Bubbles,

"Xing Ku Ni Le"

CC2

leeann

I am back..
wow, this thread really happening ah.. so many postings after missing a few days. :p me blur blur liao, Dun know how to start..... hee!!

Well, thanks for all your well wishes for my ROM, now upgraded to Mrs... liao... my fren teased me said can call me auntie already..ha ha!

It was really a happy and tired day for me on tat day. The day before, I cannot sleep well leh, I was like pan mong pan xin, I think I am too nervous and excited liao... :p, luckily the next morning still look mei mei.. hee..ya. must mention something about my make-up artist, daniel. I would say he is very good. The make-up he do for me can last the whole day, even until 9pm . my friends all commented that my make-up was nice but I myself feel a bit thick, maybe I seldom make-up wan lor...that's why! I have not developed my photo, so can't comment whether is it nice in photo?? But one thing abt daniel is he is very professional and xi xin, my whole make-up was 2 hrs and he ensured everything is ok before he went off. I have confidence with him. Maybe during our outing, I can show you all some of the photo, then you see for yourself lah..

I went to few places for photography such as Fort Cannning itself, Esplanade, 1 fullerton, and lastly Labrador park to catch the sunset. I did not engage any professional photographer bcos want to save some costs. Luckily, we ve a few gd frens follow us through out. I can only said it was really shed after the whole event.. but of course a happy one...

Now tat my ROM is over, must shift my focus to wedding liao... a bit worried leh, you all so fast, choose venue, bridal package, photgraphy and eveything liao, me have not even started... very chiam hor!!
, maybe you girls can help when I need advice.

Pebbles & Bubbles , me can make it on 7 feb, count me in! C U all soon... :D

marie

Hi Ladies!

so excited now. Me went down Tan Yoong yesterday and he had the designs of the WG and EGs ready for me to choose. Now me in dilemma again, dunno which design to choose. *kok head*
Lucky he told me i oni need to let him know my decisions after CNY..heng..still got somemore time for me to think and crack my head =P

What abt u all? Decided on your gowns design?

blurydoey

GOOD MORNING GALS,
whoa so many posting,thanks pebbles I reced the email liao, I will sms u gals tomolo on what time place u gals prefer.raffles or orchard?
Keeping my fingers crossed not to have my closing on 7 feb.
Leafy,
heehee me same here, sometimes buay song also wont greet my boss, who asks him to deserve it.
marie,
your designer so good still give u so many ideas ar. Never mind u still loads of time to think.Maybe u can try thinking what kind of style or effect u want to give to your guests.
Leann,
hows Being MRS..any difference bor??Must let us see your mei mei pics in our next gathering.
blusher,
try to make it on the 7th feb lor.. must see how slim u are now..kekek.. but dun overstrain, I think i overstrain my tummy muscle, so now when I laugh too hard or cough too hard will feel pain.so cant do exercise for the next few days liao.Your friend slim slim, u also not bad..can ask your designer let u try n see how it looks like.

binbin

dear ladies!!! i just realised something leh! 7 Feb is the 7th day of the new lunar year right? that means it's "Ren Ri". It's a day when most ppl have to go home for dinner right? well, me will have to loh, do that every year.....

oh no........any chance to change date huh?
but if cannot, then i meet u girls after my dinner liao.......:p

doll

oh yes binbin,
u never say never remember .. I also must go back for dinner. Otherwise mum's going nag till my ears drop ...

leafy

Good morning ladies!

It's a monday morning! blue blue.......

Marie,
ur bridal shop so good! Get everything ready n waiting for u ahh!

cyn,
2 of my friends had used universal... photos ok. Don't worry too much.

littlegirl

I'm having my customary wedding in Feb 2004.
Does anyone have any ideas to share? I don't know where to start. Had my ROM in Oct '02 and it was a blast since only close family and very good friends were invited. Now have about 100 relatives to invite plus 100-odd friends each from my husband and my bunch of friends, colleagues, etc. That makes it almost 300 plus *gasp*!

Have a plan to split tea ceremony and Chinese dinner for family on Day 1 and Church ceremony and friends' reception on Day 2. Anyone has any ideas or suggestions to share? I'm just scouting around.

binbin

hi littlegirl, so i guess u r looking for a small ballroom for family chinese dinner? u mentioned 100 relatives. that means 10 tables.......hmmmm....how abt the ocean ballroom in pan pacific, or small ballroom in marina mandarin, Goodwood Park, Four Seasons, Raffles Hotel.....
to have a wider range, u could call up the hotel's catering services, and the 1st question to ask is whether they have ballrooms/function rooms for ur required small capacity. some hotels allow u to carry out the tea ceremony at their premises and have a special corner or function room for u to do that.

for church ceremony i guess u must be close to ur church ppl right? choir, deco and booking can be done thru liaising with the church ppl... the church will usually recommend florist and sometimes do the deco for u too, depending on church.

btw, why are u splitting the friends reception from family dinner huh? and u dun intend to have church service same day as dinner? ust curious.

leeann

Agree with BinBin, ren ri might need to go hme and eat dinner leh.. how abt change back to Jan. Anxious to see you all leh..
BTW, my class started liao, 3 times a week - Mon, Tue and Thurs...very xiong leh!
So, I can only make it on Wed and Fri. Another reason for Jan also bcos I not so busy this mth lor bcos have not start my proj. BTW, anybody study part-time in SIM wan huh??

Blurydoey, not much difference lor... just tat people starting calling you auntie or Mrs Low which make you feel older like tat lor..

cyn

leafy
hopefully my photos will be of the same standard wif wat they showed us. btw, when's ur friends wedding? u know who's their photographer?

hi little girl
y split 2 days huh? u'll be very tired after the dinner then stil have to rush for church ceremony. y not ve church ceremony in the morning, follow by dinner.. u can ve the tea ceremony at the hotel. jus inform your relatives to come earlier.

littlegirl

hello cyn and binbin,

thanks for your help.

We originally decided to split both simply because we've had too many friends who put their relos and their friends/ colleagues together in the same room and at one wedding, while they were marching in, kids were running around with the twisted balloons decorations AND screaming!!Goodness, after that, my husband told me, "Maybe we should split this church ceremony and family thing up?" His family is not very Christian and they may not be accustomed to the behaviour at such a ceremony (but that can still be arranged- just a matter of education right?)

Then, there was another wedding where the tea ceremony and the actual Chinese dinner were split betw Fri and Sat and the bride looked really radiant and had lots of energy! That's really really encouraging! I guess if I have a pretty supportive bunch of friends to make up the brides' and grooms' party it'll be alright but the initial hassle of deciding on a concept, is as you can imagine, nerve-wrecking!

My husband is very "teochew" so we have to do this pick me up at 4am(!) thing. Which I'm definitely not happy with but what to do? In for a penny, in for a pound right? If I manage to convince him in the next year before the actual thing, I think I'll have more sleep and less eye -bags!

Looked at Four Seasons and possibly going to try out Marriott. Anyone had experience with Marriott or others? This'll be for the Chinese dinner. For the friends... we're thinking of Jing Rest'nt (the old Lan Kwai Fong which looks really Chinesy or My Humble House at the Esplanade).

Any comments?

binbin

okie, i see ur concerns littlegirl.
well, me personally prefer four seasons to marriot, though both their food heard is not bad. four seasons have a super luxurios reception area, and marriot ballroom is the intelligent lighting kind loh which i dun really like. personal preference lah.

littlegirl

Thanks binbin!

I agree about the Marriott's lighting. Kinda reminds me of a Chinese period swordfighting drama when it turns purple and pink! But our friend had a wedding there Christmas 2002 and it was really beautiful.

Maybe it really has something to do with the guests (who were really well-behaved and dignified!) But I'll take the place into consideration...

What about you? Sorry, I haven't done my homework and read this entire thread. So *guilty* and can't really say I know everything about everyone's wedding plans!

bubbles

Hey, thanks BinBin, didn't realised 7th is ren re. So shall we have it on 28th Feb instead? if you guys prefer 24th Jan, I can arrange for you but I won't be able to attend cos of company function.

Let me know which days you guys prefer please.

shimmeringdream

hi everyone, wow this thread really has been growing! i'm still in perth on 'holiday' and it's super boring here. for those of who you are thinking of perth for honeymoon, DON'T!!!!

but one good thing though. i bought my ROM dress!!!! it cost just over AUD $200! it wasn't something i thought i'd wear but i just tried it and wow it was so nice! i'll try to get a pic of it to show you girls
so how is everybody!

pebbles

Hello pple....all the fellow pretty 04 brides and of course the ones who decided to have it at end 03..
so how's everyone??
Bubbles,
woman, u r the one orgaising it so u must go mah..
oh how about this friday..?? might be abit rush lah but see if the rest can make it or not cos i think it's quite hard to meet up during the CNY period..

BinBin,
hey happy u got your rom dress already, must take more pretty pics to show us ah..
so how u feeling now ah..eehhe..excited or not??? another two more months to go..
but i think your rom is going to be such a big affair cos u making it so lovely...then u mention Poppy Flora Studio, they do garden decor too ah but i bet they are very ex rite, u getting them to do your church decor..??

Cyn,
dun worry so much, i think Serrich is also with your bridal, she hardly post now, must be busy with her studies..anyway, i seen your bridal pics, not bad so dun worry so much i guess if u just have to push them for what u want

Leeann,
wow, your rom sounds really nice with all your frens around u..and of course all the nice pics which u have taken...so now it's finally over, u can focus on your wedding prep already..

cyn

littlegirl
i prefer four seasons to marriot. 4 seasons ambiene is excellent.

shimmering dreams
wow so shiok, having holidays.. how long u staying there? yah, heard tat perth is very boring. now the weather shd be pretty warm rite?wil u be gog to other city? take care & enjoy.

doremon

Hi Bubbles,

I think i can make it this friday too. If not, i should be able to make it on the 28th Feb also.

Hi Leeann,

Congrats!!

HI all,

Wow! lots of postings till i cannot catch up with it.

Hi Little girl,
Welcome to the 04 brides family

Hi Shimmerdream,
yeah..Perth is indeed a very boring place. But well...u got your ROM dress to compensate for it!
Glad to know that you have found the perfect one. Do remember to show us the picture.

doll

Err... Lost already .. too many posting ..

okok, one at a time..

Hi littlegirl

agree with the rest, four season really very nice. fren had a 12 table for friends there last year .. heard really good review.

Hi Bubbles,
28 Feb can. Think this week a little tight but let's see the majority.

Shimmeringdream
wow, still in perth ah? so good. Must show us the dress k? but weather there pretty warm yah? can tahan?

Aiyo..everyone all planning banquet and boutiques, I still cannot leh .. no dates.. only good news is mum just went to check, tong shu will be out this june/july.. then we can start our preparation.. yippee... wish time move faster .. heeheehee

littlegirl

hello hello

thanks everyone for the warm welcome!

I'll take your cue on the Four Seasons one. We should have no more than 200 guests(!) for family and similar for friends and colleagues. All this planning is scary. No one told me during the ROM that the wedding would be so tedious!

ps: tried to get out of this 4am "pick-up-bride" thing y'day. Didn't work. Hmmmmm...

bubbles

Hi Everybody,

Good idea Pebbles!

Ok,the following brides who can make it this Fri are:
Pebbles,
Blusher
CC
Annmelody
Doremon,
Bubbles
Doll (pls try!)

The rest please reply asap! Pebbles, can you do me a favour and write to all the gals in our email too in case they check their email? Thanks!

leafy

Bubbles,
This friday fine with me.

In case need to email me, please cc my yahoo or company account. Given up on this network liao!
last time can't access yahoo, now can't access lycos. *sigh*

binbin

hi littlegirl. if it makes u feel better, me probably will have to be picked up at 4am too!
coz i am a teochew girl....hhehehee......but see if my dad wish to enforce this lah....

bubbles, me same as doll. 28 feb is good, coz u can make it hehhehee.....
this wk rather tight but see the majority.

Pebbles!
u ask me if i using poppy for church deco ah? *Faint*. cannot lah if i use them for church deco sure broke hahhaha.......their flowers and arrangements are heavenly but church deco could be pretty ex. BUt are considering using them for the Conrad deco though. coz may not be settling for the default deco (white roses and tulips at stands and stage, floating gerberras and tealight candles in centrepiece)......wish to add some colour and cheer....

me making my ROM lovely meh? hehhehe.....no lah, i must have been talking a lot abt it that's y u have this impression huh? or is it the church service?
i hope it will be lovely too, though my ROM dress is unlike the typical church dress-up (wedding gown).....will cross my fingers and pray.....

leeann

Hi pebbles, bubbles

Friday is ok with me, just started my class, so quite relax now...can't guarantee in Feb bcos, with most of the projects due that month, I guess I will be very busy.

Doll, dun worry lah, U r not the only one, I also ve not done anything for banquet and bridal. My FH still takes it very easy leh...
sometimes so angry with him..!! well, I will start looking for banquet first. Gals, do you know how much deposit usuallly we must place when we confirm banquet??

pebbles

hello pple...
15571.gif

Bubbles,
i will send a mass mail to all the brides later..
only got to see your posting now..
sorry for the late respond..

BinBin,
heheheh...me thought u getting them to do up the church decor for u mah..ahahh...cos u sound so happy with their good service but like u, i might get additional decor too cos i think the default decor can get abit boring hor but then hor again it's also if there's budget for it lah.ahahh..
oh, like leafy me also always wanted a church wedding but too bad lah my parents not christan and dun think my grandma will be very happy if i have a church wedding..

Littlegirl,
welcome to the happy family..
me agree with the rest of the girls, Four seasons ballroom is lovely..
should go for that if u can afford it..

Errr...to those that find Perth boring ah, me happend to miss that place, i think that place is lovely and if u know where to go, it's really a very lovely place...just my 2cent worth of input...

shimmeringdream

yeah still in perth. pebbles, i agree with you that it's a wonderful place. it's really beautiful. the only bad thing is that everything closes at 5pm and i'm here for classes which means i get off at 5pm!!! after 5 you only have a couple of things to do
1. go pubbing (which i don't like)
2. go for coffee (i think i've drank more coffee here than ever in my life!)
3. watch tv (we get only 4 channels in the hostel ... the only exciting show is some gay sitcom on monday nights)

pebbles, maybe you can tell me where to go?? i'll be leaving next monday. thanks!!! (i'm staying at erica underwood house in bentley if you know where that is, opposite curtin university.) my email is [email protected]

pebbles

Hi SHimmeringdream,
i know where that is, me from Curtin Uni mah so Bentley is my hang out..ahahha..
i guess u can go watch movies, there movies there are nice not like spore, then can go shopping late nite shopping in the city area, hay street and suburb shopping on thur nites and have u gone to all the weekend markets yet and the lovely beaches there...me will email u a few places to go, actually u can also join the day tours to see waverock and stuff, very nice one

shimmeringdream

hi pebbles thanks for your help! the movies here are quite backdated actually. they only started showing 'the guru' here... there was a fire at hay street (subi) last week, just after we left. scary ...

okie i wait for your mail!!

pebbles

Hi shimmeringdream,
actually not true lah, there are certain movies which will be flimed in perth first before coming to spore but i also know of movies are not much slower , will email u tonite..
u take care of yrself...hey while u r there, go check out the wedding gowns there, i fell in love in a WG there but it's so ex, cost around 2.9k ah..

shimmeringdream

hi pebbles i think i got your email
i bought my ROM dress already. at garden city. yippee! but it's not a real wedding dress kind. just something nice to wear in the afternoon :D

lin

hello everyone!
i'm new to this 2004 bride thread. my wedding day will be 10th & 11th April 2004. It's so nice to see so many postings here.. read until blur* :p But i'm so happy to read you guys thread. Can share feelings & information regarding our preparation for our weddings!
hear you guys going outing...how i wish i can join...

pebbles,
you're from curtin too? me too
when is your wedding date?

shimmeringdream,
are you in perth now? heheh...me too!!! i'm living in vickery house now!!!
when is your wedding date?

pebbles

Hi Shimmeringdream,
hey woman, i haven't emailed u cos was busy and gone out the last few nites, intend to email u today looks like some nice person have send u that email..will be emailing u later..
hey Garden city is my favourite shopping mall..me used to hang out there..eheheh...cos my aunite's place was at applecross so it was the nearest mall for me to go to..

Hi Lin,
Welcome to the 04 bride thread..
so u will be a april bride ah...me a may bride..
u r currently in Perth ah...so envious ah...me from Curtin too so u finishing your last semester ah....i love Vickery house...eheh..i always will hang out at my frens' unit and have dinner with them..ehhe..
so what degree are u doing now..???u will be more than welcome to join us in our outing when u return from perth

lin

hi pebbles,
hmm..may bride
so, have you finalize the date yet? how's your preparation so far? yes, i would love to join you guys when i return for good. so far, i've only booked my bridal studio. i'm still searching for the venue for my dinner.

pebbles

Hi Lin,
so which bridal studio did u sign up with??? do u have any venue in mind, i have sign up for my bridal..but still looking around for venue..

so when will u be coming back for good..
enjoying life in Perth?

cyn

hi lin

welcome to the thread. you shd be having your holidays now rite? you not coming back to spend new year with your family? jus curious =P

lin

Hi pebbles,
i sign up with GHA(Golden Horse Awards). so far oklah. i only went for the 1st appt to confirm the design of my WG. which bridal studio did you sign up? hehe...same with me. i also looking around for venue. i have a few venue in mind. AM, Hyatt, Orchid CC, royal crowne plaza, Hilton. how about you? i will only be coming back for good end of this year. i'm not really enjoying leh. i'm doing summer school

Hi cyn,
thanx! me not having holidays now. i won't be coming back until end of this year. when is your wedding date? how's preparation?

blurydoey

welcome lin!!!!
pebbles,
last nite then realized I didnt bring my ezlink card, heng still got coins to go home..
This morning, I hiaw go n tidy up my warddrobe n bend too long, now my back cannot stand real straight .so suay..

pebbles

Lin,
so i guess u must have booked your bridal package when u came back for holidays lah...im with bridal zone and so far shortlisted GCW and Marriott should be either these two..love Panpac ballroom but got quite bad review from some girls so left them out of my list..
i think Hyatt's ballroom is lovely but too bad low ceiling i like those ballroom with high ceiling..

Cheer up girl...
15855.gif
i know how u feel, i did summer during final year too and hated it as well, hang in there, u will finish before u know it, do come in here and we can update u on our lastest findings..ehehh..
15854.gif

Blurydory,
hey woman u ok or not?? so today u on MC ah...did u see a doc in the first place...better take care....

lin

hi pebbles,
yes, of course i will come in here...and get all your suggestions and findings
hehhe. GCW? hehe...what does it stand for? sorry har..me blur*
hmm..pan pacific, they actually have nice themes for their wedding deco. but i didn't know they had quite bad reviews from some girls. where's bridal zone boutique located?

hi blurydory,
thanx! take care of yourself.

chiart

i am back...not joining u gals for the dinner...sorry...keep me in view of future gatherings though

hi cyn,
how is your wedding preparations coming along?
hi pebbles,
thanks for your hotel lists....good and useful..and the updated contact list as well

binbin

blurydoey, u okie or not? how come bent to tidy clothes will hurt back ah? careful lah! *sayang sayang.....*....so u rest at home kae? better dun come out too often nor join us for the dinner.

Hi Lin, Welcome!
15900.gif
my wedding will be in march 2004.
so me in march, you in april, pebbles in may....hhehhee....
which month will u be coming back?

hey girls, dinner tonite still on??? can send email again me forgot where to meet liao....:p

blurydoey

gals,
me not joining liao, I am now resting at home. My ah lau dun allow me to go out
. He said I like that still want to go out. Sorry gals got to miss today gathering again..
I too lazy so bent down to tidy the clothes n becos I am tall so also dunno how suddenly one crack sound, n sway liao..Initially thot no big deal but in the evening more painful so went to see sinseh. This morning better, just that cant sit too long still will feel the strain lor.

cyn

lin
summer class hmm.. bear with it, you'll be back soon.. cheers.. wow, you've actually went for your 1st appointment, that's early. my 1st appointment in march. my bridal shop, universal, stil say i so early for wat. *sigh. mine one 7th jan. i've booked with GCW (grand copthrone waterfront). AM, Hyatt, OCC quite good. i would encourage hilton. find the hotel kind of old.

blurydoey
how's your back? better? rest more k.

pebbles
unless you go for hyatt grand ballroom... if not the other ballroom have low ceiling. but i love stamford & hibiscus room. tat's my 2nd choice.

hi chiart
hey i'm gog for 1st appointment in march. my friend shortlisting songs for me to choose. she like more anxious than me.. hee.. but so lucky to have her ard helping me. wat abt you? have you finalise your banquet? looking forward to meet you =)

ladies
cant make it tonight... next time k... enjoy enjoy hor

doll

blurydoey

u better take care .. stay room rest rest..

Lin

welcome welcome.. so wat's your target no. of pax for dinner? It will help eliminate some ballrooms .. Me now got 60 tables.. but want Fullerton.. so got to choose between taking out guests or changing place.. sigh ..

All the gals who's meeting tonite..

Have fun and tom must fill us in ok? So who arranging the next outing huh? Me volunteer to assist..

All those who are not meeting ..

Let's all try to make it for the next one. It will be nearer to our wedding day .. Yippee..

doll

hi cyn

me trying to convince mum not to invite those uncle auntie i never see before one.. trying very hard .. ;)

Was told Fullerton max at 45 to 50 tables. Hmm.. may take out 50 guest from each side ..

lin

hi binbin,
thanx! okie..march wedding. earlier than me
hehhe, can tell me your experience. so have you booked bridal studio yet or the banquet?

hi cyn,
ok..will consider your suggestion.

hi doll,
thanx! wah..you got so many tables har?? i'm sticking to only max 20. phew, luckily for me, my parents understanding. i refuse to allow them to invite those not close relatives. i told them the dinner banquet is only for those close relatives & friends. i'm splitting my guests. that's why my wedding will be for 2 days. because my mom alone, she has 11 brothers & sisters. my dad has 10 brothers & sisters. buay tahan....