??

Binbin, Cyn, Doll.. hahaha. k, k, no chance to put my wicked plan into action.. FMIL thinks it's bad idea to hold on leap year, and she oso thinks not good idea to hold on 28th Feb, cos it's chinese 2nd lunar mth and next year's have a double 2nd lunar month... *roll eyes* and dunno what other stuff.. so will likely bring forward to earlier feb cos if not, means 3 months more cant get married (FMIL too kanjeong for us to give her grand kids so will wanna hv us hitched ASAP)

Hmm.. will update pebbles once i confirm on the new date.

ysday did up a cost analysis spreadsheet with my bf, interestingly, based on same set of assumptions, holding banquet at fullerton on a Sunday can be "afforable".. hmm.. as affordable as Hotel intercon.. will add on conrad to my spreadsheet once i meet up with the catering mgr tomolo pm. *bounce bounce*

binbin

hi cyn, yah me aware of the ready made paste. but coz it's my first time trying pineapple tarts, i wanted EVERYTHING to be made by myself.......ambitious right? sigh........asking for it man.......but though i spend 3 hours stirring the pineapple paste (with my FH helping half of the time), i am happy the paste turn out well loh.
taste the same as those i buy outside leh.....hehhehee......SIGH....just that the pastry cannot make it lah. ;P

besse......u said fullerton sunday is affordable.....after GST and Service charge and CESS it amounts to about $896 leh...how can it be the same as hotel intercontinental? *scratch head*....hope u got consider some are nett prices and some are subject to gst (5%).
hehhee me getting customary on the 2nd lunar chinese month leh......why ur MIL say not good leh? can share?

elixir

binbin, doll, thanks for the tips. pity i'm an only child, so no siblings to help

my hubby thinks i'm stressing too much about it. but for him, its quite simple. he's never heard of such big wedding parties. where he comes from, 100 ppl already too much! and also, he's left it all to me. for his side, just about 2 tables of guests, flying in for the ceremony and dinner. so basically, this is more for my side.
anyone got good feedback about the Mandarin in Orchard? they seem to have a decent menu, and the offer looks good.

binbin

hi elixir, me is an only child too! hehhehee..... ;)

well my 2 cents worth about mandarin orchard. their capacity is quite flexible as they have a mid size ballroom as well as a gigantic one. food wise heard from a colleague that it's not good, dunno how true. price wise reasonable, 700 plus to 800 odd. deco looks a bit too chinese though...and i dun like the seat covers, it's the stretchable elastic kind and some of it's quite stained. saw it when i visited there last few months, but perhaps have changed liaoz. reception area quite exclusive...

shimmeringdream

thanks for all your concern. actually i'd like to ask a wedding-related question ... not mine
my best friend's getting married and i'm going to be her emcee *if it weren't my best friend, i'd stay no flat out* and i'm in urgent need of some advice! anyone knows where i can get make up and hair done below $100? the wedding's on 15 jan. could i bother you to email me please? [email protected]

thanks so much!!!

peace

quite busy at work n can onli come to the forum like twice a week. so a lot of threads to read n catch up.

to doll, cyn - u r rite, my mil does not believe in shifu. the reason being those who depend on wan nian li is also not 100% guarantee. so guess, i really hv no choice.bt i really want mine to be around shortly after CNY 04. doll, i hv not sourced for hotel. likely to do so in apr/may. yup, like u, i will do a list n call them once the tongshu is out. cross our fingers. some hotels in mind are pan pacific, MM, grand hyatt , amara (more exp range) and crown prince, orchard parade etc (reasonable ones). so it is still open. who knows, may change my mind after going down to tok to them personally.no of tables r around 28-30.

bin bin - tks. glad to c happi bz brides. i really hv 2nd tots but definitely would give them chance to serve me to ascertain if i like their services and others (gown etc.). my coordinator is grace. she is nice lah but maybe 'cos i paid the deposit after 3 bridal shops hunt. hence, now keep thinking this is a rash decision n i should hv shopped around more.

hv a good weekend ahead.

binbin

hi peace.
heard grace is nice....perry is beri nice too......went back to her twice when i was scouting around. welll.....in the end din sign up with them but perry was very very understanding, not at all mad, and keep saying that we can still be friends, as it's fated that we should meet in the first place. she said not to hesitate going bek to consult her should i face any doubts with my own bridal......like her beri much....

shimmeringdream, not sure whether sandy ho does makeup and hair for emcee's too, but u can try her.
her no. is 90055210 and she charges $80.
take care and good luck yar?

lin

hi blur besse,

thanx
i signed up with GHA (golden horse awards-tampines branch).

hi binbin,
wah..not bad. at least you can make pineapple tarts.

peace

hi binbin
she is nice but another impt criteria is dat i must be able to find a gown dat i fancy there.
so adopt a see-see attitude now. like i say, will give them chance and will make decision from there.
got good reviews abt them from BZ thread but i m a bit fussy abt gown (though not very willing to pay a lot for Ted Wu etc). of course, i know there will be difference but at least wif wat i pay to BZ, i expect something decent n to my reasonable standard :p
i m difficult customer to please:p, no lah..
jus dat we want everything to go smoothly.
tks.

a&w

Hello! This is Amos & Wendy saying hi. We're currently located in Calgary,Canada'. We're planning for a wedding in Dec 2004, and came across this website whilst browsing for wedding stuff (ie. dinner locations). Our situation is quite the opposite from yours though. You see, we seem to have a problem trying to fill up the minimum number of tables required for a weekend wedding dinner. Dec 4 is our "anniversary", so we're trying hard to keep it on that date. My FW's reaction was, "WHAT?! How do people fill up 50 tables and still have headache!!??" LOL!

So anyway, we'd like to keep in touch with everyone, and hope to get some tips, feedback etc from ANYONE. Being so far away from home, it's kinda hard to plan for a wedding since we can't really take a close look at the locations that we have in mind. Nevertheless, i am due back in Singapore by July 2003,while Wendy won't be returning till Dec 2003. Perhaps we could meet up some time.
BTW, it's also come to my attention that i'm the only GUY posting at Singapore Brides...wonder who said that guys can't get excited like ladies. Sheesh!
Ok. Time for us to koon liao. TTYAL.

annmelody

Been MIA for some time.....busy with school work.
So many threads that i'm lost.... :p

Ann,
How much is the videography? Looking for a reasonable and not bad a videographer.

Pebbles,
You decided on your wedding venue already?

Doremon,
Envy you leh... settle your house already...me decided to delay my renovations till August when i graduate from my course...now energy all on it....even today also in school to do project :<

doremon

Hi A&amp;W,

Welcome to this thread. Well...u r indeed the very first guy in this thread. Don't worry, we are very helpful in here so will try to answer whatever questions u have if possible.

First of all, what is your minimum number? There is a list of hotels and restaurants located within this site that state the minimum number of tables allowed. Perhaps u may want to start looking at the list first.

How abt a quick intro about u and wendy too?

doremon

Hi annmelody,

Welcome back! We missed u here.
Well..one step at a time is good. COmplete your course first then do the renovation is a wise choice. Trust me. I hate it whenever renovation stuff interrupt my studies. My priority is my studies first. :p

Hi Bin Bin,

Pineapple tarts!! Wow...that is not too bad an attempt. I remembered last year when i did mine, my first tray of tarts were blackened becos' i used too high temperature. Next is the pastry too hard then the pastry become too soft.
I used up both sat and sun just to bake and also experimenting.

Here, i shared a receipe with u.

1. 250g of plain flour, 250g of self-raising flour and 250g of butter.
2. 1 egg and 1 egg yolk.
3. A pinch of salt.

a. Sieve flour.
b. Cream butter.
c. Mix and add egg.
d. Knead till soft.
e. Roll into balls and add pineapple filling.

Bake at 175 degree celsicus for 20-25mins.

a&w

Good Morning Singapore! Haha.

Wendy's from Indonesia, and i'm from Singapore. We met 6yrs ago in California, where we were both doing our BAs. Our first date was at a Starbucks around the area, and when they played "I finally found someone" (Adams &amp; Streisand), i knew it was going to be the path we were going to take. Wendy and i moved to Calgary, Canada in 1998 where we've been since. I finally plucked up the courage to buy her a diamond ring, and proposed to her last month. 6yrs seems like a long time to many, but it's only through these 6yrs that we've grown to understand each other, learned a lot about one another, and have managed to make it a wonderful trip down couplehood. It is only through these ups and downs that we've grown at an amazing rate. It is only through these 6yrs that we can laugh with one another, and comfort each other, when the time calls for it. Everytime i watch "The Wedding Story" here on cable, i always find myself on the edge of tears, because i'll always cherish the day when we can start life together in Singapore as newlyweds. We'll always be newlyweds. I want to make everyday special for her, and shower her with all my love...through the good times and the bad.

OK. As far as the hotels are concerned, we've managed to narrow it down to three so far. Conrad, Four Seasons and Goodwood Park. These are the three places that seem to "talk to us". We've yet to receive pictures of the ballrooms (i sent my older bro to check them out among others)! :D
Our only concern is with the food. Anyone been to any of these hotels for makan? Impressions? Ideas? Chances are, i won't be able to get the ball seriously rolling till this July (when i'll be back home for good).
Speaking of which...do you ladies have any waistline defying tips?:D Years in N.America have proven to be detrimental to my tummy.

a&w

OH YES! Our miniumum number so far looks to be 250 pax. I know guest lists will grow as the date draws nearer. It's just me to fret and worry 2yrs in advance. I really want the day to be special for Wendy.
Oh yes, anyone who'd like to contact us can get us at either: [email protected] or [email protected].

THANKS! :D

doll

Dear A&amp;W

Hi, welcome!

I have just been to a wedding aT Conrad. Really beautiful and food was good. You will find that many of us would like to have it at Conrad just that cos their max no. of people is 400, its a little too small for me..

I have a list of the hotels that my wedding coordinator has put together for me judt for reference, it list the min and max tables requirements. Hope it helps.

blurydoey

good morning, gals..
didnt really screen through the postings, my colleuge on leave again, n i have to close my accounts after cny...arghhhh....I see wheather I got time to come in n really look through the postings...Just in case I cant come in on time...Happy New Year!!!!...

a&w

DOLLY: That's bloody hilarious. Seems we have the same problem, just on opposite ends of the spectrum! LOL!

Got your list of hotels, and we've contacted them already. MUCHOS GRACIAS!;)

a&w

BTW, i'd like to apologize to anyone who got bored with my super long post up there...i got carried away. HEEHEE!

binbin

Pebbles, CC2, Wendy, Leeann!!
Remember me said during the latest outing abt the GCW coordinator who mentioned abt the 3 nights stay. well, her name is Lynnette.
good luck!
Blusher, din write ur name coz u settled ur hotel liao. *wink*.

hi A&amp;W, welcome welcome!
very good to hear of you loving ur FW so much.....sweet....
hehehee....
well the 3 hotels u have listed can match your capacity coz all of them are small capacity. so u could work on that. I am a conrad bride-to-be, and am happy with the fact.

one thing u have to take into consideration abt goodwood park is that, if ur guest list is about 26 or so, some of ur guests may be blocked by columns in the ballroom. u have to go down in july to check it out.
good luck!

pebbles

Hi pple...
this thread is indeed getting very busy ah...

First of all, a warm welcome to all the new comers and also the oldies...so nice to see u girls make postings..thought all of u MIA already..
me also abit blur trying to catch up ah, being very busy in the office so can't make postings...thought i shall make a posting before i go home..

Annmelody...me still deciding my hotel venue..headache ah...cant' decide which to take..

Doremon, so u settled with your house thingy already ah...how's your back ah??? do take care ah..
oh, as for my stuff, still pending..will keep u updated..

Peace,
i totally agree with BinBin, Grace is really very nice and like i told the rest, if your package is MTM then no worries cos Linda the designer can do up something which u like...since u sign up with them u must give them a chance...

DOll,
so how ah...your FH dun like GCW food ah, thought i heard it's quite good, maybe u and your FH can look around first before deciding lor..

Elixir
dun worry so much, if u need any help, im sure the girls here will be more than willing to help..
i think getting a WC is a good idea if u really do not have anytime for planning.

BinBin...
thanks for the information, me will be meeting up with Lynette but now me thought of going for pan pac ah but not firm yet..still considering ah...

Lin,
BinBin has answer your question on my behalf already..
i think i will be checking my mails only during the CNY period cos very busy i will send u the updated list after i am done compiling..

A&amp;W,
Hi hi...welcome...u r indeed the only guy around but that's good..
i strongly encouage more guys to come into these thread..
If u need any help, we are all here to help u ...so no worries..
and thanks for sharing your love story with us..
We normally have a mini gathering once every month, both wendy and yourself are welcome to join us when u r back..
I also met my FH overseas when i was doing my degree..and we have being together for 6 yrs too..
and he's just like u, very excited over the whole wedding thingy, he even went for the bridal shows with some of the girls here when i was on business trip..ehehe..
so i understand why u r feeling so excited but hey u have to be super KS when u r preparing for a wedding in spore else u won't be left with any hotels..

moon

I am so happy to know of this website and to see that there so many of you are getting married next year. Cus I am too... : ) My wedding date will most probably be next May. Though a lot of things not firmed yet... The only things that's firmed is I will have a church wedding as I am a Christian and it has always been my dream to walk down the aisle...

Glad to know u all and wish u all a very happy new year but rem to watch wat u put in your mouth! (I am currently going on a diet though don't know will it last as there's so much new year goodies ;p )

cyn

welcome A &amp; W, moon

amos, i can feel you're so much in love with wendy. wendy's a lucky gal.

hi everyone, i'm jumping with joy. jus like to share with your guys, i got my wedding band over the weekend. really like it alot. i've blew my FH budget &amp; he still willingly paid for it. will be collecting after new yr. do you think i can wear it even b4 my ROM?

snow

i'm new here... and wanna check when is the tong shu going to be out?

anyone to advice me pls? thank you very much.

leafy

wow! so many new comers!

Welcome@@

Let me introduce myself...

I'm one of 2004brides second generation "pioneer",
already ROM, waiting for customary in Oct'03. I'm with Bridal Zone \ new flat still building.

Snow,

Welcome to join our big family.
Heard tt tong shu will be out between 2nd n 3rd Q this year.
But heard tt some fortune teller can calculate dates without tong shu leh. Don't ask me how they calculate, cos I oso dunno.

cyn,

Congrats! Where did u buy ur rings from?
eh... wait till ur ROM lah! That magical moment is worth waiting patiently lor...
I felt very happy when my hubby wear the ring for me during solemisation. Felt like giving him a long passionate kiss...but with so many eyes staring.... cannot lah. hee hee...

annmelody,

I can imagine ur stress, having to cope with renov, studies and wedding preparation. Very challenging huh!

But do take care!! Don;t tire out, k?

snow

hi leafy,

thanks for the info. but any recommendation on fortune teller?

my customary in in 04 after CNY, and tot of booking package for dinr together with ROM tea session.

if book 3rd quarter when the tong shu is out, still got much choices?

pls advice. thanks. :)

cyn

leafy
i bought my ring at larry. stl a long way to my wedding leh... maybe i shd bring 4ward my ROM so i can wear the ring 1st... hahaha...

welcome snow
i've a fortune teller contact. email me at [email protected] if you're keen.

moon

Hi Cyn

Yes, I think it'll be magical to put on your ring on the actual day as you both exchange your vows to love each other forever
Do u know where to get good wedding bands, Bvlgari, Tiffany, Larry wat's the diff? I actually preferred Bvlgari but they seem to b quite ex.... Wat abt Soo Kee, Lee Hwa? Any body has any ideas?
How long have u shop around b4 finding the one?

cyn

hi moon
bylgari &amp; tiffany are really ex.. i got mine at larry.. if you're looking for gd quality diamond at a reasonable price, larry would be wat you looking for. if you're looking at design, perhaps bvlgari &amp; tiffany. work out a budget, decide wat you really wan? if you wan to buy from soo kee or lee hwa, get during their sale time, more worth it.

pebbles

Hi ladies and not forgetting A &amp; W..

To all the new brides to be...welcome to the happy family...

Moon,
hey me also having my wedding in May 04..
now looking around for hotel...have booked my bridal package with bridal zone..As for wedding band, i agree with Cyn...Larry has got quite a good range even Lee hwa has got quite a wide collection...u can also pop by Flower at Taka, it's next to Larry, Leanne also got her wedding band there..

Cyn,
Happy to know u got your wedding band already...better to wait a bit longer for tha magic moment lah...me also put my wedding band aside else will sure take come and wear one then wont be special already...so how's your wedding prep coming along ah???

Hi Snow,
i would advise u to go look around the hotels first then once the tong shu is out u will more or less know which hotel u want already then can block the dates straight away...

Leafy,
hey how's yr gown selection ah??? everything ok so far...

sulky besse

hi ladies..

me back.. wow.. so many new comers.. welc A&amp;W, Snow, Moon..

Binbin.. i met cathryn from Conrad.. and we both like that plc a lot.. but unfortunately, 2 things happened -

1. FPIL came up with guest lists (with names oledy.. can you beat their excitement? *roll eyes*) and it came up to more than wat we expected.. so now Conrad too small for us.. muz start looking for ballrooms with 450 - 500 pax. *haiz*

2. FMIL came up with 2 dates - 25 Dec 2003 or 3 Jan 2004... DIE>. only 2 dates.. how to book?? i suspect most of these dates oledy taken... Haiz...

Now very sian.. starting to find it stressful oledy.. and not to mention i am not excited at the prospect of having to lose weight and eat less.. imagine not having to enjoy food... *Groan...

really v sian...

a&w

Eh...forgive my ignorance, but what's this Tong Shu thingy? Auspicious date book?
I guess i'm kinda lucky then. Nobody in my family or FPIL give a hoot about that kind of thing.

PHEW!

doll

cyn
congrats congrats!! Agree witht he rest lah.. wait a bit bit for the "Magical Moment"

Besse
No sluk no sulk.. check with the hotels quick quick and decide .. Mariott also quite nice..

welcome welcome to all new comers..

Snow, I also in the same situation waiting for the tong-shu.. unfortunately mum not flexible so cannot fine fortune teller to choose date.. so like what pebbles say lor.. now selecting the hotel then once got day ..chong ah!!! see whether the hotel I selected avail or not.. but the thing is usu choose by tong shu the date may not be a weekend.. so easier to book.

Blurydoey
Poor thing, must be still closing account so neber see her postings.. Happy New Year to you if you see this posting..

Must follow leafy, do a quick intro..

Hi, I should be the third generation 2004bride, joined end last year. Bought my lovenest already but still at the piling stage only
, doing shortlisting for hotel and bridal boutiques cos waiting for tong shu.

Well Pebbles
Just KIV GCW first lor,now left only 6 hotels
GCW, Conrad, Fullerton, Shangri-La, Ritz and Mariott. Lucky only 6, so got dates then start to call n see if tat day is available..

Ok, gals.. and guy
Wishing you All a Happy and Prosperous New Year. Remember, must watch waistline with all the new year goodies huh..

leafy

Hi A&amp;W,

Tong Shu is a detail chinese calender book (The Almanac actually). It'll tell how auspicious or inauspicious is a day, to do certain activities etc. ...

Pebbles,

ahh...haven go again since that time. Been quite occupied with work, shopping, trying to bake / make some new year goodies, pack my room etc...

pebbles

Hi Doll,
hey the hotels u selected are all very nice but not to worry like u say, if we select the dates base on tong shu might not even fall on a weekend just like mine, so happend fall on a thur so shouldn't have much problem chosing the hotels..
now do your homework first lor..

Sulky besse,
take it easy lah, u still have time just need to start calling up all the hotels and im sure u will be able to find one..
it always happens, the guest list will always grow bigger and bigger so better to chose a ballroom which can hold more tables than your number of tables...it's much safer that way...

cyn

pebbles &amp; doll
ai yo, the magical moment stil very far leh.. so tempted to put it on... the ring like sitting in the box, shouting "put me on, put me on".. haha =) hopefully i can resist the temptation.

banquet, ring, bridal studio all settled loo... actual day photograpy more or less decided. hee.. gog for 1st appt in mar. shaking leg most of the time...

besse
dun sulk, dun sulk lah.. cheers... i'm sure there's one available. but hor your date like very hot leh... so work fast. but i think 3 jan is better choice... your ah yees &amp; brother might party on xmas eve, then cant wake up the next day... jus my opinion.

moon

Cny, pebbles, thnks for your advice on the wedding bands, will go down and take a look

Sulky besse, me also in same situation as you, going on diet, I think I have to lose at least 8kg urghhh.... Even new year has to remind myself not to eat too much or has a hard time to lose them......

Btw, want to ask u experts, wat to do when I go down to a hotel to select the packages, do I go to their reception and ask for their F&amp;B manager or wat shld I do and take note of? Anyway, I am only having a lunch reception after my church solemisation, so I want to find one that is very cosy type....

pebbles

Hi Moon,
u r welcome..
My advise would be to make an appointment with the Catering mgr first and best to go down when there is a wedding so u can see the full set up of the ballroom then if u like the ballroom that is when u start bargining..
Take note of the corkage charge for beer, wine, free seat covers, food tasting for 10 pax. These are the common ones, the rest will depend on what u want..
hope this helps..

Hey sulky besse/ moon,
cheer up..
all the brides here are also trying to lose weight but of course most of them are already very slim...ehehhe...hor...oldies..
but im sure u girls will be able to lose off those weights..me also trying to lose weight but so far *sigh* sad to say still the same lah...

lin

how's preparation so far? i can't do much while overseas.
but the least i could do was to plan the itinery(events) for my wedding day and narrowing down where i would like my dinner banquet to be held so my FH can go book. Feel a bit sad that i won't be around to book the banquet
Anyway, my FH go get the stuffs, i planned how and where it should be done. Just sharing my feelings....

Another thing on my mind is that i don't want to feel indebted to my FMIL. I was thinking of returning the jewellery that she would give me on my wedding day with a thank you card. i don't know if this is offensive towards chinese culture.

Another thing on my mind also, i don't really want to have too formal wedding or too casual. But my FH relatives can really turn up during Tea ceremony wearing home clothes. How to tell nicely in the invitation card regarding dressing?

I was thinking of having western menu for my dinner banquet. Should i inform the relatives beforehand so they won't get shock of their life?

a&w

It's me Wendy! Well like most or all of you, I'm really excited now!! I'm really enjoying every moment Amos and I are planning or just talking about our wedding. So right now we are seriously considering if we should have our dinner at Conrad or Four Seasons. We like both hotels..tough choice!

Hi icechoco,
Well I know what you mean about the appropriate attire. When my brother got married in 2001, we had a formal affair. My brother actually put "formal attire requested" on the invites. Of course there were still some people who didn't bother about that. So perhaps you can do that too. At least people who bother to read the invite will know what to expect. As for the western menu, I think it is a good idea to inform your relatives (or at least the ones closest to you), so if you find out that everyone's not too keen about it, you'll still have the time to change the menu.