(2004) Brides of year 2004

stardus

ME? no preparation yet. Haven even found a Bridal Studio, hahah, my hubby say still early. But I have targeted Whitelink. Think I will go there and see what they have. If he don't like it, then I will look for another one. No point having too many in mind cos it will hinder decision making.

Well, thats my point of view.

blue_lake

Hi Piper,

Thanks for the pics. They looked great and I love the one titled main 8. My hubby's colleague also using Milan and heard his fiancee is not happy with the service they provided. *Shrug*

Smurfy, think taking full board may be a wiser choice cos my hubby's boss just went there earlier and he mentioned the food there is very expensive.....a bottle of mineral water is USD $5. Same cost for a can of Coke. He rather take red wine as it is also USD $5. Haha....He stayed at Maldives Banyan Tree though. May be more ex.....

Well, I've yet to finalize the Photo Selection. I did mine but my hubby yet to select....tough choice, lotsa of nice pictures but money no enough......: (

keann

Madwomam:
YUPZZZ..back in SG olediz...raining is actually good...weather is more cooling this way...
Hey do you tik i can get mdm chua's contact from you...thought of seeing her sometime in Jan...

But i am soo busy unpacking my stuff...my god...I REALLY GOT TONS N TONS of stuff!!!!

Emeline:
Dun be turn off by ebay....just need to learn how you can seriously bid and then pay for your items...ebay is easy...and can get good stuff there too....

About my gown...not sure watcha wanna know...errmm...when i went online to search for gowns...i sorta knew wat kind i wanted...so very targetted when searching for gowns. I chose the corsette style..reason being that the zip-up kind...may be difficult to alter if it doesn't fit well. For corsette style, you can adjust the waist and bust area quite a bit....and i wanted off-shoulder...so tat's how i went around looking for it....
As for tiara...i just look at the designs..email the seller with questions like shipping etc etc...and then just bid...paid and got my item for a reasonable price...i tik i bought my tiara for about $40 including shipment from the US....

Hope this info helps!

Cheers....SINGAPORE ROCKS!

mee_mee

Hi Ladies....

Many days haven't check and so many postings....

Seems most of us have confirmed number of photos chosen... I am still waiting to collect my album in Feb. Any of you already collected yours?

mee mee

poshies

Ok, Updates again!!
AD, Venue, Bridal Shop, PS (Photographer), AD Photographer

02nd Feb
- Piper (Grand Copthorne waterfront), Milan. PS:, AD: Blinkstudio

07th Feb
- Smurfy (Raffles The Plaza), Lezen & Ted Collection, PS: 2 Oct (Andrew, The Edge), AD??
- Dumpling (Pan Pacific Hotel), Bridal Veil, PS/AD - Kelvin (Beetle @ Work)
- EC - Venue?, Bridal Veil, PS: Jan (Travis)

08th Feb
- Odie (Fullerton), Silhouette, PS: 24 Nov (Kim, Studio D'fia), AD - Albert(Everafter)
- Miso (Fullerton - Jade), Silver Cloak, PS: 16 Dec (Kelvin, Bettle @ Work)

15th Feb
- Blue Lake (Merchant Court), Kai Bridal, PS: 12 Dec (Chris Ling), AD - KC (Greymatter)

21st Feb
- Ocean (88 Restaurant), Paris De Bridal, PS 7 Nov, AD - Photo: Still searching
- Pageup (Noble House), Everbliss, PS: 18 Oct, AD: Alan Dai & Eric
- Amethyst (Intercon), Amor Meus, PS??? AD??
- Poshies (Peninsular), Camillia, PS: 18 Dec (Kelvin - Beetle @ work), AD - Photo: Still searching
- Xue (Grassroot club), French Bridal, PS: 5 Dec, AD - ??

28th Feb & 1/3
- Mee mee (Orchard Parade Hotel), Graceful Image, PS: 12 Oct, AD - Qinzhong (Greymatter)

29th Feb
- Voice (Holy Matrimony: Trinity Theological College Chapel, Dinner: The Chevrons), White Link, PS: 8 Nov, AD: Kayledoscope

poshies

Hi Piper,
Nope.... din not received it.... but nevermind had just review your pic.... wow that is a lot... is thia all the selected pic... did u pay a bomb of that.... but there are really nice.... must had hard time chosing them....

Hi Ocean... I also say so.... had spent so much $$$ must really cut down on expense so have more money during HM... right... *smile* so how is ur selection on the AD phototgrapher getting on.... fall sick after PS (luckily) so din when to meet anyone this few days.... kooning at home...

Hi Miso,
kopay a bit which actual day package u pick at Kelvin. Yup I'm using Kelvin from Beetle at work.. still hunting for my AD Photographer... tight budget....can't afford Kelvin for AD.

Hi Amethyst,
Kelvin is very nice to work with, but have not collect the CD from him so can't ipload to show u gals yet.... now only have the printed copy of the pic....

Pick up my card tofay... so only left with HM and AD Photographer plus guest list and music selection left... so good that had completed many thing in a short period.... so how is the rest of the gals getting on with the preparation.... think we should give ourselves a clap for complete all the stuff.....

shinchan

I have only completed my indoor shots and only abt 6-7 outdoors shots b4 it started pouring. So I'll be back on 4 Jan for my outdoor shoot.

Actually I'll consider it to be a very fun experience. Both HB & myself enjoy it very much, although we r not those who like to take photos
Hence we r both looking forward to our outddor shoot 2 weeks later

So for those who have taken their PS earlier would have seen their pics liao, so how izit? How much did u gals spend for ur pics?

Aiya, I haven't start on cards yet cos still waiting for my parents' guest list. Jus to check wif u gals, izit that we have to tell our hotel how many tables then can collect beased on the % given???

cc2

Hi Shinchan,

hehehe... I enjoy my PS too! A lot of pple say very tiring but I had 2 but still find it very fun. I just collected the proof of those pics which I choose today.

I also dunno abt the cards leh! Dunno can collect more if we guarantee more tables nearer the day or not?

cawaii

hi cubby,
itz ok.. dun hve to search for the website, can always ask the tour agency.

hi girlfriend,
so where u going for ur photo shoot? will u be bringing ur own camera? then show us first..

tsubame

Hi blim, I took the whole of my outdoors at Sentosa. Ran around 4-5 locations in between the rain. Really great load off mind now that it's over.

Shinchan, I also enjoyed both my PS, especially the studio one very fun. The outdoor more tiring cos 'playing hide & seek' with the rain.

Regarding the cards, I think the hotels give a certain % of confirmed tables booked.

blim, I also haven't collect the cards, and haven't confirmed with hotel either when collecting, not to say source for printers.

And not all pple throw away the cards. I kept all the cards I've received.
Including the program of the church weddings I've attended.

piper

Hello Blue Lake,

So far, I'm quite pleased with Milan's service. To be frank, I must say I'm quite heng that my co-ordinator is a patient lady.

Hello poshies,

Thanks for the update! My mistake...I tot i had e-mailed u the pics but actually did not...

Tat's all the photos tat i've selected and I've topped up another $900 on top of the 22 which they had given me. But I'm considered a small spender compared to other couples who splurge $2-3K in topping up the photos.

They took about 300+ shots during the PS...& I really had a hard time picking the photos. Luckily, my hubby was "zai" one.

mee_mee

Hi Piper,

How many pages does your album have? Are they 10R or 15R?

Hai.... i am one of those who splurg 2K for additional photos... :p

miso

hi poshie

i am taking the 300 pic + 10R album from him
i think it costs around $1600 or $1700 . cannot remember coz receipt missing

Eh...didn't evapourate lah...not made of sugar

Keanne, this weather not bad, right? Good for resting and sleeping in
Have fun unpacking, with this weather, at least there's less incentive to go out.

I've stopped preparing for my wedding. Shall wait for next yr before moving along again.

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

madwomaninattic

Hello Keann - Feels good to be back home hor
Ok the Auntie Chua's shop is located at Holland V but call her to ask for location & charges (Tel~6468 4174). I also found this Cheongsam shop in Holland V near to BreadTalk which is not bad. Dun fret about the unpacking. I started to unpack only after 1 week
Take care of your health as its easy to get sick being back in this weather. I kena stomach flu when I came back.

Emmeline - I used to enjoy buying new chemise and camisole set on eBay until I received some items not in "listed condition" lor. Abit annoyed but I sold them back in received condition. So thank God lor

Sooooo.... most wedding prep at standstill huh?? Whats everybody doing for Xmas?? Going anywhere nice??

Merry Xmas and advance Happy New Year to everyone.

Oh btw... this is our last year to collect ang pao in January CNY!!!

I'll be going to malaysia on the 26th and will only be back in 2004!

It's gonna be another eating spree...before the "must lose weight" resolve kicks in again. haha!

Ya hor...this is the last time we'll be collecting ang pao...and my fiance won't be ard during that period...sigh...

piper

hello mee mee,

I've got 16 pages...i think..I din count. They are 12 by 15...so shud be 15R rite?

Of course every bride would like to keep all the photos...but we've got a budget & am glad tat we stick to it. Anyway, all the poses look almost the same. I din feel the need to choose so many photos...

Another reason is tat the studio will give us 1 anniversary photo every year for a lifetime. We can always go back to take our photos every year. Think that more or less make it up for me choosing so few photos.

fairymoss

Confirm sales in mid-july. Asked friends and colleagues who went there for studies and also went for annual sales a few times. Hmm...they recommend a place called Foxtown (i think that's the spelling) at the border of Switzerland, quite rural, must navigate a bit to go there. colleague was saying the D&G boutique is a whole stretch and it's 3 storey high!! hmm..but not sure whether there's hotels there where u can stay.

annmiko

Yup. Booked but he said must see his ICT date first so I'm checking for him. hehehe.......
If he suay suay kanna ICT on that date, I will have to look for a AD all over again......Hopefully not.

lovebyte

Poshies, here's my update:
Big Day - 7th February
Bridal Shop - Bridal Veil
Photo Shoot - 16th Jan - Travis, Utopia
Wedding Reception & Dinner - Four Seasons & Club Chinoz
Actual Day Photographer - Kin Ching, Greymatter

Dumpling: We share the same day and the same bridal shop - will definitely bump into you sometime then! Have you done your pictures yet? Will love to see them..

Piper - Your pictures are most lovely - I will be using Travis as well - any feedback/advice to share? Where did you go for outdoors...think I saw Sentosa, Fort Canning?

eternity

i'm new to this thread here.... my AD is on 19th Sept...

i am currently looking for a BS... been looking around the last few weekends and have narrowed my choices to three....
1) Ivory Aisle
2) Amanda Lee Weddings
3) Camellia Haute Couture

it's a tough choice between the three of them as they all are great in one way or another... headache....

anyone has any comments that may be helpful to me??? appreciate it...

still in the mist of sourcing for PS and AD photography....

keann

DJ:
Yuz....it's been raining so heavily..but definataly nice weather...but still lazing around ...moreover..it's the christmas season...so really really R&R mode! hehehee....

Madwoman:
Thanks for the Mdm Chua's no...will prob go sometime in Jan....cos now, hubby on leave...must enjoy...hehehee.....Also, u better take care of yourself...i've been making barley and drinking liang cha when i am back....and sleep well..dun stay up too late also...

My wedding prep a little bit stopped liao..hehehee...mayb a start again in Jan...after the unpacking...actually should start unpacking now...cos later this week...my 70kg of stuff coming in...hehehee....

OK...have a good day EVERYONE!!

Talk to you all soon!

piper

Hello EC,

My PS was done by my BS - Jaki from O-Studio & Christine. So I can't comment on Travis' works

We only went Sentosa & the rest were taken at the bridal shop along Tanjong Pagar.

It'll depend on what do you like for your photos. My husband and I were quite lazy people so we think the best place to go is Sentosa..coz got sea, beach, buildings & nature all rolled into 1...kekekeke....Even the photographer's assistant also know that we are lazy people when he asked where we would like to go for outdoor PS.

binbin

hi girls, we also enjoyed our outdoor shoot a lot! really happy and enjoyable, hehehehe... we prayed for good weather and were very lucky to have no rain at the places we went to. viewed the pics last wednesday, and like them very much. so much that we were horrified at how many we choose. so going back again to have the 4th round of elimination hehhee..... we are not prepared to spend so much more to top up.. :p

our house is completed liao! so happy, finished decorating it except some little items. but kitchen stuff not yet buy. last night we welcomed the first batch of visitors hahahhaa my relatives...

dabee

Hi Annie:
you must get YK to check his ICT asap. hope that he would be available if not ask him to postpone his ICT. hee hee hee
Hi Eternity: i duno about this 3 BS. since you like these three then compare what they are give you in their packages. you going to MTM or OTR? if OTR, so you have tried their OTR gowns? i think how comfortable are you with them is important. PS is outdoor/indoor photoshoot, right? PS not included in their package??? usual AD photography is not included try to bargain for it. hee hee

where is your dinner venue?

miso

hi odie

as ours is not considered a "fullerton" wedding, we will be getting only a deluxe room. manager said she will try to get a sea facing deluxe room for us. we have to pay extra if we want to upgrade to a suite. (more than $500!!!)

i guess you will be having the bridal suite on that day right? can grant us a tour?

I wonder...

anyone knows wat flowers are in season during the Month of May?
Sometimes I catch myself thinking about floral decor and just too bad I'm not into flora at all.

Wat are the flowers you're getting for your wedding?

Another thing that stumps me is...Wat's the theme for my wedding. Does everyone have a theme? Maybe I like spontanity...maybe I'm too plain lazy to think about it.

Keann, Madwoman...are you all like gonna bum until your wedding? or are you gonna look for a job?

kenji

Hi all, anyone intend to postpone their wedding dinner? We are hoping to hold our wedding dinner in Mar 04. But seems like its fully booked. Thanks

emmeline

hi keann,

thanks for the info ! it sure helps.
So, u bought just 1 tiara frm ebay ? and it was exactly what it turned out to be on the website ? what colour was it ? By the way, u mentioned 40 SG bucks & not US bucks is that rite ? How long did the shipment take frm the time u won the bid and settled the payment ?sorry for the numerous qstns.

By the way, welcome home ! Hope you enjoyed your convo. Weather in Oz must be better than SG.

Weather very crazy & cold here for past few weeks. Shops, streets and mrts packed like sardines & ants too. So, sometimes, not so 'fun' to go shopping here, not like in Oz where its cooler and not so crowded.

Madwoman : ooohh .. i see... so i guess its best not to buy clothing/lingerie frm ebay....
Have u bought tiaras b4 too ? How were they ?

fantasy

Hi Ladies...

Girlfriend mei mei taking photoshots over there now... so xian mu
let's all pray for fine weather... hee...

Cawaii, think no one bring camera to own PS... later the photographer face black black. Moreover the couple will be very busy... no hands to hold camera too.

Me watched LOTR yesterday. It's a very long show, more than 3 hours. Sit till hubby and I back-ache. But it's a good show. didnt make advance booking but think gvs cinema have many shows per day so shldnt be too difficult to get tix now. We queued for our our tix 20 mins before the show. For those who have yet to watch it, a word of advise, do visit the loo before the show and do not drink too much water. Hubby and I "lun" (endure) till buay tahan, end up having to walk out to toilet 2hrs 45 mins into the show... haahaha

odie

Hi Miso,

Hopefully you will get a room with a good view. =) So will you get a one-night or two-night stay?

Yupz... we get the loft suit for a two-night stay. Sure... if you come over on 8 Feb... can get Albert to take photos for the 2 brides... muwahahah :p

emmeline

DJ,

Roses seem to be the all-year-round flowers available.. i think gerberras, orchids and sunflowers are around in May too... the rest i dunno...
I have left it to my florist's wild imagination.
but of coz i have given him my color theme. I decided on a cream and lilac - Romantic theme. hehe... like real...
Have u confirmed ur florist ? Actually floral arrangements can be left to the latter few months, after u confirm your day & evening gowns. Otherwise, u can just drop a couple of ideas to your florist and let him dream up something nice for u closer to the date.

Hey, u going M'sia too ? Me too... going to visit my future-in-laws with my fiance in Ipoh.
Hmm.. hope it won't be too boring...
oops...just kiddin.

By the way, a VERY BLESSED and MERRY Christmas to all of you !

jamci

Hi Ming Wee,
wow so late, less than 3 months to go if u still want to consider mar'04. Have u source your ideal bridal studio yet? Think it will be fully booked for most hotels unless u prefer restaurants. Or u can choose weekdays. But if u choose a hot date, then it will be hard. Mine is on weekday yet it is so hot. Got three couples same date as me.

madwomaninattic

Errr... everybody not working izzit?? So free eh??

DJ - I am looking for a job currently like you lor... but then I have a tentative teaching job offer (subject to pay package negotiation) in Tianjin where my husband is currently working. Still nagging everyday to ask him to come back to find work in SG leh. Now took initiative to send out resumes on his behalf

As for flowers... I know lilies don't look very in May/June becos cannot "nai" in very warm weather
and tulips aren't in nicest blossom yet. Considering that May-July is the hottest months your may want to take something else. I want purple + pink tulips leh... But for the time being can dream on lor...

Emmeline - You sama sama as me!!! I also wanted a creme + lilac wedding theme but my mum says not a very chinese or auspicious colour
Sian liao... I also haben start thinking leh... thinking of a chinese oldies theme... but like very cheena like that!!

Keann - I hope you find your dream tea-dress soon but everyone ban me from making one now... say will not fit by the time if I cont to eat non-stop. Am going to buy the Fancl shaping lotion to try later today
But then hor... how come you got so much to pack?? You brought an elephant there izzit??

PS next month... still cracking my head for outdoor shoot location... Sentosa and Fullerton like overused liao... and Raffles Marina have to pay $156 and dunno alot of things to take inside anot. I've been to Punggol Marina but the latter like not alot of fantastic views leh compared to the pics from the former.

Where are your taking your studio + outdoor PS???

miso

wow..2 night stay! you are so lucky!!
we only have one night stay..

sigh...though we signed up for a high end menu with jade , we do not enjoy the same privileges as fullerton brides...

but most impt, food must be good and we look pretty on that day ..hehe

doremon

Hi fifi,

yup, u r right....i regretted becos of the price difference. I guess i did not think carefully and now my budget is a bit over stretched. Plus i still need to confirm the AD photographer by next week thus i need to work very carefully on $$$.

Hi brambles,
what do u need to know regarding AD photographers? Hope that i can help u becos i have seen a few liao and already narrowed down on one - Sok Eng from berryhappy.

For Yew kwang, i have met up and seen his work. Not too bad - better than alan dai.

Emmeline, you going to Ipoh? When? hehe, we're wondering if we should stay in malacca for 2 nites or spend one nite in malacca and one nite in ipoh. Haha. I've driven pass Ipoh so many times...but never really dropped by...wonder if there's anything to do there...

Thank goodness I dun like purple :p I dun have a favourite flower, i'll go with watever looks good and isn't costly.
Dun have a florist, but might talk to the florist supplying to the hotel and ask if they can come up with something for the church.

Outdoor shoot..hehe, we'll be doing it in Shenton way and erm, Merlion Park...both places have significant meaning to us lah...that's why...dunno where else though but maybe chinatown, I like the shop houses...joo chiat, katong. hahah. Dun intend on going to fullerton and sentosa...but we might go to changi...wanna catch an SQ plane fly pass for fun! haha
With all these ideas...we'll have to pick and choose cos I think our photographer only allows us to use 2 outdoor locations...extra gotta pay...so...nearer the date then think!

Maybe i'll do banquet waitressing...and pick up some tips hahahah

binbin

hi cc2, no lah we were at the photo studio, then we went through 3 rounds of elimination by going through the photos. we are going down a second timer after xmas to eliminate somemore. coz we choose a total of 62 pages leh!!! cannot lah, like that must top up so much!

tsubame

Hi BinBin, good that you like the photos so much what. Lots to choose from then.
But 64 pgs a bit too thick... why dun you see if they can do a small album for those that you want but no need to be in the big album one? If you top up so much, will they return your negatives?

Going to start putting my house in order already. Finally after 1 year can really start preparations to move.
Just ordered the curtains yesterday. Measurement this Friday.

gintonic

Hi Annie,

Ooops left out your name in my previous thread. Forgot to thank you as well.

Hi gerlynn, Annie and Dabee,
I have signed up with Yvonne Creative for my bridal package...Hopefully they can do a good job ya...

cc2

Hi binbin,

Me no better than u. Choose 60 photos to make into 50 pages for my 2nd PS. But I very kuai, the SG PS, I din develop a single extra photo. ;)