(2004) Brides of year 2004

secret_garden

Hi Amos,
Thanks for the welcome!
Hey!so good to find another conrad couple!
Judy was the one who attended to us. Do you know her? She has been very nice. She brot us to see the ballroom and we requested to see the bridal suite. & she was nice enuf to show us the executive, centennial and the presidential suite! As we would be having out solemnisation on the same day n most prob in conrad as well, she brot us to see Salon by the pool too. I believe they have several themes right? white n gold, white n silver, and one with red right? I cant rem cos have not seen her for some time since we book the ballroom. Have you been in contact with Jennifer since? Which colour theme did you select? We will sure have more to share as time goes by!

Hi Happy Bride,
oic! Sure need your guide since you have 7788 prepared your stuffs liao! Thanks in advance! Does JLC provide everything under 1 roof?what's your package like?Have you started on your gown design? What are the things we should be doing from now?

Hi Bread,
Who do we liaise in Silverlining? What's his package like?Which photographers does silverlining tie up with? this a new BS?

secret_garden

Hi orosalind,
It's ok! Which are the bridal shops you have visited b4 deciding on GHA?can share share?

Hi Oct brides,
when do we look for AD photographer?Do you have any recommendations?

forest

good morning ladies!

yoyo,
i also wanna see ur card leh.. n if u get ur album in digital.. i also wanna see leh!! pm me hor...

secretgarden,
heee.. i'm a nothing-confirmed bride.. kekeke.. but looking at ur shortlisted BS.. i hve to say.. i love kai n divine too.. jus tt i incline more towards kai for now.. kekeke.. really love his gowns..
but of cos', i hvent decided...

wah.. all the tok abt neighbors.. my love nest is in yishun.. so, i'm also neighbors with twinkleglint n velooi

bread

secretgarden,
oni one man show.... his name is Jit... price of his package cant really remember, my package cost me $3,800 include MTM WG, EG n hubby suit, car n car decoration, bouquet, make up n photographer lor.... will take out e car (not confirm)

happybride

Hi Sercetgarden,

JLC has everything except the shoes

My package ($2338 went during promotion) has
MTM WE n EG (MTM EG change to 10 more pic)
MTM suit for hubby (change to AD photographer)
AD morning makeup n hairdo
corsages, car ribbon, follow car ribbons (for doors)
Indoor/outdoor PS
20 10" pic (with proofs n samples (with album) return)
AD n PS hand bouquet
ROM package (hand bouquet, gown, makeup, hairdo)

gown design not yet, when nearer to design (newer design).
Which stage are u at now?

secret_garden

Hi forest,
Nothing confirmed? meaning no confirmed date? venue? BS? etc?hehe any items that would be going to confirm soon?

Glad that you like Kai and divine! thhey are the top of my lists for now. But I did not get to see Kai in person and have a word with him
did you? How is he like? Personally, I would only signed up with the BS whose designer I am comfortable with.

hi bread,
One man show? Is his resources limited? Can he cope? what are his designs like? I find his designs very similar to those of divine. Package sounds reasonable. is his package flexible? meaning can exchange items for items/cash etc? you know which photographer he tie up with? n which make up artist too?

Hi happy bride,
When would be a good time to source for shoes? No need to be so kan cheong for that right?hehe Hey! your package is very competitive!
Maybe you can tell me which stage I am at now. I confirmed my venue. Now going thru bridal shopping for BS, PS photographer, AD phtographer, videography, eerrrmmmmm what else?

anyone has recommendations for phtoographers? PS and AD? and videography?

wenn21

Hi Cassie,

Thanks for your help. Juz when i needed some help

We have decided to have it on weekdays. So should not be a problem. Think we will have about 60-70 tables.

We hope to be held at Shangri-la cuz heard that the food in Ritz is not that fantastic after paying soo much for each table.

Does 5 or 6* hotel also have to be book as early as a year too? When do you think is our deadline for booking of hotel if you mention that the bridal studio have to be ready by Jan?

As for the ROM its gonna be at least a week to two before the customery.

we are not having church.

walin

Need some advice from u gals. Having headache now! My Future mil was saying she dun wan to have any "Guo Da Li" for me n my FH jus bcos we didnt let her chose our wedding date. Was pretty upset about this? I thought "Guo Da Li" is a must before the wedding ceremony? My FH told his mom to do a simple one but his mom simply juz ignore him. Wat is this? Right now, i dun even knw how to tell my mom about it. Wat should i do? Anyone can give some advice?

questy

Hi orosalind,
Thanks! i'll go chk it out later. I've choose YLS and freesia caterer. YLS was highly recommended by my friend too, she said the portion was big and tasty. I needed another Halah caterer, so Freesia caterer was recommended by my FH's friend. E menu seemed ok, i'll feedback to u once my buffet is over k.

orosalind

Hi Secret Garden,

Haha, my ans will shock u. It's the first bridal shop I went to and the first booth which I visited in the bridal fair. I sign up with them without bargaining for anything at all cos I dun even know what to bargain for (did not ask ard before signing up with them). But just bargain with them last mth (1 yr after signing up). Luckily my coord was good cos she allowed me to bargain for quite a no. of freebies. So now now regrets signing up with them cos of the freebies, my ROM gown, hair-do, make-up and accessories all provided and done by GHA was v gd and a lot of frens (think I have 7 frens + frens' frens with GHA) and some in the forum said that their gowns v nicely done.

As for AD photographer, you can start looking around now so you dun have to rush in the last min.

--------------------------------------------------

Hi Questy,

Thanks. Awaiting your feedback.
Me oso quite tempted to try YLS.
--------------------------------------------------

Ivory,

MIA?

binbin

hi secret garden, welcome!
36191.gif

u have an interesting nick.
hehehee....saw that u r interestd in Divine. I am a Divine bride.
and my dinner venue also at Conrad hehehe... so have u visited Divine yet? u mentioned that it's important that uare comfortabe with the designer right? that's very true, should call and make an apt with their 3 designers (kim, helen and jessica). my designer is Helen and she has been real sweet and I love what she did for me!

binbin

hi secretgarden, scrolled through the postings and saw u and cin mentioning about me hehhehee.. :p well, i saw that u are more inclined towards divine, i suppose it must be coz u like thier style right? i always believe different ppl feels good in diff gowns, and divine's gowns during my first visit makes me melt inside, no other shop manage to do that to me hehehe..
well, like i said before, why not call and make an appt, perhaps with Helen, and see how you feel? they tie up with photographers like Robin, studio D-fia, Ace pix, picture box, wizards of light, and recently beetles at work.
u have much choices. if u happen to not like these photographers, u can always sign up for Divine's basic package without photography, and get your own photographer.
keep me updated yar!

blueberry

Hi Orosalind,

The package sounds more worth it. But then, it still depends if you need the free items. The toshiba system 3 seems not bad as a free item. I think worth $1000+. You can considered that. The Kitchen cabinet is lesser by how much??

orosalind

Hi KK,

Thanks for ur contribution. Ya, I def nid those free gifts cos if not, I got to buy them too and since they allow me to buy those free gifts anywhere I like and also any model I want, def is helpful to me. As for the Toshiba System 3, I dun think I want it cos my hubby's brother is selling air-con and so we can get it fm him for just few hundreds to 1K for 2 compressors and inverter type. So if I opt for package, I can oni get back $1.5K rebate if I'm not taking the Toshiba air-con.

The diff for kitchen cabinet is by 7 ft leh (each ft cost $110). Tot of bargaining for this 7 ft to be included into the package cos dun think 24 ft (as given in the package) is enuf for my kitchen (based on so many quotations I rec fm diff ID, most quote 30 - 31 ft).

Ivory,

Wow, u "fly" here and there one ah???? Which one u think is more worth it for the reno part? I'm gg to cfm either one this Sun. Tou da da now....

ivory

orosalind
hee... oni once in a blue moon then need to fly here fly there

if the package more worth for u... n u dun wan the aircon, why not use the rebate to increase the cabinet size??

orosalind

Sori abt the multiple postings. I did not expect my msg to appear so many times. I got firewall msg twice and so I tot the first 2 times dint went thru.

Hi Secret Garden,

Yup, my ROM over liao. It's last yr.
My package cost $3388. I think it's a norm for bridal shops to incl ROM serv in the bridal package.

secret_garden

hi happy bride,
wait till roughly when then need to kan cheong for shoes?hehe

hi binbin,
wah! if i take divine, then my venue n BS would be the same with you... haha like same taste!
what's your gown design like?say leh! i have been served by Kim the 1st 2 times, it would notbe nice to see Helen & Jessica right?N yes, I very inclined to divine now, just that i find their package quite inflexible. I like chris ling's work, and divine don;t tie up with chris

secret_garden

Hi orosalind,
okie let me go search ard then let you in on details ok?

after we settle the venue and the BS, anymore things to do?
can shake legs liao?

forest

hi secretgarden,
ya.. nothing is fixed.. kekeke.. only confirmed is the day will b in 2004...
well, i'm hoping to fix the date soon..

actually, i hve not spoken to kai himself.. i fell for both divine's and kai's gown when i attended bridal shows.. i agree tt u must feel comfortable with the designer b4 u sign up with them.. why not make an appt to meet both of these BS's designers to feel how u click with them.. and also to try their gowns.. only then will u know which one suits u best...

for videography recommendation.. quite a no. of brides hve taken a liking for atelier.. mayb u wanna chk them out?

hi jenn,
oh no.. perhaps u shd get ur FH to slowly speak to his mother.. to appease her.. n make her change her mind? well, since he's her son.. its more likely tt she'll listen to him ?? hope everything will turn out fine for u!! *hugz*

orosalind

Ivory,

Thanks. So u oso think package more worth it?

Ur hse all done up liao?

Hi Secret Garden,

OK, hope u find ur ideal BS soon.

For me, I cant shake leg yet after I settled my BS and banquet vanue cos I will be getting key 5 mths prior to Oct 04 so now looking at reno. If u got no reno to bother abt, then u can more or less shake leg a bit.

happybride

hi Secretgarden,

when u free go shopping can look see look see liao,
by the time u design ur gown the bridal shoe ppl will need to know the height of ur shoes.

walin

Hi secretgarden,
She chose a wedding date for us which fall on this year july but at that time we were pretty tied up in our house reno. We didnt want to do everything at e same time that's y we didnt take her suggestion.

Hi Happybride,
Seem like every bride to be is so joyous about their wedding but for me its a totally different story.

As for the GDL, i will insist to have one. Its a kind respect for my parent, i will not allow anyone to take advantage of them. My Mil is giving me a feeling she doesnt respect my parent at all. Who know she might be thinking im FOC for his son **Sob Sob**

happybride

Sigh i oso having problem with FH's family but not over GDL. But no matter wat be firm, and fight for our parents' rights
Mine is over my house's renovation

ivory

orosalind,
ehhh... actually i can't really advise u on the reno lah... i just advise as per wat u feel n wat i see mayb more practical

for us we did not buy new flat, i will just pack my luggage n move in to stay with my in-laws
very qing song.. hahahaha...

amos_aw

Secretgarden:

No. Didn't meet Judy. Jennifer also showed us the various suites, the salon by the pool and the ballroom. We've decided on the white and organza. We decided that the salon was a little small for us. Having it by the pool also nice, but i know Wendy surely melt if it's too hot.

So, in the end, we managed to get Chijmes Hall for $800, 10am-12pm, includes everything we need.

At this moment, photographer is between Andrew Tay from The Edge, or MooMedia. We're checking out the cows tonight.

walin

Hi Forest,

Did ask my FH to talk to his mom about this. He promise he will talk to his mom about it but again e thing is my FH is always so occuppied wif his work. Duno when he can really have a word wif his mom.

mich03

Hi smallonion,

Your name sooo cute... *wink*

Think of bustier type as a "tube" kind of gown. There are no shoulder straps to hold the gown.
The gown fits at your breast area like a tube design and bottom will either be a ballgown type (like a princess ballgown where you have to insert a "can-can" in to make it look more "pong-pong"). Get what i mean? Or it can be flair type one (A-line style). This all depends on the type of material of the gown u choose, whether is light or heavy.

I suggest that you can buy some of the bridal magazines, e..g Her World Brides, Style Weddings etc. You wil be able to see many different type of designs in the mags.

Also, you have to see your build to see which type of gown you suit most. Do go down to ur bridal shop to try on various gowns to see the effect.

Hope my explanation helps.

Do feel free to ask if in doubt.

cyn

happybride & jenn lian... i'm also having problem with FMIL... usually is the guy side to ask wat the gal side wan.. but hor.. it's always my mum asking wat my FMIL wan...
whenever i see her, she'll tell me my mum needs to prepare this & that. when i finally get my FH to ask her. she only wans a ang bao for shoes....

secret_garden

hi forest,
I also fell for divine n kai gowns. went to divine and can clique with the designer. went to kai i din get to see him and his boutique like very very messy, very disorganised like that

If you do go see update me ok?

atelier? what types of videography do they do?
seounds ex. you know the price range?

Hi happy bride,
okie, when i have time will go c c look look but where? do most brides MTM or buy off the rack?

Hi jenn,
Think you may wanna give your MIl more time. Perhaps she only say but don't mean it? ask you FH to choose a time she in better mood and speak to her again? good luck!

Hi Amos,
I will also melt by the pool hehe. YOu having chruch wedding in the afternoon? What does the $800 covers?
you mean the PS photographers or actual day? Which BS did you sign up with? We have checked out moomedia. Would you be seeing Andrew?he is quite friendly.and package quite reasonable. Update us ok?

poshies

Hi Smurfy,

Hi Pageup,
Think the printer shld had cute pic to chose from.
I was at T.Dragon, they shown me some nice cute pic that I can chose from.

Guess only left with Blue Lake & me haven't had PS.

Blue Lake,
Must be excite on the PS, ur is a wk earlier than mine.

secret_garden

Hi orosalind & ivory,

thanks! so means once i settle banquet n BS can shake legs liao? till the time to design the gown?haha
I quite similar to ivory in that i wont be sourcing for a house till after the wedding so that we don;t have to deal with so many tings at one time.

blueberry

Hi Orosalind,

Can you get any rebate if you dun want the air-con?
Also check what brand of hood and Hob, the type of bathroom accessories. Sometimes could be cheap stuff and the renovators quote you at a higher price. Otherwise the two packages' price difference seems not to big.

Hi Secret garden,

Me am shaking leg now...
Hope will not cramp my leg from too much shaking. :p
Will only do this and that in Jan 04

happybride

hi cin_p

My house revonation right's (to make decisions) got took over by FSIL... dont know my house or her house... : (

Hi secretgarden,

I bought my ROM shoes (may use for PS n AD too) from People's Park Center , level 2, Kao Pink (or something). they MTM wedding shoes too

happybride

hi kk

so good u can shake legs till cramp,
i got everything jam together... ROM n house renovation all at the same time.

But i will be free, by jan 04, cos no banquet

ivory

hi secret,
for me im shaking legs everyday lor... design of the gowns will wait until after CNY

um.. mayb in the meantime slowly draft out ur guest list lor...

source ard for favours if u dun like wat ur hotel supply...

think of program for ur banquet...

aahhh... wat else?
36220.gif

oh ya... jian fei...
36221.gif

dabee

Hi Gals:

My wedding date is also 23 Sept 2004. My old in laws are particular, so we let them decide the date.

Hey Wen Li:
You are going to have a big wedding diner, so you better hurry decide the date, venue and book asap. dun be surprise that ritz, shangri la, oriental etc are already booked. there are couples who booked one to two years in adv for popular wedding venue and dates.

walin

Hi Happybride,
Yaman! will have to stand firm and fight for my parent's right.

Hi Secret gardern,
Think my mil really mean it when she say she dun wan GDL. If she dun wan us to go thru the GDL custom, she must at least show some appreciation to my parent. M i rite? Know wat, she say if my parent insist to have one she will do a simple one like giving some fruit to my parent. MY GOODNESS!! FRUIT?? she really make me faint by saying that. Anyhow, i will ask my FH to find some time to talk to her abt the GDL. Hopefully, she wldnt make my FH "faint" too. Ha...

Thanks gals! After sharing my thought make me feeling better now.

Btw, mth ago i went to attend Divine Coulture bridal show. I was very impress of their nite gown. All their gowns are so beautiful. Quite regret didnt sign up wif them. Give it a thought if Divine can fix into ur budget.

yoyo

will try to post it on the web asap.. very busy wif work leh...
thanks for wanting to see my album.. feeling a bit pai seh to show on web liao

xue

Hi cin_p and secret garden,

Yes, the grassroot club is near to nanyang poly. I had confirmed my wedding packages with French Bridal already. I signed up for this package during the wedding fair. I really regret, because when I went to the bridal shop, it's not the person who promised that she will be at the bridal shop to help me.

So, a word of advise to all of you out there, don't ever sign up for a wedding package at the wedding fair.

I had already chosen my wedding gown ect and will be going for studio and outdoor photography next month.

Hi Jenn Lian,

Anyway I think you try not to be so sad lor, okay. I also faced similiar problem with you. As my FH's father brother knows how to read the tong shu, so his parents ask us to go over to his house to get a wedding date.

But, I am very excited in getting a wedding date, so I decided to tag along with my FH and his mother. His mother very funny, once I said I want to tag along, then she very angry. She said that ask me and my FH to go over to see the date ourselves.

Since, its my wedding, I feel that we should settle the date by ourselves and not let his mother go and settle the date. So, on one Saturday, I went with my FH alone, my FH did ask my mil to go along with us but she don't want, saying that she want to go out. So, we settle the wedding date that night on Saturday.

The next day, when my FH tells his mother about the date. Then, his parents very angry with us, saying that we don't have any respect for them at all.

As for the guo da li, my mother wanted my mil and fil to go over to house to dicuss about it. But, my mil and fil doesn't feel like going over. This makes my mother very angry. My MIL told me two times that what my mother wants, I can just pass the message.But, the problem is my mother is very angry because she they didn't come over to my house to Ti Qin.

So, I keep on pestering my FH to talk to his mom. In the end, they came over to my house.

And now, we are indeed quite happily preparing for our marriage even though there is bound to have unhappiness sometimes.

So, I think you should not take this issue too much to your heart. Ask your FH to talk to his mum lor. I think your FH like mine, does want the best for your wedding.

ralphine

Hi amos
I'm interested with the cows too, maybe you can share with me about your visit to the moomoo place after that. Have fun!

orosalind

Hi happybride, KK, Ivory and Secret Garden,

Gd for u all lor, not like me, super stress. Think 04 will be even worse for me ah....

KK, yup, got $1.5K rebate if I dun want the air-con. As for the brand and model for the rest of the free gifts, I can buy myself then the ID pays. But limit to $300 for toilet acc, $200 for kitchen sink and tap, $500 for hob and hood. Oni for these few items, I can get them even in cheapest place like Balestier. The ID just pay for it, I'm not getting the free gifts directly fm the ID. For storage heater, it's fixed - Ariston (bigger one) and air-con oso fixed - Toshiba System 3 (unless I want to get the $1.5K rebate).

Ivory, jia you....