(2004) Brides of year 2004

amos_aw

Ok. I'd like to apologize to everyone for only turning up with my yellow shirt. No caps. Besides, nobody got lost eh?

For those who didn't meet up with us, i chickened out of wearing my cap. Vain ol' me didn't want to look like a bowling ball (bad enough as it already is)HARHARHAR!

Anyway, it was a pleasure meeting everyone and putting a face to the username!
The Margaritas and letting of hair down didn't materialize, but at least i made you all look at my salad!

Also want to thank Alicia aka. "Small but tuff" for organizing the meeting. Now that most of us have met, i think the ice has broken a little. I'm really the shy type too, so didn't say much. Believe it or not, i've been very tired lately, probably due to excessive floating around the house doing absolutely NOTHING.Hehe.

amos_aw

Ok. Shot in the dark here, but would dancing be a reasonable alternative for the older folks? You get the music, they get to strut their stuff in public, and there's none of the shrill stuff!

No flames please. I'm just throwing stuff out for consideration. HEhe.

nnyl

Hi Hanyan

Conrad is very nice!! I wanted Conrad but it's out of my budget. Nvr heard that food in Conrad is gd tot. :p Waterfront (GCW) is quite nice. My cousin had his wedding there early March this yr. U must get the main ballroom, the one with a landscape as backdrop, which is covered by curtains. Food-wise so so only. I still have the package for both hotels with me. If u want, let me know. Btw, it's better to get Conrad on weekdays cos they will drop in another 30L barrel of beer, which is like free flow, for weekdays package.

taurus

hi maymay,

me not a May baby but end April instead so belongs to Taurus. hehe...

my lovenest at Punggol. Hse ready for a year liao. therefore, wanted customary wedding asap, otherwise like quite wasted every mth paying for the hse and yet not staying there.

Where's your lovenest?

blurq

hi othermove and angeline,
welcome to this thread..both of u are getting married on the same day..so coincidence..
oct 30 is really a gd day to get married.

hi happybaobao,
i dun have a BS yet..initially thot that i could take my own sweet time..but seeing some of u already went for the first fitting..i m kan cheong too..hehe..
For u, think u shd settle the hotel first. Cos' it's not ez to find a hotel that suits ur budget, and criteria etc. Even if u find it, u may not even get it...
As for BS, there are plenty of gd BS you can visit..my personal thots thou..

hi hanyan,
U had ur first fitting already..so happy for u..dunno when will I be having mine..

btw, which BS did u choose?
Has not been to Conrad. However heard gd comments abt the ballroom..and of cos' the price as well..:p
I''ve been to GCW too..feels that the atmosphere and the food is very good..as for the new ballroom..not too bad..juz that i dun like the pillars..:p

gerlynn

Hi gals...

im back...went KL for work this week...

Congrats Giirl80...finally u found ur hotel...so u signed liao???

hi dreamer...yap me booked the hyatt liaoz...
urs is weekend rite?> mine weekday...so much cheaper than weekend..

maymay

Hi Taurus,

icic.. i got a resale 4 rm at bedok area.. now headache abt the reno
everything oso wan to do but no money to do hahaha...

care to share how much you spent on reno etc?

smallonion

hi Sindy,

oh, tats a problem, try to make urself control, make urself think of ur wedding, wearing growns, etc. Maybe it help u cut down.
Haf u try any slimming programme before?

bonjon

Halo,

Sorry for not joining the gathering. Very tired after a long day, got to face PC for long hour.

When will be the next gathering? Will try to show up.

smallonion

thks for the invitation to the gathering, great to meet & knw u all. Too bad, the tables is long & did not haf much chances to talk to forest, amos, wendy & ino too as i was abt to leave when u reached. What time did u all leave after tat?

Hi bonjon,

oh u did not meet up in the end? Cos i leave earlier than the rest.

amos_aw

Yah. Agree on the long table issue. Perhaps we should have our next meeting at a round table (any fabulous food court or hawker centre!
).

shinchan

CC2,

Will definitely turn out nice.. Dun worry so much.. A relaxed & happy bride will definitely look mei mei one..

All ur gowns are bought from Allure Charix ah.. Ex??? What abt the rest of the services like make-up, etc???

amos_aw

Diarrohea and fever today. I love Sundays. Wonderful day to get sick. Must have caught something, but it's on the way out. I'm just feeling a little weak today. Anybody every worry that they might fall ill on the day of the wedding or something? Maybe i should quarantine myself a week before or something. Tell my future boss that i can't go to work cause i'm getting married.
HARHARHAR!

gerlynn

hi kokopooh..

not bad...work from mon-thur...but managed to shop at nite and on friday...hehe bought a few pairs of heels!!! :p

peko

Hi maymay,

i havent got my bridal yet but i will be going down to bridal zone tomorrow as their package is within my budget... cos my bf and i doesnt want to spend too much on bridal mah.... more on honeymoon... hee.....i will be staying with my future in laws so no lovenest for us.....

Hi taurus,

So you are a pp bride too... and its a day different only..... as i will be staying for 2nites, i might be able to see you leh. hee..... maybe i can kepo abit.... kekekee.... yours is ocean or pacific ballroom????

cc2

Hi Shinchan,

Hope so.
Must mask my face more regularly liao.

I only bought my WG from Allure. Makeup artist is Eric, getting a London cab....

amos_aw

Hello ladies, it's 1:37am in the morning. Just threw up and all of my dinner came out. Just thought i'd share the endless joy.
yawn.gif

poshies

Hi Pageup/Odie/Smrufy,
Thanks for the advice on the +/- days advise...
had ask my friend those fall on these months whether they mind a not ... most of them don't so will be attending theirs and inviting them to ours.

Yup HM is really a big headache for me.... still indecisive on the venue... my FH wanted to go to Australia, but I don't want... *sign*

forest

good morning ladies!!

nice meeting every1 on last fri's outing!!
yeah.. i hve to agree with amos n smallonion, too bad tt the table is too long... i dint get to chat with yoyo, bread, smallonion much also..

smallonion,
in the end, only me, wendy, amos, cin_p, and ino proceeded to inter-con for a drink... we left at almost 11pm....

amos,
aiyo.. sick ah... tk care ya!!

maymay

hi peko,

wat a coincidence.. i supposed we r all taurus? hehee... how much is bridal zone offering? im with camellia haute..

i heard panpac has very nice ballrooms...but din consider it as it was out of our budget...

i just booked my rom date yest... din manage to get the time i wanted
... must book earlier if u all haven booked yet...

taurus

Hi maymay,

oh, so you just got your resale 4 rm at bedok area. me too just like you, when I first got my flat in Punggol, everything also want to do this and do that, but cos budget quite tight so in the end just renov within our budget. But we are quite happy lor cos friends come to our place and commented that we did a good job. I have a friend who also want to renov the place nice nice so in the end went to take renov loan and now her extra burden is to pay the monthly loan of abt $600 for the next 5 years!!!

Becos mine is a standard flat without flooring so I have spent 30k on renov (incl. flooring) and 10K for furnitures. After the renov last year, we are still trying to 'recuperate' some of our saving again for our customary wedding. hehe... cos none of our parents is giving us any financial support so got to depend everything on ourselves.... so 'xiong'....

What is your budget for the renov? have you started to flip thru magazines to get a better idea on what kind of concept you want?

taurus

hi peko,

nice to know that we are all taurus!!! is bridal zone at bugis junction? I thought bridal zone also quite expensive?

oh, so you have exchange ur anniversary stay to 2 nites stay instead, izzit? if that's the case, then you may be able to see me that day, hehe... Mine is the ocean ballroom. What abt you? Pacific ballroom is quite expensive and exceeds my budget so in the end took the ocean ballroom although ocean ballroom got quite low ceiling. But I like the cocktail area, is quite big and nice.

Where do you intend to go for your honeymoon?

smallonion

hi forest,

ya loh, not much chances to talk to u, now tok loh, hehehe
So when is ur AD? Where is ur dinner held & BS is which?

Cin_p,

how ur reno gettign along, i just went to my friend hse warming yseterday, they spend abt $50K for the reno.

forest

hi smallonion,
aiya... i hvent decided my AD yet.. no details confirmed.. jus went looking at a few hotels.. n a few bridal shows.. hve some plcs in mind.. but still need to chk them out further lor..

hi bonjon,
kekekek.. ya.. jus yak n yak away at anything under the sun lor...

clayre

TCL.. This place really looks inviting!! Great for couples who doesn;t want to spend their HM shopping & shopping & shopping.... = )

My colleague just came back from Athens last week and he was ALL PRAISE for the place... he say by far the MOST ROMANTIC & BEAUTIFUL place he's every been to (he was a flight steward previously)... However, there's LOTS of walking to be done as you got walk up and down the moutains and lots of sightseeing also... nothing much to buy partially because the gifts are expensive... = )

hanyan

Hi lynn,

Thks for your info
Think it will be helpful for those stil huntg for a wedding venue. As for me, have already booked the wedding venue and caterer, so the next thg is to source for a gd and hopefully, cheap, florist for the decor. Anyone has any recommendations?

hi blurq,
Agree that the pillars in the new ballrooms aint very conducive. The grand ballroom is certainly much better.
I am using irene's creation. Was very apprehensive at first coz of all the -ve thgs I read in this forum but so far, my experience has been gd and my designer is friendly and accomodating. I think most pple start the design and fitting process smthg like 6 mths before the wedding, so mabi i m earlier. But it is gd in the sense that I have more time to prepare for the wedding and later, when the house comes, I can concentrate on that rather than have to attend to erythg at one go. I wld be stressed to handle so much thgs together.. so am glad to have spaced the preparation out

maymay

Hi taurus,

actually we have very little money.. then my FH wanted to take bank loan which im reluctant cos got to suffer for 5 years.. we thinking of doing up the house for about $20k but seems like resales flat cost more to do up.. cos more hacking.. hmmm... sigh... somemore i wan marble floor.. which is most expensive i think..

i started browsing mags.. that's why got more "weird" ideas.. hahaha.. which translate into more money!

rabbitwsk

Hows everyone! Finally me back after my 'away fr office' days

Wow, seems like everyone busy looking for hotel dinner here. Hopes everything goes well for all.

Me also hope to confirm my dinner with OCC this week bef fly to Japan for biz trip.

BTW, though my photo taking is july, my MTM gown can start as early as Jan/Feb? Was advise by friend so that the bridal pp can hv more time to do the gown.

Ladies like littlechillipadi and others, who r looking for bridal studio earlier, decided?

sindylee

Hi Twinkleglint,
I am in a software house we do development for software... As for the market, IT is the first sector that Govt is cutting budget on... However after the IX 2003, a lot of high level management are starting to feel that IT is still an important asset in the company.

I believe will pick up but don't know when yet...

Hi Smallonion,
hmmm slimming program as those offer by the salon??? got once very ex and result only a bit only loh.... But stress liao... chew on something somehow manage to think better = higher productivity and gets things done faster...

cyn

hi all... nice meeting everyone at the gathering =)

smallonion... my reno arh.... they are doing the flooring now.. then ceiling... eveything shd be done by mid nov

blurq

hi hanyan,
One of my frenz went to Irene Creation too, and she is very happy abt it. nevermind abt what the comments in the forum, cos' i think everyone has their own expectation and views abt the BS. As long as you are comfortable with your decision, then u'll have no regrets...

hi straw_beri,
U decided on PP already?
All the best to u..hopefully, u can be one of the PP brides too..
Keep us updated.

hi rabbitwsk,
Long time din hear from u...hehe...oh, what kind of designs do u have in mind?
I haven't decided on my bs yet. Hubby is on bz trip for 3 wks..so i can't do anything abt it..

ladies, anyone visited to frederick lee or ted wu? any comments? Hope to hear more information abt these 2 BS.

poshies

wow!! the place really look very nice....
want to go to Greece, turkey and roman someday but not now... might be stuck with my work... guess can only go somewhere nearer...

peko

Hi maymay and taurus...

alamak me is nt taurus, i am a gemini.... but still may baby lor... hmmm.....
oh....maymay, bridal zone is at marina square and the package is $3388.00 inclusive of merc and photograper lor......my rom will be the same day as wedding dinner....

taurus, i think you are refering to bridal concept at bugis.... its different.......
mine is ocean too!!! wat a coincidence!!!
cos they are having promotions mah, thats y i chose ocean.... cos good deal!!!!ya.. i like the cocktail area too... to ourselves only mah... hee.....
i intend to go to europe... thats y i dont want to spend too much on bridal...... hopefully nt many top ups lor..... must control myself!!!

smurfy

Saw that Tahiti is a beautiful place and the resorts there had water bungalows too. Wonder if its cheaper than going Maldives

Boracay is a nice place with super fine white beaches too..

girl80

Hi gerlynn,

No, not yet. The banquet sales did not want to throw in any more extras besides the standard package for us...And keep on emphasing that we must booked at least 35 tables and above..

binbin

hi cc2 hehhehee.... no lah i just wanna slim down my arms only. coz i dun want it to look ba ba in photos mah.

my gowns ah? I LOVE THEM!!! hehehhee....very happy with them and i enjoyed all the fittings with my designer. having trial makeup tmlw.....very excited now...

so where u going for PS huh? me still headache hehehhee...

maymay

hi peko..

heehee i thot we have 3 stubborn bulls in the forum! hahaha...

$3388 is for MTM package? my package doesnt include bridal car but its all MTM for $2788.. i thot it was value for money so took it... so far i have not regreted

i oso hope i wont top up so much... my fren top up 2k for her photos... i told my FH to control me liao.. hahaha...

ROM n wedding same day is good.. i cant bec im buying resales and getting the govt grant

marker

poshies - the earlier wedsite attached is not at Greece. Its one of the high-end resort in Hua Hin,Thailand….a few hours drive fr Bangkok. you can call them to rent a car and request them to pick you up anyway in Bangkok. The price is reasonable.

My friend visited the resort …over there everything is so laid back!!!… Very Cool!!! Scenery is serene and peaceful …great plc to make babies….hehehehe…she don't wanna to come back to fast-place Singapore. She sum-up her tour by having 1-Day shopping at Bangkok. …(1 stone kill two birds).

So it depends on what you want and your budget. Athens (some info on Athens: http://www.athensguide.com/ ) also not bad (a natural phenomenon). Otherwise for a neat trip.. go to Hawaii for scuba diving in Kaui island. Waikiki beach in Oahu island is kinda crowded.

Clare - its honeymoon! So dun think shopping will be the priority hor!!!

smurfy - where is Tahiti huh?...never hear before leh..