(2004) Brides of year 2004

dora

I'm new to this thread. My wedding is also in May 04

Going for my 1st bridal appt this sun.... very excited, and worried, cos I'm quite big size (Size 10-12) so dunno if I'll find something that I like and can fit in. Altho my package is MTM, I'm still hoping to find something OTR so at least I will be sure I'll like the end product.

Anyone with any advice on what to look out for??

pebbles

hi hi ladies,
im back liao, came back in oct but then was so busy with work and renov so didn't get to read up on all the postings...

Glad to see the thread alive again..

Poox,
my perth PS was really very fun, missing it already, both Hubby and myself felt sick on our first week and had to postpone our PS but good thing we recovered and mangage to have our PS, we were so happy with the photos i ended up selecting much more from the given number of pages and now we are patiently waiting for our album...so exciting, can't wait to see it..and i can say the experience is so different cos the weather was cool or rather cold..ahahah...when we took our beach sunset photos and the pple there are just so frenly, all singing thier praises when they see a asian couple taking their wedding photos...think its' very different from spore..
then i just went of my appointment two weeks back and decided on my WG design but have yet to settle my EG design so will be going down two weeks for my another apptment with them...
either than that, i didnt get much done...now main focus on the house ,..think my place should be ready in Dec...

garfield33

Dora - welcome! may i know which bridal shop did u choose?

Poox - So anxious to hear from u! Glad tt yr photos turn out v. nice!! YEs, the place is lovely isn't it? I like it also..
Will u be scanning yr photos so that we can view?
Yea!! My FH is coming back soon!! 1 more wk!

dora

HI Garfield

My bridal is Fame @Yishun. Yours? My AD is 22 May 04. Banquet at PanPac. New Flat at CCK, just finished reno. think that's all the info I can think of for now

odie

Oohh.... jia lat after reading all the above I realised that I didn't even check on things like eye lashes or transport
Oh well guess that if really need it then can't be helped... if really gotta pay, gotta pay

Hey blue lake... worse come to worse invest a little and get SKII mask and use it the night before the PS and AD... heard its very good

keann

Hey all,
Welcome Geberra and Dora....

Dora:
I am staying in CCK too...bought a place there last year Oct...Yew Tew area..u? Hope that your reno went well..am quite pleased with my apt when everything was done...like own home..am olediz living in there..but presently not in singapore..so just hubby staying there.

Pebbles:
I bet you had fun..i had so much fun taking PS here in Melb as well...at least weather was good! I didn't take the album package..am planning to make my own album....just hope it will come out fine...hehehe...will do it when i am back in Singapore...cos still got a few more months to wedding....got any pics to show...? If you wanna see my pics...let me know..will email to you..my hubby n i quite private..so won't post the link here..hehehe....

Ok..got to go off now...will love to hear from all of you soon.

binbin

hi yoyo, so u going phuket for mini honeymoon? i went there for mine in March this year.
well, i stayed in JW Marriot Resort & Spa, fantabulous place. converted my FH to a spa fanatic right there at Mandara Spa. for us, we spent 3 nights nua-ing in the resort and private beach, coz enjoyed doing that. partly also coz it was the SARS period at that time so we din wanna mix with the patong crowd. so can't tell u much about where to shop (except patong) and eat, coz we shop and ATE (YUM YUM!) at the resort itself....hehehehhehehe.....

poox

wow!! suddenly this thread is busy again :p

welcome dora and ihippo!!

Dora: dun worry but your size....i'm sure your designer would know how to make you the most beautiful bride
most important is to smile and be happy! sure beats a slim but grumpy bride :p

ihippo: i think u better start booking soon...may is quite a popular period i heard
my ps would be in late mar...photographer says he only need 1.5mth!! so it really depend on the photogrpaher.

garfield: i think u got the names mixed up....i haven done my ps

Keann and Pebbles: Long time no hear! share your pic if u dun mind my email:[email protected]

poshies

Yup heard that SKII mask very good.... but it is ex....

yup the bridal car not really need to be in gold or silver depending ur like....

now can't decided on jag or beetle....

dora

Hi Keann

I'm also at Yew Tee area. CCK Cres... Want to join the rest of us at the CCK Cres/Yew Tee thread?
We just moved furniture in... only going to stay there on weekends cos haven't ROMed yet... managed to delay till my AD

Hi Poox,

thanx for the reassurance.... altho' I'm not exactly very huge, but I'm still quite big, wear L size clothes... we'll see how things go on sun... will update you!

Yah ihippo.... settle your banquet 1st.... most hotels are booked on weekends already.... that is the 1st thing to settle.... if you are normal size (not big like me
) then you may be able to take OTR for bridal, then maybe not so urgent

marker

poshies - jag & beetle have very difference image leh. Jag more to elegance while beetle to stylish.

i personally prefer beetle - quite difference from usual bridal car hence will be impressive and catch the eye of all.

My bridal car is merce too include in my BS package …very common bridal car.

keann

Dora:
ME AT CCK CRESC too...staying in Blk 690c..wat abt you...maybe we neighbours!!! that will be very coincidence!!!! will love to join the cck thread...check the thread now and then also...but like everyone there know each other well liaoz...so a bit shy to join in...

Poox: You've got mail!

have fun!

yoyo

binbin : i b staying at a new hotel all Burasari. Anyone been there? Its at patong beach... ah.. feeling excited about next Sat n the mini-honeymoon...

How are you guys preparation?

yoyo

jan04b : guest book for your guest to sign in as a memento loh.... slides show? mine we hv the baby photo of ourselves n the growing up photo.. n lasting the activities that me n hubby share like mountain climbling, cycle.. aikido(dats how we met n hv our PS at the training place)etc..
we put the slides into powerpoint.. done by hubby... nice song.. i nearly vried whe he show it to me.. now waiting for next sat. my ROM excited...

poshies

Hi TCL,
now looking at london cab... my friend inform me of the promotion of london cab offer - 50% till nov. quite a bargin, waiting for Tibs to send me the quotation... anyone interest can let me know..

ihippo

Thanks for all the response!

I am frantically sourcing for the banquet now. Considering amara...i agree May is a popular month...the weekend i want is already taken..*sob sob*...

Probably gotta settle for Mon ..anyone has sign up with amara...care to share with me what's in your package? Anyone knows whether there is any wedding show for amara in nov?

I am not exactly dat small too...i also wear size L..

fairymoss

I'm a newbie to this thread. Just chanced upon this thread, and see that I'm still eligible to chat here since I'm also a 2004 bride.
Nice to meet u all.

peggy

have my PS today...ai ya..luckly din rain..I was praying hard for that....anyway..really enjoy myself throughout the session...

heard something from the make-up artist...that some TCS's actress (just got married two week ago one ley) actually look up White-link to do some bridal PS..but white-link scare get into trouble (kena sue for nothing)..so rejected her...

keann

Garfield:You've got mail

ihippo: i am signed up with Amara for my wedding reception....i like the ambience and the looks of the hotel.Not sure of the wedding show..cos i am not in singapore...but i tik you can give them a call and ask them. I booked the wedding package in the earlier wedding show this year...
How many tables are you looking at? Actually Grand Cop ..Merchant Court ...quite nice too...my choice was actually Merchant Court..but i couldn't reach their table min for weekend dinner...

Happy hunting for reception places...!!!

binbin

hi yoyo, nope neber go to that hotel before hehhehee..... i am enjoying my preparation beri much, collecting my gowns soon for PS.

fairymoss, welcome to the thread.
which month is ur wedding?
35138.gif

ihippo

hi keann...

good to know someone has sign up wif them....
Your AD weekend or weekday?

can you email me the extra perks you got when you booked in the earlier wedding show? tks...

i cannot reach the table min for merchant court too...25-28 tables for me max is 30...grand copthorne not very convenient for my relatives....

fairymoss

Hello Binbin,

think i saw u in another thread but can't remember where, u getting married when? I'm getting married in June, not yet PS unlike u. U must be very excited hor? See that some of you here are going for mini-honeymoon. So good leh. Me already ROM, so this mini-honeymoon is out for us liao, now we looking forward to the real honeymoon. :p

gebbera

I agreed with ihippo too. Grand Copthorne is not that accessible compared to others....
Ihippo, perhaps you can ask yourself what's the criteria that you are looking for. If you are looking for good foods, then you may want to consider Merchant Court, Crown Prince etc. If you are looking for ambience, then you should go for Pan Pac., Amara, Grand Copthorne etc.
For me, I chose delicious food. Once read a magazine saying that guests will normally remembers the foods than the ambience. (but duno how true)
For me, I chose Crown Prince Hotel becos of their popular "Long Jiang" restaurant despite that their ballroom's ceiling is low. Find it easy to access for my guests as well.

Hi Garfield33,
i'm taking bustier as my WG. but have yet to come out with the design that i want. What abt you? your WG & EG designs settled?

Hi Keann,
I find Amara's ambience nice & romantic. Just to alert you that i once saw a post in this forum discussing the services of Amara Hotel. I've forgotten which topic is it. You may want to refer to that posting and be alert that such incident doesnt happen.
ihippo, you may want to take note as well if you intend to sign up with them.

Hi Pebbles,
I'm also busy with my renovation too. So excited about it. cant wait to see my new home. Do you share the same feeling as me???

Hi Dora,
me also staying at new house during wkends before we did the renovation. So when's your ROM?
Did you sign up for the ROM package from your BS?

Hi Poox,
So, have you done your homework? Any designs in mind? I used to buy all sorts of bridal magazines once it's release in market. Use that as a guidebook & reference for brides shopping, Bridal Studio, Banquets, Gowns designs and all sorts of wedding related issues.

keann

ihippo:
my wedding is booked on a weekend.Can't really remember the perks...but i am sure there's no free-flow beer...i tik i got 2 barrels of beer and corkage free for some bottles of wine. Cos i dun have the agreement contract with me here, so can't tell you. Can update you when i am back in Singapore later this year.

Geberra:
Yes i read abt that posting abt amara's food being coldly served or something like tat...i will look out for tat. THANKS THANKS!

By the way, i have actually bought my wedding gown over ebay..they have many wonderful designs online..mayb can check them out to give you more ideas.

It's so good to get everyone chatting again...hope to keep this up!
Am quite excited about the wedding recption.Think it wil b fun!

Good luck to all....and talk to you all soon!

blue_lake

oh... bridal car can be any colour.... think must start looking now... 4 more months... stress stress. haha.

i've also heard that SKII mask is good too. but one piece cos abt $20+ right? so ex. heart pain la. the beauty salon i went has similar kind of mask. it's like soaking face in water. feel really good after putting. $10 each. to me tat's ex too. so i never buy when samples were used up.
hmmm.....maybe can buy for PS. like wat Odie said. put the day b4. last min work. keke

will false eye lashes make our eyes uncomfortable? sounds heavy. thinking of putting on coloured contact lens for PS. now trying to get used to them. think plus false lashes, it'll be more tiring?

westie

I am new here...
Everyone is having great preparation for their day.
I am not.. but yet worried and hesitating should i get married again.. (divorce previously)
I am 24 this year.

An advice from a frd that SK11 mask bit harmful for our skin.
Gettin false eye lashes not so uncomfortable but yet pretty instead so should try it.
Alternative get lash perm it can last for 3 mths.

Troubled gal..... waiting for advice....

amos_aw

Helow fellow people-to-be-married,

I was wondering if anyone has a JP to recommend? Any good ones and not so fantastic ones to watch out for? What is the difference anyway? Please help! Thanks!

mee_mee

Went to select photos today... was a tough job choosing them. end up taking about 77 photos, some big some small. My bf and me are feeling the pinch now... but really hard to choose.

Now that we have almost completed everything, and sat down to compute the total amt spent at the boutique, think it comes close to 6.4K. Lots and lots of money... Did you gals spend so much too? Am I over-spending?

Any of u engaging a videographer for wedding?

twinkleglint

hi amos
u r back! where hve u gone? sorry didn't reply ur last PM, i was really busy at work. anyway, tks for the concern. all of us r getting on fine.

i got my JP fr my FH's town council. he n his wife are really nice people. he even met us for a marriage counseling. i can send u his contacts separately. if u wan the a whole list of JPs u can go to the notice board at ROM. btw, u sld get someone fr ur town council cos they are unlikely to reject u unless they r not available on the date. we actually managed to get him cos his biz trip was cancelled due to the sars (we got ROM during sars period). he was so nice not to reject us even during the sars period.

odie

Hi Cynthia, just my point of view, a failed relationship or marriage (as in your case) doesn't mean that the next one that comes along will be a failure too. Instead, try and take in on a more positive note that it is another lesson in life... and move on.

Not sure what's your reservation about going into another marriage... but personally I feel that being a divorcee doesn't rob you of the right to be in love and get married again.

Don't we all (if not all.... at least most of us)fall out of love at some point in life? If we can dust ourselves after a fall in a relationship... why not after a failed marriage? After all marriage is no difference from a relationship except that it is legally binding.

I won't dismiss the fact that there could be other prevailing reasons to hold you back... but if you don't try you will never know and once you let the chance slip by it will never come back again.

Hey blue lake if you are worried about the costs, one cheapo way is to get a box and share it around with your jie meis... that way can spread out the costs :p You might want to consider the mask from neutrogena as its much cheaper... so far not sure if its good but at least I heard that the other products from neutrogena is good.

Ermmm... we did a calculation few days ago so far have spent about $14k plus.. siong ah :p

No professional videographer for me... only home video... save costs... heh

amos_aw

Thanks for the reply Twinkleglint. I was ill most of last week, and then this week has been hell trying to get my home network back up and running. So no internet access for a bit there (ARRRRRRGGHHH!) Hehe.

Is it necessary to get someone close to the solemization location itself? I live in Pasir Ris right now, so obviously Pasir Ris/Punggol GRC area would be the place to pick from i guess. Which TC is your FH from anyway?

blue_lake

hi mee mee...

i've not really calculated my expenses yet cos lots of things not done... =)
guess i shd be spending more than u did. my gowns, makeup, flowers and grooms's suit is almost your amt already. sigh... sometimes just feeling that i'm spending too much too.

odie... i've used netrogena b4. not as good. but i still have Clarins and clinque mask. however, they are not hydrating mask. think just use them for the time being. keke.

hi cynthia... i agree with Odie. a failure doesn't mean the next one will be. i guess now u're more aware of what kind of man you're more suitable with or wat u want in life? if u think this man is the one u love, and he doesn't mind ur past, dun let this chance slip by.

pageup

Hi Cynthia,

I agree with Odie. You have to try to let go the past and move on with your life. No point hanging on to something that have already happen and cannot be undo. You are still very young, don't think of depriving yourself from the chance to be in love and getting married again.
Afterall, I'm sure you have learnt a lot from your past failure, you will be able to do better in your next marriage.

Bluelake, the fake eyelash is a bit uncomfortable only on that moment you put it on. Once the glue is dried you will feel alright. Unless you are like me. My right eye is slightly smaller than my left. Somehow, my makeup artiste got to put on more glue to make the right eyelashes stick up more so that my 'big small' eyes don't look that obvious.

MeeMee and Odie, I got Alan Dai's partner, Eric of Mirage image to be our videographer. We thought of asking friends to do the photo and videography for us but we are worried about the awkward situation if it doesn't turn out well, if you get what I mean.

I also went photo selection yesterday.
Only choose 34 which is still within our budget.
I uploaded some of our rejected photos. You all want to see?

http://photos.yahoo.com/sjhm_04

soupie

hi amos, u can check out david loh.. he's very experienced in ROM solemnization.. he not only do it in the ROM but also outside.. many couples approached him as well.. too bad we couldn't get him for our ROM.

he's very 'popular' so book him as early as possible

amos_aw

Found him. Grassroots section. Thanks soupie!

Here's who i have to call on Monday so far:

1)Mr David Loh
2)Dr Anamah Tan

Anyone else have recommendations? Thanks!

soupie

hi amos, he's also a registrar or watever at the ROM too.. saw him there a few times..

btw, i've sent u a pm of his contacts... u received?

mee_mee

Hi pageup,

I know what you mean on the awkwardness if results turn out bad. I am sourcing for videographer... hmm... How much are eric's charges?

mee_mee

Hi Cynthia,

i agree with odie, bluelake and pageup. Don't let your past affect your future. everyone is entitled to look for their happiness.

mee mee

twinkleglint

hi amos
mine is also a grassroot leader. if he is able to do it for u, i do not think the town u live in does matter.

my FH lives in telok blangah which is the tanjong pagar TC. he is the first one we approached and he accepted our invite after he confirmed his schedule. so it went very smoothly.

i have sent u a PM on his contact.

pageup

Hi MeeMee,

Eric charges me $800 for one raw video CD, one edited video (think it is 1hr) and also the express 5 min morning event highlight. I heard that he is going to increase the price to $900. But I think his pricing is considered cheap when comparing with other big names

poox

hello geberra

i've done some research over the net...theknot.com has lots of gowns
everything look so nice
i only know i want something a little more fluffy like a princess....bustier looks nice but seems too common...i'll leave it to the designer and my fiance to decide.
gonna continue my research

dora

Keann

I'm at CCK Cres too!!! Blk 691B
When's your AD? We can look out for each other's bridal car

Hi Geberra

My ROM will be the same as my AD. Managed to postponed it cos I'm supposed to be mourning so can't ROM.... so also good lor... save $$$
But meanwhile we'll still stay there for weekends cos its a waste to leave it there like that

Just went for my 1st BS appt today. I found a bustier OTR WG that I really like... well a little tight but can be altered
Really liked the design so no need to MTM
Actually I could fit into a lot of the WG, some are even too big
Surprisingly I look better in a bustier than a spaghetti strap or other straps. As for EG, found one that's quite OK, but haven't found the one that I really like, so will keep looking. Partly also because after I tried sooooo many WG, I was very tired already by the time I tried the EG. But think I'll try to stick to OTR, cos a lot of times I saw a gown that's nice, but when I wore it, wasn't suitable for me. So I feel OTR is safer.

So ihippo, i think you shouldn't have problems finding OTR if I can find it
Good luck

Just heard from my collegue last week after she attended a wedding at Amara. She said the aircon is not enough for corner table (dunno which corner she's at), when the ballroom is at full capacity. It was so stuffy all the guests on the table had to go out constantly to breathe. so something for you gals to take note.

poshies

Hi Cynthia, Agreed with the rest, one failure relationship does not equate all failure, if you think this is one go for it. Moreover you are still so young...

Hi All, Morning..... Wow you are start calculating the total spend already har.... me scare haven't take the PS, afraid will be out of budget too... so did you guys had exceed the budget or still within the budget.... I have only set aside $5K for everything except the dinner.... think might be exceed.... guess all of you have your bridal car already... that good... I will be finalizing my bridal car this week....
yup forgo my actual day videography due to tight budget will get someone to do instead...

Hi pageup saw your picture.... (hmm... why the folder call reject? are those the rejected one??) Wow nice pic.... where u go for the rail track.. Thinking of taking that too...