(2004) Brides of year 2004

gerlynn

hi girl80..

yea i think ur package is quite comprehensive too...just booked 35 tables lor...like what marilyn says, u shd book early if u really like the place...

twinkleglint

hi girls
didn't talk in here for sometime....i saw cin_p msg on dermological pdts, hey me too. both my beauty salon uses this brand, i mus say it is really good......

poshies

TCL,
sorry got mixed up with the places...

guess your guy have more a less finish the PS, my photographer just call me last night to postphone the PS till 30 Dec..... *sign* my hubby say it is too late and lot of people (school holiday) too....

orosalind

Hi chenoa,

My uncle is working as a photographer (not freelance) but not in bridal photography. He doesnt have a studio but his tu di's studio (his tu di is in bridal photography).

I dun mind $500 off but at least they shld give me the gown, bouquet, make-up and hair-do. I dunno how negotiable are they in that cos it seems to me that they are more willing to give more photos than allow me to bring out some gowns for PS by my uncle. It's bcos I think of just the $500 rebate and the amt I got to pay for renting gown, buying bouquet and hiring make-up artist elsewhere, that I tot it's either I had to use them for PS or let go of my package.

Not really, 17 Oct 04 is generally an auspicious date for wedding (I have seen the tong shu and go to sina.com to check) but it clashes with dragon (my hubby is dragon) but not our parents' and mine sheng xiao. We didnt check using our ba zi but just the sheng xiao. Actually I was told to use 26 Sep 04 (that's supposed to be the best best date for us) but PP is booked for both 26 Sep 04 and 27 Sep 04 so I got to use the next best date which is 17 Oct 04. I guess shld be no problem for 17 Oct 04 cos just noted that although the date clash with a dragon, it's not my hubby's yr (within dragon, there are many diff yrs).

blue_lake

hi everyone.. long time never been here. wat a long list to read!
poshies.. u decided on purple? i'd lavender for my ROM last time . think this is a very popular colour.

hmmm... everyone talking abt honeymoon now. think i'm not going for honeymoon. can't take leave. so sad. or maybe postphone to a much later date.

i saw pictures of Maldives in the ClEO mag. so nice! but must pay abt 3000+++ for 2 persons for 5 days. so ex! but it really looks like paradise.

marker

4 more mths ....kan cheong...kan cheong leh....

poshies - me too, not yet go for PS, mine will be in Nov... hope that it will be a sunshine day b'cos Nov & Dec is always raining session.

Ocean - dun get stressed in ur reno...Have to relax and smile always U!

jan04b

hi galss..

wow at last got posting here liao....

yoyo...ur AD on 03/01/04, heehee mine one day before you...

I have just completed PS last week, select pic next week...
hmm...rite now dun know wat to do liao....

Dinner confirm but have not go for food tasting.
AD photoman oso confirm.

err....other things/matter have not done yet, am i too late???
Any advise wat to do next??

yoyo

jan04b:
so late den do PS? got time to finish and compile for you meh? which BS you go to?

guess book ready? any slides for the guest?

smallonion

hi everyone... u all busy with work is it cos tomorrow holiday? Me abit holiday mood, abit no mood to work, kekeke
cannot let my boss see, or else cham.

cin_p.... sorry, i mistaken, is did improved, but can explain wat is dermological pddts? Sorry, never came across tis.

oceans

Yap, my PS will be in Nov too. Had not think of where to go for PS yet too... By the way, do you gals need to provide own transport or is the transport to the outdoor PS covered inside your Bridal package? We had to pay additional $60 for the car, and additional $30-60 for ampulose (dun noe how to spell). The Ampulse is for the makeup to last longer.

TCL, tried to be happy but felt recently quite unlucky. Been coughing for 1 mths plus liao and then tiles pop after renovation...

4 more mths and in exact is about 14 weeks to go!! Wow....

voice_0229

hi oceans

pls. take care, drink more bird nests or hashima.(snow jelly).

My PS next month too, 8 Nov. actually you have an option to use ampulose or not during PS. I don't have to pay for the bridal car for PS, but need to pay for ampulose if I want.

marker

Ocean,

Drink lot of water or else U can un-stress yourself by going for body massage. Massage provides simple solutions for the everyday stresses and strains you face (just my suggestion - as massage work for me). Well, we have to keep ourselves relax …if too stressful …cannot smile during our PS hor. (*O*)...

Yup! i should not assume all bridal packages will include transport to outdoor PS... will check with my bridal package. Thank for your remainder!
It wonderful to exchange view point & ideas in the forum

chenoa

Hi orosalind,

So your hubby is same age as me..... :p

Ya, the gowns, bouquet and makeup will be a problem. How about you just take your package as normal, just don't top up photos during photo selection. Ask your uncle to go to the stuudio and outdoor PS together and take his photos at the same time? So you can choose more from him instead. Provided your studio allows this arrangement.

BTW, will you be comfortable with a relative taking your photos? If not, then i suggest you think twice.... Must have the chemistry with the photographer if you want good results. But I presume your uncle will be your AD photographer as well?

chenoa

BTW, I just checked sina again....17 Oct 04 really inauspicious generally. And it clash with pig not dragon. The woman at the temple also remind me that will clash with pig, so 'pigs' must not see us (bride and groom) when i guo men, have to hide in the bedroom. hahaha.... lucky my FH's family got no pig.

Anyway, no point thinking so much liao.... must have faith in your decision. Chinese believe that one's luck can be changed by one's actions. so, our confidence and happiness will make whatever date we choose to be auspicious.

poshies

Yup massage is a good way of relaxing.... my phtographer just call n postphone to end of dec... my hubby not very happy... think will call n chec kwith him again... still must ask check whn my gown will be ready...*sign*

Also will check with my bride whether need to pay for the transport too.. thank for the advise...

ampulose work well is your skin is dull or you sweat easily for the make up to stay on... but is up to the bride to chose use or not...

cheers for all those taking ps on nov... good luck and rest well before the shooting....

twinkleglint

hi amos,
ok...

hi smallonion,
it's jus a brand name but not market or hse brand only use by trained beauticians, so only beauty salons use them........

twinklebelle

thks for your advice,

Hvnt really decided on the hotel as i place more emphasis on ROM than customery dinner

Just had my ROM by the sea. My frens keep gushing abt the romantic setting to others after that and keep reminding me to let them see the photos so i was thinking whether to hv my customery dinner outdoor too.

I think they might have forgotten abt the fact that it rained before the ceremony and they had to bear with some slight drizzle during the ceremony.

twinklebelle

Hi Lyn

You were mentioning abt the cantonese cuisine.
Are you referring to the dessert or??
Maybe if all the places are taken up at PP, i may consider a day event then

Btw, do you all go to spas or facials before your customery wedding? any places to recommend?

how abt pendicure and manicure? what colours will you choose? I chose pink for my ROM - was a slight mistake - i am not a pink person as i only went to have it done a day before at 8.30 pm so didnt really have time to think. Usually i prefer red for my pendicure.

Also, which hair salons do you all go to mantain your hair condition? i am not a long lass gal but my make up artist advises me to keep my hair below the shoulders.

I am not a smilely person
either - cant smile as and when required - nearly drive my photographer mad when i refuse to smile all the time for photos.

Also, will you all be having a hen party? my frens urge me to hv one but i dont hv a slightest idea except for the Clarins party i saw on TV on Andrea's wedding specials.

But i dont think i will splurge on a hen party as well just a reasonable one. any ideas?

pageup

hello..

Ocean, you have to take care. try to have daily dose of vitamin C with plenty of water.

We don't have to pay extra for the transport during PS. Is this written in your invoice/contract with the BS? If not, maybe you can try to bargain for them to waive off the transportation lor.

Ampoules are suppose to help in nourishing your skin and make it easier for makeup, it does help in making the makeup last longer. I was also told that you can also use it daily as toner.
My makeup artiste charge me $25 for the ampoule but I didn't use hers. I got a bottle of liquid base for $19 (one bottle can be use for 5 times) from my beautician.
My makeup artiste think it is too diluted but to me, it works perfectly well.

Poshies, don't worry lah, trust those professionals, they will get the work done on time.

I realise that those all in one package( gowns with inhouse photography) will usually take about 2 months to have the photos ready. Whereas the others who tie in with other photography studio take shorter time.

anyway, enjoy your PS.

by the way, just one more suggestion. When selecting bouqeut for ps, avoid those non long lasting flowers like Tulips. I got a bouquet of red tulips but they look so pathetic by afternoon.

nnyl

Been quite busy with work n frens' weddings. Will be going on leave next month, looking forward to it

Hi twinklebelle,
According to wat i understand, PP's cuisine is cantonese, which mean eg dessert can't have yam paste(this is teochew). I m not sure wat else cos not really tt familiar w cantonese cuisine. But i must say my coordinator is not tt fantastic, not talking abt perks but service too. I might want to change the coordinator next yr when the wedding draws nearer.

Going to start facial soon i suppose. Might go w a fren instead. When i know more i let u gals know.

Ya, shld have hair around shoulder length, can do more style, if not got to wear wig or hair extension??

Hen nite got lots of things to do, like strip-tease? ;P Attended one before but dun think i want it for myself. Just a nice chill-out w gals will be nice

mee_mee

Hi gals...

been a while since i have posted any msg. Ocean... do take care... wedding date quite near already. The shop that I bought the Guo Da Li stuff from do provide advice on what to do/look out for ... Can check out that place. I already bought the tea set and the bedside lamps (battery operated).

Just wondering... how much did u all budget/set aside for extra photos?

smurfy

Hi Ocean,

Personally i find them too much to be asking for transport fees.. how could they do this? Instead of helping couples are already financially drained (for my case lar), they are taking advantage of the couple to reap more profits..

For ampoule, I got a bottle from my beauty salon that I frequent at $15. It comes in a small glass bottle and is enough for me and my FH to use during PS. My makeup artist said more effective to apply 1h before makeup which is what we did before setting off to our photographer's studio tat morning. I find it quite good and will be buying for AD too.

Seems like your cough is not getting better, I would like to recommend you a Chinese medicine called "yang(3) yin(1) wan(2)" which can be bought from those old chinese medical hall at $6.50 per pack (do not go FuHua, don't think they sell). It taste horrible but it works very well cos there is once when I cough for 2 months and seen 3x doctors but no use, this medicine save my throat...

orosalind

Hi chenoa,

How's ur weekend?

Yup, u r rite, my husband same age as u. Might continue the package as it is. Anyw, I have gotten more photos fm my coord. Yup, I'm quite comfortable with my relative taking photos for me as my uncle is the one who took my ROM photos and those who have seen the photos all commented that his skill is good and the overall photos (all 300+ of them) are quite nice so that is one of the reason why I wanted to entrust my wedding album to my uncle too.

Is it? I saw from sina that it clashes with dragon (but not the 1976 dragon so we think it's ok). As for the tong shu, it just state dragon (but didnt state the year so I tot we can safely take sina as correct). And from the 2 sources, that date is generally good for wedding. Dun tell me diff tong shu give diff results? Anyw, agree with u, once we have selected the date, dun doubt whether it's good or not. Like I said earlier, although my intuition tells me that it may not be a good date, I'm just too lazy and so didnt bother to check with a second source since the temple, tong shu and sina all said that date is good for wedding. If like what u say, that date clashes with pig, beta ask my sis-in-law to take note (although I didnt see that the date clashes with pig anywhere but beta be safe than sori rite).

Btw, which bridal shop are u with? When r u gg to MTM ur gown? I'm gg to MTM my gown in Nov/Dec 03. So excited abt it.

smallonion

cin_p, twinkleglint..... thks for explaning to me. hehehe.
But if i am not wrong, the name of the brand is not called dermological, am i right?
Where can i buy these products? Where u both go for facial?

marker

Hi! Me mountain tortoise on skin product leh ... nvr heard of ampoule before. Can it be apply to all skin type? And does all bridal provide? or can we purchase from outside?

keann

Hey where's all the MAY brides???!!!???

Been a very quiet thread...WAKE UP everyone! 8)

I had my photoshoot last month in Melbourne..very wonderful experience and great weather. My hubby n i definately enjoyed it. Got almost 200 over pictures given back to us ....so eyes going to pop out olediz...

I hope everyone is doing good out there...and i can't wait to be back in Singapore in December!

Hope to hear from everyone soon!

binbin

hi gals....sorry long time no come in. to smallonion, bread, yoyo, amos and wendy, nice meeting you that night....

smallonion, dermalogica IS a brand.
you can buy derma products at beauty salons that uses these brand. i do admit it's a good brand, but not every beautican knows how to advice the usage.... I used to be on derma coz i heard so many good things about it. i was with 2 separate beauticians last time, one of them using derma. prob it's coz all these facials done weren't done well, my face developed clogs over the years which is embedded underneath my skin....even derma couldn't solve my prob then. but fortunately i found someone else, who has healed my skin loh, and I am SUPER grateful to her now hehheheeehehe..... you think of going for facials now ah? when is ur PS? better to go sometime before PS, so that ur skin gets used to the facial first. or else, like what yoyo said, it may breakout and u wun have time to treat it before PS.

blue_lake

hi...

i was abt to ask "wat's ampoule?" then i see TCL's posting. how can this ampoule make makeup last longer? it controls the oil on our face? it prevent makeup from melting? sorry... i never heard of this b4. another mountain tortoise.

just started my facial. and the beautician kept saying my face is horrible. got lots of stubborn white and black heads. and kept insisting i buy their products...=( i hate tat pestering.

i'm the lazy type who just wash my face. skip toner and moisturiser. now wants me to apply so many things. difficult la.

smurfy

hmmm... ampoule is something that make your face more moisturising so that the makeup will stay loh... hard to explain.. must try then you will know..

i oso hated those beauty salons that keep pestering me to buy their pdts. Once they did that, I'll never go back to them. Right now, i am with this beauty salon that my sis frequent. They are very good and uses Lancome pdts and never once did they ask me to buy their Lancome pdts. My sis had been with them faithfully for over 8 years and me 5 years (on and off during sch days). Can recommend you to if you want.

Me oso the lazy type who doesn't use toner or moisturiser, all i did is cleanse my face to rid of foundation then wash it with Eversoft facial wash :p

smallonion

hehehe.. binbin, mine PS still very long, but hope to get feedback & advise first.
But i also not sure when should i start to do facial for my wedding, i wish my face to look shinning on PS & AD. Btw, where u go for ur facial now?

chenoa

Hi orosalind,

So was I ....very puzzled by all these differences as i had mentioned in that tread.....

I'm with Yvonne Creative. Will discuss gown design maybe next Jan. I'm fickle minded after trying on some gowns last month. Originally wanted embroidery, then sort of like beadings (but not sequin), then I also like full french lace. I have to make up my mind first before going further.

You mean you already have decided on your preferred design? How's your dream gown like?

yoyo

hello everyone...

btw, where is everybody aft the meet up? busy? oh... my ROM next week... hehehe excited...

how's everybody preperation?

odie

So will the makeup artist recommend everyone to get the ampoule or is it based on a case to case basis depending on the skin condition?

Ermm... I have no intention to go to a salon for facials cos I don't have the habit and don't wish to start
... plain lazy, don't wish to waste the money and am worried about being pestered to buy the products. So I try to keep to the routine of using toner and moisturiser after washing, and using of facial scrub twice every week... hopefully this will be sufficient

binbin

hi smallonion, i am going to Karen from Devotion.
she is the consultant invited to this forum to answer queries on skin care. i am really grateful to her for saving my skin hehehhehee....... she has very good indepth knowledge on skin care.

hi yoyo, ur rom next weeek ah? can understand ur excitement hehehhee.....u having it at the registry or elsewhere?

orosalind

Hi Chenoa,

Ok, nvm abt all these difference since we have set on that date and that's it, agree?
I guess some other gals in the thread oso found some difference in different tong shu as I read some postings somewhere (cant rem).

Ya, I have a design set and I'm gg to do just that. I tried on this gown with Silverlinning and sort of like it v much. Guess I will be following exactly that design but with major changes in the bottonm (skirt) part. It has got can can and bare back. Some beads here and there and many crystals at the back, looks simple but not too plain.
Not gg to change my mind, for me pretty simple cos I oni shortlisted a few designs which I like so didnt keep changing my mind as to what I wanted. Anyw, heard that there's this designer in GHA who wun listen to what the bride-to-be wants but just go ahead and design wht he thinks is nice (some even say some designer there draw out just OTR design so that the bride-to-be end up taking OTR gown, thinking that it's MTM) so I wun listen to them. I just take their advise as to what type of cutting I'm suitable, eg, halter neck, tube, spagetti, A-line, etc. Quite confident of my choice now cos I have put on that very gown in Silverlinning so can just tell them directly that I want spagetti with can can and low back and show them the magazine (basically it's a combination of 2 gowns). As for evening gown, I am not so confident cos the design I have in mind, I dunno if I will look good in it and hope there's something similar in the shop for me to try on so at least I can see roughly if I look good in that (cos that design and material not quite common so no confident if the whole thing will look ok on me).

marker

According to my friend - most of the brides will not need ampule unless they have dry flakey complexion. And alot of make-up artist sells ampules to make extra money. Sometimes, the ampule makes the face look very oily.

smallonion

hi yoyo....excited right. 'xiang Dan Nian' (In chinese) hehehe. I also very excited. kekkeke.

binbin... oh i hear about it too. Maybe i should also read up more about her thread.

cin_p... u busy or boss ard? hehehe

gebbera

I'm new in this thread.
Can i ask if i belong to May'04 brides if my wedding date falls in lunar April whereby the english date falls in May?

oceans

Oh, my bridal shop will ask me to buy the ampule. They said this is optional and the money goes to the makeup artist. Heard will let the makeup last longer esp if we are going for outdoor.

As for the outdoor transport for PS, inside the contract under their header, it spelled <font color="0000ff">"self transport" beside the outdoor shoot</font>. So i informed them that this was not informed to me on the day I signed the contract. And "self-transport" can be explained by <font color="ff0000">the bridal shop (under their letterhead) itself</font> provide transport for me. Find that it is too expensive to pay $60.

If not, say we drive ourself and also must drive the photographer and his assistant. Think it is not fair, but they say this is market standard. That why, I am asking the rest of you if this is mkt std.

poshies

Hi Ocean,
I don think it is fair to as the customer to pay for the transport for PS, I don think it is the market standard. my phototgrapher had even show me the car (I will visiting his studio) that he will be using during the PS, never say we need to pay too. But will be confirm with my bridal shop.

Yup the ampule had many different type that for different purpose... i got so many of them (different type) from my old facial saloon... (change already cause it far and alway ask to buy their product). Had also check with my bridal that I can use my own since I had them. So it will be better to buy one is more suitable for your skin type.

Btw what type of wedding car are you using for the actual day... can give some advise or your rental contact. Cause now looking for bridal car..
thanks!!!

poox

hello!! finally the silence is broken

Welcome Gebbera!! of course we're happy to have u here.....share with us how's your prep so far? when is your wedding day, where it'll be held and which BS have u signed up with.... if u need help or advise...just ask :p

hi keanne
nice to hear from u again? how's your photo album search? i'm planning to get from coban and blair from australia....
are u going to share your pic with us?
as for me....i've done nothing! not even first appt....a bit kan cheong liao...

where's the rest???

binbin

hi yoyo, oh yah hor? u told us that before sorrie me old liao memory bad bad hahahhaha....

smallonion, yes, u can ask her about her prdtcs and advice. but best is u make an appt with her, go down and see her. she will do a beri thorough free analysis of ur skin, and teach you what you need to do. and dun worry, she is not pushy at all..
she will amaze u with her knowledge. so far, my 2 friends were amazed hehehhe.....coz i brought them there.

forest

hi gals...
long time nvr post... very busy at work...

yoyo,
tell me abt ur ROM leh... i dint get to hear abt it when we met up.. since i was sitting so far away!!!!

smallonion,
hee... doing facials is a form of relaxation lor... kekekek... jus like massage...

smallonion

binbin..hehehe, u old liao meh? how old r u? opps, sorry, woman age is a serect. (U PM me lah) BTW, is its facial &amp; pdts Ex?

Hohoh forest... ya, u quite long nvr post since the last short msg to all of us. You doing facial also?